GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: omagh_gael on March 08, 2010, 10:12:05 AM

Title: Tyrone v Cork - Healy Park, 13/03/10
Post by: omagh_gael on March 08, 2010, 10:12:05 AM
This really is make or break now for Tyrone, lose this and I doubt we really are facing division 2 football next year. Some encouraging signs evident against Monaghan. Particularly Aiden Cassidy's display in midfield which will be badly needed against Corks big men on saturday evening.

Cork on a three match winning streak and we are on a three match losing streak, signs aren't looking too good!
Title: Re: Tyrone v Cork - Healy Park, 13/03/10
Post by: Hereiam on March 08, 2010, 11:36:31 AM
What is the throw in time for this one.
Post by: omagh_gael on March 08, 2010, 12:05:36 PM
Half 7, nearly certain it's going to be shown live on setanta
Post by: stevetharlear on March 08, 2010, 06:46:14 PM
Can't wait for this game, both teams will need to buck their ideas up.

Tyrone for obvious reasons, need a win under their belts and some momentum if they are to stay up and avoid the dross that is contained in the division below (speaking from bitter experience).

Cork, even though they've won 3 games in a row, are far from convincing, especially in defence. If Michael Shields plays full back for Cork I think Tyrone will beat us, if Counihan changes him and puts him further out the field then I think we've a great chance.
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on March 08, 2010, 06:53:43 PM
One of Tyrone's most important league game's in a long time. Would love to see Cassidy and Justy McMahon start in midfield to see how they'd compete. Joe McMahon looked comfortable at full back v Mayo so could take over from Justy. Hopefully the like's of Cavanagh and Dooher will be available.
Post by: Maguire01 on March 08, 2010, 06:54:03 PM
Brendan Crossan in today's Irish News:
QuoteCork - remember them? - are in town next Saturday night. Try getting a ticket for Healy Park. Just try...
Is he having a laugh?
Post by: Chris agus Snoop on March 08, 2010, 07:56:08 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on March 08, 2010, 06:54:03 PM
QuoteCork - remember them? - are in town next Saturday night. Try getting a ticket for Healy Park. Just try...

Ulster has no respect for Cork.
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on March 08, 2010, 08:44:08 PM
Is he having a laugh?

Its pay at the gate so you would have trouble getting one alright.
Post by: Mr. Nakata on March 08, 2010, 09:20:20 PM
Is McMahon available for selection on Saturday night? I thought I read somewhere he would miss Monaghan and Cork. It looks as though Harte is going to persevere with Justy at 3, with the option of moving him into a more advanced role later in the game if needs must. Although I'd like to see him play further out the field, the defense is looking shaky enough at the minute, so maybe it's best if he stays put. Red Sean doesn't look comfortable in the corner. Cork is a mouth watering prospect as is the gallon of nectar which will surely follow. There was some banter flying at work today. Saffrons and orchard fans getting a few digs in, loving it they are. Early days.....
Post by: trileacman on March 08, 2010, 09:27:27 PM
Is he having a laugh?
Could be. He works in the Sports section of Ulster's finest circus.
Post by: omagh_gael on March 08, 2010, 09:48:57 PM
Joe's suspension began on the 14th February so I'd imagine it runs out at 12am on the 14th March which will be 24 hours late...would have been a useful man to have on the field against Cork!
Post by: tyronefan on March 08, 2010, 09:58:54 PM
another case of the madness of suspensions based on time instead of matches

if this match was played on Sunday instead of Saturday night then he would have only have missed 1 match for the same offence
Post by: omagh_gael on March 08, 2010, 11:09:21 PM
It is a joke alright tyroneman, how the system can allow someone to miss two games for Joe's offence (lucky as it could be three games) when another man could give someone else a proper slap in the jaw and get away with one game is ridiculous.
Post by: ONeill on March 10, 2010, 10:09:22 PM
Def Sat night?
Post by: omagh_gael on March 10, 2010, 11:05:47 PM
Yup O'Neill and David Coldrick is blowing the whistle.

http://gaa.ie/page/allianz_gaa_football_national_league_roinn_11.html
Post by: Wee Roddy on March 11, 2010, 08:37:33 AM
I really disagree with the sentiments that we have to keep Justy McMahon at full back because the defence is creaking. Perhaps I am way of the mark here, but i think that moving him to midfield would benefit the defence. Joe, although he is not available for this one, is by far the more defensive minded of the two in my opinion. We have far too many cavalier defenders on the pitch and I am all in favour of carrying the game to the opposition, but when you see your corner back soloing out up the right hand side of the field about 50 yards from the goal and his two supporting players are the full back and the left half back, then there is something wrong.
I can remember when Gormley scored his goal at Clones last year two smart men behind me reckoned that if he had of playing centre back he wouldn't have been there. My brother laughed and I sort of smiled, secretly agreeing with the sentiment. They are being proved right.
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on March 11, 2010, 06:31:54 PM
Cathal McCarron was back on bench last day. Wouldn't mind seeing him get a run out somewhere in defence. Can hardly remember him getting a game for the seniors since Donaghy gave him a bit of a roasting down in Kerry a few years ago. At least he would add a bit of size to the backline.
Post by: ONeill on March 11, 2010, 08:15:27 PM
No team yet?
Post by: Lamh Dhearg Alba on March 11, 2010, 08:43:13 PM
Quote from: Tyrone Dreamer on March 11, 2010, 06:31:54 PM
Cathal McCarron was back on bench last day. Wouldn't mind seeing him get a run out somewhere in defence. Can hardly remember him getting a game for the seniors since Donaghy gave him a bit of a roasting down in Kerry a few years ago. At least he would add a bit of size to the backline.

If I remember correctly McCarron got injured quite early in that game which saw Justy moved to full-back to fill the gap and he never looked back from there. Think McCarron maybe only had 1 start in the league since then?

On Wee Roddy's point I dont you can say the two old lads are "being proved right" on the basis of 3 league defeats this year. 3 All-Ireland's in 5 years would suggest the system has worked pretty well ;).

Really need to be winning this one if we are to stay in Division 1. Time for a few lads to take their performance levels up a gear or two.
Post by: tyronefan on March 11, 2010, 08:43:53 PM
J Curran; D Carlin, J McMahon, C McCarron; D Harte, C Gormley, R McMenamin; A Cassidy, C Cavanagh; M Donnelly, B McGuigan, R Mulgrew; T McGuigan, M Penrose, O Mulligan.
Post by: tyronefan on March 11, 2010, 08:50:54 PM
Tyrone manager Mickey Harte has made two changes for Saturday's crunch National League clash with Division One leaders Cork at Healy Park.
Cathal McCarron comes into defence in place of Sean O'Neill and Mark Donnelly makes his league debut in attack.
Midfielder Kevin Hughes is ruled out by injury, with Colm Cavanagh switching to midfield to partner Aidan Cassidy.
Sean Cavanagh and Philip Jordan are set to make their first appearances of the season, having been named as subs.
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on March 11, 2010, 08:58:11 PM
Don't want to be to critical but suprised to see Curran in nets again. Also would be worried about the half forward lines ability to cope with the strength of the Cork half back line.
Post by: Carmen Stateside on March 11, 2010, 09:03:12 PM
Did someone not say Mark Donnelly had left the panel?
Delighted for him to get a chance.
Post by: MR99 on March 11, 2010, 09:59:38 PM
Quote from: tyronefan on March 11, 2010, 08:43:53 PM
J Curran; D Carlin, J McMahon, C McCarron; D Harte, C Gormley, R McMenamin; A Cassidy, C Cavanagh; M Donnelly, B McGuigan, R Mulgrew; T McGuigan, M Penrose, O Mulligan.
Micky really taking the piss this time. Has big Packie had a leg apumtated or something?  Surely Colm Cav has been given enough chances now to have kept Sean happy?  Did McCullagh run over Mickey's cat?  Serious questions about half forward line, surely will move Mark Donnelly into full forward line which is his more natural position. Lets hope McCarron can show his undoubted ability in what looks like a reasonably strong defence although I hear he has only been back training 2 weeks, maybe a bit early for him.
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on March 11, 2010, 10:07:45 PM
Quote from: MR99 on March 11, 2010, 09:59:38 PM
Quote from: tyronefan on March 11, 2010, 08:43:53 PM
Micky really taking the piss this time. Has big Packie had a leg apumtated or something?  Surely Colm Cav has been given enough chances now to have kept Sean happy?  Did McCullagh run over Mickey's cat?  Serious questions about half forward line, surely will move Mark Donnelly into full forward line which is his more natural position. Lets hope McCarron can show his undoubted ability in what looks like a reasonably strong defence although I hear he has only been back training 2 weeks, maybe a bit early for him.

I was as criticial of Colm Cavanagh after the Derry game as anyone. However, I think people have their mind made up on him and aren't giving him a fair chance. Not saying he should start come championship but he has been one of the better players in the last 2 games despite missing chances the last day. Has worked hard round the middle and picked up a good bit of ball. There have been players played a lot worse this year and not a word about it.
Post by: tyrone86 on March 11, 2010, 10:13:37 PM
Good to see Mark Donnelly get a run - he did alright in the McKenna Cup and is worth a go against good opposition.

McCarron played wing back the night it pished in style before throw- in agin Galway in Omagh last year.
Post by: sandwiches_in_the_boot on March 11, 2010, 10:32:28 PM
Surprised to see C Mc Carron get a start. Fair play I suppose, give him the chance. While I would have had high hopes for Curren, I do think his kickouts have proved a liability.
CC in midifeld... I dunno, Mickey obviously believes in him, he did ok against Mayo, but I don't see it, 2 anonymous games CF.

Bit shocked to see sparky on half forward line. When did he ever play there? Still glad to see him get the start. But Brian McG needs to be dropped. He hasn't found form in the league at all. I think Mulgrew deserves the chance, if he'd convince himself he can do it. He was quiet last week, but did well with the chances he had. Can we not give Petey Harte the chance in the league. Friggin played far better than CC ever had, granted Cork might be very physical for him,   

Aiden Cassidy had been great. Very glad to see an emerging MF talent in Tyrone. Would love to see him play alongside Sean Cavanagh or an in form McGinley.

