GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: An Gaeilgoir on November 26, 2006, 02:51:26 PM

Title: Frankie Dolan!!!
Post by: An Gaeilgoir on November 26, 2006, 02:51:26 PM
That Corofin  mentor wont come on again in a hurry!!! Dolan showed him!!! :D
Title: Re: Frankie Dolan!!!
Post by: An Laoch on November 26, 2006, 02:58:29 PM
How does he not get sent off for that??? Did  NONE of the SEVEN officials see it??
Post by: An Gaeilgoir on November 26, 2006, 03:00:05 PM
It looks like the ref has left his cards in the dressing room...whats going on is a disgrace by both teams.
Post by: An Laoch on November 26, 2006, 03:02:21 PM
Naomh Brid are playing some lovely football amidst the hits the though
Post by: An Gaeilgoir on November 26, 2006, 03:07:35 PM
Penalty for Corofin...still think Bridgets will win it.
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 26, 2006, 03:19:43 PM
 :o What a goal!
Post by: An Gaeilgoir on November 26, 2006, 03:20:04 PM
Carl Mannion scores one of the greatest goals of all time in injury time!!!! :D
Post by: Carmen Stateside on November 26, 2006, 03:20:57 PM
Holy shit!!! :D
Post by: Tatler Jack on November 26, 2006, 03:25:16 PM
Great result for Brigids - well done to all. A long time since a Ros team won a Connacht club title
Post by: An Gaeilgoir on November 26, 2006, 03:31:31 PM
Fair play to them..looks like JOM can do no wrong....i hope this bodes well for the green and red next year!!!! ;D
Post by: An Laoch on November 26, 2006, 03:38:11 PM
A stunning finish, thought they deserved it overall. It's salad days for Roscommon GAA!
Post by: Bogball XV on November 26, 2006, 03:40:06 PM
Great goal, better team won.  Congrats
Post by: mjg on November 26, 2006, 05:24:04 PM
Roscommon football is on the up will be a danger to all next year
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on November 26, 2006, 05:38:00 PM
Missed most of the match and just caught some brief highlights. How many players were sent off? Great goal to win it at the end. Saw Frankie Dolan's Bernard Dunne impression alright. I presume he got the line for that?

Heard it was a poor enough game. I'd say Crossmaglen or Ballinderry will be hot favourites for the semi.
Post by: neilthemac on November 26, 2006, 06:35:24 PM
Frankie didn't get the line - why was the Corofin mentor on the pitch in the first place?

Great win for Brigid's. The four years in a row spent winning Under 21 titles in Roscommon has finally come through.

Ulster opposition up next
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on November 26, 2006, 06:39:04 PM
QuoteFrankie didn't get the line

Did he not. Jaysus. ;D
Post by: An Laoch on November 26, 2006, 07:04:23 PM
Their seemed to be a ridiculous amount of people coming on the field and hanging around the sidelines during the game. Isn't there some rule about only designated 'bibbed' officials allowed around the playing area?
Post by: Mourne Rover on November 26, 2006, 08:58:25 PM
Manion's goal was something special, but surely he must have taken about 12 steps before the shot. Although St Bridget's deserved to win, I'd say Corofin will be pretty sick when they watch the tape. It's difficult to understand how the referee managed to miss both Dolan's punch and then the overcarrying from Manion. If the video evidence puts Dolan out of the All Ireland semi, St Bridget's are in big trouble.
Post by: rolloutking on November 27, 2006, 02:08:47 AM
lol wat a punch. Anyway the Corofin bloke shudn't have been on the field. He wasnt a player so how can Dolan get suspended. Look at it this way. If a fan came on the field and Dolan snouted him would he be sent off...probably not. The Corofin man didnt have a yellow bib on therefore he shouldn't have been inside the wire and most definitely not on the pitch. As far as Dolan is concerned he was a lunitic supporter who ran onto the field.

Here he did hit the ground like Didier Drogba tho. Wise up mate lol

Anyways that goal was a fluke. He was just hitting it towards goal, no way he meant it
Post by: Barney on November 27, 2006, 08:08:28 AM
Fair play to the red and green! Things are turning for Ros, promotion from Division 2 is a big possibility, and a great chance to get to a Connacht Final next Summer. Keep the heads and they may pose a serious obstacle for Mayo and Galway which would be good for Connacht football.

Connacht Final in the Hyde. Dolan should be sent off. Late goal wins it. Now who would write that script?
Post by: bridgegael on November 27, 2006, 08:34:38 AM
have to agree bout the amount of people standing along the sideline. they shouldn have been there.  two point is a dangerous lead and i think if there had have been a piont in it, mannion would have went for a point.  corofin will be kicking themselves today,  they missed three good scoring chances in last five to put the game out of reach.
Post by: Ryano on November 27, 2006, 09:21:59 AM
The Dolan punch; There was an altercation involving a player called Sice who ended up on the ground, said mentor (who is also called Sice) came onto pitch to "discuss" said altercation with Dolan who obviously did not feel like having a chat!! Whatever about being sent off it was some puch! Yer man might not be so quick to come onto the pitch next time.

But that should not take away from Karl Mannions goal. Holy sh1t! It was a dinger and to be honest the better team won. Corofin got 2 very very soft goals and apart from that they would have been creamed by Brigids.

They will be complete and total underdogs in the semi which i think will be totally fine with them!! The underdog status has suited Roscommon teams fairly well this year ;)
Post by: dubnut on November 27, 2006, 09:31:27 AM
In fairness the mentor had a good think about it before going down.
Post by: Plissken on November 27, 2006, 09:56:29 AM
I know its not right, but I couldnt help but laugh when Sugar Ray Dolan popped yer man on the chin,  I mean what was that guy
doing on the pitch anyway ?  he could have been anyone ?  was he even a mentor ?.  It took him ages to drop aswell, reminded me
of that Paolo Di Canio incident when the ref totally milked it.

Great goal by Mannion I thought they had blown it.  Brigids did deserve it I thought.
Title: The Goal
Post by: thebuzz on November 27, 2006, 10:07:46 AM
I think that Mannion probably thought he was going to get a free because he did appear to be getting pulled about a bit. To me in looked like he was just going for a point but it went in over the goalie's head. Great to see them winning.
Post by: Tatler Jack on November 27, 2006, 10:28:09 AM
According to Mannion he was going for a goal.

"I knew it was probably our last chance and I really wanted it because I felt that the two Corofin goals in the first half were my fault," said the delighted Mannion after the final whistle. "We knew if we kept going right until the wire, we would get the chance. After their penalty, they were two points up with two minutes to go and we knew we were under pressure.
"But if you got a chance you were going to take it. I just had to beat one man and then it opened up for me. And thank God, it went in."
Post by: Rossie11 on November 27, 2006, 10:29:25 AM
QuoteConnacht Final in the Hyde. Dolan should be sent off. Late goal wins it. Now who would write that script?
Ah Barney surely Gerry Lohan still isnt giving you nightmares at this stage..  :)

Fair play to Bridgets they deserved their win. Put some fine moves together. Would have been robbery if Corofin had won it.
The lack a lethal forward the likes of Meehan or Joyce.
Mannion by his own admission was having a stinker of a game up to that. Was the cause of the 2 early goals. Made up for it big time though.

Post by: GalwayBayBoy on November 27, 2006, 11:38:43 AM
I thought the lack of a star forward would eventually trip up Corofin. They are solid all over then pitch but when their main scoring forward can't even get on the Galway panel you have to think it might catch them out somewhere.

