Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Eamonnca1 on August 02, 2022, 11:55:29 PM

Title: Commonwealth Games
Post by: Eamonnca1 on August 02, 2022, 11:55:29 PM
Just starting a thread to see how much (or little) interest there is in this. Apparently 1.5 billion people watch it globally. I doubt if Ireland contributes much to that figure though...
Title: Re: Commonwealth Games
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on August 02, 2022, 11:59:46 PM
None. it's for Brits.
Post by: markl121 on August 03, 2022, 12:01:27 AM
I'm going down to birmingham on Sunday for it to see the road cycling and the boxing finals. Will have my yellow ulster flag though
Post by: Never beat the deeler on August 03, 2022, 01:16:47 AM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on August 02, 2022, 11:55:29 PM
Just starting a thread to see how much (or little) interest there is in this. Apparently 1.5 billion people watch it globally. I doubt if Ireland contributes much to that figure though...

I'm not an athletics fan so wouldn't have a clue. It's on free-to-air tv in Australia so watched a bit of it last night, just because I like watching random sports you wouldn't usually see.
Post by: Eire90 on August 03, 2022, 02:47:23 AM
i would personally like to see  a european games be more prestigious   and promoted
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on August 03, 2022, 07:11:27 AM
Quote from: Eire90 on August 03, 2022, 02:47:23 AM
i would personally like to see  a european games be more prestigious   and promoted

https://www.european-athletics.com/

There are plenty of separate competitions for boxing, swimming etc but I do like the idea of a Euro Games....
Post by: imtommygunn on August 03, 2022, 07:42:24 AM
It's actually a big thing for athletes to get to but they have ballsed it up with quotas etc and there are not remotely enough athletes in the track and field at least. Nine in the 10000 metres final and less than 20 in the marathon. Tbh athletics wise there should not be three championships on in one summer.

Post by: Milltown Row2 on August 03, 2022, 08:53:24 AM
My cousins young lad is a gymnast for Ireland and in these games NI, he's 19, was very unlucky not to get a medal this time round, final part of his routine he'd a bad hop, finished 5th unfortunately.

The time and effort that has went into bringing these lads to this point is unreal, regardless of what this competition represents for these lads its these championships that will give them the confidence to do it at the Worlds and Olympic tournaments, I've watched a good bit of it and the commentators are seriously biased which pisses me off more than anything.

The 10,000 meters final had a great finish to it, the Scot was nowhere but still finished in under 28 minutes I think, that's serious running...

I agree a Euro Games would have a better appeal
Post by: imtommygunn on August 03, 2022, 09:01:33 AM
McClenaghan unlucky too and but for a mistake would have been gold.

10000 was great though there should be way more than 9 in it. The marathons were great too but suffered from very small fields (not athletes decisions - there are some weird quota things going on). Butchart was near last with under 27 minutes.

The euro athletics seems quite low profile these days but it still should be good.
Post by: Norf Tyrone on August 03, 2022, 09:43:17 AM
Two guys with GAA backgrounds up today.

Jude Gallagher from Newtownstewart at 7pm in the boxing QF.
Nick Griggs from Brackaville in the U20 world athletics later too. I think in 3000m at 3pm.
Post by: imtommygunn on August 03, 2022, 09:50:11 AM
Looking forward to seeing how Griggs does. He's in big company there but very capable. Still young for u20 too.
Post by: bennydorano on August 03, 2022, 09:53:14 AM
Chris McGlinchey goes in the MTB event this morning, he's a regular in the local & national road cycling scene. Live at 11am.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on August 03, 2022, 12:17:22 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on August 03, 2022, 09:53:14 AM
Chris McGlinchey goes in the MTB event this morning, he's a regular in the local & national road cycling scene. Live at 11am.

The NZ lads have the first two medals sorted lad Orr is trying to stay in for a bronze
Post by: markl121 on August 03, 2022, 12:20:05 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on August 03, 2022, 12:17:22 PM

The NZ lads have the first two medals sorted lad Orr is trying to stay in for a bronze
Dirty scot attacked the two lads when taking a gel
Post by: Milltown Row2 on August 03, 2022, 12:24:59 PM
Quote from: markl121 on August 03, 2022, 12:20:05 PM

Seen that lol.. ya gotta do what ya gotta do .. bit early to do it so be interesting to see how it goes, that hill looks horrible

Bitta karma for him
Post by: bennydorano on August 03, 2022, 12:33:08 PM
As soon as I turned on the coverage McGlinchey was pulling himself out of a ditch. I wouldn't know too much about the local MTB scene, is Cameron Orr big stuff?  McGlinchey won the Irish Nationals a couple of weeks ago, maybe Orr rides under a GB Licence?
Post by: markl121 on August 03, 2022, 12:37:16 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on August 03, 2022, 12:24:59 PM
Quote from: markl121 on August 03, 2022, 12:20:05 PM

Seen that lol.. ya gotta do what ya gotta do .. bit early to do it so be interesting to see how it goes, that hill looks horrible

Bitta karma for him
Karma. Not sure what mountain bike etiquette but in road racing its a bit oh s shit move to do
Post by: bennydorano on August 03, 2022, 12:41:01 PM
Sounds like Orr rides on a GB Licence ok
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on August 03, 2022, 12:47:59 PM
Quote from: Norf Tyrone on August 03, 2022, 09:43:17 AM

Nick Griggs from Brackaville in the U20 world athletics later too. I think in 3000m at 3pm.

Be playing for NI and singing GSTQ next. Naw does not sit well with me at all, they must be "stoops" are they lol according to GAA board
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on August 03, 2022, 12:48:34 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on August 03, 2022, 12:41:01 PM

But we are not in GB
Post by: bennydorano on August 03, 2022, 01:58:58 PM
Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on August 03, 2022, 12:48:34 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on August 03, 2022, 12:41:01 PM

But we are not in GB
He probably lives in GB, but a cyclist in NI can affiliate to Cycling Ireland or get a UK licence. Its been a while since I looked info about it,  clubs in NI generally affiliate to Cycling Ireland but individuals can get a UK licence. Open to correction
Post by: imtommygunn on August 03, 2022, 02:06:57 PM
Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on August 03, 2022, 12:47:59 PM

Be playing for NI and singing GSTQ next. Naw does not sit well with me at all, they must be "stoops" are they lol according to GAA board

Griggs is running for Ireland.
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on August 03, 2022, 02:26:40 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on August 03, 2022, 02:06:57 PM

To be fair it used to be Danny Boy played at commonwealth, not sure these days, but you are still recognising a failed colonial entity(who pillaged all around them) by taking part and who have The Queen at its head. Stoops id say
Post by: johnnycool on August 03, 2022, 02:47:59 PM
Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on August 03, 2022, 02:26:40 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on August 03, 2022, 02:06:57 PM

To be fair it used to be Danny Boy played at commonwealth, not sure these days, but you are still recognising a failed colonial entity(who pillaged all around them) by taking part and who have The Queen at its head. Stoops id say

England not using GSTQ as an anthem in Birmingham, I think it's Jerusalem.

