GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: bennydorano on November 06, 2007, 09:06:17 AM

Title: Heaney blasts BBCNI
Post by: bennydorano on November 06, 2007, 09:06:17 AM
In today's Irish News 'Against the breeze' section,maybe someone could post it.
Title: Re: Heaney blasts BBCNI
Post by: saffron sam2 on November 06, 2007, 09:26:39 AM
And right he is too.

Rugby on Friday, soccer on Saturday, damn all Sunday 
Against The Breeze 
By Paddy Heaney 

Have you forked out £135.50 for your licence fee? Do you like Gaelic games? Are you becoming increasingly incensed by the BBC's lack of coverage? If you have answered 'yes' to these questions, then read on.

As a sports journalist whose chief concern is Gaelic football, I am liable to feelings of bias.

But having considered the evidence, it seems blindingly obvious that BBC Northern Ireland is failing to cater for licence fee-payers who like Gaelic games.

Let's consider the facts. On Friday night, the Ulster rugby team travelled to Scotland to play Glasgow Warriors in the Magners League.

The game was broadcast live on Radio Ulster. The BBC provided live commentary and expert analysis from Firhill.

On Saturday, Michael McNamee hosted the weekly Saturday Sports Sound. Live commentary was provided from a Carnegie Premier League game, while there were regular updates from the other six fixtures.

Meanwhile, on Sunday, the Ulster Club Championship got into full throttle when four quarter-finals took place in Celtic Park, Healy Park, Casement Park and Clones.

The only official attendance was at Clones where 3,656 supporters watched the encounter between Crossmaglen Rangers and Clontibret.

There were roughly 2,500 supporters at the other three games, and that's a very conservative estimate.

All in all, the four games would have drawn a combined gate of approximately 11,000.

This compares favourably with the combined attendance of all seven Carnegie Premier League games.

Interest in the Ulster club matches would have also extended beyond the parishes and county borders of the teams involved.

Unfortunately, any licence fee-payer seeking radio commentary on these games would have been sorely disappointed.

While BBC Northern Ireland can cover rugby in Glasgow on a Friday night, and soccer from seven different venues on a Saturday – it seems the budget doesn't stretch to the Ulster Club Championship.

As a licence fee-payer, I believe this situation is grossly unfair. And as a licence fee-payer who loves Gaelic football, I believe the BBC is failing in its duty to be a public service broadcaster that meets the needs of the entire community.

At this stage, it's vitally important to point out that I do not begrudge rugby and soccer fans the coverage they receive from the BBC.

The attendances at Ravenhill provide concrete evidence of the interest in Ulster rugby and it's entirely appropriate that the games are broadcast on radio.

And while the attendances at Irish League games aren't as buoyant, there is an established interest in the game and the BBC has an obligation to cover the local semi-professional league.

However, the same reasons apply to Gaelic games. There has been no live radio coverage of any game since Derry played Galway in the All-Ireland minor final.

All the recent county finals were completely ignored. On Sunday October 7, when four county football finals and one hurling final took place in Antrim, Derry, Down and Cavan, the airwaves were silent.

There were about 7,000 fans at the drawn Derry county final between Glenullin and Bellaghy. A slightly smaller crowd attended the replay.

The Tyrone county final between Dromore and Coalisland was watched by about 9,000 supporters.

Radio coverage isn't particularly expensive and when compared to television it's absolute peanuts.

Covering a county final involves paying a freelance reporter his basic fee and mileage expenses.

Given the crowds attending these matches, it is baffling how BBC executives can justify ignoring them.

In the past, such circumstances have not been unknown to gaels.

And in days gone by the BBC was accused of prejudice and labelled the 'Bigoted Broadcasting Corporation'. However, I firmly believe that these accusations are no longer relevant.

While the BBC is unquestionably guilty of inadequate coverage of Gaelic games, the reasons for this anomaly stem from old habits, a poor allocation of resources, and decision-makers who are genuinely unaware of the massive public interest in Gaelic games.

When faced with the complaints from this column, the BBC will point to diminishing funds and the necessity to tighten purse strings.

But this defence doesn't stand up to closer scrutiny. For instance, last Saturday, the BBC sent a reporter to every single game in the Carnegie Premier League.

There were 80 supporters at a recent match between Armagh City and Limavady United. That's right – 80 supporters and a BBC radio reporter.

Meanwhile, over 3,000 fans watched Crossmaglen Rangers begin the defence of their Ulster title on Sunday and there wasn't a BBC radio broadcaster in sight.

When the BBC's midweek Championship television programme was ditched this year, the press office cited poor audience figures for the reason behind the decision. Fair enough.

But if the BBC is going to use 'popularity' as the common denominator for coverage then how can it cover soccer matches that attract paltry attendances while ignoring GAA games that draw thousands?

Habit is a large part of the problem. For years, the BBC have had a reporter at every Premier League game and that's why they continue this practice.

But, given the reduced funds, maybe it's time the powers-that-be had a rethink.

Maybe it's time they distributed their resources in a more equitable manner.

The current schedule of rugby on a Friday, soccer on a Saturday and damn all on a Sunday is untenable and indefensible, particularly when many of the Sunday games are attracting the largest gates.

In the meantime, it's up to you, the humble gael and licence fee-payer to express your disappointment with the current situation. There's no point in me ranting about it on my own.

Stand up and be counted. Inform the relevant individuals in the BBC about how much you miss the radio coverage on a Sunday.

Shane Glynn is the Executive Producer of Sport , Mike Edgar is the Head of Sport and Ailsa Orr is the Head of Programmes.

Get in touch with Shane, Mike and Ailsa and let them know how much you love Gaelic games.

Convey your disappointment at the BBC's failure to provide coverage of the county finals and the qualifying rounds of the Ulster Club Championship.

Ask them politely if they can reconsider how they allocate their funds so they can come up with a less lop-sided schedule.

You can drop them an email or even use the old fashioned means by writing a letter.

The address is Broadcasting House, Ormeau Avenue, Belfast, BT2 8HQ.

And if you fear that it will be Christmas before the letter arrives, telephone the complaints department on 08700 100 222 (select option 2).

Don't think about it. Don't slabber about it. Don't leave it to someone else. If you pay a licence fee, and you believe the BBC isn't treating you fairly, then let them know about it NOW.

Post by: Balboa on November 06, 2007, 09:36:20 AM
I hope everyone does as Paddy says at the end of his piece, dont just whinge and cry about it on here, contact the BBC.
Post by: heffo on November 06, 2007, 09:37:33 AM
He's dead right. I don't often agree with him, but he's bang on the money here.
Post by: tyssam5 on November 06, 2007, 09:40:02 AM
A very well written piece.
Post by: Sandy Hill on November 06, 2007, 09:41:26 AM
Maith thú, Paddy Heaney: now, I wonder where did he get the inspiration for this article?    ???

Now everybody, ring the BBC!
Post by: glens73 on November 06, 2007, 09:43:36 AM
I have sent 4 e-mails to complain to the BBC about the lack of GAA coverage on a Sunday. They were sent right from when the Antrim Hurling Final was played and followed up the next 3 weekends.

Jerome Quinn was even copied in on the last one. I have not had a single reply.
Post by: Bensars on November 06, 2007, 09:46:41 AM
Done.

A young lad on the other end is going to earn his money today.

I think in the past an odd e amil or complaint was just lost/ignored in the system. They will find it more difficult to ignore if there is a concerted approach. Totally bombard the complaints department and everyone request confirmation of complaint.
Post by: Balboa on November 06, 2007, 09:55:15 AM
(http://members.cox.net/fantasychamp/power.jpg)

Fight The Power..........
Post by: snatter on November 06, 2007, 09:57:05 AM
YOu may find it easier and cheaper to make a complaint online:

MAKE SURE YOU PICK THE LAST OPTION

http://www.bbc.co.uk/complaints/make_complaint_step1.shtml

Post by: deiseach on November 06, 2007, 10:01:53 AM
Quote from: Bensars on November 06, 2007, 09:46:41 AM
I think in the past an odd e amil or complaint was just lost/ignored in the system. They will find it more difficult to ignore if there is a concerted approach. Totally bombard the complaints department and everyone request confirmation of complaint.

Ha! If they get a few, they claim no one shares your concerns. If they get thousands, they dismiss it as an orchestrated campaign. You can't beat The Man.
Post by: Stalin on November 06, 2007, 10:08:56 AM
anyone got an email address?

you should maybe all think about copying your letters in here too?
Post by: robertemmet on November 06, 2007, 10:12:35 AM
Just submitted a complaint via that online form.  Let's all do the same.
Post by: Bensars on November 06, 2007, 10:13:11 AM
Shane Glynn is the Executive Producer of Sport     shane.glynn@bbc.co.uk
Mike Edgar is the Head of Sport                  mike.edgar@bbc.co.uk
Ailsa Orr is the Head of Programmes            ailsa.orr@bbc.co.uk

complaints department on 08700 100 222 (select option 2).

I spoke to a young fella taking the calls, and he seems major hacked off already. You could nearly hear it in his voice " ffs not another one" ;D
Post by: ONeill on November 06, 2007, 10:13:27 AM
Let's burn our TVs. That'll hurt them.

Adrian Logan's UTV are just as bad. From running a lazy article on Glenullin winning the Derry championship last Monaday (8 days later) to Logan's error-ridden voiceover on St Gall's yesterday, the GAA is well down the pecking order.
Post by: glens73 on November 06, 2007, 10:13:37 AM
Quote from: snatter on November 06, 2007, 09:57:05 AM
YOu may find it easier and cheaper to make a complaint online:

MAKE SURE YOU PICK THE LAST OPTION

http://www.bbc.co.uk/complaints/make_complaint_step1.shtml

I've already tried this approach twice, along with direct e-mails, with no response either way.
Post by: robertemmet on November 06, 2007, 10:16:54 AM
Surely if everyone sends in a letter/complaint and keeps sending them, they can't ignore forever
Post by: snatter on November 06, 2007, 10:17:02 AM
Imo,

we need the GAA / shinners / sdlp to put some pressure on the BBC (and UTV) to justify their sub-standard level and quality of GAA coverage.

Its notable that the BBC hid behind an opt out clause when challenged by one of our own posters to justify their poor coverage of GAA.

If they'd nothing to hide, they wouldn't have done so.

We need to find out what the editorial policy is and who sets it.

Why does the level of coverage for each sport not correlate with actual attendances?

Why have BBC NI not sought to make a deal with other broadcasters on this island to secure coverage of gaelic games? Have they even tried picking up the phone to TV3 / RTE?

Surely the whole ethos of local BBC output is to reflect how each region differs from the UK as a whole.