Bridget's probably just about deserved the win but Corofin did play virtually the entire game with 14 men so to even get themselves 2 points ahead going into injury time was a big effort from them.

I'm not a fan of mentors coming onto the pitch but Dolan had to go for that punch he threw. Mentor or not you just can't box the head of people on the field of play and expect to remain of the pitch. He got away with that one even though I had to laugh at the delayed reaction of the old buck he punched. He went down in instalments. The pair of them should have got the line.
Post by: magpie seanie on November 27, 2006, 12:28:05 PM
Didn't see the game of the incident with cranky Frankie but if he struck he should have gone. If one of the Aussies did it a few weeks ago we'd be calling him a t**ker. Consistency required here - there's no room for throwing punches on a football field.
Post by: rosnarun on November 27, 2006, 03:36:25 PM
never thought i'd be defending a roscommon man but dolan didnt start the hand bags stuff the mentor did. je wasnt even the on involved in the inital tackle.

they are still all sheepstealing cnuts though
Post by: Ryano on November 27, 2006, 04:48:12 PM
Quote from: rosnarun on November 27, 2006, 03:36:25 PM
never thought i'd be defending a roscommon man but dolan didnt start the hand bags stuff the mentor did. je wasnt even the on involved in the inital tackle.

they are still all sheepstealing cnuts though

ROSnarun!!!! Are you sure your not a confused "closet" rossie with a name like that?  ;) Defending the bould Frankie, next thing you know you will be trying to have Ballagh GAA club returned to Roscommon ;D
Post by: mouview on November 27, 2006, 05:12:57 PM
Real sickener for Corofin alright. Agree with GBB, for all the streams of great (technical) players Corofin produce, they can never seem to unearth naturally scoring forwards - the vintage Trevor Burke's presence is testament to that. Dunno why Alan O'Donovan didn't start (unless there was a row or something), he may have been in lean form but he's still their best chance of a few scores. Anyway, any team that only scores 3 points in a match scarcely deserve to win, this will fairly knock the wind out of their sails for a while. Ulster final should be a good 'un, with the winners being the team to beat, with Dr. Crokes second, IMHO. The hurling is Ballyhale's if they want it.
Post by: Galway15 on November 27, 2006, 05:47:41 PM
Bridgets deserved it..corofin were very poor but mannions goal was unreal....better team won..the mentor made a meal of Dolan's 'puch'..not exactly smokin frankie dolan
Post by: ross matt on November 27, 2006, 06:30:16 PM
I've no doubt Mannion was going for  a goal with that shot. Anyone that's seen him over the last few seasons at county level would know that he can fairly hammer them. Very honest in his admittance afterwards that he had a poor match up to then. To be fair to him he's more of a full forward than a midfielder.

Unfortunately Dolan probably gave Maughan more reason not to recall him to the county fold. Pity because (if fit and committed) he's badly needed. No sympathy for the Corofin mentor either though. He had no place being where he was at the time. Dont know where some posters got the view it was a poor match. Most media and eye witness reports classed it a decent contest.

It will be interesting to see whether Dolan gets a suspension or not and this will have major implications for Bridget's progress. Regardless of what happens to Frankie they will be outsiders versus the Ulster champions but this will suit them and Corofin and Crossmolina are two good scalps to have taken confidence wise.
Post by: Barney on November 28, 2006, 02:56:48 PM
Frankie me darlin', the pride of Ballymahon, this time it appears you f**ked

(http://www.setanta.com/content/setanta/cms.nsf/articleslookup/fe62a1e774ac16968025723400425628/$file/StBrigid'sDolanFrankiefight.jpg)

QuoteFormer Roscommon forward Frankie Dolan is facing a possible suspension after becoming involved in an altercation with a mentor during last Sunday's Connacht club football final.

Dolan played a starring role in St. Brigid's dramatic victory over Galway champions Corofin, but could now find himself in hot water following the off-the-ball incident which was captured by TV cameras.
Dolan got involved with Jimmy Sice early in the second half after the Corofin selector has come on to the field to attend to his son Gary, who was down injured. Mayo referee Vincent Neary took no action, despite consulting with his match officials.

The Connacht Council will wait until they receive the referee's report, but even if the referee does not mention the incident, they are still expected to initiative an investigation.

"We will wait for the report and then address any matters that arise from the report. That is the normal procedure. We should have the report in a day or so," said Connacht secretary John Prenty.

If Dolan is banned, he would almost certainly miss St. Brigid's All-Ireland semi-final meeting with either Ballinderry or Crossmaglen next February.

Post by: Mayo4Sam on November 28, 2006, 03:04:58 PM
Cant see the connaught council suspending him.
In fairness if yer man started on him then dolan had a right to defend himself.
Can see bridgits going places this year, but as per they will be written off against ballinderry or cross
Post by: youbetterbelieveit on November 28, 2006, 03:08:15 PM
Watched the highlights on TG4 last night, they did very well to come back after conceding the two goals so early on, and the last goal for them, mannion was definitely either kicking for a point or crossing it into the box in hope. from the highlights they looked the better team and so good luck to them.
Post by: An Laoch on November 28, 2006, 03:12:51 PM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam on November 28, 2006, 03:04:58 PM
In fairness if yer man started on him then dolan had a right to defend himself.

that's retaliation is it not?
Post by: Mayo4Sam on November 28, 2006, 03:16:56 PM
Grey area when the guy isn't a player, then its assault. The fella had no bib on him so like was mentioned earlier dolan could argue he had no way of knowing who this lad was.
Post by: muscles magoo on November 28, 2006, 03:21:56 PM
Am no fan of Dolan but in fairness yer man started the ruck and pretty much had it coming. The fall to the ground was a bit dramatic to boot...
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on November 28, 2006, 03:31:49 PM
Quote from: muscles magoo on November 28, 2006, 03:21:56 PM
Am no fan of Dolan but in fairness yer man started the ruck and pretty much had it coming. The fall to the ground was a bit dramatic to boot...

In fairness if Frankie's defence consists of "that auld lad had it coming" then I can safely say he's screwed.

There was holy war on the board after the International Rules game in Croker and I can't remember any of the Aussies in that game throwing a punch at someone's head. There's a certain amount of double standards here.

Post by: Mayo4Sam on November 28, 2006, 03:37:39 PM
Definitely not double standards.
An unidentified man started on him and he defended himself
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on November 28, 2006, 03:42:46 PM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam on November 28, 2006, 03:37:39 PM
Definitely not double standards.
An unidentified man started on him and he defended himself

There was no punches thrown until Dolan threw his haymaker. The two of them briefly shaped up to each other and were no doubt saying some unpleasant things to each other and then Dolan landed him.

Besides when did punching someone count as an acceptable response even if the old lad had come up mouthing off to him? I'm no fan of Corofin but it was a clear red card offence.

