GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Captain Scarlet on December 19, 2017, 01:22:22 PM

Title: Club Managers Money
Post by: Captain Scarlet on December 19, 2017, 01:22:22 PM
I see Michael Foley and Christy O'Connor have updated their study from a few years ago.
Money isn't as high but there are still lots paying nice chunks of change to lads from outside.

http://www.offtheball.com/podcasts/GAA_on_Off_The_Ball/GAA_on_Off_The_Ball/59006/The_Price_of_GAA_Club_Success

Just looking in Kildare there seems to be a trend for more homegrown and when you see a 32-year-old in-house man in the form of Ross Glavin win a Leinster Club with Moorefield it might focus the minds a bit.
We have a good spread of counties on here and, it is that time of year, so how is it with your club. Are there lads being brought in or are funds being watched more than Celtic Tiger times?

Title: Re: Club Managers Money
Post by: AZOffaly on December 19, 2017, 01:25:31 PM
Quote from: Captain Scarlet on December 19, 2017, 01:22:22 PM
I see Michael Foley and Christy O'Connor have updated their study from a few years ago.
Money isn't as high but there are still lots paying nice chunks of change to lads from outside.

http://www.offtheball.com/podcasts/GAA_on_Off_The_Ball/GAA_on_Off_The_Ball/59006/The_Price_of_GAA_Club_Success

Just looking in Kildare there seems to be a trend for more homegrown and when you see a 32-year-old in-house man in the form of Ross Glavin win a Leinster Club with Moorefield it might focus the minds a bit.
We have a good spread of counties on here and, it is that time of year, so how is it with your club. Are there lads being brought in or are funds being watched more than Celtic Tiger times?

Moorefield mightn't be the best example :)
Post by: Captain Scarlet on December 19, 2017, 01:37:19 PM
Ah I know he has his 'helper' but still a lad who will be there for a while. Elsewhere in Kildare you have Glenn Ryan, Brian Flanagan and Karl Ennis who are all former Lilywhites with their own club.

Honestly just wondering what the scene is like in other counties here. There were mad stories in boom times. i know one club who were always within a whisker of winning IFC. Their local manager thought they needed to kick on so they paid BIG cash to a former county star from another county.
He didn't even know all the players names and was ran half-way through the year.
Post by: shark on December 19, 2017, 01:41:09 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on December 19, 2017, 01:25:31 PM
Quote from: Captain Scarlet on December 19, 2017, 01:22:22 PM

Moorefield mightn't be the best example :)

Of course they are not. Luke Dempsey trained them for 2 years. A man who currently trains the biggest rivals of his own club. Money talks.
However, they are currently a good example that you don't necessarily need a big name from outside to achieve success.
There are very few managers who are worth what clubs throw at them. Very few.
Post by: Ty4Sam on December 19, 2017, 02:27:51 PM
Do any clubs pay their own club men to manage their senior team? Or is it outsider's only that get paid.
Post by: GetOverTheBar on December 19, 2017, 03:32:44 PM
Quote from: Ty4Sam on December 19, 2017, 02:27:51 PM
Do any clubs pay their own club men to manage their senior team? Or is it outsider's only that get paid.

I find in Tyrone the cycle seems to be, get the club man in after the paid outsider leaves/gets the boot. Club man doesn't tend to get paid lots, instead he's 'answering the call'.

Club man tends to leave at the end of that year and the cycle begins again.

My own club paid their own men the same as what the outsider got in the last instance of this until the end of the term but I know of many who take on the challenge to get their break / sense of duty.

Post by: Dinny Breen on December 19, 2017, 04:11:13 PM

My club manager is paid but a lot less he would command if he put himself on the market.

Any manager doing a proper job is putting in a minimum 20 hours a week.  Training (planning, running) Matches, Analysis, Team Meetings, Management Meetings, endless phone calls to coaches, player and administrators. Not to mention family, work and business sacrifices. Managing a team now is not like "Back in the day", it's very rewarding emotionally when things are going well but when they are not, it's a very very lonely job.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on December 19, 2017, 05:47:22 PM
Quote from: Captain Scarlet on December 19, 2017, 01:37:19 PM
Elsewhere in Kildare you have Glenn Ryan, Brian Flanagan and Karl Ennis who are all former Lilywhites with their own club.