You couldn't get much more different than gaelic football, ie the best attended sport in NI.

Percentage wise, more people attend gaelic football in NI than watch cricket in England, yet BBC NI coverage is minimal, especially compared to the coverage that local soccer gets.

If BBC NI were a serious regional broadcaster, it would be broadcasting huge amounts of GAA to justify its existence.

Just for the record, here is their mealy mouthed, pathetic attempt to hide the true nature of their discrimination against gaelic games:

Quote from: Donagh on August 30, 2007, 10:32:42 AM
On the last day allowed by the Act, the BBC got back to me. Not surprisingly they have refused to give details of the amount of coverage given to each sport and the costs of the coverage. Response below:

Dear Mr xxxxxxxxxxxxx

Thank you for your recent letter requesting information about the volume, cost and audience figures for BBCNI television and radio coverage of Gaelic Football, Hurling, Soccer, Rugby and Motorcycling.

The information which you have requested about the volume and cost of specific aspects of BBCNI's sports output is not covered by the Freedom of Information Act 2000. Schedule 1 of the Act states that the BBC and other designated public service broadcasters are covered by this legislation only in respect of information held for purposes "other than those of journalism, art and literature". Information which is not subject to disclosure because of this derogation may otherwise be exempt from disclosure because of the application of other provisions of the Act.

The BBC receives audience data about television viewing in the UK under an agreement with the Broadcasters' Audience Research Board (BARB) for which the BBC pays an annual subscription. Under the terms of this agreement, the BBC is entitled to use such information for its own internal purposes and may make this data more widely available in specific circumstances. Although we consider that the Act does not apply to audience data, the BBC does have a working practice (consistent with other broadcasting organisations and the terms
of its contractual agreement with BARB) of releasing some headline performance information. We will not be releasing such information or any accompanying analysis on this occasion.
Audience figures for radio listening across the UK are collated by Rajar and are subject to analogous contractual constraints. We believe that such information is not covered by the Act and will not be making it voluntarily available in response to this request.

Following discussions with colleagues however, and consistent with established practice at local level, BBCNI is prepared to voluntarily release information about the volume and range of its current sports output. The nature, extent and profile of our sports coverage is directly affected by issues relating to rights acquisition, funding constraints, market provision and the BBC's service commitments as a whole. All of our output is delivered within the context of the BBC's Charter and Framework Agreement and also the terms of its Service Licences and
Purpose Remits. Sports programming is an essential and prominent feature of our service offering across radio, television and online and we work hard to ensure that it reflects a broad cross-section of interests and activities.

BBC Radio Ulster broadcasts 41 Saturday Sportsound programmes each year. Much of this output focuses on Irish League soccer and includes full match commentaries from 41 fixtures. In 06/07 the station also provided live coverage of 8 Setanta Cup matches involving Irish League teams and 6 European games featuring local clubs. Its programming additionally included 8 international matches involving the Northern Ireland soccer team. Such output was
complemented by dedicated sports programming on BBC Foyle and its coverage of Derry City's performance in the Eircom League. BBCNI also provided extensive coverage of the Milk Cup in Coleraine and soccer (together with the other sports referred to in your request) featured in news and related programming on local television and radio.

BBC Radio Ulster broadcast live match commentaries form 36 Gaelic Football matches on Sunday Sportsound and dedicated medium wave split programmes. Such programming included inter-county and club games, the National Football League and All-Ireland Club Championships. Our radio coverage was complemented by programming on BBCNI television which included highlights of the Hurling Final and live coverage of the MacRory Cup.
BBC Radio Ulster provided live coverage of Ulster team fixtures as part of the Magners League and Heiniken Cup, together with live match commentaries and analysis of fixtures involving the Ireland rugby team. The latter included 8 matches within the review period.

BBCNI television additionally provided coverage of the Magners League, Schools' Cup and Ireland A v England A matches.
BBCNI television provided a mix of programming about motorcycling which included coverage of the Isle of Man TT, the Ulster Grand Prix and fixtures at Tandragee, Cookstown and Antrim.

Appeal Rights
Please note that the BBC does not offer an internal review when the information requested is not covered by the Act. If you disagree with our decision you can appeal directly to the Information Commissioner. The contact details are: Information Commissioner's Office, Wycliffe House, Water Lane, Wilmslow, Cheshire, SK9 5AF, telephone 01625 545 700 or see
http://www.ico.gov.uk/

Yours sincerely
Mark Adair
Head of Public Policy, Corporate and Community Affairs

Post by: scalder on November 06, 2007, 10:22:04 AM
Lads glad to see some action and not just compalining here. Also I was wathiing some show last night on the BBC and they had a "claim to fame" piece and a map of the "UK" - strangly it included the whole of Ireland - I emailed them to ask them why.
Post by: Stalin on November 06, 2007, 10:28:34 AM
Just sent my email to those three addresses on page one
Post by: el_cuervo_fc on November 06, 2007, 10:49:43 AM
3 emails and a complaint, 10 days for the response, I'll hold my breath. 
Post by: Brick Tamlin on November 06, 2007, 11:00:30 AM
ive also just sent mine to the three stooges there now.
let the revolution begin.
Post by: Doire abú on November 06, 2007, 11:04:34 AM
Bring it to Nolan!!
Post by: raisins on November 06, 2007, 11:05:51 AM
Have to read it.
Post by: theskull1 on November 06, 2007, 11:06:45 AM
They're going to be talking about it on talk back (Radio Ulster ) later today
Post by: Doire abú on November 06, 2007, 11:07:27 AM
Aye Dunseath will sort her out.
Post by: Bensars on November 06, 2007, 11:08:02 AM
Interesting if the topic will be touched on talk back at 12 o clock .

Also a few other addresses

talk.back@bbc.co.uk
stephen.nolan@bbc.co.uk
bbcnewsline.ni@bbc.co.uk
lets.talk@bbc.co.uk
Post by: Stalin on November 06, 2007, 11:09:35 AM
Quote from: theskull1 on November 06, 2007, 11:06:45 AM

linkage to online stream for this?
Post by: stpauls on November 06, 2007, 11:12:45 AM
have just entered my own complaint as well!!
Post by: robertemmet on November 06, 2007, 11:20:34 AM
Sent my complaint to all the email addresses there
Post by: Doire abú on November 06, 2007, 11:45:00 AM
Quote from: Stalin on November 06, 2007, 11:09:35 AM

http://www.bbc.co.uk/northernireland/radio/
Post by: theskull1 on November 06, 2007, 11:45:20 AM
Quote from: Stalin on November 06, 2007, 11:09:35 AM
Quote from: theskull1 on November 06, 2007, 11:06:45 AM

On just after 12 noon news

http://www.bbc.co.uk/radio/aod/radioulster.shtml (http://www.bbc.co.uk/radio/aod/radioulster.shtml)
Post by: Stalin on November 06, 2007, 12:08:26 PM
Power to the people! Just tuned in and waiting for it to come on now
Post by: Bensars on November 06, 2007, 12:16:46 PM
Cant get BBC radio ulster at work with the realplayer etc.

Can someone let me know when they start and i can go out to the car.

many thanks in advance
Post by: Stalin on November 06, 2007, 12:21:20 PM
aye he definately said it was being discussed hardstation.
Post by: john mcgill on November 06, 2007, 12:21:45 PM
have complained as well.
Post by: theskull1 on November 06, 2007, 12:27:25 PM
Quote from: Bensars on November 06, 2007, 12:16:46 PM

many thanks in advance

I'll let you know ...hasn't started yet
Post by: Doire abú on November 06, 2007, 12:33:07 PM

Very cheeky.
Post by: Stalin on November 06, 2007, 12:38:19 PM
jesus this is hard listening.
Post by: Snowed Under on November 06, 2007, 12:39:58 PM
Quote from: Stalin on November 06, 2007, 12:38:19 PM
jesus this is hard listening.

You aren't kidding - who listen's to this shite.
Post by: theskull1 on November 06, 2007, 12:44:08 PM
Quote from: theskull1 on November 06, 2007, 12:27:25 PM

many thanks in advance

I'll let you know ...hasn't started yet

Go go go Bensars...the discussion has started

Images of that Avatar running up the office corridor  :P
Post by: Snowed Under on November 06, 2007, 12:44:13 PM
On now.
Post by: take_yer_points on November 06, 2007, 12:44:23 PM
Here we go - Shane Glynn and Paddy are both on
Post by: Stalin on November 06, 2007, 12:44:31 PM
here we go! paddy heaneys on!
Post by: Doire abú on November 06, 2007, 12:44:46 PM
On now.
Post by: Sandy Hill on November 06, 2007, 12:46:19 PM
Keep 'er goin Paddy!
Post by: Estimator on November 06, 2007, 12:48:13 PM
He's presents a good argument!
Post by: Stalin on November 06, 2007, 12:48:28 PM
Glynn gets 3 lines in and mentions budgets.....
Post by: Snowed Under on November 06, 2007, 12:50:58 PM
Went to the Ulster Hurling Final in Boston - I bet you did!
Post by: Estimator on November 06, 2007, 12:51:20 PM
Go Eugene  ;D
Post by: Stalin on November 06, 2007, 12:51:35 PM
lol at eugene  :D :D :D

'absolute tripe'

priceless
Post by: Snowed Under on November 06, 2007, 12:52:14 PM
FFS eugene!
Post by: Balboa on November 06, 2007, 12:53:00 PM
Quote from: Snowed Under on November 06, 2007, 12:50:58 PM
Went to the Ulster Hurling Final in Boston - I bet you did!

Did he go to this years in Casement when there was about 2 feet of rain.
Post by: Estimator on November 06, 2007, 12:54:58 PM
Is that it?  :-\
Post by: T O Hare on November 06, 2007, 12:55:35 PM
made a complaint this morning.. a fella took my name and said he was forwarding the audio to bbc mangement.. it was a great rant.. this is great work by heaney
Post by: Sandy Hill on November 06, 2007, 12:55:49 PM
And that's it????????? Again!!!!!!!!!
Post by: Star Spangler on November 06, 2007, 12:56:31 PM
Disappointing to hear that the BBC spokesperson refuses to accept that there is an issue here.  Clearly they've no intention of doing anything about it.
Post by: Star Spangler on November 06, 2007, 12:57:37 PM
QuoteWho the feck watches motorcycling?
It is the biggest spectator sport in Ireland.
Post by: Bensars on November 06, 2007, 12:58:44 PM
very dissapointing.  Sums up the attitude of the BBC. Normally the questions would be put to one another and allowed a good debate to occur. Deal with it and move on seems to be the instruction to dunseith.

