Money, Dublin and the GAA

Started by IolarCoisCuain, October 04, 2016, 07:27:37 PM

Quote from: Cyril Farrell fan on December 15, 2021, 11:32:42 AM
Is there any chance that Dublin put Dessie Farrell in charge so they'd stop winning All Irelands and people would forget about the funding question?
The conveyor belt of talent that the funding supposedly creates (miraculously really given none of the GDOs who are funded ever coach the elite players) has dried up.

Having mainly young 20 somethings going into primary schools to teach boys and girls the basics doesn't produce leaders. At one stage we had 10 or 12 players would be legitimate captain material, now we are down to 3 or 4. Still better than most, and with our population, very competitive club scene and a heap of former players giving their time for free to coach the elite players, we're going to be able to get a talented 30 man panel, so don't write off Dessie just yet.

hoynevalley

Quote from: Rossfan on January 10, 2022, 10:38:06 PM
https://www.irishtimes.com/sport/gaelic-games/gaa-s-tom-ryan-accused-of-an-unfair-effort-to-sway-democratic-debate-over-funding-1.4772889

Fair play to Ray Connellan for flaging. Hopefully clubs will use funding rightly. I hear Connellan club were paying  Liam McHale 250 a session. Pat Flanagan and Liam Kearns were getting similar with Rosommon clubs. All in love of the game.  ;D ;D

Guess what?
The motion won't be going to Congress as it's deemed to be incorrect or in breach of some rule!!!

Quote from: Rossfan on January 21, 2022, 07:38:53 PM
Guess what?
The motion won't be going to Congress as it's deemed to beincorrect or in breach of some rule!!!

Wording I wonder? ::)

tippmaninlaois

Yesterdays Indo

Excellent Graphics which brings clarity to the current funding situation

Interesting also to see the number of registered players per county ranking

https://twitter.com/aaronmcfc1/status/1484877741119922176?s=21

Quote from: tippmaninlaois on January 23, 2022, 01:59:44 PM
Yesterdays Indo

Excellent Graphics which brings clarity to the current funding situation

Interesting also to see the number of registered players per county ranking

https://twitter.com/aaronmcfc1/status/1484877741119922176?s=21
More willful ignorance

Comparing DEVELOPMENT funding with number of registered players. Like FFS.

Nobody cares one iota of what this money actually does. A huge number of the brain dead thinks this somehow goes to the Dublin football team!

Nobody cares how  Kerry won 5 minors in a row.

No point copying Kerry. Just, Show me the money and give me a slice.

Ooooh aren't we touchy on this subject ::)

Quote from: Rossfan on January 23, 2022, 09:00:02 PM
Ooooh aren't we touchy on this subject ::)
Hilarious 😂

Fento and the boys lapping up all this development money, and that's the best you got 🙄🙄🙄🙄🙄🙄🙄🙄

Ye'll be well provided for with the feckin Árd Stiúrthóir riding shotgun for ye to keep the plebs in their places.

As usual no debate about development funding. Just moronic nonsense.

No debate?
Just like Congress then.

We all have to be enjoying what's happening in Croke, don't we ?

Quote from: thewobbler on January 29, 2022, 08:04:24 PM
We all have to be enjoying what's happening in Croke, don't we ?
It is amazing that Armagh can produce a Rian O'Neill without development funding.

Apparently Dublin producing Con, Jack, Fento, CKK, etc was all down to development funding, even though none of them were ever trained by games  development officers! It was just amazing osmosis. Or something.

Maybe all the shite talk will stop now.

Maybe retrospectively non-Dubs will realize what we were saying about once-in-a-generation talent.