Damien Hendy (Castledermot) and Karl O'Dwyer (Rathangan) too.
Post by: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on December 19, 2017, 07:20:30 PM
Karl O'Dwyer being a Rathangan man is stretching it slightly, I doubt he played more than a handful of games for them in 98 before Towers landed him.
Post by: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on December 19, 2017, 07:27:47 PM
Quote from: Captain Scarlet on December 19, 2017, 01:37:19 PM
Honestly just wondering what the scene is like in other counties here. There were mad stories in boom times. i know one club who were always within a whisker of winning IFC. Their local manager thought they needed to kick on so they paid BIG cash to a former county star from another county.
He didn't even know all the players names and was ran half-way through the year.

An expensive manager/mercenary came good for them in the end though. They may be the club who spent €50k on managers while building dressing rooms mentioned in the podcast.
Post by: oliverkelly on December 20, 2017, 08:44:17 AM

St Brigids Roscommon next year will be paying all their management team, Manager Frankie Dolan and Selectors Shane Curran and Mark O'Carroll all lads who played with them and won an All Ireland with them a few years ago.

My own Club Clann Na nGeal will be paying one out of a joint management team. Both local lads as well. Thats two examples of inside clubmen charging "Expenses"
Post by: Rossfan on December 20, 2017, 10:02:40 AM
There are expenses and there are "Expenses".
I was shocked to hear the figure a small club in a neighbouring County paid an outside manager this year.
Pity all that money couldn't be put into player retention and facilities.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on December 20, 2017, 12:58:09 PM
We still appoint in House and have no outside coach this year at all. We have had a fitness coach for the last number of years but not anymore. All management free of charge.

I honestly don't know how anyone could take money from their own club
Post by: Brick Tamlin on December 20, 2017, 03:03:21 PM
Home club or not, If youre doing the thing right and putting the amount of hours required I don't see how anyone could do it for nathin.
Players demand standards and if you deliver those standards regardless of win/lose/draw then its a savage workload for any man.
Post by: shawshank on December 21, 2017, 11:43:01 PM
Slaughtneil haven't had an inside manager in the three codes they are currently Ulster champions  in years. In football you would have to go back to the early 90s as the last time they has an inside manager
Post by: Minder on December 22, 2017, 12:15:37 AM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on December 20, 2017, 12:58:09 PM
We still appoint in House and have no outside coach this year at all. We have had a fitness coach for the last number of years but not anymore. All management free of charge.

Yeah doesent sit right with me either
Post by: Rossfan on December 22, 2017, 11:24:16 AM
Hard to bate th'oul amateur sport. .........
Post by: Norf Tyrone on December 22, 2017, 01:13:05 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on December 20, 2017, 12:58:09 PM

Same as that. There are chairs and secretarys who sometimes do more. However ypu never hear of them being paid.
Post by: manfromdelmonte on December 22, 2017, 01:34:25 PM
instead of paying an outside manager our club could have new ballstop nets bought every two years.

we're still waiting for the ball stop nets. for ten years
Post by: tonto1888 on December 22, 2017, 02:02:46 PM
I have heard Damian Barton will be getting a fortune for managing Edendork this coming year
Post by: Captain Scarlet on December 22, 2017, 02:21:02 PM
Managing the local club is fecking a thankless task unless you win things. There is always a history and backstory element. If a lad is taking a wedge too, then the grief would make it even worse.
The problem is that when one crowd do something in the GAA the outside man is the magic bullet. Unfortunately, by the time they are found out the year is wasted along with minimum 10k.

Post by: Orchard park on December 22, 2017, 02:32:50 PM
Quote from: Captain Scarlet on December 22, 2017, 02:21:02 PM
Managing the local club is fecking a thankless task unless you win things. There is always a history and backstory element. If a lad is taking a wedge too, then the grief would make it even worse.
The problem is that when one crowd do something in the GAA the outside man is the magic bullet. Unfortunately, by the time they are found out the year is wasted along with minimum 10k.