Post by: Doire abú on November 06, 2007, 12:59:49 PM
And ten minutes after the Talk Back debate on lack of GAA coverage..................the BBC Sports News fails to mention Gaelic Games at all. Priceless.
Post by: A Quinn Martin Production on November 06, 2007, 01:01:27 PM
Dunseath touched on the real issue near the end when he talked about the BBC's obsession with Irish League soccer and motor sport to the detriment of most others.
Post by: bailestil on November 06, 2007, 01:02:27 PM
Yeah. Waste of time. Just usual fobbing off about budgets etc. This 'campaign' will go nowhere without some pressure from ulster council some political pressure along with pressure from fans. But i severely doubt anything will change.
Post by: Star Spangler on November 06, 2007, 01:02:39 PM
Quote from: A Quinn Martin Production on November 06, 2007, 01:01:27 PM
Dunseath touched on the real issue near the end when he talked about the BBC's obsession with Irish League soccer and motor sport to the detriment of most others.

That's because the BBC keeps Irish league soccer alive.  If they didn't report on it it would be completely forgotten about.
Post by: snatter on November 06, 2007, 01:08:59 PM
Quote"If we went by the viewing figures, we would only have bikes and soccer."

Well then, the big question the alleged managers of BBC NI should be asking is why are the viewing figures so low for their coverage of Northern Irelans's best atteneded sport.

It can't be that there aren't enough GAA fans to watch the coverage.

It must be that their coverage is so sparse or of such low quality that nobody watches it.

Earlier this summer, at the height of the GAA season, I posted how hours of BBC coverage went to almost every other sport, apart from GAA.

Maybe if they took their heads from out of their NI soccer loving arses, used their imagination and either co-produced something worth watching or bought in championship coverage from RTE, then they would start getting higher figures.  

If GAA fans don't expect any coverage, they're hardly likely to tune in on the odd occassion that there is some.

If BBC NI are not asking themselves why viewing figures are so low for the best attended sport in NI, then that's an institutional failure on the part of BBC NI.
Post by: bennydorano on November 06, 2007, 01:09:58 PM
Only caught the tale end of the programme - enough to hear Eugene, who if i'm not mistaken is an Armagh Harpsman.  Things will never change in the BBC until there are a few Sean Ogs and Seamus's in positions of power and I don't give a shite if that sounds sectarian - because it's the truth.
Title: Heaney blasts BBCNI
Post by: 5 Sams on November 06, 2007, 01:22:33 PM
Funny the way they didnt let Paddy have a go at Shane Glynn live on the radio. Heaney would have had too much evidence and would have wiped the floor with him....can't have that now can we?? :-[
Post by: Rick O Shea on November 06, 2007, 01:37:03 PM
I fully back what Paddy Heaney said in this article, but didn't he pen an article recently (in the last year or so) basically saying that it was the GAA's fault that there was poor coverage of the games by BBC & UTV?

His main point was the poor facilities in GAA grounds (barring Croke Park) for those over-worked reporters ;)
Post by: Doire abú on November 06, 2007, 01:40:06 PM
Quote from: snatter on November 06, 2007, 01:08:59 PM
Maybe if they took their heads from out of their NI soccer loving arses.

Agree. The ultimate disgrace was after the six counties beat England and BBC NI reported it in a "This victory had brought the once divided people of Northern Ireland together. Isn't it great that sport can knock down the barriers between nationalists and unionists in our wee country?".

Cringe worthy.
Post by: scalder on November 06, 2007, 01:42:16 PM
2nd class citizens still it seems, so much for parity of esteem, plus FIFA have ruled against lads from the 6 counties playing with the south...
Post by: ziggysego on November 06, 2007, 01:57:39 PM
Emailed >:(

Here's hoping we get a reply soon.
Post by: ziggysego on November 06, 2007, 02:02:35 PM
Is this email correct alisa.orr@bbc.co.uk?

It bounced back to me. Prehaps Alisa's inbox is full ;)
Post by: blasmere on November 06, 2007, 02:06:20 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on November 06, 2007, 02:02:35 PM
Is this email correct alisa.orr@bbc.co.uk?

It bounced back to me. Prehaps Alisa's inbox is full ;)

Ziggy, its ailsa not alisa
Post by: Bensars on November 06, 2007, 02:07:53 PM
My apologies ziggy, ailsa.orr@bbc.co.uk.    Typo on my part.

Greencastle got another mention. !     Its all your fault ziggy. We're paying for you' un's basking in the glory of croke Park ! ;)
Post by: Balboa on November 06, 2007, 02:09:36 PM
Quote from: Rick O Shea on November 06, 2007, 01:37:03 PM
I fully back what Paddy Heaney said in this article, but didn't he pen an article recently (in the last year or so) basically saying that it was the GAA's fault that there was poor coverage of the games by BBC & UTV?

His main point was the poor facilities in GAA grounds (barring Croke Park) for those over-worked reporters ;)

I remember that Rick, i agree with what Paddy said but i also remember him penning a column about how football was a far superior game to hurling, he likes to court publicity and controversy.
Post by: off the laces on November 06, 2007, 02:12:06 PM
complaint lodged in central complaints
Post by: ziggysego on November 06, 2007, 02:13:10 PM
Quote from: Bensars on November 06, 2007, 02:07:53 PM

Greencastle got another mention. !     Its all your fault ziggy. We're paying for you' un's basking in the glory of croke Park ! ;)

Another mention? What you mean? Didn't hear the radio this morning.
Post by: Bensars on November 06, 2007, 02:15:20 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on November 06, 2007, 02:13:10 PM

Shane Glynn is the Executive Producer of Sport, said that the BBC followed Greencastle to Croke park, and to cut a long story short, no money in the budget for any other coverage
Post by: ziggysego on November 06, 2007, 02:17:05 PM
Quote from: Bensars on November 06, 2007, 02:15:20 PM

Shane Glynn is the Executive Producer of Sport, said that the BBC followed Greencastle to Croke park, and to cut a long story short, no money in the budget for any other coverage

Damn, shouldn't have linked the Greencastle website at the bottom of my emails..... ;)
Post by: ziggysego on November 06, 2007, 02:50:34 PM
Has anyone noticed the picture the BBC used on the 606 page for the weekend's games?

http://www.bbc.co.uk/dna/606/A28755318 (http://www.bbc.co.uk/dna/606/A28755318)
Post by: bennydorano on November 06, 2007, 03:13:23 PM
Quote from: Doire abú on November 06, 2007, 01:40:06 PM

Agree. The ultimate disgrace was after the six counties beat England and BBC NI reported it in a "This victory had brought the once divided people of Northern Ireland together. Isn't it great that sport can knock down the barriers between nationalists and unionists in our wee country?".

Cringe worthy.
To top that, wasn't Irish News editor Noel Doran dragged onto Radio Ulster to explain why the front page of the Irish News wasn't devoted to coverage of the victory ::)
Post by: Leo on November 06, 2007, 04:45:08 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on November 06, 2007, 03:13:23 PM
Quote from: Doire abú on November 06, 2007, 01:40:06 PM

Cringe worthy.

And what was the attendance at that game? 14,000 I believe. As my Tyrone mate put it - you'd get more people round the chip van in Clones.
Have to agree that the GAA could also do a lot more than they seem to both interms of proactive approach, and facilities. Would ulstyer Council lobby for a licence boycott?

To top that, wasn't Irish News editor Noel Doran dragged onto Radio Ulster to explain why the front page of the Irish News wasn't devoted to coverage of the victory ::)
Post by: Square Ball on November 06, 2007, 05:43:44 PM
Done, and dusted.
Post by: ziggysego on November 06, 2007, 05:53:56 PM
Sent the emails.

Filled in the official complaints form.

Telephoned. Incidentially, the guy at the other end of the phone never heard of the GAA. He did have an Belfast accent. Go figure...
Post by: orangeman on November 06, 2007, 06:11:49 PM
Fair play to Paddy Heaney - credit where credit is due ! Keep on complaining.
Post by: Square Ball on November 06, 2007, 06:16:20 PM
I think we should elect Paddy as the official spokesman of this thread, wonder does he trawl through here looking for inspiration?
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on November 06, 2007, 07:37:49 PM
Complaint done. Theres no way motorcylcling is the biggest spectator sport in the country - the gaa is a by mile. I know the north west gets over 10000 for 1 weekend in the year buts its still miles behind gaelic. There was a number of weekends during the summer when over 150,000 attended championship games in Ireland.
Post by: gerry on November 06, 2007, 10:41:41 PM
QuoteIf you want to listen:

http://www.bbc.co.uk/radio/aod/networks/ulster/aod.shtml?ulster/tb_tue

Fast forward to 42:30
cheers for the link
Post by: raisins on November 06, 2007, 10:42:57 PM
The North West gets over 100,000 at the event. Not 10,000. Just to keep you right.
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on November 06, 2007, 10:48:46 PM
That was a typing mistake, my point still stands.
Post by: Gold on November 06, 2007, 10:49:25 PM
Paddy was bang on

I left Casement on Sunday, got staight in the car, hit Radio Ulster--wot did i get ?? some woman singing about Jesus

Was fuckin cursin as i wanted to hear about the other games as well as intermediate and junior. Went home and hit teletext, saw results but it said match report to follow--not good enough

Roll on our Campaign
Post by: passedit on November 06, 2007, 10:53:41 PM
QuoteAudience figures for radio listening across the UK are collated by Rajar and are subject to analogous contractual constraints. We believe that such information is not covered by the Act and will not be making it voluntarily available in response to this request.

The above is an extract from the reply to Donagh, yet yer man stated that if coverage was based on audience figures then there'd only be Motorcycling and soccer on. How can we check the veracity of that statement if they won't publish the figures?

Donagh a copy of your correspondence and that question to Dunseith would be no harm.

BTW everyone should keep complaining, the squeaky wheel gets the oil.

I'm told the BBC gets the most complaints when they actually do show GAA so maybe thats why they're so reluctant to show it.
Post by: ziggysego on November 06, 2007, 11:01:30 PM
Quote from: Bensars on November 06, 2007, 02:15:20 PM

Just listened to it now.

Greencastle got a passing mention on the news. Stephen Watson couldn't wait to get that mention out of the way.

On Season Ticket, it was a programme dedication to the Portugese Manager of English club Chelsea. There was also a large part about how the GAA let go of their "bigotary" to allow the IRFU into their new "home".

