Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: tyrone girl on April 14, 2011, 03:24:57 PM

Title: Cars from England
Post by: tyrone girl on April 14, 2011, 03:24:57 PM
Getting a new motor but from what i can see cars over here seem to be seriously higher prices than those in England. Like cars a year or two older and far more miles for maybe £700 quid more than in England for better year and mileage. Why is this? Is it worth for a car worth about 3 grand getting one brought over. Does it cost much
Title: Re: Cars from England
Post by: deiseach on April 14, 2011, 03:28:35 PM
As I understand it, any car imported into the Republic from the UK has to have been registed in your name in the UK for the preceeding six months. Otherwise you'll get hammered when you register the car down here
Post by: tommysmith on April 14, 2011, 03:32:05 PM
Quote from: deiseach on April 14, 2011, 03:28:35 PM
As I understand it, any car imported into the Republic from the UK has to have been registed in your name in the UK for the preceeding six months. Otherwise you'll get hammered when you register the car down here

She aint importing into the free state though.
Post by: AZOffaly on April 14, 2011, 03:41:23 PM

I don't think you get overly 'hammered' deiseach. There is a significant fee, but it is usually well worth it, in financial terms. The risk is around the quality of the car, and any problems you may have with it. Mightn't be as handy to talk to some giant car sales firm over in the UK.
Post by: deiseach on April 14, 2011, 03:43:30 PM
Quote from: tommysmith on April 14, 2011, 03:32:05 PM

She aint importing into the free state though.

Fair enough
Post by: deiseach on April 14, 2011, 03:44:58 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on April 14, 2011, 03:41:23 PM

I don't think you get overly 'hammered' deiseach. There is a significant fee, but it is usually well worth it, in financial terms. The risk is around the quality of the car, and any problems you may have with it. Mightn't be as handy to talk to some giant car sales firm over in the UK.

I think you'd save money, but you'd have to buy the car six months before you'd get to use it!
Post by: AZOffaly on April 14, 2011, 03:47:03 PM
Quote from: deiseach on April 14, 2011, 03:44:58 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on April 14, 2011, 03:41:23 PM

I think you'd save money, but you'd have to buy the car six months before you'd get to use it!

Nope. Several fellas I know have gotten the boat over, and drove back in their new car. My brother in law did it, and a lad here in work did it just a month ago. The C&E lads are waiting for you, and you can expect to get stopped on the road if you don't re-register quick sharp, but it's still worthwhile.
Post by: supersarsfields on April 14, 2011, 03:50:15 PM
Bought a car over in England at the start of the year. Brought it over in the Ferry for about £80. Then registered it over here with the Dvlni for free. Job done!!

If I was buying the same car over here I was pricing it at the guts of £1000 dearer. And this wasn't a high end car.
Post by: Radda bout yeee on April 14, 2011, 03:50:22 PM
No first hand experience but I've always heard that English second hand cars are better due to better roads leading to better care for the car.
Post by: Radda bout yeee on April 14, 2011, 03:51:12 PM
Quote from: supersarsfields on April 14, 2011, 03:50:15 PM
Bought a car over in England at the start of the year. Brought it over in the Ferry for about £80. Then registered it over here with the Dvlni for free. Job done!!

If I was buying the same car over here I was pricing it at the guts of £1000 dearer. And this wasn't a high end car.

what car was she if you don't mind telling me.
Post by: tyrone girl on April 14, 2011, 03:54:56 PM
Quote from: supersarsfields on April 14, 2011, 03:50:15 PM

Sounds good. The cars im looking at over here for for the same mileage and year are seeming to be at least £800 more. Just wasnt sure how costly to get it over here.
Post by: thebigfella on April 14, 2011, 03:56:17 PM
Make sure they run on the red before you buy  ;)
Post by: NAG1 on April 14, 2011, 03:56:30 PM
Easyjet single way in boat home should be handy enough
seems to be alot of cars be bought out of scotland at the moment too
Post by: supersarsfields on April 14, 2011, 03:58:12 PM
Quote from: Radda bout yeee on April 14, 2011, 03:50:22 PM
No first hand experience but I've always heard that English second hand cars are better due to better roads leading to better care for the car.

They usually have higher milage than your average car over here. But you can pick up ex lease vehicles that usually have their full service history for alot cheaper. Well worth it if you ask me!!