Can't see where Tyrone are gonna get the points this year now.
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on March 11, 2010, 10:37:24 PM
If it's it tight with 20 minutes to go Tyrone have a great chance of winning it. Cavanagh,Jordan,Sean O'Neill,McGinley,McCullagh great options on the bench. Very hard to work out what's wrong with McGinley though. He doesn't look badly out of shape but games are passing him by.

A win here and you'd go to Galway a lot more confident of surviving especially with Joe McMahon and Cavanagh probably ready to start.
Post by: Tommo2 on March 12, 2010, 08:30:01 AM
I can't understand why Dermot Carlin has been named in the starting 15. He is unavailable on Saturday night due to a prior committment.
Post by: Rois on March 12, 2010, 09:24:48 AM
He can dance his way down to the Mellon Country Inn afterwards - sure the match is in Omagh. 
Post by: ONeill on March 12, 2010, 09:28:56 AM
Hope you're right TD but I'm not confident at all. Going by last weekend's matches, Cork look to be in a much better place than we are at the minute. It might take a herculean effort to get anything from this.
Post by: GAA_Punter on March 12, 2010, 12:22:51 PM
Allianz National Football League Division 1 Round 4
Tyrone v Cork, 7.30pm, Omagh

Heading into their fourth game in the current league and no one would have anticipated Tyrone to be one of only four teams across all four divisions to be chasing their first league points.

Mickey Harte's side are the only team seeking their first win in Division 1 and the task doesn't get any easier on Saturday as they welcome Cork to Healy Park.

The Rebels are unbeaten to date and despite reeling in the news that talented forward James Masters has left the panel, this has been counteracted with All-Star Nicholas Murphy making a return to the starting line-up.
With classy forwards such as Murphy, Colm O'Neill and Paul Kerrigan named in attack Conor Counihan's charges should have enough in reserve to take their fourth win.

VERDICT – Cork
Rest of the weekends previews on
http://www.sportsnewsireland.com/2010/03/12/weekend-gaelic-football-previews-saturday-13th-sunday-14th-march/
Post by: ziggysego on March 12, 2010, 01:38:11 PM
Quote from: Rois on March 12, 2010, 09:24:48 AM
He can dance his way down to the Mellon Country Inn afterwards - sure the match is in Omagh.

Football then dancing? That's a tall order Rois!
Post by: Paddy1804 on March 12, 2010, 03:15:31 PM
Does anyone know if the game tomorrow night is an all-ticket affair?
Post by: tyrone86 on March 12, 2010, 04:01:05 PM
Quote from: Paddy1804 on March 12, 2010, 03:15:31 PM
Does anyone know if the game tomorrow night is an all-ticket affair?

Definitely not
Post by: Puckoon on March 12, 2010, 04:40:11 PM
Is it conceivable that we could finish the campaign without a single point? Has that ever been done before?
Post by: Mike Sheehy on March 12, 2010, 07:02:18 PM
I hope its a good clean game of football but I fear Tyrones lowly standing in the league and the fair play index may prevent that happening.

http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=125326 (http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=125326)

http://www.hoganstand.com/pdfs/week4.pdf (http://www.hoganstand.com/pdfs/week4.pdf)
Post by: ziggysego on March 12, 2010, 08:16:36 PM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on March 12, 2010, 07:02:18 PM
I hope its a good clean game of football but I fear Tyrones lowly standing in the league and the fair play index may prevent that happening.

http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=125326 (http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=125326)

http://www.hoganstand.com/pdfs/week4.pdf (http://www.hoganstand.com/pdfs/week4.pdf)

(http://www.funnyanimalsite.com/pictures/Yawn_Cat.jpg)
Post by: Zulu on March 12, 2010, 08:43:55 PM
Cork (NFL v Tyrone): K O'Halloran; R Carey, M Shields, E Cotter; P Kissane, G Spillane, N O'Leary; A O'Connor, P O'Neill; P Kerrigan, D O'Connor, P Kelly; D Goulding, N Murphy, C O'Neill.

I'd doubt this will be the team to start and I suspect Murphy and Kerrigan will swop lines. I wouldn't be surprised to see Shields out at center back either as he is having a tough time of it in full back and I don't think he is able to play there tbh. Nevertheless I suspect Cork will win this, home field advantage is pretty important but I think Tyrone are missing too many to be able to beat a strong looking Cork team.
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on March 12, 2010, 09:31:51 PM
Quote from: ONeill on March 12, 2010, 09:28:56 AM
Hope you're right TD but I'm not confident at all. Going by last weekend's matches, Cork look to be in a much better place than we are at the minute. It might take a herculean effort to get anything from this.

Wouldn't say I'm very confident but think we have a chance. Not very convinced with the team picked. Would nearly go as far as to say that I'd be more confident in the following 15 if the players were fully fit:
McConnell
PJ
Joe McMahon
Swift
Sean O'Neill
Gourley
Jordan
Hughes
McGinley
Dooher
P Harte
Mellon
McCullagh
O'Neill
Cavanagh
Post by: tyssam5 on March 12, 2010, 09:39:14 PM
For our US based contributors I see Setanta-I offering this game at $19.99, I think they are overvaluing their product just a little bit! I will be on lookout for a link that costs about $19.99 less if anyone can provide tomorrow  ;)
Post by: DirtyDozen12 on March 12, 2010, 10:32:41 PM
Quote from: Tyrone Dreamer on March 12, 2010, 09:31:51 PM

Wouldn't say I'm very confident but think we have a chance. Not very convinced with the team picked. Would nearly go as far as to say that I'd be more confident in the following 15 if the players were fully fit:
McConnell
PJ
Joe McMahon
Swift
Sean O'Neill
Gourley
Jordan
Hughes
McGinley
Dooher
P Harte
Mellon
McCullagh
O'Neill
Cavanagh

??? ??? ???  If your not taking the piss here then you dont have a clue and should stop posting teams right away.  No point in talking about boys who are still on the injury list and not fully ready to play, yo have to make do with the players at your disposal.

Also, 2Tyrones 2 best players thus far in the league have arguably be Justy McMahon and Cassidy and you have ommited both from your team  ???  Stop talking about 'if we had a fully fit team' because we currently dont

Not a clue.
Post by: longrunsthefox on March 12, 2010, 10:34:50 PM

McConnell
PJ
Joe McMahon
Swift
Sean O'Neill
Gourley
Jordan
Hughes
McGinley
Dooher
P Harte
Mellon
McCullagh
O'Neill
Cavanagh

Is that Colm or Sean Cavanagh in corner forward?
Post by: trileacman on March 12, 2010, 10:37:29 PM
Quote from: DirtyDozen12 on March 12, 2010, 10:32:41 PM

McConnell
PJ
Joe McMahon
Swift
Sean O'Neill
Gourley
Jordan
Hughes
McGinley
Dooher
P Harte
Mellon
McCullagh
O'Neill
Cavanagh

??? ??? ???  If your not taking the piss here then you dont have a clue and should stop posting teams right away.  No point in talking about boys who are still on the injury list and not fully ready to play, yo have to make do with the players at your disposal.

Also, 2Tyrones 2 best players thus far in the league have arguably be Justy McMahon and Cassidy and you have ommited both from your team  ???  Stop talking about 'if we had a fully fit team' because we currently dont

Not a clue.
I can think of about 15 things wrong with that team.
Post by: DirtyDozen12 on March 12, 2010, 10:38:45 PM
Does anyone have a list of the Tyrone subs for tomorrows encounter?

Think McCusker unlucky not to be starting tomorrow, 1-1 against Mayo and kicked a point against Monaghan last week.  Good to see Mark Donnelly getting a start, kicked 2-2 in his last start for Tir Eoghain.
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on March 12, 2010, 10:44:16 PM
Quote from: DirtyDozen12 on March 12, 2010, 10:32:41 PM

McConnell
PJ
Joe McMahon
Swift
Sean O'Neill
Gourley
Jordan
Hughes
McGinley
Dooher
P Harte
Mellon
McCullagh
O'Neill
Cavanagh

Not a clue.

I was pointing out the players that were missing and wasn't picking the team that I thought that should be starting. No players listied are starting tomorrow night that was my point and hence why I didn't name Cassidy or Justy McMahon. My point was that the team tomorrow night is still relatively weak and there are quite a few still to come back.
Post by: ONeill on March 12, 2010, 11:02:12 PM
I still don't get the Sean O'Neill thing. I think he leaves things horribly exposed at that level. Harte, some may argue, does too, but he's a much improved HB from 5-6 yrs ago.
Post by: DirtyDozen12 on March 12, 2010, 11:11:12 PM
Quote from: ONeill on March 12, 2010, 11:02:12 PM
I still don't get the Sean O'Neill thing. I think he leaves things horribly exposed at that level. Harte, some may argue, does too, but he's a much improved HB from 5-6 yrs ago.

Oneill may be better at half back i think, def not a corner back or a man marker i think.  Very good player but seen him deployed for Dromore a few years ago as a man marker on Niall Gormley of Trillick in a chmapionship match at Fintona and Gormely got the better of him.  Think he is a quality player though and deserves a run at wing back.

One major problem with Tyrone is that they have no out and out man markers in my opinion bar Conor Gormley.
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on March 12, 2010, 11:14:34 PM
I know were your coming from O'Neill. He tends to make mistakes to when playing for Tyrone. Still don't think he leave's them any more open than Harte who's free role puts the defence under pressure when the opposition are on top. O'Neill is still young so could improve. Hopefully Cathal McCarron will do well, definately need more cover in defence.
Post by: Man Marker on March 13, 2010, 10:46:47 AM
I cant see us winning this game this evening. Cork I feel have just to much for us without our main players up front. But with this team anything is possible and our backs are up against the wall. We need the two points so it will be hell fo leather, great and looking forward to it.
Post by: Chris agus Snoop on March 13, 2010, 11:41:24 AM
Am i wrong or did I read that Mickey Harte say that Cavanagh was afraid to play against Cork last august, and that the stomach bug was just an excuse?
Post by: longrunsthefox on March 13, 2010, 11:55:10 AM
No-he didn't say 'afraid.' Kind of suggested things got on top emotionally and mentioned him getting married and his role in the GPA as causes of it... that was my take on iy anyway.
Post by: Nally Stand on March 13, 2010, 11:58:15 AM
Is that based on Harte's book or the famous interview from last weeks Irish Mail on Sunday that nobody seems to be able to find to post up?
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 13, 2010, 12:44:39 PM
Quote from: Man Marker on March 13, 2010, 10:46:47 AM
I cant see us winning this game this evening. Cork I feel have just to much for us without our main players up front. But with this team anything is possible and our backs are up against the wall. We need the two points so it will be hell fo leather, great and looking forward to it.