At the end of the show there was a 4 minute report about how Greencastle, Owen Roe and Ahoghill at All-Ireland Finals in Croke Park. Was nice to see, but I wouldn't be using it as a bench-mark as how good GAA coverage is on the BBC.
Post by: Pangurban on November 06, 2007, 11:23:43 PM
Have just registered complaint with BBC, but dont expect any rational or meaningful reply. However a large enough volume of complaints should place the issue on their Radar screens and raise it up their agenda. If you have not as yet complained, please do so now
Post by: snatter on November 07, 2007, 09:07:46 AM
Ziggy,

re
QuoteThere was also a large part about how the GAA let go of their "bigotary" to allow the IRFU into their new "home".

What exactly did they say? Who said it - an interviewee or a presenter?
Did anybody record it? Is there a transcript / recording online.

If a BBC presenter said it, or the interviewee wasn't challenged on this "bigotry", then there are clear grounds for a wave of new complaints of anti-GAA bias.

It takes a real anti-GAA bias to equate not allowing rival sports to use your own private property with "bigotry".

Post by: ziggysego on November 07, 2007, 11:57:20 AM
Quote from: snatter on November 07, 2007, 09:07:46 AM
Ziggy,

re
QuoteThere was also a large part about how the GAA let go of their "bigotary" to allow the IRFU into their new "home".

If a BBC presenter said it, or the interviewee wasn't challenged on this "bigotry", then there are clear grounds for a wave of new complaints of anti-GAA bias.

It takes a real anti-GAA bias to equate not allowing rival sports to use your own private property with "bigotry".

Watson was the presenter, the interviewee was some auld timer.
Post by: snatter on November 07, 2007, 12:02:37 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on November 07, 2007, 11:57:20 AM
Quote from: snatter on November 07, 2007, 09:07:46 AM
Ziggy,

re

Watson was the presenter, the interviewee was some auld timer.

So which one mentioned bigotry?

Who was this ould timer? Did Watson challenge the bigotry opinion, if it was the ould timer that said it?
Post by: ziggysego on November 07, 2007, 12:08:15 PM
The auld timer said it, Watson said nothing. Don't remember who he was.
Post by: winsamsoon on November 07, 2007, 04:08:36 PM
If they are making a case for motorcycling and soccer then i can only imagine it is based on ignorance and a sheer lack of knowledge. The Irish league is played on a weekly basis, and the biggest attendance would be maybe 1,000 at a top game. Then there are all the amateur clubs that play which would probably total 1000 between them. The reason they see Gaelic as a sport that is not popular is because they don't come from a gaelic background. If they had someone who came from a gaelic background they would know that there are hundreds of fans who follow club, county and provence each week in the GAA circles. Motorcyling attracts one big crowd a year and in no way should get a bigger budget than the GAA. People can skate around the issue if they like but lets call a spade a spade . We don't have the coverage because we are an all Ireland body which would stick in the throats of the people who call the GAA bigoted. This is why we don't hear or see any mention of the GAA because the powers that be have decided that it needs to be opressed.  On how many occasion have we witnessed coverage of the GAA portrayed in a negative view? It was a big deal when the where discussing rules 21 an 42 because these spin doctors where waiting for the GAA to fail. But when it comes to promoting the game we all love and know it is simply swept aside.Fair play to Paddy Heaney because we need more people with a higher profile than just an ordinary GAA member to fight the corner. Everyone on this board should write a letter to the bbc and let them know of ourdisgust.
Post by: Feckitt on November 07, 2007, 04:37:17 PM
Well said
Post by: bailestil on November 07, 2007, 04:38:14 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on November 07, 2007, 12:08:15 PM
The auld timer said it, Watson said nothing. Don't remember who he was.

You can watch all the Season Ticket shows here
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/northern_ireland/season_ticket/6479719.stm
Post by: Leo on November 07, 2007, 04:41:53 PM
Quote from: winsamsoon on November 07, 2007, 04:08:36 PM
If they are making a case for motorcycling and soccer then i can only imagine it is based on ignorance and a sheer lack of knowledge. The Irish league is played on a weekly basis, and the biggest attendance would be maybe 1,000 at a top game. Then there are all the amateur clubs that play which would probably total 1000 between them. The reason they see Gaelic as a sport that is not popular is because they don't come from a gaelic background. If they had someone who came from a gaelic background they would know that there are hundreds of fans who follow club, county and provence each week in the GAA circles. Motorcyling attracts one big crowd a year and in no way should get a bigger budget than the GAA. People can skate around the issue if they like but lets call a spade a spade . We don't have the coverage because we are an all Ireland body which would stick in the throats of the people who call the GAA bigoted. This is why we don't hear or see any mention of the GAA because the powers that be have decided that it needs to be opressed.  On how many occasion have we witnessed coverage of the GAA portrayed in a negative view? It was a big deal when the where discussing rules 21 an 42 because these spin doctors where waiting for the GAA to fail. But when it comes to promoting the game we all love and know it is simply swept aside.Fair play to Paddy Heaney because we need more people with a higher profile than just an ordinary GAA member to fight the corner. Everyone on this board should write a letter to the bbc and let them know of ourdisgust.

Ther is little point in making complaits unl;ess backed up by facts.
As far as I am aware Sports Council statistics confirm that GAA is by far the biggest spectator sport in N. Ire.
Motorcylcing is second but interestingly its flagship event (NW200) is free to spectators and anyone who goes to it will know it is more of a Portrush drinks fest than anything else with the majority being casual follow-the-crowd revellers.
I repeat my point that the GAA authorities are seriously neglectful in this area and should have marshalled an irrefutable argument long ago. They're too busy cosying up to the RTE mandarins in D4 with expensive (liquid) lunch accounts).
Post by: zoyler on November 07, 2007, 04:58:27 PM
There are rumours in Belfast that a number of prominent GAA going barristers & solicitors are preparing a writ to be slapped on the BBC dor 'discriminatory practices' in reporting sport. 
What happened last week can only make their task a lot easier.  If there are budgetary constraints they should be shared. 

How did they find out the scores anyway?  To they have some one listening out for them on local radio stations so they can avoid the cost of telephone calls?
Post by: passedit on November 07, 2007, 05:01:23 PM
QuoteIf they are making a case for motorcycling and soccer then i can only imagine it is based on ignorance and a sheer lack of knowledge.

Its not ignorance, they have the ratings figures they just won't share them.

QuoteTher is little point in making complaits unl;ess backed up by facts.

Facts that are being withheld as far as i can see. 
Post by: winsamsoon on November 07, 2007, 05:52:32 PM
They may have viewing figures but it is sheer ignorance as regarding treatment of the GAA because they clearly do not know how many follow it, when they drop programmes and fail to report on key games on the grounds of figures.
Post by: winsamsoon on November 07, 2007, 05:54:56 PM
ok i have the link for the season ticket thing but what episode was it.?????
Post by: Square Ball on November 07, 2007, 10:37:41 PM
Quote from: zoyler on November 07, 2007, 04:58:27 PM
There are rumours in Belfast that a number of prominent GAA going barristers & solicitors are preparing a writ to be slapped on the BBC dor 'discriminatory practices' in reporting sport. 
What happened last week can only make their task a lot easier.  If there are budgetary constraints they should be shared. 

How did they find out the scores anyway?  To they have some one listening out for them on local radio stations so they can avoid the cost of telephone calls?

Any names Zoyler, or where did this come from?
Post by: orangeman on November 07, 2007, 10:49:42 PM
Go on Mr. Brolly and friends !
Post by: ziggysego on November 07, 2007, 11:05:39 PM
Bar the radio yesterday, has BBC NI issused a statement regarding yesterday's column, plus telephone and email campaign?
Post by: scalder on November 08, 2007, 01:56:20 PM
Well 5times if you did stop paying they would have to take you to court and you could use powers of discovery to get the stats they refuse to reveal (any lawyers who can confirm?).  If Brolly and co were prepared to back someone it might be worthwhile.
Post by: Maguire01 on November 08, 2007, 06:22:39 PM
I may be going against the grain here, but i don't have a major problem with the BBC here. I do have a problem withlack of coverage on the news and the tendency to highlight negative GAA stories, but not so much with the amount of coverage.

With regard to their coverage, as the BBC guy said, Radio is only one medium. The BBC Sport website is probably the best site for sports news. All through the league, championship and any other GAA competitions, results are up on BBC Sport hours before the south's national broadcaster on rte.ie and BBC NI are even further ahead of gaa.ie or hoganstand.com for results. For a lot of games they'll also have 'latest result' online, so you won't just be waiting on a final score - and i really don't care if they're listening in on other local stations to get this news, they're still the first to get the info online.

Anyway, i don't spend too much time listening to GAA (or any sport) on the radio. If i do want to listen, i can generally do so online and pick up a local station from around the country and tune into a game - e.g. northernsound.ie for games around Monaghan.

Heaney's article was a good read and he made some very valid points, but it's really not that bad in my opinion.
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on November 08, 2007, 07:25:49 PM
The BBC's general coverage of the gaa isnt bad maguire1, its terrible. The fact that there is often up to date results on the website is the exception to this. There can be no excuse for sending a reporter and camera to every Irish league game then virtually ignoring gaelic mathces including national league games were crowds of 10,000 wouldnt be out of the ordinary. When Northern Ireland play they have build up all week and live coverage and constantly talk about the huge crowd at windsor. There can be no justification for a radio programme on a Saturday to cover matches with 80 people present and then ignore games attracting thousands on a Sunday. The tv coverage is as bad. 2-3 live games this year and less next year. When you consider that there was more live milk cup games in a week on the bbc than gaa games in a year it shows what a joke the current situation is. There was also more u19 rugby games live this year over 2 weeks than gaelic games for a year. Gaelic is also ignored Id say on over 50% of nights of sports news on newsline. I dont think your comparison with RTE is really relevant and the fact that they show 50 live games a year + highlights is in stark contrast to the bbcs coverage.
Post by: orangeman on November 08, 2007, 08:26:06 PM
You're right Dreamer - BBC coverage is crap !
Post by: raisins on November 09, 2007, 11:26:23 AM
Quote from: Tyrone Dreamer on November 08, 2007, 07:25:49 PM
The BBC's general coverage of the gaa isnt bad maguire1, its terrible. The fact that there is often up to date results on the website is the exception to this. There can be no excuse for sending a reporter and camera to every Irish league game then virtually ignoring gaelic mathces including national league games were crowds of 10,000 wouldnt be out of the ordinary. When Northern Ireland play they have build up all week and live coverage and constantly talk about the huge crowd at windsor. There can be no justification for a radio programme on a Saturday to cover matches with 80 people present and then ignore games attracting thousands on a Sunday. The tv coverage is as bad. 2-3 live games this year and less next year. When you consider that there was more live milk cup games in a week on the bbc than gaa games in a year it shows what a joke the current situation is. There was also more u19 rugby games live this year over 2 weeks than gaelic games for a year. Gaelic is also ignored Id say on over 50% of nights of sports news on newsline. I dont think your comparison with RTE is really relevant and the fact that they show 50 live games a year + highlights is in stark contrast to the bbcs coverage.