Wonder what NI will use!!!
Post by: imtommygunn on August 03, 2022, 02:50:20 PM
Downtown Baghdad was what I think fox news called birmingham...
Post by: johnnycool on August 03, 2022, 03:03:16 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on August 03, 2022, 02:50:20 PM
Downtown Baghdad was what I think fox news called birmingham...

considering the mess they (The US) left Baghdad in they'd be better shutting their gobs..

Post by: imtommygunn on August 03, 2022, 03:23:45 PM
Griggs through to the final - happy days.

8:08 so capable of a lot more however it's only qualifying.

A medal would be a stretch but this guy is the best Irish runner to appear in years - here's hoping.
Post by: Norf Tyrone on August 03, 2022, 04:01:40 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on August 03, 2022, 03:23:45 PM

A medal would be a stretch but this guy is the best Irish runner to appear in years - here's hoping.

He basically jogged the last lap as he was so clear in 4th. With 6 going through he didn't need to push himself
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on August 03, 2022, 04:02:35 PM
Quote from: Norf Tyrone on August 03, 2022, 04:01:40 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on August 03, 2022, 03:23:45 PM

He basically jogged the last lap as he was so clear in 4th. With 6 going through he didn't need to push himself

Stoop
Post by: imtommygunn on August 03, 2022, 05:41:37 PM
There's crossover on this thread. He was running for Ireland...
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on August 03, 2022, 06:21:21 PM
Elisha McCallion busy bigging up her young buck in NI rig. Stoop
Post by: screenexile on August 03, 2022, 08:53:07 PM
Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on August 03, 2022, 06:21:21 PM

There's no GSTQ/ they're trying to beat the English and they can't represent Ireland so I'm happy enough if they want to do it!
Post by: markl121 on August 03, 2022, 09:04:59 PM
Balding called it the "londonderry air"
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on August 03, 2022, 09:24:24 PM
Quote from: screenexile on August 03, 2022, 08:53:07 PM

There's no GSTQ/ they're trying to beat the English and they can't represent Ireland so I'm happy enough if they want to do it!

I can't at all. As tip yer cap and no balls as ye get. Have a bit of pride . The athletes i mean. Not be long to MON giving out medals
Post by: screenexile on August 04, 2022, 01:21:39 AM
Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on August 03, 2022, 09:24:24 PM
Quote from: screenexile on August 03, 2022, 08:53:07 PM

I can't at all. As tip yer cap and no balls as ye get. Have a bit of pride . The athletes i mean. Not be long to MON giving out medals

Sad!
Post by: bannside on August 04, 2022, 07:00:57 AM
Jude Gallagher looking mighty impressive. What colour his medal will be is the only question. Was told last week he was highly fancied to go all the way.
Post by: nrico2006 on August 04, 2022, 09:48:08 AM
Quote from: bannside on August 04, 2022, 07:00:57 AM
Jude Gallagher looking mighty impressive. What colour his medal will be is the only question. Was told last week he was highly fancied to go all the way.

Looks to be the favourite now given who is left. 
Post by: Milltown Row2 on August 04, 2022, 10:14:17 AM

Eilish McColgan's run last night was something else, thought she was just pushing way to hard to have the extra kick in the end, fair play, great seeing her celebrate with her mum afterwards
Post by: nrico2006 on August 04, 2022, 10:18:45 AM
A bit behind the times, but what was the issue with the Northern Ireland gymnasts being banned before the games - some issue with them having represented more than one country?  How is that ay different than any other GB athlete who has represented GB at Olympic etc. yet represent their home nation at the Commonwealth games?

Fair play to your doll coming second in the Heptathlon and Wiffen also getting silver in swimming.
Post by: imtommygunn on August 04, 2022, 10:19:19 AM
Great 10000 race. Great mens race too.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on August 04, 2022, 10:24:33 AM
Quote from: nrico2006 on August 04, 2022, 10:18:45 AM
A bit behind the times, but what was the issue with the Northern Ireland gymnasts being banned before the games - some issue with them having represented more than one country?  How is that ay different than any other GB athlete who has represented GB at Olympic etc. yet represent their home nation at the Commonwealth games?

Fair play to your doll coming second in the Heptathlon and Wiffen also getting silver in swimming.

Pure ballix so to speak.. They were ok in the last Games but not now? Not sure what had happened in the interim between the games.

not sure why the boxers were not targeted also as they represent Ireland too, hockey and whatever other sensible sport that represents Ireland as a whole.
Post by: imtommygunn on August 04, 2022, 10:41:09 AM
Yeah and it's very unfair on the competing gymnasts too. I suspect some twat has made it onto some committee.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on August 04, 2022, 10:52:33 AM
Quote from: imtommygunn on August 04, 2022, 10:41:09 AM
Yeah and it's very unfair on the competing gymnasts too. I suspect some twat has made it onto some committee.

Not that this stopped their preparations but they had to jump through a lot of hoops, politically, to get the go ahead in the couple of weeks leading up to it.. Nonsense
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on August 04, 2022, 11:03:59 AM
*pun not intended
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on August 04, 2022, 11:32:07 AM

We are not in GB and any right thinking nationalist should not be representing a sectarian state glorifying a failed empire anyhow
Post by: Milltown Row2 on August 04, 2022, 11:35:39 AM
Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on August 04, 2022, 11:32:07 AM

We are not in GB and any right thinking nationalist should not be representing a sectarian state glorifying a failed empire anyhow

Ok do we have representation at London? is this the road you are going down ?
Post by: AustinPowers on August 04, 2022, 11:44:37 AM
Quote from: imtommygunn on August 04, 2022, 10:41:09 AM

A twat on a committee. You don't  see that very often.
Post by: Rossfan on August 04, 2022, 11:59:35 AM

Do you mean like being Ministers or MLAs and the like?⁸
Post by: Milltown Row2 on August 04, 2022, 12:02:58 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on August 04, 2022, 11:59:35 AM

Do you mean like being Ministers or MLAs and the like?⁸

I think he's trying to be a dick on the matter.. but I'll wait on his whatabout post
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on August 04, 2022, 12:21:45 PM
Im not trying to be a dick.

