Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Jim_Murphy_74 on November 11, 2008, 11:55:32 AM

Title: Ray Darcy
Post by: Jim_Murphy_74 on November 11, 2008, 11:55:32 AM
Heard him interview Mary Harney this morning.  He seems to be on a bit of jaunt to prove himself as a serious journo.

Anyhow Mary H made a point about the timing of cervical cancer vaccinations at least 5 times during the interview but the penny just didn't seem to drop to Ray "Wait now.." Darcy.

Stick to the fixit Friday methinks.

/Jim.
Title: Re: Ray Darcy
Post by: An Gaeilgoir on November 11, 2008, 12:01:20 PM
Quote from: Jim_Murphy_74 on November 11, 2008, 11:55:32 AM
Heard him interview Mary Harney this morning.  He seems to be on a bit of jaunt to prove himself as a serious journo.

Anyhow Mary H made a point about the timing of cervical cancer vaccinations at least 5 times during the interview but the penny just didn't seem to drop to Ray "Wait now.." Darcy.

Stick to the fixit Friday methinks.

/Jim.
He has turned into a gobshite, he likes to think he is some kind of moral guardian of the nation, a sort of younger version of Gay Byrne. His anti- SUV rants are just tiresome...not to mention all those who text in with the most inane of inane drivel to the show. The show used to be fresh and fun but thats all gone now.
Post by: T Fearon on November 11, 2008, 12:49:24 PM
I thought he was out of his depth with Zig and Zag even
Post by: under the bar on November 11, 2008, 01:41:49 PM
If he tries to venture beyond the comedy role of a straight-man he gets lost.
Post by: Treasurer on November 11, 2008, 01:56:13 PM
I used to love the programme but it turned into one big long pontificating whinge, never listen to it now.
Post by: tbrick18 on November 11, 2008, 02:16:44 PM
Did anyone see him hosting The Panel last week?
He was awful. He even stopped Colin Murphy from talking once so he could ask a serious question.
The worst episode I have ever seen of a usually funny show.
Post by: Gnevin on November 11, 2008, 02:17:38 PM
Quote from: tbrick18 on November 11, 2008, 02:16:44 PM
He was awful. He even stopped Colin Murphy from talking once so he could ask a serious question.

The Panel hasn't been funny since Dara left.
Post by: Tankie on November 11, 2008, 02:37:05 PM
Darcy has turned into a bigger smug p***k than GRyan, but atleat Ryan plays being a smug p***k well!
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on November 11, 2008, 02:55:33 PM
His radio show used to be quite good back in day but he's turned into a sanctimonious middle-aged fart in recent years.
Post by: dodo on November 11, 2008, 03:38:19 PM
Once these bucks reproduce they should be redeployed to the civil service or become taximen where they have their captive audience.
Post by: Louth Exile on November 11, 2008, 05:57:12 PM
I would have to agree myself, used to always listen to his show all the time, even won an odd one out hoddie  ;)
But he has gone completely up his own arse over the last while and can be very hard to listen to at times.

On the Harney interview, I don't think that any serious journalist would have shouted down a minister the way that he did. Yes, politicians will try and give you their scripted answers instead of giving a straight answer, but the way D'Arcy dealt with this was very poor. Serious journos like Miriam, Bowman, Matt Cooper etc. all know that its a long road and that they will want these ministers to appear/talk on their shows again. I very much doubt that Harney will ever meet a request from the Ray D'arcy show again. I think that the woman is a disgrace, her greatest "achievements" are the monster that is the HSE and drive towards a two tiered health system and of course the current scandal. I still would have given her more respect than he did if in the same position though! There are better ways of exposing a poor politican with no mandate than shouting at her!
Post by: leenie on November 11, 2008, 06:27:25 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on November 11, 2008, 02:17:38 PM

leenie nods in agreement!
Post by: magickingdom on November 11, 2008, 07:37:00 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on November 11, 2008, 12:49:24 PM

;D ;D ;D
Post by: The Real Laoislad on November 11, 2008, 08:21:54 PM
Have always been a fan of his show,wouldn't listen to anything else in that time slot,But I have to say this mornings interview with Mary Harney was a joke and he really annoyed me so much so I turned him off..
Post by: thebandit on November 11, 2008, 09:37:33 PM
Quote from: magickingdom on November 11, 2008, 07:37:00 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on November 11, 2008, 12:49:24 PM

;D ;D ;D

Very good Tony!

