GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: mrdeeds on September 05, 2017, 04:36:52 PM

Title: AIB Jeff and Kammy road to Croker
Post by: mrdeeds on September 05, 2017, 04:36:52 PM
Just wondering has anyone beinh watching the episodes. I thought their views when they saw Tyrone's Centre of Excellence was interesting and how impressed they were. Also how they liked seeing kids out on field at Carlow Leitrim game.
Title: Re: AIB Jeff and Kammy road to Croker
Post by: Gaffer on September 05, 2017, 04:43:56 PM
Kammy thought Garvaghey was unbelievable !! He said so to Jeff!!!
Post by: seafoid on September 05, 2017, 04:44:13 PM
Quote from: mrdeeds on September 05, 2017, 04:36:52 PM
Just wondering has anyone beinh watching the episodes. I thought their views when they saw Tyrone's Centre of Excellence was interesting and how impressed they were. Also how they liked seeing kids out on field at Carlow Leitrim game.
I really like it
Post by: Esmarelda on September 05, 2017, 04:46:23 PM
I like the two lads and I've only seen the first two or three, but they seem to love laughing at themselves a lot. It seems to be a common thing among English lads. The lads on Soccer Saturday laugh at each other all afternoon. I'm anticipating it'll improve.
Post by: AZOffaly on September 05, 2017, 04:47:01 PM
I like it  I thought the leitrim carlow game was very good.
Post by: RedHand88 on September 05, 2017, 04:55:41 PM
Quote from: Gaffer on September 05, 2017, 04:43:56 PM
Kammy thought Garvaghey was unbelievable !! He said so to Jeff!!!
Kammy said any english league team bar the premiership and half the championship would give anything for Garvaghey.
Post by: Avondhu star on September 05, 2017, 05:03:08 PM
It's good. Plenty of laughing at each others "jokes" but interesting at the same time. It was the first time I saw the Tyrone set up. IMPRESSIVE
They have really put it up to the rest.
Unbelievable Jeff
Post by: T Fearon on September 05, 2017, 05:06:19 PM
Enjoyable but you do wonder how much of it is choreographed and their "amazement" driven by the fat fees they no doubt are receiving
Post by: Avondhu star on September 05, 2017, 05:21:52 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on September 05, 2017, 05:06:19 PM
Enjoyable but you do wonder how much of it is choreographed and their "amazement" driven by the fat fees they no doubt are receiving
You probably would prefer the Daniel and Majella B and B roadtrip
Post by: Esmarelda on September 05, 2017, 05:24:07 PM
Quote from: Avondhu star on September 05, 2017, 05:21:52 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on September 05, 2017, 05:06:19 PM
You probably would prefer the Daniel and Majella B and B roadtrip
In fairness, this is one of the funniest things I've seen in recent times
https://www.joe.ie/movies-tv/video-this-womans-hilarious-reaction-after-daniel-odonnell-showed-up-at-her-house-516394
Post by: Walter Cronc on September 05, 2017, 05:25:54 PM
Quote from: Avondhu star on September 05, 2017, 05:03:08 PM
It's good. Plenty of laughing at each others "jokes" but interesting at the same time. It was the first time I saw the Tyrone set up. IMPRESSIVE
They have really put it up to the rest.
Unbelievable Jeff

Aye its got a decent conference room apparently and that T shape will keep the geese in line.
Post by: Minder on September 05, 2017, 05:45:36 PM
Plenty of banter I'm guessing
Post by: Captain Scarlet on September 05, 2017, 05:50:56 PM
In fairness it is another bit of a laugh and maybe I am not cynical enough in my old age but Kammy just makes me laugh and I am sure Jeff and him get on fairly well in reality. It doesn't come across all Top Gear banter buddies.
In fairness you have to hand it AIB who have been doing things differently over the past few years in terms of how they promote their sponsorship. The ads with the likes of James O'Donoghue were good and they seem to go less for the epic style promos and ads which are a bit stale.
Post by: Captain Obvious on September 05, 2017, 05:54:02 PM
Good watch those episodes so far or be it a little short. Jeff and Kammy come across as decent chaps.
Post by: T Fearon on September 05, 2017, 06:16:09 PM
I do find the episodes entertaining,but how much is it about promoting Sky's GAA coverage,particularly in the UK
Post by: From the Bunker on September 05, 2017, 07:10:00 PM
It's scripted reality TV. It's no real harm! It has the usual plámásing you get when some one does a documentary looking from the outside. Reminds me a bit of 'The Toughest Trade' Programme.

