Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: 118cmal on April 14, 2009, 05:40:32 PM

Title: Football Trivia Question Driving Me Nuts!
Post by: 118cmal on April 14, 2009, 05:40:32 PM
Three players who have played at five or more clubs that have won the European cup???

Have two so far, last one driving me crazy!

Help please!
Title: Re: Football Trivia Question Driving Me Nuts!
Post by: gawa316 on April 14, 2009, 05:46:50 PM
Is it all the clubs they have played for have won the european cup or just the player?
Post by: 118cmal on April 14, 2009, 05:49:29 PM
Yes the clubs themselves have won the competition in their history, not necessarily when the player was with them
Post by: ardmhachaabu08 on April 14, 2009, 05:57:06 PM
who are the two you already have ?
Post by: A Quinn Martin Production on April 14, 2009, 05:58:24 PM
Edgar Davids
Ajax
AC Milan
Juventus
Barcelona
Inter
Post by: stiffler on April 14, 2009, 05:58:40 PM
larsson?
Post by: 118cmal on April 14, 2009, 06:00:23 PM
Fat Ronaldo - AC Milan, Inter Milan, PSV, Real Madrid and Barcelona

Edgar Davids - AC Milan, Inter Milan, Juventus, Barcelona, Ajax

Any ideas???

I thought about Dean Saunders and he actually has 4!
Post by: 118cmal on April 14, 2009, 06:01:29 PM
nope Larsson just has 4 max
Post by: The Iceman on April 14, 2009, 06:03:55 PM
Dean Saunders - 4
Ronaldo - 5
Laurent Blanc - 4
Post by: 118cmal on April 14, 2009, 06:04:46 PM
Blanc has 4
Post by: The Iceman on April 14, 2009, 06:07:08 PM
yeah sorry - i corrected myself
Post by: The Real Laoislad on April 14, 2009, 06:07:12 PM
Only a guess but either of the Laudrup brothers?
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on April 14, 2009, 06:16:55 PM
I'm tempted to say Seedorf or Kluivert - but I think they might only have played for 4 each
Post by: The Real Laoislad on April 14, 2009, 06:19:32 PM
Van Hooijdonk  ???
Post by: boojangles on April 14, 2009, 07:11:21 PM
Great Question- Seedorf only has 4-Real, Inter, AC and Ajax
Il have to get back to ya
Post by: The Iceman on April 14, 2009, 08:46:50 PM
I don't believe there are three.
Ronaldo  - yes.
Davids - can anyone else confirm this?
Post by: Tony Baloney on April 14, 2009, 08:59:47 PM
Quote from: The Iceman on April 14, 2009, 08:46:50 PM
Ronaldo  - yes.
Ajax, AC, Inter, Juventus and a loan spell at Barca.
Post by: stiffler on April 14, 2009, 10:09:38 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on April 14, 2009, 08:59:47 PM
Quote from: The Iceman on April 14, 2009, 08:46:50 PM
Ronaldo  - yes.
Ajax, AC, Inter, Juventus and a loan spell at Barca.

and he was at spurs too......ah yea they havnt won it before  :D
Post by: muppet on April 14, 2009, 11:49:23 PM
Ronaldo Luís Nazário de Lima 5
Edgr Davids 5

Stam 4
Ronald Koeman 4
Zenden 4
Kluivert 4
van Hooijdonk 4
Reiziger 4
Seedorf 4
Paulo Sousa 4
Paulo Futre 4
Larsson 4

I can't find a 3rd who played for 5.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on April 14, 2009, 11:59:09 PM
The question was asked on Football365 earlier - it was proven there was only 2
Post by: nutsy--1 on April 15, 2009, 12:23:49 PM
What about Anelka
Post by: Clown on April 15, 2009, 12:36:04 PM
roy keane - 3
stan collymore - 3
steve stone - 2  ;D
Post by: mrsandman on April 15, 2009, 12:37:13 PM
Quote from: Clown on April 15, 2009, 12:36:04 PM
roy keane - 3
stan collymore - 3
steve stone - 2  ;D

Well that clears that up.. ::)
Post by: 118cmal on April 15, 2009, 01:23:14 PM
Quote from: hardstation on April 14, 2009, 11:53:42 PM
Mal, if you come back on to this thread and say, "Ah ballix, I messed the question up, there were only two", you deserve a good booting.

Ah ballix, I messed the question up, there were only two
Post by: Square Ball on April 15, 2009, 01:32:14 PM
Dean Saunders has played for 4 as well
Post by: A Quinn Martin Production on April 15, 2009, 01:43:36 PM
Quote from: nutsy--1 on April 15, 2009, 12:23:49 PM
What about Anelka

I know he's played for about 25 clubs but AFAIK, Anelka only 2...Real Madrid and Liverpool
Post by: Roger on April 15, 2009, 02:06:09 PM
Patrick Kluivert played for PSV, Valencia, Barcelona, AC Milan, and Ajax. 

Think he won the Champions League only with Ajax.
Post by: Homer on April 15, 2009, 02:12:12 PM
Quote from: Roger on April 15, 2009, 02:06:09 PM

Don't think Valencia have ever won the European Cup
Post by: Roger on April 15, 2009, 02:17:47 PM
Quote from: Homer on April 15, 2009, 02:12:12 PM

No? I was fairly sure they had. Oh well.

No matter, this is a bloody good trivia question.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on April 15, 2009, 02:55:22 PM
Quote from: Roger on April 15, 2009, 02:17:47 PM
Quote from: Homer on April 15, 2009, 02:12:12 PM

No? I was fairly sure they had. Oh well.

No matter, this is a bloody good trivia question.

Runners up two years in a row in 00 and 01
Post by: mouview on April 15, 2009, 03:02:43 PM
First player to win European Cup with 2 different clubs?
Post by: Declan on April 15, 2009, 03:10:02 PM
QuoteFirst player to win European Cup with 2 different clubs?

Jimmy Rimmer?
Post by: longrunsthefox on April 15, 2009, 05:09:11 PM
Which was the first World Cup final were the team that scored first went on to win?
Post by: gallsman on April 15, 2009, 05:18:39 PM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on April 15, 2009, 05:09:11 PM
Which was the first World Cup final were the team that scored first went on to win?

Post by: longrunsthefox on April 15, 2009, 05:38:56 PM
Quote from: gallsman on April 15, 2009, 05:18:39 PM

Jees! I just checked that out and you are right. I thought I remembered David Coleman during the 1970 final warning viewers that no team who had scored first in final went on to win. Maybe he said no team since the first final in 1930! Anyway he said it after Pele had opened the scoring and of course Brazil went on to win.   
Post by: longrunsthefox on April 15, 2009, 05:48:57 PM
 Right! Gallsman-no looking this up on the web... last player to score in every round of the FA Cup- I remember this and checked -definently rite his time!
Post by: Doire abú on April 15, 2009, 05:52:51 PM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on April 15, 2009, 05:48:57 PM
Right! Gallsman-no looking this up on the web... last player to score in every round of the FA Cup- I remember this and checked -definently rite his time!

Peter Osgood i think.
Post by: longrunsthefox on April 15, 2009, 05:55:29 PM
Quote from: Doire abú on April 15, 2009, 05:52:51 PM

Peter Osgood i think.

Aye -is strange it ain't been done in the 39 years since 1970 but was done in 1968 by.... ?
Post by: The Real Laoislad on April 15, 2009, 05:58:17 PM
I remember Irelands John Byrne for Sunderland scored in every round till the final v Liverpool in 1992
Post by: longrunsthefox on April 15, 2009, 06:07:24 PM
I can remember Ted McDougal of Bournemouth scoring nine goals in a cup game against some team and all the winners and scorers from 60s to mid 80s and can hardly remember who won it in last few years. The mind dulls as the years roll on  :'(
Post by: Our Nail Loney on April 15, 2009, 06:43:03 PM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on April 15, 2009, 05:38:56 PM

Jees! I just checked that out and you are right. I thought I remembered David Coleman during the 1970 final warning viewers that no team who had scored first in final went on to win. Maybe he said no team since the first final in 1930! Anyway he said it after Pele had opened the scoring and of course Brazil went on to win.   

f**k how old are you fox??
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on April 15, 2009, 06:55:18 PM
Can you fill in the gap? (An oldie but a goodie)

1979: Sunderland
1980: ?????
1981: Villa
Post by: The Real Laoislad on April 15, 2009, 06:57:28 PM
Brooking
Post by: The Watcher Pat on April 15, 2009, 07:07:35 PM

Ian wright?
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on April 15, 2009, 07:24:04 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on April 15, 2009, 06:57:28 PM
Brooking

Well in sir. Great question that if you haven't ever heard it.
Post by: Norf Tyrone on April 15, 2009, 07:32:47 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on April 15, 2009, 05:58:17 PM
I remember Irelands John Byrne for Sunderland scored in every round till the final v Liverpool in 1992
Ahhhhhh. He scored v Chelsea in the quarter final that year. One of the most hurtful losses in my life (The replay).