He has lost the spark since the Bambino landed alright.... The whole lot of them have gone backwards, I'd include Jenny, Mairead and Will in that.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on November 11, 2008, 09:42:03 PM
Jenny has some jugs on her
Post by: comethekingdom on November 11, 2008, 10:19:25 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on November 11, 2008, 09:42:03 PM
Jenny has some jugs on her

any pics?? :P
Post by: Yes I Would on November 11, 2008, 10:32:02 PM
She sounds alot sexier than she actually is. Big let down when i saw her.

That ponce Will is a bigger slabber than Darcy!!
Its either of the two Gerry's for me at that time of the day.
Post by: Tony Baloney on November 11, 2008, 10:40:12 PM
Quote from: Yes I Would on November 11, 2008, 10:32:02 PM
She sounds alot sexier than she actually is. Big let down when i saw her.

That ponce Will is a bigger slabber than Darcy!!
Its either of the two Gerry's for me at that time of the day.
Ryan comes across as a bit of a tosser but I think some of his radio stuff is great. I remember years ago he had some auld fella ring in saying that since their mam died the brother, aged about 70, was spending all the money on russian hookers and even worse than that he had stopped going to mass! I was in stitches, the tears were streaming down my face driving the car into work!
Post by: Louth Exile on November 13, 2008, 10:39:16 PM
I have to give credit where credit is due!! D'arcy did an interview with Michael O'Leary yesterday morning and I thought it was very good
Post by: muppet on November 13, 2008, 10:47:21 PM
Quote from: Louth Exile on November 13, 2008, 10:39:16 PM
I have to give credit where credit is due!! D'arcy did an interview with Michael O'Leary yesterday morning and I thought it was very good

I actually puked before I could change the channel.
Post by: Louth Exile on November 13, 2008, 10:59:13 PM
Quote from: muppet on November 13, 2008, 10:47:21 PM
Quote from: Louth Exile on November 13, 2008, 10:39:16 PM
I actually puked before I could change the channel.
Them eggs mustn't have been cooked right!!
Post by: downgirl on November 13, 2008, 11:48:37 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on November 11, 2008, 02:17:38 PM

I agree Gnevin.  Didn't realise The Panel was back, what night is it on and is it repeated??  And is Darcy hosting it for the rest of the series???  :-X
Post by: muppet on November 13, 2008, 11:57:06 PM
Twas on earlier with Grainne Seoighe.

Quite good atually especially when the two women started into each other.

"That lipstick doesn't suit you, it would look much better on Síle."
Post by: downgirl on November 14, 2008, 12:01:19 AM
Ah Balls  >:( >:(

The Panel would be so much better without the guests...like if they did it in the format of Mock The Week or something...
Post by: Louth Exile on November 14, 2008, 12:03:00 AM
Quote from: muppet on November 13, 2008, 11:57:06 PM
Twas on earlier with Grainne Seoighe.

Quite good atually especially when the two women started into each other.

"That lipstick doesn't suit you, it would look much better on Síle."

Now on this I'll 100% agree with you, classic telly, even if it seemed scripted
Post by: 5 Sams on December 08, 2014, 11:45:41 AM
Surprised nobody has commented on Darcy jumping ship back to RTE! I suppose Galvin's missus will be favourite for his spot now.
Post by: Hereiam on December 08, 2014, 11:54:16 AM
Just after hearing this news. I have watched & listened to Darcy a lot over the years. The show had become very stale lately and he was off nearly a month back in the summer so I am not surprised he is gone. It happened very sudden in the end as he was on Friday with no mention and then today he is gone. Must of been some sort of fall out.
I know he is not everyone's cup of tea but I have been with him from his days on The Den but I don't think I will be moving to RTE Radio 1.
The radio has changed so much in the last 5-6 years and I mean in a bad way with crap presenters.
Post by: screenexile on December 08, 2014, 12:00:20 PM
Talking of going stale Dempsey could do with the chop as well... it seems like he's just on autopilot at this stage!!
Post by: Hereiam on December 08, 2014, 12:12:25 PM
Quote from: screenexile on December 08, 2014, 12:00:20 PM
Talking of going stale Dempsey could do with the chop as well... it seems like he's just on autopilot at this stage!!

