Queen Elizabeth to visit Croke Park

Started by Eamonnca1, April 07, 2011, 05:46:33 PM

Quote from: Orangemac on April 07, 2011, 10:13:54 PM
Maybe they could be given a couple of Meath jerseys.

Whats the odds Philip comes out with 1 of his sensitive remarks?

Don't bring them to Sligo, he is bound to manage to insult his own missus the dumb fck.

Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on April 07, 2011, 10:16:57 PM
Quote from: Orangemac on April 07, 2011, 10:13:54 PM
Maybe they could be given a couple of Meath jerseys.

Whats the odds Philip comes out with 1 of his sensitive remarks?

Don't bring them to Sligo, he is bound to manage to insult his own missus the dumb fck.

Quote from: Rossfan on April 07, 2011, 06:14:52 PM
Will continue to support Gaelic games and hope to have good reasons to visit Croke Park many times in future years.
Meanwhile hopefully the visiting Head of State of a neighbouring island will offer an official apology for the behaviour of her Country's soldiery in Croke Pk in 1920.

Not to mention quite a few other instances in much more recent times in Ireland. Jaysus some lads seem to think the murder of Michael hogan was the last one carried out by her forces here.

Quote from: Nally Stand on April 07, 2011, 10:21:46 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on April 07, 2011, 06:14:52 PM
Will continue to support Gaelic games and hope to have good reasons to visit Croke Park many times in future years.
Meanwhile hopefully the visiting Head of State of a neighbouring island will offer an official apology for the behaviour of her Country's soldiery in Croke Pk in 1920.

Not to mention quite a few other instances in much more recent times in Ireland. Jaysus some lads seem to think the murder of Michael hogan was the last one carried out by her forces here.

Yeah, but we're talking specifically about her visit to Croke Park here - not the visit to Ireland in general.
I don't think anyone's suggesting what happened in 1920 takes a higher precedence than all other incidents involving British state services.

Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on April 07, 2011, 10:26:29 PM
The Gaelic Athletic Association.

You mean the same association that Aiden McAnespie was a member of?

Queen is welcome in Croke Park! Won't be the same without Freddie Mercury but feck it!

Feck it! Finding it increasingly difficult to become exercised about this septuagenarian German granny.

Quote from: Nally Stand on April 07, 2011, 10:36:29 PM

Is there a point you'd like to make using the dead man's name?

Quote from: Eamonnca1 on April 07, 2011, 10:46:41 PM

Though it's OK to use Michael Hogan's name as long as it's in the context that "ah Michael Hogan's killing was a long time ago, she's more than welcome"?? My point is that Hogan was not the last GAA man to be murdered by her soldiers so the hurt caused is not quite as long ago as some here would like to have us all believe.

Quote from: Eamonnca1 on April 07, 2011, 10:46:41 PM

Maybe if you knew who he was you'd know the point Nally stand is making. 
Maybe if you could visit his family, who (like many) didn't get a sniff of justice and tell them "move on". 

Maybe it'd be better if people like young McAnespie (yes, I know who he was thank you very much) didn't get shot anymore as a result of hostility and hatred between the people of Ireland and Britain. Had that thought never occurred to you?

A young GAA fella has just been buried because of a group of knuckle-dragging neanderthals are so full of hatred that they still can't let bygones be bygones and still can't let the past go. Surely to Christ we've learned our lesson by now.

Quote from: Eamonnca1 on April 07, 2011, 10:57:10 PM
Maybe it'd be better if people like young McAnespie didn't get shot anymore as a result of hostility and hatred between the people of Ireland and Britain. Had that thought never occurred to you?

A young GAA fella has just been buried because of a group of knuckle-dragging neanderthals are so full of hatred that they still can't let bygones be bygones and still can't let the past go. Surely to Christ we've learned our lesson by now.

Had the thought never occurred to me??!!! You think anybody wants to go back to those days? You think I don't know full well about those days? Are you saying that if someone have a problem with her visiting Croke Park before britain acknowledges it's role of the past 40 years (like all sides should) that that person therefor supports a return to violence? Get off your high horse and stop talking nonsense.

Seamroga in exile

Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on April 07, 2011, 10:44:46 PM
Feck it! Finding it increasingly difficult to become exercised about this septuagenarian German granny.
*Octogenarian. Sorry, but being from the shamelessly forgotten black north, I know about these things. 

:-\
"What we've got here is failure to communicate"