That was another one of 'its our year' conversations.
Post by: Family guy on April 15, 2009, 09:06:09 PM
Heres an easy 1,who was the last english man to finish top scorerer in the premiership???No need to ruin the fun and google it
Post by: stiffler on April 15, 2009, 09:08:19 PM
Quote from: Family guy on April 15, 2009, 09:06:09 PM
Heres an easy 1,who was the last english man to finish top scorerer in the premiership???No need to ruin the fun and google it

Darren bent?
Post by: Family guy on April 15, 2009, 09:09:58 PM
lol no,he mitent even have got scorer for spurs b4 never mind the league
Post by: muppet on April 15, 2009, 09:17:27 PM
Quote from: stiffler on April 15, 2009, 09:08:19 PM
Quote from: Family guy on April 15, 2009, 09:06:09 PM

Darren bent?

Is he the newest English Manager in the Premiership and about to be relegated?
Post by: slow corner back on April 15, 2009, 09:26:21 PM
Chris Sutton the last englishman?
Post by: Family guy on April 15, 2009, 09:38:06 PM
All wrong,wrecked my head all nite when asked in the bar one nite,keep guessing lads
Post by: Tony Baloney on April 15, 2009, 09:43:24 PM
I've heard this one before. I'll not ruin it for the lads but think of a NE English club associated with a surly Irishman.
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on April 15, 2009, 09:45:51 PM
Kevin Phillips, he scored 30 one year there around the turn of the millennium.
Post by: full back on April 15, 2009, 09:46:38 PM
Kevin Philips indeed
Post by: Family guy on April 15, 2009, 10:37:05 PM
Yep good one all the same,gets the aul head goin
Post by: longrunsthefox on April 16, 2009, 10:19:58 AM
Quote from: Our Nail Loney on April 15, 2009, 06:43:03 PM

You know the expression 'a wily old fox'...   Who was first player in English soccer league to wear shirt with his name printed on it?
Post by: A Quinn Martin Production on April 16, 2009, 10:53:15 AM
Graham Sharp??
Post by: longrunsthefox on April 16, 2009, 11:10:32 AM
Aye-well done.
Post by: under the bar on April 16, 2009, 11:38:57 AM
Can anyone name a goal-keeper who saved 3 penalties in 90 mins?   I know one but there may be others.
Post by: Our Nail Loney on April 16, 2009, 11:43:01 AM
Or who missed three penalties in one match??
Post by: Maiden1 on April 16, 2009, 11:46:07 AM
Martin Palermo (Argentina) missed 3 penalties against Columbia in 1999 Copa America.
Post by: BennyHarp on April 16, 2009, 11:49:37 AM
Got this one in a text the other day!

I'm an olympic gold medalist, a European Cup winner, a Premiership winner, a UEFA Cup winner, an FA cup winner, a Supercup winner, i've been relegated from the premiership but never played in the championship and i still play in the Premiership today! WHO AM I??
Post by: Katchit on April 16, 2009, 11:51:18 AM
Quote from: BennyHarp on April 16, 2009, 11:49:37 AM

I'm an olympic gold medalist, a European Cup winner, a Premiership winner, a UEFA Cup winner, an FA cup winner, a Supercup winner, i've been relegated from the premiership but never played in the championship and i still play in the Premiership today! WHO AM I??

Kanu ?
Post by: Our Nail Loney on April 16, 2009, 11:52:11 AM
Quote from: Maiden1 on April 16, 2009, 11:46:07 AM
Martin Palermo (Argentina) missed 3 penalties against Columbia in 1999 Copa America.

Correct...
Post by: under the bar on April 16, 2009, 11:54:12 AM
The keeper I'm thinking of was in the old English 1st Division in the 1980s
Post by: Our Nail Loney on April 16, 2009, 11:56:10 AM
Heres a fun wee thing stolen from f365...

Guess the soccer players from the pics...

(http://img4.imageshack.us/img4/1618/92317012.jpg)

(http://img4.imageshack.us/img4/2732/610n.jpg)

(http://img17.imageshack.us/img17/3927/1115b.jpg)

(http://img216.imageshack.us/img216/4768/1620n.jpg)

Eg. Number one: Tea, Hairy, Henry... Thierry Henry... As the meerkat says: Simples!
Post by: longrunsthefox on April 16, 2009, 11:59:57 AM
Three... Nobby Styles  ;D
Post by: BennyHarp on April 16, 2009, 12:00:10 PM
Quote from: Katchit on April 16, 2009, 11:51:18 AM
Quote from: BennyHarp on April 16, 2009, 11:49:37 AM

Kanu ?

Well that didnt take long!!  :)
Post by: BennyHarp on April 16, 2009, 12:01:26 PM
2. Kevn Keegan
9. Tim Cahill
12. Thomas Radsinski
16. Shaun Wright-Phillips

Post by: longrunsthefox on April 16, 2009, 12:03:34 PM
8  Wayne Rooney
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on April 16, 2009, 12:05:18 PM
14: theo Walcott
18 Freddie Ljungberg
19 Robin van Persie

Very good nail!
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on April 16, 2009, 12:07:23 PM
4: Ash Leek Hole - Ashley Cole
12: Thomas Rad Sink Ski - Thomas Radsinski
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on April 16, 2009, 12:09:19 PM
15: Franz Beckenbauer - that's the best of them!

I hope u ain't copying my answers Benny!
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on April 16, 2009, 12:10:52 PM
5: Jerzy Dudek
6: Paschal? Chimbonda
Post by: The GAA on April 16, 2009, 12:12:00 PM

1. thierry henry
Post by: BennyHarp on April 16, 2009, 12:15:33 PM
Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on April 16, 2009, 12:09:19 PM
15: Franz Beckenbauer - that's the best of them!

I hope u ain't copying my answers Benny!

:) Nah, had modified mine amd in the time i took to do it you had answered! Had already deleted some of my answers! Think we posted at same time!

Good little quiz!!
Post by: Our Nail Loney on April 16, 2009, 12:16:07 PM
Quote from: The GAA on April 16, 2009, 12:12:00 PM

1. thierry henry

Thats the one I give in the example!!  :D
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on April 16, 2009, 12:16:26 PM
13: Frank Lampard.

Gonna struggle for the last few,

PS I believe you Benny!
Post by: Estimator on April 16, 2009, 12:17:19 PM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on April 16, 2009, 10:19:58 AM
Quote from: Our Nail Loney on April 15, 2009, 06:43:03 PM

You know the expression 'a wily old fox'...   Who was first player in English soccer league to wear shirt with his name printed on it?
Graham Sharp??

Anyone care to explain this one?
Post by: Tony Baloney on April 16, 2009, 12:18:17 PM
10. Hernan Crespo
Post by: Tony Baloney on April 16, 2009, 12:22:02 PM
11. Joey Beauchamp
Post by: the green man on April 16, 2009, 12:22:19 PM
11 Joey Beauchamp
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on April 16, 2009, 12:24:18 PM
8, 17 and 20 left. I wonder is Ian Harte in there GreenMan?! :D
Post by: AFS on April 16, 2009, 12:27:05 PM
20 is Jermaine someone... Defoe/ Jenas?  :-\

EDIT: its Pennant, so that's what you call those stupid little flags
Post by: The Real Laoislad on April 16, 2009, 12:28:58 PM
Jermaine Pennant
Post by: AFS on April 16, 2009, 12:29:41 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on April 16, 2009, 12:28:58 PM
Jermaine Pennant

shit, beat me by 3 seconds  >:(
Post by: AFS on April 16, 2009, 12:36:01 PM
8 is Maradona  :)
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on April 16, 2009, 01:19:14 PM
Well in AFS. I get the DA - GO and DONNA bits but whats the Mara reference on the map about?