Totally agree with that. Its just the same day in day out.
Post by: BennyCake on December 08, 2014, 12:16:36 PM
What's the story about him replacing big Derek Mooney? Has Derek's show been axed or what? I like his show.
Post by: muppet on December 08, 2014, 12:29:34 PM
Quote from: Hereiam on December 08, 2014, 11:54:16 AM
Just after hearing this news. I have watched & listened to Darcy a lot over the years. The show had become very stale lately and he was off nearly a month back in the summer so I am not surprised he is gone. It happened very sudden in the end as he was on Friday with no mention and then today he is gone. Must of been some sort of fall out.
I know he is not everyone's cup of tea but I have been with him from his days on The Den but I don't think I will be moving to RTE Radio 1.
The radio has changed so much in the last 5-6 years and I mean in a bad way with crap presenters.

Before that we had a raft of new stations bringing enthusiasm and new ideas (although some probably copied from abroad). This freshened things up a lot. I am thinking of shows like The Last Word, Dempsey, Tom Dunne's music show and to be fair Darcy for a while as well. But after they were new, they became the norm and then ultimately went stale. These are probably natural cycles. But it needs new blood or at least new shows at regular intervals.

In fairness you have to give credit to the likes of Gaybo, who lasted so long at what he did and to a lesser extent Gerry Ryan as well. It can't be easy.
Post by: screenexile on December 08, 2014, 01:55:19 PM
Quote from: muppet on December 08, 2014, 12:29:34 PM

Before that we had a raft of new stations bringing enthusiasm and new ideas (although some probably copied from abroad). This freshened things up a lot. I am thinking of shows like The Last Word, Dempsey, Tom Dunne's music show and to be fair Darcy for a while as well. But after they were new, they became the norm and then ultimately went stale. These are probably natural cycles. But it needs new blood or at least new shows at regular intervals.

In fairness you have to give credit to the likes of Gaybo, who lasted so long at what he did and to a lesser extent Gerry Ryan as well. It can't be easy.

I still think The Last Word is excellent!

Best Radio station about it TXFM. Not too complicated but just good music all the time.
Post by: muppet on December 08, 2014, 02:04:00 PM
Quote from: screenexile on December 08, 2014, 01:55:19 PM
Quote from: muppet on December 08, 2014, 12:29:34 PM

I still think The Last Word is excellent!

Best Radio station about it TXFM. Not too complicated but just good music all the time.

Yes, but I really meant Dunphy. The change of presenter every now and then does no harm.

The little bit of radio I listen to these days is usually Nova, and only when they are not talking.
Post by: AZOffaly on December 08, 2014, 02:07:16 PM
I used to listen to a lot of radio, especially driving to and from work, or up and down to Dublin for work. Now I just listen to podcasts via the little FM transmitter for the car. I can't remember the last radio I listened to, maybe a bit of Off the Ball a couple of weeks ago.
Post by: cockahoop on December 08, 2014, 04:47:31 PM
the radio really has become crap recently,i used to listen to 2FM in the morning with Hector,i know he blathers on a bit but god there were plenty of funny stuff and plenty of good music,cant stand those clowns who took over his show,slabbers!! cool FM have presenters who think there American so im left will Ian dempsey,the show has got a little mundane and that mario boy just aint funny but the best of a bad bunch that time of the morning
Post by: laoislad on December 08, 2014, 04:53:18 PM
I've stopped listening to Dempsey also. Mario no longer funny and Paul Collins is the most annoying man on radio ever.

Radio Nova for me now in the mornings. Nothing like a bit of ACDC at 7am* to get you ready for work.

*Yes teachers 7am is an actual time of the day.

Post by: Denn Forever on December 08, 2014, 05:01:30 PM
Mention of ACDC, Malcolm ain't well these days.