most are sussed before Patrick's day
Post by: befair on December 25, 2017, 05:12:53 PM
Paying outside managers has been a pernicious development in club football. It's our own fault, of course, every club has good experienced people who might be willing to take their turn for a few yrs, but "no man is a prophet in his own country." 
Post by: Ty4Sam on December 25, 2017, 06:12:03 PM
Think the horse has bolted with this one. Soon it'll be the norm that club men get paid to manage which will cause major problems within clubs. A way to sort it is for congress to pass a motion that any member of a management panel has to be a member of the same club for at least the previous 3 years. Won't happen but also even if it did there will be a loop hole found.
Post by: rrhf on December 25, 2017, 08:53:23 PM
Yes it could be simply dealt with.
Post by: tiempo on January 14, 2018, 10:05:33 PM
Out of interest what would you expect to pay a trained PT taking a group of 6 lads through some weights and a circuit for 90mins a session?
Post by: mrdeeds on January 14, 2018, 10:20:10 PM
I know my own club have had a club man that had to be paid. We've also had an outside manager that refused anything and he has managed other teams and that is his attitude. Last year our three lads on managemnt team were all outsiders. Manager wouldn't take money (ex County manager and doesn't need the money), our trainer didn't take anything but we had to pay the S and C guy. It's like life, some lads are in it for quick buck and some are in it for right reasons.
Post by: ApresMatch on January 14, 2018, 10:54:16 PM
I personally wouldn't be taking money off my own club if I was senior manager. If I was managing another club I would never do it for nothing.
Post by: DuffleKing on January 14, 2018, 11:43:44 PM
Quote from: tiempo on January 14, 2018, 10:05:33 PM
Out of interest what would you expect to pay a trained PT taking a group of 6 lads through some weights and a circuit for 90mins a session?

90 min gym sessions? The only thing I'd be giving that boy is the road
Post by: Dougal Maguire on January 15, 2018, 12:54:22 AM
I have heard it suggested that Justin McNulty, MLA is getting a fortune for managing Killeavy
Post by: tippabu on January 15, 2018, 09:32:40 AM
Conor counihan managing arravale rovers in tipp this year, can't imagine he is cheap. Will be interesting to see how they go, they'd just be that next level down from commercials, moyle Rovers and loughmore
Post by: oliverkelly on January 15, 2018, 12:03:01 PM
Quote from: Dougal Maguire on January 15, 2018, 12:54:22 AM
I have heard it suggested that Justin McNulty, MLA is getting a fortune for managing Killeavy

£400 a week i heard off a club member who i have dealings with through work.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on January 15, 2018, 12:42:34 PM
Quote from: DuffleKing on January 14, 2018, 11:43:44 PM
Quote from: tiempo on January 14, 2018, 10:05:33 PM

90 min gym sessions? The only thing I'd be giving that boy is the road

Correct. 75 minutes max. Including warmup and cool down.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 17, 2018, 01:26:08 PM
A clubman who looks after the team should not have to pay for his fuel and telphone calls.. and thats for any team
Post by: Targetman on January 17, 2018, 03:31:15 PM
Quote from: oliverkelly on January 15, 2018, 12:03:01 PM
Quote from: Dougal Maguire on January 15, 2018, 12:54:22 AM

£400 a week i heard off a club member who i have dealings with through work.
Its all for the love of the game!!
Post by: JoG2 on January 17, 2018, 06:21:53 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 17, 2018, 01:26:08 PM
A clubman who looks after the team should not have to pay for his fuel and telphone calls.. and thats for any team

You either want to do it or not. Most communication is on WhatsApp (messages and calls) and would most not have a tonne of minutes included? Fuel wise, why should managers / coaches get fuel when everyone else drives to training or carpool to training / games. Personally,  I wouldn't take a bean from the club.. Most struggle to make ends meet as it is.
Bar the mercenary brigade, the vast majority know (outside reg, lotto and the like) , being part of a team will cost you money (and every brownie point you have!).
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 17, 2018, 08:45:35 PM
Quote from: JoG2 on January 17, 2018, 06:21:53 PM

You either want to do it or not. Most communication is on WhatsApp (messages and calls) and would most not have a tonne of minutes included? Fuel wise, why should managers / coaches get fuel when everyone else drives to training or carpool to training / games. Personally,  I wouldn't take a bean from the club.. Most struggle to make ends meet as it is.
Bar the mercenary brigade, the vast majority know (outside reg, lotto and the like) , being part of a team will cost you money (and every brownie point you have!).

