GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: From the Bunker on December 26, 2020, 09:35:57 PM

Title: Summary of your County's achievements for '20 and aspirations for '21.
Post by: From the Bunker on December 26, 2020, 09:35:57 PM
Below are a few questions. Keep answers short.

Six Questions:

County:

Are you happy with 2020 achievement? 
What was your minimal aspiration for '20?
Are you happy with the direction of your county going into 21?
What is you minimal aspiration for '21?
Where do you position your county 1-33?
If Dublin are a 10 out of 10. What number out of 10 would you give your county for 2020?

Title: Re: Summary of your County's achievements for '20 and aspirations for '21.
Post by: From the Bunker on December 26, 2020, 09:36:40 PM
County Mayo
Are you happy with 2020 achievement?  Have to be Happy with Connacht Title, Respectable AI final.
What was your minimal aspiration for '20? Connacht title
Are you happy with the direction of your county going into 21? Yeah, Horan seems to have a plan.
What is you minimal aspiration for '21? Connacht title, Promotion from Div. 2
Where do you position your county 1-33?  probably joint 3rd (just)
If Dublin are a 10 out of 10. What number out of 10 would you give your county for 2020?  6/10

Title: Re: Summary of your County's achievements for '20 and aspirations for '21.
Post by: MayoBuck on December 26, 2020, 11:42:53 PM
County: Mayo

Getting relegated was disappointing. Championship went as well as we could hope for.

Connacht title and reach a semi final.

The emergence of some young players would make me hopeful, so yes.

Promotion, Connacht title and reach a semi final.

Looking at next season, I'd say 3rd. Behind Dublin and Kerry

If Dublin are a 10 out of 10. What number out of 10 would you give your county for 2020?
7.5/10
Post by: Milltown Row2 on December 27, 2020, 01:16:30 AM
Antrim, both codes

What a year for Antrim Hurling, back in McCarthy cup

To get out of Div 4 football and win Promotion in hurling

New management in football, seriously huge pick up at trials and 90% players available. Hurling in good stead, so yes

Football promotion and championship improvement. Hurling is maintaining Div 1b

League tables don't lie unfortunately, football is low, hurling is bottom rung of top tier

Football 2 hurling 9
Post by: RedHand88 on December 27, 2020, 09:32:17 AM

No, obviously. Staying in division 1 was nice, but crashing out in the first round of the championship was very disappointing.

Was always going to be difficult with the opening round but if we got past donegal I'd have expected an ulster title. Difficult to have a good year with no backdoor though.

Yes, certainly. Looking forward to the fresh start with the change in management.

All Ireland quarter/ semi, depending on the draw.

6??
Post by: Gold on December 27, 2020, 09:41:53 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on December 27, 2020, 01:16:30 AM
Antrim, both codes

What a year for Antrim Hurling, back in McCarthy cup

To get out of Div 4 football and win Promotion in hurling

New management in football, seriously huge pick up at trials and 90% players available. Hurling in good stead, so yes

Football promotion and championship improvement. Hurling is maintaining Div 1b

League tables don't lie unfortunately, football is low, hurling is bottom rung of top tier

Football 2 hurling 9

Agree totally
Post by: tyroneman on December 27, 2020, 10:29:40 AM
Kinda. Happy to stay in Div 1, didn't think we would beat DnG, but on the day felt we were every bit as good, so disappointed we didn't get over the line.

Stay in D1 and Ulster title, if beat DnG

Too early to say under new management.  McKenna, McShane, Donnelly, McCurry and Canavan look like the foundations of a top class forward unit. So hopefully they progress as expected.

Compete for Div 1 title, Ulster title, beat one of top 3 in championship

Post by: Rossfan on December 27, 2020, 11:24:02 AM
Not really. Promotion was nice but that no show v N
Mayowestros sits uneasily.
Minor win an unexpected bonus.
We expected promotion and to be competitive at worst v Mwr.
Happy enough with direction....hopefully. Hope the Minor success will galvanise the U20 set up which was a disaster last few years.
Aspiration 21 .. stay in D1, give Connacht a rattle and make the Qtr Final.
1-33 6th at end of NFL but 10th now.
4/10 for 2020.
Post by: Itchy on December 28, 2020, 01:32:50 PM

County: Cavan

Are you happy with 2020 achievement?  Yes

What was your minimal aspiration for '20? I really only thought Mickey Graham needs this year to build a new team

Are you happy with the direction of your county going into 21? Yes 100%

What is you minimal aspiration for '21? Win Div3.

Where do you position your county 1-33? Can't give an exact number but between 6th and 10th

If Dublin are a 10 out of 10. What number out of 10 would you give your county for 2020? 7.5
Post by: general_lee on December 28, 2020, 03:56:02 PM
County: Armagh

Are you happy with 2020 achievement? League yes championship no
What was your minimal aspiration for '20? Promotion (achieved)
Are you happy with the direction of your county going into 21? At a push -  content.
What is you minimal aspiration for '21? Be competitive in every game
Where do you position your county 1-33? Fringes of top 10
Post by: The PRO on December 28, 2020, 07:59:39 PM
LAOIS

I'll stick to the football.