Bought a mondeo titanium 2008 for 6000 Radda. Highish miles at 92k but as I said the miles are less of an issue on the uk vehicles as a majority are usually motorway miles. Had full service history as well as timing belt change. 
Post by: Hereiam on April 14, 2011, 04:29:06 PM
T.G have bought my last 2 cars over in liverpool/wigan and I have never had any problem with them. Flew over with easyjet and back on the ferry all in one day. Have heard the horror stories but if a deal seems to good to be true its one to stay away from. Will never buy a car in the north again. On my first car I drove from liverpool to stranrar up the M6, great drive on great roads.
Post by: sammymaguire on April 14, 2011, 04:36:43 PM
Do it. You will make a big saving, simply down to the laws of supply and demand

all recognised dealers and franchises will have about 3-4 of what you are looking for and you can even trade in your old wagon at decent money too (although you have to pay for taking it across on the boat also)
Post by: pintsofguinness on April 14, 2011, 06:20:53 PM
I know dozens who are driving around in cars bought in england (having spent a night or two on my sofa) - never heard any problems. 
Post by: laoislad on April 14, 2011, 06:24:02 PM
I brought one in a few years back and even including the VRT I had to pay it was still cheaper and the car came standard with loads more extras than the same model here.
Post by: wanderer on April 14, 2011, 10:49:32 PM
If I was you I'd go to some of the auctions. If your looking for nearly new, check out the likes of BCA, or lex etc. They are all over England and Scotland.
It's the same cars the dealers are selling you, only without there add-on %
Post by: laceer on April 14, 2011, 11:32:42 PM
Lex sell their cars through BCA. There's a massive auction in Belle Vue, Manchester. Would definitely have a look there
Post by: JimStynes on July 01, 2017, 10:39:39 AM
Thinking of buying a car from England at some stage over the summer here. I have friends in Leeds and Newcastle so I could easily stay with them while searching around. What is the craic with auctions then? Are there finance options or do you have to pay the whole heap in one go? Looking at the likes of Audi and Mercedes, they do seem much cheaper in England. If it was only the difference in £500 or so saving in England then I wouldn't be bothered with hassle.
Post by: Itchy on July 01, 2017, 03:52:48 PM
Quote from: JimStynes on July 01, 2017, 10:39:39 AM
Thinking of buying a car from England at some stage over the summer here. I have friends in Leeds and Newcastle so I could easily stay with them while searching around. What is the craic with auctions then? Are there finance options or do you have to pay the whole heap in one go? Looking at the likes of Audi and Mercedes, they do seem much cheaper in England. If it was only the difference in £500 or so saving in England then I wouldn't be bothered with hassle.

Unless you are a mechanic or have access to one I would stay well clear of Auctions.
Post by: JimStynes on July 01, 2017, 05:24:54 PM
Quote from: Itchy on July 01, 2017, 03:52:48 PM

Unless you are a mechanic or have access to one I would stay well clear of Auctions.

Not a mechanic and I wouldn't have notion about cars really. I've a mate who buys from auctions all the time but he's handy around cars and has always got class deals so far.
Post by: Itchy on July 02, 2017, 05:04:35 PM
Quote from: JimStynes on July 01, 2017, 05:24:54 PM
Quote from: Itchy on July 01, 2017, 03:52:48 PM

Not a mechanic and I wouldn't have notion about cars really. I've a mate who buys from auctions all the time but he's handy around cars and has always got class deals so far.

You get good deals because there is no come back. Quite a few cars at auctions here and elsewhere are just patched up to get the sale. Plenty of savings can still be made in Uk buying from dealers.
Post by: JimStynes on July 02, 2017, 07:19:19 PM
I'll stay away from the auctions! Looking for Audi motors around Leeds and Newcastle.
Post by: Bazil Douglas on July 03, 2017, 07:13:56 PM
You can log into BCA auctions online create an account, they have 20 to 30 thousand vehicles to view at any time. Most of these vehicles are ex leasing and carry AA mechanical condition and body condition reports, with indemnity. you can bid online  and have it delivered for around £200.00. Most dealers in the north get their stock from BCA.
Post by: Maroon Manc on July 03, 2017, 07:18:39 PM
I remember looking at the cars that were going into the auction here in Belle Vue in Manchester, they were cars that were leased and the majority were all 3 years old. A mate picked up a merc cls worth £8,000 for £4,200, car was in good shape apart from a few issues with the bodywork, had to spend about £400 but he was delighted.
Post by: Mickey Linden on July 03, 2017, 07:30:47 PM

Hard to hide the money. Wouldn't get out of bed for £500
Post by: bennydorano on July 03, 2017, 08:08:18 PM
Schoolteacher ffs, don't get Bomber started
Post by: JimStynes on July 03, 2017, 11:15:34 PM
Quote from: Mickey Linden on July 03, 2017, 07:30:47 PM

Hard to hide the money. Wouldn't get out of bed for £500

Wouldn't be worth the hassle paying for boats etc.
Post by: JimStynes on July 03, 2017, 11:17:21 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on July 03, 2017, 08:08:18 PM
Schoolteacher ffs, don't get Bomber started