The usual praising of how great our Sport is. How we have great facilities. How we have great volunteers. How we have great players. How we do this and that for nothing! The GAA community love this, because it shines a light on us and we all think we are great (no harm at all). Players ability is exaggerated, we willingly buy into it and we can look down are noses at Professional sports thinking we are as good as them if not better.
Post by: T Fearon on September 05, 2017, 07:28:08 PM
Do we really need this patronisation though from a British sports presenter and an ex average British footballer?
Post by: armaghniac on September 05, 2017, 07:54:13 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on September 05, 2017, 06:16:09 PM
I do find the episodes entertaining,but how much is it about promoting Sky's GAA coverage,particularly in the UK

As a noted supporter of the UK, you'd be their target audience.
Post by: T Fearon on September 05, 2017, 08:38:06 PM
I am not a supporter of the UK,I am Northern Irish and believe we'd be better off without allegiances to either the UK or Dublin
Post by: Itchy on September 05, 2017, 10:01:54 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on September 05, 2017, 08:38:06 PM
I am not a supporter of the UK,I am Northern Irish and believe we'd be better off without allegiances to either the UK or Dublin

No such nationality. What does it say on your passport ?
Post by: T Fearon on September 05, 2017, 10:24:53 PM
Irish,only because there's no Northern Irish option
Post by: Itchy on September 05, 2017, 11:14:02 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on September 05, 2017, 10:24:53 PM
Irish,only because there's no Northern Irish option

There is no option because there is no such nationality. Just like there's no western Irish for mayo, eastern Irish for Dublin or south northern Irish for cavan. When your done figuring that out you might tell rory McIlroy too.
Post by: Lar Naparka on September 05, 2017, 11:20:15 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on September 05, 2017, 08:38:06 PM
Yeah but who would pick up the tab to to pay your bloody bills and keep you in the manner you have become accustomed to?
Post by: highorlow on September 05, 2017, 11:52:15 PM
Mighty shoulder on Kimmie in one episode. Enjoyed that.
Post by: Cunny Funt on September 21, 2017, 10:58:57 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L8hNwnEAG98&feature=share
Post by: T Fearon on September 22, 2017, 08:47:09 AM
Will we see Jeff and Kammy take over Sky's GAA broadcast's next year to broaden the appeal of Gaelic Games in Britain?
Post by: mrdeeds on September 22, 2017, 10:14:55 AM
Gave Joe McQuillan MOTM in first half. They haven't a clue!!!!! In fairness the few clips I've seen I actually like their commentary style. Much better than Canning et al.
Post by: AZOffaly on September 22, 2017, 10:27:02 AM
Quote from: mrdeeds on September 22, 2017, 10:14:55 AM
Gave Joe McQuillan MOTM in first half. They haven't a clue!!!!! In fairness the few clips I've seen I actually like their commentary style. Much better than Canning et al.

that was because they couldn't believe all the off the ball stuff. They did say both sets of fans thought he was a dodo.
Post by: seafoid on September 22, 2017, 11:04:16 AM
Quote from: From the Bunker on September 05, 2017, 07:10:00 PM
It's scripted reality TV. It's no real harm! It has the usual plámásing you get when some one does a documentary looking from the outside. Reminds me a bit of 'The Toughest Trade' Programme.