We are in the UK not GB, its basic geography, nothing else in it.

On the representing NI-no nationalist should be doing that. We have been trying to dissolve that state since its inception. I am an Irish republican. Its a basic premise of that. So see  all these so called Irish people representing a failed british statelet in a competition that represents the rape and pillaging of all the wee countries its not for me. If Eastwood was in it hed be a stoop. Watery wishy washy nationalists. Only thing worse is the like of Paddy Barnes OBE and the likes. And see that Elisha McCallion wan.....
Post by: Milltown Row2 on August 04, 2022, 12:34:36 PM
Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on August 04, 2022, 12:21:45 PM

On the representing NI-no nationalist should be doing that. We have been trying to dissolve that state since its inception. I am an Irish republican. Its a basic premise of that. So see  all these so called Irish people representing a failed british statelet in a competition that represents the rape and pillaging of all the wee countries its not for me. If Eastwood was in it hed be a stoop. Watery wishy washy nationalists. Only thing worse is the like of Paddy Barnes OBE and the likes. And see that Elisha McCallion wan.....

He is in it and that's was your sole purpose for your daft remarks about the games.. Glad you got it off your chest
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on August 04, 2022, 12:40:38 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on August 04, 2022, 12:34:36 PM

He is in it and that's was your sole purpose for your daft remarks about the games.. Glad you got it off your chest

Taking up the javelin now has he?

Great to see you can read my mind, sure head you on over and get your wee NI flag going, ye know the one with the crown on it .

Give me a good answer to why a nationalist should partake?
Post by: Milltown Row2 on August 04, 2022, 12:45:34 PM
Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on August 04, 2022, 12:40:38 PM

Great to see you can read my mind, sure head you on over and get your wee NI flag going, ye know the one with the crown on it .

No different to Derry native Martin O'Neill playing for NI, this is their life, they are sports people this is why they take up the sports to play in championships reach the top of their discipline.. you use the word nationalist, you know that? Have you been reading their mind?

So Ive answered your question, now did Mr Eastwood take the soup?
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on August 04, 2022, 12:55:12 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on August 04, 2022, 12:45:34 PM

No different to Derry native Martin O'Neill playing for NI, this is their life, they are sports people this is why they take up the sports to play in championships reach the top of their discipline.. you use the word nationalist, you know that? Have you been reading their mind?

Another sell out. He should have declared for Ireland. Who gives 2 monkies about eastwood, my point is we need consistency, if we criticise him we should be taking same approach to these games.

Anyhow im nominating you to kick off the Queens baton next time round

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Queen%27s_Baton_Relay
Post by: Milltown Row2 on August 04, 2022, 01:02:43 PM
Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on August 04, 2022, 12:55:12 PM

Another sell out. He should have declared for Ireland. Who gives 2 monkies about eastwood, my point is we need consistency, if we criticise him we should be taking same approach to these games.

You obviously care, so I'll ask you one more time, I answered yours, in fact mine is a simple yes or no..

And spare me the crap
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on August 04, 2022, 01:34:02 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on August 04, 2022, 01:02:43 PM

You obviously care, so I'll ask you one more time, I answered yours, in fact mine is a simple yes or no..

And spare me the crap

Whats the question?
Post by: marty34 on August 04, 2022, 01:40:07 PM

Ironically you use capital letters for ni, the failed statelet.

???

Post by: Milltown Row2 on August 04, 2022, 01:42:28 PM
Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on August 04, 2022, 01:34:02 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on August 04, 2022, 01:02:43 PM

And spare me the crap

Whats the question?

Yep, just as i thought
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on August 04, 2022, 01:42:56 PM
Quote from: marty34 on August 04, 2022, 01:40:07 PM

Ironically you use capital letters for ni, the failed statelet.

???

Lol, back to school for you
Post by: screenexile on August 04, 2022, 01:45:02 PM
If Nationalists want to represent NI at the Commonwealth Games let them at it I say. Who is Fear or anyone else that matter to dictate what "nationalist" means?

It's not a zero sum game as can be seen from the polls in NI, the sectarian divide has become more of a spectrum and just because someone represents NI in sport doesn't stop them voting for SF or wanting a United Ireland no matter how much Fear seems to want that to be the case!
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on August 04, 2022, 02:10:33 PM
Quote from: screenexile on August 04, 2022, 01:45:02 PM
If Nationalists want to represent NI at the Commonwealth Games let them at it I say. Who is Fear or anyone else that matter to dictate what "nationalist" means?

It's not a zero sum game as can be seen from the polls in NI, the sectarian divide has become more of a spectrum and just because someone represents NI in sport doesn't stop them voting for SF or wanting a United Ireland no matter how much Fear seems to want that to be the case!

Or going to Westminster I presume based on that logic. Hi I am happy for people wave their wee shitty crown flags, meet the queen ,pay homage to the old slave masters, recognise NI as an independent country within the commonwealth, carry the queens baton etc.

Its just not for me. Im Irish you see, not northern irish
Post by: Milltown Row2 on August 04, 2022, 02:17:01 PM
Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on August 04, 2022, 02:10:33 PM

Or going to Westminster I presume based on that logic. Hi I am happy for people wave their wee shitty crown flags, meet the queen ,pay homage to the old slave masters, recognise NI as an independent country within the commonwealth, carry the queens baton etc.

Enough about Eastwood please
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on August 04, 2022, 02:28:21 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on August 04, 2022, 02:17:01 PM

Enough about Eastwood please

Naw leave it to Hargey sure
Post by: johnnycool on August 04, 2022, 04:11:19 PM

I struggle with the entity that is deemed Northern Ireland myself, I've no grĂ¡ for it, but if others do want to compete in the Empire games for the betterment of their career then I'd say fire away.