Post by: believebelive on November 28, 2006, 03:48:54 PM
double standards - catch a grip - this fella comes on from the sideline. Is not a player and has no bib on to say whether he is an official (not that this would change things much) and starts something with a player on the field.  Frankie should not get suspended for this, im not condoning him either but certainly not blaming him. Hopefully a bit of common sense will prevail. Yer man had no business on the field.
You cannot compare this with what happenned in the International Rules - chalk and cheese - although there have been other incidents in club games in recent times that hav been as bad if not worse than the international rules
Post by: belleaqua on November 28, 2006, 03:54:09 PM
I wonder what the reaction would be if it was the other way around- the mentor striking Dolan?
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on November 28, 2006, 03:55:49 PM
Of course your man shouldn't be on the field but that doesn't mean that someone has the right to box the head of him. Is it open season on all mentors that enter the field of play then? There are far too many mentors encroaching into playing fields in the GAA but it's unfortunately it's common in our games. However even if a mentor comes on and is running his mouth it doesn't give players carte blanche to punch them. Both the Corofin selector and Frankie Dolan should be punished.
Post by: Mayo4Sam on November 28, 2006, 03:59:45 PM
In dolans eyes he wasn't a mentor, with no indication. dolan was threatened enough to react like this.
Any yes if a person is on the pitch without authority a player has the right to give the eijit a box when he's confronting him.
Either way this lad being on the pitch was giving corofin an unfair advantage by upsetting dolan.
Post by: belleaqua on November 28, 2006, 04:02:41 PM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam on November 28, 2006, 03:59:45 PM
In dolans eyes he wasn't a mentor, with no indication. dolan was threatened enough to react like this.
Any yes if a person is on the pitch without authority a player has the right to give the eijit a box when he's confronting him.
Either way this lad being on the pitch wadvantage by upsetting dolan.as giving corofin an unfair

Wrong. A player doesnt have the right to strike anyone that comes onto the pitch.

Just wondering does Hyde Park still have a fence around it. Both of us know full well that Frankie had a fair idea who he was striking.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on November 28, 2006, 04:03:38 PM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam on November 28, 2006, 03:59:45 PM

Sure that's grand so if you're just advocating violence that's fine. You just had to come out and say it.

Unreal.

QuoteEither way this lad being on the pitch was giving corofin an unfair advantage by upsetting dolan.

I don't even know where to start with that one.
Post by: Mayo4Sam on November 28, 2006, 04:06:37 PM
The fella was confronting dolan and dolan reacted.
I dont think it should be a red card because the fella had no right to be on the pitch.
If dolan had been sent off there would have been an outside interferance in favour of corofin.
Dolan prob did know who he was hitting but can claimn he didn't cause the fella had no bib and shouldn't have been on the pitch
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on November 28, 2006, 04:13:40 PM
QuoteThe fella was confronting dolan and dolan reacted.

Yes by punching him in the head which is a red card offence in anyone's book.

QuoteI dont think it should be a red card because the fella had no right to be on the pitch.

He shouldn't have been on the pitch but that doesn't excuse someone striking him.

Punching someone is a red card offence. End of story. If I'm playing next weekend and I land one on one of the selectors of the other team I'd fully expect to get the line even if the guy came on and was mouthing off to me. I might feel sore about it but I couldn't have any complaints.

The Corofin selector doesn't come out of this with any credit at all but we'd have anarchy if we allowed players to take the law into their own hands in this manner.
Post by: full back on November 28, 2006, 04:18:37 PM
I think if Frankie is hauled over the coals about this, it is going to be quite dangerous.
It will mean the star player on a team can be intimidated and even hit by an opposing supporter or mentor and if they react they get the line, whereas the team who committed the crime originally suffer no major loss
Post by: belleaqua on November 28, 2006, 04:18:56 PM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam on November 28, 2006, 04:06:37 PM
I dont think it should be a red card because the fella had no right to be on the pitch.
If dolan had been sent off there would have been an outside interferance in favour of corofin.

I understand your reasoning, but its still totally unacceptable! You cannot strike a fellow player/referee/mentor/supporter etc. it is straight away a red card offence. Cannot be justified for any reason.

Secondly, all GAA players have to put up with that shite of outside interference. Its up to Dolan to handle himself properly in this situation he should walk away. I agree that any player would love to hit out but ya cant do that. In lots of games played in club or county this craic goes on. Kerry v Armagh for example this year(Galvin got sent off).
Post by: Mayo4Sam on November 28, 2006, 04:27:28 PM
Different that fella was entitled to be on the pitch.

My whole point is dolan was threatened by someone from outside the people involved in the game and he reacted accordingly.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on November 28, 2006, 04:35:32 PM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam on November 28, 2006, 04:27:28 PM
Different that fella was entitled to be on the pitch.

My whole point is dolan was threatened by someone from outside the people involved in the game and he reacted accordingly.

You just can't punch someone in the head no matter who they are. If you did that outside the chippy on Saturday night you could find yourself up in court on Monday morning.

Trying to find excuses for puching someone just isn't on. If someone came over and started throwing punches at you then maybe you could justify a case of self-defence. However Dolan clearly threw the first punch and last time I checked that isn't considered an appropriate reaction to receiving verbals from a member of the opposition camp even if they shouldn't be on the field of play.
Post by: belleaqua on November 28, 2006, 04:37:26 PM
"The Connacht Council will meet tomorrow night when they expect to review the referee's report, but even if he does not mention the incident, they could still initiate an investigation if they feel the match video warrants it.

Any interaction by a player with an opposing mentor, no matter what the circumstances, is heavily punishable under GAA rules"

I think this should clear it up for anyone who doesnt understand the rules in relation to such incidents.
Post by: rosnarun on November 28, 2006, 04:38:55 PM
watch it again. the guy attempts to strike . its not frankies fault that from years of scrapping on and off the pitch hes developed a good dodge and pucnch move.though will the corofin man have john maughans class to say he slipped when gerry flanaghan smaked him one in castle bar . and kept flanaghan out of trouble cause maughan knew he was in the wrong, then again maughan is a gentle man and  a legend
Post by: Barney on November 28, 2006, 04:40:26 PM
I reckon both of them will get a suspension.

Maybe a one month ban. Good PR and the p***k will be available for the semi-final
Post by: belleaqua on November 28, 2006, 04:45:00 PM
Quote from: rosnarun on November 28, 2006, 04:38:55 PM
watch it again. the guy attempts to strike.

Its a pretty pathetic attempt if you would  even call it that!!

I fully agree that the mentor should never be on the field, and I know how annoying it is myself from playing. Id be well tempted to give a mouthing p***k from the oppositions sideline a good dig but I know Id be heading for an early shower(if i got caught!!). My point is that he should have held his cool, he didnt and should now be suspended as the rules outline.
Post by: Rossie11 on November 28, 2006, 04:45:52 PM
Never thought I would see the day when a Mayo man would be defending Dolan..

Having been at the game I was sure that 2 bridgets players were getting the road.
David O'Connor was already on a yellow when he mowed into a defender.
He apologised straight away but I am sure he thought he was gone as it was clumpsy and the ref had been card happy.
Goalie and few defenders got involved as did Dolan running from centre field.
Mentor was on at this stage and got the slap. On another day Dolan and O Connor could have walked.

Funniest of the lot was the mentor on the sideline afterwards trying to save face by showing people he had no grips on his runners hence he fell over easily...   :D
Post by: believebelive on November 28, 2006, 05:01:23 PM
How did he know he was a mentor??? That is the point here! if the guy who was hit wants to bring him up for assault then fine - go ahead. What wud you all think a player shud do if a fan came on the pitch confronting him - do you think that if the player hits the fan he should be suspended by the GAA? What if the fan hit the player first and puts him out of the remainder of the game, do we commend the player for not hitting even though this lead to him not protecting himself and getting a broken jaw.
The fact the guy had no bib on is the main point. If the GAA authorities who were in charge on the day allowed the guy on the sideline then im sorry it is there fault. Everyone is quick to blame Frankie without looking at where the problem started - namely bad officiating.
Post by: belleaqua on November 28, 2006, 05:07:57 PM
Quote from: believebelive on November 28, 2006, 05:01:23 PM
What wud you all think a player shud do if a fan came on the pitch confronting him - do you think that if the player hits the fan he should be suspended by the GAA?.