17 all that's left. Is that Totti being sent off?
Post by: adevvabr on April 16, 2009, 01:32:29 PM
17. Dino Zoff
Post by: AFS on April 16, 2009, 01:38:56 PM
Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on April 16, 2009, 01:19:14 PM
Well in AFS. I get the DA - GO and DONNA bits but whats the Mara reference on the map about?

17 all that's left. Is that Totti being sent off?

Yeah the Masai Mara, its a good one.
Post by: blewuporstuffed on April 16, 2009, 01:57:26 PM

got sent this there at lunch time

There are 12 players who have played in the Premier League for 2 of 'The Big 4 Clubs'. Let the head melting commence...............

Google Ban is in Effect!
Post by: Maiden1 on April 16, 2009, 01:59:28 PM
Ince
Ashley Cole
Gallas
Post by: AFS on April 16, 2009, 02:00:23 PM
Silvestre and Veron
Post by: Maiden1 on April 16, 2009, 02:02:03 PM
Andy Cole started at Arsenal, don't think he ever played in premiership for them though.
Post by: AFS on April 16, 2009, 02:02:38 PM
Mark Hughes?
Post by: Maiden1 on April 16, 2009, 02:03:09 PM
Bosnich
Post by: AFS on April 16, 2009, 02:03:37 PM
Did Steve Sidwell ever play in the PL for Arsenal?
Post by: AFS on April 16, 2009, 02:05:12 PM
Anelka. This is easy peasy.
Post by: blewuporstuffed on April 16, 2009, 02:06:29 PM
thats 8 lads, 4 more!!!
Post by: AFS on April 16, 2009, 02:06:51 PM
Diarra
Post by: AFS on April 16, 2009, 02:07:49 PM
Quote from: blewuporstuffed on April 16, 2009, 02:06:29 PM
thats 8 lads, 4 more!!!

There were 10 lads named there, which two are wrong?
Post by: the green man on April 16, 2009, 02:09:10 PM
Quote from: AFS on April 16, 2009, 02:07:49 PM
thats 8 lads, 4 more!!!

Andy Cole and Sidwell
Post by: blewuporstuffed on April 16, 2009, 02:09:49 PM
Quote from: AFS on April 16, 2009, 02:07:49 PM
thats 8 lads, 4 more!!!

[/quote

not sidwell or cole, both at arsenal but no premiership apperances]
Post by: A Quinn Martin Production on April 16, 2009, 02:12:22 PM
Manu Petit...has Michael Thomas been mentioned??
Post by: The Real Laoislad on April 16, 2009, 02:16:55 PM
Quote from: A Quinn Martin Production on April 16, 2009, 02:12:22 PM
Manu Petit...has Michael Thomas been mentioned??

I was gonna mention Thomas but then was thinking he didn't play in the Premiership for Arsenal only the old First Division
Post by: AFS on April 16, 2009, 02:19:44 PM
Loadsa Frenchies being mentioned. Disloyal Bastards.
Post by: blewuporstuffed on April 16, 2009, 02:22:36 PM
diarra & petit both right aswell,thinks thats 10 now lads  ;D
Post by: longrunsthefox on April 16, 2009, 02:23:03 PM
Name the English league  first division player was subject to an IRA death threat in the late 1970s or early 80s. True.
Post by: Roger on April 16, 2009, 02:27:58 PM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on April 16, 2009, 02:23:03 PM
Name the English league  first division player was subject to an IRA death threat in the late 1970s or early 80s. True.

George Best was supposedly threatened.
Post by: longrunsthefox on April 16, 2009, 02:28:39 PM
Not who I am thinking of...
Post by: the green man on April 16, 2009, 02:29:47 PM
Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on April 16, 2009, 12:24:18 PM
I wonder is Ian Harte in there GreenMan?! :D

I can always shoehorn him in somewhere!
Post by: blewuporstuffed on April 16, 2009, 02:31:09 PM

gazza got death threats from the boys, but i take it your not talkin about him!
Post by: longrunsthefox on April 16, 2009, 02:33:05 PM
Quote from: blewuporstuffed on April 16, 2009, 02:31:09 PM

gazza got death threats from the boys, but i take it your not talkin about him!

No but I didn't know about Gaza and Best- ironic two sad alcoholics with no sense
Post by: gallsman on April 16, 2009, 02:33:57 PM
Jermaine Pennant presumably another contender for the big four question.
Post by: gawa316 on April 16, 2009, 02:34:42 PM
Quote from: gallsman on April 16, 2009, 02:33:57 PM

And oul Bolo Zenden
Post by: gallsman on April 16, 2009, 02:36:12 PM
Five players to have played for both Barecelon and Man United? Could be more for all I know, but I was asked this last night and all five are modern-ish.
Post by: blewuporstuffed on April 16, 2009, 02:37:34 PM
Quote from: gawa316 on April 16, 2009, 02:34:42 PM
Quote from: gallsman on April 16, 2009, 02:33:57 PM

correct

And oul Bolo Zenden

& correct!!!

well done lads!

hope yous all adhered to the no google rule!! ;)
Post by: the green man on April 16, 2009, 02:39:55 PM
Quote from: gallsman on April 16, 2009, 02:36:12 PM
Five players to have played for both Barecelon and Man United? Could be more for all I know, but I was asked this last night and all five are modern-ish.

Hughes
Blanc??
Larsson
Post by: DownFanatic on April 16, 2009, 02:40:13 PM

Hughes, Blanc, Pique, Cruyff, Larsson
Post by: gallsman on April 16, 2009, 02:41:53 PM
Quote from: DownFanatic on April 16, 2009, 02:40:13 PM

Easy, a lot of people forget Blanc though.

Two players to have won successive Champions Leagues with different clubs?
Post by: blewuporstuffed on April 16, 2009, 02:47:16 PM
seedorf
Post by: DownFanatic on April 16, 2009, 02:48:30 PM
Paulo Sousa?
Post by: gallsman on April 16, 2009, 02:49:54 PM
Sousa is correct. Not Seedorf.
Post by: DownFanatic on April 16, 2009, 02:50:30 PM
Just to keep the ball rolling.

Who were the three strikers that Alex Ferguson submitted official bids for in the week prior to signing Eric Cantona in November 1992?
Post by: A Quinn Martin Production on April 16, 2009, 02:52:54 PM
Quote from: gallsman on April 16, 2009, 02:41:53 PM

Desailly
Post by: gallsman on April 16, 2009, 02:53:00 PM
Quote from: DownFanatic on April 16, 2009, 02:50:30 PM

Who were the three strikers that Alex Ferguson submitted official bids for in the week prior to signing Eric Cantona in November 1992?

Shearer
Post by: gallsman on April 16, 2009, 02:53:54 PM
Quote from: A Quinn Martin Production on April 16, 2009, 02:52:54 PM
Quote from: gallsman on April 16, 2009, 02:41:53 PM

Desailly

Correct
Post by: gallsman on April 16, 2009, 02:54:20 PM
Dion Dublin?
Post by: blewuporstuffed on April 16, 2009, 02:56:46 PM
another one to think about as well
what player has played in the top division in the English, Spanish, German, Italian, Portugease, Dutch and American leagues.
as far as i know hes the only one!!
Post by: blewuporstuffed on April 16, 2009, 02:58:25 PM
Quote from: blewuporstuffed on April 16, 2009, 02:56:46 PM
what player has played in the top division in the English, Spanish, German, Italian, Portugease, Dutch and American leagues.

and i forgot Turkish!!!!
Post by: Maiden1 on April 16, 2009, 02:59:30 PM

Hirst?
Post by: longrunsthefox on April 16, 2009, 03:07:53 PM

Crazy Horse - Emyln Hughes who played for Liverpool. He died a few years ago. Away back he was on a British Army recruiting advert and got his card marked by the Provos.
Post by: the green man on April 16, 2009, 03:09:04 PM

Darko Pancev
Post by: DownFanatic on April 16, 2009, 03:14:31 PM
Shearer and Pancev incorrect. Dublin incorrect as well as he was already at UTD.