Still too much of an 'experimental' feel to this team, but maybe this is where the corner will be turned.

Let's just call it REVENGE FOR MISKELLEEN!
Post by: Nally Stand on March 13, 2010, 12:46:57 PM
Revenge for MIS-INISKINEEN
Post by: Archie Mitchell on March 13, 2010, 12:53:50 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on March 13, 2010, 11:58:15 AM
Is that based on Harte's book or the famous interview from last weeks Irish Mail on Sunday that nobody seems to be able to find to post up?

http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=15664.msg748555#msg748555 (http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=15664.msg748555#msg748555)
Post by: longrunsthefox on March 13, 2010, 12:59:21 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on March 13, 2010, 11:58:15 AM

In the book he referred to Sean getting married and GPA involvement in the part about him not starting against Cork. 
Post by: Aaron Boone on March 13, 2010, 12:59:57 PM
Good effort Archie.
Post by: Nally Stand on March 13, 2010, 01:03:50 PM
Maith an fear archie
Post by: KIDDO 4 on March 13, 2010, 01:08:18 PM
Any truth in the rumours that both DermotCarlin  and BrianMc Guigan  are  unavailable for tonights encounter.
Post by: Aaron Boone on March 13, 2010, 01:46:56 PM
Today's Examiner.

Tyrone's perfect 'them and us' scenario
By Dara O'Cinneide, Saturday, March 13, 2010

THE private and subtle sense of glee and schadenfreude amongst those who haven't yet conceded Tyrone's right to be at the top table of Gaelic football is at an all-time high this week. Not only are their senior team pointless after three outings in this year's National Football League, their much-vaunted U21 conveyor belt ground to a halt against Derry in midweek.

On top of all that, a vulnerable looking Red Hand outfit will come face to face again in Healy Park in Omagh tonight with much of the Cork team that dismantled them so spectacularly with pace, power and intensity in last year's All-Ireland semi-final. If ever a manager wished to create a do-or-die situation and cultivate the siege mentality so beloved of many of the Ulster teams, Mickey Harte is presented with the perfect opportunity tonight.

The rather unusual sight of Harte remonstrating with the referee at the close of business in Inniskeen last weekend only further served to underline the nagging frustrations being felt by the Tyrone manager. There is little doubt Monaghan decided persistent fouling was going to reap its own rewards during the injury time at the end of the game when Tyrone were in desperate search of an equalising point — that is bound to have riled Harte.

There is also now a compelling case for taking time-keeping out of the referee's hands altogether after tallying the wasted seconds during that three-minute period but I have no doubt that Mickey Harte himself will have reflected during the week on the swings and roundabouts of minutes gained and lost in battle based on a referee's judgement. Having done so, he will recognise that his team have done quite well having been on the flip side of such decisions on occasions of far greater consequence than a league outing in Kavanagh country in early March.

Of more immediate and pressing concern for Tyrone than the vagaries of a referee's time-keeping is the startling amount of free kicks their backs coughed up so cheaply last weekend. In an uncharacteristically sloppy performance, quality players like Justin McMahon, Conor Gormley, Kevin Hughes, Dermot Carlin and Sean O'Neill all committed needless and sometimes ridiculous fouls within kicking distance of their goal at critical junctures throughout the game. Disciplined tackling was always a hallmark of Tyrone sides and it must have sickened Harte to watch Paul Finlay and Conor McManus punish every single defensive indiscretion last Sunday.

Sean O'Neill has paid a price for such slackness and Hughes is out injured but McMahon, Gormley and Carlin can all consider themselves lucky to be given a shot at redemption tonight. Of course, going practically the entire second half bar the frantic last five minutes without scoring from play didn't help the Tyrone cause either but at least their forwards can proffer a tricky breeze and some dogged Monaghan defending in mitigation.

Even recalling the sustained inquisition and strong criticism endured by Harte in the first half of 2008, there must rarely have been such uncertainty in recent years about Tyrone's ability to ride out the storm. The angst being expressed through the anonymous whisperings on internet chat forums and high stool analysis is unlikely to induce a full-blown panic in the ranks, but some worrying trends are beginning to develop and it is going to take all of Harte's experience to navigate a course towards the summer. By then, Tyrone should have most of the big guns (Cavanagh, Jordan, Dooher, Joe McMahon, Stephen O'Neill, McConnell) back to full fitness but, as with the other half of the decade's great duopoly, Kerry, some questions remain unresolved. Can a back-line with an ageing Philip Jordan, Ryan McMenamin and Conor Gormley still cut it at this level in 2010? Is there one more season of high octane gear-changing in Brian Dooher? Can Stephen O'Neill rediscover the alchemy that saw him quarry so many scores from hopeless situations and will the professional chemistry between Seán Cavanagh and his manager remain as volatile as it threatened to become late last year? Of the emerging talent seen so far, only Aidan Cassidy appears to have unlimited potential and I'm beginning to wonder how long Raymond Mulgrew's latent talent can sustain him in a game that requires half forwards to be more artisan than artist.

The slings and arrows being directed their way these last six days will have sharpened the Tyrone senses and for a man whose imagination always appeared vivified by the challenge, Mickey Harte finally has the laboratory league conditions needed to ambush Cork tonight. But does he have the personnel to contain the relentless athleticism of Pearse O Neill, the searing pace of a few Paul Kerrigan runs at this time of year, the sheer physique to compete in an aerial bombardment with Nicholas Murphy or the two corner-backs to contain Daniel Goulding and Colm O'Neill alongside him?

Based on the evidence before us in the opening three matches in the league, Cork appear to have all the aces heading into tonight's game but if Tyrone are to find their mojo and stifle the naysayers, they must, as Yeats suggested, "lie down where all the ladders start, in the foul rag and bone shop of the heart".

The under-appreciated old league served Tyrone well when they were climbing the ladder. With relegation a real danger, now would be a good time to start finding their feet again.
Post by: under the bar on March 13, 2010, 04:11:46 PM
Any deals going on Setanta?  Thinking of getting it on for the game.
Post by: Chris agus Snoop on March 13, 2010, 06:15:11 PM
I didn't know Sean Cavanagh got married.

Don't bother paying for setanta listen to it on the radio, they show it for free on channel MSK on tuesday night.

Nick Murphy starting will make a big difference to the outcome.
Post by: gerry on March 13, 2010, 07:22:10 PM
Poor crowd and no dermot carlin or brian mc guigan
Post by: under the bar on March 13, 2010, 07:35:12 PM
Can youi get it on the net?
Post by: Aaron Boone on March 13, 2010, 07:47:23 PM
Tyrone playing good stuff, 4pts to 2 up. Ref Coldrick pinickity.
Post by: Aaron Boone on March 13, 2010, 07:55:40 PM
Cork now the boss, 7 - 4 up.
Post by: gerry on March 13, 2010, 08:02:10 PM
Get curran of to feck. What a joke at county standard
Post by: An Fear Rua on March 13, 2010, 08:06:56 PM
Goal Colm Cavanagh

1-5 0-9
Post by: An Fear Rua on March 13, 2010, 08:08:40 PM
Goal Tommy Mc Guigan

Tyrone 2-5 0-9 Cork
Post by: T O Hare on March 13, 2010, 08:10:33 PM
any streaming on line???
Post by: gerry on March 13, 2010, 08:13:31 PM
Flukey first goal and lucky to not going in 6 points down if cork had got there goal chances
Post by: illdecide on March 13, 2010, 08:15:34 PM
Quote from: T O Hare on March 13, 2010, 08:10:33 PM
any streaming on line???

Tried everywhere but can't find one
Post by: An Fear Rua on March 13, 2010, 08:16:22 PM
What was flukey about it? Are you watching it?  Radio said it was a great chip of the keeper?

T O Hare- cant find a stream anywhere
Post by: Tubberman on March 13, 2010, 08:17:26 PM
Quote from: An Fear Rua on March 13, 2010, 08:16:22 PM
What was flukey about it? Are you watching it?  Radio said it was a great chip of the keeper?

T O Hare- cant find a stream anywhere

Looked like he meant it on Setanta. Great goal.
Very lucky to be ahead in general though
Post by: gerry on March 13, 2010, 08:21:16 PM
At the match and at the 45 marker so had good view of it. He went for point and it fell short. I take it any day.
Post by: shaund10 on March 13, 2010, 08:22:11 PM
Total robbery that Tyrone are even within distance of Cork, never mind winning
Post by: gerry on March 13, 2010, 08:23:26 PM
At the match and at the 45 marker so had good view of it. He went for point and it fell short. I take it any day.
Post by: gerry on March 13, 2010, 08:24:30 PM
Post by: An Fear Rua on March 13, 2010, 08:25:50 PM
OK OK Gerry, we believe you!!!
Post by: An Fear Rua on March 13, 2010, 08:27:48 PM
Tyrone 2-5 0-10 Cork
Post by: An Fear Rua on March 13, 2010, 08:29:13 PM
Connor Gormley off injured replaced by Sean O'Neill
Post by: anportmorforjfc on March 13, 2010, 08:29:27 PM
 :D jaysus gerry we get it!
Post by: An Fear Rua on March 13, 2010, 08:29:48 PM
Tyrone 2-5 0-11 Cork
Post by: anportmorforjfc on March 13, 2010, 08:30:06 PM
Many minutes played?
Post by: gerry on March 13, 2010, 08:30:50 PM
Trying to get my post count up. I was wondering why it taking so long to post from phone
Post by: An Fear Rua on March 13, 2010, 08:31:52 PM
Tyrone 2-5 0-12 Cork

cork hit crossbar, about 9 mins gone in second half.

