Frank_The_Tank

Quote from: highorlow on February 18, 2020, 03:40:28 PM
https://www.rte.ie/news/world/2020/0218/1116054-coronavirus-factsheet/

Whole thing is overblown.

Good reliable source

'Here are the main findings from the paper by the Chinese Centre for Disease Control and Prevention (CCDC)'

Bit like Kim Jong-un telling the North Koreans he wins the Olympic 100m gold.
Never argue with an idiot. They will only bring you down to their level and beat you with experience

Quote from: trailer on February 18, 2020, 10:40:28 AM
Is the reason this disease has spread so quickly in China because of the very poor sanitary conditions that they tend to accept?

These things spread, in Ireland most everyone (and most on this board) get a cold in the course of a winter.
The initial step from the animal virus to the human may have been more likely in China than here.

Quote from: armaghniac on February 18, 2020, 04:13:29 PM
Is the reason this disease has spread so quickly in China because of the very poor sanitary conditions that they tend to accept?

These things spread, in Ireland most everyone (and most on this board) get a cold in the course of a winter.
The initial step from the animal virus to the human may have been more likely in China than here.

It was similar with the ebola outbreak. Didn't a lot of the mourners insist on touching and kissing the dead bodies? Surely an education program around hand washing etc is a good start with these countries. 

Solo_run

Quote from: trailer on February 18, 2020, 04:25:17 PM

It was similar with the ebola outbreak. Didn't a lot of the mourners insist on touching and kissing the dead bodies? Surely an education program around hand washing etc is a good start with these countries.

It is a good start with all countries.

Quote from: Solo_run on February 18, 2020, 04:58:07 PM

Still fellas in work who wouldn't wash their hands after using the bog.

Quote from: Tony Baloney on February 18, 2020, 05:54:39 PM
Quote from: Solo_run on February 18, 2020, 04:58:07 PM

I hope you don't work in a restaurant!

BenDover

There's nothing as bad as a middle aged man going to the bog and not washing his hands, we see it here all the time ffs  >:( >:(

Cities like Wuhan still have wet markets in which wild animals are sold for their meat alongside chickens etc. Unrefrigerated. A paradise for viruses.
The Chinese are hoors for Pangolin and other endangered species.

I saw meat on an openair slab in Egypt one time with flies taking off and landing like at an airport.
Food hygiene isn't a priority in many countries.

Quote from: BenDover on February 19, 2020, 08:01:59 AM

There's nothing as bad as a middle aged man going to the bog and not washing his hands, we see it here all the time ffs  >:( >:(

What has age got to do with it? Is it more disturbing seeing a mature person doing it?

You would see lots of young lads at the exact same craic in any bog in the country on a night out... some of them have the pleasant habit of running their fingers through their trendy hairdo to make sure it is sitting just so after pissing over their hands. Hard to beat the lads who actually lick their fingers before starting on the hair though.....

Solo_run

The bit I struggle with in hygeine is after you go to the toilet, turn the tap on, wash your hands and then turn the tap off. You just touched the tap your dirty hands and many other dirty hands have just touched.

Quote from: Solo_run on February 19, 2020, 03:23:05 PM
The bit I struggle with in hygeine is after you go to the toilet, turn the tap on, wash your hands and then turn the tap off. You just touched the tap your dirty hands and many other dirty hands have just touched.

Taps aren't even the worst, how many toilets have a push door going in, with a handle on the inside. Even if you wash your hands you are undone once you go back through the door.
The only solution is to use a tissue for the tap and the door handle.

When you think of all the handles, locks, doors you touch, then you go handling your  bits. Feck knows what you might pass on to your Netherlands region. God it's a minefield.

HiMucker

Think about how much you handle money and how many people have touched that to really give you the heebie jeebies!

Quote from: HiMucker on February 19, 2020, 04:19:38 PM
Think about how much you handle money and how many people have touched that to really give you the heebie jeebies!

indeed in China the banks are now disinfecting money when it reaches them and not putting back into circulation for 14 days.