The usual praising of how great our Sport is. How we have great facilities. How we have great volunteers. How we have great players. How we do this and that for nothing! The GAA community love this, because it shines a light on us and we all think we are great (no harm at all). Players ability is exaggerated, we willingly buy into it and we can look down are noses at Professional sports thinking we are as good as them if not better.
The sports are great. So is the Gaeilge.  A lot of other things may be shite but those are not.
Post by: Main Street on September 22, 2017, 11:13:02 AM
They were right about Joe McQuillan though in their half time chat at the final. Joe played a big part in letting the game flow and not pedantically interrupting passages of play. Very few refs can control the game via the advantage, let the game flow and dish out the punishments afterwards when the game has paused.
Post by: seafoid on September 22, 2017, 02:45:33 PM
This was the best bit

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1PlSBAqPhAE
Post by: Cunny Funt on September 25, 2017, 06:19:56 PM
The final episode.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TrQCvw1a-kU
Post by: Syferus on September 25, 2017, 06:28:48 PM
Liam Mc lifted Sam before the match just to ensure Mayo would lose. He's really taken to his role in Roscommon.
Post by: Blowitupref on September 25, 2017, 07:53:41 PM
Andy More..ran.
Post by: BennyCake on September 25, 2017, 09:29:56 PM
Quote from: Cunny Funt on September 25, 2017, 06:19:56 PM
The final episode.

Are the rest of the episodes available?
Post by: magpie seanie on September 25, 2017, 09:46:45 PM
Yeah, they're all on youtube.
Post by: laoislad on September 25, 2017, 10:11:35 PM
Quote from: Cunny Funt on September 25, 2017, 06:19:56 PM
The final episode.

Maybe it is all scripted I dunno, but I think they were genuinely in awe of the whole occasion and the match itself especially Stelling.
I thought it was a great little series and well worth a watch.
Post by: Carmen Stateside on September 25, 2017, 10:52:38 PM
Really enjoyed that.  Big Dick done some jumping when Mayo scored :D
Post by: BennyCake on September 25, 2017, 10:55:19 PM
Quote from: Carmen Stateside on September 25, 2017, 10:52:38 PM
Really enjoyed that.  Big Dick done some jumping when Mayo scored :D

No need for such graphic descriptions.
Post by: Itchy on September 25, 2017, 10:57:01 PM
Easy to be cynical but I thought it was enjoyable to watch, the two boys are likeable fellas and i think their admiration was genuine.
Post by: Syferus on September 25, 2017, 11:01:43 PM
The Ireland AM interview the day after the final is probably better than any of the episodes: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L8hNwnEAG98

(Definitely wait 'til the end for a zinger)

The show itself had good content but the episodes were way too short to let you settle into their journey. It would have been better had it half the amount of episodes and twice as long, or extended episodes in general.
Post by: T Fearon on September 25, 2017, 11:10:39 PM
Enjoyable but not sure what the purpose was? No doubt the same two lads would find American Football enthralling, shinty in Scotland or bull fighting in Spain,and come out with the same platitudes anywhere and everywhere,in return for the fat fees AIB were paying them.In short what was the point of all this?
Post by: From the Bunker on September 25, 2017, 11:20:50 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on September 25, 2017, 11:10:39 PM
Enjoyable but not sure what the purpose was? No doubt the same two lads would find American Football enthralling, shinty in Scotland or bull fighting in Spain,and come out with the same platitudes anywhere and everywhere,in return for the fat fees AIB were paying them.In short what was the point of all this?

It's subliminal advertising for AIB and plámásing of the GAA public.

Post by: seafoid on September 26, 2017, 03:39:03 PM
The GAA is one of the few Irish institutions with any staying power
Post by: From the Bunker on September 26, 2017, 04:08:56 PM
Quote from: seafoid on September 26, 2017, 03:39:03 PM

In comparison to?
Post by: T Fearon on September 26, 2017, 04:09:04 PM
Premature to say that.At 133 years of age,it is younger than many pubs and businesses in Ireland
Post by: rosnarun on September 26, 2017, 04:25:15 PM
i suspect these professional broacasters of professional sport are only doing it for the money.
seem like good loads though ,
i always have time for Jeff for his anti london diatribe in defense of  Hartlepool
very funny but as true here as there
Post by: seafoid on September 26, 2017, 05:14:54 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on September 26, 2017, 04:08:56 PM
Quote from: seafoid on September 26, 2017, 03:39:03 PM

