GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Shamrock Shore on March 20, 2018, 04:56:30 PM

Title: Longford v Kerry - National League QF 1984
Post by: Shamrock Shore on March 20, 2018, 04:56:30 PM
I came across this over the weekend:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OPVhpCjTJ_k&feature=youtu.be (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OPVhpCjTJ_k&feature=youtu.be)

I remember it well in a sense. Longford hosting the mighty Kerry (Kerry waived home advantage). At this time the League had QFs. Top 4 in Div 1, Top 2 in Div 2 and winners of Div 3 and Div 4 (or it could have been Div 3 North and Div 3 South)

But isn't memory terrible. There was I, thinking in my memory (having not seen it since 1984), that it was marvellous fare.

But, fcuk me, it's dreadful now that I see it again. It's a lump-a-thon on a dreadful pitch in a dreadful dank park with dreadful miserable looking people. We took an early 1-04 to 0-00 lead but Kerry reeled us in. Paidi was playing but, by all accounts, he was still hungover from going on the tear the night before.

Ireland in the 80s.  :-[
Title: Re: Longford v Kerry - National League QF 1984
Post by: seafoid on March 20, 2018, 05:04:22 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on March 20, 2018, 04:56:30 PM

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OPVhpCjTJ_k&feature=youtu.be (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OPVhpCjTJ_k&feature=youtu.be)

I remember it well in a sense. Longford hosting the mighty Kerry (Kerry waived home advantage). At this time the League had QFs. Top 4 in Div 1, Top 2 in Div 2 and winners of Div 3 and Div 4 (or it could have been Div 3 North and Div 3 South)

But isn't memory terrible. There was I, thinking in my memory (having not seen it since 1984), that it was marvellous fare.

But, fcuk me, it's dreadful now that I see it again. It's a lump-a-thon on a dreadful pitch in a dreadful dank park with dreadful miserable looking people. We took an early 1-04 to 0-00 lead but Kerry reeled us in. Paidi was playing but, by all accounts, he was still hungover from going on the tear the night before.

Ireland in the 80s wasn't that bad. Nobody had 700k mortgages when interest rates started to go up.
Laois won the league in 86.
It's interesting that Longford and Carlow are blooming now  while Meath and the flour bags are stagnating.
Post by: Owenmoresider on March 20, 2018, 05:56:01 PM

At least there was a decent stand in Longford then. ;)
Post by: Shamrock Shore on March 20, 2018, 06:01:58 PM
Quote from: Owenmoresider on March 20, 2018, 05:56:01 PM

LOL.

TBH I'd say stand in 1984 was falling down too but nobody passed a bit a heed back then
Post by: laoislad on March 20, 2018, 06:26:31 PM
QuoteIt's a lump-a-thon on a dreadful pitch in a dreadful dank park with dreadful miserable looking people.
Not much has changed in Longford since... ;D
Post by: AZOffaly on March 20, 2018, 06:46:54 PM
Jaysus SS. you're harsh. I've just watched the first 5 minutes and the football isn't bad at all. Lovely foot passing. Poor shooting alright. But that first Longford score was lovely. A sideline, and a lay off one two and a great long range point.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on March 20, 2018, 06:58:28 PM
Good man Laoislad! Would hate to see Laois in 198!

AZ - maybe I am too harsh - I'm a bit grumpy today.

What I am delighted in seeing again is the famous John 'Speedy' McCormack dummy that left manys a back flat on their holes.

There is a prime example about 10 mins in.

He was one of the best Longford ever produced.
Post by: AZOffaly on March 20, 2018, 08:02:05 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on March 20, 2018, 06:58:28 PM

What I am delighted in seeing again is the famous John 'Speedy' McCormack dummy that left manys a back flat on their holes.

Dessie Barry. That man could turn on a sixpence.
Post by: seafoid on March 20, 2018, 09:39:23 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on March 20, 2018, 06:58:28 PM

Did he win an all-star? 
Post by: Shamrock Shore on March 20, 2018, 09:50:47 PM
Nah. No county gets an All Star without having some sort of a summer run.

