Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: IolarCoisCuain on July 26, 2013, 10:09:14 PM

Title: Off the Ball v Second Captains - So Who Won?
Post by: IolarCoisCuain on July 26, 2013, 10:09:14 PM
The JNLR report came out yesterday but nowhere can I find any information about how Off the Ball is doing since the Second Captains team left. It's driving me nuts.

I still listen to Off the Ball myself, but not as much as I used to. It's really not the same. The kindest thing you can say about Joe Molloy is that talking doesn't really suit him. Parkinson is the sort of a buck who'd be good fun on the session, up for anything, but as an analyst he's a joke. Soccer isn't my game but I don't know how they'll replace Ken Early.

As for the Second Captains podcast, I download it but I don't always listen. It's not the same. The balance is gone. It's like drinking Beamish - you know it's the same thing really, except it's not. It'll never be the same.

Thoughts?
Title: Re: Off the Ball v Second Captains - So Who Won?
Post by: Syferus on July 26, 2013, 10:42:25 PM
They let their egos get the better of them and they ended up marooned in a no-man's land.

Off the Ball may not be better than it was but it's Newstalk who look like the smarter cookies.
Post by: fearglasmor on July 26, 2013, 11:48:42 PM
Newstalk win hands down.
Show is not as polished as it was but Eoin McDevitt & Co overvalued their net worth.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on July 27, 2013, 03:41:56 AM
Quote from: IolarCoisCuain on July 26, 2013, 10:09:14 PM
The JNLR report came out yesterday but nowhere can I find any information about how Off the Ball is doing since the Second Captains team left. It's driving me nuts.

I still listen to Off the Ball myself, but not as much as I used to. It's really not the same. The kindest thing you can say about Joe Molloy is that talking doesn't really suit him. Parkinson is the sort of a buck who'd be good fun on the session, up for anything, but as an analyst he's a joke. Soccer isn't my game but I don't know how they'll replace Ken Early.

As for the Second Captains podcast, I download it but I don't always listen. It's not the same. The balance is gone. It's like drinking Beamish - you know it's the same thing really, except it's not. It'll never be the same.

Thoughts?

Off The Ball listenership is down but only by about 2,000 so not massively.

Second Captains are going 4 times a week with the Irish Times from next week.

QuoteTHE TEAM BEHIND Second Captains  – formerly known as the OTB5 — will increase the number of podcasts from one to four per week, they have announced this afternoon.

Ken Early, Simon Hick, Mark Horgan, Eoin McDevitt, and Ciaran Murphy left Newstalk in March when they failed to agree on the direction of the show with station bosses.

A new weekly podcast was launched on The Irish Times in May. The Second Captains now say they will broadcast four programmes per week from next week – with two of the new slots planned as football specials and the other two acting as general sports shows.

While Irish Times sports editor Malachy Logan praised the success of the podcast to-date, Second Captains producer Mark Horgan added:

We've been blown away by the reaction to the show so far from our listeners at home and abroad and we can't wait to broadcast at least four times a week from now on.

"We're delighted to team up with the Irish Times and together we feel that this is just the start of where we can bring online radio in Ireland."
Post by: Declan on August 26, 2013, 04:54:27 PM
Interesting to see how this goes- http://balls.ie/football/second-captains-rte-show-gets-green-light/ (http://balls.ie/football/second-captains-rte-show-gets-green-light/) first show on Sept 10th
Post by: easytiger95 on August 26, 2013, 05:13:32 PM
Much prefer Off the Ball now - the lads had begun to disappear up their own....well you know. They devoted a couple of shows to Richie Sadlier's dog, which was funny for about 5 secs - real lack of perspective both in their final shows and their behaviour in walking out. I do hope though the new RTE show goes well - on top form, they are still a real alternative to "Official Ireland" sports coverage. Maybe a bit of humility will suit them
Post by: the Deel Rover on September 10, 2013, 06:44:00 PM
New show on tonight 2nd captains live on Network 2 after the Irish match for any one interested .
Post by: Mayo4Sam on September 11, 2013, 10:30:11 AM
the lads, especially Early looked like rabbits in head lights at the start, very awkward, I'm sure they'll grow into it

I listen to both podcasts, i still think second captains is better, a lot smoother and better analysts and a more in depth level of knowledge.
I do like Wooly though
Post by: Orchardman on September 12, 2013, 06:20:22 PM
I love listening to newstalk and off the ball, I think they have done a great job especially having to pick up the shit after 5 guys walking out. Parkinson I used to dislike but he has fitted in really well.

