2018 O'Byrne Cup

Started by Junior Ex Laoistalk, November 16, 2017, 01:29:21 AM

Junior Ex Laoistalk

We have some problems already with injury's to a few players. Seem to be plenty of interest in the squad so far, let's hope this is the start of a new era for Laois football.

Laois football manager provides injury update ahead of new season
https://www.laoistoday.ie/2017/12/18/laois-football-manager-provides-injury-update-ahead-new-season/
https://www.laoistoday.ie/2017/12/18/midfielder-quigley-gearing-up-for-twelfth-season-with-laois/

Winners are not those who never fail, but those who never quit!

Don Draper

Fair play to John, seems to be a good communicator, happy to talk to the media. Horseshit blossoms in a vacuum. He seems clear and concise and a good communicator. Hopefully it works thusly with the panel also.

Junior Ex Laoistalk

Here are the O'Byrne Cup games and all the other fixtures for the Laois footballers this year

O'Byrne Cup
Saturday, December 30 – Laois v Westmeath (away)
Sunday, January 7 – Laois v Westmeath (Stradbally)

Allianz Football League Division 4
Saturday, January 27 – Laois v Limerick (home)
Sunday, February 4 – Laois v Leitrim (away)
Saturday, February 10 – Laois v Waterford (home)
Sunday, February 25 – Laois v Wicklow (away)
Saturday, March 3 – Laois v Antrim (home)
Sunday, March 11 – Laois v London (away)
Sunday, March 25 – Laois v Carlow (away)

Leinster Football Championship
Saturday, May 12 – Laois v Wexford (away)
Saturday/Sunday, May 26/27 – Laois/Wexford v Westmeath (TBC)
Sunday, June 12 – Leinster semi-finals in Croke Park
Sunday, June 26 – Leinster final in Croke Park

SCFC

Quote from: KOTS3 on December 28, 2017, 11:17:39 PM
https://www.laoistoday.ie/2017/12/28/john-sugrue-names-first-laois-football-team-new-era-begins/
Glynn at 6 is interesting.
I'm not convinced about McEvoy but hope he proves me wrong. Fennell is an odd one. Again, I'm sure he's worth a look but haven't ever seen him dominate games for Rosenallis.

Junior Ex Laoistalk

Great to see Mark Timmons line out for Laois tomorrow to begin his tenth year playing at Senior level. Even though he went through a double hip operation last year he still puts himself forward for selection again this year.
No waiting for fine weather football for this man, he will line out at full back tomorrow in the wind and rain and be joined on the team by another great stalwart of Laois football, John O'Loughlin. These are the type of footballers that drive Laois on through tough times and I'm full of admiration for both of them in particular.
Great to see some new names out there and maybe Div.4 could turn out to be the launchpad for better days for Laois football...

on the hop

Wasn't to many at the game, we were steeped to come out by a point as they were much better and took a few players off and we came back into it. They had s few more regulars and it showed. The team is young and very light and at times it showed. First half was awful with the wind and we looked like getting a tanking, we finished far better. No real standouts. Brody was good but got planted with a shoulder when he soloed towards midfield, so hopefully no more of that. No shape in the Back's especially when Timmons and buggie got injured but fennell and Collins battled on, the rest handled a lot of ball but were very loose. Brian Glynn back after a long absence got roasted by a very quick if not an asshole of a centre forward. Hasn't the pace or fitness for that type of opponent. Was much better as a wing back:forward and kicked two points before been subbed. Jol was on his own in midfield but mixed good/bad and the reckless over the hour. Forwards had no bite, Kingston got a good goal and Gary kicked good scores but both missed a lot as well. Sean Moore really needs to up his gane. A lot subs used and the team picture on social media shows how new the team is.

Junior Ex Laoistalk

Agree, we were lucky to get out of there with anything, backline was totally disorganised after the two boys got injured but fair play to them they stuck with it and got what they deserved.
I think some lads found out what inter county football is all about and just how fit you need to be to last the pace. One lad in particular had to be subbed after chasing up the field and falling behind dramatically. Even at this level half hearted training won't do, it's all or nothing.
Can't knock the lads too much after the first game of the season but it looks like John Sugrue has a lot of work to do still.

Unlaoised

Not a bad result considering what happened ..looking forward to the return game...Laois need more from their forwards...

aswell as Gary Walsh played he missed some terrible chances in front of goal from open play and from off the ground but he is flying it ..

That young Holland chap has some engine.

Finally we might have some backs in him and Dowling from the Rock.

I thought Westmeath bullied us a bit over the period but we looked a little bit fitter.

Interesting to see who comes back into the fold for the next game!
LAOIS ABÚ

Laoisguy

By all accounts this game was very poor from both sides

I’m looking forward to home return and see who is putting their hand up

Great to see Sugrue trying out guys with potential and motivation

justinn

Laois Team v westmeath
LAOIS: Eoghan Keogh (Mountmellick); Stephen Attride (Killeshin), Shane Nerney (O'Dempsey's), James Kelly (St Joseph's); Robbie Piggott (Portarlington), Kieran Lillis (Portlaoise), Colm Begley (Stradbally); Danny Luttrell (Courtwood), Colm Coss (Mountmellick); Ciaran McEvoy (Portlaoise), Evan O'Carroll (Crettyard), Niall Donoher (Courtwood); Ross Munnelly (Arles-Kilcruise), Aaron Forbes (Graiguecullen), Eoin Lowry (Killeshin)

the sash

Nice to see games alocated outside of o moore park with this one in stadbally on suday. At least there might be more of an atmosphere around d ground even with small support. Would love to see the county board put senior club championship games around the club grounds again. Use to love playing championship games in stadbally, timahoe, park and mountmellick, there was that extra bit of bite to the games when the crowd was nearly on to of you. In o moore park  in the earlier rounds at the moment you might hear a solitary clap and an echo, nothing to get excited about. No spark to the games and as a player thats one of the few things that could really drive you on even if results weren't going your way. All the county board want is an easier way of  policing the money they take on from the gates. Should have really started a new forum for this rant

Tony

Good point, Sash. As a player, I found the atmosphere great in rural grounds. 200 people in Stradbally would be a much better atmosphere than 600 people in OMP for example. It's a good idea to hold the westmeath game there. Great ground, too, in good condition for this time of year. It's nice to see common sense winning sometimes.

town1980

Any updates on the game.??..