Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: nrico2006 on December 03, 2010, 10:52:16 AM

Title: Home Heating
Post by: nrico2006 on December 03, 2010, 10:52:16 AM
Does anyone know how the most efficeint way to use the oil to heat the house?  As it is a wee bit cold these evenings, is it better to keep your heating on for say 3/4 hours in the evening and hope that the thermostat works well and your oil is not constantly being used during that period once your house reaches the designated temperature or is it better to put the oil on for an hour here and there?
Title: Re: Home Heating
Post by: Bogball XV on December 03, 2010, 11:22:38 AM
what about an extra coat?
Post by: balladmaker on December 03, 2010, 11:33:19 AM
Get underfloor heating in, the business  ;D
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 03, 2010, 11:40:00 AM
Quote from: nrico2006 on December 03, 2010, 10:52:16 AM
Does anyone know how the most efficeint way to use the oil to heat the house?  As it is a wee bit cold these evenings, is it better to keep your heating on for say 3/4 hours in the evening and hope that the thermostat works well and your oil is not constantly being used during that period once your house reaches the designated temperature or is it better to put the oil on for an hour here and there?
Don't be a miserable hoor. These cold snaps only last a few weeks a year so burn whatever oil you need to keep the place warm as you'll not use any between April and October.

Any heating system is only as good as your insulation. If the house has poor enough insulation the heat will disappear shortly after you turning it off even if it has been on for 4 hours.

Quote from: balladmaker on December 03, 2010, 11:33:19 AM
Get underfloor heating in, the business  ;D
How long you keep yours on for in this weather? I'm definitely putting it on more often but has the obvious advantage of generating heat after the burner has stopped. The fire is a good addition too!
Post by: Olly on December 03, 2010, 11:43:06 AM
Too many people now turn to oil, coal and other manmade heating sources instead of addressing the problem practically. Wear jumpers, thicker socks. TURN OFF THE TV and exercise. Clean the house from top to bottom. If you keep thinking that the results are twofold (you are cleaning the house as well as keeping warm and saving money) then it's a pleasure. Do star jumps in between your meal/tea. Even running on the spot for 3 minutes can warm you for an hour. Get the whole family to run on the spot in the same room and the heat is magnificent.

In other words, get up off your arse and stop watching TV and exercise. How do they live in Greenland?
Post by: Hardy on December 03, 2010, 11:47:30 AM
We just turn off the heat and go visiting neighbours. You don't always get to watch what you want on the telly and sometimes you have to put up with milky tea, but other than that it's grand.
Post by: illdecide on December 03, 2010, 12:03:49 PM
Dunno if it's true but i was told if you turned the thermostat down a degree or two and kept the heating on for 2-3 hours then it would burn less oil than constantly turning your heating on and off (boost) at a higher temp...

But short answer is I'm not sure...Olly has a point there ;) get up of your ass and beat some of them protestants up that live close by :D
Post by: Bingo on December 03, 2010, 12:12:16 PM
The non-nationals across the road seem to have abandoned the downstairs of the house and are camped out upstairs in the bedroom. No downstairs lights on all week and the upstairs bedroom has been in use every evening.

Maybe they applying Ollys way of thinking.
Post by: Doogie Browser on December 03, 2010, 12:24:20 PM
Quote from: Bingo on December 03, 2010, 12:12:16 PM
The non-nationals across the road seem to have abandoned the downstairs of the house and are camped out upstairs in the bedroom. No downstairs lights on all week and the upstairs bedroom has been in use every evening.

You nosey, curtain-twitching hoor!
Post by: Bingo on December 03, 2010, 12:42:08 PM
Quote from: Doogie Browser on December 03, 2010, 12:24:20 PM

My house is directly facing them and you don't have to go out of your way to notice these things, in these times you have to keep an eye on your nieghbours!!
Post by: EC Unique on December 03, 2010, 12:49:12 PM

(http://t2.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQokkq2r-fWBCvaIUeNLczrULelvnn0BGTXIKa_A32o3RoWX5V9FlL-EDBU)
Post by: thebandit on December 03, 2010, 12:56:32 PM
Quote from: Bingo on December 03, 2010, 12:42:08 PM

I hadn't noticed that  :D

Did you see the foreign lad battering his car the other morning? He was cursing the back wheel drive!

My house is directly facing them and you don't have to go out of your way to notice these things, in these times you have to keep an eye on your nieghbours!!
Post by: snoopdog on December 03, 2010, 01:06:54 PM
Quote from: thebandit on December 03, 2010, 12:56:32 PM

Did you see the foreign lad battering his car the other morning? He was cursing the back wheel drive!

Once you have the house at the temp you want turn the boiler down to its lowest or second lowest setting this will reduce the oil usage but keep some warmth in the house. it will still use oil but nowhere near as much as your full blast.
Im doing it with the gas at the moment. toasty
Post by: maco on December 03, 2010, 01:46:40 PM
The heating in my house is on 24 hours a day, but the thermostat is set fairly low at around 15-17 degrees. Keeps the house at a nice temperature all the time. We also have a stove lit in the living room which is the room we use most, and it gives out a lot of heat if a couple of lumps of coal are put in it. As far as I can see, our oil lasts slightly longer that it would if I was putting the heat on for shorter blasts at a higher setting on the thermostat.
Post by: Bingo on December 03, 2010, 03:09:55 PM
Quote from: thebandit on December 03, 2010, 12:56:32 PM

You'll notice it this evening!

