Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: BennyCake on May 30, 2016, 12:06:08 AM

Title: New 'Top Gear'
Post by: BennyCake on May 30, 2016, 12:06:08 AM
Well, what did you think?
Title: Re: New 'Top Gear'
Post by: Tony Baloney on May 30, 2016, 12:08:41 AM
Worse. LeBlanc probably okay in the long run. Evans a tool.
Post by: lurganblue on May 31, 2016, 10:29:13 AM
strange.  Evans is like a child and LeBlanc seemed to be acting rather than presenting.  Early days yet though
Post by: GJL on May 31, 2016, 11:07:22 AM
The Ariel Nomad looks like serious fun. I want..
Post by: Hardy on May 31, 2016, 11:12:41 AM
Quote from: lurganblue on May 31, 2016, 10:29:13 AM
Evans is like a child

Well it is a children's programme.
Post by: laoislad on May 31, 2016, 11:36:15 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on May 30, 2016, 12:08:41 AM
Worse. LeBlanc probably okay in the long run. Evans a tool.
Evans is a tool alright. He was trying to hard to be like Clarkson who is another tool. Hammond and May are missed more than Clarkson imo.
It was the same as before really with the usual slow motion action shots of dirt flying everywhere.
Le Blanc might be ok but Evans was brutal.
Post by: BennyCake on May 31, 2016, 04:39:39 PM
I thought Joey was quite good. Evans was terrible. The trio before worked well, just like 3 blokes in a garage would behave, standing around discussing cars. Evans is annoying and loud. Doesn't suit this kind of thing. He behaved like it was TFI.
Post by: ONeill on May 31, 2016, 11:46:08 PM
Evans is a hoor of a man for the shoutin.
Post by: general_lee on June 01, 2016, 08:03:00 AM
Ever since that gimp was at Billie piper (my celeb crush at the time) I couldn't stand him. I watched ten mins before turning it off. The man is awful to listen to and even worse to look at. Le Blanc just stood around like a spare part
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 01, 2016, 01:16:11 PM
Quote from: general_lee on June 01, 2016, 08:03:00 AM
Ever since that gimp was at Billie piper (my celeb crush at the time) I couldn't stand him. I watched ten mins before turning it off. The man is awful to listen to and even worse to look at. Le Blanc just stood around like a spare part
My missus said she couldn't look at his thinning dyed ginger hair.
Post by: theskull1 on June 01, 2016, 01:21:00 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on June 01, 2016, 01:16:11 PM
My missus said she couldn't look at his thinning dyed ginger hair.

:o
Whats for dinner tonight pet?  ;D
Post by: doodaa on June 01, 2016, 02:47:18 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on May 31, 2016, 04:39:39 PM
I thought Joey was quite good. Evans was terrible. The trio before worked well, just like 3 blokes in a garage would behave, standing around discussing cars. Evans is annoying and loud. Doesn't suit this kind of thing. He behaved like it was TFI.

Bingo, exactly what I thought as well.

I'll still watch it despite Evans.
Post by: ned on June 02, 2016, 04:30:07 PM
Unbelievable kick up about three public schoolboy, racists leaving a TV show.
The show is about cars and as long as they have slots like the one with LeBlanc and the Nomad it will do okay.
Who would you rather have? Clarkson or Evans? Would you rather your bollocks were kicked or punched?
Post by: laoislad on June 02, 2016, 05:15:00 PM
Quote from: ned on June 02, 2016, 04:30:07 PM
The show is about cars and as long as they have slots like the one with LeBlanc and the Nomad it will do okay.
Who would you rather have? Clarkson or Evans? Would you rather your bollocks were kicked or punched?
Bad example. Some people may be into getting their bollocks punched.
I watched a show on Channel 4 one night where a fella got a kick out of attaching a car battery to his testicles.
Post by: ned on June 02, 2016, 05:19:15 PM
Quote from: laoislad on June 02, 2016, 05:15:00 PM
I watched a show on Channel 4 one night where a fella got a kick out of attaching a car battery to his testicles.

So what you are saying is, liking Clarkson is a perversion. I would agree.
Post by: TabClear on June 02, 2016, 07:29:39 PM
Quote from: ned on June 02, 2016, 05:19:15 PM
Quote from: laoislad on June 02, 2016, 05:15:00 PM

So what you are saying is, liking Clarkson is a perversion. I would agree.

I liked the old version.  It was an entertainment show about 3 mates who liked cars and didn't give fxxk about the establishment.  Yes they took it too far on occasion but it was good viewing.  A league of their own is in a similar vein, mates who mess about with a vague link to sport.