Of course, the playing pitch is not a place for legalised thuggery.
Post by: believebelive on November 28, 2006, 05:13:59 PM
ok...so a fan comes on and starts swinging at a player, who then retaliates and hits the fan am i right in saying that the player shoud be sent off for retaliation?
Post by: belleaqua on November 28, 2006, 05:17:47 PM
By the rules yes he has to be sent off.

However, personally I would agree with the player and would hit back if someone obviously started swinging.  If someone "confronts" a player mouthing, pushing, they have to walk away.
Post by: believebelive on November 28, 2006, 05:23:13 PM
And there in lies the problem - absolutley no sense of common sense or justice in them. Totally designed to protect the rulemakers at every turn.
Whoever was in charge of this game, (connaught council was it?), should suspend themselves for allowing so many mentors on the sideline and the guy who came on the pitch should get 6 months for even putting his nose over the line without a bib on him.
The mentor did go to swing first even if it was a pitiful attempt but the point is as far as Frankie was concerned his nest swing could have been a lot better - the mentor, theoretically could have connected with the next punch and put frankie out of the game.
common sense tells me that he should not be suspended - although cos the GAA is what it is it will fudge it and give frankie a month and he will be back for the next game anyway
Post by: belleaqua on November 28, 2006, 05:32:47 PM
Yes I agree with most of that. The Connaught Council are responsible, I would imagine, for who is let into the field, but the guy in question was a selector so of course he should be allowed on. In reality though ya never see all managers and selectors with bibs on even with county teams. as regards mentors entering the field of play, well that happens at every level in GAA matches, a much larger problem.

You still cannot strike however no matter who you are, and I think both should get a ban.
Post by: believebelive on November 28, 2006, 05:40:10 PM
He should not have been patroling the sidelines without a bib on and he should not be on the pitch even with a bib on without the refs permission. End of story. At couty level you will only ever see managers with a bib on the sideline - the rest must stay in the dugout.
Your entitled to your opinion but i think the world has gone mad if a player gets suspended for hitting a guy wit no official clothing enetered the pitch when he should not have and initiated the altercation and swung first. Common sense
Post by: belleaqua on November 28, 2006, 05:54:59 PM
Yes, but he obviously was allowed on the sidelines so he cannot be blamed for that, as you say the referee/Connaught Council have to control this. And he should never ever enter the playing area. Agreed.

I think from here on its a matter of interpretation, I personally feel the mentors "swing" could not be called as such and appeared more handbags than anything. I presume Frankie knows the rules of the game. Maybe push him away, or just back away, dont put your team in jeopardy by doing something that you know will get you sent off especially since Corofin were a man down and a ref may send off a player to balance things up.

But the rules are the rules im trying to point out so he should have been sent off and suspended, as should the mentor.

Agree to disagree I think!!
Post by: neilthemac on November 28, 2006, 06:02:26 PM
if the referee's report mentions the incident in the match report and deals with it there, then there cannot be any sanction on Frankie

it will be all down to interpretation by the Connacht Council
Post by: belleaqua on November 28, 2006, 06:06:26 PM
Quote from: neilthemac on November 28, 2006, 06:02:26 PM
if the referee's report mentions the incident in the match report and deals with it there, then there cannot be any sanction on Frankie

it will be all down to interpretation by the Connacht Council

Is that not if he was booked, they cannot act on it? Does the fact that the referee took no action mean they can issue a suspension even if there is a mention in the report???
Post by: believebelive on November 28, 2006, 06:14:38 PM
As far as i know If the referee deals with the issue then it cannot be acted upon - for example if the ref puts in his report -
"i saw frankie swing and hit yer man but because he shud not have been on the field i decided not to book frankie" then i dont think the GAA can suspend him - its a crazy rule. Video evidence should be allowed especially in cases where the ref messes up - still dont think frnakie shud get a suspension though ;)
Post by: belleaqua on November 28, 2006, 06:20:47 PM
Ya, always a bit confused by that rule cos obviously we never see the texts of referee reports. Well I wouldnt be overly bothered if he does or doesnt get suspended, as long as we dont see a rise in similair actions.
Post by: spectator on November 28, 2006, 09:26:12 PM
Of all the counties to be lecturing us in such a 'holier than thou' manner.

Seem to remember a certain club game a few years back, when everyone blinked simultaneously, just as the ref stumbled...

There was no talk of suspensions then, was there?

Still, tis great all the same to see yeer enthuasiasm for the rulebook has returned.

And lets face facts, it doesn't get much worse than losing to the Rossies, does it?

Like many another incident, this one is best left to strands of time, good for an aul discussion over the long winter evenings.
Post by: Duine Eile on November 28, 2006, 10:06:38 PM
Now I'm certainly no Corofin supporter, I'd nearly go as far as saying I hate the sight of them and wasn't a bit bothered to see them lose but to say Jimmy Sice deserved a box on the jaw just because he was on the pitch and Frankie Dolan did nothing wrong is a load of crap really. Fair enough Jimmy Sice shouldn't have been on the field but that didn't give Frankie licence to give him a slap. It was Jimmy's son Gary that was gone down injured after a number of heavy tackles, which was probably why he was on the field in the first place.And this thing about Dolan not knowing who he was is a bit much, Sice was wearing a Corofin jacket, you could pick the hideous things out anywhere. Anyway, my point is, Sice shouldn't have been there in the first place but Dolan had no right and was not justified in hitting him. Both should get a suspension in my opinion and the GAA should do something for once and for all about the number of people on the sideline during games. For feck sake there was about 300 supporters on the sideline before the final whistle went.
Post by: Mayo4Sam on November 29, 2006, 09:19:33 AM
Duine Eile i have a mayo tracksuit top but i've nothign to do with the mayo panel, anyone could have a corofin bib.

I dont think its retaliation because IMO its outside of the game. The person he hit is not involved in the game and as such the incident is a public one rather than a GAA one
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on November 29, 2006, 10:52:22 AM
Quote from: spectator on November 28, 2006, 09:26:12 PM
Of all the counties to be lecturing us in such a 'holier than thou' manner.

Seem to remember a certain club game a few years back, when everyone blinked simultaneously, just as the ref stumbled...

There was no talk of suspensions then, was there?

Still, tis great all the same to see yeer enthuasiasm for the rulebook has returned.

And lets face facts, it doesn't get much worse than losing to the Rossies, does it?

Like many another incident, this one is best left to strands of time, good for an aul discussion over the long winter evenings.

Would you ever get over yourself. I couldn't give a flying shite about Corofin losing a football match.

I'm more amazed at people turning backflips in trying to defend someone punching someone else in the head.