Mainly though im on as I watched that second captains the other night, only watched the first half so didn't see o 'gara, but I couldn't look at ken early any more, he was nearly making me uncomfortable looking at him. He must be the most gormless looking guy on tv. He was one of them people who although had very good points to make on the radio, had a real annoying deep slow voice that I hated. I couldn't believe it till I seen the tv show the other night cause I didn't have a clue what any off them looked like.

But yes, big change from radio to tv, i'm sure they'll grow in to it
Post by: trileacman on September 12, 2013, 09:33:55 PM
Quote from: Orchardman on September 12, 2013, 06:20:22 PM
I love listening to newstalk and off the ball, I think they have done a great job especially having to pick up the shit after 5 guys walking out. Parkinson I used to dislike but he has fitted in really well.

The new OTB team try to drag scandal out of nowhere. Stopped just short of declaring a general strike in response to McGeeny getting the shove.
Post by: trileacman on September 13, 2013, 01:40:51 PM
Quote from: blewuporstuffed on September 13, 2013, 09:53:04 AM

reminded me a bit of an irish version of baddeil & skinners old fantasy football show

Same, and I really liked that show, although you can't drag the ass out of it.
Post by: Dinny Breen on June 07, 2016, 12:35:01 PM
So Colm Parkinson moves to Joe.ie following Dion Fanning. Does Joe.ie actually make money?

I liked Parkinson's style and he always gave a good insight and stayed away from "County Cliches" when talking about the championship. I thought in particular he worked well with James Horan, they had a good chemistry and Parkinson's relaxed style seem to get the best out Horan who gave really good insight.

On topic I think OTB is still producing some stand out radio and Joe Molly is an excellent host and the weekend shows are just good listening. SC while I like their TV show, their podcasts can be a bit hit and miss but good to have choice.

Post by: gallsman on June 07, 2016, 01:36:07 PM
Can't understand the appeal of sites like Balls and Joe. Utter garbage.
Post by: ashman on June 07, 2016, 09:15:58 PM
Joe and Balls are crocks of 5hit . 
Post by: AZOffaly on June 07, 2016, 10:06:51 PM
Quote from: ashman on June 07, 2016, 09:15:58 PM

I agree. Absolute cockology.
Post by: easytiger95 on June 08, 2016, 10:24:47 AM
Journalists cost money lads - whereas "content curators" are ten a penny.

I see the American journo Bill Simmons who was behind the Grantland US sports site has done a deal with HBO and launched a new site called "The Ringer" - I think it is split 50/50 between sports and pop culture. I'll give it a try, Grantland was good on its day.
Post by: AZOffaly on June 08, 2016, 10:30:58 AM
Quote from: easytiger95 on June 08, 2016, 10:24:47 AM

I see the American journo Bill Simmons who was behind the Grantland US sports site has done a deal with HBO and launched a new site called "The Ringer" - I think it is split 50/50 between sports and pop culture. I'll give it a try, Grantland was good on its day.

Even the photos of those guys on Joe.ie annoy me. The lad with the big shit eating grin, and the hipster lad with the beard. And then you read the shite they spout. Jaysus.
Post by: Walter Cronc on June 08, 2016, 10:33:26 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on June 07, 2016, 10:06:51 PM
Quote from: ashman on June 07, 2016, 09:15:58 PM

I agree. Absolute cockology.

Pundit Arena is the pits!! Awful clickbait trash.
Post by: AZOffaly on June 08, 2016, 10:34:35 AM
Agree.
Post by: gallsman on June 08, 2016, 11:38:20 AM
Quote from: easytiger95 on June 08, 2016, 10:24:47 AM

The Ringer is basically Grantland reborn. 75% of the staff are the same. They're missing Bill Barnwell (NFL) and Zach Lowe (NBA) who ESPN made sure to keep when they shut Grantland down.

The podcasts they do are generally very good.

