Started by dublinfella, July 25, 2007, 09:39:59 PM

dublinfella

Surprised no mention, been all over the papers all week

Indo - 25.07.07
Rovers lay down stadium marker

By Daniel McDonnell
Wednesday July 25 2007

SHAMROCK ROVERS have challenged GAA club Thomas Davis to prove they genuinely want them in Tallaght by supporting plans to install temporary structures at the derelict stadium which would allow the Hoops move in next March.

The project is currently stalled as a result of Thomas Davis being successful into securing a judicial review into the classification of the ground as a soccer-only stadium for Rovers.

Instead, with the backing of the Dublin County Board, they are fighting for the venue to be turned into a municipal venue which can be used for GAA fixtures on the southside, albeit with Rovers as the principal tenant. This would require the extension of the playing area and other modifications to the initial plans.

The judicial review process has already stalled any movement for over a year and with no hearing scheduled until October, frustrated Rovers have devised plans to work around the current situation.

They involve finishing maintenance work on the stadium, completing the main stand and introducing temporary stands to bring the ground up to standard in time for the start of next year's Eircom League season - even if the legal battle is still ongoing at that point.

Currently, they are waiting on a response from South Dublin County Council (SDCC) and the government regarding the proposal with FAI chief executive John Delaney meeting the SDCC on Rovers' behalf with the hope of getting the financial go-ahead. As it stands, maintenance of the partially completed stadium is costing the council €13,000 a month.

Crucially, Rovers have sought legal advice to ensure that the temporary modifications to the stadium will not impact upon the outcome of the High Court proceedings.

"It will cater for an extended playing pitch if the court decides that way," says Rovers director James Nolan.

"We've met with Thomas Davis and while we didn't put this direct proposal to them, we did outline our intentions and in principle they had no great objection to it.

"We're pumping a lot of money into the Tallaght area with our scholarships in the IT and projects in the local schools. Now we want to get our senior team out there to join the rest of the club."

The parties met on May 15 and after that meeting Rovers sent a letter to Thomas Davis with a list of points that arose from their discussions.

While disagreements still remain as regards the logistics of a shared playing area and stadium design, Rovers now feel that their stopgap plan will reveal if Thomas Davis are genuine in their assertion that they have no problem with the Hoops' arrival.

With Thomas Davis officials previously expressing concerns that the youth of Tallaght might be restricted to a 'diet of association football' if Rovers came to the area, the suspicion within soccer circles is that the continual delay in finishing the stadium is in the interests of the GAA club.

"We don't know how they're going to react to this," admits Nolan. "There's a potential they could take out a High Court injunction against it.

"The legal opinion we have is that because the plans are in the perimeters of what the High Court has laid out then, hopefully, they wouldn't be successful with an injunction.

"If they were to take out an injunction than that would really show to the general public that they don't want us playing there. If they really truly have no problem with us playing there, they'd be behind the plan 100 per cent as well.

"Everything else has been complex; the key to this is its simplicity. It's time Shamrock Rovers took the bull by the horns on this and that's what we're doing."

dublinfella

Irish Times - 25.07.07
Rovers aiming to start work again on Tallaght Stadium

Paul O'Hehir
Wednesday July 25 2007

Shamrock Rovers could be playing in their new home by the start of next season if proposals to allow work to restart on the Tallaght Stadium get the go-ahead.

South Dublin County Council (SDCC) are considering an FAI-backed initiative by the club that could see builders return to the idle site at Whitestown Way.

Rovers believe their proposals will not prejudice High Court proceedings after the Tallaght-based Thomas Davis GAA club challenged a decision to develop the council-funded stadium for the playing of soccer only.

Rovers - the intended anchor tenants - maintain they are "completely open" to other sports being played at the stadium and believe some work can be carried out to open the ground during the time the court case, which is scheduled for October, runs its course.

The club insists these works, once completed, can accommodate any alterations that may be required in the event of Gaelic games being granted access to the stadium. "Once we heard there was leave for application for the judicial review we looked into how we could work within the parameters of the High Court ruling and try to get into the stadium as soon as possible," club director James Nolan said.

FAI chief executive John Delaney recently put the proposals to SDCC on the club's behalf. Rovers' directors will meet council officials later this week when an outcome could be given. These proposals focus on the completion of the existing - but only partially constructed - main stand and the addition of temporary seating.

Rovers are confident the erection of such seats would not be in breach of the terms stipulated by Mr Justice O'Neill when awarding the judicial review.

The main stand, left idle for years owing to previous financial difficulties at the club, has no roof, no seats and internal structures are incomplete. However, Rovers maintain its location and layout does not require alteration to facilitate Gaelic games, should the need arise.

"This is a simple plan," said Nolan. "We'll finish the main stand structure but not put the wraparounds at the ends. We will also finish auxiliary works around the outside of the stadium and put temporary stands on three sides of the ground.

"It is costing the council roughly €13,000 per month to maintain the stadium in its current state. We want to get into a working facility straight away."

Some 3,000 supporters would be facilitated in the main stand with another 4,000 divided between the temporary structures. Similar temporary seating is being used by Bray Wanderers at the Carlisle Grounds.

While Thomas Davis are entitled to seek a court injunction against the Shamrock Rovers proposal, to do so would "really show them up", Nolan believes. "That would prove to the general public Thomas Davis don't want us playing there. If really and truly they had no problem with us playing in Tallaght they would be behind this plan 100 per cent."

A Rovers delegation met Thomas Davis officials in May when the soccer club expressed a desire to play in Tallaght next season. According to Nolan, "they (Thomas Davis) had no great objection to it".