Reasonably so. Great to stay in Division 2. Always going to lose to Dublin.
What was your minimal aspiration for '20? As above. Survive in Division 2. Beat Longford and enjoy the experience against Dublin.
Are you happy with the direction of your county going into 21? Just about. Undecided on Quirke.
What is you minimal aspiration for '21? Very similar to this year.
Where do you position your county 1-33? Somewhere between 14 and 18.
If Dublin are a 10 out of 10, we are around 4.5
Post by: weareros on December 28, 2020, 10:22:54 PM
County: Roscommon (Football)

Yes. Promotion to Div 1 secured yet again. Championship was disappointing but understandable given the Covid interruption.
Promotion, retain Connacht title.
Yes.
Retain Div 1 status and regain Connacht.
If every point was a 4 pt margin, be a 6/10.
Post by: illdecide on December 29, 2020, 10:55:04 AM

Are you happy with 2020 achievement?  No, got promoted but by skin of our teeth and we seem to be scared stiff off Donegal
What was your minimal aspiration for '20? Promotion which we achieved but to put in a better Championship performance
Are you happy with the direction of your county going into 21? Undecided...50/50 TBH but hopefully playing at a higher level will bring these boyos on
What is you minimal aspiration for '21? Stay in Div 1 and give the Championship a good rattle by taking a big scalp
Where do you position your county 1-33? 10
If Dublin are a 10 out of 10. What number out of 10 would you give your county for 2020? 5.5
Post by: Goals_Will_Come on December 29, 2020, 12:48:50 PM
County: Tyrone

Are you happy with 2020 achievement? No Mickey's last year very dissapointing. A win over Mayo couldnt paper over the cracks of 2 poor games against Donegal.
What was your minimal aspiration for '20? Ulster Title and Semi Final
Are you happy with the direction of your county going into 21? Very optimistic. New voice, new ideas, return of players out of the previous fold, no blind loyalty to existing players. Conor McKenna and Cathal McShane.
What is you minimal aspiration for '21? League Final, Ulster Title, All Ireland Semi Final.
Where do you position your county 1-33? 4 but very capable of moving ahead of Kerry and Mayo if squad is fully utilised.
If Dublin are a 10 out of 10. What number out of 10 would you give your county for 2020? 3/10
Post by: seafoid on December 29, 2020, 01:24:14 PM
County: Gaillimh

Are you happy with 2020 achievement?  Hurling YES Fuball NO
What was your minimal aspiration for '20? Hurling : Better than 19 Fuball: Stay in D1
Are you happy with the direction of your county going into 21? Hurling : work to do. Fuball  : what is the point?
What is you minimal aspiration for '21? Hurling AISF Fuball Bate Mayo
Where do you position your county 1-33? Hurling top 3 Fuball top 5
If Dublin are a 10 out of 10. What number out of 10 would you give your county for 2020? Hurling 25 Fuball 4
Post by: Armagh18 on December 29, 2020, 03:12:03 PM

No. Promotion was nice but we limped over the line by dropping needless points early in the year, then struggled past Derry and were humiliated by Donegal
Promotion, a Ulster final depending on the draw and super 8's.
Yes. Hopefully Donaghy can add something different and we get a few new faces into the team.
Stay in Division 1, decent run in Ulster and make quarter final draw dependent.
Between 8-12
If Dublin are a 10 out of 10. What number out of 10 would you give your county for 2020? 6
Post by: Armagh18 on December 29, 2020, 03:14:21 PM
Quote from: Goals_Will_Come on December 29, 2020, 12:48:50 PM

Are you happy with 2020 achievement? No Mickey's last year very dissapointing. A win over Mayo couldnt paper over the cracks of 2 poor games against Donegal.
Are you happy with the direction of your county going into 21? Very optimistic. New voice, new ideas, return of players out of the previous fold, no blind loyalty to existing players. Conor McKenna and Cathal McShane.
What is you minimal aspiration for '21? League Final, Ulster Title, All Ireland Semi Final.
Where do you position your county 1-33? 4 but very capable of moving ahead of Kerry and Mayo if squad is fully utilised.
If Dublin are a 10 out of 10. What number out of 10 would you give your county for 2020? 3/10
4? Ahead of Donegal?
Post by: Angelo on December 29, 2020, 03:18:34 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on December 29, 2020, 03:14:21 PM
Quote from: Goals_Will_Come on December 29, 2020, 12:48:50 PM

4? Ahead of Donegal?

You'd have to say so. It's 2014 since Donegal made it to the last 4 of the All Ireland. Tyrone have been in the last 4 on four occasions since and had a final appearance in 2018.

