St. Molaise Gaels
Ballymote
Calry/St. Joseph's
Tourlestrane
St. Mary's
St. Farnan's
St. John's

Lost a Div 4 tie against St Marys on Saturday evening. Very disappointed to lose but we missed too many chances including a penalty. So championship next weekend. Our seniors face a tough opener against Bunninadden with a injury crisis hitting at just the wrong time. In intermediate we face another tough game against Curry and we'll only know how we're fixed for that after Saturday night and the knock on effects of the seniors injuries.

The weekend's fare in the Championship. Will post more on it later on.

2008 Senior FC Group A
Team 1 Team 2 Venue Date Time Referee Comment
Bunninadden  Coolera-Strandhill  Enniscrone 31/05/2008 18:00 TBC Round 1 
Eastern Harps  Easkey  Enniscrone 31/05/2008 19:30 TBC Round 1 
2008 Senior FC Group B
Calry/St Josephs  Tubbercurry  Ballymote 31/05/2008 18:00 TBC   
St Marys  Curry  Ballymote 31/05/2008 19:30 TBC   
2008 Senior FC Group C
Drumcliffe Rosses Point  Castleconnor  Markievicz Park 31/05/2008 17:45 TBC Round 1 
St Farnans  St Johns  Markievicz Park 31/05/2008 19:30 TBC Round 1 
2008 Senior FC Group D
Ballymote  Tourlestrane  Tubbercurry 31/05/2008 18:00 TBC Round 1 
Geevagh  Shamrock Gaels  Tubbercurry 31/05/2008 19:30 TBC Round 1 
2008 Intermediate FC Group A
Ballisodare  Coolaney/Mullinabreena  Tubbercurry 01/06/2008 14:00 TBC Round 1 
Curry  Coolera-Strandhill  Tubbercurry 01/06/2008 15:30 TBC Round 1 
2008 Intermediate FC Group B
Cloonacool  Enniscrone/Kilglass  Tourlestrane 01/06/2008 14:00 TBC Round 1 
2008 Intermediate FC Group C
Tourlestrane  Eastern Harps  Ballymote 01/06/2008 15:30 TBC Round 1 
2008 Intermediate FC Group D
St Molaise Gaels  St Michaels  Ballymote 01/06/2008 14:00 TBC Round 1

Time to put the head on the block with a few predictions:

SFC

Group A:
Bunninadden v. Coolera/Strandhill - Bunninadden's form has benn pretty mixed in the league with ours marginally better. Injuries are crucifying us though and I'm not giving it the poor mouth. 6 definite starters are out and a few others are struggling. Bunninadden are not hitting the form of a couple of years ago but are in decent shape and will be tough opponents for anyone. I'm really worried from our point of view but will give our lads a tentative vote to secure a 2 point win.

Eastern Harps v. Easkey - Harps have been going pretty well and are obvious favourites for not just the group but maybe the championship outright. Tony Taylor is back and I hear there's life in his brother yet too. Some of their younger guns like Danny O'Grady and John Rafferty will improve with the experience gained last year. Easkey have had a tough time but are reknowned battlers and are improving all the time. This will be a bridge too far I think. Harps by 6.

Group B
Calry/St. Joseph's v. Tubbercurry - 1991 is a long time ago and the hunger is fierce for the Tubber men to reach to top again. They have a fairly young team with some pacy forwards and are fairly driven to succeed. Calry have a good bit of quality too and have performed well in championship in recent years. This could be a spicy encounter but I expect the south Sligo men to prevail by 4 points.

St. Mary's v. Curry - Neither team has set the world alight in the league though Mary's are winning more games, albeit it Div 2. That said, Curry appear to be emerging from their injury woes and have hit a patch of form recently. The suspension of Feeney and Marren has upset them but Paul Durcan could use this to their advantage. Hard to know where Mary's are. Coen is a good young talent and with the likes of Breheny, Martyn and Davey they should be tough opponents. I'm going to go for Curry to win this though, by 3 points.

Group C
Drumcliffe/Rosses Point v. Castleconnor - Castleconnor have largely disappointed in championship relative to some expectations but I get a feeling that this year that trend may reverse. Not burderned with the constant struggle to grind out leage results in a tough Div 1 they seem to have rolled along nicely, despite a reverse last weekend. Drumcliffe's recent junior North Division win is good preparation for them and they need to lift it a peg or two to make an impression in this group. Castleconnor by 5.

St. Farnans v. St. John's - A big year for John's as expectations will be high for them. With the talent at their disposal they should go close to matching those expectations. Farnan's, after their great success last year, will struggle to survive in SFC - especially after losing a player or two. Survival will be thier goal and they'll only get experience in this tie. John's by 10.

