The official GAABOARD Poker thread.

Started by Puckoon, November 20, 2007, 04:02:18 PM

Since there appear to be a few renegade gamblers floating around the board and with the global explosion of Poker thanks to the world series, I thought Id open this thread. Any online players out there? Any real time table sharks?

My favourite game, although one I dont get to play too much due to limited ability in Reno is Omaha. There are Omaha high, and Omaha hi/lo split. I try and stick to omaha high, as its a little easier to follow at first.

The basic premise is the same as texas holdem, except each player recieves 4 down cards in the hole. This gives you a multitude of ways to make your hand as the community cards come out. The community cards are the same as texas holdem, with three cards dealt on the flop, followed by a round of betting. When this round is finished, the dealer deals the 4th card, or turn card. Again there is a round of betting. The players left after this round will see the 5th card, or the river.

The trick to omaha is that while the player is dealt 4 cards of their own in the hole, they may use only two of them to complete their hand at the end of the betting. Almost always, the winning hand is a flush, straight or full house. Whereas in texas holdem, you might feel fairly confident holding Ace King, with one Ace on the board, and a bunch of nothing cards, in omaha, top pair, or two pair is very rarely a winning hand when the cards are turned face up.

This is pasted from one poker site concerning omaha:

Omaha players all start with four cards. Each four card hand contains six Hold'em hands when the four cards are converted to all possible combinations of two. ie: ABCD = AB AC AD BC BD CD. (Players must
play two cards from their hands and three from the board). If you are in a pot with five other players after
the flop, it is sort of comparable to a Texas Hold'em game against thirty other players, because each of
your five competitors is holding six Hold'em hands instead of one. So if you get down to the river
with a very good hand, but one that can be beaten by some other two card combinations, brace yourself for a loss because they are likely to be out there somewhere.. . . Your high end straight on the flop runs into serious problems when the board turns up three suited cards or a pair. A flush or a full house will usually pop up to beat you. . . In Omaha, always play for the NUT!

Lets talk poker!

tintin25

Play from time to time on Paddy...nothing major. Usually 5/10 dollar sit n go's. Though last wkend I started playing the cash games...0.5/1 blinds. Defo easier to accumulate more cash this way but I suppose it depends how much you willing to gamble with!

Booooo!!!! Feck Omaha. The games take too long. Can't beat a bit of Texas hold em.
Play on line on Party poker which is good.
Started of on the limit hold em and then moved up to the NL hold em. Doing alright out of it. Never play for big amounts but the sit and go tables are good.
Haven't had a proper real game in ages. Not many of the lads would be into it mores the pity!!

This teenager from norway became the youngest ever world series of poker tournament champion just this year. She started her bankroll from scratch, winning only free rolls. Before long she had over 300000$ in her online account.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Annette_Obrestad

Nothing beats the real tables for playing poker. There are too many internet warriors out there who just want to gamble, and have no concept of the game. I guess im lucky I live in a town that has 15 poker rooms to choose from. Thats why I dont play online.

Omaha takes longer because its generally limit games. Its a great game, and its much more mentally challenging than hold'em.
That said, I play holdem every week :-\

downredblack

See Guiness are giving away free poker stuff , chips etc .

I know that a few guys on here play on party poker. It had been mooted before about trying to get a few together at the same time to try and get an online game going in pp. But I don't think it ever happened.
Have to agree about the internet warriors online. But they can be used to gain some very useful chips. As long as you stick to your strategy more times than not you'll catch them out. And when you do you'll usually win big.

love a game of texas hold em at the weekend. Any one reccomend any good poker books?

Quote from: Puckoon on November 20, 2007, 04:23:21 PM
This teenager from norway became the youngest ever world series of poker tournament champion just this year. She started her bankroll from scratch, winning only free rolls. Before long she had over 300000$ in her online account.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Annette_Obrestad

Nothing beats the real tables for playing poker. There are too many internet warriors out there who just want to gamble, and have no concept of the game. I guess im lucky I live in a town that has 15 poker rooms to choose from. Thats why I dont play online.

Omaha takes longer because its generally limit games. Its a great game, and its much more mentally challenging than hold'em.
That said, I play holdem every week :-\
My mates cousin was playing in a tournament in Dublin a couple of weeks ago (in the merrion i think) and during the tournanment he was reading a poker magazine with yer one on the front cover. Got moved to a table and there she was in front of him! Not sure how he reacted!

I read the same magazine - her acheivements are quite impressive. It just goes to show, if you have the basic game down, all you need is the bankroll to make it in the game.

Deel, i read one book, and only because it was a gift. Hellmuths texas holdem. Didnt really help me at all. I hear alot of people talking about two other books down in the casinos:

Harrington on holdem (padraigs cousin)
John Carrows book of tells.

I think the best strategy is to play online for free (.ie fulltilt.net, not fulltilt.com) and get yourself familiar with all the hands, styles, pot odds, and so on.
Then when you have the basic funamentals down to where you dont even have to think about it, try and find a game with lower limits in real time, so that you can work on the mental side of the game. Come to reno! ;)

Quote from: Puckoon on November 20, 2007, 04:39:26 PM
I read the same magazine - her acheivements are quite impressive. It just goes to show, if you have the basic game down, all you need is the bankroll to make it in the game.

Deel, i read one book, and only because it was a gift. Hellmuths texas holdem. Didnt really help me at all. I hear alot of people talking about two other books down in the casinos:

Harrington on holdem (padraigs cousin)
John Carrows book of tells.

I think the best strategy is to play online for free (.ie fulltilt.net, not fulltilt.com) and get yourself familiar with all the hands, styles, pot odds, and so on.
Then when you have the basic funamentals down to where you dont even have to think about it, try and find a game with lower limits in real time, so that you can work on the mental side of the game. Come to reno! ;)

Will do puckoon we might even get to play little ohama ;)

Read Hellmuth's book as well and wasn't that impressed with it. Might be useful if your starting completely from stratch but not very good on the advanced play side of things. Would def recommend playing for play chips to begin with and then slowly move on to limit holdem.
Playing real life is twice the playing on line.

Just remember, if you look around the table and cant see at least one sucker..... Then the sucker is probably you! :D

Homer

Quote from: the Deel Rover on November 20, 2007, 04:33:21 PM
love a game of texas hold em at the weekend. Any one reccomend any good books?

Oisin McConville's  The Gambler

The Theory of Poker by David Sklansky is generally considered the top authority on poker and I'd recommend it to anyone.

I have it in pdf format if you wanna have a look at it, PM me your email address or send an mail to cavanhomer@gmail.com, I'll send it on to you.

Quote from: Homer on November 20, 2007, 04:51:13 PM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on November 20, 2007, 04:33:21 PM
love a game of texas hold em at the weekend. Any one reccomend any good books?

Oisin McConville's  The Gambler

The Theory of Poker by David Sklansky is generally considered the top authority on poker and I'd recommend it to anyone.

I have it in pdf format if you wanna have a look at it, PM me your email address or send an mail to cavanhomer@gmail.com, I'll send it on to you.
:D :D :D  thanks homer will do you can keep your horse racing tip book though ;)

Dropped you a wee email there aswell Homer.