In comparison to?
FF, the PTAA,  Northern Ireland most likely, Dünnes Stores, AIB , Irish Life and Permanent, the Provos, the RTÉ  guide, Independent newspapers, SPUC, the Legion of Mary, the Mercy order, neoliberalism etc
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on September 26, 2017, 05:34:48 PM

You're some miserable hoor
Post by: Frank_The_Tank on September 26, 2017, 06:06:30 PM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on September 26, 2017, 05:34:48 PM

You're some miserable hoor

Has Jim Allister and Tony ever been seen in the same room?
Post by: T Fearon on September 26, 2017, 10:02:01 PM
Just asking what was the point of it all? I doubt Jeff and Kammy will ever return to watch GAA,at their own expense.Both they and the likes of John Bishop had seats at the All Ireland Final at the expense of ordinary fans
Post by: From the Bunker on September 26, 2017, 10:12:29 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on September 26, 2017, 10:02:01 PM
Just asking what was the point of it all? I doubt Jeff and Kammy will ever return to watch GAA,at their own expense.Both they and the likes of John Bishop had seats at the All Ireland Final at the expense of ordinary fans

My next door neighbour who could not name a current Mayo player had seats at the All Ireland Final at the expense of ordinary fans! I seen heaps of unworthy fans at the AI final. Such is the nature of life!
Post by: Frank_The_Tank on September 26, 2017, 10:31:45 PM

I dont know many ordinary fans that have seats in the media centre area
Post by: rosnarun on September 27, 2017, 10:51:22 AM
Quote from: From the Bunker on September 26, 2017, 10:12:29 PM

My next door neighbour who could not name a current Mayo player had seats at the All Ireland Final at the expense of ordinary fans! I seen heaps of unworthy fans at the AI final. Such is the nature of life!
don't think they was  a point other than to promote the AIB.
but they did a good job had a bit of fun and gave the GAA a bit of out of the normal coverage, isn't that enough ?
Life is not that complicated
Post by: seafoid on September 27, 2017, 12:56:06 PM
At least the Archbishop didn't throw the ball in to start the game
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on September 27, 2017, 06:50:02 PM
Maybe there should be 'reality' program done about the brilliance of the Catholic Church in Ireland...Tony might like that. Get Ardal O Hanlon and Abu Hamza touring wee Irish parishes in an old style VW van preserved from the 1960's to see what the local masses are like !!!
Post by: Jinxy on September 27, 2017, 06:55:44 PM

How many times have you had a seat at the expense of ordinary fans?
Post by: T Fearon on September 27, 2017, 10:46:03 PM
Right we need two British soccer commentators to tell us our games are great,community, and everyone sits together blah blah blah,and imagine the players do it all for nothing (as opposed to the huge sums the games sponsors pay two British soccer commentators to do this).

Did anyone in Ireland with a modicum of interest learn anything new about the GAA from this series.Do we really need people from other countries tellling us that our games are great? I don't.
Post by: Syferus on September 27, 2017, 10:56:48 PM
You'd think you'd get better at the WUMing you do it so much, but no. That's the most disappointing part.
Post by: BennyCake on September 27, 2017, 11:09:59 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on September 27, 2017, 10:46:03 PM
Right we need two British soccer commentators to tell us our games are great,community, and everyone sits together blah blah blah,and imagine the players do it all for nothing (as opposed to the huge sums the games sponsors pay two British soccer commentators to do this).

Did anyone in Ireland with a modicum of interest learn anything new about the GAA from this series.Do we really need people from other countries tellling us that our games are great? I don't.

I think it's an insecurity with Irish people. We seem to want to be constantly liked and need constant reassurance from outsiders about how great we are.

You see it when Irish fans go abroad. Last year at Euros, they picked up their rubbish and changed an auld dolls tyre. Would they do that at home? Would they feck.
Post by: Syferus on September 27, 2017, 11:14:22 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on September 27, 2017, 11:09:59 PM

I think it's an insecurity with Irish people. We seem to want to be constantly liked and need constant reassurance from outsiders about how great we are.