Group D
Ballymote v. Tourlestrane - Ballymote have done quite well in this years league and have plenty of pace and scoring power in their forward line. Recent years have seen them produce a lot of "nearly" stories so now may be the time for them to have a strong campaign. Last years champions are always contenders and this year will be no different. They have pace and power all over the field and even though I hear rumours of an injury crisis I pick them to win here, by 6 points.

Geevagh v. Shamrock Gaels - A clash of local rivals which ended in a draw last year (I think). Since then Geevagh have had a marvellous run in 2008 in Div 2 and appear to be a team and a club on the rise. Shamrock Gaels appear to be floting about at the same level as they have for the last couple of years. Geevagh's improvement leads me to fancy them to win by 3.

IFC

Group A
Curry v. Coolera/Strandhill - I'm not sure what we will be like as a result of injuries to our seniors and i'm less in a position to know how Curry are fixed. I suspect a tight, low scoring game with a point or two in it either way. I'll go for a draw but hope for better.
Ballisodare v. Coolaney/Mullinabreena - Coolaney have clocked up the wins in Division 4 and are in good spirits. Ballisodare have strung a couple of reasonable results together and seem fairly committed. They might not have enough for this one. Coolaney by 4.

Group B
Cloonacool v. Enniscrone/Kilglass - Enniscrone should have too much. Them by 6.

Group C
Tourlestrane v. Eastern Harps - Harps seconds are not as strong as in previous years but should have enough for a young Tourlestrane side. Harps by 6.

Group D
St Molaise Gaels v. St Michaels. Tie of the round in the IFC. The north Sligo lads will have a bit of pressure on themselves after failure to deliver at this level in recent years. St. Michaels are a tough opponent in this championship and a real test of Molaise Gaels credentials. I think the Gaels will come through by 4 points and should go close to winning this competition.

Thats an impressive summary of the club championship 1st rd. You have alot of knowledge there seanie.

I can only speak about st molaises. We have some great players who are still young and a few more to come through. We are the best team on paper in intermediate but that counts for feck all. Last yr michaels beat us in the group stages and our 2nd half collapse against farnans defo shocked me.

Looking forward to seeing Eoin McHugh, and hopefully see him put in a top quality performance in a tight game for the club. Honestly want to see the lad do well for both club and county. Peter wilson is a doubt with a shoulder injury.

We dont have the greatest manager in charge but he is a good coach. Lets himself down on players position, team selection and gameplan but does very good training and drills.

Id expect a similiar margin of victory as stated by seanie and would hope we show our potential this yr. Our club has consistently underachived and is running at 50% of its potential at intermediate level last few yrs for various reasons.

Enjoy the games whichever yer at or playing. Hope all the county players come through them unscathed and that bit fitter.

QuoteThats an impressive summary of the club championship 1st rd. You have alot of knowledge there seanie.

We'll see on Monday how much I know!

Ah no, I fully expect I'd be out on some of them but sure you'd have to have a go. Will be at my clubs own two games and should get to see Harps/Easkey in SFC and some of Ballisodare/Coolaney in IFC.

baoithe

Jesus I hope John's don't beat is by 10!!

I'd be happy to be wrong in that one Baoithe.

all star

Have heard already the county Board thinking of calling off next weekends round 2 of championship any truth in this.

Tourlestrane have a couple of injuries but its a first time in a while the players are talking about the opposition in a first round game. they have beaten us twince already this year and if rumours are to be believed they have been living and sleeping for this game all year. The clash between their management and a number of our players in recent games will bring an extra edge and I would say the first ten minutes of this game is a most see ........ hopefully have a good refree in place as it will be needed.
Its great to be back here again and with o hara fit again and up for this game like no other roll on saturday evening... one point victory will do....

Teeling Gael

On the big picture , I expect the Harps and Tourlestarne to be main contenders. The quality of S Henry and G Gaughan has came to the limelight in the last few months and obviously at their age they have to be improving from last year. Combined with  O Hara and Egan and a multitude of other talented young players and veterans like Haran , Mc Gowan and D Durkin Tourlestrane will be hard bet. Have felt over the last few years the reason Harps havent made the breakthrough has been their dearth of natural midfielders. They always have good forwards and with their 3 county men at the back combined with the like of Rafferty they will never be far away. Howver T Taylors injury meant they were relatively weak in midfield last year so with his return along with that of P O Grady and with the hunger of losing last years final , I expect them to shade Tourlestrane. Coolera to me are the next most likely winners though any team in a section with shock specialists Bunninadden andEaskey need to be very wary. Dont think Curry will win it this year but will be very competitive. Tubber and Johns were fancied as the breakthrogh teams this year but dont think Tubber have prpgressed as expected and the depths of divison 3 football will be a major drawback for Johns. Hardto raise your game from playing Owenmore Gaels to one of the aforementioned teams in a 1/4 final. Ballymote need to make 1/4 finals at this stage and despite a few local derbies think they will. Marys will be competitive without threatening to win it and presume Castleconnor will come out of their section. Perhaps Calry may shock Tubber at weekend and Marys / Curry looks like a draw to me but over all agree with Seanie on the rest of them.

