?

?
62 (89.9%)
?
7 (10.1%)

Total Members Voted: 69

Sure you love it too. You read it all get off on the eye rolling and the folorn hope that Tony will somehow reform or be brought to heel.

Also from another perspective his dissenting voice can be useful in bringing out some good points and facts such as on the Hillsborough disaster.

Rodgers isn't  (nor should be) immune from criticism, but the whole debate here has been poisoned before it could even begin as Fearon took another uber-grudge for some reason. Most sensible people would at least give him a few months before forming a lasting opinion.

ned

Quote from: stew on September 14, 2016, 03:24:37 PM
Tony, The entire team last night cost Celtic under 17 million to assemble, Barcas squad cost 340 million to assemble and they got Messi for feck all, how can you expect them to compete?

I know I know, they beat them once in Lennons day, they should have lost by five.

Messi's buy out clause (I know that doesn't really matter) is €250m more than ten times the worth of Celtic's squad. Their front three must be worth upwards of €500m. I'm looking forward to seeing how City do against them. I reckon it will end up 6-3 Barca.

Firstly the Celtic manager's performance is a legitimate part of this thread.

Secondly the Barca team beaten by Celtic in 2012 cost astromically more than the Celtic team,as did most English Premiership sides in comparison to Leicester City last season.

In just a couple of months,the current Celtic manager,the highest remunerated in the club's history has presided over the most embarrassing result in the club's history,a defeat by a part time team from Gibraltar,and the club's biggest ever defeat in Europe.Last night the team had no fight,were overawed (the so called gulf in class was roughly similar bus a vis Inter Milan in comparison to Celtic in 1967,but did big Jock send them out to be over awed?) and unforgivably threw in the towel.

If Ronny had been in the dugout last night,with the same team,he would be out of a job now.

Hectic

Quote from: T Fearon on September 14, 2016, 05:54:09 PM

Secondly the Barca team beaten by Celtic in 2012 cost astromically more than the Celtic team,as did most English Premiership sides in comparison to Leicester City last season.

In just a couple of months,the current Celtic manager,the highest remunerated in the club's history has presided over the most embarrassing result in the club's history,a defeat by a part time team from Gibraltar,and the club's biggest ever defeat in Europe.Last night the team had no fight,were overawed (the so called gulf in class was roughly similar bus a vis Inter Milan in comparison to Celtic in 1967,but did big Jock send them out to be over awed?) and unforgivably threw in the towel.

If Ronny had been in the dugout last night,with the same team,he would be out of a job now.

Hysterical

foxcommander

Quote from: MoChara on September 14, 2016, 12:15:45 PM

We could moan about the inequality in modern day football and how money has changed (corrupted?) the modern day game – that's another story entirely.

The "champions" league is a joke. It's ruined football in smaller nations and given them absolutely no chance of progression. How on earth are you supposed to compete when the odds are so stacked against you.

Bring back the old European Cup.
Every second of the day there's a Democrat telling a lie

Hectic

Quote from: JoG2 on September 14, 2016, 02:39:21 PM
This thread is absolutely ridiculous and must be tough going for Celtic fans

I've been to one Celtic match, Aberdeen @ Parkheed around 2000/2001. They won 6-0, swings and roundabouts men!

Ramo Vega debut, cold winters day, couple of gaols for Vega?

Hectic

Quote from: ashman on September 13, 2016, 12:14:14 AM
The Celtic fans utterly debased our national flag and its sentiments in a display of utter bigotry .  True Irish republicanism defaced by these mooks . I hope Barcelona hit them for six .   Celtic fans sully Irish republicanism and its noble intentions .

Buion dar slua thar toinn rainig chugainn!!

Quote from: foxcommander on September 14, 2016, 06:18:43 PM

We could moan about the inequality in modern day football and how money has changed (corrupted?) the modern day game – that's another story entirely.

The "champions" league is a joke. It's ruined football in smaller nations and given them absolutely no chance of progression. How on earth are you supposed to compete when the odds are so stacked against you.

I agree. Barca are a great bunch of lads but they get illegal state aid as do Real.
and you'll never see a team from Eastern Europe winning the CL
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=osGXE2Aje5Q

Hectic

Unfortunately we are closer to an elite European Super League than the old European Cup. As such it is vital that Celtic spend this years jackpot wisely and do so year on year to establish themselves as a Champions League team to ensure that they are on the right side of the line when it is drawn. While this approach is not ideal from a true sporting perspective it would mean that we would be able to cut ourselves free from all the baggage that comes from playing in Scotland.

foxcommander

Quote from: seafoid on September 14, 2016, 06:43:41 PM

I agree. Barca are a great bunch of lads but they get illegal state aid as do Real.

Since they changed it to initial group stages rather than the home-away ties it really leaves little room for one-off heroics. One bad night for a superclub can be fixed in the other 5 to see them through.

Seeding as well is another pile of poo. Open draw - what are they afraid of?
Every second of the day there's a Democrat telling a lie

Hectic

Quote from: foxcommander on September 14, 2016, 07:03:06 PM
Quote from: seafoid on September 14, 2016, 06:43:41 PM

Since they changed it to initial group stages rather than the home-away ties it really leaves little room for one-off heroics. One bad night for a superclub can be fixed in the other 5 to see them through.

Seeding as well is another pile of poo. Open draw - what are they afraid of?

Its called commercialism.

Despite all the obstacles Celtic should always qualify for the group stages and be competitve.A good manager creates self belief,togetherness and never say die attitude all qualities conspicuous by their absence last night.

charlieTully

Quote from: T Fearon on September 14, 2016, 05:54:09 PM

sometimes it happens in sport unfortunately, sure look at what cross did to portadown in the Armagh championship. life goes on.

Esmarelda

Quote from: omaghjoe on September 14, 2016, 04:47:46 PM
Sure you love it too. You read it all get off on the eye rolling and the folorn hope that Tony will somehow reform or be brought to heel.

Also from another perspective his dissenting voice can be useful in bringing out some good points and facts such as on the Hillsborough disaster.
If that's directed at me I (who would know) can tell you you're wrong.

I don't believe he's genuine so bringing him to heel doesn't apply. It's very tiresome.