Both of them were in the wrong but trying to excuse the offence by muddying the waters is just plain wrong.
Post by: Turlough O Carolan on November 29, 2006, 12:17:06 PM
Of course punching someone is wrong. But if the father of an opposing players comes on the pitch and makes for a player (as Sice did), then many would draw a fist in self-defence. Dolan was not even responsible for the foul on Sice's son, yet Sice senior clearly thought he could take on Dolan. It's debatable how much of a punch it even was and looked better on TV. Sice senior after thinking about it for a few seconds made a right meal of it. It was more an act of comedy than one of violence.
Post by: ross matt on November 29, 2006, 01:25:16 PM
Think Spectactor rumbled you Galwaybayboy and you're the one that needs to get over it. You've been whinging about Ross teams ever since Tuam 2001.  Look cop on would ya. Dolan is no angel and an easy target because of it. The reason some of the Mayo lads have defended him is because anyone would have retaliated at some eejit running on the pitch and lunging at them. Duine's reference to Sice coming on to defend his injured son  makes it even  more pathetic.

Frankie will probably be made an example of regardless due to recent (much worse) violent acts on GAA fields.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on November 29, 2006, 01:32:30 PM
Thanks Matt looks like you've proved me right.
Post by: full back on November 29, 2006, 01:35:40 PM
I'm not saying Frankie was right, but if anyone bar the players and mentors come on the field during play I would say they are fair game and if they get a slap it is their own fault
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on November 29, 2006, 01:49:19 PM
Quote from: full back on November 29, 2006, 01:35:40 PM
I'm not saying Frankie was right, but if anyone bar the players and mentors come on the field during play I would say they are fair game and if they get a slap it is their own fault

The old lad was a mentor. He's a selector with Corofin. He didn't have a bib on though. Just a Corofin jacket. He still shouldn't have been where he was.

This has nothing to do with Frankie Dolan being from Roscommon. If he was from Sligo or Leitrim I'd still think it was a blatant red card offence. The old lad didn't cover himself in glory either but only one of them punched the other.
Post by: ross matt on November 29, 2006, 03:48:07 PM
Dont mention it GBB. Surely you dont need me to prove you're right?
You preacher types should be full of self belief.
Dont get a draft up your hole now on that high moral ground that's Galway GAA.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on November 29, 2006, 03:54:34 PM
Quote from: ross matt on November 29, 2006, 03:48:07 PM
Dont mention it GBB. Surely you dont need me to prove you're right?
You preacher types should be full of self belief.

Sure it's feck all to do with Galway GAA. It's just my own personal opinion.

I just happen to think if you strike someone on a GAA field you should be red carded and serve a suspension. If others think it's acceptable behaviour. That's their Prerogative. I won't hold it against them.
Post by: ross matt on November 29, 2006, 04:02:04 PM
I think the key point is most people disapprove of on-field violence but in this case most would have reacted similarily to Dolan under the same circumstances. A kind of "there for the grace of God go I" sentiment I would think rather than any significant support for Frankie as a player or person.
Post by: belleaqua on November 29, 2006, 04:18:48 PM
Quote from: ross matt on November 29, 2006, 03:48:07 PM

Says the Roscommon man displaying the counties typical inferiority complex. ;D
Post by: seanshunt on November 29, 2006, 05:15:16 PM
I'll admit I'm a Corofin man and was very close to the action the last day, biased though I am these are facts:

1.   Bridgets full forward O'Connor, who was already on a yellow poleaxed Gary Sice off the ball, dirty dig in the back of the neck from behind, Sice went down, was seen by the 2 umpires who tried to attract the refs attention, (ref subsequently ignored their advice to issue a 2nd yellow card)
2.   Frankie also seen the slap, realized that O'Connor was heading for the line and went to pull Gary Sice up of the ground, basically trying to infer that Sice was acting,
3.   Gary's father(who was acting water carrier and therefore entitled to be on the field) arrived on the seen and told Frankie in no uncertain terms where to go and was then struck in the jaw. How Sice fell is about as relevent to this argument as whether or not a Roscommon club can ever win an All Ireland (They cant by the way, connaughts 4 in a row chance ends here)
4.   Jimmy Sice had no bib on, neither had our manager or any of his selectors, its not enforced in Galway although I do realize that it should be, whether or not Jimmy had a bib is a mute point though, Dolan knew he was with us, he wore a Corofin jacket and carried water bottles and was roaming the edge of the park from the off.
5.   Sice is embarrassed about the whole thing and wish it would blow over, that does not excuse the fact that Dolan struck an official from the opposing camp and should be punished, the boy has form and should be made pay, 6 mth ban minimum.
6.   Fair play to Bridgets, better team won on the day but that doesn't take away from the fact that O'Connor got away with a dirty slap from behind on Gary Sice, seen by the umpires and within a minute good old Frankie decked his awld lad and deserved a straight red.
7.   Heard the ref was on the Mayo selection committee for O'Mahony, one Corofin man sent of after 3 mins and 2 Bridgets players left on when they clearly deserved the line. Coincidence, me thinks not, anti Corofin\Galway bias goes on in Connaught club.

Sometimes you have to wonder were the Rossies brought up on the same planet as the rest of us, as the rest of the world advances they seem to drift further and further back
Post by: neilthemac on November 29, 2006, 05:50:20 PM
why did Sice run straight for Frankie? surely he would have been worried about his son 'lying' injured on the field?

Nope, he ran straight for Frankie to confront him

Quoteanti Corofin\Galway bias goes on in Connaught club.

LOL! you have to love the sour grapes from the tribemen. Can ye ever take yer beating in anything?
Post by: Ryano on November 29, 2006, 06:19:19 PM
I had not planned on getting too involved in this one seeing as, A; I am a Rossie and B; I would have a strong dislike of wee Frankie and therefore be biased but Sean Cnuts view of the "facts" and petty digs have gotten under my skin. So allow me to retort.....

First I am not a St Brigids clubman nor any particular fan of theirs.

Quote from: seanshunt on November 29, 2006, 05:15:16 PM
I'll admit I'm a Corofin man and was very close to the action the last day, biased though I am these are facts:
1. Bridgets full forward O'Connor, who was already on a yellow poleaxed Gary Sice off the ball, dirty dig in the back of the neck from behind, Sice went down, was seen by the 2 umpires who tried to attract the refs attention, (ref subsequently ignored their advice to issue a 2nd yellow card)

Poleaxed? You mean collided with Sice who not too long before had also "collided" with O'Connor. But O'Connor chose not to roll around and make out that his head had been removed in a vain attempt to get the player sent off. How do you know the umpires advised the ref to issue a card by the way? They may just as well have told him to take no action you don't know.

2. Frankie also seen the slap, realized that O'Connor was heading for the line and went to pull Gary Sice up of the ground, basically trying to infer that Sice was acting,

Trying to infer or actually annoyed by the oscar style dramatics he was seeing in front of him from the mortally wounded Sice.

3. Gary's father(who was acting water carrier and therefore entitled to be on the field) arrived on the seen and told Frankie in no uncertain terms where to go and was then struck in the jaw. How Sice fell is about as relevent to this argument as whether or not a Roscommon club can ever win an All Ireland (They cant by the way, connaughts 4 in a row chance ends here)

Gary's father (who is a head case anyway as you well know if your from Corofin) had no business what so ever going onto the playing area. I did not see once bringing water onto the field to any player during the game if he was an "acting" water carrier.  If he was then he is required to have a bib with water/uisce on it. But he was not, thats just boll*x so that you can justify his being on the pitch, he is a selector on that team who went up to Frankie in a highly threatening manner brought his own fist back as if he was about to lash out at him and got a slap for it. He then went down like the proverbial sack of spuds (not hard to see where his son got it from) after thinking about it for a second or two and when he seen nothing was happening hopped up again.