Longford has never had an All Star  :-[
Post by: Bod Mor on March 21, 2018, 10:00:59 AM
Just watched the first 3 minutes and Johnny McCormack looks as good a forward as you'd see nowadays! Two fine points from play. Quick thinking and fine execution for the first. Genius skill and accuracy for the second. Take a bow Johnny!
Post by: magpie seanie on March 21, 2018, 10:22:58 AM
Longford always had good players and is gaelic football mad. Just never had enough of them ot the one time.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on March 21, 2018, 10:56:48 AM
Quote from: Bod Mor on March 21, 2018, 10:00:59 AM
Just watched the first 3 minutes and Johnny McCormack looks as good a forward as you'd see nowadays! Two fine points from play. Quick thinking and fine execution for the first. Genius skill and accuracy for the second. Take a bow Johnny!

Seriously 'Speedy' McCormack was class. I know most people think of Dessie Barry from that era but, for my money, Speedy was just as good. There was a bit of a Matt Le Tissier about him, looked non-interested and lazy at times, but when he had the ball he could make goms of even the best opponent.
Post by: Bord na Mona man on March 21, 2018, 11:00:46 AM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on March 21, 2018, 10:56:48 AM
Quote from: Bod Mor on March 21, 2018, 10:00:59 AM

Seriously 'Speedy' McCormack was class. I know most people think of Dessie Barry from that era but, for my money, Speedy was just as good. There was a bit of a Matt Le Tissier about him, looked non-interested and lazy at times, but when he had the ball he could make goms of even the best opponent.
I remember in one commentary, Jimmy Magee referred to McCormack as 'Dead Eye Dick'. I'm not sure why though.
Post by: The Hill is Blue on March 21, 2018, 11:39:23 AM
The best Longford team ever has to be the team of the mid 60s. I saw them play many times during that era and they were one of the classiest teams around, eventually surpassing even the great Galway team of that time.

I saw them play New York in Croke Park in 1966 in what has to be the filthiest display of thuggery (from New York) that was ever seen on a football field.
Post by: CJ2017 on March 21, 2018, 01:13:19 PM
Looks to be and Old Merc arriving to the game at 3.59 for the late arrivals,
Do you's think it could be the late Albert Reynolds?!

(https://cdn-03.independent.ie/irish-news/article30527608.ece/bb0cb/AUTOCROP/h342/2014-08-22_iri_3051093_I1.JPG)
Post by: seafoid on March 21, 2018, 01:49:03 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on March 20, 2018, 09:50:47 PM
Nah. No county gets an All Star without having some sort of a summer run.

Longford has never had an All Star  :-[
The all-stars started just a few years after 1968. It must have been les soixante huitards in Paris who inspired Longford that year.
Post by: Owenmoresider on March 21, 2018, 02:04:30 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on March 20, 2018, 06:01:58 PM

LOL.

TBH I'd say stand in 1984 was falling down too but nobody passed a bit a heed back then
Think it was still around until the 2000's? Seem to think it was still like that when we played there in 1999, against Longford and then Armagh a few weeks later.
Post by: Captain Obvious on March 21, 2018, 02:50:41 PM
Lack of selfies,fake tan and cut jeans in that video. 
Post by: Billys Boots on March 21, 2018, 03:32:23 PM
Jaysus, that brought back some memories - I've seen better footage of Victorian times, so it definitely wasn't fake.  Was at the game and remember deluding myself after the first few minutes that it might be a good day for Longford.  It certainly wasn't vintage football, Shamrock Shore.  Was that your Da in the first minute of the footage?
Post by: Shamrock Shore on March 21, 2018, 05:27:21 PM
Quote from: Billys Boots on March 21, 2018, 03:32:23 PM
Jaysus, that brought back some memories - I've seen better footage of Victorian times, so it definitely wasn't fake.  Was at the game and remember deluding myself after the first few minutes that it might be a good day for Longford.  It certainly wasn't vintage football, Shamrock Shore.  Was that your Da in the first minute of the footage?