You see it when Irish fans go abroad. Last year at Euros, they picked up their rubbish and changed an auld dolls tyre. Would they do that at home? Would they feck.

Yeah, all those Russians and English rioting in the streets had the right idea.

Would you ever listen to your self - whining like a little bïtch about our country being painted in a good light.
Post by: BennyCake on September 28, 2017, 12:17:40 AM
Quote from: Syferus on September 27, 2017, 11:14:22 PM

Yeah, all those Russians and English rioting in the streets had the right idea.

Would you ever listen to your self - whining like a little bïtch about our country being painted in a good light.

I'm not whining. Merely pointing out a few truths. Yes they didn't behave like the Russians or the Brits, but we seem to jump through hoops to be liked.

It goes all the way up to government level too, only worse. Arselicking on the world stage, taking it all up the jacksie.
Post by: sligoman2 on September 28, 2017, 12:30:18 AM
For once I agree with you Sy.

Tony, quit  before you make a total fool of yourself.  I have to say I enjoyed the shows, good banter and they seemed to get on well together, not forced at all.

Good enjoyment, good promotion, just look at the number of views on YouTube ...
Post by: stew on September 28, 2017, 01:32:58 AM

Tony easy on kid, these bhoys will begin to take you seriously.
)
Post by: T Fearon on September 28, 2017, 06:30:54 AM
I'm as guilty at times as anyone.I did marvel occasionally at how "impressed" they were by us.But afterwards I thought why the hell should I feel like that.
Post by: Captain Obvious on September 28, 2017, 07:05:43 AM
Just asking what was the point of it all?
Do you ever ask yourself what is the point of all those mostly nonsense threads you have started on here over the last decade?
Post by: nrico2006 on September 28, 2017, 08:01:48 AM

Well said.  Singing lullabies at a child on a French train too etc.  Cringey as ****.
Post by: AZOffaly on September 28, 2017, 08:23:48 AM
I don't think there's anything wrong with wanting to be liked. It's better than acting the **** trying to be disliked.

I also don't think there's any harm in stepping back and remembering the good things about our country, including the GAA, our generally friendly people, our music, our sport in general, our beautiful countryside etc. We're all the time complaining about bad stuff and if you only ever focus on that you'd be miserable.

No harm in this at all in my opinion.
Post by: magpie seanie on September 28, 2017, 08:58:27 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on September 28, 2017, 08:23:48 AM
I don't think there's anything wrong with wanting to be liked. It's better than acting the **** trying to be disliked.

I also don't think there's any harm in stepping back and remembering the good things about our country, including the GAA, our generally friendly people, our music, our sport in general, our beautiful countryside etc. We're all the time complaining about bad stuff and if you only ever focus on that you'd be miserable.

No harm in this at all in my opinion.

Agree 100%. Well said. There's enough bad shit out there, we need to remember and celebrate the good stuff too.
Post by: Esmarelda on September 28, 2017, 09:33:52 AM
The whole concept of the GAA is something we should be uniquely proud of.

As it doesn't get much exposure outside of this island, it's always fascinating to see newcomers' reactions to it.
Post by: From the Bunker on September 28, 2017, 10:56:03 AM
Quote from: Esmarelda on September 28, 2017, 09:33:52 AM

As it doesn't get much exposure outside of this island, it's always fascinating to see newcomers' reactions to it.

It's all good even if the newcomers are getting paid to have reactions to it.
Post by: Esmarelda on September 28, 2017, 11:01:11 AM
Quote from: From the Bunker on September 28, 2017, 10:56:03 AM

Who's getting paid and by whom?
Post by: From the Bunker on September 28, 2017, 11:18:11 AM
Quote from: Esmarelda on September 28, 2017, 11:01:11 AM
Quote from: From the Bunker on September 28, 2017, 10:56:03 AM

Who's getting paid and by whom?