http://www.rollingstone.com/music/news/malcolm-youngs-family-confirms-ac-dc-guitarists-dementia-20140930
Post by: Hereiam on December 08, 2014, 05:18:16 PM
I hate the sound of Collins voice.
More worryingly is that I have switch now and again to radio Ulster in the mornings, I'm sorry but listening to that every morning would drive u to the blue rope.
Post by: 5 Sams on December 08, 2014, 07:06:54 PM
When I'm south of Dundalk I listen to Newstalk. Pity it can't be got in the north....excellent radio station. Otherwise it's Morning Ireland.
Post by: sans pessimism on December 08, 2014, 07:57:04 PM
I lost respect for that man when he insisted that he would emigrate if Enda ever became Taoiseach....last time I checked,(which is very seldom)the gobshite was still here.
Post by: From the Bunker on December 08, 2014, 08:23:32 PM
Have not listened to his show in years. Had got predictable, stale and boring. As well as that I had got older and topic covered were no longer interesting. The worst thing with Ray was he started and continued to get more arrogant. This happens with popularity and being a celebrity I suppose.  It is probably the best thing to happen to today fm.
Post by: T Fearon on December 08, 2014, 08:26:40 PM
From the Bunker.You got older? How come?
Post by: macdanger2 on December 08, 2014, 08:42:54 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on December 08, 2014, 08:23:32 PM
Have not listened to his show in years. Had got predictable, stale and boring. As well as that I had got older and topic covered were no longer interesting. The worst thing with Ray was he started and continued to get more arrogant. This happens with popularity and being a celebrity I suppose.  It is probably the best thing to happen to today fm.

Yeah, he was good when he kept it light but then he started to think his opinion was important and everyone gave a shite about it. Haven't listened to him in the longest time
Post by: From the Bunker on December 09, 2014, 01:54:13 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on December 08, 2014, 08:26:40 PM
From the Bunker.You got older? How come?

One day you will know Mr. Fearon!  ;)
Post by: From the Bunker on April 29, 2017, 11:42:59 PM
Ray Darcy suffering here with David McSavage! Great TV!
Post by: seafoid on April 30, 2017, 05:42:41 AM
Quote from: macdanger2 on December 08, 2014, 08:42:54 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on December 08, 2014, 08:23:32 PM

Yeah, he was good when he kept it light but then he started to think his opinion was important and everyone gave a shite about it. Haven't listened to him in the longest time
Kildare don't have natural forwards
Post by: Farrandeelin on April 30, 2017, 08:53:56 AM
Quote from: From the Bunker on April 29, 2017, 11:42:59 PM
Ray Darcy suffering here with David McSavage! Great TV!

You're back listening to him then.  ;D
Post by: From the Bunker on May 21, 2017, 12:13:58 AM
Dunphy is some fecker for playing to the audience!

Two Millionaires discussing the suffering of the Irish!   ;D
Post by: BennyCake on May 21, 2017, 12:21:26 AM
Quote from: From the Bunker on May 21, 2017, 12:13:58 AM

At least he's speaking out about it. Saint Bonzo hasn't.
Post by: Avondhu star on May 21, 2017, 12:40:36 AM

Dunphy the bollix never waited for John Murphys van in Kentish Town
Post by: Fiodoir Ard Mhacha on May 21, 2017, 08:17:35 AM
He was good on Blackboard Jungle, where his input was heavily scripted and he worked with kids.
Post by: Farrandeelin on May 21, 2017, 09:12:07 AM
Quote from: Fiodoir Ard Mhacha on May 21, 2017, 08:17:35 AM
He was good on Blackboard Jungle, where his input was heavily scripted and he worked with kids.
The Den was good back in the day with him doing it too.
Post by: The Subbie on May 21, 2017, 10:58:02 AM
Quote from: Avondhu star on May 21, 2017, 12:40:36 AM

Dunphy the bollix never waited for John Murphys van in Kentish Town

I suppose you did though?
Post by: BennyCake on January 20, 2018, 10:55:56 PM
Awkward interview with Shane McGowan.
Post by: T Fearon on January 21, 2018, 12:11:59 AM
Is Shane Mc Gowan's girlfriend a Zombie? Looked like they were both taking the piss out of Darcy.
Post by: balladmaker on January 21, 2018, 01:27:09 AM
Taking the piss out of Ray Darcy (not difficult) and RTE, Shane wouldn't have much respect for the RTE establishment.
Post by: Rossfan on February 11, 2018, 12:04:25 AM
Mícheál Ó Muircheartaigh agus Seán Óg ar an gclár anocht.
D'Arcy wad like a nuisance in their way ;D
Post by: LooseCannon on February 11, 2018, 07:50:15 AM
Darcy is a sack of piss.
Post by: mouview on February 11, 2018, 02:47:38 PM
Quote from: LooseCannon on February 11, 2018, 07:50:15 AM
Darcy is a sack of piss.