Perhaps they don't have the rights despite trying to bid for them? Maybe all this vitriolic stuff that's being written about BBC on this site may not be the best way to move forward? Just a thought
Post by: bailestil on November 09, 2007, 11:30:29 AM
As mentioned before by zoyler earlier in the thread. Joe brolly in today's derry journal has also mentioned that a class action suit is being prepared against the bbc. So i assume this will have to draw out the hard facts on the issue which the bbc or 'the david healy channel' as he calls it, can't ignore.
Post by: Hardy on November 09, 2007, 11:52:38 AM
"The David Healy Channel".

:D :D
Post by: zoyler on November 09, 2007, 12:43:17 PM
Rights only arise withregard to TV where all they can do is bid as best they can and if the loose out to UTV or setanta so be it.  Big big sums can be involved.  This is not the case with radio where any match could be covered by a reporter for less then £100 and a commentary team would not cost much more.  In my view the costs are so little it makes the contemt shown for GAA all the bigger.
Post by: armaghniac on November 09, 2007, 12:53:22 PM
However I think the GAA should package its rights in a way that prevents BBC, UTV etc getting off the hook re coverage. In particular clips for news programmes, magazine programmes should be available to all stations, if they are willing to provide coverage. The Ulster council should make representations to Croke Pk to make sure that the NI stations can get such clips and then pressurise the stations to include them in sports reports etc. I would also package rights to advance the amount of coverage and not just take the highest bidder.
Post by: snatter on November 09, 2007, 01:20:04 PM
There's nothing to stop BBC/UTV from making joint bids with RTE/TV3/whoever for the full all-ireland rights to the football/hurling championships.

eg RTE and BBC could broadcast the same show at the same time. They've no problems doing it for Eastenders.

They could easily co-produce / co-commission a decent highlights show like breaking ball.

I'd bet my balls they never even thought about picking up the phone and discussing such a bid.
Easier to hide their heads in the newsletter sports pages and pretend there's nothing they can do.

The bbc is probably happy to give up on gaa coverage altogether, and let northerners watch rte instead. With all the gaa fans watching rte, they can then cite poor figures as an excuse.

Big problem with that is that all of us can't get rte (well without subscribing to sky).
So either the bbc gives us fair covergae, or we should all get free to air rte in the north.

Post by: Feckitt on November 09, 2007, 01:49:08 PM
Lads, you are all barking up the wrong tree.  The real people to blame are the 9 county boards and the Ulster Council.  I have never heard the GAA complain about this issue. Ever.  It won't matter if some random punter complains to some eejit in the BBC call centre.  What we need is the Ulster Council to get the finger out, and make sure that this is being dealt with.  Blaming Stephen Watson is a cop out.  If I had my own show then it would be heavy on GAA, Rugby, boxing and that's about it!!  You could guarantee that the IFA would soon have there complaints in.  The GAA Ulster Council is more negligent than the BBC.  If you don't ask then you don't get, and the GAA don't ask the BBC for enough as far as I can see
Post by: billy the kid on November 09, 2007, 01:51:54 PM
I think the GPA should be ashamed of themselves they are undermining everything the GAA stands for.  What they are asking for is Pay for |Play dressed up in fancy clothes.

They are an elitist Organisation who are only concerned with themselves and I firmly believe its a case of a few leading the many.

Don't get me wrong i totally agree with players being treated well and looked after if they get injured but they are always looking for more and more.

Currently every season inter-county players in Derry get:

2 pairs of boots
2 full kits a season,
2 full sets of training gear. (1 wet and 1 normal)
1 rain jacket
1 zip up top
1 jumper
2 polo shirts
1 tracksuit
Home training Equipment
Free access to state of the art gym

All the above are official Derry gear from O neills with emblems and crests and this is only the gear I KNOW FOR CERTAIN they get!

Also they have access to a top class physio, team doctor dietician and heart screening facilities.

they receive meals after ALL games and on the way to away games

they get fed after every training

and they also get VERY GOOD rebates on their mileage expenses.

Again these are jut the things i KNOW FOR CERTAIN!!

for each national league game they receive 4 passes each allowing friends and family to gain admission to the games for FREE and the passes can be used for both hurling and football even if only involved in one code.

They receive at least 2 and sometimes more FREE tickets for ALL championship matches they are involved in

They receive 2 good tickets for the all Ireland final in their code (hurling or football) for FREE

Before the club championship begins they receive a pass allowing them to gain FREE entry to ALL championship matches within the county in EITHER code at ANY level

The above list was given to me when I asked a PRESENT COUNTY PLAYER from our club about conditions at inter-county level.

I don't think anyone would begrudge them these things as the gear and medical farcicalities are a MUST and so are the mileage expenses and the meals.

The other stuff are added perks and again I would say Just right they are training very hard and giving a big commitment to Our County.

Looking at the list I would say our county players are fairly well looked after wouldn't you? And this is just the example of our county alot of other counties like Armagh and Tyrone get even more gear and perks which again is fair enough.

But to ask for money and to make out that they are so hard done by and listening to some of their leaders you'd think some were hardly fit to feed themselves and on the way to financial ruin is an absolute myth and border line lie!! Nobodies making them play!!!

What ever happened to being proud to play for your county and pride in the jersey? That used to be enough to make people play for their counties.

Has Pride and honour fallen of the radar of the GPA in their obsession with self-worth and self-gain.
If pride in the jersey and being honoured to represent your County plus the list i have supplied aren't enough to make individuals play for OUR county teams do we really want them to? The type of character who would undermine the very fabric of our great organisation to line his own pockets.   

I was also informed by the County player from my own Club that most county players don't want to strike but are being openly pressurised to do so. Is this Democracy?

Its also evident the GPA are so far removed from the grassroots GAA and the supporters that they haven't noticed that the vast majority are strongly against it, but why would they listen to us mere mortals?

Down Manager Ross Carr has the right idea:

If these prima donnas strike and refuse to play Each County should find a panel of players who will represent their counties for pride honour and the other perks i listed. There would be a stampede to trials and it would totally negate the strike and render their actions futile and meaningless.

We cannot let the elitist few hold the rest of us to ransom while they try to gain financially for doing what most TRUE Gaels consider an Honour and a privilege – PLAY FOR YOUR COUNTY  
Post by: orangeman on November 09, 2007, 02:07:14 PM
Feckitt - I've heard it all now - trying to blame the Ulster council is wide of the mark.
Post by: Feckitt on November 09, 2007, 02:14:51 PM
Orangeman, I'm not saying the BBC are blameless, but the Ulster Council are there to organise and promote our games.  And they are failing to promote our games at all.  Unless you buy the Irish News you will not know what is happening from the radio, tv or any other newspaper.  We deserve better from the ulster council
Post by: theskull1 on November 09, 2007, 02:17:58 PM
Quote from: Feckitt on November 09, 2007, 02:14:51 PM
Orangeman, I'm not saying the BBC are blameless, but the Ulster Council are there to organise and promote our games.  And they are failing to promote our games at all.  Unless you buy the Irish News you will not know what is happening from the radio, tv or any other newspaper.  We deserve better from the ulster council

I think Feckitt has a point here. It's reasonable to expect that representations from paid administrators in the ulster council could have been made to the BBC and UTV about their lack of/negatively biased coverage rather that waiting on a journalist to give this issue prominence
Post by: snatter on November 09, 2007, 02:41:04 PM
Quote from: theskull1 on November 09, 2007, 02:17:58 PM
Quote from: Feckitt on November 09, 2007, 02:14:51 PM

I think Feckitt has a point here. It's reasonable to expect that representations from paid administrators in the ulster council could have been made to the BBC and UTV about their lack of/negatively biased coverage rather that waiting on a journalist to give this issue prominence

The GAA may be negligent in not tackling hte issue (Shinners / SDLP as well?), but don't let that distract from the BBC NI & UTV's lack of fair and equitable coverage.
Post by: robertemmet on November 09, 2007, 02:48:59 PM
Did anyone get a reply from the BBC?
Post by: ziggysego on November 09, 2007, 04:00:11 PM
Just got my reply robert...

Dear Mr ******

I'm replying to your recent complaint about the BBC's coverage of Gaelic
games.

Our programming in this area, whilst extensive, is also affected by the
cost/availability of broadcast rights and wider budgetary constraints
within the BBC. GAA fixtures are an important element of our sports output
however, and we are aware of their popularity with local audiences.  Our
current GAA coverage extends across radio, television and online and
includes Ulster Championship matches, the McCrory Cup, the National
Football and Hurling Leagues, the Sigerson Cup and the All Ireland
Championship (when Ulster teams are involved). TG4 holds the television
rights for live club fixtures, but we do show club highlights on BBC
Newsline. Contractual issues mean that we can only cover games involving
the Ulster teams at All Ireland stage on BBC radio. We do however, provide
live radio match commentaries from National League fixtures and our
dedicated coverage of Gaelic games on Sunday Sportsound is complemented by
results and match analysis as part BBC Radio Ulster's 18.00 news bulletin
on Sunday afternoons and within the following day's Good Morning Ulster.
GAA fixtures, stories and personalities are also featured within other
aspects of BBCNI's output, including Season Ticket on local television, BBC
Newsline, Final Score, Saturday Sportsound and as an element of our online
sports offering.

BBCNI wants to maximise the reach, impact and relevance of its sports
programming. We are currently involved in detailed negotiations with the
GAA's Central Council in relation to broadcast rights for Gaelic games over
the next 3yrs. If our application is successful we would hope to
significantly increase the volume of live Gaelic Football coverage on BBCNI
television from 08/09 onwards.

Funding constraints have affected all our sports programming on local radio
(including soccer, motorcycling and rugby) and BBC output in this area will
always involve difficult editorial decisions about priorities (both
scheduling and financial) and the need to balance/reflect different
sporting interests and activities. In all of this we will wish to take
careful account of audience feedback and research. The cost of rights for
sporting events can present a real challenge however, and the marketplace
has become (and will likely remain) intensely competitive. Despite such
difficulties, we continue to take pride in the volume, range and quality of
our GAA coverage. BBCNI's commitments in this area compare favourably with
its programming about other sports, including soccer and rugby, and we
remain hopeful that our GAA coverage on local television might be enhanced
over time subject to the successful conclusion of discussions with the
Central Council.