Softest intermediate in memory with the winners having one season at senior. Thought Enniscrone would win it a few weeks ago but their mental fragility showed last time out vrs Michaels. St Mholaises have recovered from an early season blip and are deserved favourites. Seem to have set out to make themselves more likeable this year and its their best chance in years to win it. Pat who are championship specialists , Michaels if they avoid injury to key players ( hard with the 2 matches a weekend) , Harps ( if they avoid injuries in the senior team) and Coolaney all harbour hope of winning championship. If there were an all Star team of intermediate players , Coolaney would have most representatives but their achilles heel is the weakness of theirfringe players. If playing Division 4 has brought them on , then I expect Coolaney to go very close to winning it.

QuoteHave heard already the county Board thinking of calling off next weekends round 2 of championship any truth in this

Heard that rumour but cannot believe they would cancel round 2 at this stage. It would be a complete and utter joke to do so. Mayo have a full round of club championship that weekend too so I don't see the problem. Lads could get injured in training or challenge games as much as club games.

Mano

Quote from: all star on May 29, 2008, 10:17:28 AM
The clash between their management and a number of our players in recent games will bring an extra edge and I would say the first ten minutes of this game is a most see

What happened there all star? Was Barnes and Eamon involved?  Fortunately there is a strong panel there to cover for any injuries.

I'd say the clash between McTiernan and Neary will be vital-if McTiernan is kept quiet ye should take it.

Mhic Easmuint

Draw is tonight (Friday 30th May) at approx. 9.30pm.

Online sales at http://antrim.gaa.ie finish at 8.45pm

Your last chance to get a ticket to win one of the great prizes.  

Funds generated to go towards the planned Centre of Excellence.
Plans and Video Fly-through available on the website:
http://antrim.gaa.ie/centre-of-excellence/

A bit late in posting back here, here's how I'd see it, group by group:

Senior Championship 2008
Group A

Bunninadden were finalists in 2006, and then nearly got relegated last year! The display v Tourlestrane last year was one of the worst I've ever seen in the SFC. Their league form hasn't been terribly encouraging, plus they are missing McHugh and Shane Gormley too. Will give Harps and Coolera a tough time but are probably heading for relegation playoffs barring a surprise.
Easkey were in the semis last year, but will do well to get to the last 8 this time. A tough group, injuries and an aging team, doomed in D1 and will have a job to get out of the group. Should avoid relegation OK though.
Coolera have shown good form in D1, and are avoidnig the yo-yo effect this time around. As Seanie says, they have injuries, but I'd expect them to have enough to claim second spot, indeed if the wounded clear up by the Harps game, then top spot is possible. Will be in the last eight anyway.
Harps could have won the title last time, midfield issues didn't do them any favours, if Taylor is back then that will help them immensely. With little other changes from last I'd expect them to finish top, fending off Coolera, and are going to go close again for the big one.
Prediction: Eastern Harps and Coolera/Strandhill.

Group B
Curry had an awful start to the league with injuries and suspensions, but have came back into from recently. The early start probably doesn't help them, but they should have enough to get out of the group, albeit made to work for it. Other years they would be certs for top spot. Won't win it out I suspect.
Tubbercurry would be likely favourites for second, but it's hard to know going on their league form how good they are. Not to mention the managerial upheaval earlier on, might work out in their favour though. The Curry and Mary's games will be tight. I'll tentatively give them second spot, but to fall on the rock of their neighbours in the QF's.
Mary's are in the strange position of not being in the top division, but it has allowed them to get a good run together. Tougher opposition await here though. A full team will be hard beaten, and it's between them and Tubber for second. May just fall short.
Calry really are up against it. The tie would Mary's could be interesting on many levels. Relegation battle awaits, and they will be up against it.
Prediction: Curry and Tubber.

Group C
The winner won't come from this group anyway. John's should have too much for the others, but haven't been well tested for this through the league. Will be an interesting QF with Harps or Coolera though. Could reach semis with some luck, but probably the last eight for the town crew.
Castleconnor have done well in D2 thus far, and might be in better shape for a c'ship assault, especially they have been given a favourable group for the first time in a while. The western battles could work in their favour, and the Drumcliffe game is crucial. A tentative vote for second to the Tireragh men.
Drumcliffe have been a dogged c'ship outfit, often belieing their poor league form. Again the league isn't great so far, but they have a decent chance in this group. Might be edged out by CC though.
Farnan's are up against it big time. Big step up from the likes of Harps seconds and Michael's to be fair. Poor in the league but got some return from the Shams fixtures. A battle to avoid relegation, probably a losing one too.
Prediction: John's and Castleconnor.