You could be spending £30 a week on normal fuel for just training sessions.. so for instance if I use myself as a example I'm 30 mile round trip to my club, two nights a week minimum training, plus weekend training or games, challenge games would be away generally and then you're into your season, depending on how long your season goes you are talking at least £1500 quid on fuel alone for the year..

You talk about WhatsApp and whatever, it's not like that either, it's about calling loads of people not just players who can be needy feckers! Your club Sec, chairman, your trainers and arranging other crap.

trust me I've been there, many times.. if you do it right you give up a lot of your time and your families time, add in that extra cost. Why should you do it and be out of pocket also?

And you're not going to make money BTW
Post by: Therealdonald on January 17, 2018, 08:50:55 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 17, 2018, 08:45:35 PM

You could be spending £30 a week on normal fuel for just training sessions.. so for instance if I use myself as a example I'm 30 mile round trip to my club, two nights a week minimum training, plus weekend training or games, challenge games would be away generally and then you're into your season, depending on how long your season goes you are talking at least £1500 quid on fuel alone for the year..

You talk about WhatsApp and whatever, it's not like that either, it's about calling loads of people not just players who can be needy feckers! Your club Sec, chairman, your trainers and arranging other crap.

trust me I've been there, many times.. if you do it right you give up a lot of your time and your families time, add in that extra cost. Why should you do it and be out of pocket also?

Can't agree MR. Don't think any clubman should take money from their own club. Should the chairman get paid? I'd imagine hos volume of calls would be fairly high too and his time away from the family as well.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 17, 2018, 09:25:07 PM
Quote from: hardstation on January 17, 2018, 09:02:39 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 17, 2018, 08:45:35 PM

Surely you made the same 30 mile round journey to training as a player also? Why would you be reimbursed as a manager but not as a player?

I only used me as an example I've taken many teams within the club senior through to under 12, never took money .. came in one year after being asked as they didn't have anyone, I said if the football manager is being covered for fuel then surely so should the hurling manager, it wasn't agreed and I stepped down, not because of the money but purely on principle..

Hardstation try your hand at senior management, when you do that I'll listen. A player turns up trains goes home, plays match on Sunday goes home!

Manager, puts plans in place, pre season he sorts out indoor training at a school or church hall carries out training drills, organises training programs weight programs individually set, speaks to dieticians to encourage healthy diet.. deals with equipment, is there enough hurling balls,  spare sticks, gear washed.. nets up and nets down, flags out on pitch, making sure pitch it cut or playable.. dealing with players who feel they have to have an input into selections! Taking criticism from clubmen who hurled 40 years ago, manager is thinking about the next match selection wondering who's away on a flipping stag weekend during the league! I could go on, being a player is a gift, being a manager is not, the rewards can be fantastic and I've sampled some, but they are few..

Being a chairman or a Sec is a thankless task also, wouldn't touch it unless I was retired to be honest
Post by: Targetman on January 17, 2018, 09:36:00 PM
Can't agree with a clubman taking money from his own club for managing the team, would only cause ill feelings and resentment in some quarters, these boys that do the managerial merry go round every year are definitely in it for the money and I suppose if they're getting it fair play to them, but some of the dough being paid is ridiculous!!
Post by: Minder on January 17, 2018, 10:04:09 PM
Have never heard of a clubman getting a penny for managing a team, it just wouldn't even be mentioned. I remember a load of us travelled from Belfast  (90 mile round trip) for training when we were playing and the club offered us a tenner for fuel and nobody would take it.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 17, 2018, 10:10:49 PM
Like I said I wasn't paid... but I seen people getting expenses.. plenty clubs have benefactors who do this.

Minder no one asked you to play you did it cause you wanted to, we've done plenty trips to, Westmeath, Dublin, and other places as far as players, never give it a second thought.. management is different. As i said to Hardstation, try it
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 17, 2018, 10:29:57 PM
You haven't read my post have you?

I'll spell it out again, I've managed at least 5 different teams within the club, never paid until I found out the football set up got expenses for travel, so I asked the question after I was asked to become manager,  should there be a difference?