Basically, if you can avoid any material that Simmons himself isn't actually involved with, it's pretty decent.
Post by: Dinny Breen on December 22, 2016, 09:12:53 AM
Off the Ball again last night, what a radio show. This is the kind of radio our licence fee should be paying for. Billy Walsh is on tonight just voted World Coach of the year, breaks my heart to see him in the US corner.
Post by: DennistheMenace on December 22, 2016, 09:49:18 AM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on December 22, 2016, 09:12:53 AM
Off the Ball again last night, what a radio show. This is the kind of radio our licence fee should be paying for. Billy Walsh is on tonight just voted World Coach of the year, breaks my heart to see him in the US corner.

+1 absolutely superb radio
Post by: Declan on October 12, 2017, 11:51:58 AM
What do folks think of IT contributors not being allowed on OTB now? Silence from Messrs Gilroy. Molloy etc deafening presumably under instructions from he who cannot be named?
Post by: AZOffaly on October 12, 2017, 12:12:23 PM
Who's not allowed on OTB?
Post by: Declan on October 12, 2017, 01:35:00 PM
QuoteWho's not allowed on OTB?

Gerry Thornley not allowed on the Rugger section he's been doing for 12 years -

Gerry Thornley‏ @gerrythornley · 18h18 hours ago 

Yup, in reply to all the queries, I will not be on Wed Night Rugby on Off the Ball tonight. After 12 years! Gotta admit, feels strange.

Post by: Antrim Coaster on October 12, 2017, 02:41:21 PM
While they're at it they should jettison Kevin Kilbane - a dose if ever there was one.
Post by: macdanger2 on October 12, 2017, 03:26:29 PM
Quote from: Antrim Coaster on October 12, 2017, 02:41:21 PM
While they're at it they should jettison Kevin Kilbane - a dose if ever there was one.

I like Killer
Post by: sid waddell on October 12, 2017, 04:22:52 PM
Quote from: Declan on October 12, 2017, 11:51:58 AM
What do folks think of IT contributors not being allowed on OTB now? Silence from Messrs Gilroy. Molloy etc deafening presumably under instructions from he who cannot be named?
The ban on Irish Times staff applies to all Communicorp stations, so Today FM and Spin FM are also included.

For instance, Patrick Freyne, who regularly did the TV review segment on The Last Word, is now banned.

But Sean Moncrieff, who presents a Newstalk show, is apparently getting a new regular column in the Irish Times. I'd bet anything Newstalk won't sack him.

Fintan O'Toole has been proved absolutely right in his assessment of Newstalk management.

Expect Harvey Weinstein to feature soon on the station.
Post by: Main Street on October 12, 2017, 04:31:40 PM
Quote from: macdanger2 on October 12, 2017, 03:26:29 PM
Quote from: Antrim Coaster on October 12, 2017, 02:41:21 PM

I like Killer
Killer is very good,  still the clean cut killer.
Post by: easytiger95 on October 13, 2017, 09:42:42 AM
Quote from: Declan on October 12, 2017, 01:35:00 PM
QuoteWho's not allowed on OTB?

Gerry Thornley not allowed on the Rugger section he's been doing for 12 years -

Gerry Thornley‏ @gerrythornley · 18h18 hours ago 

Yup, in reply to all the queries, I will not be on Wed Night Rugby on Off the Ball tonight. After 12 years! Gotta admit, feels strange.

I hadn't heard that, because I have been weaning myself off OTB for a long auld while, the kimmage stuff re the dubs was the last straw for me.

That is an absolutely terrible decision, the media is a small enough industry in Ireland, and it is hard enough to make a crust without bans being implemented. I would hope that Second Captains pick up thornley.
Post by: rosnarun on October 13, 2017, 09:49:04 AM
OTB bal has be come one massive in joke for the presenters . hitting a low every Friday with the quiz which sounds like the biggest arseholes in a pub arguing over the qualities of Di stefano V Puskas that none of them have ever seen.
but the ultimate low was them going live while pissed at the electric picnic
Post by: Esmarelda on October 13, 2017, 09:52:47 AM
Excuse my ignorance but who exactly has a problem with Irish Times journalists and what is that problem?
Post by: screenexile on October 13, 2017, 11:30:51 AM
Quote from: Esmarelda on October 13, 2017, 09:52:47 AM
Excuse my ignorance but who exactly has a problem with Irish Times journalists and what is that problem?

