?

?
62 (89.9%)
?
7 (10.1%)

Total Members Voted: 69

Another great win but the major talking point will be Rodgers description of Armstrong as the blonde Cafu. It's up there with the Welsh Xavi description of Joe Allen.

Quote from: T Fearon on November 05, 2016, 10:06:06 PM
Zzzzzz.Beating ICT by three goals,and only breaking the deadlock in the second half,is not worth even mentioning for a team of Celtic's vastly superior resources in the Scottish League.Rodgers was recruited at a super salary to improve Celtic's performances and pedigree in Europe,and has manifestly failed in that arena to date

Rodgers 2 key objectives were to reinstate Celtic's domestic dominance which was severely wilting under RD and to get the club back into the CL which he did at first time of asking.  It's doubtful if Jock Stein himself could make them a force in Europe again with a transfer kitty that could only stretch to a Fulham squad player and an Ivorian on a free transfer because he's nearly 40! 

themac_23

when was the last time we had as good a start as this domestically? really enjoy watching us at the minute.

ned

Quote from: themac_23 on November 06, 2016, 09:02:18 AM
when was the last time we had as good a start as this domestically? really enjoy watching us at the minute.

Under MON in at least three of his five seasons.
Yesterday was a telling result. Last match against ICT I attended we lost 1-0 at Celtic Park under NL. Poor result and dire performance. We have struggled at times against them, even earlier this season. Progress is happening.
And by the way Richie Foran is a greetin' faced prat!

Here's a few facts.In Lisbon in 1967 Celtic,in their first season ever in the European Cup, faced a team with infinitely superior resources and pedigree.

Last Thursday night Dundalk in Petersburg had a similar scenario to contend with.

Last season Leicester City won the EPL.

In otherwords resources are not all that important, if a good manager can motivate his players, who are all well paid professionals,and come up with the correct tactics and formations to make his team at the very least competitive and assured in any arena against any team.

With the luxury of adding Sinclair,Dembele and Toure to his squad (all players whose wages were beyond the dreams of Ronny),Rodgers has achieved the unremarkable feat of making Celtic invincible domestically (although it still takes far too long to wrap these games up),against minnow opposition.But in the European setting his flaws and inability to learn from past mistakes are cruelly exposed (such as pussyfooting about the other night against ten men when a win was a must).

So are you saying you would rather Celtic to have a third rate manager and no resources. Regardless of how much or how little Ronny had, he had significantly more than all the other SPL teams and with no opposition worth talking about should have won 3 trebles. In his first season BR has transformed the team, according to everyone in the world, including the players, except you. Also interesting to read what you say about Sinclair, a man who you said was a rubbish chav a few weeks ago. You really are a laughing stock, or wingnut as the locals call you.

Resources are not all that important. Fact :D (said no one sane ever)

Do you actually believe the guff you write?

I wonder does Ronald Koeman's humiliating defeat away from home, to a team must worse than Barcelona, make him a shite manager? He took over around the same stage as Rodgers didn't he?

We are not talking about Ronald Koeman,he is operating under different circumstances and expectations and targets.We are talking about the Celtic manager's failure to deliver in Europe,failure to make the team competitive in Europe and failure to recognise simple basics like when he gets an equaliser away from home,against the run of play and with his opponents down to ten men and a win an absolute must,you don't tolerate square balls in the back four or the lack of confidence to go for the win.

Quote from: T Fearon on November 06, 2016, 01:10:46 PM
We are not talking about Ronald Koeman,he is operating under different circumstances and expectations and targets.We are talking about the Celtic manager's failure to deliver in Europe,failure to make the team competitive in Europe and failure to recognise simple basics like when he gets an equaliser away from home,against the run of play and with his opponents down to ten men and a win an absolute must,you don't tolerate square balls in the back four or the lack of confidence to go for the win.

Nonsense, the are operating under similar pressures. Plus, Koeman is on a wage similar to Rodgers. A thing you keep banging on about. He has a bigger budget due to the TV money, he has better players and his teams capitulation to Chelsea is far worse than Celtic v Barcelona. Rodgers may be judged on his performances in Europe but Koeman is judged on how he competes in the prem. He has a much more competitive weekly competition on which to build his team and get them to the required level. However, Koeman is doing a good job....he will have blips like this, no sane Everton fan is calling for his head. You allow no time for progress to take place and shows either a complete lack of understanding of football or just some sort of vindictive vendetta against Rodgers.

Ronald Koeman should be judged on the Everton thread.His expectation is to keep Everton in the top half of the Premiership.Nothing more.

The thing about Celtic in Europe this season is  there is no progression,just a graph with a few peaks,and many more troughs.If I genuinely saw any sign of sustained progress I would acknowledge such.

No you wouldn't, you're just a crooked tithead who holds his ground and outlasts others in arguments as they see sense and realise there's air getting in somewhere.

It's clear from your post about the BMG match you didn't even watch it (or else you're really just a liar). I only saw the last 10/15 minutes & Celtic were pretty much camped in their half with Henderson & McGregor spurning great chances - supposedly from a team who showed no urgency. FRAUD of the highest order.

Quote from: T Fearon on November 06, 2016, 02:45:57 PM
Ronald Koeman should be judged on the Everton thread.His expectation is to keep Everton in the top half of the Premiership.Nothing more.

The thing about Celtic in Europe this season is  there is no progression,just a graph with a few peaks,and many more troughs.If I genuinely saw any sign of sustained progress I would acknowledge such.

No progression? We are in the CL. That's progression you gombeen

Last time I checked we've been in the Champions League for a number of years.

StGallsGAA

Quote from: T Fearon on November 06, 2016, 07:02:01 PM
Last time I checked we've been in the Champions League for a number of years.
Then the last time you checked you were wrong.  Unless of course your frivolous argumentative point is that every time Celtic win the league they enter the CL qualification rounds?  If so  then you've run out of arguments and are being a puerile idiot.