Boxing Thread

Started by bennydorano, November 04, 2007, 09:00:01 PM

How the feck did one give it 3 rounds to Eubank?

Quote from: ONeill on November 30, 2014, 12:17:09 AM

Was thinking that myself.

Eubank was very frustrating, had he done anything in the opening 5 rounds he'd have won that relatively easily!

Quite easily. The odd big shot and blistering combo looks good but doesnt beat a steady scoring fighter. You see it different.  That's your call.

Quote from: BennyHarp on November 30, 2014, 12:19:29 AM

Eubank was very frustrating, had he done anything in the opening 5 rounds he'd have won that relatively easily!

You had Saunders by 2. I had him by 3...not a huge difference

Christmas Lights

Hoping for another entertaining Tyson Fury fight here  ;D

Chisora looking like a loyalist rioter.

Quote from: JoG2 on November 30, 2014, 12:22:09 AM

Yes, but one of the judges had Eubank by 3.

Quote from: JoG2 on November 30, 2014, 12:19:46 AM
Quite easily. The odd big shot and blistering combo looks good but doesnt beat a steady scoring fighter. You see it different.  That's your call.

You on the glue?

Fury/Chisora...zzzzzzzzzzzzzz

Quote from: ONeill on November 30, 2014, 12:58:58 AM
Fury/Chisora...zzzzzzzzzzzzzz

Brutal, it's shows how bad the heavyweights has become that this is an eliminator for a world title shot.

cheers oneill. good link. woeful fight. stayin up to watch that dung...

Mickey Linden

Quote from: BennyHarp on November 30, 2014, 12:30:46 AM

This is what I don't get about boxing. Granted I'm no expert but I find it really strange that there can be so much variation in how professional judges see the fight. For one judge to score the fight to eubank by 3 rounds is baffling. Am I missing something? How does the scoring actually work?

Did ye see Mickey Rourke boxing professionally at 62 or 63 years of age? Apparently he won a fixed fight against some lad that had a 1-9 record previously, a 29 year old. Looks dodgy alright, but not as dodgy as Mickey Rourke himself. Holy shit, what happened him?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IScF_C_rJDg

Quote from: AZOffaly on December 01, 2014, 02:06:37 PM
Did ye see Mickey Rourke boxing professionally at 62 or 63 years of age? Apparently he won a fixed fight against some lad that had a 1-9 record previously, a 29 year old. Looks dodgy alright, but not as dodgy as Mickey Rourke himself. Holy shit, what happened him?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IScF_C_rJDg

Just had a quick look at it there. . . jaysus have you ever seen anything as blatant!!

Quote from: Mickey Linden on November 30, 2014, 10:01:16 AM
Quote from: BennyHarp on November 30, 2014, 12:30:46 AM

This is what I don't get about boxing. Granted I'm no expert but I find it really strange that there can be so much variation in how professional judges see the fight. For one judge to score the fight to eubank by 3 rounds is baffling. Am I missing something? How does the scoring actually work?
Lots of factors in scoring:

Nationality
Which fighter is at home
How thick the envelope in your dressing room is
Who gave you said envelope.