As for "a Roscommon club winning the AI" well they have more chance of winning it then Corofin or any Galway team have this year you bitter sad pri*k. Not many thought the Minors had much of a chance either.....Obviously the fact that a Roscommon team beat ye is a major issue for you here. Get over it.

4. Jimmy Sice had no bib on, neither had our manager or any of his selectors, its not enforced in Galway although I do realize that it should be, whether or not Jimmy had a bib is a mute point though, Dolan knew he was with us, he wore a Corofin jacket and carried water bottles and was roaming the edge of the park from the off.

"Mute" (moot?) point my arse. He was breaking the rules if he did not have the bib on. How exactly can you claim Dolan knew who he was? Should he have looked at the crest on his jacket first while Sice was bellowing at him like a bull and making out he was about to strike him? Or should he have been watching the Corofin dugout so he knew who was who in case one of them decided to attack him? Sice could have been anyone who got onto the pitch as far as Dolan or any brigids player was concerned.

5. Sice is embarrassed about the whole thing and wish it would blow over, that does not excuse the fact that Dolan struck an official from the opposing camp and should be punished, the boy has form and should be made pay, 6 mth ban minimum.

He bloody well should be embarressed and i bet he will think twice about coming onto a playing pitch again to intimidate a player. 6 month ban for throwing a slap at some twat who should not have been there in the first place? Get a grip on yourself. A month if even that, he was defending himself against a complete stranger who threatened him with violence.

6. Fair play to Bridgets, better team won on the day but that doesn't take away from the fact that O'Connor got away with a dirty slap from behind on Gary Sice, seen by the umpires and within a minute good old Frankie decked his awld lad and deserved a straight red.

Bet it sticks in your throat to admit that Brigids (a Roscommon team) were better then the aristocrats from Galway, huh? It's the only think you have written here that is true or makes sense! O'Connor got away with a dirty slap? How many slaps did the Corofin full back get away with on him or several other Corofin players or would you have us believe that they just stood there and took all this abuse?

7. Heard the ref was on the Mayo selection committee for O'Mahony, one Corofin man sent of after 3 mins and 2 Bridgets players left on when they clearly deserved the line. Coincidence, me thinks not, anti Corofin\Galway bias goes on in Connaught club.

Sometimes you have to wonder were the Rossies brought up on the same planet as the rest of us, as the rest of the world advances they seem to drift further and further back

"Heard the ref was...." I heard that Bigfoot exists, does not make it fact though. Even if it were true are you seriously trying to tell us that the ref was more worried about what JOM might think then enforcing the rules of the game. Corofin player deserved the line and deserves a ban for it too. Sice (father or son) were not split open like the Brigids No.5 but there is no talk of banning the t**ker who struck the elbow back into his face. Go away and put your own house in order before commenting on anyone else's.

"anti Corofin\Galway bias goes on in Connaught club." Jesus wept, where and how exactly? Did not hinder Salthill last year did it? But no your right, it was all a big conspiricy by the Connacht council to get the Galway club knocked out. Not sure what planet you reside with those views...

But my favourite quote though is.....

"Sometimes you have to wonder were the Rossies brought up on the same planet as the rest of us, as the rest of the world advances they seem to drift further and further back"

We certainly were not brought up on the same planet as you thats for sure!! "We drift further and further back" ;D

We have just won a connacht club title the first in 18 years, a Minor connacht title the first in 14 years, a Minor All Ireland title the first in 51 years, beaten by Kerry in an All Ireland Junior final and you call that regression do you?????? ;D

Just what planet exactly are you on......

Post by: Farrandeelin on November 29, 2006, 06:27:17 PM
Whether you planned it or not you're firmly involved in the argument now Ryano!
Post by: Galway15 on November 29, 2006, 06:48:20 PM
GBB jaysus you have been very restrained here after copping abuse from Ross Matt....Ross Matt..Ah the old classic inferiority complex thats in the GAA...You have it bad mate..'whinging since 2001'...thats so shockingly pathetic it must be a joke...
Post by: ross matt on November 29, 2006, 06:58:16 PM
Thats a really well though out answer Galway 15. Try dealing with the facts like Ryano just did. As for Seanshunt.........He almost makes Galwaybayboy seem objective. Like Ryano (and alot of Rossies for that matter) I'm no fan of the bould Frankie but to suggest a 6 month ban ?????? Give a dog a bad name FFS!

Galway lads catch a grip. The bitterness is laughable at this stage. I doubt myself if Brigid's will advance much further but they're worthy Connacht champs all the same. Try and swallow it.
Post by: belleaqua on November 29, 2006, 07:14:13 PM
Quote from: ross matt on November 29, 2006, 06:58:16 PM
Galway lads catch a grip. The bitterness is laughable at this stage.

There was little bitterness on this thread until the Dolan supporting side of the debate threw in some stupid county rivalry comments. Going back over some of the arguments you will notice a proper discussion up until this point.
All the Galway posts were very objective and critical of Sice.

Good Luck to Brigids, all Galway people will be happy to see them do well especially with JOM and Anthony Cunningham on board.
Post by: Tatler Jack on November 29, 2006, 07:27:17 PM
QuoteSometimes you have to wonder were the Rossies brought up on the same planet as the rest of us, as the rest of the world advances they seem to drift further and further back

Quotewhether or not Jimmy had a bib is a mute point

Whatever planet I am on and whether I am advancing or not I know what  a moot point is. Maybe seanshunt could explain what  a "mute point" is in that bastion of advanced civilisation and cradle of learning he inhabits.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on November 29, 2006, 07:54:31 PM
Personally I've kept the argument to the actual incident itself which is fairly cut and dried IMO. I certainly haven't been the one that has started bringing petty county grudges, jealousies and complexes into it which has been nothing more than attempt to further muddy the waters around the Dolangate saga. When you start down that road it's pretty much a sign that you've lost the argument and have to nothing to offer except "well ye boys have always had it in for us" type nonsense.

I don't particularly care if Frankie Dolan gets punished or not. I think he probably should (like the Corofin selector) but I won't lose any sleep if he doesn't. The minute I saw the incident I thought it was shocking that he didn't get the line at the time. The thing that kept me coming back to the argument was people turning metaphorical and verbal backflips to try an justify him punching someone.

Post by: Rossfan on November 29, 2006, 08:04:41 PM
Of course if we were from Galway we would all say " Surrrhhh we seen nawthin"
as happened in the Donnellan incident some years ago ;D
I suppose Mr. Sice is still sipping soup through a straw???
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on November 29, 2006, 08:17:03 PM
Quoteas happened in the Donnellan incident some years ago

Not that's it's relevant to the discussion but I didn't mention Donnellan's alleged incident because

A. I wasn't at the game.
B. I didn't see the incident on telly anywhere.
C. I don't know anyone who was at that game.
D. It has nothing to do with the Dolan/mentor affair.

I can't really comment on something I never witnessed.

QuoteI suppose Mr. Sice is still sipping soup through a straw???

I think Hogan Stand would be more your cup of tea.

Post by: belleaqua on November 29, 2006, 08:18:18 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on November 29, 2006, 08:04:41 PM
Of course if we were from Galway we would all say " Surrrhhh we seen nawthin"
as happened in the Donnellan incident some years ago ;D
I suppose Mr. Sice is still sipping soup through a straw???