I'm grateful for your interest in our sports output and have shared your
concerns with relevant management colleagues within BBCNI.

Yours sincerely

Shane Glynn
Executive Producer Sport - BBCNI
Post by: ziggysego on November 09, 2007, 04:03:46 PM
Quote from: hardstation on November 09, 2007, 04:01:52 PM
Harsh of him to address you as Mr w**ker, ziggy.

You should have seen what I addressed him as  :D
Post by: tyrone exile on November 09, 2007, 05:42:35 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on November 09, 2007, 04:00:11 PM

Dear Mr ******

games.

sports offering.

Central Council.

Yours sincerely

Shane Glynn

Got the exact same 1!  ;D must have sent to all
Post by: upthehoops on November 09, 2007, 05:46:20 PM
Quote from: tyrone exile on November 09, 2007, 05:42:35 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on November 09, 2007, 04:00:11 PM

Dear Mr ******

games.

sports offering.

Central Council.

Yours sincerely

Shane Glynn

Got the exact same 1!  ;D must have sent to all

Got the exact same letter this evening
Post by: Stalin on November 09, 2007, 06:24:47 PM
Also got the same one  >:(
Post by: stpauls on November 09, 2007, 06:58:02 PM
me too!!!
Post by: orangeman on November 09, 2007, 10:07:28 PM
What a load of shite from a crowd of bigots !
Post by: tyrone exile on November 09, 2007, 10:53:17 PM
should write something in again, start it off in the usual way and then go onto a totally different topic, see what the reply is! B*****DS ;D
Post by: orangeman on November 09, 2007, 11:02:15 PM
Good one  - let's try that !
Post by: doofus on November 09, 2007, 11:07:47 PM
surely the bbc are not dealing with their complaints in the correct manner if they are simply copying and pasting replies. that goes against the nature of a customer feedback and complaints procedure.
Post by: orangeman on November 09, 2007, 11:09:15 PM
Typical BBC treatment of GAA fans - take them for granted - sure they're only a crowd of thickos anyway !
Post by: gerry on November 10, 2007, 02:01:01 AM
Just received the same email, going to log a complaint about cricket coverage in the north west to see if i get same answer
Post by: winsamsoon on November 10, 2007, 12:00:05 PM
Yip same one different name on all them . At least now they know that we are well aware of what is going on. We may not change things an awful lot but any future decisions will be made with the knowledge that we won't lie down and take this on the chin. Keep the pressure on them.
Post by: armaghniac on November 10, 2007, 03:26:11 PM
BTW everyone should keep complaining, the squeaky wheel gets the oil.

As Passedit said, keep at it. As it is says in the good book, if someone keeps knocking at your door you'll give them something to make them go away!
Post by: orangeman on November 10, 2007, 04:22:36 PM
Agreed - bombard the f-----ers with emails and letters etc etc !
Post by: zoyler on November 11, 2007, 02:09:02 PM
BBC Chief is muddying the waters by bringing in TV rights.  The same problems donot araise with radio.  He should be asked to explain one situation. The budget can extend to radio covering 8 soccer matchs watched , at most , by in total 3,000 people but can not cover any of 4 GAA matchs the next day where the crowd at only one game was estimated at 3,500. Why? Nothing more - nothing less.
Post by: orangeman on November 11, 2007, 04:21:13 PM
Interesting to see tomorow's news on BBC -
Post by: Lecale2 on November 12, 2007, 09:26:00 AM
Has anyone received a response to their complaints?
Post by: Candyman on November 12, 2007, 09:29:50 AM
Got my reply from BBC after my little rant...  ;D

Dear Mr *********

I'm replying to your recent complaint about the BBC's coverage of Gaelicgames. Our programming in this area, whilst extensive, is also affected by thecost/availability of broadcast rights and wider budgetary constraintswithin the BBC. GAA fixtures are an important element of our sports output however, and we are aware of their popularity with local audiences. Ourcurrent GAA coverage extends across radio, television and online andincludes Ulster Championship matches, the McCrory Cup, the NationalFootball and Hurling Leagues, the Sigerson Cup and the All IrelandChampionship (when Ulster teams are involved). TG4 holds the television rights for live club fixtures, but we do show club highlights on BBCNewsline. Contractual issues mean that we can only cover games involvingthe Ulster teams at All Ireland stage on BBC radio. We do however, providelive radio match commentaries from National League fixtures and ourdedicated coverage of Gaelic games on Sunday Sportsound is complemented byresults and match analysis as part BBC Radio Ulster's 18.00 news bulletinon Sunday afternoons and within the following day's Good Morning Ulster.GAA fixtures, stories and personalities are also featured within otheraspects of BBCNI's output, including Season Ticket on local television, BBCNewsline, Final Score, Saturday Sportsound and as an element of our onlinesports offering.  BBCNI wants to maximise the reach, impact and relevance of its sportsprogramming. We are currently involved in detailed negotiations with theGAA's Central Council in relation to broadcast rights for Gaelic games over the next 3yrs. If our application is successful we would hope tosignificantly increase the volume of live Gaelic Football coverage on BBCNItelevision from 08/09 onwards. Funding constraints have affected all our sports programming on local radio(including soccer, motorcycling and rugby) and BBC output in this area willalways involve difficult editorial decisions about priorities (both scheduling and financial) and the need to balance/reflect different sporting interests and activities. In all of this we will wish to take careful account of audience feedback and research. The cost of rights forsporting events can present a real challenge however, and the marketplacehas become (and will likely remain) intensely competitive. Despite suchdifficulties, we continue to take pride in the volume, range and quality ofour GAA coverage. BBCNI's commitments in this area compare favourably with its programming about other sports, including soccer and rugby, and weremain hopeful that our GAA coverage on local television might be enhancedover time subject to the successful conclusion of discussions with theCentral Council. I'm grateful for your interest in our sports output and have shared yourconcerns with relevant management colleagues within BBCNI.

Yours sincerely  
Shane Glynn

Post by: Candyman on November 12, 2007, 09:31:59 AM
what a load of complete and utter sh1te....  ::)
Post by: Candyman on November 12, 2007, 09:47:59 AM
I presumed u all would... and i bet shane glynn knows f*ck all about it even though his name is at the bottom of it!!!! ::)
Post by: Bensars on November 12, 2007, 09:52:02 AM
everyone should forward the same message back to him, thanking him for addressing our "particular" concerns with the same response
Post by: el_cuervo_fc on November 12, 2007, 09:57:33 AM
I think I'm gonna have to write back to him again, the letter didn't answer all my questions posed to him
Post by: Tempoman on November 12, 2007, 10:05:13 AM
Jebus, anyone would think from that reply that gaa was never off the tv!!
Post by: peterquaife on November 12, 2007, 10:14:25 AM
got the same one, lazy hooers

PQ
Post by: Gnevin on November 12, 2007, 10:18:58 AM
You should all scan,post a copy to one person and reply en mass by a courier who is directed to only give it too Mr Gylnn
Post by: Feckitt on November 12, 2007, 11:28:30 AM
I live on the Warrenpoint Road in Newry.  The Newry Town soccer showgrounds are beside Pairc Esler.  When Newry Town are playing you wouldn't even know a game was on, the cars don't even reach out onto the main road.  I don't know what the attendances were at both matches (Trying to find out IFA attendances is like trying to find the 3rd secret of Fatima).  However I would estimate that there were about 10x times as many at the GAA match.

Guess which one received a live commentary from BBC, and which one was completely ignored?
Post by: Feckitt on November 12, 2007, 12:03:53 PM
Just sent my complaint away this morning to Mike Edgar & Shane Glynn.  Hope I don't just get the standard reply.

Dear Sirs,
I know that last week you received countless emails, letters and phonecalls concerning your poor coverage of Gaelic Games.  I didn't write to you last week, as I assumed that with the amount of complaints you received along with the negative publicity in the press that the BBC would be embarrassed into rectifying this.
However, I was genuinely shocked to discover on Sunday that your refusal to cover the Ulster Club Championship has not changed.
On Saturday a match involving Newry Town was carried live.  However on Sunday another match involving Mayobridge & Dromore took place in Newry with approximately 10x times the attendance of the aforementioned soccer match. 

I have no problem with the NI soccer matches getting good coverage, but when another sport attracts 10x times the attendance in the same town on the same weekend, but gets no coverage, then you know something is wrong.  In fact there were probably more people at that one GAA match than all the Irish league matches combined.  We will never know this for definite as the attendances at IFA matches is the most closely guarded secret in sport today.

Dromore go on to play Crossmaglen Rangers next Sunday in the Semi Final.  It really would beggar belief if the BBC decided to ignore this game as well.  Tyrone champions versus Armagh, Ulster and All-Ireland champions.  It will be by far the biggest game in Ulster this weekend in any sport.  The BBC have a duty to be there.  We will wait and see.
Yours sincerely,
Post by: tyrone86 on November 12, 2007, 12:16:09 PM
A little strange there was no radio coverage of Mayobridge and Dromore yesterday considering the BBC had updates of the latest score on Ceefax during the game.
Post by: blasmere on November 12, 2007, 12:38:59 PM
Quote from: Feckitt on November 12, 2007, 12:03:53 PM
Just sent my complaint away this morning to Mike Edgar & Shane Glynn.  Hope I don't just get the standard reply.

Dear Sirs,
I know that last week you received countless emails, letters and phonecalls concerning your poor coverage of Gaelic Games.  I didn't write to you last week, as I assumed that with the amount of complaints you received along with the negative publicity in the press that the BBC would be embarrassed into rectifying this.
However, I was genuinely shocked to discover on Sunday that your refusal to cover the Ulster Club Championship has not changed.
On Saturday a match involving Newry Town was carried live.  However on Sunday another match involving Mayobridge & Dromore took place in Newry with approximately 10x times the attendance of the aforementioned soccer match. 

I have no problem with the NI soccer matches getting good coverage, but when another sport attracts 10x times the attendance in the same town on the same weekend, but gets no coverage, then you know something is wrong.  In fact there were probably more people at that one GAA match than all the Irish league matches combined.  We will never know this for definite as the attendances at IFA matches is the most closely guarded secret in sport today.

Dromore go on to play Crossmaglen Rangers next Sunday in the Semi Final.  It really would beggar belief if the BBC decided to ignore this game as well.  Tyrone champions versus Armagh, Ulster and All-Ireland champions.  It will be by far the biggest game in Ulster this weekend in any sport.  The BBC have a duty to be there.  We will wait and see.
Yours sincerely,

I beg to differ, St Galls v Glenullin is just as big and may be even more interesting.