Jobs you would enjoy getting up in the morning to go to! !
Post by: IolarCoisCuain on June 02, 2016, 09:49:09 PM
Quote from: general_lee on June 01, 2016, 08:03:00 AM

Time will heal General. Time will heal.
Post by: under the bar on June 03, 2016, 12:20:08 AM
Clarkson is the type of person whose obituary you'd look forward too....
Post by: 5 Sams on June 06, 2016, 08:19:11 PM
Much better this week....the piece with Evans and the McLaren was brilliant...what a yoke ;)
Post by: Babe Ruth 47 on June 06, 2016, 08:36:58 PM
Eddie Jordan gives the show a much needed other dimension. Good character.
Post by: mrdeeds on June 06, 2016, 08:46:46 PM
Just after watching second episode. Massive improvement. When do they go to Ireland on show?
Post by: 5 Sams on June 06, 2016, 09:18:25 PM
Quote from: mrdeeds on June 06, 2016, 08:46:46 PM
Just after watching second episode. Massive improvement. When do they go to Ireland on show?

I think its the 4th week.
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 06, 2016, 09:48:59 PM
Agree. Much better, helped by the video in S. Africa and the Maclaren.
Post by: BennyCake on July 04, 2016, 03:41:35 PM
Evans is quitting.
Post by: screenexile on July 04, 2016, 03:57:37 PM
Was doomed from the start!

Evans wasn't the right choice as he's quite divisive in that you either like him or loathe him and I think they needed a safer option after Clarkson. It will be interesting to see who they get for the next series!
Post by: general_lee on July 04, 2016, 04:38:06 PM
He's f**king awful and thank god he quit. He doesn't have a voice for radio never mind a face for tv.. I couldnt watch past the first ten mins of the first episode thanks to that weasel
Post by: LeoMc on July 04, 2016, 09:44:29 PM
That is the set complete now that Ginger had joined Posh Cameron, Sporty Hodgson, Scary Garage and Baby Johnson.
Post by: muppet on July 05, 2016, 01:11:29 AM
Quote from: LeoMc on July 04, 2016, 09:44:29 PM
That is the set complete now that Ginger had joined Posh Cameron, Sporty Hodgson, Scary Garage and Baby Johnson.

The Spice Nobs?
Post by: NAG1 on July 05, 2016, 10:04:57 AM
Quote from: Babe Ruth 47 on June 06, 2016, 08:36:58 PM
Eddie Jordan gives the show a much needed other dimension. Good character.

Heard it all now, he is beyond useless as a TV presenter, he cant even think what he is going to say before it is out. So stilted and disjointed.
Post by: Bord na Mona man on July 05, 2016, 10:28:55 AM
I'm surprised Evans went so quickly. If he had stuck it out, he might have found his feet and the audience start to warm to him.
I presume there are other background reasons?
Post by: muppet on July 05, 2016, 01:45:48 PM
Quote from: Bord na Mona man on July 05, 2016, 10:28:55 AM
I'm surprised Evans went so quickly. If he had stuck it out, he might have found his feet and the audience start to warm to him.

http://www.itv.com/news/2016-07-04/chris-evans-accused-of-sexual-assault/ (http://www.itv.com/news/2016-07-04/chris-evans-accused-of-sexual-assault/)
Post by: Tony Baloney on July 05, 2016, 01:49:36 PM
Quote from: Bord na Mona man on July 05, 2016, 10:28:55 AM
He was on the front page of the tabloids yesterday BEFORE he announced he was quitting.
Post by: Bord na Mona man on July 05, 2016, 04:09:05 PM
Shoved out the door then?
Post by: BennyCake on March 25, 2018, 11:50:22 PM
Jaysus, this Top Gear is getting worse and worse.
Post by: Tony Baloney on March 25, 2018, 11:59:59 PM
It is f**king dire stuff. They can't let it go on for much longer. I'd say the Beeb would love the other 3 back in the morning.
Post by: thewobbler on March 26, 2018, 12:32:39 AM
It's essentially the same show. Same cars, same cinematography, same guests, same fun/daft/overblown challenges, same laddish humour.

But it isn't the same.

Turns out that all along, we were all tuning in to watch Clarkson and the other pair being the entertaining creatures they are. I guess we all kind of knew it too.