Group D
Tourlestrane won't be far away from retaining Owen B, but the previous 18 attempts have failed.....should top group and get to the semis, hard to know then. Still have too much for all bar 3-4 teams in the SFC. Ballymote will be a big opening test though.
Ballymote - if not now, when? The first favourable group they have had since returning to senior, but Geevagh are ready to catch them out though. A good display v the holders will give them confidence for the two eastern battles. Should take second.
Geevagh have been flying in D2, but face a tough task, with the easier tie being a local affair and all that goes with that. Should win that, but possibly falling to Ballymote. Should survive the relegation dogfight this time.
Shamrock Gaels have been fierce inconsistent once again, and are the outsiders here. The relegation battle will be tough for them, if they fall this time there will be no escape however.

All in all it's between Harps, T'strane and Coolera for the title, with Curry the next best. Would be very surprised if anyone else takes it.

Intermediate Championship 2008
Group A

Mullinabreena and the best organised of Curry or Coolera. I'll go with the former, just.

Group B
Enniscrone and Cloonacool just edging out Mary's.

Group C
Hard to know this. We should do it, but we're capable of anything. I'll give it to us and Harps, hopefully.

Group D
The toughest one by far. SMG should top it, with the Pat's-Michael's tie critical. Pat's possibly this time around.

SMG or Mullinabreena for the prize, with Enniscrone dark horses. As usual.

Stagmeister

Quote from: all star on May 29, 2008, 10:17:28 AM
Have heard already the county Board thinking of calling off next weekends round 2 of championship any truth in this.

Tourlestrane have a couple of injuries but its a first time in a while the players are talking about the opposition in a first round game. they have beaten us twince already this year and if rumours are to be believed they have been living and sleeping for this game all year. The clash between their management and a number of our players in recent games will bring an extra edge and I would say the first ten minutes of this game is a most see ........ hopefully have a good refree in place as it will be needed.
Its great to be back here again and with o hara fit again and up for this game like no other roll on saturday evening... one point victory will do....

In fairness ye are one of the best if not the best team in the county, but we  live and sleep championship football not games against tourlestrane...it doesn't matter who we are playing tomorrow, your actually flattering yourselves to think we have been waiting all year to play ye...there are 3 games in the group and each game is worth 2 points for a win so therefore they are all equally important.

that quote about the referee is priceless...def gonna tell the lads to wear bullet proof vests after that...

Anyway, in my memory, and I am only a young fella, games between Tourlestrane and Ballymote have always been good footballing games and good to watch...with little or no dirty play involved and despite what you have said I'm sure today (including the 1st 10 mins) will be no different, and hopefully the best team will win...I'm just praying it will be us...

St molaise gaels 0-9 st michaels 1-12

Shocking result for us. We started well went into 5 to 1 up and then michaels got a foothaold on the game at midfield. Then everything that could go wrong went wrong. FB aaron mchugh got injured, remember we started the game minus mark quinn, peter wilson and cathal burns.

Eoin mchugh started midfield and is in unbelivable shape. Whatever condintioning goes on at county it really has the players in top class physic. But he goes missing when opposition are on top, is still erratic on the ball and does daft things. As I said before very raw but has the talent but sorry not county standard YET,  maybe 2 or 3yrs.

It doesnt help eoin having shane feeny midfield, just playing with 14 men we are. No 30 for michaels had the freedom of the park. If Management continue to select him there we will never fulfill our potential as a club. We wont win intermediate this yr with him in that postion. OMS ye can have him ;) well you rate him. Only when Gavin gilsenan went midfield towards the end to give eoin a hand did we dominate again. Its not fair on the good players we have to be carrying others. There is no defense for him anymore. My comments are heavily critical but football related and trust me Im holding back ;). Also it should be said majority of fans and players are of a similiar opinion maybe not JJJ.

No 14 showed well for michaels who got all the 50/50 decisions and ref was absymal towards us. Made a few points of a difference. Michaels rallied just before HT and got goal to level scores. They went 3 pts up early in 2nd half and our lads did fight back.

Despite all that was against us we had 4 CLEARCUT goal chances at various stages in 2nd half. Keeper made last ditch saves and 1 clear off the line. One time keeper was rooted to his line and our player straight through kicked it straight at him.

Sickened and now we are in big trouble. with all the injuries and players away we lose martin feeney and dara currid who are away for pats game. I hope for our sake its called off. No club can lose 7 of its best players and we were down 3 or 4 today.