Never seen him but you see your man the other side of me "parking" his car? He puts boot down past us and puts it into spin to face opposite direction and then calmy parks it on kerb, everytime he does it i can see him going into the wall!
Post by: The Iceman on December 03, 2010, 04:26:55 PM
Lower the temp and leave it on all the time.
Having space heaters in rooms if you're colder is a good idea (you can usually get these on a timer).
Also a stove in a room is some job if you have it.

Focus on sealing up windows and doors (weather strips) draft blockers, heavy curtains, let plenty of sun in during the day......
Post by: nrico2006 on May 19, 2011, 04:05:48 PM
Last week and again last night the heating was turned on and the burner didn't fire, it was airlocked.  It worked fine once the reset button was pressed but what would the cause of this be?  The first time it happened last week it was airlocked and I bled the burner and pressed reset but last night I just had to press reset.  Would this be caused by not having the heating on for x amount of days in a row?  Last night the thermostat in the room was set to 18 and I measured the temperature as being 19 so I though this was simply the reason the heating hadn't came on after 20 minutes therefore I turned the thermostat up to 20 but still didn't work.  It was then when I pressed the reset button. Any ideas welcome.
Post by: Tony Baloney on May 19, 2011, 06:58:53 PM
Quote from: nrico2006 on May 19, 2011, 04:05:48 PM
Last week and again last night the heating was turned on and the burner didn't fire, it was airlocked.  It worked fine once the reset button was pressed but what would the cause of this be?  The first time it happened last week it was airlocked and I bled the burner and pressed reset but last night I just had to press reset.  Would this be caused by not having the heating on for x amount of days in a row?  Last night the thermostat in the room was set to 18 and I measured the temperature as being 19 so I though this was simply the reason the heating hadn't came on after 20 minutes therefore I turned the thermostat up to 20 but still didn't work.  It was then when I pressed the reset button. Any ideas welcome.
Not having much luck with the heating nrico. Can't think why your system would be airlocked unless you have air in the fuel line. On another matter do you really need the heating on in this weather?!
Post by: Tony Baloney on May 19, 2011, 07:27:56 PM
Quote from: Take Your Points on May 19, 2011, 07:01:00 PM
How is your oil tank situated in relation to the boiler?

Do you use a tiger loop to draw the oil into the burner?

Tony, we have the heating on every evening, it's cold out here in the West.
I have reduced my carbon footprint by telling the wife to put a jumper on. I've had no heating on this weeks and it won't be back on the timer again til October.
Post by: bridge fan on May 19, 2011, 07:40:12 PM
if your having 2 push the reset button most days i will be either the capicator or oil pump.  capicator cost about £10 oil pump cost about £70 - 80 quid
Post by: Hashtag on May 24, 2012, 10:08:37 AM
At what temperature should I have the thermostat on at the moment? great weather and all that?
Post by: Onion Bag on May 24, 2012, 12:21:52 PM
OFF!!!!!!!!!!!

Post by: Hashtag on May 24, 2012, 01:53:07 PM
Quote from: Onion Bag on May 24, 2012, 12:21:52 PM
OFF!!!!!!!!!!!

What temp do you normally keep it at during the year?
Post by: Onion Bag on May 24, 2012, 02:22:11 PM
20-22
Post by: Olly on May 24, 2012, 02:56:23 PM
I was reading in a magazine that there's a feng shui way of heating your house. You need to have certain objects at certain angles. For example, if you have a brave sun coming through the window, you can place a mirror on the beam and reflect it towards wallpaper. It'll never burn the paper, maybe slightly scorch it, but if you use dark wallpaper or black wallpaper your walls can be glowing hot and no one will see it. It'll be midnight before it cools. You can do the same for non-combustible carpet or mats although never wear rubber soles or go barefoot til after 10 at least. Instant underground heating. If there is no sun that day, get someone to shine a blowtorch through the open window from outside. The reflection off the mirror convinces the wallpaper/carpet that it's the sun. The person on the outside can wear layers or run on the stop, then take turns.

Simple things like running really fast anytime you go somewhere in the house i.e. the toilet, to make tea. When bring the tea back - brisk walk.

People are so used to mod cons like coal and oil that they won't embrace their ancestors' methods.
Post by: illdecide on May 24, 2012, 07:14:41 PM
Lads if you have any trouble with your oil heating just give me a shout and i'll sort it for you, i have been trained up and am OFTEC registered technician. You should not be using your oil heating in that weather (unless for hot water) but this is the best time of the year to get your boiler serviced since your boiler has slogged it all winter and needs a good shake up...

nrico your not too far away from me so keep in touch ;)
Post by: ONeill on May 24, 2012, 07:35:40 PM
Quote from: illdecide on May 24, 2012, 07:14:41 PM
Lads if you have any trouble with your oil heating just give me a shout and i'll sort it for you, i have been trained up and am OFTEC registered technician. You should not be using your oil heating in that weather (unless for hot water) but this is the best time of the year to get your boiler serviced since your boiler has slogged it all winter and needs a good shake up...