Every tyrone kick out being lost
Post by: An Fear Rua on March 13, 2010, 08:32:50 PM
Sean Cavanagh coming on at full forward
Post by: An Fear Rua on March 13, 2010, 08:33:21 PM
Tyrone 2-5 0-13 Cork
Post by: Tomorrow is another day on March 13, 2010, 08:33:59 PM
11 v 14 now

Cork in the ascendency
Post by: An Fear Rua on March 13, 2010, 08:39:39 PM
Tyrone 2-6 0-14 Cork
Post by: An Fear Rua on March 13, 2010, 08:40:41 PM
Tyrone 2-7 0-14 Cork
Post by: An Fear Rua on March 13, 2010, 08:41:48 PM
Tyrone 2-8 0-14 Cork
Post by: Aaron Boone on March 13, 2010, 08:46:42 PM
It's a tight one, really tight.
Post by: An Fear Rua on March 13, 2010, 08:48:58 PM
Tyrone 2-8 0-15 Cork

12 mins left
Post by: An Fear Rua on March 13, 2010, 08:49:39 PM
Tyrone 2-8 0-16 Cork
Post by: An Fear Rua on March 13, 2010, 08:51:05 PM
Goal Ryan Mellon

Tyrone 3-8 0-16 Cork

Post by: Aaron Boone on March 13, 2010, 08:51:49 PM
Good stuff Ryan Mellon!
Post by: An Fear Rua on March 13, 2010, 08:53:03 PM
Tyrone 3-9 0-16 Cork

7 mins left
Post by: An Fear Rua on March 13, 2010, 09:03:44 PM
Tyrone 3-9 0-16 Cork

Donnacha O'Connor sent off
Post by: An Fear Rua on March 13, 2010, 09:04:25 PM
Final Score.
Post by: Tomorrow is another day on March 13, 2010, 09:07:10 PM
Goals win games
Post by: EC Unique on March 13, 2010, 09:07:37 PM
Important win and great to see a few men back. Gormley injury serious?
Post by: shaund10 on March 13, 2010, 09:08:20 PM
Daylight robbery
Post by: Nally Stand on March 13, 2010, 09:10:27 PM
Great to hear. Out of curiosity how did Mark Donnelly perform? Did he stay in the half forward line?
Post by: An Fear Rua on March 13, 2010, 09:12:42 PM
Quote from: shaund10 on March 13, 2010, 09:08:20 PM
Daylight robbery

at night?
Post by: An Fear Rua on March 13, 2010, 09:13:47 PM
Quote from: EC Unique on March 13, 2010, 09:07:37 PM
Important win and great to see a few men back. Gormley injury serious?

"bit of a dead leg"
Post by: Aaron Boone on March 13, 2010, 09:16:59 PM
Great by Tyone, Aidan Cassidy showed up really well at the meaty end of the game.
Cork will wonder how they lost it as they were scoring for fun at times.
Terrific lobbed goal by Colm Cavanagh in the first half.
Post by: saffron sam2 on March 13, 2010, 09:41:26 PM
Quote from: Aaron Boone on March 13, 2010, 09:16:59 PM
Great by Tyone, Aidan Cassidy showed up really well at the meaty end of the game.

At the match and at the 45 marker so had good view of it. He went for point and it fell short.
Post by: saffron sam2 on March 13, 2010, 09:42:28 PM

At the match and at the 45 marker so had good view of it. He went for point and it fell short.
Post by: saffron sam2 on March 13, 2010, 09:42:52 PM

Post by: under the bar on March 13, 2010, 10:02:42 PM
Were you at the match saffron sam and did you get a good view of Colm Cavanaghs goal  by any chance??
Post by: omagh_gael on March 13, 2010, 10:04:34 PM
Great game first off, still don't know how Tyrone won but showed great fight to get back into it! Again well done Colm Cavanagh, was involved in a lot of good moves and showed for the ball all night. I don't think he meant his goal TBH, was right level with him when he hit it and looked like he under hit a point attempt.

Defence was quite loose at times and we are giving away so many scores through silly silly mistakes, Johnny Curran had an absolute shocker. He just seemed to loose the head after a couple of early mistakes. Surprised he stayed on.

Overall an excellent game for this time of year with some great score-taking, excellent to have two points on the board and hopefully we can add to that in Tuam next Sunday!
Post by: moysider on March 13, 2010, 10:05:13 PM
On tv it looked like he went for the lob and nailed it perfectly.
Post by: blewuporstuffed on March 13, 2010, 10:05:57 PM
Quote from: saffron sam2 on March 13, 2010, 09:42:52 PM

actually thought at the time he meant it, but would need to see it again
Post by: gerry on March 13, 2010, 10:19:24 PM
Quote from: saffron sam2 on March 13, 2010, 09:42:52 PM

your all fecking very funny
Post by: Midlands Man on March 13, 2010, 10:46:39 PM
Who did the scoring in this game tonight lads..
Post by: Archie Mitchell on March 13, 2010, 10:49:37 PM
Great game of football tonight, great win too although a bit undeserved. As they say goals win games and that's what won it for Tyrone tonight. Cork were running Tyrone ragged at times but Tyrone did well to stay in contention. Tyrone defence still looking dodgy though and Curran is a liabilty. Best for Tyrone were Cassidy (MOTM), Cavanagh and Penrose. Cork were flying at times and will be hard to stop again come the summer.
Post by: DirtyDozen12 on March 13, 2010, 10:59:11 PM
Great entertainment tonight and for all you stokes looking free steaming on the net, go and pay the 5 squid subscription fee to setanta and watch it live on the TV.  Some stokey bastards on here alright.

Really enjoyed the game, Cork forwards are very lively and very easy of the eye.  they had some great moves and great scores.  credit to tyrone though, plucky tonight and great to grind out that win.  Thought Mulgrew was good and was surprised at him being withdrawn.  Mark donnelly had a good game too i thought and was also unlucky to receive the curly finger.  Great battle in midfield tonight, Cork midfield very big and strong and mobile so i thought credit to Colly Cav and Cassidy who stuck with them all through the game after the way Corcaigh midelg dominated Galway last week.  Magic kicked some lovely scores tonight and looks in terrific condition for this time of the year, it has been years since he has been this sharp as this stage of the year.  You have to say that based on tonight, McGinley, Hub and Brian McGuigan have a bit of work to do to prove they are worthy for a place on the starting 15.  Team didnt seem to overly miss them tonight.  Still think Tyrone forward line is not gluing togther as well as it should, thought cork forwards looked sharper and more cohesive.  Bit of work to do in the forward line.  Nice to have the first 2 points in the bag.
Post by: DirtyDozen12 on March 13, 2010, 11:00:56 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on March 13, 2010, 09:10:27 PM
Great to hear. Out of curiosity how did Mark Donnelly perform? Did he stay in the half forward line?

though Mark Donnelly done well Nally Stand, showed for the ball and didnt hide, got on her early in the match and worked hard,  Done really well for Tommy McGuigans goal.  Stayed wing half forward i think.  Withdrew second half for Seany Cav i think it was but i would have been happy enough with his performance.
Post by: orangeman on March 13, 2010, 11:02:55 PM
Not sure how Tyrone won that game to be honest.

Cork have a long drive of them ahead and will be scratching their heads going down the road.

At 4-2 to Tyrone, Cork completely took over and went 9-4 up only to go in at half time 2-5 to 0-9 down.

On the restart they hit 4/5 points and looked like winners.

Cassidy was outstanding. For all the criticism that Colm has received on this board, he answered the critics well - moment of the match for me was when Colm had the ball, floored Pearse O'Neill, then up stepped Alan O'Connor and Colm put him on his ass as well - not easy done to put these 2 big lads down.

What a morale booster for Tyrone.

Cork I'm sure can hardly take it in.
Post by: Minder on March 13, 2010, 11:16:02 PM
I know who my money would be on if they met again in the summer.
Post by: ONeill on March 13, 2010, 11:18:12 PM
Some game. Tyrone were definitely the second best side on the night but when Cork switched off they paid for it. Tyrone had a nervous energy in the opening minutes and were a couple of points up and looking up in general for it. Mugsy, Donnelly, McCusker, Penrose, Mulgrew and McGuigan were all showing well for the ball. Then bang. Cork upped the tempo and Tyrone were chasing shadows. The movement from the Rebels tore Tyrone to shreds. Gormley was being given the runaround by O'Connor, Ricey was erring all over the shop and Donnelly/McCusker were losing possession too easily when Tyrone managed to move the ball anyway over the half way line. Corks 10&11 were making mugs out of the Tyrone defence. Mulgrew's man was tearing forward at any chance and Cavanagh had stopped showing for the ball.

Cork should've been out of sight. At 0-9 to 0-4 I think they missed a glorious goal chance. A 10-point half time deficit wouldn't have been hard on Tyrone. Cork were so dominant. Then on about 32 mins, a Gormley point and two goals completely changed the reflection of the game. Only Colm Cavanagh will know the truth but I thought he was caught in two minds between point and goal and it dropped in. Donnelly finally got free from his marker and set up McGuigan who was lucky the rebound fell into his path.

In the second half it was business as usual as Cork tore the Tyrone defence apart. They created mountains of room with fatigue and sharpness letting Tyrone down. Sean's intro livened things up. Sean O'Neill scored a clinker before Mellon scrambed another major. From then on it was tit for tat. Cork must be wondering how it got away from them. They were totally in control for about 45 minutes.

For Tyrone, Cassidy was tremendous. Direct, athletic, confident and talented. For the second game running he gave himself a serious chance of earning a Championship start. Very, very impressed. Penrose was brought out to the HF line before the two goals in the first half and hoovered the ball up around the MF and HB lines better than anyone else. It was almost the turning of the game - that swap with McGuigan. Colm Cavanagh was good in fits and spurts. Still hard to know where to play him. McCarron made some telling interceptions. Mugsy is in the best shape since 2003. Mulgrew had his moments but was loose on the No5. Defensively Tyrone are dodgy. Curran's performance doesn't need any comment. I felt for the lad. Gormley looked lame from the start, Ricey made a rash of uncharacteristic errors. Swift laboured a bit late on.