1 right so far - David Hirst - Sheffield Wednesday
Post by: DownFanatic on April 16, 2009, 03:15:57 PM

Daniel Amockachi?
Post by: blewuporstuffed on April 16, 2009, 03:17:31 PM
Quote from: DownFanatic on April 16, 2009, 03:15:57 PM

Daniel Amockachi?

nope
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on April 16, 2009, 03:20:10 PM
Hardly our old friend Christian Ziege?
Post by: shark on April 16, 2009, 03:22:17 PM
Last 6 England football managers: Capello, McClaren, Eriksson, Taylor, Keegan, Wilkinson.  Who are the only 2 players to have played under all 6? One is obvious, the other less so.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on April 16, 2009, 03:23:20 PM
According to Ferguson's book, he placed a bid for Hirst and was discussing a bid for Peter Beardsley when Leeds rang inquiring of Denis Irwin's availability. Ferguson asked Edwards to ask them about Cantona. The rest is history.

No mention of any other players and according to Ferguson the interest in Beardsley didn't go as far as a bid.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on April 16, 2009, 03:24:07 PM
Quote from: shark on April 16, 2009, 03:22:17 PM
Last 6 England football managers: Capello, McClaren, Eriksson, Taylor, Keegan, Wilkinson.  Who are the only 2 players to have played under all 6? One is obvious, the other less so.

Beckham and Heskey?
Post by: shark on April 16, 2009, 03:26:04 PM
Beckham yes, Heskey no
Post by: AFS on April 16, 2009, 03:27:05 PM

Abel Luís da Silva Costa Xavier  ;D
Post by: AFS on April 16, 2009, 03:28:20 PM
Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on April 16, 2009, 03:24:07 PM

Beckham and Heskey?

David James?
Post by: DownFanatic on April 16, 2009, 03:29:33 PM
Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on April 16, 2009, 03:23:20 PM
According to Ferguson's book, he placed a bid for Hirst and was discussing a bid for Peter Beardsley when Leeds rang inquiring of Denis Irwin's availability. Ferguson asked Edwards to ask them about Cantona. The rest is history.

No mention of any other players and according to Ferguson the interest in Beardsley didn't go as far as a bid.

There was no official bid for Beardsley. Hirst was Ferguson's prime target but there were also two other players whose clubs rejected Utd's bids that week.

Clue: One of them is English but was not born on the English mainland.
Clue: One of them has three England caps to his name
Post by: A Quinn Martin Production on April 16, 2009, 03:29:58 PM

Beckham and Michael Owen (@ Real Madrid??)
Post by: blewuporstuffed on April 16, 2009, 03:30:13 PM
Quote from: AFS on April 16, 2009, 03:27:05 PM

Abel Luís da Silva Costa Xavier  ;D

correct!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
some list of clubs!!
Post by: blewuporstuffed on April 16, 2009, 03:33:04 PM
Quote from: DownFanatic on April 16, 2009, 03:29:33 PM

There was no official bid for Beardsley. Hirst was Ferguson's prime target but there were also two other players whose clubs rejected Utd's bids that week.

2 random guesses then
matt le tissier??
steve bull??
Post by: shark on April 16, 2009, 03:34:29 PM
Apologies, there are in fact 3, Beckham, Heskey is correct and 1 more....
Post by: A Quinn Martin Production on April 16, 2009, 03:35:27 PM
Quote from: blewuporstuffed on April 16, 2009, 03:33:04 PM

2 random guesses then
matt le tissier??
steve bull??

John Barnes??
Post by: DownFanatic on April 16, 2009, 03:36:26 PM
Le Tissier is correct.

Barnes and Bull are both wrong.

1 more to get.
Post by: A Quinn Martin Production on April 16, 2009, 03:38:49 PM
Quote from: shark on April 16, 2009, 03:34:29 PM

f**k Face Ferdinand??
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on April 16, 2009, 03:42:14 PM

Can't see why Ferguson wouldn't mention this in his book though.
Post by: shark on April 16, 2009, 03:43:43 PM
Quote from: A Quinn Martin Production on April 16, 2009, 03:38:49 PM
Quote from: shark on April 16, 2009, 03:34:29 PM

f**k Face Ferdinand??

I heard this question originally when watching highlights of Englands last match, only checking the facts now and it is, in fact a load of crap. Blame David Pleat. Ferdinand has.
Pleat stated that the only two were David Beckham and Gareth Barry. We now have 4. Apologies....
Post by: shark on April 16, 2009, 03:47:08 PM
To make up for that disastrous attempt:

Who has won:
SPL
Scottish Cup
Premiership
FA Cup
La Liga
Champions League

Also has over 80 international caps
Post by: blewuporstuffed on April 16, 2009, 03:47:59 PM
Quote from: DownFanatic on April 16, 2009, 03:36:26 PM
Le Tissier is correct.

1 more to get.
NOT SURE IF IT WAS AROUND THE CANTONA TIME, BUT REMEMBER READING SOMEWHERE THAT HE TRIED TO SIGN LUTON MANAGER MICK HARFORD????
Post by: gallsman on April 16, 2009, 03:49:07 PM
Quote from: shark on April 16, 2009, 03:47:08 PM

Who has won:
SPL
Scottish Cup
Premiership
FA Cup
La Liga
Champions League

Gio Van Bronckhorst
Post by: DownFanatic on April 16, 2009, 03:50:52 PM
Mick Harford is wrong.
Post by: shark on April 16, 2009, 03:51:20 PM
Quote from: gallsman on April 16, 2009, 03:49:07 PM
Quote from: shark on April 16, 2009, 03:47:08 PM

Who has won:
SPL
Scottish Cup
Premiership
FA Cup
La Liga
Champions League

Gio Van Bronckhorst

Correct
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on April 16, 2009, 03:52:58 PM
Quote from: blewuporstuffed on April 16, 2009, 03:47:59 PM
Quote from: DownFanatic on April 16, 2009, 03:36:26 PM
Le Tissier is correct.

1 more to get.
NOT SURE IF IT WAS AROUND THE CANTONA TIME, BUT REMEMBER READING SOMEWHERE THAT HE TRIED TO SIGN LUTON MANAGER MICK HARFORD????

That was the season before when they were pipped to the title by Leeds. Ferguson believes they might have won the title that year had he gotten Harford.
Post by: DownFanatic on April 16, 2009, 05:41:19 PM
The last player was infact Brian Deane
Post by: thebandit on April 16, 2009, 05:43:21 PM
Quote from: blewuporstuffed on April 16, 2009, 03:33:04 PM

2 random guesses then
matt le tissier??
steve bull??

John Hartson
Post by: DownFanatic on April 16, 2009, 06:13:37 PM
Matt Le Tissier, David Hirst and Brian Deane were the 3 strikers that Fergie tried to sign before he got Cantona.
Post by: aroundincircles on April 16, 2009, 06:17:11 PM
 :o hartson is feckin welsh
Post by: gawa316 on April 16, 2009, 07:56:33 PM
Quote from: blewuporstuffed on April 16, 2009, 01:57:26 PM

There are 12 players who have played in the Premier League for 2 of 'The Big 4 Clubs'. Let the head melting commence...............

Google Ban is in Effect!

i texted that to my mate earlier and he has came back with 13 names. All the ones we mentioned plus Paul Parker, just checked and he seems to have played 4 games for Chelsea in 96 or 97 plus obviously utd
Post by: 118cmal on April 16, 2009, 09:47:58 PM
Quote from: gawa316 on April 16, 2009, 07:56:33 PM

There are 12 players who have played in the Premier League for 2 of 'The Big 4 Clubs'. Let the head melting commence……………

Google Ban is in Effect!

i texted that to my mate earlier and he has came back with 13 names. All the ones we mentioned plus Paul Parker, just checked and he seems to have played 4 games for Chelsea in 96 or 97 plus obviously utd

Cole
Diarra
Bosnich
Anelka
Gallas
Sidwell
Pennant
Zenden
Veron
Petit
Hughes
Ince
?????????????????????????????????????
Post by: aroundincircles on April 16, 2009, 09:51:11 PM
Quote from: 118cmal on April 16, 2009, 09:47:58 PM
Quote from: gawa316 on April 16, 2009, 07:56:33 PM

There are 12 players who have played in the Premier League for 2 of 'The Big 4 Clubs'. Let the head melting commence……………

Google Ban is in Effect!