Cowboy.
Post by: illdecide on May 24, 2012, 11:09:33 PM
Quote from: ONeill on May 24, 2012, 07:35:40 PM

Cowboy.

Indian.
Post by: illdecide on May 27, 2012, 12:06:16 PM
Folks just to let you know if your boiler is 15 years or older and you earn less that £40k then you qualify to receive a grant of up to £1k to install a new high efficiency condensing boiler from the Government (no Mexicans ;))
Post by: nrico2006 on May 28, 2012, 09:54:06 AM

Will do.
Post by: ONeill on November 27, 2012, 09:26:58 PM
Oil boiler.

She's been doing this for about year: Attempts to fire about 5-6 times before eventually firing, even after cooling periods. Goes to fire again and it's 5-6 times, maybe more, before firing. Works every time without any interference but I know it probably shouldn't be doing that. Any thoughts?
Post by: ONeill on November 27, 2012, 09:51:20 PM
3 Curly Wurlys and a can of coke please.
Post by: ONeill on November 27, 2012, 09:57:25 PM
The oul boy services boilers but he'll rip me off. Was hoping there was something I can fiddle with.
Post by: Tony Baloney on November 27, 2012, 09:58:27 PM
Hardstation is correct. Could be ignitors, jets etc. Get the experts in - I fcuked a boiler by footering at it years ago and ended up having to get the boilerman in to rescue the situation.
Post by: ONeill on November 27, 2012, 10:11:02 PM
A boy told me to ignore it as it's firing and the house is warmed. Annoying noise though.
Post by: ONeill on November 27, 2012, 10:17:07 PM
Ah come on, he was a boy.
Post by: ONeill on November 27, 2012, 10:20:42 PM
illdecide will save the day. He's only up the road too.
Post by: Tony Baloney on November 27, 2012, 10:25:58 PM
Quote from: hardstation on November 27, 2012, 10:01:07 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on November 27, 2012, 09:58:27 PM
I fcuked a boiler by footering at it years ago
Those were the days....
;D Don't tell the missus.

Post by: nrico2006 on November 28, 2012, 09:55:22 AM
Quote from: ONeill on November 27, 2012, 10:20:42 PM

He serviced my bolier the other week and did a qware job.
Post by: supersarsfields on November 28, 2012, 10:02:07 AM
Have's ya's no ash trees you could cut down?
Post by: tintin25 on December 03, 2012, 10:12:42 AM
Live with two other lads, one of whom owns the house. We have no oil left and the house is freezing. The other lad (not the house owner) says he can't afford it as he hasn't budgeted for it! He thought the last fill would have lasted until new year. What ya recommend we do in this situation? Can't be living with people like that...shouldn't be renting in the first place!! How much is a good onesie?? Lol
Post by: supersarsfields on December 03, 2012, 10:23:20 AM
Buy a drum or two to carry you over to the new year.
Post by: Ulick on December 03, 2012, 10:42:50 AM
If you are in Belfast there are a couple of service stations now selling heating oil from the pumps.
Post by: the Deel Rover on December 03, 2012, 02:23:47 PM
Quote from: tintin25 on December 03, 2012, 10:12:42 AM
Live with two other lads, one of whom owns the house. We have no oil left and the house is freezing. The other lad (not the house owner) says he can't afford it as he hasn't budgeted for it! He thought the last fill would have lasted until new year. What ya recommend we do in this situation? Can't be living with people like that...shouldn't be renting in the first place!! How much is a good onesie?? Lol

If i was the house owner i'd be getting some oil in for the winter rather that than having to deal with burst pipes.
Post by: Onion Bag on December 03, 2012, 02:43:13 PM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on December 03, 2012, 02:23:47 PM
Quote from: tintin25 on December 03, 2012, 10:12:42 AM

If i was the house owner i'd be getting some oil in for the winter rather that than having to deal with burst pipes.

I would buy some oil and put the 2 c***ts outside when u want to turn it on
Post by: tintin25 on December 03, 2012, 04:24:21 PM
The plan is to get a drum, but that will hardly last long. Me and the owner prepared to get some, but no point forking out big when other lad can't afford it! This is the problem when you live with people of a student mentality.
Post by: nrico2006 on December 03, 2012, 04:35:49 PM
Quote from: tintin25 on December 03, 2012, 04:24:21 PM
The plan is to get a drum, but that will hardly last long. Me and the owner prepared to get some, but no point forking out big when other lad can't afford it! This is the problem when you live with people of a student mentality.

Keep your drum, you will be able to fill it from the pump from now on for around £13 instead of the £20 odd the shops sell them for.
Post by: heganboy on December 03, 2012, 07:28:55 PM
has anyone used the nest for home heating (nest.com)
Post by: illdecide on December 04, 2012, 04:31:06 PM
Quote from: nrico2006 on November 28, 2012, 09:55:22 AM

Cheers nrico...