I'll be cheering on Ciara Mageean this weekend but if she does get on the rostrum and they fly that "Ulster Banner" that was discarded in 1972 then I'm going to wind her Da and uncle up something awful.  ;D
Post by: bennydorano on August 04, 2022, 04:26:00 PM
Great ride by Darren Rafferty in the Time trial, Top 10 is some achievement for him and a lot more to come from that fella. Watched him win the PJ Logan Cup race out near Coalisland  only last year or the year b4.
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on August 04, 2022, 04:33:28 PM
Quote from: johnnycool on August 04, 2022, 04:11:19 PM

I struggle with the entity that is deemed Northern Ireland myself, I've no grĂ¡ for it, but if others do want to compete in the Empire games for the betterment of their career then I'd say fire away.

I'll be cheering on Ciara Mageean this weekend but if she does get on the rostrum and they fly that "Ulster Banner" that was discarded in 1972 then I'm going to wind her Da and uncle up something awful.  ;D

Great hurler , and nice girl

Although it will b the Ulster banner

https://www.newsletter.co.uk/news/people/bbc-issues-apology-over-omission-of-northern-ireland-flag-from-commonwealth-games-coverage-3788363
Post by: markl121 on August 04, 2022, 05:54:29 PM
Seen the Kate O'Connor girl running about with an ulster banner. Doing a rory mcilroy
Post by: Milltown Row2 on August 04, 2022, 06:00:42 PM
Quote from: markl121 on August 04, 2022, 05:54:29 PM
Seen the Kate O'Connor girl running about with an ulster banner. Doing a rory mcilroy

Seems comfortable with both

(https://img2.thejournal.ie/article/4732045/river?version=4732071&width=1340)
Post by: markl121 on August 04, 2022, 08:02:03 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on August 04, 2022, 06:00:42 PM

Aye I assumed because of her name she would be more a tricolour woman. I don't think I could bring myself to run about with the other regardless of who I'm representing
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on August 04, 2022, 08:24:55 PM
Quote from: markl121 on August 04, 2022, 08:02:03 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on August 04, 2022, 06:00:42 PM

Aye I assumed because of her name she would be more a tricolour woman. I don't think I could bring myself to run about with the other regardless of who I'm representing

Same. She Probably marked northern Irish on census
Post by: Milltown Row2 on August 04, 2022, 09:31:41 PM
Thought she lives Dundalk born Newry
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on August 04, 2022, 09:37:21 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on August 04, 2022, 09:31:41 PM

Worse again
Post by: markl121 on August 04, 2022, 09:48:16 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on August 04, 2022, 09:31:41 PM
Yes she is.
Post by: gallsman on August 04, 2022, 10:25:15 PM
Ah, the chuckie purity test raises its head again. She's running a race ffs, nothing more.

She's from Portaferry btw, I'm fairly sure.

Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on August 04, 2022, 10:55:10 PM
Quote from: Duine Inteacht Eile on August 04, 2022, 10:32:39 PM
Quote from: gallsman on August 04, 2022, 10:25:15 PM
Ah, the chuckie purity test raises its head again. She's running a race ffs, nothing more.

Near Ciara Mageean? That's fairly special.

Post by: tiempo on August 05, 2022, 09:07:06 AM

Like Israel in the Eurovision, sure they're just singing a song
Post by: imtommygunn on August 05, 2022, 09:19:40 AM
Mageean on at 1115 in the heats.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on August 05, 2022, 10:03:12 AM
Quote from: tiempo on August 05, 2022, 09:07:06 AM

Israel? So lets hit sports people ffs, Where does it end? Should we stop sports people or protest against every country that's doing wrong? That's a very big list or do you just prioritize some countries and its sports people?
Post by: johnnycool on August 05, 2022, 10:06:19 AM
Quote from: Duine Inteacht Eile on August 04, 2022, 10:32:39 PM

Near Ciara Mageean? That's fairly special.

It's a special place indeed.   ;)
Post by: Milltown Row2 on August 05, 2022, 10:36:11 AM
Quote from: Duine Inteacht Eile on August 05, 2022, 10:34:54 AM
I was there just last week. There are certainly worse places in the world. Many of which are fairly close by.

Ards and Millisle .. lovely spots :o
Post by: Milltown Row2 on August 05, 2022, 10:39:12 AM
Quote from: Duine Inteacht Eile on August 05, 2022, 10:37:19 AM
Portavogie can't be left off the list.....

Great fishing area to be fair
Post by: tiempo on August 05, 2022, 10:40:34 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on August 05, 2022, 10:03:12 AM

Israel? So lets hit sports people ffs, Where does it end? Should we stop sports people or protest against every country that's doing wrong? That's a very big list or do you just prioritize some countries and its sports people?

Russia has been sanctioned for their aggression against Ukraine

I guess it ends when the war pigs quit their crusades, so basically never

The hierarchy as it stands is an inverted pyramid of piffle, hard not to be a cynic with Qatar hosting the world cup

The British commonwealth by definition was not a commonwealth, it was resource theft, transfer of wealth and subjugation

Just worth keeping this stuff in context, it every bit as relevant to the discussion as the events themselves, no issue with anyone competing or celebrating or watching or sneering, but for the reasons above it wouldn't be my cup of tea
Post by: johnnycool on August 05, 2022, 10:41:30 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on August 05, 2022, 10:36:11 AM
Quote from: Duine Inteacht Eile on August 05, 2022, 10:34:54 AM
I was there just last week. There are certainly worse places in the world. Many of which are fairly close by.

Ards and Millisle .. lovely spots :o

Have you not got a caravan down there?

Post by: Milltown Row2 on August 05, 2022, 10:51:14 AM
Quote from: tiempo on August 05, 2022, 10:40:34 AM

The hierarchy as it stands is an inverted pyramid of piffle, hard not to be a cynic with Qatar hosting the world cup

The British commonwealth by definition was not a commonwealth, it was resource theft, transfer of wealth and subjugation

Just worth keeping this stuff in context, it every bit as relevant to the discussion as the events themselves, no issue with anyone competing or celebrating or watching or sneering, but for the reasons above it wouldn't be my cup of tea

As I said its a very big list if we really look into what countries are doing, but we aint not getting goods from them or protesting against them.

Russia
China
Saudi
multiple African countries, Sudan, Nigeria, Yemen, Congo south Sudan,
USA
Britain
Syria
Myanmar
Iraq
Afghanistan
North Korea

There is I'm sure more countries than that so why be more concerned over one and not the rest?