Now if a member of the committee was getting money would you step down?
Post by: Minder on January 17, 2018, 11:02:24 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 17, 2018, 10:10:49 PM
Like I said I wasn't paid... but I seen people getting expenses.. plenty clubs have benefactors who do this.

Minder no one asked you to play you did it cause you wanted to, we've done plenty trips to, Westmeath, Dublin, and other places as far as players, never give it a second thought.. management is different. As i said to Hardstation, try it

You don't need to have "tried it" to know & have an appreciation for what's involved & I am not talking about "getting paid" I'm talking about expenses. I know all the fellas that did it in my time. They all went in with their eyes wide open & managed us more than once (that's as much to do with a lack of people being interested & is another debate) Not one ever mentioned travel expenses or petrol money as an issue. One of them worked all round Ireland one of the years and regularly took half days to drive to training from the south.

Everyone & every club is different though.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 17, 2018, 11:20:12 PM
And that's fair enough as I did it myself for many years, and no doubts will be back to do it when I want to...

But I can see where people shouldn't have to be out of pocket, eyes wide open or not. Time isn't the same any more unfortunately and covering travel is ok...

My travel is covered for refereeing and I've never heard of people complaining about that
Post by: APM on January 18, 2018, 01:12:14 PM
I put up a very long post (http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=28388.0) about this a week ago and it attracted a couple of equally long responses, but not the debate that I wanted. 

The point I made was that once someone starts getting payments or expenses, then you're on the slippery slope.  Other volunteers think, why not me, or f@*k this.  Clubs pay senior managers, but I have never heard of a club paying even expenses to minor managers or whoever's looking after the U-16s.  Are they entitled to expenses also? Where does it stop. 

Why should anyone get paid to do something which is effectively a hobby.  Answer, because they are getting offered money? Next question; why is there a market for this? Answer; because no-one has done anything to stop it and there shouldn't be a market for club managers.  Its a racket folks!

Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 18, 2018, 01:29:43 PM
It is a racket in the higher end of things, people getting cars and so on Ive heard and if clubs are willing to cough this up then they might be able to afford this out of their earnings as a club social bar that makes money or what mainly happens is there is a guy who has a few quid which he funds a manager..

Every club has an AGM and if they aint happy on how things are run or want to know the answer to something they ask, if there is enough votes on the subject then its either passed or not.. so as said before, each club to their own and if they feel that it works for them or that they can't get a clubman to take the team then what are they to do? should the committie look after the team then?

There are certain clubs that have a serious amount of money behind them and others that scrape along every year, its up to them on how they deal with it
Post by: tonto1888 on January 18, 2018, 02:10:39 PM
Quote from: hardstation on January 18, 2018, 08:09:06 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 17, 2018, 10:29:57 PM

I'll spell it out again, I've managed at least 5 different teams within the club, never paid until I found out the football set up got expenses for travel, so I asked the question after I was asked to become manager,  should there be a difference?

I have read your posts. I never suggested that you did get paid a penny. I simply disagree with you that managers should get travel expenses. I would certainly object to a committee member getting travel expenses. That would not lead me to believe that all committee members should get travel expenses.

I don't think he said managers should get expenses but that the football manager was and that he as hurling manager should have had the same. Which I would agree with
Post by: JoG2 on January 18, 2018, 02:23:29 PM
Quote from: tonto1888 on January 18, 2018, 02:10:39 PM

I have read your posts. I never suggested that you did get paid a penny. I simply disagree with you that managers should get travel expenses. I would certainly object to a committee member getting travel expenses. That would not lead me to believe that all committee members should get travel expenses.

I don't think he said managers should get expenses but that the football manager was and that he as hurling manager should have had the same. Which I would agree with

Is it fair play you agree with or club managers getting money for volunteering with their club? I can't understand anyone taking money from their club

And the mercenary end of things being a racket, couldn't agree more. It's madness so many clubs buy into it (benefactor or not)
Post by: tonto1888 on January 18, 2018, 02:33:39 PM
Quote from: JoG2 on January 18, 2018, 02:23:29 PM

Is it fair play you agree with or club managers getting money for volunteering with their club? I can't understand anyone taking money from their club

And the mercenary end of things being a racket, couldn't agree more. It's madness so many clubs buy into it (benefactor or not)