Cole
Diarra
Bosnich
Anelka
Gallas
Sidwell
Pennant
Zenden
Veron
Petit
Hughes
Ince
?????????????????????????????????????

micheal silvestre??
Post by: gallsman on April 16, 2009, 11:28:43 PM
FFS read the thread for Christ's sake.
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on April 16, 2009, 11:37:00 PM
42 clubs have played in the Premier League since its inception in 1992/93. See if you can name them all here

http://www.sporcle.com/games/premierleaguealltime.php

Great website too by the way.
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on April 16, 2009, 11:46:06 PM
Are you stalking me?
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on April 16, 2009, 11:51:57 PM
Good.
Post by: mrsandman on April 17, 2009, 08:31:12 AM
Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on April 16, 2009, 11:37:00 PM
42 clubs have played in the Premier League since its inception in 1992/93. See if you can name them all here

Pass
Post by: Caid on April 18, 2009, 12:20:33 AM
Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on April 16, 2009, 11:37:00 PM

Got spent that quiz today.  Got all but 5.  Mediocre
Post by: Diet Coke on April 18, 2009, 09:11:37 AM
What footballer holds the record for international caps?

No googling
Post by: Tony Baloney on April 18, 2009, 10:15:20 AM
Quote from: Diet Coke on April 18, 2009, 09:11:37 AM

No googling
It'll be someone from the Middle East or the Americas as they play so many matches. Cobi Jones? It must be a big number as Lothar Matteus finished on 150.
Post by: longrunsthefox on April 18, 2009, 10:20:58 AM
Name the European cup medal winner whose brother managed at team to an the All Ireland final? ..better still name the brother!
Post by: Caid on April 18, 2009, 11:16:52 AM

No googling

Is it a midfielder from Iran?
Post by: DuffleKing on April 18, 2009, 11:21:27 AM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on April 18, 2009, 10:20:58 AM
Name the European cup medal winner whose brother managed at team to an the All Ireland final? ..better still name the brother!

Martin O'Neill's brother Gerry managed armagh to the 77 all ireland final
Post by: ludermor on April 18, 2009, 11:23:16 AM
Which person has won a ufea cup medal as a player, managed a team to the FAI youths challenge cup and featured in a film alongside Sly Stallone, Michael Caine
Post by: deiseach on April 18, 2009, 12:00:58 PM
Quote from: ludermor on April 18, 2009, 11:23:16 AM
Which person has won a ufea cup medal as a player, managed a team to the FAI youths challenge cup and featured in a film alongside Sly Stallone, Michael Caine

Wow, that Max von Sydow gets around
Post by: muppet on April 18, 2009, 12:31:30 PM

Kevin O'Callaghan. Winger cum eh goalkeeper.
Post by: gawa316 on April 18, 2009, 01:12:49 PM

No googling

Does this include weeman?
Post by: Square Ball on April 18, 2009, 01:21:37 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on April 18, 2009, 10:15:20 AM

No googling
It'll be someone from the Middle East or the Americas as they play so many matches. Cobi Jones? It must be a big number as Lothar Matteus finished on 150.

couldnt think so I googled, Matteus is 11th on 150 and Cobi Jones is joint 4th on 164, not posting the answer, I would never have got it
Post by: Diet Coke on April 18, 2009, 01:38:43 PM
Quote from: Caid on April 18, 2009, 11:16:52 AM

No googling

Is it a midfielder from Iran?

Right region but no
Post by: longrunsthefox on April 18, 2009, 01:42:33 PM
Quote from: DuffleKing on April 18, 2009, 11:21:27 AM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on April 18, 2009, 10:20:58 AM

Martin O'Neill's brother Gerry managed armagh to the 77 all ireland final

Aye...
Post by: Diet Coke on April 18, 2009, 01:51:00 PM
Quote from: Square Ball on April 18, 2009, 01:21:37 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on April 18, 2009, 10:15:20 AM

No googling

couldnt think so I googled, Matteus is 11th on 150 and Cobi Jones is joint 4th on 164, not posting the answer, I would never have got it

Mohamed Al Deayea...181 caps as goalkeeper for Saudi Arabia, he is still playing but retired from int duty after 2006 WC having appeared in 4 WC , some achievement, eh Rufus. 
Post by: muppet on April 18, 2009, 02:28:09 PM
I'd say there is a good chance for North Koreans their Dear Leader Kim Jong Il probably hold the record. I'd guess he has 10,000 caps.

After all he shot a 38 under par round his first time ever on a golf course. That round included 11 holes in one.

lhttp://www.anyonefortee.com/Shots/Kim.html (http://lhttp://www.anyonefortee.com/Shots/Kim.html)
Post by: longrunsthefox on April 18, 2009, 02:48:35 PM
Sorry to keep going back to the 70s and 80 but my mind dulled after that...   Who scored a goal past Pat Jennings in his bare feet?
Post by: muppet on April 18, 2009, 02:53:24 PM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on April 18, 2009, 02:48:35 PM
Sorry to keep going back to the 70s and 80 but my mind dulled after that...   Who scored a goal past Pat Jennings in his bare feet?

His Dad?
Post by: Our Nail Loney on April 18, 2009, 02:56:49 PM
Mosdt caps used to be someone called Ali Dai?? Or something like that?
Post by: Square Ball on April 18, 2009, 03:07:15 PM
Quote from: gawa316 on April 18, 2009, 01:12:49 PM

No googling

Does this include weeman?

just looked at the world record for weemen, its 342.... the top 8 are all yanks with 6 of them have over 200
Post by: ludermor on April 18, 2009, 03:11:59 PM
Quote from: muppet on April 18, 2009, 12:31:30 PM

Not quite ( but right film), the FAI youths team was from mayo.
Post by: longrunsthefox on April 18, 2009, 04:23:52 PM
Quote from: muppet on April 18, 2009, 02:53:24 PM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on April 18, 2009, 02:48:35 PM

His Dad?

It's good.. but its not right.   
Post by: Caid on April 18, 2009, 10:50:29 PM
Quote from: Our Nail Loney on April 18, 2009, 02:56:49 PM
Mosdt caps used to be someone called Ali Dai?? Or something like that?

You were thinking same as me ONL. I thought they said he was the most capped during the last world cup :/

Anyway Wikipedia (for what its worth) confirms Diet Cokes answer

1 Mohamed Al-Deayea  Saudi Arabia AFC 181 24/09/1990 11/05/2006
2 Claudio Suárez  Mexico CONCACAF 177* 25/07/1992 01/06/2006
3 Hossam Hassan  Egypt CAF 169 10/09/1985 07/02/2006
4 Adnan Al-Talyani  United Arab Emirates AFC 164 10/03/1984 17/12/1997
Cobi Jones  United States CONCACAF 164 03/09/1992 09/10/2004
6 Sami Al-Jaber  Saudi Arabia AFC 163 15/10/1992 23/06/2006
7 Iván Hurtado  Ecuador CONMEBOL 157 24/05/1992 01/04/2009
8 Martin Reim  Estonia UEFA 156 03/06/1992 17/11/2007
9 Vitalijs Astafjevs  Latvia UEFA 152 26/08/1992 01/04/2009
10 Ahmed Hassan  Egypt CAF 151 29/12/1995 29/03/2009
11 Lothar Matthäus  West Germany
Germany UEFA 150 14/06/1980 20/06/2000
12 Ali Daei  Iran AFC 149 06/06/1993 21/06/2006
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on April 19, 2009, 12:22:59 AM
Quote from: ludermor on April 18, 2009, 03:11:59 PM
Quote from: muppet on April 18, 2009, 12:31:30 PM

Not quite ( but right film), the FAI youths team was from mayo.

You thinking Robin Turner? Don't think he was manager with an FAI Youth Cup with Erris United - that was Martin McIntyre. Didn't know he won a UEFA Cup either. Or that he was in Escape to Victory! But I know he played with Ipswich so there can't be anyone else, can there?
Post by: ludermor on April 19, 2009, 03:58:11 PM
he was def in the film but i could be wrong on the rest, he managed the team for ages and i thought he was then. I better withdraw that question so!
Just checked the ufea, he was in the squad that year and came on as sub in the second round, not sure if that was enough for him to get a medal, or if he was in the match day squad.
http://www.tmwmtt.com/uefa81/appearances.htm
Ill have to check out the erris utd manager that day.
Post by: Ping Pong Santa on April 20, 2009, 04:51:57 PM
I need help, apologies if this has been done somewhere else on the thread.

13 players to play for two or more teams out of the 'Big four' since the Premier League was formed?