No job too big no job too small...

O'Neill i never missed a day at the tech in my life ;)
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 04, 2012, 04:33:21 PM
Quote from: illdecide on December 04, 2012, 04:31:06 PM

Cheers nrico...

I hope there is a serious gaaboard discount.
Post by: illdecide on December 05, 2012, 12:10:57 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on December 04, 2012, 04:33:21 PM
Quote from: illdecide on December 04, 2012, 04:31:06 PM

Cheers nrico...

I hope there is a serious gaaboard discount.

£40 for a full service which will last at least 1 hour (keep that quiet thats for Board members only) Providing you don't live in Strabane or somewhere too far to travel
Post by: Abble on December 05, 2012, 12:29:13 PM

so because someone admits to not being able to afford something they have a student mentality...have you looked around you lately, we're in a bit of a recession
Post by: tintin25 on December 05, 2012, 12:48:55 PM
Quote from: Abble on December 05, 2012, 12:29:13 PM

so because someone admits to not being able to afford something they have a student mentality...have you looked around you lately, we're in a bit of a recession

Yes, I have looked around me and I feel the effects of it like everyone else. Doesn't mean I can't put a little bit away every month and prepare for things such as this. All I'm saying is that there are some people who move into rentals who don't prepare for the other bills that go along with it.  Just don't think it's fair on other housemates.
Post by: Abble on December 05, 2012, 01:07:16 PM
Quote from: tintin25 on December 05, 2012, 12:48:55 PM
Quote from: Abble on December 05, 2012, 12:29:13 PM

Yes, I have looked around me and I feel the effects of it like everyone else. Doesn't mean I can't put a little bit away every month and prepare for things such as this. All I'm saying is that there are some people who move into rentals who don't prepare for the other bills that go along with it.  Just don't think it's fair on other housemates.

did his rental contract stipulate that he must contribute to the home heating oil bill ? if so then yeah i'd agree with you.

oil drums though are just another ripoff i'd imagine as they're not gonna last a tap, they say the less you buy the more you pay per litre or whatever
Post by: illdecide on December 05, 2012, 03:03:05 PM
Getting the single drums is more expensive but unfortunately a good majority of people cannot afford to fill up with the oil man (tanker). Not only is it more expensive and more hassle to do this (drums) but you will pick up more dirt and possibly water as it's topped up with drums every other day and you wouldn't believe the amount of people who forget to put the lid back on...the fuel pump is the victim in all this and will cost about £100 to replace.
Post by: BenDover on February 06, 2013, 08:49:26 AM
I recently had to change the oil time to a Grasslin MIL72A but since I've had the new timer fitted, we've been getting no hot water from the oil burning. I've checked the pipes running to the tank and there is one pipe that feels hot to touch but the rest of the pipes have no warm water running through them. Any ideas on what could be wrong?
Post by: illdecide on February 06, 2013, 02:28:52 PM
Quote from: BenDover on February 06, 2013, 08:49:26 AM
I recently had to change the oil time to a Grasslin MIL72A but since I've had the new timer fitted, we've been getting no hot water from the oil burning. I've checked the pipes running to the tank and there is one pipe that feels hot to touch but the rest of the pipes have no warm water running through them. Any ideas on what could be wrong?

The motorised valve for the hot water sounds like its fecked...prob just a coincidence from new timer clock (although check the hot water settings on new timer)
Post by: BenDover on February 06, 2013, 03:43:52 PM
Quote from: illdecide on February 06, 2013, 02:28:52 PM

The motorised valve for the hot water sounds like its fecked...prob just a coincidence from new timer clock (although check the hot water settings on new timer)
How much is that to replace approx? This timer has 3 settings afaik Off, On Timer, On Constantly.
Post by: illdecide on February 06, 2013, 04:44:02 PM
Well it's probably on the head of the valve needs replaced (about £40 - £70 depending on where you buy it) and then usually £20-£30 to fit it. (i normally charge £70 all in supply and fit)
Post by: magpie seanie on February 06, 2013, 04:48:34 PM
On filling the tank with drums etc - I was charged more per litre (101c/litre) by the delivery guy before Christmas than I pay when I go to the pump (96.9c/litre). Sure its a pain in the ass this time of year filling the drums etc but it is actually cheaper in the place I go to in Sligo. Some other places that sell Kero at the pump can be much more expensive, approx 105c/litre in other spots.