But you're right the lack of coverage is a disgrace.
Post by: Feckitt on November 12, 2007, 01:13:05 PM
Blasmere, I think that with the All Ireland champions playing, and the added Oisin/McMenamin factor the Cross match will be the bigger of the two.  However you are right the St Galls/Glenullin match won't be far behind, and will certainly be better attended than anything the blues/crues/glens/ports etc can muster
Post by: Square Ball on November 12, 2007, 03:07:04 PM
Quote from: Feckitt on November 12, 2007, 11:28:30 AM
I live on the Warrenpoint Road in Newry.  The Newry Town soccer showgrounds are beside Pairc Esler.  When Newry Town are playing you wouldn't even know a game was on, the cars don't even reach out onto the main road.  I don't know what the attendances were at both matches (Trying to find out IFA attendances is like trying to find the 3rd secret of Fatima).  However I would estimate that there were about 10x times as many at the GAA match.

Guess which one received a live commentary from BBC, and which one was completely ignored?

would the IFA be bound by the Freedom Of Information Act? I think so, write to them asking for the attendances under the FOI act and see what you get back.
Post by: GPA not OK on November 12, 2007, 05:48:51 PM
How the hell would the IFA be included in the FOI act?

Each ground would however be required to keep details of gate receipts for accounting purposes. Don't see how you would ever get this information though unless it was volunteered.

Why don't you go to Irish League matches and do a head count.

That would keep you out of mischief for a while  :P
Post by: Square Ball on November 12, 2007, 06:21:15 PM
Surely for auditing or some UEFA rule they would have to keep records of attendances at the matches? someone out there must know FFS
Post by: ziggysego on November 12, 2007, 07:13:34 PM
The BBC showed a good bit of the game tonight, plus interviews with Noel McGinn and Fabian O'Neill. Unheralded stuff. Could this be a new beginning to GAA coverage on the BBC? The short term looks good, but I'll reserve judgement for the long term.

Even UTV's coverage picked up a bit tonight. Prehaps they heard about the campaign against the BBC and were worried they were next on the list
Post by: clawaddy on November 12, 2007, 07:22:20 PM
Watched the programme last week on Martin Clarke - excellent programme.  At the end of the programme the announcer said 'For all your weekend sports be sure to tune in to Radio Ulster on Saturday at ......' Do they still believe all sports take place on Saturday? Hello there -  I believe there are some weekend sports   on Sunday which are not being covered
Post by: snatter on November 12, 2007, 09:27:30 PM

Yep, good programme by the BBC on Martin Clarke.

If anybody hasn't seen it yet, its online at

http://www.bbc.co.uk/mediaselector/check/player/sol/newsid_7080000/newsid_7087200?redirect=7087294.stm&news=1&bbram=1&nbwm=1&bbwm=1&nbram=1
Post by: Sky Blue on November 12, 2007, 09:32:43 PM
Good show. He seems like a really good talent. How come nobody heard of him before the Australians? Something really wrong with Down scouting IMO.
Post by: ziggysego on November 12, 2007, 09:54:27 PM
Quote from: Sky Blue on November 12, 2007, 09:32:43 PM
Good show. He seems like a really good talent. How come nobody heard of him before the Australians? Something really wrong with Down scouting IMO.

What you mean no-one heard of him? He was on Down's All-Ireland Winning Minor team in 2005. Big things were predicted for him on the Senior teams a few years down the line, but he got the call to Australia.
Post by: orangeman on November 12, 2007, 09:59:41 PM
Were there any pictures of the Dromore match on Newsline tonight ? I missed it - ??
Post by: ExiledGael on November 12, 2007, 10:15:06 PM
Both UTV and BBC showed a number of scores, and the great block at the end and interviews with manager and player.
Good effort
Post by: orangeman on November 12, 2007, 10:17:20 PM
The bigots are starting to see the light - the power of the keyboard ! and the Irish News - and threats of writs ! Keep it up lads - keep complaining !
Post by: zoyler on November 13, 2007, 08:28:27 PM
There was no radio coverage on Sunday because it was not budgeted for.  If we're lucky they may have allowed a few bob tpo cover the Ulster Final. I'd be surprised and delighted if there is anything next Sunday!
Post by: clawaddy on November 13, 2007, 09:36:18 PM
Good article on the lack of coverage in the Star today by Karl O'Kane.  Covered the same arguments made by Paddy Heaney and others on this board.  By the way could we organise a collection over the next couple of days and maybe we could gather enough to send  reporters to Clones and Omagh even if it was just with mobile phones to phone in the scores a few times.  I know we shouldnt have to do this as we have already paid in our license fees
Post by: imtommygunn on November 13, 2007, 09:47:08 PM
Possibly been covered but that season ticket is going to the US and Australia etc.

If their budgets are so tight then why are they doing this?

Don't get me wrong I enjoyed the Martin Clarke show but if they had budget for that...
Post by: Sandy Hill on November 13, 2007, 10:15:26 PM
Quote from: Feckitt on November 12, 2007, 12:03:53 PM

Dear Sirs,

Well done Feckitt, keep us posted.

Yours sincerely,

Post by: orangeman on November 13, 2007, 10:41:28 PM
Keep her at it lads - shame the bigots !
Post by: Puckoon on November 14, 2007, 12:29:53 AM
Just out of interest, does anyone know what Jerome Quinn thinks of this whole thing?
Post by: Puckoon on November 14, 2007, 12:32:29 AM
So is the concensus that its blatant bigotry and that Jerome just has to deal with it? Or are there other reasons for the lack of coverage?
He has no pull at all?
Post by: passedit on November 14, 2007, 09:23:24 AM
QuoteSo is the concensus that its blatant bigotry and that Jerome just has to deal with it? Or are there other reasons for the lack of coverage?
He has no pull at all?

That's about the size of it allright Puckoon.

QuoteGood article on the lack of coverage in the Star today by Karl O'Kane.  Covered the same arguments made by Paddy Heaney and others on this board.

I understand that the Ulster council are involved as well, coordinated effort perhaps.
Post by: orangeman on November 14, 2007, 11:25:33 AM
Bring it to the courts - protest outside the BBC - That'll get the headlines !
Post by: Hurler on the Bitch on November 14, 2007, 12:03:16 PM
It's too wet!
Post by: tbrick18 on November 14, 2007, 12:53:30 PM
Quote from: orangeman on November 14, 2007, 11:25:33 AM
Bring it to the courts - protest outside the BBC - That'll get the headlines !

Protest at the BBC about lack of GAA coverage...they wont report on it due to budget restrictions as this would constitute a GAA story.
It'll be like it never happened.
A share of cnuts the lot of them.
Post by: Bogball XV on November 14, 2007, 02:02:00 PM
Quote from: Hurler on the Bitch on November 14, 2007, 12:03:16 PM
It's too wet!
And with that avatar, I think you're just talking dirty ;)
Post by: Hurler on the Bitch on November 14, 2007, 02:25:52 PM
Quote from: Bogball XV on November 14, 2007, 02:02:00 PM
It's too wet!
I would have said "It's too moist" if that was what I meant..
Post by: Bogball XV on November 14, 2007, 02:36:30 PM
Quote from: Hurler on the Bitch on November 14, 2007, 02:25:52 PM
Quote from: Bogball XV on November 14, 2007, 02:02:00 PM
It's too wet!
I would have said "It's too moist" if that was what I meant..
classy ;D
Post by: rrhf on August 05, 2010, 08:07:47 PM
I hope Heaney dosent get the chop over this too. 
Post by: ziggysego on August 05, 2010, 09:45:42 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on November 14, 2007, 12:29:53 AM
Just out of interest, does anyone know what Jerome Quinn thinks of this whole thing?

I think we know now ;)
Post by: lawnseed on August 05, 2010, 11:16:50 PM
all yez had to do is say i refuse to pay my tv licence for your pathetic coverage of our national games. hit them in the pocket. it never fails. if we all did it and went to games with banners rte would delight in showing them, the beeb would have to show the same scenes since they share the same cameras.. or they'd cut to jarleth and martin.. its hard to win this one
Post by: Mike Sheehy on August 06, 2010, 12:45:50 AM
so which poster was Jerome Quinn ?
Post by: rrhf on August 06, 2010, 11:41:52 AM
Ziggysego
Post by: lawnseed on August 11, 2010, 11:03:32 PM
just a wee update on this one the beeb have been granted an extra chunk of money to enhance thier coverage this will put another £15/annum on the tv license, so more soccer i'd say >:( >:( >:(
Post by: snoopdog on August 12, 2010, 12:33:04 PM
Cant be bothered going through 13 pages of thread.
But i know the coverage of GAA on the news is pretty poor.
But in all fairness to the BBC id say they show more live GAA than rugby and soccer. They show every Ulster championship game and any further match in the All Ireland series that involves ulster teams.
Although their coverage of club scene is poor.
What is the general gripe on?
Post by: armaghniac on August 13, 2010, 03:01:57 PM
QuoteCant be bothered going through 13 pages of thread.
What is the general gripe on?

So you want someone who has read the thread to tell you to save you the trouble.

The BBC do provide quite a bit of specific GAA coverage. However their general news coverage often gives the impression that the GAA is not of interest to the general population and their coverage of general GAA outside the 6 counties is extremely uneven, e.g. they might fail to mention a compromise Rules game while always mentioning a hockey international or the like.
Post by: ziggysego on August 13, 2010, 03:09:19 PM
Quote from: rrhf on August 06, 2010, 11:41:52 AM
Ziggysego

Due to outstanding legal issues, I've been advised not to comment.
Post by: DoireGael on September 01, 2010, 09:28:21 PM
Sent a complaint to the bbc generally about the lack of coverage of the Ulster Club Championship Games on radio or television, for the craic.........

Heres the reply........

Thanks for your e-mail.

I understand you feel that there's insufficient coverage given to Gaelic Football.

We try to give a wide range of sporting activities as much airtime as possible. I'm sure you can appreciate, that despite our best efforts, we cannot accommodate the myriad tastes of all sport lovers. A difficult decision has to be made by the BBC on the amount of time available to report on the days sporting results and which live sport will receive live coverage. The choices we make will not be appreciated by all sections of our audience.

However I appreciate that you feel we should provide greater coverage on BBC Northern Ireland.

I'd like to assure you that I've registered your comments on our audience log. This is the internal report of audience feedback which we compile daily for all programme makers and commissioning executives within the BBC, and also their senior management. It ensures that your points, and all other comments we receive, are circulated and considered across the BBC.

Thanks again for taking the time to contact us with your concerns.

