GAA Discussion => Local GAA Discussion => Derry => Topic started by: Atticus_Finch on October 21, 2012, 09:49:38 PM

Title: Celtic Park Thread
Post by: Atticus_Finch on October 21, 2012, 09:49:38 PM
Has your marriage broken down ?  Have you been involved in a car accident ?  Did your child not get into his/her university of choice ?

Did you wake up beside an absolute sea donkey & violate the sacred "If you can't lift them, don't shift them" commandment ?

If you have ever experienced any of the above scenarios then the likelihood is that this was the direct result of a match being staged at Celtic Park !

If that match had been staged in Glen then those scenarios described above would not have happened and you would be leading a much happier life.

This thread is for all those true Derry gaels who need to get a "Why is this match staged at Celtic Park" rant off their chest.

Can we please keep Celtic Park moans/whinges off the main "Derry Club Football and Hurling" thread - it gives other counties an insight into why we are arguably one of the worst supported counties in Ireland !

For what it's worth despite having to travel a considerable distance to get to games staged in Celtic Park i'm happy to continue to do so for two reasons:

1. As someone has already pointed out on the main thread in terms of spectator facilities, press facilities and quality of the pitch; Celtic Park is a good county ground.

2. A lot of work seems to have been going into develop gaelic games in the city and to take away the big games from Celtic Park would send out the wrong signals.  I think for Derry to be successful as a county again then continued development and promotion of gaelic games in the city is key.  You only have to look back at some of the very successful soccer players the city has produced down through the years, easier said than done but ..... if that same conveyor belt of talent could be established for gaelic games then the county would be in a lot healthier shape.

That's the last I have to say on the whole Celtic Park saga, i'll let you lads who are caused so much trouble and turmoil by games being staged at Celtic Park have your say ...
Title: Re: Celtic Park Thread
Post by: screenexile on October 22, 2012, 03:21:15 PM
I had planned to go to the game yesterday but went out and got full on Saturday night and died a death . . .

Thanks Celtic Park ye bastard!!
Post by: real food, real people on October 23, 2012, 03:27:48 PM
knock it down te feck and build houses on it!

Dolans are waiting on it becoming vacant and then they're going to squat in it......
Post by: Kobayashi on October 23, 2012, 05:21:19 PM
Hand it over to Derry City FC
Post by: theticklemister on October 23, 2012, 05:25:23 PM
IT'S GOING f**king NOWHERE
Post by: Atticus_Finch on October 23, 2012, 09:04:47 PM
Everywhere I go today I can't avoid hearing about 2013 and Derry being the city of culture !

Tickle I'm expecting a higher calibre of half time entertainment at Celtic Park during 2013 from yourself, hi mucker and the rest of the city slickers !

If games were being held in Glen the half time entertainment would be the best in the world. FACT !!!
Post by: theticklemister on October 23, 2012, 09:28:01 PM
Quote from: Atticus_Finch on October 23, 2012, 09:04:47 PM
Everywhere I go today I can't avoid hearing about 2013 and Derry being the city of culture !

Tickle I'm expecting a higher calibre of half time entertainment at Celtic Park during 2013 from yourself, hi mucker and the rest of the city slickers !

If games were being held in Glen the half time entertainment would be the best in the world. FACT !!!

I dont think youll get much from me ttytt next year. Hi mucker and shantygael may do a jig at half time and we may hear a few renditions of God Save the Queen to get the crowd going.
Post by: real food, real people on October 25, 2012, 04:45:35 PM
By the sound of it they have shut this place down already! try and book a game on it and see!
Post by: trasna man on October 25, 2012, 04:54:11 PM
Quote from: real food, real people on October 25, 2012, 04:45:35 PM
By the sound of it they have shut this place down already! try and book a game on it and see!
I refereed a Ulster colleges final in the park this morning Dungiven v Buncrana with the surs winning by 6
Post by: theticklemister on October 25, 2012, 05:21:29 PM
Quote from: trasna man on October 25, 2012, 04:54:11 PM
I refereed a Ulster colleges final in the park this morning Dungiven v Buncrana with the surs winning by 6

...........and so the power play continues ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D
Post by: real food, real people on October 26, 2012, 11:19:58 AM

Wonder why I was told I couldnt book it as it was closed for repair work.
Post by: trasna man on October 26, 2012, 11:53:56 AM
Quote from: real food, real people on October 26, 2012, 11:19:58 AM
Its how and who you ask ;) sure there are two matches in the park tomorrow
Post by: real food, real people on October 26, 2012, 11:58:33 AM
Quote from: trasna man on October 26, 2012, 11:53:56 AM
Quote from: real food, real people on October 26, 2012, 11:19:58 AM
Its how and who you ask ;) sure there are two matches in the park tomorrow

Maybe its because i aint in the clique?
Post by: shantygael on October 26, 2012, 09:50:50 PM
Quote from: real food, real people on October 23, 2012, 03:27:48 PM
knock it down te feck and build houses on it!

Dolans are waiting on it becoming vacant and then they're going to squat in it......
i'll go for that,suits me
Post by: Atticus_Finch on November 01, 2012, 01:25:43 PM
Celtic Park is proud to host Hi Mucker's wedding reception tomorrow.

He hopes to see all gaels there, especially south derry gaels and has laid on buses to help with the arduous trip.
Post by: theticklemister on December 05, 2012, 05:58:34 PM
 ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

Pairc na gCeiltech go deo!!!!!!!!!

Looks like 2013 is gonna start the same way 2012 ended, Celtic Park is gonna host the Derry home fixtures for the McKenna Cup according to the Partionist News today.

;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D
Post by: Hoof Hearted on December 05, 2012, 07:27:33 PM
f**k i got my hopes up there, i thought i was going to tune into this thread in the hope that a bomb had decimated the place !!
Post by: theticklemister on December 05, 2012, 08:07:56 PM
Celtic park hasnt gone away you know!!!!!! Dont worry hoof hearted ye will get a couple of bargins in the january sales.
Post by: theticklemister on January 30, 2013, 05:14:50 PM
As much as I love Celtic Park, I cant believe that even got a look in for hosting the international rules. The only place in Ulster can only be breffini.
Post by: real food, real people on January 31, 2013, 06:52:25 PM
Quote from: theticklemister on January 30, 2013, 05:14:50 PM
As much as I love Celtic Park, I cant believe that even got a look in for hosting the international rules. The only place in Ulster can only be breffini.

Clones? Casement? Newry? all better suited than Breffni
Post by: theticklemister on January 31, 2013, 07:02:57 PM
Clones... No light
Casement..... Enough shelter? Centrally located ?Breffini has a bit more
Newry...... Big enough?

I think breffini is under-rated and under-used.  Great set up and a killer playing surface.
Post by: Walter Cronc on January 31, 2013, 07:48:53 PM
Quote from: theticklemister on January 31, 2013, 07:02:57 PM
Clones... No light
Casement..... Enough shelter? Centrally located ?Breffini has a bit more
Newry...... Big enough?

I think breffini is under-rated and under-used.  Great set up and a killer playing surface.

Armagh! Best ground in Ulster!
Post by: theticklemister on June 17, 2013, 06:29:50 PM
Farewell my old friend.......................we had some good times

Post by: shantygael on June 18, 2013, 12:06:02 AM
ah tickle we might get an auld over 40s game in her now
Post by: shantygael on June 18, 2013, 12:18:27 AM
tried to book it last wednesday for neal carlin semi but told it was closed til after the feile,even though st johns primary school had their sports day on it on friday. Maybe they had handball and rounders  as part of the mornings entertainment