A win is a win. Pure robbery though.
Post by: tyrone86 on March 13, 2010, 11:42:13 PM
Entertaining game and a tremendous result from a Tyrone perspective. Certainly a smash and grab win with Colm's Cav's 'lob' and 2 scrappy goals, but considering our luck with  suspensions and the Mayo and Monaghan results we were probably due a break.

Can't disagree with O'Neill's synopsis - he's more or less said it all. I wouldn't be too worried about Cork looking so much fitter and sharper at this time of year. Considering Tyrone have been on the field 1 night a week, there's plenty of time to work on the sharpness and get the defence in order. Traditionally, Tyrone have always conceded big totals at this time of year so no need to panic yet.

Onward to Tuam next Sunday - getting another 2 points on the board is vital before the visit of Kerry.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on March 14, 2010, 12:07:27 AM
This result will suit the Green over the Red, now hopefuly Cork can take some points off the Dubs.
Post by: tyroneman on March 14, 2010, 01:17:29 AM
Curren was diabolical. That game should be the end of him in a Tyrone jersey.

Penrose was excellent. You could almost see him becoming the nxt Dooher. Hoovered everything up around MF and linked play together.

Cassidey immense. On this form the question for the championship is who will partner him (my money on Hub).

What's up with Enda though?  Poor so far and no show tonight. Is he carrying an injury?

Didn't think mcCusker or  Donnelly did anything that would suggest they will get a sexing glance come championship time.

Lot of very silly ball given away, need to cut that out. Defence creaking badly too.

Not sure how we got the win but it's most welcome. Roll on Galway.   
Post by: Nally Stand on March 14, 2010, 08:16:59 AM
Cheers for the reply there Dirtydozen
Post by: Club Rossa on March 14, 2010, 09:47:21 AM
Tyrone showed some heart last night and did well to get the win.Cork were rampant at times and looked like they were going to destroy Tyrone,but the boys kept plugging away and got a wee bit of luck to help them over the line.Considering Cork have one of the best midfield pairing's in the country,i thought Cavanagh and Cassidy performed really well.
Curran was poor and i actually thought he might have been replaced at the break.
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on March 14, 2010, 11:12:47 AM
Tyrone were definately lucky to win. The half back and half forward lines werent strong enough and apart from Penrose weren't pciking up the breaking ball. Have serious doubts about Harte's place on the team and Ricey is struggling a bit to. Sean O'Neill provided plenty of running when he came on.

Despite the over the top criticism Colm Cavanagh again played well tonight. Good to see our midfielders compete in the air as well as provide mobility. Him and Cassidy should definately get another game or 2 together. Mellon provided a bit of strength in half forward line that was lacking and took the goal well.

Although I was looking him off I do feel a bit sorry for Curran. He obviously struggles with nerves when playing at county level and putting pressure on him to take short kick outs is crazy. If he's playing he should be told to kick the ball out as far as he can because he actually can get good distance on it.

Considering the forward line that was on last night its great to get a win. Joe McMahon should definately be brought into the defence next week.
Post by: Chris agus Snoop on March 14, 2010, 12:19:40 PM
Cork midfield is weak without Murphy, Galway destroyed them there last week.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 14, 2010, 03:31:49 PM
What a rollercoaster of a game, more than meriting the charge of grand larceny perhaps.

Still, a win's a win, and what a win. The positives easily outweigh the negatives, though some of the negatives are significant, which won't be lost on MH.

Rumours of our demise are greatly exaggerated.
Post by: An Fear Rua on March 14, 2010, 06:17:00 PM
Quote from: hardstation on March 13, 2010, 11:02:42 PM
Quote from: DirtyDozen12 on March 13, 2010, 10:59:11 PM
Great entertainment tonight and for all you stokes looking free steaming on the net, go and pay the 5 squid subscription fee to setanta and watch it live on the TV.  Some stokey b**tards on here alright.
It didn't work as soon as the match started. Anyone know why?

Pay £5 quid where? Do Setanta now do a web based subscription for those of us who are no longer in Ireland?
Post by: sandwiches_in_the_boot on March 14, 2010, 06:29:24 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 14, 2010, 03:31:49 PM
Rumours of our demise are greatly exaggerated.

That will no doubt be the feature of this week's GAA columns. Hopefully now Tyrone's start to the league campaign will be viewed in its true context. Two defeats by a point, without the services of a handful of their best assets. Tyrone sit with 3 other teams in division 1 with 2 points and can be reasonably confident of taking 2 off Galway.

While Tyrone's form may be lacking, they'll be happy to come away with the few positives, including Aiden Cassidy, Martin Penrose and a revigorated Mulligan. And while the likes of Brian McGuigan might continue to struggle in search of form, players like Justy McMahon will hit form come the championship. Drop in SON, Sean Cavanagh, Big Joe, Philly Jordan, Dooher's leadership and Tyrone will do themselves justice.

The majority of players on that team don't owe anybody anything. Expectations were high of new blood, but a dose of reality now and then won't do a bit of harm.
Post by: Cde on March 14, 2010, 07:01:57 PM
Although Tyrone were fortunate to get the win last night it was encouraging to see that they started to show a bit of hunger in the last 15 mins
Post by: ziggysego on March 14, 2010, 11:08:11 PM
Was at the game last night and had the pleasure of meeting KIDDO before the match.

Anyway, it's good to see Tyrone back on winning ways, even if I'm not sure how that got back onto winning ways. Cassidy for me was the best man from Tyrone. Colm Cavanagh is showing a lot of improvements this year, although the goal he got was a real fluke, gifted to him.

Donnelly didn't do a lot and made a lot of errors, so I'm wondering why people queried him being taken off. Curran... well he isn't making the grade unfortunately.
Post by: ONeill on March 15, 2010, 12:15:06 AM
Having watched the replay tonight I think I was wrong. Cavanagh went for it.
Post by: omagh_gael on March 15, 2010, 12:21:08 AM
Quote from: ONeill on March 15, 2010, 12:15:06 AM

I think you're right...was certain it was a fluke at the game but seeing it on Sunday sport plNtedxa seed of doubt!

Did someone mention earlier in the thread that setanta games are replayed on the MSK channel on sky sometime in the midweek?
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 15, 2010, 12:23:46 AM

Yep, I believe he most definitely did, and thought so at the time too.
Post by: ziggysego on March 15, 2010, 12:29:47 AM
Quote from: omagh_gael on March 15, 2010, 12:21:08 AM

I think you're right...was certain it was a fluke at the game but seeing it on Sunday sport plNtedxa seed of doubt!

Did someone mention earlier in the thread that setanta games are replayed on the MSK channel on sky sometime in the midweek?

MSK channel? huh?
Post by: randomtask on March 15, 2010, 12:34:53 AM
curran is a joke, complete s**t wonder how many points he has managed to give away in his Tyrone career to date. still have alot of worries about Tyrone, some players seem to have went down hill, Brian mc guigan, enda mc ginley and Davey harte have been very poor to date need big improvements. on the flip side have been impressed with aiden cassidy, marty penrose and marty swift. Penrose especially has been tremendous in most matches, if i was asked to lay out Tyrone's strongest team it would be:

1. J Devine
2. M Swift
3. J Mc Mahon
4. S O Neill
5. P Jordan
6. C Gormley
7. R Mc Menamin
8. A Cassidy
9. S Cavanagh
10. T Mc Guigan/ R Mulgrew / C Cavanagh
11. C Mc Cullagh
12.J Mc Mahon
13. M Penrose
14. S O Neill
15. O Mulligan

I still think we have a big chance of regaining all ireland glory this year!!
Post by: ONeill on March 15, 2010, 12:39:37 AM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 15, 2010, 12:23:46 AM

Yep, I believe he most definitely did, and thought so at the time too.

Do you want a medal?

Must admire the way Colm has shown what Mickey obviously believed in. He is slowly getting there.

Some are saying Hub/Cassidy are the ideal SFC pairing. If O'Neill, Penrose and Mugsy are raring to go, and the 2 McGuigans and Joe too, the options for midfield must be Sean and another. That leaves McGinley, Cassidy, Colm and Hub. And that's discounting Dooher!
Post by: ONeill on March 15, 2010, 12:47:45 AM
Quote from: randomtask on March 15, 2010, 12:34:53 AM
curran is a joke, complete s**t wonder how many points he has managed to give away in his Tyrone career to date. still have alot of worries about Tyrone, some players seem to have went down hill, Brian mc guigan, enda mc ginley and Davey harte have been very poor to date need big improvements. on the flip side have been impressed with aiden cassidy, marty penrose and marty swift. Penrose especially has been tremendous in most matches, if i was asked to lay out Tyrone's strongest team it would be:

1. J Devine
2. M Swift
3. J Mc Mahon
4. S O Neill
5. P Jordan
6. C Gormley
7. R Mc Menamin
8. A Cassidy
9. S Cavanagh
11. C Mc Cullagh
12.J Mc Mahon
13. M Penrose
14. S O Neill
15. O Mulligan

I'd have

McConnell

Gormley
Justin
Ricey

Nephew
Joe
Jordan

Cassidy
Hub

Dooher
Sean
Enda

Tommy
O'Neill
Mugsy

But Mickey will never have that. The full back line might struggle against nippy CFs late on. He won't move Joe into HB. Penrose will start under Mickey.
Post by: cadhlancian on March 15, 2010, 03:49:25 AM
Quote from: ONeill on March 15, 2010, 12:47:45 AM

1. J Devine
2. M Swift
3. J Mc Mahon
4. S O Neill
5. P Jordan
6. C Gormley
7. R Mc Menamin
8. A Cassidy
9. S Cavanagh
11. C Mc Cullagh
12.J Mc Mahon
13. M Penrose
14. S O Neill
15. O Mulligan

I'd have

McConnell

Gormley
Justin
Ricey

Nephew
Joe
Jordan

Cassidy
Hub

Dooher
Sean
Enda

Tommy
O'Neill
Mugsy

But Mickey will never have that. The full back line might struggle against nippy CFs late on. He won't move Joe into HB. Penrose will start under Mickey.
Jaysus Shane,,,,cant believe you dont have Penrose in your 15, maybe thats why Mickeys picking the team ;D
Post by: Tyrones own on March 15, 2010, 03:59:35 AM
I'd have

McConnell

Gormley
Justin
Ricey

Nephew
Joe
Jordan

Cassidy
Hub

Dooher
Sean
Enda

Tommy
O'Neill
Mugsy

Gormley in the corner...jaysus I hope not, He'd be ate alive in there nowadays.
CHB is the spot for him imo, I  think we are a more cohesive unit defensively
when he's shoring up the centre.
I'd actually tend to go along with RT's team named above...Penrose will have to figure
for his pace and work ethic and with wee Brian not firing on all cylinders McCullagh will
be very welcome...remembering how important he's been the last couple of years.