Kind Regards
Post by: Eamonnca1 on June 18, 2018, 10:02:39 PM
Interesting piece here about the BBC v GAA issue:

MacKenna On Monday: White-Collar Sectarianism Treats GAA Like Second-Class Citizen (http://www.punditarena.com/features/emackenna/mackenna-on-monday-white-collar-sectarianism-second-citizen/)

Some choice quotes:

Quote"Here, in a place with the population of a medium-sized city, a sport that attracts crowds that don't look bad on an international scale has literally never crossed the paths of half of the community. The story even goes that Mark Robson, the first presenter of BBC's Championship programme, stood on a sideline in Clones for the first time and asked aloud, "Where are all these people coming from?" He got through the youth of his life without knowing about it, but many others have gotten through their entire lives. Part of that comes back to media and to BBC Northern Ireland."

Quote"Acceptable behaviour is their acceptable behaviour. We were always told that GAA can get on the news if you can find an angle on a story. Yet Ulster rugby has to be covered via press conferences where nothing is said. It is different rules, different standards. It is always made more difficult for GAA, it's not a level playing field, but the hierarchy don't see that."

Quote"I tuned into @BBCIreland Saturday afternoon in the car expecting to get commentary of Derry v Kildare in the Qualifiers but instead was treated to riveting coverage of an in-studio darts challenge in their Saturday Summer Club programme."

Seems like things have gone downhill since Jerome left.
Post by: thejuice on June 18, 2018, 10:20:56 PM
Are we obliged to use the bbc as the way to get our games broadcast? We have the means, the wherewithal and the money in the GAA and the northern Irish community to do it ourselves. Why do we have to be beholden to the bbc? Sticking around like an abused wife won't do us any good.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on June 18, 2018, 10:51:43 PM
Not the point. They're a public service broadcaster and their sporting output should be a fair reflection of what people are interested in. If they're going to talk about sport on the evening news then the All-Ireland winners returning home shouldn't come three items after a non-story about some boxer who may or may not be up for a fight in a few months.
Post by: seafoid on June 19, 2018, 08:28:45 AM
Quote from: DoireGael on September 01, 2010, 09:28:21 PM
Sent a complaint to the bbc generally about the lack of coverage of the Ulster Club Championship Games on radio or television, for the craic.........

Heres the reply........

Thanks for your e-mail.

I understand you feel that there's insufficient coverage given to Gaelic Football.

We try to give a wide range of sporting activities as much airtime as possible. I'm sure you can appreciate, that despite our best efforts, we cannot accommodate the myriad tastes of all sport lovers. A difficult decision has to be made by the BBC on the amount of time available to report on the days sporting results and which live sport will receive live coverage. The choices we make will not be appreciated by all sections of our audience.

However I appreciate that you feel we should provide greater coverage on BBC Northern Ireland.

I'd like to assure you that I've registered your comments on our audience log. This is the internal report of audience feedback which we compile daily for all programme makers and commissioning executives within the BBC, and also their senior management. It ensures that your points, and all other comments we receive, are circulated and considered across the BBC.

Thanks again for taking the time to contact us with your concerns.

Kind Regards

, We try to give a wide range of sporting activities as much airtime as possible. I'm sure you can appreciate, that despite our best efforts, we cannot accommodate the myriad tastes of all sport lovers"

That is a non argument in the GAA context. Maybe they could roll it out to explain why showjumping gets fewer hours than usual.

GAA is as big as soccer in NI and doesn't get the respect it metrits on the BBC.
Post by: thewobbler on June 19, 2018, 08:57:39 AM
McKenna's article is, by and large, an angle rather than story.

It lacks context, such as:

- RTE's coverage of its indigenous games was also appalling until the late 1980s. Was this sectarianism in action? Or was it simply a reflection of the fact that Gaelic Games didn't attract that large an attendance in the 70s and 80s?

- As a rule of thumb, if you wish to listen so sport on BBC Radio Ulster, you switch over to medium wave 1341, as the FM version is reserved for shite light entertainment. This is as far from a "don't let the fenians on FM" policy as it gets.

- Every Sunday of the national league, BBC Radio Ulster covers a match live for one of the wee 6, and has reports from all other Ulster matches. Similarly, all Ulster championship matches are covered on radio. It's actually really good coverage, with Oisin in particular a great analysts and tipster.

- As I've mentioned innumerable times over the years, local soccer fans are appalled by how little live coverage their sport (Irish League) gets in comparison to the Championship. The problem is all these people, much like McKenna, don't want to hear about the hours of coverage they do get. They want to talk about themmuns, even if they've no idea what themmuns are getting. 

- BBC NI is a regional broadcaster. Whether we, us, you, them like it or not, this means that a team or individual who represents the entire region must be accepted as a bigger story than one which represents a locality. Even if every person in that locality is 100% behind their team it doesn't necessarily make it a regional story. Once one of the "wee 6" wins Ulster and is representing the province in the All Ireland, as far as I'm concerned it then becomes a regional story. As far as I can tell (and I've done no research), RTE follows roughly a similar approach when leading out.

- BBC NI did not vote for Sky to come into their playing field.

Post by: haranguerer on June 19, 2018, 08:59:22 AM
The coverage is deliberately poor, and it has a major impact on how the sport is seen in the North by the wider community. As MacKenna points out, they never have a gaelic game live on BBC Radio FM, but regularly have soccer games, when GAA dwarfs it in the north in participant numbers and attendances.

Post by: Seany on June 19, 2018, 09:25:36 AM
It's a mixture of a few things; a total lack of desire in any way to want to get to know our games, a complete lack of understanding of what and who we are and how embedded our games are in terms of our identity and of course, the little bit of themmuns all thrown in.

To give an illustration of all this, I'll just throw in a simple factual example.  Stephen Watson and Joel Taggart are the two main sports reporters in BBCNI.  GAA is the main sport within the region of the BBC where they report.  Just check their twitter feed.  Go back for four, five years.  Not one mention of any GAA event, match, occasion, situation.  Not a picture.  Not a comment.  Nothing.  It is just totally ignored as if it doesn't exist.  Now, in what other parallel universe would this happen? 
Post by: Keyser soze on June 19, 2018, 11:00:30 AM
Joel Taggart couldnt find his own arsehole using both hands..
Post by: Seany on June 19, 2018, 11:36:50 AM
I believe both of these fellas (Watson and Taggart) are quite decent guys, but to go five years on your twitter feed commenting about every single sport apart from the most popular one in your region, speaks volumes.  Ulster final, 30000 supporters, but warrants nothing, no comment, not even a mention from the two main sports reporters for the main broadcasting unit in the region.  All Ireland final - 87000 supporters on the biggest sporting days in the calendar of this island and not even a murmur from either of them.  If you check the GAA BBC reporters, their twitter feed is much more representative and inclusive. 

This in a nutshell sums up the entirety of the BBCNI Sport attitude to the GAA. 

Passive aggression all the way.
Post by: Stan Laurel on June 19, 2018, 11:50:26 AM
Quote from: Seany on June 19, 2018, 11:36:50 AM
I believe both of these fellas (Watson and Taggart) are quite decent guys, but to go five years on your twitter feed commenting about every single sport apart from the most popular one in your region, speaks volumes.  Ulster final, 30000 supporters, but warrants nothing, no comment, not even a mention from the two main sports reporters for the main broadcasting unit in the region.  All Ireland final - 87000 supporters on the biggest sporting days in the calendar of this island and not even a murmur from either of them.  If you check the GAA BBC reporters, their twitter feed is much more representative and inclusive. 

Watson is a pretentious p***k, if there was a GAA match in Augusta he would report on it with an all expenses paid trip.
Post by: trailer on June 19, 2018, 12:17:57 PM
Quote from: Stan Laurel on June 19, 2018, 11:50:26 AM
Quote from: Seany on June 19, 2018, 11:36:50 AM

Watson is a pretentious p***k, if there was a GAA match in Augusta he would report on it with an all expenses paid trip.

Isn't he. He's an awful arsehole. He was away at some Chris Meeke rally and him dropped shortly after for crashing the car too many times.
Post by: orangeman on June 19, 2018, 12:19:06 PM
BBC's record on coverage is at least consistent - they consistently under report on GAA matches and news stories. They tick a few boxes here and there and give disproportionate coverage to other sports.

Post by: Last Man on June 19, 2018, 12:43:16 PM
Joel asked Christpher Stalford  for a 1 word answer to the question "will Arlene be attending the Ulster Final?" on this morning's GMU. He might say that's a box ticked.
Post by: DuffleKing on June 19, 2018, 12:57:26 PM

Is the weekly soccer coverage on a Saturday on fm or am?
Post by: angermanagement on June 19, 2018, 01:32:43 PM
Both ususally.
Post by: Seany on June 19, 2018, 02:47:02 PM
It's on FM.
The excuse traditionally was that the Sunday religious programmes clash with the GAA games and apparently 'Sounds Sacred' can never ever be moved, such is its importance to the 25 or so people who listen to it.  I think to move a religious programme off its slot to allow for the 'IRA at Play' would be far too much for our evangelical zealots to endure and Ulster would explode as a result.

So then a few years ago  the GAA moved games to a Saturday and guess what - even though there's usually a sports programme on at the very time the GAA game is on, lo and behold, it's also on MW.

You couldn't make it up...
Post by: smelmoth on June 19, 2018, 08:02:10 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on June 18, 2018, 10:02:39 PM

MacKenna On Monday: White-Collar Sectarianism Treats GAA Like Second-Class Citizen (http://www.punditarena.com/features/emackenna/mackenna-on-monday-white-collar-sectarianism-second-citizen/)

Ther are real issues in the midst of that but there is no attempt at balance in that article. The whole reference to Mike Nesbitt is strange and dare I say revealing
Post by: sekibanki on June 19, 2018, 09:22:59 PM
Quote from: smelmoth on June 19, 2018, 08:02:10 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on June 18, 2018, 10:02:39 PM

Ther are real issues in the midst of that but there is no attempt at balance in that article. The whole reference to Mike Nesbitt is strange and dare I say revealing

There's no attempt at balance in the BBC either :P
Post by: JoG2 on June 19, 2018, 09:29:55 PM
Has the 2018 Ulster championship not had far more airing than the other 3 provinces with live, deferred live and live on the iplayer games courtesy of the BBC? Not ideal but a damn site better than the current offerings from rte?
Post by: imtommygunn on June 19, 2018, 09:54:37 PM
It isn't the fault of the bbc they aren't live either.
Post by: befair on June 20, 2018, 03:26:44 PM
Heaney is absolutely right; the BBC has always marginalised the GAA, and it's coverage minimal + condescending. But hey, we'll soon be >50% of the population in NI, + they'll have to change their tune