Surprised there hasn't been an angling in Donegal to get McGuinness back at the helm since the defeat to Cavan.
Post by: Ed Ricketts on December 29, 2020, 06:11:32 PM

Are you happy with 2020 achievement? It was good, bad, and ugly. Often over the course of the same 70 minutes.
What was your minimal aspiration for '20? 1. League promotion. 2. Beat Derry. 3. Be competitive in the Ulster semi-final. Only two of those targets were met.
Are you happy with the direction of your county going into 21? Not really. There's a sense that the end is closing in for the current group. Management have been in place for six years now without achieving much - 2021 must surely be their last hurrah. The team is backboned by fellas in and around the 30 mark, so it's difficult to see scope for improvement there (rumours abound of key men planning to pack it all in). Underage performances for the last decade has been well below par, so there isn't exactly a stellar crop of fresh talent emerging to shake things up. And club football in the county is stale and unproductive. Realistically, the short to medium term prospects for the county side are quite bleak.
What is you minimal aspiration for '21? Staying in Division 1 would be an achievement. Would be nice to find a proper defender or two. Improved performances at underage level.
Where do you position your county 1-33? Anywhere from 7-14 depending on the mood. Might as well be 33 for all it matters at the end of the day.
If Dublin are a 10 out of 10. What number out of 10 would you give your county for 2020? 4.
Post by: Lar Naparka on December 30, 2020, 08:46:25 PM
County:

Are you happy with 2020 achievement?   No
What was your minimal aspiration for '20? Sam Maguire
Are you happy with the direction of your county going into 21?  Sort of
What is you minimal aspiration for '21?  Sam Maguire
Where do you position your county 1-33?  2-3
If Dublin are a 10 out of 10. What number out of 10 would you give your county for 2020?  8-9
Post by: sligoman2 on January 13, 2021, 01:56:04 PM
I am very proud that we didn't lose a championship match all year  ;D ;D.

Very disappointed in our Div 4 Performance - hopefully McEntee can get us out of that division
Post by: StephenC on January 13, 2021, 02:25:53 PM
County: Donegal

Are you happy with 2020 achievement?   No
What was your minimal aspiration for '20? Stay in Div 1, Ulster title & AISF
Are you happy with the direction of your county going into 21? Don't know.
What is you minimal aspiration for '21?  Stay in Div 1, Ulster title & AISF
Where do you position your county 1-33?  4
If Dublin are a 10 out of 10. What number out of 10 would you give your county for 2020?  5
Post by: Itchy on January 13, 2021, 03:47:10 PM
Quote from: sligoman2 on January 13, 2021, 01:56:04 PM

Very disappointed in our Div 4 Performance - hopefully McEntee can get us out of that division

As someone with family in Sligo, I see that joke going around inside the county quite a bit. I find it embarrassing that ye would talk about yourselves like that. If you want to win you have to feel some hurt when you lose. Not taking a personal dig at you by the way.
Post by: restorepride on January 13, 2021, 07:25:14 PM
County:  Doire
Are you happy with 2020 achievement?   No - we should have gained promotion to Div 2.  Messed up against Leitrim first game out.  Just behind Corcaigh agus an DĂșn, so not that far away.
What was your minimal aspiration for '20? Above
Are you happy with the direction of your county going into 21?  Sort of BUT .... we have to restore full pride in the jersey and build on recent under-age success.  Some would still rather play for the club only rather than fully commit to county.  For me, strength and conditioning is still an issue but a work in progress.
What is your minimal aspiration for '21?  Promotion to Div 2 and an Ulster Championship semi-final place. (depending on draw!)
Where do you position your county 1-33?  Now probably about 6th/7th out of 9 in Ulster - however many still believe we are better than that. In 32, 16th?
If Dublin are a 10 out of 10. What number out of 10 would you give your county for 2020?  4
Post by: Rossfan on January 13, 2021, 09:10:40 PM
Quote from: Itchy on January 13, 2021, 03:47:10 PM

As someone with family in Sligo, I see that joke going around inside the county quite a bit. I find it embarrassing that ye would talk about yourselves like that. If you want to win you have to feel some hurt when you lose. Not taking a personal dig at you by the way.
They didn't lose ;)
Post by: Lar Naparka on January 13, 2021, 09:21:33 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on January 13, 2021, 09:10:40 PM
Quote from: Itchy on January 13, 2021, 03:47:10 PM

They didn't lose ;)
True Ross, they didn't lose and they don't really laugh it off. I know a few Sligo people and they are as passionate about theiir time as any one in any other county. I think they have a self-deprecating sense of humour. (Like that?? ;D. TBH, I'm not sure I know what it means either but I just want to show off.)
They may make the odd joke about their team's lack of success but dare you or anybody else agree with them.
What about your own lads?
I imagine staying in Div ! will be the priority and a shot at a Connacht title a distinct possibility.
Post by: Rossfan on January 13, 2021, 11:11:14 PM
We'll be hoping they show up this year though.
Yep staying in D1 and giving Connacht a rattle and getting to AI semi final for 1st time since 19feckin91 :o