ML is married to a school teacher so he knows we deserve our 8 weeks off  ;)
Post by: Helix on December 20, 2017, 01:21:11 PM
Just wondering with 2018 coming and people changing cars  if there's people going to North/England for motor. Looking for advice on people who've done before. Looking something along the lines or golf or Passat. A cheap diesel that's fairly reliable. Any advice greatly appreciated  ;D
Post by: Itchy on December 20, 2017, 03:59:53 PM
Quote from: Helix on December 20, 2017, 01:21:11 PM
Just wondering with 2018 coming and people changing cars  if there's people going to North/England for motor. Looking for advice on people who've done before. Looking something along the lines or golf or Passat. A cheap diesel that's fairly reliable. Any advice greatly appreciated  ;D

My advice is to do it  but bring a mechanic with you. In my opinion you would be better going to a dealer in Britain rather than going up north, better prices.

Most 2nd hand diesels in the republic made their way from the UK anyway so even if you go local you probably will get a UK car.
Post by: T Fearon on December 20, 2017, 04:11:11 PM
Thought the Cars were an American Band?
Post by: magpie seanie on December 20, 2017, 04:16:03 PM
The advice here is good. I'll share my recent experience to add to it.

Recently bought and brought in an Insignia 2.0l diesel from England. Prices are much better that NI. I have a former work colleague who is English and worked in the motor trade and has brought in numerous cars for people. Between us we worked out what was in my price range and went through the car sale websites to identify potential targets. When we settled on one he made the calls and did the Experian check (very important) and did the deal. The first car we liked was close to agreeing the deal but the check showed up a loan outstanding on the car. The dealer said he'd take care of the loan after the sale but I was advised to walk away and I did. The car I eventually got had pretty low mileage and I'm very happy with it. My friend went over to collect it (I couldn't go that weekend). He rang me after he checked it over and said he was happy to go ahead (could have backed out that time if there was anything worrying....would only have lost deposit).

All told including his travel costs, a small admin fee and the VRT I'm pretty sure I saved about €2,000 and it's a nicer spec car than what you'd get here in the ROI. Plus I've a 1 year warranty that's applicable over here.

Just be careful but there is decent value to be had.
Post by: macdanger2 on December 20, 2017, 04:37:41 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on December 20, 2017, 04:16:03 PM
The advice here is good. I'll share my recent experience to add to it.

Recently bought and brought in an Insignia 2.0l diesel from England. Prices are much better that NI. I have a former work colleague who is English and worked in the motor trade and has brought in numerous cars for people. Between us we worked out what was in my price range and went through the car sale websites to identify potential targets. When we settled on one he made the calls and did the Experian check (very important) and did the deal. The first car we liked was close to agreeing the deal but the check showed up a loan outstanding on the car. The dealer said he'd take care of the loan after the sale but I was advised to walk away and I did. The car I eventually got had pretty low mileage and I'm very happy with it. My friend went over to collect it (I couldn't go that weekend). He rang me after he checked it over and said he was happy to go ahead (could have backed out that time if there was anything worrying....would only have lost deposit).

All told including his travel costs, a small admin fee and the VRT I'm pretty sure I saved about €2,000 and it's a nicer spec car than what you'd get here in the ROI. Plus I've a 1 year warranty that's applicable over here.

Just be careful but there is decent value to be had.

Yeah, definitely better value in England compared to NI. If you don't have someone to come with you, RAC or Dekra or others will do a mechanical check for you for ~€250. Well worth it. Obviously only do this after you've done the finance /write off check mentioned above. If you go ahead and buy the car, it's crucial that you verify the VIN on the car you receive against the one that was inspected.

I've bought 3 cars over there and all have worked out well but be aware that you have little enough comeback because of the distance involved (unless it's a manufacturer's warranty as above). I negotiated on price before I went over as I  figured that once I'm over there, I have very little bargaining power. The garage should be able to collect you from the nearest airport or depending on distance, train station.

Good luck with it
Post by: Itchy on December 20, 2017, 04:47:43 PM
have a look here

