Tyrone Club Football and Hurling

Started by Gabriel_Hurl, November 09, 2006, 10:54:03 PM

WeeDonns

Have said it before on here; there's a requirement for a recreational league.

• 8 weeks
  • Summer evenings
  • No posponements or refixtures
Its the sort of thing a club could run off as a fundraiser. Team entrance fees contributed by those playing, so no burden on the clubs represented. Club running it gets those fees.
They could even run it as a Garvaghy fundraiser and play the games up there

redzone

Who will organise this league. There is underage girls and boys matches/training nearly every night on club pitches so getting at  evening that would suit all wouldn't happen. It would turn into a farce after a bit. Between injurys, clubs being open to injury claims as it wouldn't be sanctioned by the county board. Div 3 reserve football is as close as your get to something like that. Mental what some people can dream up off. Daydreamers half of Yous

Quote from: Christmas Lights on May 15, 2018, 11:30:18 PM
Quote from: LeoMc on May 15, 2018, 09:34:39 PM
Quote from: GetOverTheBar on May 15, 2018, 03:09:32 PMdebate but men at that club could tell you better - think there was a football/hurling split some years ago caused a bit of bother. Don't think anyone else really gets close? Maybe Dromore?
If they are fielding 4 teams including subs they would definitely have the biggest playing squad by a long way. However that may not correlate directly to the biggest pick, just the best retention of players.
I would think that if a couple of the other big clubs started to put out a third team to provide more playing opportunities their pick would soon
Quote from: DownFanatic on May 15, 2018, 02:12:23 PM
Errigal have the biggest pick of any club in Tyrone?

I'd say Omagh would run them close. Coalisland at stages can have up to 50 men out from what they tell me. Carrickmore used to be in this increase.
There is plenty of us would like to play a bit of ball without having to train 3 days a week and follow a gym programme and diet.

Well tough luck mate,  football doesn't work like that. If you had that attitude even playing division 3, you'd be tanked every game. I would argue that You can't play football now at any level without doing the appropriate training. It's no Craic either when your not fit and your blowing out if your hole after 10 minutes trying to chase the opposition around the pitch. You want a handy time, then football isn't for you mate, you may go play bowls or something.
I still manage the odd game but cheers for the fitness assessment.

Quote from: redzone on May 16, 2018, 10:29:01 AM
Who will organise this league. There is underage girls and boys matches/training nearly every night on club pitches so getting at  evening that would suit all wouldn't happen. It would turn into a farce after a bit. Between injurys, clubs being open to injury claims as it wouldn't be sanctioned by the county board. Div 3 reserve football is as close as your get to something like that. Mental what some people can dream up off. Daydreamers half of Yous

It's a great idea to be fair, but in reality it would hit problems. Because it's recreational and there isn't as much onus on players, you'd find it hard to have the numbers week in and week out. There'd be games cancelled due to lack of numbers every week as people just wouldn't invest as heavily in it. Which is a pity as it would be great for the pool of players who are either past it or not prepared to put in the effort of training 4 days a week. 

Christmas Lights

Here's a man who knows a thing or two about the in and outs of football related insurances and sanctions.   Great post.  Agree with you on the daydream believers. 

This seems to have moved on from having a thirds team which does not have to train as much to a recreational league. As a few have indicated the recreational league could run into insurance issues unless sanctioned by County board and under the auspices of individual clubs.

However I would still contend that the clubs with the bigger population centres could increase their playing numbers by having a Thirds team which does not have the same level of commitment as a Senior player in a Division 1 club.

tiempo

Quote from: Christmas Lights on May 16, 2018, 11:28:59 AM

Here's a man who knows a thing or two about the in and outs of football related insurances and sanctions.   Great post.  Agree with you on the daydream believers.

7 or 9 a side is the way to go.

Off the bat... blitz style league, very successful on the touch rugby scene in England.

Name squad of 15, £30 per player to enter, subs roll on/off.

You'll find if someone has paid a few quid to play in a summer 7s league they'll turn up most weeks.

A bit like block booking a 5 a side sports hall or paying for a set of gym classes in advance.

Use certain clubs or schools as hubs, not all facilities are in frequent use.

Its not rocket science, sure they've even introduced walking rugby, did we beat them to it with daydream Gaelic?

You want it lads go out there and get it started and good luck.

Quote from: LeoMc on May 16, 2018, 12:17:57 PM
This seems to have moved on from having a thirds team which does not have to train as much to a recreational league. As a few have indicated the recreational league could run into insurance issues unless sanctioned by County board and under the auspices of individual clubs.

However I would still contend that the clubs with the bigger population centres could increase their playing numbers by having a Thirds team which does not have the same level of commitment as a Senior player in a Division 1 club.

Carrickmore had one a few years ago as well I think. But they struggled to keep the numbers together.
With regards to commitment. If they were looking to be competitive in D3 they would require a fair level of commitment. Most of the Div 3 teams train as much as a lot of  Div 1 & 2.

laceer

Quote from: trueblue1234 on May 16, 2018, 12:53:30 PM
Quote from: LeoMc on May 16, 2018, 12:17:57 PM

Carrickmore had one a few years ago as well I think. But they struggled to keep the numbers together.
With regards to commitment. If they were looking to be competitive in D3 they would require a fair level of commitment. Most of the Div 3 teams train as much as a lot of  Div 1 & 2.

Agreed. If you are not training 2/3 nights a week regularly you will get left behind very quickly in D3 - speaking from personal experience! Errigal thirds struggled for a few years but seem to be taking it a lot more seriously now and are beating some of the top ranked teams in the league.

Tiempo's idea is a good one. Would this type of competition not face the same resistance from County Board/Croke Park as the over 40's though?

Under Lights

What's the whole insurance debate thing about really, if there was a recreational club just treat it like the Cookstown Street League or whatever, you don't worry about insurance with playing a bit of indoor with your mates. How does the competion that Galbally run every year work like.

Quote from: trueblue1234 on May 16, 2018, 11:27:59 AM

It's a great idea to be fair, but in reality it would hit problems. Because it's recreational and there isn't as much onus on players, you'd find it hard to have the numbers week in and week out. There'd be games cancelled due to lack of numbers every week as people just wouldn't invest as heavily in it. Which is a pity as it would be great for the pool of players who are either past it or not prepared to put in the effort of training 4 days a week.

Around Dungannon about 20 or so years ago there used to be a pub league which was basically a recreational league with teams from the various pubs taking part. Was great craic.

Tyrone Gaa

Quote from: BennyHarp on May 16, 2018, 01:34:29 PM

Around Dungannon about 20 or so years ago there used to be a pub league which was basically a recreational league with teams from the various pubs taking part. Was great craic.

A pub league is probably the way to go about a recreational league then there can be a focal point for pints after the game lol.
Living the dream!!!

GetOverTheBar

Quote from: BennyHarp on May 16, 2018, 01:34:29 PM

I've seen pictures of my da in these games actually.

Then there was the league cup a few years ago too, was a good bit of craic - wasn't taken 'as serious' as league or championship but was great craic and an opportunity for lads to get playing proper senior football who were on the fringes or needed that bit of belief.

bigtogs

Lack of insurance is recreational football main stumbling block.,

BigFatFan

Gavin McGilly walked from Moy apparently. Any truth to the rumour? If so, who will step up?