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/DLYzERlUEAEsAgS.jpg:large)
Post by: Main Street on October 13, 2017, 09:16:42 PM
Afaiu, the OTB crew do not have an issue with the IT and are opposed to such a fanatic position but comply all the same.

I mean, in this day and age of emotional maturity, could you imagine a GAA county board, front room staff and players boycotting RTE because they were unhappy with their coverage.  Never! ::)

Post by: Dinny Breen on January 08, 2018, 10:31:14 AM
Great Podcast from Off the Ball yesterday. Paul Kimmage, Padraig Harrington and Joe Molloy doing the sports paper review. Harrington is great, just an interesting man. 
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on January 08, 2018, 10:34:10 AM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on January 08, 2018, 10:31:14 AM
Great Podcast from Off the Ball yesterday. Paul Kimmage, Padraig Harrington and Joe Molloy doing the sports paper review. Harrington is great, just an interesting man.

By interesting, do you actually mean odd and boring?
Post by: Dinny Breen on January 08, 2018, 10:35:22 AM
Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on January 08, 2018, 10:34:10 AM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on January 08, 2018, 10:31:14 AM

By interesting, do you actually mean odd and boring?

Listen to it, even has a pop at Brand Brolly.
Post by: Declan on January 08, 2018, 11:20:28 AM
QuoteGreat Podcast from Off the Ball yesterday. Paul Kimmage, Padraig Harrington and Joe Molloy doing the sports paper review. Harrington is great, just an interesting man.

Listened to it last night - Harrington is great to listen to alright Dinny. 
Post by: Billys Boots on January 08, 2018, 12:22:02 PM
Quote from: Declan on January 08, 2018, 11:20:28 AM
QuoteGreat Podcast from Off the Ball yesterday. Paul Kimmage, Padraig Harrington and Joe Molloy doing the sports paper review. Harrington is great, just an interesting man.

Listened to it last night - Harrington is great to listen to alright Dinny.

Thanks for the tip lads, will get it for this evening. 
Post by: ballinaman on January 09, 2018, 10:17:05 AM
How many here pay the second captains subscription fee ?
Don't bother myself, barely have time to listen to off the ball.
Post by: Declan on January 09, 2018, 10:23:53 AM
QuoteHow many here pay the second captains subscription fee ?

I do - Don 't listen to them all but think its worth it per month
Post by: gallsman on January 09, 2018, 10:55:26 AM
I do as well, think it's well worth it.
Post by: Dinny Breen on January 09, 2018, 11:24:29 AM
I don't and I liked them on OTB and have been to their TV gig but I think OTB with Joe Molloy as the anchor has gone up another level.
Post by: Billys Boots on January 09, 2018, 11:59:18 AM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on January 09, 2018, 11:24:29 AM
I don't and I liked them on OTB and have been to their TV gig but I think OTB with Joe Molloy as the anchor has gone up another level.

I agree, Dinny.
Post by: Mayo4Sam on January 10, 2018, 10:12:05 PM
I don't pay for SC, in fact I'm going off them
Ken Earley is the next Ray Darcy, thinking his opinions are always right

The Harrington piece was excellent, says it like it is without being mad aggressive.

Agreed re Joe Molloy, he's really improved
Post by: caprea on January 10, 2018, 11:03:23 PM
Unsubscribed to SC recently, they are still doing well but the show is not strong enough for me. Ken talks a lot of completely bollocks, Murph on GAA isnt a patch on OTB or Woolys GAA hour and Richie Sadlier should not have a media career.

OTB is back to being very strong although i never listen live only to their pods, joe Molloy is as good as there is out there on sport.
Post by: gallsman on January 11, 2018, 10:41:32 AM
Woolly is a gobshite of the highest order. Has nothing objective to say and is a complete mercenary to boot.

Molloy is very good on OTB but Gilroy is an embarrassment. The less said about "Off the Ballbag" the better.

Ken Early is one of the best soccer analysts in Ireland and the UK.
Post by: Dinny Breen on January 11, 2018, 11:20:57 AM
Quote from: gallsman on January 11, 2018, 10:41:32 AM
Woolly is a gobshite of the highest order. Has nothing objective to say and is a complete mercenary to boot.