Its the fair play aspect I would agree with. I don't see how a club can give expenses to the football manager but not to the hurling manager. The rights of giving expenses is a different conversation I think
Post by: APM on January 18, 2018, 02:57:07 PM
What about the Minor Football manager then too? And while you're at it, what about the club secretary and treasurer.
Post by: tonto1888 on January 18, 2018, 03:16:58 PM
Quote from: APM on January 18, 2018, 02:57:07 PM
What about the Minor Football manager then too? And while you're at it, what about the club secretary and treasurer.

so, you think its ok to give travel expenses to the football manager but not the hurling manager?
I think there should be rule. Either managers get travel expenses or they don't; don't pick and choose which do and which dont
Post by: APM on January 18, 2018, 04:28:52 PM
Quote from: tonto1888 on January 18, 2018, 03:16:58 PM

so, you think its ok to give travel expenses to the football manager but not the hurling manager?
I think there should be rule. Either managers get travel expenses or they don't; don't pick and choose which do and which dont

I think two wrongs don't make a right. I wouldn't be giving expenses to anyone, because it leads to resentment.  If you are in it for the right reasons, you won't be asking for expenses in the first place.  But if Jim finds Jack is getting expenses and he's not, then Jim willl turn into a greedy bastid and want £££ too. 
Post by: tonto1888 on January 18, 2018, 04:37:19 PM
Quote from: APM on January 18, 2018, 04:28:52 PM
Quote from: tonto1888 on January 18, 2018, 03:16:58 PM

I think two wrongs don't make a right. I wouldn't be giving expenses to anyone, because it leads to resentment.  If you are in it for the right reasons, you won't be asking for expenses in the first place.  But if Jim finds Jack is getting expenses and he's not, then Jim willl turn into a greedy bastid and want £££ too.

Im with you on that but I don't see how you can give one manager expenses but not others
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 18, 2018, 06:08:28 PM
Quote from: hardstation on January 18, 2018, 03:48:02 PM

He did.

And I stand by it, it's a small fee to pay someone fuel, why then should referees get it Hardstation? You talk about amateurism and volunteerism. What's the difference?
Post by: manfromdelmonte on January 19, 2018, 01:55:18 PM
Quote from: hardstation on January 19, 2018, 01:49:56 PM
And then why shouldn't everyone get it?

The point about refereeing is that you are helping the county out more so than your club. You are expected to travel the county refereeing games that your club has no involvement in. The county reimburse you for this, not your club. Unless I'm mistaken (and I may be) referees don't take any money from their clubs either.

Also, I would question the "small fee" when every manager in every code in your club is knocking the treasurer's door.
in Westmeath the home club has to pay the referee the expenses either before or after the league game
its a very messy set up
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 19, 2018, 03:19:33 PM

The point about refereeing is that you are helping the county out more so than your club. You are expected to travel the county refereeing games that your club has no involvement in. The county reimburse you for this, not your club. Unless I'm mistaken (and I may be) referees don't take any money from their clubs either.

Also, I would question the "small fee" when every manager in every code in your club is knocking the treasurer's door.

Its still amateurism and volunteerism, no one has forced me to do it and I do it cause I like it and putting something back (in a small way).. if i wasnt going to referee i'd be at my own club watching a game.. as for the county reimburse me, i think the clubs pay the county annually for whatever fees that are required and I'm sure there may be some budget from Croke.. so I'm not totally sure who pays

Clubs do supply their ref's with gear each year should they require it also, maybe they shouldnt take that also as that would be seen as ripping your club off!

A small fee as i mentioned is simple, some coverage of expenses, some peope live besides their club, some don't.

There has been all sorts of back handers going on in clubs for years and if you dont think there has been then you are thicker than i thought!
Post by: playwiththewind1st on January 19, 2018, 03:33:46 PM
Quote from: manfromdelmonte on January 19, 2018, 01:55:18 PM

in Westmeath the home club has to pay the referee the expenses either before or after the league game
its a very messy set up

That could work very well in Antrim. They could double up & they could pay you a match fee, while you're getting get the normal "and what are you going to be putting down in your match report about.......?" visit to your dressing room, afterwards!

Mind you, if the home team paid your expenses, the home team would want a home win, in return.