Post by: imtommygunn on August 05, 2022, 11:33:04 AM
Ffs anyone interested in talking about athletics? I missed the race did mageean qualify? I can't find results.
Post by: Estimator on August 05, 2022, 11:39:29 AM
Quote from: imtommygunn on August 05, 2022, 11:33:04 AM
Ffs anyone interested in talking about athletics? I missed the race did mageean qualify? I can't find results.

Finished first in her heat in 4m13secs.
Automatic qualification for the Sundays final.
Post by: tiempo on August 05, 2022, 11:40:36 AM
Quote from: imtommygunn on August 05, 2022, 11:33:04 AM

Not really, there's also scope for a wider discussion, good luck to all participants
Post by: imtommygunn on August 05, 2022, 12:06:29 PM
Mageean through to a final.
Post by: johnnycool on August 05, 2022, 01:01:51 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on August 05, 2022, 12:06:29 PM

Missed it myself. 800 or 1500?
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on August 05, 2022, 01:34:54 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on August 05, 2022, 10:51:14 AM

As I said its a very big list if we really look into what countries are doing, but we aint not getting goods from them or protesting against them.

Russia
China
Saudi
USA
Britain
Syria
Myanmar
Iraq
Afghanistan
North Korea

There is I'm sure more countries than that so why be more concerned over one and not the rest?

Don't mind any of them invading us except the brits
Post by: Milltown Row2 on August 05, 2022, 01:46:02 PM
Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on August 05, 2022, 01:34:54 PM

Russia
China
Saudi
USA
Britain
Syria
Myanmar
Iraq
Afghanistan
North Korea

Or Israel for that matter
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on August 05, 2022, 02:27:28 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on August 05, 2022, 01:46:02 PM

Russia
China
Saudi
USA
Britain
Syria
Myanmar
Iraq
Afghanistan
North Korea

Wouldn't be wrapping their flag around me , usually flies up the Shankill along with ni commonwealth flag.
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on August 05, 2022, 02:32:06 PM
So, those Commonwealth Games then eh?!

Great arent they!
Post by: imtommygunn on August 05, 2022, 02:37:55 PM
Quote from: johnnycool on August 05, 2022, 01:01:51 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on August 05, 2022, 12:06:29 PM

Missed it myself. 800 or 1500?

15. Not sure if she's in the 8 but I don't think she'd be fast enough to make the final in it.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on August 05, 2022, 02:46:21 PM
Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on August 05, 2022, 02:27:28 PM

Russia
China
Saudi
USA
Britain
Syria
Myanmar
Iraq
Afghanistan
North Korea

Wouldn't be wrapping their flag around me , usually flies up the Shankill along with ni commonwealth flag.

You'll be alright in the wrapping flags around yourself, you've got to be decent at something first
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on August 05, 2022, 04:56:09 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on August 05, 2022, 02:46:21 PM

Russia
China
Saudi
USA
Britain
Syria
Myanmar
Iraq
Afghanistan
North Korea

You'll be alright in the wrapping flags around yourself, you've got to be decent at something first

Ah now, yer bate now MR
Post by: Eamonnca1 on August 05, 2022, 05:33:49 PM

Nice!  ;D
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on August 05, 2022, 09:23:26 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on August 05, 2022, 05:33:49 PM

Nice!  ;D

Thars in France . They aren't in the commonwealth
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on August 06, 2022, 08:36:41 AM
Quote from: Fionntamhnach on August 05, 2022, 09:50:32 PM
Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on August 05, 2022, 09:23:26 PM
Thars in France . They aren't in the commonwealth

Coincidentally, they have something similar called Jeux de la Francophonie (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jeux_de_la_Francophonie) and is open to participants from countries/members of the Organisation internationale de la Francophonie.

As the Republic of Ireland is an observer member of the OIF, it can in theory send competitors to these games, the next one being held next year in Congo.

Colony https://g.co/kgs/xvKru5
Post by: Turf on August 06, 2022, 06:41:03 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on August 03, 2022, 07:11:27 AM
Quote from: Eire90 on August 03, 2022, 02:47:23 AM

https://www.european-athletics.com/

There are plenty of separate competitions for boxing, swimming etc but I do like the idea of a Euro Games....
There is one is there not? It's starting this coming Thursday?
Post by: imtommygunn on August 07, 2022, 07:47:35 PM
Brilliant silver for Mageean.
Post by: ONeill on August 07, 2022, 10:02:32 PM
Some gold haul from the boxers. They're doing something right. Pity Gallagher didn't get the chance to show his talent.
Post by: marty34 on August 07, 2022, 10:24:36 PM
Quote from: ONeill on August 07, 2022, 10:02:32 PM
Some gold haul from the boxers. They're doing something right. Pity Gallagher didn't get the chance to show his talent.

Why did the lads not fight him?
Post by: LeoMc on August 07, 2022, 10:52:35 PM
Quote from: marty34 on August 07, 2022, 10:24:36 PM

The other finalist did not make the weight this morning, not sure about the semifinal opponent.
Post by: marty34 on August 07, 2022, 11:01:28 PM
Quote from: LeoMc on August 07, 2022, 10:52:35 PM

The other finalist did not make the weight this morning, not sure about the semifinal opponent.

Ok, thanks.

You'd think making the weight shouldn't be a problem if he fought a day or two before.
Post by: nrico2006 on August 07, 2022, 11:08:11 PM
Quote from: marty34 on August 07, 2022, 11:01:28 PM

Ok, thanks.

You'd think making the weight shouldn't be a problem if he fought a day or two before.

Probably harder to keep the weight down for the duration of a tournament.
Post by: marty34 on August 07, 2022, 11:21:36 PM
Quote from: nrico2006 on August 07, 2022, 11:08:11 PM
Quote from: marty34 on August 07, 2022, 11:01:28 PM

Ok, thanks.

Probably harder to keep the weight down for the duration of a tournament.

Fair enough but all lads in the same boat.

Plus you'd think they'd be experienced enough at this stage of the game.
Post by: Norf Tyrone on August 07, 2022, 11:51:26 PM
His opponent was medically unfit so was not allowed to compete.
Post by: Evil Genius on August 08, 2022, 12:51:27 AM
Burn her, she's a witch...