In general yes, but MOM is away with the fairies now anyway I'm afraid. Fitting that O'Halpin was on with him as he was always more of a MOM creation than a great hurler.
Post by: leenie on February 11, 2018, 04:23:25 PM
Who was that dose that was suppose to be a comedian ?
Post by: Seany on February 11, 2018, 05:20:05 PM
Ray D'Arcy is an excellent broadcaster. His radio show is interesting and he is a brilliant interviewer. His TV show is probably affected by the caliber of guest RTE can get him after LLS has hovered up anyone with even slight celebrity status. He's basically left with what's left in the canteen. But he is definitely a gifted broadcaster. And a really nice guy.
Post by: armaghniac on February 11, 2018, 06:16:44 PM
Thanks for your contribution, Ray.
Post by: LooseCannon on February 11, 2018, 09:30:35 PM
Quote from: Seany on February 11, 2018, 05:20:05 PM
Ray D'Arcy is an excellent broadcaster. His radio show is interesting and he is a brilliant interviewer. His TV show is probably affected by the caliber of guest RTE can get him after LLS has hovered up anyone with even slight celebrity status. He's basically left with what's left in the canteen. But he is definitely a gifted broadcaster. And a really nice guy.

Quote from: LooseCannon on February 11, 2018, 07:50:15 AM
Darcy is a sack of piss.
I stand by my statement Ray.
Post by: grounded on February 11, 2018, 10:47:59 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on February 11, 2018, 06:16:44 PM
Thanks for your contribution, Ray.

Post by: BennyCake on February 11, 2018, 10:48:47 PM

Listen to his show a lot on radio. He has some cracking guests on. He does be a bit stuttery when questioning but I'd prefer him over tubridy anyday.

Watch the TV show sometimes. Once I heard Jordan was on last night, I avoided like the plague. Ireland are too obsessed with British celebrities
Post by: BennyCake on May 19, 2018, 11:48:47 PM
When these lads go (Paddy Maloney and John Sheehan), can anyone fill their shoes? Ireland lacks musical legends to take over.
Post by: Avondhu star on May 21, 2018, 12:52:48 PM
Not everyone would agree with you Jenny.
But then like Miriam O'Callaghan while some like her she has her knockers
Post by: BennyCake on May 21, 2018, 03:18:40 PM
Quote from: Avondhu star on May 21, 2018, 12:52:48 PM
Not everyone would agree with you Jenny.
But then like Miriam O'Callaghan while some like her she has her knockers

Maybe that's why some do like her ;)
Post by: BennyCake on November 24, 2018, 11:11:26 PM
Michael Parkinson on tonight. Ray insists on calling him "Sir" Michael Parkinson.

What is that all about?
Post by: Real Talk on November 25, 2018, 12:32:49 AM
Lord knows !!!!
Post by: Itchy on November 25, 2018, 01:25:56 AM
Quote from: BennyCake on November 24, 2018, 11:11:26 PM
Michael Parkinson on tonight. Ray insists on calling him "Sir" Michael Parkinson.

What is that all about?

Mrs Merton used to call him Parky
Post by: seafoid on November 25, 2018, 05:58:45 AM
Quote from: BennyCake on May 19, 2018, 11:48:47 PM
When these lads go (Paddy Maloney and John Sheehan), can anyone fill their shoes? Ireland lacks musical legends to take over.

The river of sound is in good hands

https://youtu.be/rF2OdTtNZCI
Post by: seafoid on November 25, 2018, 08:07:41 AM
The singing on this clip is beautiful

https://mobile.twitter.com/RTERayDarcyShow/status/1061386213930622976
Post by: snoopdog on November 25, 2018, 11:07:37 AM

What is that all about?
Probably due to being knighted or something. Just like Alex Ferguson is Sir Alex.  Parky getting old now. Great interviewer in his day.
Post by: screenexile on November 25, 2018, 11:13:46 AM
Quote from: snoopdog on November 25, 2018, 11:07:37 AM

What is that all about?
Probably due to being knighted or something. Just like Alex Ferguson is Sir Alex.  Parky getting old now. Great interviewer in his day.

Yeah he's a knight... I would find it strange to call somebody Sir I hated doing it at school so cant see why I would do it now when I don't have to!
Post by: BennyCake on November 25, 2018, 12:35:12 PM
It's a British/royal title though. I find it strange even when British people recognise it, but totally baffling when an Irish person would choose to recognise it.