My attempt:

Devine
Ricey
Justy
Swift
Harte
Gormley
S O'Neill
Cass
Sean/Joe
Tommy/Dooher
McCullagh
Joe/Sean
Penrose
O'Neill
Mulligan
Post by: Norf Tyrone on March 15, 2010, 07:36:03 AM
Quote from: ziggysego on March 15, 2010, 12:29:47 AM
Quote from: omagh_gael on March 15, 2010, 12:21:08 AM

MSK channel? huh?

It's one of the SKY channels. Try in or around 430. It shows GAA during the week.
Post by: Final Whistle on March 15, 2010, 08:18:56 AM
He says he meant it, but keep telling him it was a fluke anyway! He has shut a lot of people up, but only temporarily as Tyrone fans are as fickle as they come. He had a stinker against Derry (his first cometitive inter county of the year after quite an important surgery) and the knives were sharpened, stabbed and turned. Those criticising the keeper Curran should take note of the above as he could prove you all wrong yet. Have Tyrone fans never heard of loyalty? These men are sarcraficing their lives on behalf of us and deserve our upmost respect/graditude.
Post by: BennyHarp on March 15, 2010, 08:25:22 AM
Quote from: Tyrones own on March 15, 2010, 03:59:35 AM
I'd have

McConnell

Gormley
Justin
Ricey

Nephew
Joe
Jordan

Cassidy
Hub

Dooher
Sean
Enda

Tommy
O'Neill
Mugsy

I'd actually tend to go along with RT's team named above...Penrose will have to figure
for his pace and work ethic and with wee Brian not firing on all cylinders McCullagh will

My attempt:

Devine
Ricey
Justy
Swift
Harte
Gormley
S O'Neill
Cass
Sean/Joe
Tommy/Dooher
McCullagh
Joe/Sean
Penrose
O'Neill
Mulligan
Quote from: Tyrones own on March 15, 2010, 03:59:35 AM
I'd have

McConnell

Gormley
Justin
Ricey

Nephew
Joe
Jordan

Cassidy
Hub

Dooher
Sean
Enda

Tommy
O'Neill
Mugsy

My attempt:

Devine
Ricey
Justy
Swift
Harte
Gormley
S O'Neill
Cass
Sean/Joe
Tommy/Dooher
McCullagh
Joe/Sean
Penrose
O'Neill
Mulligan

Davy Harte seems to be a given on most peoples team - i just think at the minute he is really struggling to find form - personally thought he was very poor on saturday night!
Post by: Nally Stand on March 15, 2010, 09:09:35 AM
Lot of criticism of wee Brian. If there's one man deserves every opportunity to get game time and get in form it's him.
Post by: orangeman on March 15, 2010, 09:53:00 AM
Dermot Carlin isn't in any of those teams and IMO has been one of Tyrone's better performers.

Post by: Lamh Dhearg Alba on March 15, 2010, 10:26:58 AM
Quote from: Final Whistle on March 15, 2010, 08:18:56 AM
He says he meant it, but keep telling him it was a fluke anyway! He has shut a lot of people up, but only temporarily as Tyrone fans are as fickle as they come. He had a stinker against Derry (his first cometitive inter county of the year after quite an important surgery) and the knives were sharpened, stabbed and turned. Those criticising the keeper Curran should take note of the above as he could prove you all wrong yet. Have Tyrone fans never heard of loyalty? These men are sarcraficing their lives on behalf of us and deserve our upmost respect/graditude.

Its a very good point. It seems pretty clear that Curran's confidence is low so having a go at him is not going to improve matters. Young Cavanagh was unfairly singled out early in the season but deserves great credit for getting the head down and sticking at it. He needs to keep that up, I still feel there is more to come from him.
No need to worry about the likes of Brian McGuigan, Enda McGinley and Davey Harte. These boys are class and with games under their belt will be primed to hit form when it matters, their situation is different to younger lads on the panel.
Bit lucky overall on Saturday but we were due a bit of luck. Think Cork are a bit further down the road at this stage of the season than Tyrone are so any win against them is a good result. Need to aim for the win in Galway to keep climbing away from the bottom.

Post by: Canalman on March 15, 2010, 10:29:03 AM
Really enjoyed the game on Setanta. A match of ebbs and flows if ever I saw one. A psychologically bad game for Cork to lose imo.
Post by: Final Whistle on March 15, 2010, 12:11:00 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on February 08, 2010, 12:03:14 PM
Quote from: cookstownblue on February 08, 2010, 11:58:59 AM
Quote from: randomtask on February 06, 2010, 11:42:34 PM
i would say i have seen colm cavanagh play about 8 times in his senior club and country career and every time i have seen him he has been dung, duno what mickey sees in him how many chances is he guna give him to preform, personally i would turf him out!

Agree with you mate, he's woeful, for him to say he scored in an AlL-Ireland final is an injustice!

To be honest Francie Bellew could have scored that point  :P

Lamh Dhearg Alba-i wouldnt pay too much attention to randomtask-he seems to enjoy slating players from his own county. Its a characteristic which is not admirable to say the least. Maybe, like Cavanagh, Curran will up his game and once again random task/cookstown blue and omagh gael will look...quite stupid.

Its startling to see how quick people raced onto the derry thread to slate CC, yet no sign or praise when he plays well. Not the type of fan I would like to associate with.
Post by: blewuporstuffed on March 15, 2010, 12:40:05 PM
Quote from: Final Whistle on March 15, 2010, 12:11:00 PM
i would say i have seen colm cavanagh play about 8 times in his senior club and country career and every time i have seen him he has been dung, duno what mickey sees in him how many chances is he guna give him to preform, personally i would turf him out!

Agree with you mate, he's woeful, for him to say he scored in an AlL-Ireland final is an injustice!

Lamh Dhearg Alba-i wouldnt pay too much attention to randomtask-he seems to enjoy slating players from his own county. Its a characteristic which is not admirable to say the least. Maybe, like Cavanagh, Curran will up his game and once again random task/cookstown blue and omagh gael will look...quite stupid.

Its startling to see how quick people raced onto the derry thread to slate CC, yet no sign or praise when he plays well. Not the type of fan I would like to associate with.
actually was a bit embarassed by some of the tyrone fans around me on sat night.
just before half time, tyrone players were recieving a terrible slating, every player and every single incident being criticised.I could hear the 'supporters' behind me sayin tyrone are finished, to many players are done, we are along way away form croke park etc.
then que tyrones 2 goals, and all of asudden the same people are on thier feet cheering the team off at half time. alot of very very fickle followers of tyrone football (maybe every county is the same)
Post by: ziggysego on March 15, 2010, 12:43:39 PM
Quote from: blewuporstuffed on March 15, 2010, 12:40:05 PM
actually was a bit embarassed by some of the tyrone fans around me on sat night.
just before half time, tyrone players were recieving a terrible slating, every player and every single incident being criticised.I could hear the 'supporters' behind me sayin tyrone are finished, to many players are done, we are along way away form croke park etc.
then que tyrones 2 goals, and all of asudden the same people are on thier feet cheering the team off at half time. alot of very very fickle followers of tyrone football (maybe every county is the same)

Same around me too. At half time, when they were cheering and talking about September football. I asked the man next to me what has changed in the last 10 minutes for the turn around in opinions. He'd no real answer for me.
Post by: marym on March 15, 2010, 01:14:02 PM
Anybody hear anything about the Cork team being involved in a accident on the way to the game. TO be honest I would not read much into the game as both teams were short a lot of their main men.
Post by: tyronefan on March 15, 2010, 01:17:57 PM
well it didnt happen between Carrickmacross and Omagh because I was driving behind the bus
Post by: ziggysego on March 15, 2010, 01:19:10 PM
Quote from: tyronefan on March 15, 2010, 01:17:57 PM
well it didnt happen between Carrickmacross and Omagh because I was driving behind the bus

So it wasn't an 'accident' then, you ran them off the road?
Post by: omagh_gael on March 15, 2010, 01:21:14 PM

Lamh Dhearg Alba-i wouldnt pay too much attention to randomtask-he seems to enjoy slating
players from his own county. Its a characteristic which is not admirable to say the least. Maybe, like Cavanagh, Curran will up his game and once again random task/cookstown blue and omagh gael will look...quite stupid.

I think you'll find I have given my fair dues to CC final whistle following both the Mayo and Cork games, i admit I did slate him following Derry match but so did many others and he did have a
stinker. I think its great he's showing up so well and it appears he's giving us a real option in the middle. You seem to have taken my post the wrong way...it was Tongue in cheek!

Quote from: omagh_gael on March 13, 2010, 10:04:34 PM
Great game first off, still don't know how Tyrone won but showed great fight to get back into it! Again well done Colm Cavanagh, was involved in a lot of good moves and showed for the ball all night. I don't think he meant his goal TBH, was right level with him when he hit it and looked like he under hit a point attempt.

Defence was quite loose at times and we are giving away so many scores through silly silly mistakes, Johnny Curran had an absolute shocker. He just seemed to loose the head after a couple of early mistakes. Surprised he stayed on.