(https://ichef.bbci.co.uk/news/1024/branded_sport/C565/production/_126233505_maggeflag.jpg)

P.S. She's holding it up, not just happened to be standing in front of it.
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on August 08, 2022, 06:54:00 AM
First post in over 3 months.....
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on August 08, 2022, 08:22:08 AM
Honestly I'm astounded at the croppies on here, and a lot of lads who spend their time slagging off SDLP. Gobsmacked
Post by: Milltown Row2 on August 08, 2022, 08:53:54 AM
Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on August 08, 2022, 08:22:08 AM
Honestly I'm astounded at the croppies on here, and a lot of lads who spend their time slagging off SDLP. Gobsmacked

Please just admit that's why you have this post?  You get annoyed because people give off about SDLP taking seats in London? They aint the same and not even close...

Deal with each issues for what it is, there is no crossover.. Sports people don't give a flying f**k, they are only there for the sport, that may be difficult for you to understand but it is...

Photo's of flegs must really get on peoples tits
Post by: johnnycool on August 08, 2022, 09:15:58 AM
Quote from: Evil Genius on August 08, 2022, 12:51:27 AM
Burn her, she's a witch...

(https://ichef.bbci.co.uk/news/1024/branded_sport/C565/production/_126233505_maggeflag.jpg)

P.S. She's holding it up, not just happened to be standing in front of it.

I'll need to get this printed out for her Da  ;D

and while I'm at it, I'll explain the history of this discredited, defunct flag..

Thanks EG.
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on August 08, 2022, 09:59:19 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on August 08, 2022, 08:53:54 AM

Please just admit that's why you have this post?  You get annoyed because people give off about SDLP taking seats in London? They aint the same and not even close...

Deal with each issues for what it is, there is no crossover.. Sports people don't give a flying f**k, they are only there for the sport, that may be difficult for you to understand but it is...

It's absolutely 2 cheeks of the same arse, it's the most un Irish thing you can do, head off to a games celebrating servitude and slavery under the banner of the crown . There are loads of other competitions, this one is poor standard anyhow . As you said maybe a chance for people that aren't up to world standard to wrap a flag around them
Post by: general_lee on August 08, 2022, 10:12:42 AM
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on August 08, 2022, 06:54:00 AM
It involves fleg
Post by: Hound on August 08, 2022, 10:20:16 AM
Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on August 08, 2022, 09:59:19 AM

It's absolutely 2 cheeks of the same arse, it's the most un Irish thing you can do, head off to a games celebrating servitude and slavery under the banner of the crown . There are loads of other competitions, this one is poor standard anyhow . As you said maybe a chance for people that aren't up to world standard to wrap a flag around them
Are the Aussies, Canadians, Kenyans, Sri Lankas, etc etc also celebrating servitude and slavery under the banner of the crown, or is it just the Irish?
Post by: Milltown Row2 on August 08, 2022, 10:22:35 AM

As I said before you'll never understand the effort that these athletes go to, and for you to be all political about it is a bit childish

Again you seem hung up on flegs and politics and bringing sport into it to suit your argument or position.

Sport is sport, this championship is a big deal in the sporting calendar ... You said there are loads of competitions? Olympic, World, European and Commonwealth... There are various competitions but they don't have the collective atmosphere of a 'Games' 

There is no championships that are held really on a personal level, its about representation, the same competitors in gymnastics will be representing Ireland in November at the World championships
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on August 08, 2022, 01:39:15 PM
Quote from: Hound on August 08, 2022, 10:20:16 AM

Are the Aussies, Canadians, Kenyans, Sri Lankas, etc etc also celebrating servitude and slavery under the banner of the crown, or is it just the Irish?

Yes.
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on August 08, 2022, 01:40:08 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on August 08, 2022, 10:22:35 AM

As I said before you'll never understand the effort that these athletes go to, and for you to be all political about it is a bit childish

Again you seem hung up on flegs and politics and bringing sport into it to suit your argument or position.

Sport is sport, this championship is a big deal in the sporting calendar ... You said there are loads of competitions? Olympic, World, European and Commonwealth... There are various competitions but they don't have the collective atmosphere of a 'Games' 

There is no championships that are held really on a personal level, its about representation, the same competitors in gymnastics will be representing Ireland in November at the World championships

You will be up at Windsor park next
Post by: Evil Genius on August 08, 2022, 03:08:14 PM
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on August 08, 2022, 06:54:00 AM
So you missed me enough to check?

Awwww, that's nice.  :-*

Anyhow, on a more serious note, here is what Ulster Boxing's high performance head coach John Conlan said earlier:

"We kind of get [young boxers] in there early and infect them with the seed of the Olympic Games.

"We sow the seed that the Olympic Games is the major tournament, and we say that this [the Commonwealth Games] is the best practice because it's a multi-sport event, and it kind of opens their eyes to what it's all about and gives them a little taste for it."

"[The boxers] committed completely to the training programme and under the big lights they performed."

"I think it says we're on the right track. We've great support from Antrim and Ulster Councils, and from the clubs. We've got really good youth and junior programmes and a coach development pathway for which Damian Kennedy is a prime example.

"This was Damian's first competition and he was absolutely phenomenal."

But, but, but, splutter, doesn't he know there's a crown on thon fleg?

If Patrick Pearse were alive today, he'd be turning in his grave, so he would.

Post by: Evil Genius on August 08, 2022, 03:16:32 PM
Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on August 08, 2022, 01:40:08 PM

And most welcome Milltown would be.

Meanwhile, if your argument is that no self-respecting Nationalist should be seen anywhere near an event featuring the NI flag, does that mean that you're not bothered about Unionists declining to participate in GAA events because of the presence of Tricolours and the Soldiers Song there?
Post by: armaghniac on August 08, 2022, 03:19:41 PM
Quote from: Evil Genius on August 08, 2022, 03:16:32 PM

Meanwhile, if your argument is that no self-respecting Nationalist should be seen anywhere near an event featuring the NI flag, does that mean that you're not bothered about Unionists declining to participate in GAA events because of the presence of Tricolours and the Soldiers Song there?