So far I have:

Anelka
Cashley
Mark Hughes
Ince
Silvestre
Obi Mikel (possibly)
Veron

Anyone think of the others?
Post by: full back on April 20, 2009, 04:57:28 PM
Diarra
Gallas
Bosnich
Petit
Pennant

Dont know if Mikel would count
Did he play a game for Utd?
Post by: bingobus on April 20, 2009, 04:58:32 PM
Quote from: Ping Pong Santa on April 20, 2009, 04:51:57 PM

13 players to play for two or more teams out of the 'Big four' since the Premier League was formed?

So far I have:

Anelka
Cashley
Mark Hughes
Ince
Silvestre
Obi Mikel (possibly)
Veron

Jimmy Carter - Arsenal and Liverpool. Not sure if was before the EPL was formed though.

Mikel didn't play with United did he? Don't think he did.
Post by: blewuporstuffed on April 20, 2009, 04:58:39 PM

So far I have:

Anelka
Cashley
Mark Hughes
Ince
Silvestre
Obi Mikel (possibly)
Veron

already been on this thread if you look back through

not mikel

diarra
petit
zenden
penant
bosnich
gallas
think the 13th is paul parker, but not sure if he actually played in the PL for chelsea
Post by: Ping Pong Santa on April 20, 2009, 05:27:48 PM
Thanks!

No Mikel never actually played for United, he was on their books and then moved on to Chelsea. I'm told he doesn't count anyway.
Post by: Norf Tyrone on April 20, 2009, 05:36:48 PM
Quote from: blewuporstuffed on April 20, 2009, 04:58:39 PM

So far I have:

Anelka
Cashley
Mark Hughes
Ince
Silvestre
Obi Mikel (possibly)
Veron

not mikel

diarra
petit
zenden
penant
bosnich
gallas
think the 13th is paul parker, but not sure if he actually played in the PL for chelsea

Parker would've made half a dozen appeararances for Chelsea in or around 1997, so I'd imagine he played in the league at some point. He was an ignorant h**r too.
Post by: full back on April 20, 2009, 05:50:35 PM
Quote from: Norf Tyrone on April 20, 2009, 05:36:48 PM
Quote from: blewuporstuffed on April 20, 2009, 04:58:39 PM

So far I have:

Anelka
Cashley
Mark Hughes
Ince
Silvestre
Obi Mikel (possibly)
Veron

not mikel

diarra
petit
zenden
penant
bosnich
gallas

Parker would've made half a dozen appeararances for Chelsea in or around 1997, so I'd imagine he played in the league at some point. He was an ignorant h**r too.

Massive set of nuts on him though ;)
Post by: gallsman on April 21, 2009, 12:13:52 PM
No googling.

First team to ever knock Real Madrid out of the European Cup?
Post by: anportmorforjfc on April 21, 2009, 12:19:34 PM
Benfica?
Post by: anportmorforjfc on April 21, 2009, 12:29:58 PM
Name 7 players who have 4 FA Cup winner's medals each.
Post by: the scenic route on April 21, 2009, 12:31:41 PM
Player who has a Sigerson Cup medal and a Soccer World Cup medal
Post by: cavan4ever on April 21, 2009, 12:35:06 PM
Quote from: anportmorforjfc on April 21, 2009, 12:29:58 PM
Name 7 players who have 4 FA Cup winner's medals each.

Mark Hughes.
Roy Keane.
David Seaman.
Ryan Giggs
Ashley Cole.
Patrick Viera.
Ray Parlour.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on April 21, 2009, 12:36:54 PM
Quote from: the scenic route on April 21, 2009, 12:31:41 PM

Socrates but seen somewhere that this is just an urban myth. Apparently he wasn't on any Sigerson panel.
Post by: anportmorforjfc on April 21, 2009, 12:39:35 PM
Who has played in The Premiership, Championship, League 1 & League 2, The Conference, The Champions League and the UEFA cup?
Post by: the scenic route on April 21, 2009, 12:41:36 PM
Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on April 21, 2009, 12:36:54 PM

Socrates but seen somewhere that this is just an urban myth. Apparently he wasn't on any Sigerson panel.

It could just be myth heard it one day never actually researched it,

The rumour is he was at trinity in Dublin i think!! when he was studying in ireland trained with the panel to keep fit for a year and he got it that way.

could just be an urban legend.
Post by: the scenic route on April 21, 2009, 12:42:10 PM
Quote from: anportmorforjfc on April 21, 2009, 12:39:35 PM
Who has played in The Premiership, Championship, League 1 & League 2, The Conference, The Champions League and the UEFA cup?

Steve Finnan
Post by: anportmorforjfc on April 21, 2009, 12:46:56 PM
Who played for Wales and Bayern Munich on the same day in 1988?
Post by: bingobus on April 21, 2009, 12:54:24 PM
Quote from: anportmorforjfc on April 21, 2009, 12:46:56 PM

Mark Hughes?
Post by: anportmorforjfc on April 21, 2009, 01:06:05 PM
Quote from: bingobus on April 21, 2009, 12:54:24 PM
Quote from: anportmorforjfc on April 21, 2009, 12:46:56 PM

Mark Hughes?

Correct
Post by: thewingedlady on April 21, 2009, 02:00:33 PM
Quote from: the scenic route on April 21, 2009, 12:41:36 PM
Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on April 21, 2009, 12:36:54 PM

It could just be myth heard it one day never actually researched it,

The rumour is he was at trinity in Dublin i think!! when he was studying in ireland trained with the panel to keep fit for a year and he got it that way.

could just be an urban legend.

Royal College of Surgeons, he trained with the Footballers. Feckin hate seeing that question come up because it's pure balls, don't even think RCSI ever won a Sigerson!
Post by: gallsman on April 21, 2009, 04:20:20 PM
Quote from: gallsman on April 21, 2009, 12:13:52 PM
No googling.

Benfica is wrong. Any takers?
Post by: gallsman on April 21, 2009, 04:23:02 PM
Socrates attended UCD. Never mind winning a Sigerson, he never won a f**king World Cup either. Complete and utter bullshit story. Rai was his younger brother though and was first sub to the Bebeto-Romario partnership that won in 1994.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on April 21, 2009, 04:27:03 PM
Quote from: gallsman on April 21, 2009, 04:20:20 PM
No googling.

FC Barcelona?
Post by: bridgegael on April 21, 2009, 04:27:18 PM
No googling.

ajax?
Post by: gallsman on April 21, 2009, 04:30:33 PM
Quote from: bridgegael on April 21, 2009, 04:27:18 PM
No googling.

ajax?

Nope. Answer is quite interesting actually.
Post by: gallsman on April 21, 2009, 04:31:15 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on April 21, 2009, 04:27:03 PM
No googling.

FC Barcelona?

Sorry LL, didn't see you there. Yep, Barca were the first.
Post by: gallsman on April 24, 2009, 02:59:23 PM
Arshavin the other night was the 19th time a player scored four or more goals in a premiership match. How many others can you name? Few times lightning struck twice ( or four times or more in this instantce!)
Post by: The Real Laoislad on April 24, 2009, 03:00:42 PM
Quote from: gallsman on April 24, 2009, 02:59:23 PM
Arshavin the other night was the 19th time a player scored four or more goals in a premiership match. How many others can you name? Few times lightning struck twice ( or four times or more in this instantce!)

Ole Gunnar Solskjaer
Mark Viduka
Post by: cavan4ever on April 24, 2009, 03:02:21 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on April 24, 2009, 03:00:42 PM

Ole Gunnar Solskjaer
Mark Viduka

Andy Cole
Klinsmann
Berbatov (cud of being cup against reading last season)
Post by: longrunsthefox on April 24, 2009, 03:03:08 PM
Quote from: gallsman on April 21, 2009, 04:30:33 PM
Quote from: bridgegael on April 21, 2009, 04:27:18 PM
No googling.

ajax?

Nope. Answer is quite interesting actually.

Spurs or Celtic?
Post by: The Real Laoislad on April 24, 2009, 03:03:21 PM

Alan Shearer
Micheal Owen
Henry
Post by: cavan4ever on April 24, 2009, 03:13:40 PM
Vialli
Hasselbaink
Yakubu
Post by: Norf Tyrone on April 24, 2009, 03:21:06 PM
Vialli v Barnsley
Jimmy Floyd v Wolves

Le Tissier, or Anelka as guesses?
Post by: Hound on April 24, 2009, 04:00:13 PM
I'd guess Fowler got 4.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on April 24, 2009, 04:03:18 PM
Quote from: Hound on April 24, 2009, 04:00:13 PM
I'd guess Fowler got 4.