Would have though it should have been cheaper from the delivery guy.
Post by: BenDover on February 06, 2013, 07:31:39 PM
I'm checking the valve now and the pipe either side of it is roasting. The valve itself seems like it's a compression type one with a screw cap to open it to max. Is this the right valve I'm looking at?
Post by: Tony Baloney on February 06, 2013, 07:52:33 PM
Quote from: BenDover on February 06, 2013, 07:31:39 PM
I'm checking the valve now and the pipe either side of it is roasting. The valve itself seems like it's a compression type one with a screw cap to open it to max. Is this the right valve I'm looking at?
If it is motorised should it not have a cable coming out of it. Mine is a blue Hostmann job with an orange LED on it.
Post by: BenDover on February 06, 2013, 08:06:45 PM
Aye found the motorised one there took the cap of it but not much happening.  I've read elsewhere ye can screw it up into n open position but the only thing I can see is housed in red plastic wit temp settings on the top
Post by: Tony Baloney on February 06, 2013, 08:41:42 PM
Quote from: BenDover on February 06, 2013, 08:06:45 PM
Aye found the motorised one there took the cap of it but not much happening.  I've read elsewhere ye can screw it up into n open position but the only thing I can see is housed in red plastic wit temp settings on the top
When mine bust last year I was able to screw it open and manually push the metal lever in the inside into the on position.
Post by: laoislad on February 06, 2013, 08:46:13 PM

Might not be fecked.
Was the motorised valve working before you changed the time clock?
Could be as simple as the timeclock is wired wrong.

Also on the motorised valve there should be a lever to change it to manual which will leave it open all the time.
Post by: laoislad on February 06, 2013, 08:49:45 PM
Also meant to add that motorised valves are usually controlled by a pipe stat that opens the valve at a certain temperature. The pipe stat is probably controlled from a switch wire from the time clock so it could also be that the pipe stat is fecked.
Post by: Tony Baloney on February 06, 2013, 09:02:22 PM
Quote from: laoislad on February 06, 2013, 08:46:13 PM

Might not be fecked.
Was the motorised valve working before you changed the time clock?
Could be as simple as the timeclock is wired wrong.

Also on the motorised valve there should be a lever to change it to manual which will leave it open all the time.
Most likely to be the timer than the valve if suddenly stopped working when new clock fitted. Did you fit it?
Post by: laoislad on February 06, 2013, 09:07:50 PM
If I fitted it, it would be working.
Post by: BenDover on February 06, 2013, 09:29:54 PM
Yea it was working fine before the new timer was fitted.  The Bro in law who fitted it didn't follow the wiring diagram as the oil was only coming on when set to constantly on. I think it's d way is been wired but no frig all about it. The metal pin is attached to the Red red housing so if I open up ths red housing I should b able to screw ths pin into the on position?
Post by: laoislad on February 06, 2013, 09:34:24 PM
Quote from: BenDover on February 06, 2013, 09:29:54 PM
Yea it was working fine before the new timer was fitted.  The Bro in law who fitted it didn't follow the wiring diagram as the oil was only coming on when set to constantly on. I think it's d way is been wired but no frig all about it. The metal pin is attached to the Red red housing so if I open up ths red housing I should b able to screw ths pin into the on position?

Yeah I'd say its wired wrong.
Are you sure you are looking at the motorised valve?
Maybe they are different up north but I don't recall ever seeing a domestic motorised valve with temperature settings on it. You sure it's not the pipe stat you are looking at?
As I said maybe its different up north and you can buy an all in one pipe stat/ motorised valve.
Post by: tyssam5 on February 07, 2013, 09:08:15 AM
Quote from: heganboy on December 03, 2012, 07:28:55 PM

Got the nest, like it a lot!
Post by: BenDover on February 07, 2013, 09:44:43 AM
God knows what I was looking at, I'll have to get a qualified person to have a nosey see if can be resolved easily enough, having to use the immersion is rough on the electric
Post by: offtheground on February 07, 2013, 09:49:34 AM
Quote from: tyssam5 on February 07, 2013, 09:08:15 AM
Quote from: heganboy on December 03, 2012, 07:28:55 PM

Got the nest, like it a lot!

I'd taken a look at it a few months back , and was under the impression that it was only available in the US. Are you in the states?
Post by: illdecide on February 07, 2013, 10:35:40 AM
Quote from: laoislad on February 06, 2013, 09:34:24 PM
Quote from: BenDover on February 06, 2013, 09:29:54 PM

Yeah I'd say its wired wrong.
Are you sure you are looking at the motorised valve?
Maybe they are different up north but I don't recall ever seeing a domestic motorised valve with temperature settings on it. You sure it's not the pipe stat you are looking at?
As I said maybe its different up north and you can buy an all in one pipe stat/ motorised valve.

No, the motorised valves don't have stats here either. Just the lever to switch to manual/Auto like you mexicans. Actually wired one last night and i always thought they had all the same colour of wires but not the Honeywell one, the grey is straightforward as they are always live and the earth is the earth but blue, orange and brown def varied in colour and was tricky to know which was which...lol.
Post by: illdecide on February 07, 2013, 10:37:43 AM
Bendover, Laoislad knows what he's talking about when it comes to wiring so i would def take his word on it...for a small fee he'd shoot up and sort it for u... ;)
Post by: Onion Bag on March 26, 2013, 01:05:38 PM
I know there was a thread on Oil usage but cant find it,

How may litres of oil a year is being used by the board members? and how much does a quarterly electric bill be?

