Holidays

Started by Oakleafer93, June 03, 2009, 01:17:25 PM

AnPuca

Quote from: Taylor on January 29, 2024, 02:15:56 PMGoing to combine a belated honeymoon with a big birthday for the other half.

Any ideas for a high end place that isnt boring?

Thinking Mexico/Jamaica/Carribbean etc but not tied to them

All ideas appreciated as I am at a loss with this

Myself and herself honeymooned in Hawaii just after lockdown. Went all out for it as it was honeymoon and had an unreal time. We were away for a month and stayed on 4 of the islands. We went again in August/September there just to Kauai as it was our favourite of the islands. There is loads to do, plenty of honeymoony craic but also a mountain of activities to get involved in. There are loads of high end resorts and the scenery is breathtaking. Might be a bit further to travel for you guys but happy to chat it over if you want to drop me a DM.

smort

Quote from: armaghniac on January 31, 2024, 02:51:40 PM
Quote from: CitySlicker11 on January 31, 2024, 09:27:49 AMPalermo or Catania, would anyone recommend one over the other?

As a flight or as a city?
Catania is small enough and relatively quiet, you can get days trips to Mt Etna, only approved guides can bring you up to the volcanic areas. Taormina is also a feasible day trip.
The old city in Othigia, in Syracuse is lovely and much featured in films. You could go there from Catania for the day, it is a big hour in the train, or stay there. 

Palermo is a bigger busier place, not always "pretty" but a definite buzz about the place and plenty of restaurants etc.

I remember this chat from last year

Have been numerous times and travelled throughout the island

Would agree with a lot of what armaghniac has said. I definitely prefer Palermo over Catania, a lot more going and more to see and do.

Syracuse, and especially the old town Ortigia, is our favourite spot, could spend, and have spent,  days wandering the old streets.

Would recommend Taormina as well. Could easily spend a few days here. The town itself is beautiful, and you can go down to the beaches at isola Bella, naxos or letojanni. And I'd definitely go on up the mountain to the village of Castelmola, beautiful hilltop vilage

Cefalu close to Palermo is lovely too. We went slightly off season, so it wasn't too bad.

NotedObserver

Any recommendations for one hotel night away with wife?

I'm Based in Tyrone

Quote from: NotedObserver on February 04, 2024, 08:22:01 PMAny recommendations for one hotel night away with wife?

I'm Based in Tyrone
I fear some of the suggestions won't be helpful now you have specified your location.  ;D

AustinPowers

Quote from: NotedObserver on February 04, 2024, 08:22:01 PMAny recommendations for one hotel night away with wife?

I'm Based in Tyrone

Moygashel is nice in July,  I hear

jcpen

I'm Based in Tyrone
Travelodge Ballymun.
This is one of my 3 usernames.

I'm Based in Tyrone

Sligo a grand spot.  Not too far away either.

redzone

Quote from: marty34 on February 05, 2024, 11:29:31 AM

I'm Based in Tyrone

Sligo a grand spot.  Not too far away either.
Sligo good spot Def.
What about Manor house country house in Lisnarick. Kieran McKenna's father owns it
Brilliant spa facilities and u could climb Cuilagh stairway mountain as well

Depending on how much you want to spend, you're within reasonable distance of Harvey's Point, Lough Erne, Lough Eske and as other lads have said Manor House or several options in Sligo. 

LC

Thinking of heading to Galway over Easter for a few days.

There is me, the missus plus 4 kids.

Any recommendations re hotels or self catering accommodation?

WeeDonns

I've tried searching this thread for posts on Euro Camp Holidays as I'm sure I've seen them mentioned before, but its returning nothing(?)

Currently exploring the idea of our first trip abroad with the kids – 6, 4 & 3
We liked the idea of the ferry to Brittany, but its around 17 hours & actually quite expensive so looking at flying
Has anyone any airport/camp combinations to recommend? Thinking short transfer
I've been checking flights to Nates/Paris/Amsterdam – might have to go the 12th week which isn't always ideal

I'm seeing flights from ~£800-1300 (before luggage) & the camp starts at less than £800 which isn't bad at all compared to a package holiday