Molloy is very good on OTB but Gilroy is an embarrassment. The less said about "Off the Ballbag" the better.

I find Early interesting but an analyst he is not, never says anything overly insightful. Actually soccer in general, for a sport that is the most popular, the lack of insightful tactical analysis is quite amazing. It's all shock and awe punditry, who can say the most controversial thing, real RTE school of thought. 
Post by: yellowcard on January 11, 2018, 11:28:35 AM
Molloy is excellent, best sports presenter around and Gilroy is also very good.
Post by: AZOffaly on January 11, 2018, 11:29:23 AM
I think Joe Molloy is very good, but I don't like Gilroy. He's snide, condescending and pretentious.
Post by: DuffleKing on January 11, 2018, 11:57:02 AM

Off the ball are the market leader in sports coverage, review and analysis in this country in my book. I don't bother with anything else any more.
Post by: rosnarun on January 11, 2018, 12:38:18 PM

did wooly play for laois at one point under Micko maybe? . I think he may have accidently mentioned it at one point in Every show so far
Post by: Dinny Breen on January 11, 2018, 02:27:24 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on January 11, 2018, 11:29:23 AM
I think Joe Molloy is very good, but I don't like Gilroy. He's snide, condescending and pretentious.

Amazing considering he's from Athy. I don't find him that bad just not a patch on Molloy as a host.
Post by: Tubberman on January 11, 2018, 03:50:53 PM

And Gilroy also puts on this "we're having so much craic in the office" act, as if anyone in the wider world gives two shites!
Post by: Tubberman on January 11, 2018, 03:51:44 PM

You mightn't like Wooly, but he knows his football an awful lot better than ANY other presenter out there.
Post by: AZOffaly on January 11, 2018, 04:03:30 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on January 11, 2018, 02:27:24 PM

Amazing considering he's from Athy. I don't find him that bad just not a patch on Molloy as a host.

It's because he's from Athy. :)

I always feel he's talking down to the audience. Preachy.
Post by: Dinny Breen on January 11, 2018, 04:13:59 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on January 11, 2018, 04:03:30 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on January 11, 2018, 02:27:24 PM

It's because he's from Athy. :)

Are you sure you are not mixing him up with Ewan MacKenna, also from Athy!!!
Post by: Declan on January 11, 2018, 04:28:33 PM
QuoteIt's because he's from Athy. :)

Always knew it was a kip ;)

Anyone listen to the Fergus Connolly OTB podcast? Will try and get to it tonight
Post by: Newbridge Exile on January 11, 2018, 08:48:10 PM
Am a world service member of second captions but am thinking of cancelling my subscription ,Ken early's ramblings are getting tedious now, I  would agree with a lot of people in that  Joe Molloy is a very good host /presenter
Post by: Dinny Breen on January 11, 2018, 09:20:28 PM
Quote from: Declan on January 11, 2018, 04:28:33 PM
QuoteIt's because he's from Athy. :)

Always knew it was a kip ;)

Anyone listen to the Fergus Connolly OTB podcast? Will try and get to it tonight

It was good, wish it was longer, he held back I thought.
Post by: Asal Mor on January 11, 2018, 11:44:08 PM
The Second Captains are funnier. Personally I enjoy Early's ramblings and Murph is very funny and likeable. Way prefer him to Wooly. A fiver a month is practically free anyway. Molloy can be brilliant though especially on serious topics(he's a pretty serious chap). His interview of David Walsh after the TUE scandal broke was as good a piece of radio as I've ever heard. Tore Walsh to shreds.
Post by: Declan on January 12, 2018, 08:09:59 AM
QuoteIt was good, wish it was longer, he held back I thought.

Listened to it last night -very interesting character and some career alright.  He held back a bit but I could understand why he would
Post by: Never beat the deeler on January 12, 2018, 09:51:00 AM
Lads what's the best app to download otb over WiFi and listen later? TIA

Have really gone off SC.