Ya see here we go again, the odd Roscommon poster(not the majority) is a bit deluded. All Galway posters here bar 1 I think have stated very clearly what they think of Sice coming onto the pitch and his pathetic fall.

Dont be puttin words in peoples mouths.

If ya want to have an argument with yourself, find a mirror and stop spoutin shite.
Post by: Rossfan on November 29, 2006, 08:23:05 PM
Quote from: belleaqua on November 29, 2006, 08:18:18 PM

All Galway posters here bar 1 I think have stated very clearly what they think of Sice coming onto the pitch and his pathetic fall.

So do all the Galways bar 1 say Frankie Dolan didnt hit him very hard  and Sice is in the wrong then?
So why exactly has FD to get a six month ban??
And why the need for 7 pages? if ye all agree with us?
Post by: belleaqua on November 29, 2006, 08:29:59 PM
That does not change the issue of striking, thats the whole point.
Of course he shouldnt get a 6 month ban, it should be the equivalent to striking a player. Striking is striking, he hit him, Sice was slow to go down, doesnt change the fact he was struck. He should get a ban too.

Thats what the majority of Galway posters are saying and you come along with rubbish from 6 - 7 years ago that has absolutely nothing to do with this and confuse the argument.
Post by: ross matt on November 29, 2006, 08:40:54 PM
The main reason for the backlash from me was the hyprocrisy from GBB pretending to be objective when he has form for anti-Ross bias. This is the individual who whined that the Rossies celebrated too much after Tuam 01!
He is the only one who said at the beginning of this debate who claimed it was a poor game whilst bizarrely mentioning at the same time that he did'nt really see it. Read from that if a Ross team beats a Galway one then it's a given that the standard is poor. The few "poor me I was only making an innocent point" recently posted by him dont really wash.

As for the intelligent Galway supporter with the O'Mahony conspiracy theory....... you're dead right my friend that O'Mahony guy has always been out to get Galway football!
Post by: belleaqua on November 29, 2006, 08:59:21 PM
Did he not say "I heard" it was a poor game. I cant speak for anyone else but looking over his posts from the start they look genuine to me.
Quote from: ross matt on November 29, 2006, 08:40:54 PM
Read from that if a Ross team beats a Galway one then it's a given that the standard is poor.

I think ya might be lookin into that one a little much because of the county thing but I might be wrong.

My point being, everything written taken at face value would indicate no real anti roscommon bias on the sending off issue.
Post by: Shrewdness on November 29, 2006, 09:04:55 PM
GBB.....I also found it fascinating that you said it wasn't a great game, even though you weren't at it. Your fellow county man, Martin Breheny, described it as a first class game, and he WAS at it. Mr Sice should not have been on the pitch. I didn't see him carrying any water in this incident, and if he was on to attend to his son, what was he doing confronting Frankie??. It's not very long ago, that our Mayo and Galway friends on this board, were having a great discussion on another thread about the wonderful Connacht Final we were going to have between Crossmolina and Corofin!!!!. It was going to be the game of the year, with the winners favourites to win the All Ireland. Now, we have people making derogatory remarks about Ros clubs when, believe it or not, we have a club who beat Crossmolina AND Corofin.Seems like some of you Galway boys are suffering a severe dose of Rossieitis, which i suppose is understandable. ;) ;D
Post by: belleaqua on November 29, 2006, 09:14:10 PM
Quote from: Shrewdness on November 29, 2006, 09:04:55 PM
.Seems like some of you Galway boys are suffering a severe dose of Rossieitis, which i suppose is understandable. ;) ;D

Ya definitely, havin taken 2 All Ireland Senior Football Titles, 3 All Ireland Club Titles, 2 u21 All Ireland Titles and i dont know how many countless Connaught Titles(suppose il leave out the hurling) at all levels in the past 8 years its a devastating loss for us.
Post by: ross matt on November 29, 2006, 09:39:35 PM
Fair point Bellaqua. Exceptional record. I've often commended the Galway side 98-01 here and consider it to be definitely one of the best footballing sides ever. That been said it is in the past and the future doesnt look all that bright for Galway football at the moment. Most of the optimism coming from Roscommon is obviously based on the minor success and of course last Sunday. Whether it translates in to senior intercounty success in the near future is debatable but Rossies are entitled to savour it rather than have biased opinions attempt to discredit it. You seem genuine enough but there were Galway supporters on here early in the year demanding their minor management be hung drawn and quartered because they went down in the championship to Roscommon. Some of your supporters have very short memories and breathtaking arrogance. The same ones that are suffering from bad heartburn now these last few days.....
Post by: belleaqua on November 29, 2006, 09:50:10 PM
Ya fair enough I wasnt here then so unaware of some of these things, im lookin at things as they appear here. Of course yer minor success should be well celebrated especially after a very hard fought campaign

Only thing I will say about the minors(and every minor team in both codes) success GUARANTEES nothing in the future. of course there is  great potential there, job now is to make sure it comes through. Galway have won two u21 titles in 3 years and we have yet to see anything and likely we wont, the 1st team was actually a brilliant side, the 2nd was carried by Meehan so you may be right. Time will tell.
Post by: spectator on November 29, 2006, 10:45:12 PM
As was obvious enough from my earlier post Galway lads, i also thought the stance taken by one or two of ye was hypocritical.

Here ye were selectively calling for FD to be suspended, while ye neglected to mention the sending off for elbowing and even still wouldn't acknowledge what happened in that Corofin - Dunmore game. [Admittedly, many of your fellow tribesmen have moved on regarding it though and fair play to them for that.]

Yakking on about inferiority complexes, rival county bitterness, muddying the waters etc sounded like a belated attempt to justify that selective outbreak of enthuasiasm for GAA disciplinary matters after Sunday's game. As belleaqua said, we'll agree to disagree & that's the end of it. No harm done.

A friendly piece of advice though lads - if those of ye'd still turning a blind eye for once and for all condemned the events in the Corofin - Dunmore game, GAA fans might take ye more seriously when it comes to yeer comments regarding onfield incidents. Particularly when it involves a player from a rival county.

A consistent as opposed to 'we'll take it or leave it depending on how it suits our side' sort of thing, ya know.

Ah, Galway GAA people are the soundest & i always enjoy going along to watch yeer teams and having the craic with ye.

I still reckon one or two of ye can't stomach losing to The Ros though... ;)
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on November 29, 2006, 10:56:38 PM
QuoteThe main reason for the backlash from me was the hyprocrisy from GBB pretending to be objective when he has form for anti-Ross bias. This is the individual who whined that the Rossies celebrated too much after Tuam 01!

Matt what "form" do I have exactly? I make no bones about saying that a section of the Roscommon support were unneccesarily vulgar to some of the Galway support that day. Celebrating is one thing but intimidation and pushing people around and telling them eff off back to Galway is another thing and that's what happened in my part of the crowd. I don't have a problem with any Roscommon fans. There are eejits in every set of supporters. Some more than others but that's just life unfortunately. In fact it's you that keep bringing this up matt. Not myself.

QuoteHe is the only one who said at the beginning of this debate who claimed it was a poor game whilst bizarrely mentioning at the same time that he did'nt really see it.

I didn't see the game live. I said I heard it was a poor enough game as in someone told me. I only saw it afterwards. So you're either mistaken or lying.