Post by: clarshack on March 26, 2013, 01:11:02 PM
Quote from: Onion Bag on March 26, 2013, 01:05:38 PM

How may litres of oil a year is being used by the board members? and how much does a quarterly electric bill be?

not sure about oil usage, but our last quarterly electric bill covering nov, dec and jan was £127
Post by: nrico2006 on March 26, 2013, 01:22:09 PM
Quote from: clarshack on March 26, 2013, 01:11:02 PM
Quote from: Onion Bag on March 26, 2013, 01:05:38 PM

not sure about oil usage, but our last quarterly electric bill covering nov, dec and jan was £127

Jesus, thats cheap for the electric.  I would say we use about 1200 litres a year or thereabouts.  Electric was about 50 a month until new baby came and now working out at 70 a month, probably due to the woman being at home all day and wrecking the shit out of the tumble dryer and washing machine.
Post by: Tony Baloney on March 26, 2013, 01:40:41 PM
Probably in the region of 70 quid a month for electricity and about 2000ish litres of oil, although Mrs. Baloney is in full charge of all those arrangements so can't be 100% sure.
Post by: Onion Bag on March 26, 2013, 01:43:45 PM
My electric bills are around £200 a quarter,

My oil usuage is about 2500-3000 litres a year (Far too f**king much)

clarshack are you running round the house with candles

Post by: clarshack on March 26, 2013, 02:03:14 PM
Quote from: Onion Bag on March 26, 2013, 01:43:45 PM

there's 3 days in the week where there's no one at home for about 9 hours during the day which would help out a lot.

when we are home, the TV (plasma), skybox, dvd player, PC, oven, washing machine etc would be on a right bit. we have a dish washer and tumble dryer but both are hardly ever used. radiators are used to dry clothes.

all lights are those energy efficient ones.

i would be one for switching off everything at night - more to do with fire prevention than anything.

Post by: reddgnhand on March 26, 2013, 03:13:15 PM
Quote from: clarshack on March 26, 2013, 02:03:14 PM

there's 3 days in the week where there's no one at home for about 9 hours during the day which would help out a lot.

when we are home, the TV (plasma), skybox, dvd player, PC, oven, washing machine etc would be on a right bit. we have a dish washer and tumble dryer but both are hardly ever used. radiators are used to dry clothes.

i would be one for switching off everything at night - more to do with fire prevention than anything.

I'm doing something wrong my direct debit is at £120 a month for electric.
Post by: Onion Bag on March 26, 2013, 04:40:35 PM
I reckon you are, thats £360 a quarter, sounds very expensive,
Post by: illdecide on March 26, 2013, 08:31:44 PM
I wish I had £5 or €5 for every time somone in the last month have said to me..."there must be something wrong with my boiler for im using far too much oil". we have now had 5 full months of winter which generally doesn't happen, usually by now the heating is only on for an hour instead of all evening.  of course if I had have serviced their boiler it would be running more efficient  :P
Post by: Tony Baloney on March 26, 2013, 08:32:38 PM
Quote from: reddgnhand on March 26, 2013, 03:13:15 PM
Quote from: clarshack on March 26, 2013, 02:03:14 PM

I'm doing something wrong my direct debit is at £120 a month for electric.
When we changed to Airtricity they gave us an energy monitor which was an eye opener. Mrs. B switched everything off and worked around the house switching all on in turn and the biggest killer, outside the known culprits like tumble dryer etc., was all the spotlights in the kitchen. Easily forgotten about but 50W x 20 isnt long mounting up if left on for hours on end (which USED to be the case in our house!). Ours bills dropped from an ave of ~£100 per month to £60-70.
Post by: laoislad on March 26, 2013, 08:49:43 PM
What ya doing putting 20 down lighters in a kitchen anyway?
They are a big user of power right enough.
Post by: Tony Baloney on March 26, 2013, 09:11:56 PM
Quote from: laoislad on March 26, 2013, 08:49:43 PM
What ya doing putting 20 down lighters in a kitchen anyway?
They are a big user of power right enough.
14 downlighters, 2 drops and assorted under-unit lights. If I knew what I know now I would have put in a couple of 6' twin fluorescents instead!
Post by: balladmaker on March 26, 2013, 09:22:30 PM
QuoteWhen we changed to Airtricity they gave us an energy monitor which was an eye opener. Mrs. B switched everything off and worked around the house switching all on in turn and the biggest killer, outside the known culprits like tumble dryer etc., was all the spotlights in the kitchen. Easily forgotten about but 50W x 20 isnt long mounting up if left on for hours on end (which USED to be the case in our house!). Ours bills dropped from an ave of ~£100 per month to £60-70.

Have a load of spotlights around the house, counting in my head approx. 48 of them.  All low energy, a bit more costly at the time of buying but well worth it.  10000 hrs life and adding little to monthly bill, paying £67 a month at present via Budget Energy. The spots are also on a lot.
Post by: Tony Baloney on March 26, 2013, 09:26:35 PM
Quote from: balladmaker on March 26, 2013, 09:22:30 PM
QuoteWhen we changed to Airtricity they gave us an energy monitor which was an eye opener. Mrs. B switched everything off and worked around the house switching all on in turn and the biggest killer, outside the known culprits like tumble dryer etc., was all the spotlights in the kitchen. Easily forgotten about but 50W x 20 isnt long mounting up if left on for hours on end (which USED to be the case in our house!). Ours bills dropped from an ave of ~£100 per month to £60-70.