Overall an excellent game for this time of year with some great score-taking, excellent to have two points on the board and hopefully we can add to that in Tuam next Sunday!
Post by: orangeman on March 15, 2010, 01:22:59 PM
Quote from: tyronefan on March 15, 2010, 01:17:57 PM

Did they stay over Saturday night or go straight home ?
Post by: blewuporstuffed on March 15, 2010, 01:24:51 PM
Quote from: marym on March 15, 2010, 01:14:02 PM
Anybody hear anything about the Cork team being involved in a accident on the way to the game. TO be honest I would not read much into the game as both teams were short a lot of their main men.
i thought that was a very strong cork team, i make it about 12 of the team that started agianst tyrone in the championship last year
Post by: Final Whistle on March 15, 2010, 01:53:12 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on March 15, 2010, 01:21:14 PM

I think you'll find I have given my fair dues to CC final whistle following both the Mayo and Cork games, i admit I did slate him following Derry match but so did many others and he did have a stinker. I think its great he's showing up so well and it appears he's giving us a real option in the middle.

Quote from: omagh_gael on March 13, 2010, 10:04:34 PM

Defence was quite loose at times and we are giving away so many scores through silly silly mistakes, Johnny Curran had an absolute shocker. He just seemed to loose the head after a couple of early mistakes. Surprised he stayed on. Don't think I was overly harsh on JC, just stated he lost the head after a couple of early mistakes.

so whats the moral of the story????

Especially when we have a repeat situation happening to young curran?
Post by: Overthebar! on March 15, 2010, 02:18:30 PM
still can't make up my mind on if he meant to go for goal or not however i did hear that he had himself as first goalscorer at 16/1. would have thought he would have been longer odds myself tho...
Post by: tyroneman on March 15, 2010, 02:24:55 PM
Curren cannot be blamed for short kick outs per se (some folk tried to even blame him for Gormleys feck up last week) as it is clear MH is using the NFL to mix it up a bit.  It was obvious to those watching Cork murder us with low trajectory kicking in the semi that we needed to be a lot smarter  with our ko. What you can blame curren for though is his execution of these. Time and again they have been poor. He has directl cost several points and I am still at a loss as to what he brings to the team over packie, devine or even harney. 

Personally speaking I would have the following as first choice (if all fit and 100% on form)

Devine

Swift
Justy
Dermy

Red Sean
Block
Model

Hub
Cass

Enda
Brian
Joe

Penfold
Sean
SON

question of form is the key though. Enda seems badly out of sorts and you wonder if he is carrying an injury. Didn't even feature against Cork. Heard great reports about how fit Brian was yet he seems very slow so far.

Time will tell I guess and class is permanent.

Any update on SON???
Post by: omagh_gael on March 15, 2010, 02:28:28 PM
I agree FW, Curran should be given the benefit of the doubt but it is a discussion forum after all, no harm in highlighting negative as well as positive aspects.

On a separate issue, what's up with Packie? What sort of injury is he carrying?

It mentioned in the Tyrone Herald this morning that the cork bus had an accident in the centre of Omagh but doesn't provide any other details.
Post by: MR99 on March 15, 2010, 02:31:54 PM
Have to say while I enjoyed the match I feared that the boys would get arrested for larceny on the way home.  There were some positives to be taken from the game and Micky has a lot of thinking to do.  Starting with the keeper, enough has been said already, a liability at club level never mind county I really dont think Micky is doing him any favours by picking him, it really could wreck the lad, time to call Micky O'Neill or Harney up as no. 3. 

Thought Swift was steady enough and that McCarron was a revelation (remember that Goulding has been Cork's main man all year) and it may be time to hand him the No. 3 jersey now that he is back and free Justy to line out in the middle.  Justy had a poor game but he should be allowed one, have to remember the amount of time Cork men had to deliver quality ball in, he was on a hiding to nothing.

Davey had a nightmare, totally anonymous as he has been lately and every team in the country has twigged on to his defensive weakness, only seems to be suited to Croke is late summer where he always does well.  Conor was following iunstructions by leaving his man to cover the hole but the tactic worked against him, some good tackles and a really inspiring point.  Ricey had a bad day but still lead well when needed and his man did not do a lot of damage. 

I think Cass was superb, virtually won the game single handedly, superb driving forward and would benefit greatly from Justy or Hub to anchor him.  As for Colm, there seemed to have been a pact with his man for both of them to leave each other free to make each other look good.  Watched the game again last night and his man got on oceans of ball with him nowhere to be seen.  Colm picked up a bit in loose play and carried into the space, he's defintiely improving but from where he started from he would have needed to.  The goal was a repeat of the underhit point effort against Monaghan, just got luckier this time!

The decision to start Mulgrew at 11 instead of pulling McCullagh in was a big mistake, McCullagh really has to be considering his place on the panel now.  Mulgrew was quite anonymous, chased shadows all day as his man continuosly drove forward knowing he had nothing to fear.  Micky cant wait much longer to see the potential fulfilled.  Donnelly didn't cut it at half forward but fared a lot better when moved in as expected, needs game time and will improve.  Tommy had an off day and really didn't get on enough ball.

IMO the 3 full forwards were excellent.  Penrose never stopped working and had to be pulled out to the middle to cover the inadequacies further out the field.  Mugsy was really sharp and won all the good ball that came his way, looks hungry and that bodes well.  McCusker was a great target man inside, had the beating of his man at all times and layed off some great ball.  Unfortunately he was then pulled out to the half instead of Donnelly to keep Noel O'Leary on the back foot and was effective at this also, McCusker tackled very well all day. 

Big Sean needed the run out, couldn't get into the game but will do much better the next day if the hunger is there.  Red Sean made a big difference and his superb point was the turning point in the second half, he was very effective at sitting in the hole and sweeping.  McCullagh looked sharp again and surely has to start soon.
Post by: Overthebar! on March 15, 2010, 02:42:29 PM
Why is seany wabb called red sean?
Post by: MR99 on March 15, 2010, 04:23:53 PM
Quote from: Overthebar! on March 15, 2010, 02:42:29 PM
Why is seany wabb called red sean?
Aksed that question to a Dromore man once, he said he thought it was because Tyrone had 2 Sean O'Neills, Snowy had blond hair and Red Sean had gingerish hair when he was younger.
Post by: rrhf on March 15, 2010, 04:34:31 PM
I would concur with the above.  Tyrones best players this league are the relatively new blood, red sean in the half back line, Cassidy and Cavanagh who is developing nicely for the year ahead.  I still think we desperately need to beat Galway this weekend or we will go down.  As for later on in the year if Tyrone persist with the new blood they are the only team I think can beat Kerry in Croke Park  - again.  Its such  a pity Damian Mc Caul is injured as he would have had an opportunity to claim a place this year.  Dont criticse the young lads when theres older players struggling alongside them.  It would be nice to get another cub there before championship time.  Green shoots lads - have a little patience!     
Post by: omagh_gael on March 15, 2010, 04:47:06 PM
Any word on Damian Mc Caul? Will he be fit for any football this year?
Post by: Aaron Boone on March 15, 2010, 07:09:30 PM
Examiner snippet:
It all started to go wrong with a minor accident in Omagh's Saturday evening traffic which held the bus up for a good hour and saw the Munster champions finally pull into the ground just 45 minutes before the throw-in. In fairness to Counihan, he didn't make a meal of it. "I wouldn't want to be making excuses," he said later. "We got our opportunities. This is sport at a high level and these are minor things. You just get on with it."

The fact remains, however, Cork were uncharacteristically sluggish at the start, falling 0-4 to 0-1 in arrears after a dozen minutes, and they were in trouble at both ends of the pitch.
Post by: marym on March 15, 2010, 07:21:18 PM
Cork were short Alan Quirke, Anthony Lynch, Graham Canty, JOhn Miskella and Nicholas Murphy. Ger Spillane also cried off. All bar Quirke are allstars.
Post by: saffron sam2 on March 15, 2010, 07:46:51 PM
Saw Cavanagh's goal there for the first time. IMO he definitely meant it.
Post by: Cde on March 15, 2010, 08:08:07 PM
Quote from: marym on March 15, 2010, 07:21:18 PM
Cork were short Alan Quirke, Anthony Lynch, Graham Canty, JOhn Miskella and Nicholas Murphy. Ger Spillane also cried off. All bar Quirke are allstars.

hope thats not offered as an excuse as Tyrone were short a few allstars of their own as well
Post by: Aaron Boone on March 15, 2010, 09:02:58 PM
The third goal was actually a throw-ball from Cassidy to Mellon. Only the replay shows it up and no Cork players appealed at the time, but it shows the bit of luck Tyrone were due & the bit of street which Cassidy has to his armoury.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 15, 2010, 09:05:08 PM
Quote from: saffron sam2 on March 15, 2010, 07:46:51 PM

ONeill's giving medals out for sentiments such as that, do you want one too?
Post by: gerry on March 15, 2010, 09:17:28 PM

Post by: ziggysego on March 15, 2010, 09:29:12 PM
Quote from: gerry on March 15, 2010, 09:17:28 PM

(http://www.redesign-day.com/blog/wp-content/uploads/2009/08/churchill-dog.jpg)

Yes

Yes

Yes
Post by: nrico2006 on March 16, 2010, 08:35:13 AM

Its the NFL, teams aren't at their strongest.  If you look at it that way, Tyrone were missing 5 All Stars from their starting 15 including 2 Footballers of the Year.
Post by: AFS on March 16, 2010, 08:45:00 AM
Quote from: nrico2006 on March 16, 2010, 08:35:13 AM
Its the NFL, teams aren't at their strongest.  If you look at it that way, Tyrone were missing 5 All Stars from their starting 15 including 2 Footballers of the Year.

Which is exactly what she (?) said before someone countered the suggestion.