I have to say I'm disappointed in you matt. I always thought you were a reasonable intelligent poster. I was obviously mistaken.

Anyway I think all that could be said has been said on this subject. It really shouldn't have degenerated into a Galway v Roscommon shitfight and I'm not really sure why it was taken down that road but not to worry.

And believe it or not I'd prefer to see a Roscommon club in Croke Park on Paddy's day ahead of an Ulster, Leinster or Munster one.
Post by: ross matt on November 29, 2006, 11:12:34 PM
I wonder where you "heard" it was a poor game GBB? More Rossies than me have taken issue with your comments. Just find it very difficult to accept your sentiments to be objective or unbiased. Thats being honest.

Totally accept your comments Bellaqua re minor success guaranteeing nothing at senior level. Personally not too optimistic about the senior set up. Honest and disciplined under Maughan yes but lacking alot of natural talent in key areas. It will take the minors a few years to filter through and young lads dont always fulfill potential. Even Brigids success is not necessarily a guarantee of anything either. Clan na Gael dominated Connacht club football in the late 80s but yet the county team went through a barren spell. However the omens are more favourable than they have been for quite a few years and its not unrealistic to expect them to be much more competitive in the next few seasons.

Post by: GalwayBayBoy on November 29, 2006, 11:31:00 PM
QuoteI wonder where you "heard" it was a poor game GBB?

My old lad watched the game and said it wasn't a great game but sure he says that about most games anyway. Not sure what this has to do with anything?

QuoteJust find it very difficult to accept your sentiments to be objective or unbiased

If it was a Galway player that did it I'd still think he should have got the line. I might be pissed off with the mentor but I'd find it difficult to defend a punch to the jaw. Sure it's just as easy to turn that on it's head and to question your own objectivity in refusing to accept that Dolan did anything wrong whatsoever. Objectivity is realising that they were both in the wrong which is the line I've taken.
Post by: venter on November 30, 2006, 10:20:35 AM
Cant ye remember how long Gerry Flanaghan got for the time he supervised John Maughan slipping? I think it was a month!
Post by: Shrewdness on November 30, 2006, 10:55:07 AM
I think it's very unfortunate that St.Brigid's wonderful achievement in winning the Connacht title, has been overshadowed on this board by the whole Dolan/Sice incident. Let's draw a line in the sand and let it all die down....Also agree with you Matt about Ros senior set up. I think there's a bit of a vacuum in Ros at the moment. I say this because i don't think our current senior panel are up to much, the minors are too young and physically immature for senior inter county football yet....and in between there doesn't seem to be anything of note coming through. A lot of people seem to think that Ros are a banker to be in 2007 Connacht Senior Final.....I wouldn't be one of them i'm afraid.
Post by: ross matt on November 30, 2006, 02:07:07 PM
Agreed Shrewdness. Plus Maughan has I think only really Karol Mannion involved from the Bridgets set up. Pressure presumably will be on him to recall Frankie. If he does this then it opens a can of worms re discipline and all the other players that he left off the panel last year. Plus whilst Dolan is playing well its at centre forward I'm not convinced he would work effectively in this position at county level. If he still had the burst of pace to beat a marker then he would be a dangerous corner forward. On the plus side though maybe the likes of Mark O'Carroll and Senan Kilbride from the Bridgets team might make a proper intercounty breakthrough this year.

Post by: mjg on November 30, 2006, 08:36:59 PM
Quote from: ross matt on November 30, 2006, 02:07:07 PM
Agreed Shrewdness. Plus Maughan has I think only really Karol Mannion involved from the Bridgets set up. Pressure presumably will be on him to recall Frankie. If he does this then it opens a can of worms re discipline and all the other players that he left off the panel last year. Plus whilst Dolan is playing well its at centre forward I'm not convinced he would work effectively in this position at county level. If he still had the burst of pace to beat a marker then he would be a dangerous corner forward. On the plus side though maybe the likes of Mark O'Carroll and Senan Kilbride from the Bridgets team might make a proper intercounty breakthrough this year.

wrong matt,john tiernan and robbie kelly are involved
Post by: ross matt on November 30, 2006, 08:50:31 PM
Really MJG ? Fair enough.
Knew Tieran was involved in the past but did'nt think he was there now. Kelly must be just called up. Good player. Did really well on Armstrong in Salthill last year.
Post by: Shrewdness on November 30, 2006, 08:56:26 PM
Matt, i know that Senan Kilbride has had his injuries problems, but to be honest, from the inter county perspective, i wouldn't rate him at all. Would like to see Kilcommins given a go at full back. What age is he?
Post by: mjg on November 30, 2006, 09:07:47 PM
Think kilbride would benefit from 6 months training under maughan,he has plenty of ability but lazy,donal o connor,dara donnelly and mark o carroll [if available]will be called up
Post by: belleaqua on December 02, 2006, 10:55:49 AM
Gerry Hennelly from Ardrahan and David Burke - Clarenbridge.
Post by: criostlinn on December 04, 2006, 04:30:21 PM
Good man Frankie. This idiot might not be in such a hurry to run onto the pitch the next time he has a grievance. What was Frankie meant to do, stand there and take a belt from some clown running at him.
Post by: spectator on December 04, 2006, 08:47:49 PM
Did i hear correctly on Galway Bay FM, Galway lads, that Jimmy Sice is one of four candidates in the running to manage the Galway Minors?

Has he a good track record with Corofin teams?
Post by: Shrewdness on December 07, 2006, 02:48:29 PM
Frankie Dolan and Jimmy Sice are both appearing at a disciplinary hearing of the Connacht Gaa tonight in Ballyhaunis. Frankie being tipped today by many to get a lengthy ban.
Post by: adevvabr on December 07, 2006, 03:59:25 PM
What about the corofin player who was sent off in the first half should he not get a lenghty ban too. He bursted opened the brigids defender while frankie barely made contact with sice.
Post by: PadraicHenryPearse on December 07, 2006, 08:46:49 PM
frankie and sice get 8 weeks.
Post by: mjg on December 07, 2006, 09:34:35 PM
Does that make dolan available for the semi?
Post by: PadraicHenryPearse on December 07, 2006, 09:49:41 PM
yeah.
Post by: Turlough O Carolan on December 08, 2006, 03:21:51 AM
Looking at the video evidence, surprised the Corofin number 3 didn't get a few weeks as he's more responsible than anyone for the Galway mentor's fall . Some fall all the same. Last time I saw two legs cocked up like that was when some old lady leaned too far back in her chair at Bingo.

http://dynamic.rte.ie/av/230-2195762.smil
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on December 08, 2006, 08:27:56 PM
Connacht club champions St. Brigid's breathed a massive sigh of relief on Thursday night, December 7 when star forward Frankie Dolan was only banned for two months, meaning that he will be eligible to play in February's All-Ireland semi-final.

Dolan received the eight-week suspension after being called before a Connacht Council GAC meeting in Ballyhaunis. The ban was imposed on the former Roscommon star arising from an incident with Corofin chairman Jimmy Sice during last month's Connacht club football final.

The incident occurred after Sice came onto the field to attend to his son Gary, who was injured during the game. Dolan was charged with bringing the game into disrepute and it is understood that he accepted his culpability in the incident.

St. Brigid's had feared that Dolan would been suspended for three months or more, but the eight-week ban clears him to play against Ulster champions Crossmaglen Rangers in the All-Ireland semi-final on February 18.