Don't like woolly but love the show. Think it's the most informed GAA podcast. Although I disagree with him on most things you have to admire how up front he is with his bias. He announces it and you can decide there and then to take it into account
Post by: gallsman on January 12, 2018, 09:52:09 AM
Podcast Addict is what I use.
Post by: slippery dodger on January 19, 2018, 06:15:34 PM
What do people think of Off The Ball AM show that is on each morning? They are pushing a lot more quality content across their social media platforms and their online following is steadily growing. They have also introduced a TV set which looks quite professional and recently announced new lunchtime shows such as the "Keith Andrews Football show".
I don't think it would be a bad idea if Eir Sport cut a deal with them to feature the OTB AM as a morning segment on Eir Sport 1. They are definitely building towards something as there seems to be a lot of investment in it.
Post by: Main Street on January 19, 2018, 07:15:23 PM
I listen to OTB regularly, I've no opinion one way or the other about the 2nd captains except that they sound all a bit too young to me and maybe they'd appeal more to a younger audience.

I think OTB is a very good sports show,  with a a good variety to the content and opinions from the various presenters, which can keep me listening right through to the end.
But there's way too much rugby  and horse racing (not a human sport) and often enough I forget to tune back in whenever that stuff turns me off..
My pet hate - the  talk sport leading question that take 5 minutes of explaining all possible angles, leading to only one acceptable response from the interviewee.
I'll always listen to the Giles' slot on thursdays, even if he's saying the same stuff  week in week out  for the past 40 years.
Post by: trileacman on January 19, 2018, 11:20:56 PM
Quote from: Main Street on January 19, 2018, 07:15:23 PM
I listen to OTB regularly, I've no opinion one way or the other about the 2nd captains except that they sound all a bit too young to me and maybe they'd appeal more to a younger audience.

I think OTB is a very good sports show,  with a a good variety to the content and opinions from the various presenters, which can keep me listening right through to the end.
But there's way too much rugby  and horse racing (not a human sport) and often enough I forget to tune back in whenever that stuff turns me off..
My pet hate - the  talk sport leading question that take 5 minutes of explaining all possible angles, leading to only one acceptable response from the interviewee.
I'll always listen to the Giles' slot on thursdays, even if he's saying the same stuff  week in week out  for the past 40 years.

Never listen to Giles because as you say he's being saying the exact same thing for 40 years, there's nothing new in it. I like most of OTB stuff but Dave Mc Intyre is a w**ker though, I thought it was just me he irked but his sanctimonious horseshit has obviously riled a lot of people on youtube if you read the comments. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WSDvHQ7XzsY&t=163s (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WSDvHQ7XzsY&t=163s)

Watch from 2:20, he's such an obnoxious w**ker I've to turn it off when he's on. A negative, melodramatic gobshite.
Post by: Main Street on January 20, 2018, 12:12:12 AM
That's a conversation about rugby, that's mostly gobbledygook to me. 
Does he get paid for wearing that idiotic brand label tee-shit?
The Gilbert ball in the middle of the table?  happenstance I suppose?
Post by: Dinny Breen on January 20, 2018, 10:15:18 PM
Quote from: trileacman on January 19, 2018, 11:20:56 PM

Never listen to Giles because as you say he's being saying the exact same thing for 40 years, there's nothing new in it. I like most of OTB stuff but Dave Mc Intyre is a w**ker though, I thought it was just me he irked but his sanctimonious horseshit has obviously riled a lot of people on youtube if you read the comments. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WSDvHQ7XzsY&t=163s (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WSDvHQ7XzsY&t=163s)

Watch from 2:20, he's such an obnoxious w**ker I've to turn it off when he's on. A negative, melodramatic gobshite.

Nailed it
Post by: Main Street on January 20, 2018, 11:17:30 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on January 20, 2018, 10:15:18 PM

Nailed it
I don't get what happened there to arouse such passions. It sounded a very tame affair in the studio, a discussion about integrating a full back.

I heard Shearer the other day exclaim on MOTD that VAR was a shambles.,   a shambles!!!;D
That's the normal standards of melodrama.
Post by: Main Street on January 20, 2018, 11:24:30 PM

Never listen to Giles because as you say he's being saying the exact same thing for 40 years, there's nothing new in it....
Why do you want something new?
The man is special, one of the few real talented characters in Irish soccer, so much so that even if he repeats the same lines for 40 years, it's still interesting every time.