Nah Billy - not auld Shore. It does look like him - but no.

And yes - for a while we thought it would be the shock of the century - isn't hope a hoor?

I sent the link onto one of the Kerry boys playing that day that I know to send on to Pat Spillane. I fully expect Pat to use it at some stage this year on Da Sundah Game to show how football has gone so far backwards in 33 years  :-\
Post by: AZOffaly on March 21, 2018, 06:20:08 PM
I watched the 1982 final on eir last night. Conditions were woeful but some lovely play, mixed in with dire passing and handling. Matt Connor may have had his worst game for Offaly. Brendan Lowry was great in the first half.

Dublin today would blow that Kerry side away, but if the Kerry side had the same preparation, jaysus they had some fine footballers.
Post by: Jinxy on March 21, 2018, 08:02:23 PM
To be honest, I struggle to watch football from the era where you were allowed to basically throw the ball into the net.
Post by: Cunny Funt on March 21, 2018, 08:27:51 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on March 21, 2018, 08:02:23 PM
To be honest, I struggle to watch football from the era where you were allowed to basically throw the ball into the net.
Joe Sheridan said hello.
Post by: Jinxy on March 21, 2018, 08:35:43 PM
That took longer than I expected.
Post by: Qwerty28 on March 21, 2018, 10:48:46 PM
Lads, on a somewhat related note, you'd hardly know if there's any footage available of the great teams of the 60s?

I contacted RTE & the GAA, said it would cost something like €120 for them to go through their archives and then would have to get GAA permissions as the own the copyright or something along those lines.

The auld lad those often talk about various matches and trips and no doubt he'd love to relive some of the action again!
Post by: Shamrock Shore on March 21, 2018, 11:40:49 PM
Qwerty.

When Kerry played Longford in the AIQs in Killarney in 2006 it was live on the tv. I recorded it (as I was natch in Killarney). At the start of the program they showed clips from the AISF in 1968. I had never ever seen this before so it does exist. Now where you would unearth it again is beyond me.
Post by: Ball Hopper on March 22, 2018, 12:31:49 AM
11 July 2009 - Longford host Kerry in the qualifiers - full game - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mmys91FU0QE&feature=youtu.be

29 July 2006 - Goals from the Kerry/Longford qualifier game in Killarney.  Kieran Donaghy's first game at full forward. 

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UCZPeAbDIQo
Post by: fearbrags on March 22, 2018, 12:51:19 AM
Longfords John Mccormack was a very  good footballler Imho
Post by: whitey on March 22, 2018, 01:18:39 AM
The League was a big deal back in those days. The Championship was knock out, so if your team made an exit in May or June that was it for the summer.  I think half the games were played before christmas and the other half after the New Year. The top two teams from each division went into the quarter finals. Games didnt get very big crowds like they do now so they were often played at smaller venues. I remember Mayo games being played in Charlestown and Ballina in addition to McHale Park.  I even remember a game being played in Ballinrobe but my memory may be playing tricks with that one
Post by: Shamrock Shore on March 22, 2018, 08:19:58 AM
Quote from: whitey on March 22, 2018, 01:18:39 AM
The League was a big deal back in those days. The Championship was knock out, so if your team made an exit in May or June that was it for the summer.  I think half the games were played before christmas and the other half after the New Year. The top two teams from each division went into the quarter finals. Games didnt get very big crowds like they do now so they were often played at smaller venues. I remember Mayo games being played in Charlestown and Ballina in addition to McHale Park.  I even remember a game being played in Ballinrobe but my memory may be playing tricks with that one

It certainly was a big deal Whitey. 3 games before Christmas and 4 after. Top 4 in Div 1, Top 2 in Div 2 and 1 each from Div 3 and 4 went into QFinals. Back in the 60s there was the home final and then the winners of that played new York. In 1985 I think there was a reshuffle and Longford ended up in Div 1 for some reason! Kinda like the fcukers that got driver's licenses in the late 70s for free without sitting a test. Anyhoo we managed to beat Dublin in Croke Park and then Galway. Two big names. However wheels came off soon after. But to beat the Dubs in Croke Park was something special to be at. Yes............. Championship was usually a on night stand back then whereas the League was a steamy love affair!