A spokesman for Thomas Davis could not be contacted last evening. Rovers will undertake structural surveys of the site and seek further legal advice prior to work restarting should SDCC give the go-ahead this week.

The club is also awaiting the thoughts of new Minister for Sport Seamus Brennan. His predecessor, John O'Donoghue, had vigorously supported Rovers in their fight for relocation.

Local Fianna Fail TD Charlie O'Connor is "satisfied and confident the (new) Minister will want to see this issue through". "It is time this was solved," he said. "There is a big, big bank of support for Shamrock Rovers in Tallaght . . . and a strong view that this issue should be put to bed

Quote"it's time Shamrock Rovers took the bull by the horns on this and that's what we're doing."

It certainly is time, how many years sitting on their arses leaving the unfinished project to rot?
Pity to have the ground unused because of the court case.

So now Dublinfella you can use "We" in reference to your connection with Rovers and not to be too embarrased by it and not have to feel that you have to masquerade as a GAA fella. You were feckin hopeless at it anyway.

I see that Rovers spokesperson still thinks there are gaa boggers under his bed ready with their masterplan to wipe soccer out of existance.

dublinfella

Quote from: Main Street on July 25, 2007, 11:52:02 PM

I see that Rovers spokesperson still thinks there are gaa boggers under his bed ready with their masterplan to wipe soccer out of existance.

where does he say that?

Oh christ here we go again, and already recycling the same old arguments!  ::)

Its the same bullshit, there is no way TD will let them away with that. And i don't see why people think it is TD that are costing the taxpayer €13k, the government know that appeal was comin but for some reason dug their heels in.

they probably have a few security guards wokring there to stop the local commanches from robbing the concrete

Quote from: dublinfella on July 26, 2007, 11:39:15 AM

Rovers are refusing THE GAA'S OFFER OF A FREE GROUND? that is one of the most bizarre things i have ever read. the gaa havent offered to put one cent into the stadiums redisign. you are going to have to explain that one to me.

If TD object, they cant continue with the line they want the stadium completed asap and shared with Rovers. this plan in no way prejudices they actual outcome of the case and underage GAA can be played on it early next year.

Dublin GAA offered to put 12 million into helping you bigots build your poxy ground and you's said no. Now your in the shits you can stew in it , sure this mess is entirely of your own making.

http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/newspapers/sunday_times/ireland/article1179410.ece

QuoteOne Rovers director tore up a copy of the proposed agreement. Another said the GAA's terms were "shit" and demanded Maguire's resignation.
This is from lads who where without a ground for over 15 years at this stage , yet they still decided to cut off their nose to spite their faces 

dublinfella

Quote from: Gnevin on July 26, 2007, 11:52:44 AM
Quote from: dublinfella on July 26, 2007, 11:39:15 AM

Rovers are refusing THE GAA'S OFFER OF A FREE GROUND? that is one of the most bizarre things i have ever read. the gaa havent offered to put one cent into the stadiums redisign. you are going to have to explain that one to me.

If TD object, they cant continue with the line they want the stadium completed asap and shared with Rovers. this plan in no way prejudices they actual outcome of the case and underage GAA can be played on it early next year.

Dublin GAA offered to put 12 million into helping you bigots build your poxy ground and you's said no. Now your in the shits you can stew in it , sure this mess is entirely of your own making.

http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/newspapers/sunday_times/ireland/article1179410.ece

QuoteOne Rovers director tore up a copy of the proposed agreement. Another said the GAA's terms were "shit" and demanded Maguire's resignation.
This is from lads who where without a ground for over 15 years at this stage , yet they still decided to cut off their nose to spite their faces 

The GAA approach Rovers with a commercial proposition. Rovers say no.

They chose another route to finish it, the GAA injunct. Now the GAA want in for free.

Hardly engenders confidence within soccer circles that the GAA are on the level here....

Dublinfella - aren't you the lad who's been touting the lie here, ad nauseam, that the GAA/Thomas Davis were looking for free use of the stadium and never offered a penny towards this project?

Dublinfella has spun a few fibs on here Hardy.
First he was caught out pretending to be a GAA fan, which he no longer claims btw, and just this morning in a discussion about RTE not showing the christy ring cup matches he claims to have played in the GAA ground in Tullamore.
Who for, Rovers 3rd team?  :o
Note during this debate he proved not be interested in the issue at all more so to have a few random pot shots at the GAA.

Another 65 pages of lies from Shamsfella coming up?
Shamrock rovers plans for Stadium  - HAHAHAHAHA
Sit on their hands f or 7 years and wait for a daft Council and lily livered Minister to spend € 14 m of our money on providing the miserable b*******s with a free Stadium after  paying them €1.5m to get a lease back that should not have been given in the first place till the thing was built.
God give me patience with Soccer beggars. They are well named by the OW"c"ers. :D

Quote from: Star Spangler on July 26, 2007, 01:34:29 PM
Just looking at that photo you'd have to wonder where the Council's 13K a month on "maintenance" is going.  The place badly needs a bit of GAA efficiency brought to bear.

Well the grass looks neat, maybe the government negotiated the lawn mowing contract for them  :D

I dont think its interesting, I think its very predictable.

Quote from: dublinfella on July 26, 2007, 02:38:04 PM
no-one here is interested in a tangible plan to have soccer and underage GAA played there in months, which to me sums up the real motives amongst sections of this association who seem to still think its 1952. a sad indictment

Dublinfella, they think its 1952 for wanting to play adult football there?
Cop on the f**k  ::)