Jeff and Kammy by AIB. They couldn't give an arses monkey about Gaelic Games really!
Post by: rodney trotter on September 28, 2017, 12:53:47 PM
The presenters on Ireland Am were a bit desperate for the lads approval, of Gaa. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L8hNwnEAG98
Post by: AZOffaly on September 28, 2017, 01:01:09 PM
That's the bit I don't like. Putting words in their mouths to say "Oh yeah, way better than soccer, soccer players are gimps". I don't agree with that...
Post by: magpie seanie on September 28, 2017, 02:55:11 PM
Yeah, that got a bit cringy at times. Though I'd hate to think those two on Ireland AM represent anything I'd be associated with.
Post by: AZOffaly on April 30, 2018, 10:09:14 AM
I see a new version of this is being advertised on Facebook. A rematch of the 1998 AI Club Semifinal between Erin's Isle and Castlehaven from Cork.

Harry Redknapp is managing the Castlehaven lads, and Gianluca Vialli (bizarre) is managing Erin's Isle.

No sure when it's supposed to be out.. expect images of Harry in his motor with the window down, leaving Cork County Board offices late at night, telling Marty Morrissey he's managed to negotiate the transfer sanction for a young lad from South Kerry.
Post by: Syferus on April 30, 2018, 11:13:56 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on April 30, 2018, 10:09:14 AM
I see a new version of this is being advertised on Facebook. A rematch of the 1998 AI Club Semifinal between Erin's Isle and Castlehaven from Cork.

Harry Redknapp is managing the Castlehaven lads, and Gianluca Vialli (bizarre) is managing Erin's Isle.

No sure when it's supposed to be out.. expect images of Harry in his motor with the window down, leaving Cork County Board offices late at night, telling Marty Morrissey he's managed to negotiate the transfer sanction for a young lad from South Kerry.

This sounds utterly shït.

I know I'm totally biased but the Roscommon documentary was far better than Sterling and Kamara glad-handing GAA clubs for a few thousand pounds. That's the sort of thing they should be spending their money on.
Post by: LooseCannon on April 30, 2018, 04:54:58 PM
Let's be honest, it's AIB buying an image. Brolly had an interesting article on it.

https://amp.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/joe-brolly-aib-sky-and-other-brands-will-complete-cultural-hijacking-of-the-gaa-if-new-director-general-doesnt-act-36464318.html
Post by: Syferus on April 30, 2018, 05:34:13 PM
Quote from: LooseCannon on April 30, 2018, 04:54:58 PM
Let's be honest, it's AIB buying an image. Brolly had an interesting article on it.

https://amp.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/joe-brolly-aib-sky-and-other-brands-will-complete-cultural-hijacking-of-the-gaa-if-new-director-general-doesnt-act-36464318.html

The Roscommon doc was done by a local filmmaker who then sold the rights to AIB, which probably explains why it's much better than the 'Kammy' stuff. Watchable fluff but behind the scenes looks at IC make for far better viewing. Brolly is just doing his usual moralising, in the end this stuff is as harmless as anything else a sponsor has done and at least is halfways entertaining.

Really highlighted the failings of TG4's grey-haired-talking-heads-in-front-of-green-screens approach to GAA documentaries.
Post by: seafoid on April 30, 2018, 06:29:07 PM
Quote from: Syferus on April 30, 2018, 05:34:13 PM
Quote from: LooseCannon on April 30, 2018, 04:54:58 PM

The Roscommon doc was done by a local filmmaker who then sold the rights to AIB, which probably explains why it's much better than the 'Kammy' stuff. Watchable fluff but behind the scenes looks at IC make for far better viewing. Brolly is just doing his usual moralising, in the end this stuff is as harmless as anything else a sponsor has done and at least is halfways entertaining.

Really highlighted the failings of TG4's grey-haired-talking-heads-in-front-of-green-screens approach to GAA documentaries.

Typical Syf

Roscommon good
Gaeilge shite

But missing a Mayo angle this time
Post by: AZOffaly on April 30, 2018, 09:09:23 PM
Laochra Gael is great stuff. This is a completely different genre so I wouldn't find them comparable. As you said Syf, harmless stuff and enjoyable enough.
Post by: magpie seanie on May 03, 2018, 12:54:12 PM
Good article by Joe and one I tend to agree with. Unfortunately that's where we're headed.