Quote from: blewuporstuffed on March 15, 2010, 01:24:51 PM
Quote from: marym on March 15, 2010, 01:14:02 PM
i thought that was a very strong cork team, i make it about 12 of the team that started agianst tyrone in the championship last year
Post by: ONeill on March 16, 2010, 11:38:24 AM
Quote from: cadhlancian on March 15, 2010, 03:49:25 AM

1. J Devine
2. M Swift
3. J Mc Mahon
4. S O Neill
5. P Jordan
6. C Gormley
7. R Mc Menamin
8. A Cassidy
9. S Cavanagh
11. C Mc Cullagh
12.J Mc Mahon
13. M Penrose
14. S O Neill
15. O Mulligan

I'd have

McConnell

Gormley
Justin
Ricey

Nephew
Joe
Jordan

Cassidy
Hub

Dooher
Sean
Enda

Tommy
O'Neill
Mugsy

Jaysus Shane,,,,cant believe you dont have Penrose in your 15, maybe thats why Mickeys picking the team ;D

Come August or Sept if Tyrone are still involved, and with every forward/midfielder fit, I don't think Mickey'd start Penrose. Who would you drop?
Post by: Bensars on March 16, 2010, 11:43:05 AM
The assumption that those forwards and midfielders named are playing to a form level of previous years gone by.

The reality is Dooher may be reserved for experience later in games. Tommy Mc Guigan is on/off at the very best of times. Enda mc Ginley although being massive in years gone by has not started yet .
Post by: omagh_gael on March 16, 2010, 11:50:18 AM
Are you sure O'Neill? I think Penrose and SoN play well off each other as SoN's presence gives Martin that bit more space to exploit with his pace? I was also quite impressed with his ability to sweep between MF and HB line on saturday night which would be useful if we were to come under the cosh in the wide open spaces of Croke Park. If I was to pick a forward 6 come championship time i'd like to see...

Joey            Sean Cav           Mc Ginley (3rd mf)

Penrose          SoN               Mugsy

That leaves us with piles of options on the bench with the likes of coney, dooher, tommy, mulgrew etc all to come in and shore things up/bring something different.

Post by: ONeill on March 16, 2010, 11:53:06 AM
Penrose has been close to our top performer so far this year, and often is around this time of the year. I just think Mickey's a fan of Tommy. Tommy can take a score and offers an option for frees. Remains to be seen.
Post by: Fuzzman on March 16, 2010, 05:14:42 PM
We've got too many bloody players like Tommy, Mulgrew, CC and I suppose Mugsy who appear to have so much talent but for one reason or another come up short.

Surely you have to say Penrose has been a better player than Tommy the last two years. Tommy can have 1 great game in 5 perhaps

I think SON will be kept for Kerry game
Post by: ONeill on March 16, 2010, 05:47:53 PM
I would put Tommy head and shoulders above CC and Mulgrew. He's capable of carving open sides, fielding his own ball as well as taking crucial scores in big games. Penrose is speedy and is playing well right now. Two good players.
Post by: omagh_gael on March 16, 2010, 06:30:02 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on March 16, 2010, 05:14:42 PM
We've got too many bloody players like Tommy, Mulgrew, CC and I suppose Mugsy who appear to have so much talent but for one reason or another come up short.

Surely you have to say Penrose has been a better player than Tommy the last two years. Tommy can have 1 great game in 5 perhaps

I think SON will be kept for Kerry game

Is SoN back training yet?
Post by: Puckoon on March 16, 2010, 06:32:06 PM
http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=9217.0 (http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=9217.0)

Worst kept secret in GAA Omagh Gael.
Post by: cadhlancian on March 16, 2010, 06:36:48 PM
Quote from: ONeill on March 16, 2010, 11:38:24 AM
Quote from: cadhlancian on March 15, 2010, 03:49:25 AM

1. J Devine
2. M Swift
3. J Mc Mahon
4. S O Neill
5. P Jordan
6. C Gormley
7. R Mc Menamin
8. A Cassidy
9. S Cavanagh
11. C Mc Cullagh
12.J Mc Mahon
13. M Penrose
14. S O Neill
15. O Mulligan

I'd have

McConnell

Gormley
Justin
Ricey

Nephew
Joe
Jordan

Cassidy
Hub

Dooher
Sean
Enda

Tommy
O'Neill
Mugsy

Come August or Sept if Tyrone are still involved, and with every forward/midfielder fit, I don't think Mickey'd start Penrose. Who would you drop?
Tommy or Dooher
Post by: omagh_gael on March 16, 2010, 06:47:39 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on March 16, 2010, 06:32:06 PM
http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=9217.0 (http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=9217.0)

Worst kept secret in GAA Omagh Gael.

Holy sh*t! I never saw that coming...I wonder will he take a medal if we win the AI?
Post by: sandwiches_in_the_boot on March 16, 2010, 08:57:41 PM
Penrose has been unreal the year. Can't believe he wouldn't feature in some people's first 15. I'd rather take him than the two McGuigans combined. Brian hasn't found a pick of form in the league, his frustration was there to see in Derry and Tommy's form is always a roulette wheel.

I can understand giving them game time to find form, but I'd rather they come on as subs.

Disappointed Petey Harte hasn't been seen in the league.

My feeling about Tyrone in the league is a bit like Dromore last year, a very average league, but did the business in the championship.
Post by: cadhlancian on March 16, 2010, 10:03:55 PM
lads and lassies I just got to see the Colm Cavanagh goal. There is not a f>>>>king chance in hell , he was going for a goal, ZERO. he had switched onto his weaker left foot just as he was preparing to shoot. If it had been his stronger right foot , then maybe I would have given him the benefit of the doubt, but not a chance, Maurice Fitzgerald, Peter and Stevie wouldnt have tried this in their primes! ::)
Post by: gerry on March 16, 2010, 10:05:22 PM
i take marty over tommy, he has had a great start to this year always showing for the ball.
Post by: gerry on March 16, 2010, 10:06:58 PM
Quote from: cadhlancian on March 16, 2010, 10:03:55 PM
lads and lassies I just got to see the Colm Cavanagh goal. There is not a f>>>>king chance in hell , he was going for a goal, ZERO. he had switched onto his weaker left foot just as he was preparing to shoot. If it had been his stronger right foot , then maybe I would have given him the benefit of the doubt, but not a chance, Maurice Fitzgerald, Peter and Stevie wouldnt have tried this in their primes! ::)

:D :D :D :D :D
Post by: omagh_gael on March 16, 2010, 10:10:24 PM
I think it's time we report Gerry to the mods! :)
Post by: gerry on March 16, 2010, 10:12:46 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on March 16, 2010, 10:10:24 PM
I think it's time we report Gerry to the mods! :)

ziggy (mod3) says i am alright, just keep me of the chocolate and coke
Post by: omagh_gael on March 16, 2010, 10:17:17 PM
Well if Ziggy says you're sound il leave it at that. Iv seen what they do to men who get too smart in Eddie Mc Cullagh's bar and it ain't a pretty sight! ;)
Post by: gerry on March 16, 2010, 10:21:34 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on March 16, 2010, 10:17:17 PM
Well if Ziggy says you're sound il leave it at that. Iv seen what they do to men who get too smart in Eddie Mc Cullagh's bar and it ain't a pretty sight! ;)

the bottom of the seven sisters i guess
Post by: ziggysego on March 16, 2010, 10:32:02 PM
Leave my precious Greencastle alone and the wonderful pub that is Eddie's Crossroads. If youse don't, I'll get mod3 onto the both of yas!
Post by: Archie Mitchell on March 16, 2010, 10:33:37 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on March 16, 2010, 10:32:02 PM
Leave my precious Greencastle alone and the wonderful pub that is Eddie's Crossroads. If youse don't, I'll ban the both of yas!

Fixed that for ya Zig
Post by: ziggysego on March 16, 2010, 10:37:12 PM
Quote from: Archie Mitchell on March 16, 2010, 10:33:37 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on March 16, 2010, 10:32:02 PM
Leave my precious Greencastle alone and the wonderful pub that is Eddie's Crossroads. If youse don't, I'll ban the both of yas!

Fixed that for ya Zig

No you didn't. You changed the wording for, what I guess is, humorous purposes.
Post by: ONeill on March 16, 2010, 10:41:39 PM

Yea, Colm, if you're reading this - do it again v Galway, Kerry and Dublin. Then we'll believe you.

Post by: omagh_gael on March 16, 2010, 10:44:50 PM
Things are bad Ziggy when you start talking about yourself in the third person on an Internet forum...I thought it was only O'Neill that got up to that craic! ;)
Post by: sandwiches_in_the_boot on March 16, 2010, 11:04:43 PM
Tyrone v Cork replay now been shown in full on MSK, Sky channel 433. Started 11pm
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 16, 2010, 11:19:06 PM
...chance in hell , he was going for a goal, ZERO. he had switched onto his weaker left foot just as he was preparing to shoot. If it had been his stronger right foot , then maybe I would have given him the benefit of the doubt, but not a chance

Why would he put it on his stronger foot to strike the ball a shorter distance (going for a goal and not a point)? D'oh!

Some of the logic about this is as flawed as the eyesight, obviously.  :P
Post by: cadhlancian on March 17, 2010, 03:21:55 PM
he dropped onto his other foot because he was pushed onto it, by someone coming to challenge him towards his right side. Fear I find your readings and findings on here to be both amusing  and astute, however this time.....you dont f....king know ur ass from your elbow! ;D
Post by: Puckoon on March 17, 2010, 03:23:05 PM
He must have momentarily thought he was emulating the big brother out in the back yard.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 17, 2010, 04:01:08 PM
Quote from: cadhlancian on March 17, 2010, 03:21:55 PM
he dropped onto his other foot because he was pushed onto it, by someone coming to challenge him towards his right side. Fear I find your readings and findings on here to be both amusing  and astute, however this time.....you dont f....king know ur ass from your elbow! ;D

I believe what CC said himself: he was shaping up for a point with his right, but looked up (give Specsavers a shout yourself if you think he was pushed, yet no free was awarded) and saw the keeper off his line and subsequently switched to his left so that he could bury the ball with a lob into the top right-hand corner (more difficult with the right peg coming from the left field).

Easier to do with a left peg than a right, unless of course you know feck all about playing the game, which would appear to be the undisputed case.  :D
Post by: cadhlancian on March 18, 2010, 06:49:35 PM
 ;D ;D ;D