Have a load of spotlights around the house, counting in my head approx. 48 of them.  All low energy, a bit more costly at the time of buying but well worth it.  10000 hrs life and adding little to monthly bill, paying £67 a month at present via Budget Energy. The spots are also on a lot.
I need the low energy yokes.
Post by: nrico2006 on March 27, 2013, 08:34:13 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on March 26, 2013, 09:26:35 PM
Quote from: balladmaker on March 26, 2013, 09:22:30 PM

I need the low energy yokes.

Keep meaning to get an energy monitor.  I have a few spotlights in ther kitchen (6 I think), with anohter 6 underneath the cupboards.  The woman has them on a good bit and I am fully aware of their affect on the bill.  Looked at the low energy ones a few weeks ago and they are some price, just going to replace each spotlight with its energy saving equivalent as they go.  Got an electric bill from airtricity last month for £100, £30 up on the normal bill.  Wrecked the head trying to figure out what had been done differently, eventually came to me that it was during the period from start of January for about 3 weeks where we started letting the child go to sleep ont heir own upstairs and left the landing lights on for 3 or 4 hours every night (6 spotlights).  That 3 or 4 hours for 30 days was the £30 difference.  Just got the new bill out yesterday and it was back to £68 and in that period the landing lights have not been on.  Going to make a push now on the kitchen the more I think about it as could probably knock the bill down to about £50 or less.
Post by: offtheground on March 27, 2013, 08:39:09 AM
I've tried a few of the low energy GU10 bulbs and found this one to be the best, it comes on at full light output instantly, is the same physical size as a regular GU10 Halogen downlighter, and uses only 7W instead of the 50W the regular one uses.
It also runs much cooler than the old ones - I found some scorching around the light fittings which the old bulbs had caused.

http://www.amazon.co.uk/AURAGLOW-GU10-Light-White-Equivalent/dp/B004S70HVI/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1364373201&sr=8-1 (http://www.amazon.co.uk/AURAGLOW-GU10-Light-White-Equivalent/dp/B004S70HVI/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1364373201&sr=8-1)
Post by: illdecide on March 27, 2013, 09:57:21 AM
I have two up/down external lights at my front door, they look the part and ran on halogen bulbs. Last year i discovered i could get LED lights that fitted in as the halogen ones and they def made a difference as the Mrs illdecide like to have the outside lights on from 5:00pm until bedtime. Seven hours roughly every night with four halogen bulbs running soon mounted up.
Post by: Onion Bag on March 27, 2013, 11:08:16 AM
Have a few of those spots about the house, must get the bastids changed,

Post by: offtheground on March 27, 2013, 11:36:11 AM
Got one of these lights for the landing too - good job, and uses a trickle of power...

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Automatic-Night-Light-Plug-In-Energy/dp/B004LXODO6/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1364373608&sr=8-3 (http://www.amazon.co.uk/Automatic-Night-Light-Plug-In-Energy/dp/B004LXODO6/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1364373608&sr=8-3)
Post by: nrico2006 on April 24, 2013, 11:35:52 AM
Anyone have a multi-fuel or wood burning stove?  How long would a standard bag of logs last and how much do they cost from the average garage?
Post by: balladmaker on April 24, 2013, 03:13:37 PM
QuoteAnyone have a multi-fuel or wood burning stove?  How long would a standard bag of logs last and how much do they cost from the average garage?

Yes, have a charnwood island 2, great job but it fairly goes through the logs.  I'd probably get 3 to 4 days out of a standard bag, with just lighting the stove in the evening time around 7 or 8.  Coal (smokeless) is the job though, far better heat than just the logs and keeps it going for hours.

Bag of smokeless coal is around 6.50 - 7.00 in the north, bag of logs around 4.  Peat briquettes are the business as well, around 3.95 each.
Post by: nrico2006 on April 24, 2013, 03:21:21 PM
Quote from: balladmaker on April 24, 2013, 03:13:37 PM
QuoteAnyone have a multi-fuel or wood burning stove?  How long would a standard bag of logs last and how much do they cost from the average garage?

Yes, have a charnwood island 2, great job but it fairly goes through the logs.  I'd probably get 3 to 4 days out of a standard bag, with just lighting the stove in the evening time around 7 or 8.  Coal (smokeless) is the job though, far better heat than just the logs and keeps it going for hours.

Bag of smokeless coal is around 6.50 - 7.00 in the north, bag of logs around 4.  Peat briquettes are the business as well, around 3.95 each.

How long would a bag of coal last?  I currently have an open fire and its lit most days at 5 or 6 and that would take maybe 2 or 3 25kg bags of coal a week to run.
Post by: nrico2006 on November 20, 2014, 02:43:45 PM
Illdecide will hopefully have the answer to this.

Have a problem whereby my heating is intermittenly coming on upstairs only (the heating is turned off).  It seems to only happen after the heating or water have been turned on, although not every time.