He defiantly did in a League cup game v Fulham,I think he got 5 that night.
Not sure if he done it in the Premier League though
Post by: longrunsthefox on April 24, 2009, 04:23:34 PM
Who played for both teams in a Manchester derby?
Post by: Norf Tyrone on April 24, 2009, 04:32:34 PM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on April 24, 2009, 04:23:34 PM

Dennis Law?
Post by: longrunsthefox on April 24, 2009, 04:33:42 PM
It's good but it's not right.
Post by: ExiledGael on April 24, 2009, 04:48:53 PM

Seen this in one of the papers during the week. Efan bloody Ekoku was on the lost and he's about the only one that stood out for obvious reasons. Most of the others mentioned were right.
Seen Arshavin stat after the game, four shots, four on target, four goals. The only other time I ever seen that was also against Liverpool, courtesy of fat Mark Viduka.
Post by: Doogie Browser on April 24, 2009, 05:08:20 PM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on April 24, 2009, 04:23:34 PM
Schmeichel did, but is this a trick question as usual??
Post by: blewuporstuffed on May 27, 2009, 12:05:34 PM
Right lads this is the toughest trivia question i've seen i a long time:

Name the 11 players to have played in the Premier League for a non Big 4 club who have played in a world cup final?

-an actual world cup final not in the 'finals'
-non big 4 clubs only - they cant ever have played for big 4 so for once Anelka isnt an answer!!!

even with cheating using google this one is tough!!!
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on May 27, 2009, 12:17:41 PM
Youri Djorkaef
Juninho?
Hitzelberger?
Post by: Clown on May 27, 2009, 12:18:04 PM
Christophe Dugarry

Juninho
Branco
Post by: Clown on May 27, 2009, 12:20:42 PM
Ravanelli
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on May 27, 2009, 12:21:09 PM
Marco Materazzi
Post by: thewobbler on May 27, 2009, 12:22:42 PM
Stephan Guivarch
Christophe Dugarry
Juninho
Christian Ziege
Marco Materazzi
Roque Junior
Didi Hamann
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on May 27, 2009, 12:23:30 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on May 27, 2009, 12:22:42 PM
Stephan Guivarch
Christophe Dugarry
Juninho
Christian Ziege
Marco Materazzi
Roque Junior
Didi Hamann

Hamann played for Liverpool.
Post by: gallsman on May 27, 2009, 12:23:53 PM
Definite:

Djorkaeff
Dugarry
Karembeu
Roque Junior
Materazzi
Dino Baggio
Klinsmann

Potentials:

Guivar'ch
Candela
Juninho
Berti
Post by: Clown on May 27, 2009, 12:24:12 PM
christian karembeu

easy enough question  ;)
Post by: longball on May 27, 2009, 12:24:20 PM
Hamann and ziege played for Livepool u muppet
Post by: Doogie Browser on May 27, 2009, 12:24:53 PM
Branca
Post by: Clown on May 27, 2009, 12:25:14 PM
who did berti and dino baggio play for in the prem?

was berti at spurs?
Post by: gallsman on May 27, 2009, 12:27:18 PM
Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on May 27, 2009, 12:23:30 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on May 27, 2009, 12:22:42 PM
Stephan Guivarch
Christophe Dugarry
Juninho
Christian Ziege
Marco Materazzi
Roque Junior
Didi Hamann

Hamann played for Liverpool.

As did Ziege.
Post by: Clown on May 27, 2009, 12:27:56 PM
here's a shot in the dark -

eike immel - german goalie in 1990??

dunno if he started in final
Post by: gallsman on May 27, 2009, 12:28:11 PM
Quote from: Clown on May 27, 2009, 12:25:14 PM
who did berti and dino baggio play for in the prem?

was berti at spurs?

Berti was at Spurs, Dino Baggio went on loan to Blackburn.

Branco at Middlesbrough is a great shout.
Post by: Billys Boots on May 27, 2009, 12:29:48 PM
Chimbonda
Boumsong

are the ones i haven't seen so far.
Post by: gallsman on May 27, 2009, 12:31:14 PM
That's the eleven:

Klinsmann

Branco
Berti
Dino Baggio

Karembeu
Djorkaeff
Dugarry
Guivar'ch

Roque Junior
Juninho

Materazzi
Post by: Homer on May 27, 2009, 12:31:58 PM
Marco Materazzi (Everton)
Juninho (Middlesborough)
Christian Karembeu (Middlesborough)
Branco (Middlesborough)
Youri Djorkaeff (Bolton/Blackburn)
Dino Baggio (Blackburn)
Christophe Dugarry (Birmingham)
Jürgen Klinsmann (Spurs)
Nicola Berti (Spurs)
Stéphane Guivarc'h (Newcastle)
Roque Júnior (Leeds)

Edit -feck
Post by: gallsman on May 27, 2009, 12:37:42 PM
Quote from: Homer on May 27, 2009, 12:31:58 PM
Marco Materazzi (Everton)
Juninho (Middlesborough)
Christian Karembeu (Middlesborough)
Branco (Middlesborough)
Youri Djorkaeff (Bolton/Blackburn)
Dino Baggio (Blackburn)
Christophe Dugarry (Birmingham)
Jürgen Klinsmann (Spurs)
Nicola Berti (Spurs)
Stéphane Guivarc'h (Newcastle)
Roque Júnior (Leeds)

Edit -feck

Sorry Homer, but you just can't beat a group of students willing to procrastinate even though they have finals....
Post by: blewuporstuffed on May 27, 2009, 12:55:49 PM
well done to all, didnt expect youse to get them all so quickly  8)
Post by: gallsman on May 27, 2009, 02:05:16 PM
Tonight Pep Guardiola is bidding to become the sixth man to win the European Cup/Champions League as both a player and manager. Name the five who've already achieved it.
Post by: Clown on May 27, 2009, 02:11:50 PM
F Beckenbaur

F Rijkaard

John Toshack??
Post by: Clown on May 27, 2009, 02:18:15 PM
Johann Cruyff
Post by: Billys Boots on May 27, 2009, 02:36:03 PM
Cesare Maldini?
Post by: Billys Boots on May 27, 2009, 02:36:37 PM
What am I on about - Capello??
Post by: gallsman on May 27, 2009, 03:36:13 PM
Cruyff and Rijkaard correct so far.
Post by: Billys Boots on May 27, 2009, 03:45:29 PM
Ancelotti?
Post by: Doogie Browser on May 27, 2009, 03:46:07 PM
Quote from: Billys Boots on May 27, 2009, 03:45:29 PM
Ancelotti?
Definitely
Post by: Billys Boots on May 27, 2009, 03:54:08 PM
I cheated on the last two - one's easy, one's hard.
Post by: Harold Disgracey on May 27, 2009, 03:55:38 PM
Trap?
Post by: dec on May 27, 2009, 09:37:53 PM
Name the only manager to have won three European Cup/Champions League trophies.
Post by: Bogball XV on May 27, 2009, 09:56:53 PM
Quote from: dec on May 27, 2009, 09:37:53 PM
paisley
Post by: aroundincircles on May 27, 2009, 09:59:07 PM
Quote from: Bogball XV on May 27, 2009, 09:56:53 PM
paisley

Ian???
Post by: muppet on May 29, 2009, 01:38:59 PM
Quote from: aroundincircles on May 27, 2009, 09:59:07 PM
Quote from: Bogball XV on May 27, 2009, 09:56:53 PM
paisley

Ian???

NO

Pep Guardiola

Del Bosque?
Post by: The Real Laoislad on May 29, 2009, 02:29:21 PM
Bob Paisley

Post by: aroundincircles on May 31, 2009, 10:35:33 AM
Who are the only TWO men to have won football all stars while never having played in croke park.
Post by: Tommy Tibbs on May 31, 2009, 11:51:55 AM
Quote from: aroundincircles on May 31, 2009, 10:35:33 AM
Who are the only TWO men to have won football all stars while never having played in croke park.