HA!

Post by: seafoid on March 22, 2018, 09:37:06 AM
That Longford match was over 30 years ago and in the meantime Longford have won nothing. That is the problem with the current system. It is geared to the successful larger counties and the Super 8 will reinforce this.

https://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/2018/0320/948846-philip-jordan-carlow/

Carlow got out of d4 after 33 years and it meant so much to them. A tiered All Ireland wouldn't rule out a county with a once in a generation team winning something significant and maybe getting an all star. In any year there will be counties going places and counties settling down to an appropriate level of disorder and chaos.
Post by: Dinny Breen on March 22, 2018, 09:50:41 AM
Quote from: seafoid on March 22, 2018, 09:37:06 AM
That Longford match was over 30 years ago and in the meantime Longford have won nothing. That is the problem with the current system. It is geared to the successful larger counties and the Super 8 will reinforce this.

Carlow got out of d4 after 33 years and it meant so much to them. A tiered All Ireland wouldn't rule out a county with a once in a generation team winning something significant and maybe getting an all star. In any year there will be counties going places and counties settling down to an appropriate level of disorder and chaos.

My Grandfather Dinny Breen won a Junior All-Ireland with Westmeath in 1929 and that team were feted for decades afterwards, it was his proudest achievement, he also played Railway Cup for Leinster when that meant something too. However modern society will dictate that a layered competition will not get the media exposure, will be demeaned by many on social media and will eventually die a horrible death ala the Tommy Murphy and the Christy Ring is going the same way even though it brought great energy initially but now gets wrapped before May, May ffs.

Dinny was a guard and to keep the Longford connection on the thread played for Ardagh back in early 30s.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on March 22, 2018, 10:56:37 AM
QuoteDinny was a guard and to keep the Longford connection on the thread played for Ardagh back in early 30s.

If this is the case then there is no doubt my grandfather probably had a cut out of your grandfather (or vice versa) cos when Ardagh played Mostrim back in the olden days it would usually end up in at least three all-out rows. Neighbouring parishes were like that before civilisation came with Rural Electrification.
Post by: Dinny Breen on March 22, 2018, 11:05:30 AM
No doubt, but he was a big man, 6'3 played in midfield, I wouldn't have wanted a scelp off him.
Post by: Cunny Funt on March 22, 2018, 11:49:29 AM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on March 22, 2018, 09:50:41 AM
Quote from: seafoid on March 22, 2018, 09:37:06 AM

My Grandfather Dinny Breen won a Junior All-Ireland with Westmeath in 1929 and that team were feted for decades afterwards, it was his proudest achievement, he also played Railway Cup for Leinster when that meant something too. However modern society will dictate that a layered competition will not get the media exposure, will be demeaned by many on social media and will eventually die a horrible death ala the Tommy Murphy and the Christy Ring is going the same way even though it brought great energy initially but now gets wrapped before May, May ffs.

Dinny was a guard and to keep the Longford connection on the thread played for Ardagh back in early 30s.

Played into June this year i believe. Without looking it up i bet few would be able to name the 8 teams taking part in this years Christy ring cup and i wonder how many know it has now become 3rd tier competition?
Post by: Kurtz on March 23, 2018, 01:11:37 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on March 20, 2018, 06:01:58 PM

LOL.

When your drive took twice as long to get to these places, the stand was the least of your worries
People are soft today compared
I think the term snowflake is apt