In my hot press up stairs I have 2 danfoss motorised valves (1 for upstairs rads and 1 for downstairs).  I also have a myson power extra unit for the hot water.  I replaced the upstairs danfoss valve and low and behold the issue happened today again.  Any ideas?  Is it possibly the HW motorised valve?  Is there any way of checking that it is fine or not, i.e. should the auto to manual lever on the device slide freely with a bit of resistence or should it be really tight.  I will take off the valve later and check if the spindle is moving freely too, if it isnt I will stick a bit of WD40 on it and hope it sorts it.
Post by: illdecide on November 20, 2014, 03:42:22 PM
Quote from: nrico2006 on November 20, 2014, 02:43:45 PM
Illdecide will hopefully have the answer to this.

Have a problem whereby my heating is intermittenly coming on upstairs only (the heating is turned off).  It seems to only happen after the heating or water have been turned on, although not every time.

In my hot press up stairs I have 2 danfoss motorised valves (1 for upstairs rads and 1 for downstairs).  I also have a myson power extra unit for the hot water.  I replaced the upstairs danfoss valve and low and behold the issue happened today again.  Any ideas?  Is it possibly the HW motorised valve?  Is there any way of checking that it is fine or not, i.e. should the auto to manual lever on the device slide freely with a bit of resistence or should it be really tight.  I will take off the valve later and check if the spindle is moving freely too, if it isnt I will stick a bit of WD40 on it and hope it sorts it.

Well it's very possible if you've changed the actuator (head) of the Danfoss valve that the actual valve on the pipework is not opening/closing properly and you should replace this too. I'm sure wherever you got the actuator head then the actual valve will be with it too and whip her on...let me know how you fare out
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on November 20, 2014, 04:13:03 PM
Any tips on best places to get home heating oil and fuel for a multi-fuel stove in/around Dublin?
Post by: theskull1 on November 20, 2014, 04:29:19 PM
Have you a syphon?
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on November 20, 2014, 04:39:06 PM
You know where Gnevins house is?
Post by: BennyCake on December 27, 2020, 11:46:24 AM
Any boiler experts/electricians?

Switched off the heating from the programmer thingy, but a few minutes later the house was still roasting. The boiler had fired up again itself even though the Lights on the programmer was off.

Eventually, I located a switch in the press and turned that off, which turned heating off.  I'm now having to use this switch to turn on/off the heating (instead of the programmer thingy).

Any ideas? Does it sound like a big job? And for who, an electrician or a boiler expert?
Post by: Smokin Joe on December 27, 2020, 11:59:42 AM
Quote from: BennyCake on December 27, 2020, 11:46:24 AM

Switched off the heating from the programmer thingy, but a few minutes later the house was still roasting. The boiler had fired up again itself even though the Lights on the programmer was off.

Eventually, I located a switch in the press and turned that off, which turned heating off.  I'm now having to use this switch to turn on/off the heating (instead of the programmer thingy).

Any ideas? Does it sound like a big job? And for who, an electrician or a boiler expert?

I'm far from an expert, but I had a problem similar to this and it was caused by a faulty motorized valve.  The valve wasn't opening and closing as it should have done from either the controller on the wall or the thermostat.
My problem was fixed by replacing the motorised valve.

Until I got the valve replaced I turned the heat on and off by manually flicking the motorised valve on and off with my hand.

Might something like that be your issue?
Post by: armaghniac on December 27, 2020, 12:20:19 PM
Quote from: Smokin Joe on December 27, 2020, 11:59:42 AM

I'm far from an expert, but I had a problem similar to this and it was caused by a faulty motorized valve.  The valve wasn't opening and closing as it should have done from either the controller on the wall or the thermostat.

Until I got the valve replaced I turned the heat on and off by manually flicking the motorised valve on and off with my hand.

I've had the same problem. Moving the manual level did the trick. Motorised valves usually have a plumbing fitting and a valve head which is small motor, I replaced the valve head, which was readily available on Amazon, and things were working, but I had problems again after the summer when the heating season started.
I think that the problem is really that the plumbing valve is stiff and my turning it manually just got it going and it is working again and probably will if it is turning on and off several times a day. Changing the valve needs a plumber, draining the systems and so forth.
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 27, 2020, 12:41:12 PM

Plumber.
Post by: Smokin Joe on December 27, 2020, 01:12:22 PM
Replacing the valve head worked for me. So it didn't need a plumber as it was just wiring that that was involved.
Post by: BennyCake on December 27, 2020, 02:35:17 PM
Quote from: Smokin Joe on December 27, 2020, 11:59:42 AM

Yes, spoke to an electrician nearby who said the same. New valve needed.

Can still use the heating by turning on/off the switch in the press until valve replaced.
Post by: illdecide on December 27, 2020, 05:17:54 PM
Take the head of and if you can turn the wee brass nipple thingie easily then the head just need replaced (actuator head). Get the same actuator head as the faulty one and replace wire for wire and hey presto (make sure you have isolated the power first). If the we brass nipple thingie is stiff to turn with your finger and thumb then you need to replace the whole valve which will need a plumber. Plumbers can change these without draining the system but you need to know what you're doing or you'd flood the place. If you have a pressure system (red expansion vessell in hotpress with a pressure gauge) then it can be replaced by dropping the pressure.
For now just use the isolating switch to turn heating on and off until you get the actuator head.