Randome guesses- Declan Browne and Peter McGinnity
Post by: aroundincircles on May 31, 2009, 12:30:01 PM
both wrong. One of them will be a complete shock he is from a "strong" county not a "weaker one"
Post by: muppet on May 31, 2009, 12:48:18 PM
Hiddink (the manager question not the all star one as he has played in Croker)
Post by: Karl Kennedy on May 31, 2009, 01:13:13 PM

Would Francie Grehan be one?
Post by: aroundincircles on May 31, 2009, 01:34:32 PM
no
Post by: aroundincircles on May 31, 2009, 01:52:26 PM
Declan Brown played for tipperary minors in croke park 1995
Post by: stiffler on May 31, 2009, 02:33:32 PM
Andy McCallin?
Post by: aroundincircles on May 31, 2009, 02:35:53 PM
Quote from: stiffler on May 31, 2009, 02:33:32 PM
Andy McCallin?

no.  will pm any one wants to know
Post by: Harold Disgracey on June 01, 2009, 11:20:32 AM
Die Houli ever play in Croke Park?
Post by: mikasas on June 01, 2009, 11:21:20 AM
Name the player who has won the World cup, the European Cup, the champions league, the world club cup, the premier league, the fa cup and the league cup.
Post by: David McKeown on June 01, 2009, 11:33:22 AM
Quote from: Harold Disgracey on June 01, 2009, 11:20:32 AM
Die Houli ever play in Croke Park?

Yeah national league semi final against Laois and hit bar in final against Meath.  Was that 95?
Post by: Harold Disgracey on June 01, 2009, 12:26:04 PM
Thought that, that was the day Ayrton Senna was killed I think.
Post by: thewingedlady on June 01, 2009, 01:51:59 PM
Houlie also came on against Kerry in extra time in 2000. Last game for Armagh i think.
Post by: Maiden1 on June 01, 2009, 04:02:09 PM
Quote from: mikasas on June 01, 2009, 11:21:20 AM
Name the player who has won the World cup, the European Cup, the champions league, the world club cup, the premier league, the fa cup and the league cup.

Barthez?
Post by: Ball Hopper on June 01, 2009, 06:41:59 PM

The great Maurice Fitzgerald won an All-Star (1988) before he made his Croke Park debut..if that is what you are asking.

Kerry's Connie Murphy is the only Kerry All-Star (1989) without an All-Ireland medal...maybe he is the second guy?

bh
Post by: Our Nail Loney on June 01, 2009, 06:45:15 PM
Why do people sign off posts?? It perturbs me

It says your name in big letters to the left of your post, do you see it?? Great
Post by: Ball Hopper on June 01, 2009, 06:55:09 PM
Your life must be just fine if that's all that bothers you.

MF
Post by: aroundincircles on June 01, 2009, 07:03:47 PM
Ball hopper you got one right mauricefitz
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 01, 2009, 07:40:44 PM
Quote from: Our Nail Loney on June 01, 2009, 06:45:15 PM
Why do people sign off posts?? It perturbs me

It says your name in big letters to the left of your post, do you see it?? Great
I get really annoyed by people who sign off emails with a slash and an initial, ie

/j

Cocks
Post by: mikasas on June 02, 2009, 01:04:59 PM
Quote from: Maiden1 on June 01, 2009, 04:02:09 PM

Barthez?
nope, no club world cup and i'm pretty sure no champions league.
Post by: Jimmy on June 02, 2009, 01:19:24 PM

Laurent Blanc?
Post by: gawa316 on June 02, 2009, 01:19:41 PM

Anelka not sure he has won the league cup though
Post by: Tommy Tibbs on June 02, 2009, 01:38:11 PM
Quote from: gawa316 on June 02, 2009, 01:19:41 PM

Claude Makelele?
Post by: mikasas on June 02, 2009, 02:48:42 PM

well done gawa, top of the class.
He seems to be the answer to every trivia question going!
Title: Slightly different
Post by: saffron sam2 on June 09, 2009, 10:50:28 AM
The answer is £618,865.00.

What is the question?
Title: Re: Slightly different
Post by: JohnMitchellInman on June 09, 2009, 11:08:04 AM
Quote from: saffron sam2 on June 09, 2009, 10:50:28 AM

What is the question?

KaKa's monthly salary ??
Post by: Norf Tyrone on June 09, 2009, 11:26:48 AM

What is the question?

Mick O'Dwyer's annual earnings?
Post by: muppet on June 09, 2009, 06:20:48 PM

What is the question?

GNevin's monthly Children's Allowance?
Post by: gallsman on June 09, 2009, 06:30:18 PM
Quote from: mikasas on June 02, 2009, 02:48:42 PM

#

Pray tell when did Anelka win the World Cup?!
Post by: fred the red on June 09, 2009, 06:34:25 PM

What is the question?

£1,237,730 divided by 2?
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on June 09, 2009, 06:45:09 PM
Quote from: gallsman on June 09, 2009, 06:30:18 PM

#

He never
Post by: muppet on June 09, 2009, 06:54:48 PM
Made his debut before the world cup but ended up watching it in a bar in Mayo with me.

Sound man, owes me a pint though. He backed Brasil.
Post by: saffron sam2 on June 09, 2009, 08:42:26 PM

What is the question?

Amount of money paid by the IFA to Linfield during the recently ended tax year as rent for four matches at Windsor Park.
Post by: muppet on June 09, 2009, 09:01:09 PM

What is the question?

Cost of a caravan in Tuam in November 2006.
Post by: mikasas on June 15, 2009, 10:52:02 PM
Quote from: gallsman on June 09, 2009, 06:30:18 PM

#

98, was on the bench year while trezuget and henry were up front.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on June 15, 2009, 11:02:57 PM
Quote from: mikasas on June 15, 2009, 10:52:02 PM98, was on the bench year while trezuget and henry were up front.

Er ...... no

http://www.planetworldcup.com/CUPS/1998/squad_fra98.html

QuoteD.O.B.        CLUB
           1 GK Bernard Lama              07 Apr 1963   West Ham United (ENG)
           2 DF Vincent Candela           24 Oct 1973   AS Roma (ITA)
           3 DF Bixente Lizarazu          09 Dec 1969   Bayern Munich (GER)
           4 MD Patrick Vieira            23 Jun 1976   Arsenal (ENG)
           5 DF Laurent Blanc             19 Nov 1965   Olympique Marseille
           6 MD Youri Djorkaeff           09 Mar 1968   Internazionale (ITA)
           7 MD Didier Deschamps          15 Oct 1968   Juventus (ITA)
           8 DF Marcel Desailly           07 Sep 1968   AC Milan (ITA)
           9 FW Stephane Guivarc'h        06 Sep 1970   AJ Auxerre
          10 MD Zinedine Zidane           23 Jun 1972   Juventus (ITA)
          11 MD Robert Pires              29 Oct 1973   FC Metz
          12 FW Thierry Henry             17 Aug 1977   AS Monaco
          13 MD Bernard Diomede           23 Jan 1974   AJ Auxerre
          14 MD Alain Boghossian          27 Oct 1970   Sampdoria (ITA)
          15 DF Lilian Thuram             01 Jan 1972   Parma (ITA)
          16 GK Fabien Barthez            28 Jun 1971   AS Monaco
          17 MD Emmanuel Petit            22 Sep 1970   Arsenal (ENG)
          18 DF Frank Leboeuf             22 Jan 1968   Chelsea (ENG)
          19 MD Christian Karembeu        03 Dec 1970   Real Madrid (SPA)
          20 FW David Trezeguet           15 Oct 1977   AS Monaco
          21 FW Christophe Dugarry        24 Mar 1972   Olympique Marseille
          22 GK Lionel Charbonnier        25 Oct 1966   AJ Auxerre
Post by: ONeill on June 16, 2009, 01:04:45 AM
£1

What's the question?
Post by: The Real Laoislad on June 16, 2009, 09:10:50 AM
Quote from: ONeill on June 16, 2009, 01:04:45 AM
£1

What's the question?

The amount Ken Bates paid for Chelsea in 1982
Post by: ludermor on June 16, 2009, 10:31:39 AM
only 618k??
Post by: mikasas on June 16, 2009, 12:25:17 PM
my bad about Anelka, was told that he had featured in the worldd cup! Gab I bow down before you vast knowledge of useless info.
Post by: supersub on June 16, 2009, 01:05:41 PM
Quote from: ludermor on June 16, 2009, 10:31:39 AM
only 618k??

misread the numbers!! i do apologise  :D
Post by: ludermor on June 16, 2009, 01:10:05 PM
Damned decimal points!