Laois v Longford May 22nd O'Moore Park,Portlaoise.

Started by laoislad, May 04, 2011, 09:54:58 PM

Quote from: Shamrock Shore on May 17, 2011, 01:59:49 PM
Herald this evening refers to Paul Barden as a "Larries Ace"

Fair play to the success of the campaign to give us a name that we could all rally behind.

Up The Larries.

The Herald was a sponsor of the Golf Classic. Maybe they've been looking in :)

Keith Duggan had an article in the Irish times on Saturday and he used the term shemozzle in a fashion that gave the impression he lifted it from the GAA dictionary that was here at one stage 

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/sport/2011/0514/1224296943704.html

Shemozzle: Beautifully innocent sounding expression which covers anything from four to 30 GAA stars inflicting various levels of GBH on one another in the name of the jersey. Not to be confused with the "melee", which is a downright free-for-all involving selectors, nuns, grannies and basically anyone in the ground whose heart is still beating.

http://www.route25classiccarclub.com/GAA.htm

Quote from: Shamrock Shore on May 17, 2011, 01:59:49 PM
Herald this evening refers to Paul Barden as a "Larries Ace"

Fair play to the success of the campaign to give us a name that we could all rally behind.

Up The Larries.

Excellent! We've made it to the mainstream.

Are ye sure it wasn't your influence on your 'buddy' that works there SS?  ;)

No Billy - I don't think that had/has any effect.

Quote from: Billys Boots on May 17, 2011, 11:37:00 AM
Quotewas gonna paint bomb it in blue and white.

Here baldy, why don't ye do something useful and send a copy of the rules of the game to the referee - the last gobshite wasn't familiar with them.  ;)

Hey now keep her country ya pony tailed red neck  :P

Ye will need more than the Ref on yer side come Sunday afternoon!

Ladies ladies - settle!

Glad you didn't paint my office blue and white! We prefer red blue and white in Blackrock! U shuda called! Kettle is always on the range!

Sorry! Fogra (con houlihanism)

City version of herald dropped reference to " Larries"

Sub head on Longford article changed! Strongly worded email gone to Madame Editor in The Irish Times (for the craic)

goal 10

This is the my Laois team to play Longford this sunday.

Culliton
                                    Timmons             Meaney          Boyle
                                   O'leary                Julian              Strong
                                             Clancy               Quigley
                                  Begley               O'Loughlin       Donoher
                                Munnelly             Kingston         Cahillane

panc56

Interesting Laois line up. Could Longford actually be playing a championship game with a more experienced team that our illustrious opponents?

Laois team to face Longford

Eoin Culleton
Cahir Healy
Kevin Meaney
Mark Timmons
Darren Strong
Shane Julian
Peter O Leary
Colm Begley (C)
Brendan Quigley
Daithi Carroll
John O Loughlin
Niall Donoher
Ross Munnelly
Billy Sheehan
Michael J Tierney

I couldn't see them leaving out Tierney alright.

Qwerty28

Hope the wind doest ruin this one!! Still fairly stormy here in Dublin, hittin the rad shortly, sample the atmosphere in Portlaoise beforehand!!

Longford going into a championship game with more confidence and optimism than in many a year so hopefully can pull off a shock!!  Enjoy the game!

Hope we have the wind in both halves. At 3/1 Longford are worth a €10 punt!

Laois are far more clinical with their kicking & Longford will probably end up with another 10-15 wides so I'd fancy Laois to win this with a bit to spare.