You are making a false equivalence between using a loyalist symbol with no official status whatsoever to represent a political entity set up for sectarian purposes and a flag representing irish people everywhere which is also the flag of normal democratic state.
Post by: Mikhail Prokhorov on August 08, 2022, 03:20:56 PM

the castle catholics in the north have been bought and sold many times

this is no different  ::)
Post by: imtommygunn on August 08, 2022, 03:28:59 PM
Ah it's yourself. What's kept you.
Post by: Evil Genius on August 08, 2022, 03:31:56 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on August 08, 2022, 03:19:41 PM

You are making a false equivalence between using a loyalist symbol with no official status whatsoever to represent a political entity set up for sectarian purposes and a flag representing irish people everywhere which is also the flag of normal democratic state.
Blah, blah, blah.

So when people fly NI flags on lampposts in East Belfast, they're sectarian bigots etc, but when other people fly Tricolours on lampposts in West Belfast, they're warmly welcoming all the children of the Nation equally, then?

Well we can't have another false equivalence, can we?
Post by: Evil Genius on August 08, 2022, 03:36:06 PM
Meanwhile, Ms. Mageean has just set Irish unity back another week or two...

(My emphasis)
"This is my third Commonwealth Games and it is third time lucky," she said.

"I had a discussion with my coach, Helen Clitheroe, before the race and she discussed the Commonwealth Games where she finished fourth when she was up there challenging for a gold medal.

"She told me that she went out for gold in the race and doesn't regret that, so that was the point where I thought I was going to go out and go for gold.

"If I failed to do that and finished anywhere else in the field then at least I tried my best to be on the top of the podium.

"That was my aim, Laura had legs and that bit of a kick, but I'm proud to have a silver and finally have a medal at the Commonwealth Games."

Mageean, who had her parents, boyfriend and aunt in attendance in Birmingham, said she was trying to judge the gap to Muir and the field behind on the big screens at the Alexandra Stadium but the footage kept panning to the crowd every time she glanced up.

"The whole crowd has been phenomenal, it's the best crowd I have ever run in front of in the whole of my career," she added.

"I think I might have had one of the slowest laps of honour in history because I threw up along the way a few times.

"It's phenomenal going around and seeing the Northern Irish flag up there and hearing the familiar twang, someone will say 'well done, Ciara' and you can immediately tell they are from home because, let's face it, we have a distinctive accent."

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/commonwealth-games/62462812 (https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/commonwealth-games/62462812)
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on August 08, 2022, 04:01:00 PM

Not bothered at all. I'm all for a new neutral flag.
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on August 08, 2022, 04:02:59 PM
Quote from: Mikhail Prokhorov on August 08, 2022, 03:20:56 PM

the castle catholics in the north have been bought and sold many times

this is no different  ::)

Yep , embarrassing
Post by: Evil Genius on August 08, 2022, 04:06:30 PM
Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on August 08, 2022, 04:01:00 PM

And anthem?

You know, something like (ahem) Danny Boy?  ;)
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on August 08, 2022, 04:17:04 PM
Quote from: Evil Genius on August 08, 2022, 04:06:30 PM

And anthem?

I'm talking about in a united Ireland
Post by: tiempo on August 08, 2022, 04:18:35 PM

Danny they/them?
Post by: Evil Genius on August 08, 2022, 06:33:04 PM
Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on August 08, 2022, 04:17:04 PM

And anthem?

So to be clear, what are your preferences for flag and anthem (a ) under the present dispensation, and (b ) in a united Ireland?
Post by: Evil Genius on August 08, 2022, 06:35:31 PM
Quote from: tiempo on August 08, 2022, 04:18:35 PM

Danny they/them?
Good point!

How about Danny Boy when it's the boys playing and Danny Girl when the girls are playing.

Not sure about mixed teams, though.  :-\

The Londonderry Air, perhaps?  ;)
Post by: Eamonnca1 on August 08, 2022, 06:54:38 PM
Welcome back, EG.

How does this Commonwealth Games thing operate, then? My understanding is that most sports are governed on an all-Ireland basis.  Do the Irish federations for the likes of Cricket, Hockey, and Track-and-Field set up a special division for the CG so they can field an NI team?
Post by: imtommygunn on August 08, 2022, 07:17:18 PM
Athletics have their own body in the north and the south .. Gymnastics probably the best example. That went well...

I didn't think there was a hockey team in it? Could be wrong though.
Post by: Evil Genius on August 08, 2022, 07:48:27 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on August 08, 2022, 06:54:38 PM
Welcome back, EG.

How does this Commonwealth Games thing operate, then? My understanding is that most sports are governed on an all-Ireland basis.  Do the Irish federations for the likes of Cricket, Hockey, and Track-and-Field set up a special division for the CG so they can field an NI team?
Not sure about the exact process, but all-Ireland sports can choose to permit/accommodate an NI team for the CG if they choose. It's kinda easier for individual sports than team sports, since you dont want to discriminate or deny chances to the former (individuals), while the latter (teams) are maybe more sensitive because of the "representative" side of things.

Probably the most prominent sports for NI are Boxing and Bowls. For Boxing, the Ulster (9 county) Branch of the IABA is delegated the task of preparing and managing the team and tbf, they seem to embrace it completely. Dunno much about Bowls, mind, but I have a feeling it's more popular in NI than ROI? Either way, I suspect there's NI Sports Council funding in play, which may influence the governing bodies? While for the competitors themselves, it's an opportunity to compete at a decent level for those who may not be good enough to make the Olympics. Also a couple of weeks in the sun! (Last time was in Oz, next time Canada and even Brum enjoyed good weather this time).

However some other sports are much more tricky. There is no good reason imo why Rugby couldn't enter a 7's team made up of NI players, but I suspect the IRFU would explode before they allowed that.

Similarly with Hockey, NI provides more than its share of players for Ireland - and occasionally a few Olympians for the GB team - so there's no (imo good) reason why you couldn't have an NI team, but I guess it's sensitive? Ditto Cricket.

Meanwhile Netball is not administered on an all-Ireland basis, so Team NI gets an entry there.

As for Track and Field, essentially they're individuals, a mix of f-t pro, semi-pro and amateur (near enough) and organised by NI Athletics, so although there's no prize money involved, athletes really should be allowed to compete if they choose*.

On which last point I doubt any have ever declined to take part, for even if it's not near the standard of the Olympics or Worlds, it's a reasonable level and a good opportunity for them to enjoy a multi-sports Games, with all that brings for training, competition and exposure etc.