www.cargiant.co.uk

You can fly to Luton or stanstead and get there early, get on the road in the evening and drive to Hollyhead. Advantage is they often have a few cars in the same model, disadvantage you dont get a great test drive with them. Most of their cars are ex fleet so well serviced.
Post by: Helix on March 20, 2018, 08:10:49 PM
Bumping this back up as hoping to change car in summer. Currently in process of moving back home to Laois and have about 140 mile commute mon-Friday. Querying whether anyone has bought new seat Leon's from 131 upwards versus VW golf. Price range around the 10k mark. Any advice greatly appreciated looking for a fairly reliable thing as have a wedding to pay for too  ::)
Post by: Dire Ear on March 21, 2018, 09:50:44 AM
Quote from: Helix on March 20, 2018, 08:10:49 PM
Bumping this back up as hoping to change car in summer. Currently in process of moving back home to Laois and have about 140 mile commute mon-Friday. Querying whether anyone has bought new seat Leon's from 131 upwards versus VW golf. Price range around the 10k mark. Any advice greatly appreciated looking for a fairly reliable thing as have a wedding to pay for too  ::)
Good luck with both,  bought a car last year from North West of England,  great value,  compared to the occupied 6!
Post by: laoislad on March 21, 2018, 01:23:06 PM
Lucky you. I've been trying to convince my wife to do the same thing for years to no avail..!
On the car though.Have you considered an Octavia?
Post by: Tony Baloney on March 21, 2018, 01:48:06 PM
Quote from: Dire Ear on March 21, 2018, 09:50:44 AM
Good luck with both,  bought a car last year from North West of England,  great value,  compared to the occupied 6!
Just looking at cars on Autotrader and far better value in England for the same yoke. Unfortunately the ones I liked were well down into England. Are there specific trade sites you were looking at?
Post by: Dire Ear on March 21, 2018, 02:18:03 PM
Believe it or not, it was Ebay.  Got the regs checked before I went
Post by: David McKeown on March 21, 2018, 06:28:34 PM
I bought an A4 in August 2015. Saved about 4K getting it in England even when transporting it home was factored in. Took a small risk as didn't get to test drive it first but was an Audi approved car so not that much. Wife then got a Golf from Scotland in December 2015 and saved 6k over the equivalent motor in Belfast.

I thought I'd do the same in the last week but noticed very very little difference between here and England. I've looked at the following and see little difference 5 series estate, a6 avant, a7 Quattro . E220d Estate. So I don't know now whether the difference has become much smaller or if it's the type of car I'm now looking for.

I'm also noticing that I get offered 500-800 more for my car over here than o do when I speak to garages across the water which is something to consider.
Post by: FermGael on November 29, 2018, 12:01:13 PM
Need a bit of advice.
Looking at a VW Passat 2016 estate.  1.6 TDI and 120bhp.
Car has just over 100000 motorway miles .
Fleet car and has been serviced regularly with all the stamps, etc.

Nearly a £4000 grand saving on the car compared to the same car in a showroom here.
I know people that have bought of this fella before and reports are good.

My only concern is the 1.6TDI.  Use to driving a 1.9 . 
Would there be enough power for overtaking, etc ?

Anyone have any experience of driving that make of car ?
Thanks

Post by: trueblue1234 on November 29, 2018, 12:26:29 PM
Quote from: FermGael on November 29, 2018, 12:01:13 PM
Need a bit of advice.
Looking at a VW Passat 2016 estate.  1.6 TDI and 120bhp.
Car has just over 100000 motorway miles .
Fleet car and has been serviced regularly with all the stamps, etc.

Nearly a £4000 grand saving on the car compared to the same car in a showroom here.
I know people that have bought of this fella before and reports are good.

My only concern is the 1.6TDI.  Use to driving a 1.9 . 
Would there be enough power for overtaking, etc ?

Anyone have any experience of driving that make of car ?
Thanks
Not sure about the Passat but both me and the wife had Mondeos in the past and mine was a 2.0 and her's was a 1.6. There was a very noticeable difference especially when you forgot which one you were in and went to over take. Just slower delivery. But there was a difference in BHP as well obviously. Once you get used to it, it was fine, but few hairy moments at the start. 
Post by: Solo_run on February 11, 2019, 11:48:32 PM
Has anyone got a BMW 3 Series 320i?

If you have, what do you think of the car?
Post by: Karl Kennedy on April 14, 2019, 05:41:55 PM
Has anyone any good dealers they have worked with in England for cars?

Going to head over shortly to try and trade in a VW Golf for a newer motor. Any good dealers or particular areas in England that are recommended?
Post by: illdecide on April 15, 2019, 09:13:52 AM
Quote from: Karl Kennedy on April 14, 2019, 05:41:55 PM
Has anyone any good dealers they have worked with in England for cars?

Going to head over shortly to try and trade in a VW Golf for a newer motor. Any good dealers or particular areas in England that are recommended?

Not big into it TBH but i reckon up north would be better as things tend to be a bit cheaper. Liverpool, Carlisle, Newcastle etc. That's where i'd start anyway plus it closer to the boats too
Post by: delgany on April 15, 2019, 10:07:00 AM
I went to inchscape  VW   in Bury  on  Sunday !. Got night boat to liverpool , landed at dealership at 10. Was on cairnryan ferry for 4ish   home at 7pm . Saved  £3500. VW in north are extortionate !