Post by: From the Bunker on March 26, 2018, 12:41:29 AM
The gas thing is the 3 (Clarkson and the other pair) were/are three of the Biggest snobs you'd ever meet! And part of the charm of this was watching three snobs suffer on their adventures.
Post by: ned on March 26, 2018, 11:16:59 AM
I like it even if Matt Leblanc is too much to the fore! It's all about the cars for me. Watching a professional driver like Harris sling a Porsche around a track is infinitely more entertaining than Clarkson trying to do the same. Also Amazon aren't making anymore of The Grand Tour.
Post by: Owen Brannigan on March 26, 2018, 01:13:54 PM
I would prefer it to go back to the really old Top Gear.  With no Fifth Gear we need a programme to look at the cars that the public drive and can afford and provide honest reviews.  No interest in super cars or stupid challenges.
Post by: BennyCake on March 26, 2018, 07:37:31 PM
Quote from: ned on March 26, 2018, 11:16:59 AM
I like it even if Matt Leblanc is too much to the fore! It's all about the cars for me. Watching a professional driver like Harris sling a Porsche around a track is infinitely more entertaining than Clarkson trying to do the same. Also Amazon aren't making anymore of The Grand Tour.

I'm not into cars but the other 3 made it enjoyable for non-car fans. The 3 of them taking the piss and doing daft stunts was what was enjoyable. They rubbed off each other well. Joey and the other two dont.

Do you think the beeb will bite the bullet and get clarkson and Co back?
Post by: ned on March 26, 2018, 10:01:35 PM
Quote from: Owen Brannigan on March 26, 2018, 01:13:54 PM
I would prefer it to go back to the really old Top Gear.  With no Fifth Gear we need a programme to look at the cars that the public drive and can afford and provide honest reviews.  No interest in super cars or stupid challenges.

There are numerous car review sites out there that look at every car the ordinary person can afford. Carwow for example. Top gear is basically entertainment about cars. I don't want to know about a VW Polo thst does 0-60 in
13 seconds. I want to see a Dodge outgun a Lambo over a quarter mile drag race.
Post by: ned on March 26, 2018, 10:03:45 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on March 26, 2018, 07:37:31 PM

I'm not into cars but the other 3 made it enjoyable for non-car fans. The 3 of them taking the piss and doing daft stunts was what was enjoyable. They rubbed off each other well. Joey and the other two dont.

Short answer no. The current format and presenters are doing well. Also, if you arent into cars watch another entertainment show.
Post by: BennyCake on March 26, 2018, 10:35:21 PM
Quote from: ned on March 26, 2018, 10:03:45 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on March 26, 2018, 07:37:31 PM

Short answer no. The current format and presenters are doing well. Also, if you arent into cars watch another entertainment show.

I might do. But the point was, Clarkson and co made it enjoyable for non car fans too. Yes the show was about cars, but they still made it enjoyable even if you knew feck all about them.

I don't know how you can say the current format is doing well. It's like watching cricket while on diazepam.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on March 26, 2018, 10:44:22 PM
Watched top gear this evening for first time in a few years! Though it was fine; bit of change not a bad thing! Ps Clarkson was always a hateful p***k!!
Post by: Tony Baloney on March 26, 2018, 11:41:16 PM
Rory Reid is a really weak link in the show and they haven't done much to disguise it.
Post by: NAG1 on March 27, 2018, 09:06:55 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on March 26, 2018, 11:41:16 PM
Rory Reid is a really weak link in the show and they haven't done much to disguise it.

Yeah he is the weaker of the three.

To be fair is has improved on the last season and as someone says if you dont like the kind of stuff that they are going to do in the show dont watch it. Simple as.

Post by: BennyCake on July 10, 2019, 11:48:09 PM
Well, any thoughts on the re-reincarnation of Top Gear with Paddy McGuinness and Freddie Flintoff?

It's ok I think, but they seem to be sent on these tasks that have no aim or point to them. Very weird.

It's a far cry from Clarkson and Co.
Post by: Tony Baloney on July 10, 2019, 11:55:09 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on July 10, 2019, 11:48:09 PM
Well, any thoughts on the re-reincarnation of Top Gear with Paddy McGuinness and Freddie Flintoff?

It's ok I think, but they seem to be sent on these tasks that have no aim or point to them. Very weird.

Like it. Still prefer the original trio but then again I can remember it back when Chris Goffey was reviewing the latest Vauxhall Cavalier.  :-[
Post by: rosnarun on July 11, 2019, 03:42:12 PM

It’s ok I think, but they seem to be sent on these tasks that have no aim or point to them. Very weird.

It’s a far cry from Clarkson and Co.
didnt realize that but i hope its not as bad as it sounds
Post by: Jayop on July 11, 2019, 08:53:50 PM

I like Flintoff and the wee fella is growing on me, but Paddy McGuiness' voice would go straight through your head.

That said, it's certainly the best three they've had since the original trio, and with the grand tour and this being watchable again I'm very happy.