That's if you don't mind attracting a "skelp" from Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on this forum if you're from a Nationalist vackground...  :)

* - Unless they're allowing their flat to be used for dealing in drugs, that is!  ;)
Post by: Eamonnca1 on August 08, 2022, 08:08:25 PM
I'd imagine it'd be good prep for the Olympics all right. Would be a good way of getting athletes used to attending a major international event and all the details that they have to deal with.
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on August 09, 2022, 08:18:27 AM
Quote from: Evil Genius on August 08, 2022, 07:48:27 PM
Welcome back, EG.

Not sure about the exact process, but all-Ireland sports can choose to permit/accommodate an NI team for the CG if they choose. It's kinda easier for individual sports than team sports, since you dont want to discriminate or deny chances to the former (individuals), while the latter (teams) are maybe more sensitive because of the "representative" side of things.

Probably the most prominent sports for NI are Boxing and Bowls. For Boxing, the Ulster (9 county) Branch of the IABA is delegated the task of preparing and managing the team and tbf, they seem to embrace it completely. Dunno much about Bowls, mind, but I have a feeling it's more popular in NI than ROI? Either way, I suspect there's NI Sports Council funding in play, which may influence the governing bodies? While for the competitors themselves, it's an opportunity to compete at a decent level for those who may not be good enough to make the Olympics. Also a couple of weeks in the sun! (Last time was in Oz, next time Canada and even Brum enjoyed good weather this time).

However some other sports are much more tricky. There is no good reason imo why Rugby couldn't enter a 7's team made up of NI players, but I suspect the IRFU would explode before they allowed that.

Similarly with Hockey, NI provides more than its share of players for Ireland - and occasionally a few Olympians for the GB team - so there's no (imo good) reason why you couldn't have an NI team, but I guess it's sensitive? Ditto Cricket.

Meanwhile Netball is not administered on an all-Ireland basis, so Team NI gets an entry there.

As for Track and Field, essentially they're individuals, a mix of f-t pro, semi-pro and amateur (near enough) and organised by NI Athletics, so although there's no prize money involved, athletes really should be allowed to compete if they choose*.

On which last point I doubt any have ever declined to take part, for even if it's not near the standard of the Olympics or Worlds, it's a reasonable level and a good opportunity for them to enjoy a multi-sports Games, with all that brings for training, competition and exposure etc.

That's if you don't mind attracting a "skelp" from Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on this forum if you're from a Nationalist vackground...  :)

* - Unless they're allowing their flat to be used for dealing in drugs, that is!  ;)

Who was dealing drugs? Was that an athlete?
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on August 09, 2022, 08:20:48 AM
Quote from: Evil Genius on August 08, 2022, 06:33:04 PM
Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on August 08, 2022, 04:17:04 PM

And anthem?

So to be clear, what are your preferences for flag and anthem (a ) under the present dispensation, and (b ) in a united Ireland?

I've not really thought it through in detail . But all the current flags cause issues . Anthems as well. I have big issues with NĂ­ flag and I'm sure Unionists have similar issue with tricolour
Post by: johnnycool on August 09, 2022, 08:43:19 AM
Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on August 09, 2022, 08:18:27 AM
Welcome back, EG.

A runner Leon Reid.

https://www.belfastlive.co.uk/sport/other-sport/athletics/northern-ireland-sprinter-banned-commonwealth-24472108 (https://www.belfastlive.co.uk/sport/other-sport/athletics/northern-ireland-sprinter-banned-commonwealth-24472108)

There must be a rule forbidding anyone who's serving a sentence, suspended or otherwise from competing.
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on August 09, 2022, 08:46:45 AM
Quote from: johnnycool on August 09, 2022, 08:43:19 AM
Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on August 09, 2022, 08:18:27 AM
Welcome back, EG.

A runner Leon Reid.

https://www.belfastlive.co.uk/sport/other-sport/athletics/northern-ireland-sprinter-banned-commonwealth-24472108 (https://www.belfastlive.co.uk/sport/other-sport/athletics/northern-ireland-sprinter-banned-commonwealth-24472108)

There must be a rule forbidding anyone who's serving a sentence, suspended or otherwise from competing.

Rightly so. Mind that story now
Post by: Evil Genius on August 25, 2022, 04:01:02 PM
Good girl Ciara!

(https://img.rasset.ie/001c5775-800.jpg)

"[Her] decision to stay away from the World Championships to focus on the Commonwealth Games and Europeans was fully vindicated."
https://www.rte.ie/sport/athletics/2022/0824/1318628-mageean-magic-inspiring-a-new-audience/ (https://www.rte.ie/sport/athletics/2022/0824/1318628-mageean-magic-inspiring-a-new-audience/)
Post by: Orior on July 19, 2023, 12:38:07 PM
So, the province of Victoria have told the British Empire to f-off with their Commonwealth Games.

Just like the good old empire, "common wealth" means what's yours is mine and what's mine is mine.

Should England pay for the games?
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 19, 2023, 01:01:38 PM
Quote from: Orior on July 19, 2023, 12:38:07 PM
So, the province of Victoria have told the British Empire to f-off with their Commonwealth Games.

Just like the good old empire, "common wealth" means what's yours is mine and what's mine is mine.

Should the tax payer pay for it?
Post by: dec on July 19, 2023, 01:27:34 PM
Here's the plan
United Ireland as part of the Commonwealth
Ireland hosts the Commonwealth Games
Post by: Orior on July 19, 2023, 02:00:31 PM
Quote from: dec on July 19, 2023, 01:27:34 PM
Here's the planUnited Ireland as part of the CommonwealthIreland hosts the Commonwealth Games

That plan may lack character spacing, but does have merit.
Post by: armaghniac on July 19, 2023, 03:02:10 PM
Quote from: dec on July 19, 2023, 01:27:34 PM
Here's the planUnited Ireland as part of the CommonwealthIreland hosts the Commonwealth Games

In Casement Park!
Post by: trailer on July 19, 2023, 03:18:09 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on July 19, 2023, 01:01:38 PM
Quote from: Orior on July 19, 2023, 12:38:07 PM

Should the tax payer pay for it?

There's no upside. A huge number of bullshit white elephant stadia, built in shite part of town that inevitably cost far to much to build and maintain. Cities look at London, Barcelona, Athens and just think this is not worth it. Only countries who can save loads on labour and have huge amounts of petro dollars are interested in these events now.