GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: 45GoneShort on August 25, 2008, 10:10:28 PM

Title: Mickey Moran & John Morrison New Leitrim Management
Post by: 45GoneShort on August 25, 2008, 10:10:28 PM
Leitrim GAA are delighted to announce that Mickey Moran and John Morrison will take over the vacant senior football management positions after ratification at tonights special county board meeting.
Mickey Moran started coaching as player manager for 2 years at Derry´s helm and when he hung up the boots he completed a further 2 years for the county.
Before his playing days ended he had played for his home club Glen, Derry, Ulster and the Rest of Ireland and was an All-Star replacement.

He was the Derry coach in 1993 as he assisted the late Eamon Coleman during Derry´s capture of the All-Ireland title.

Towards the end of the nineties he was involved with the Irish International Rules team with Colm O´Rourke, John O´Keefe, John Tobin for two years.

Having coached in Sligo and Donegal, in between stints with his native county Derry, he then took the top role in Mayo in 2006 taking them to a National League semi-final appearance, a Connacht final win and to an All-Ireland final appearance against Kerry with a superb win against Dublin along the way. Leitrim fans who were in Croke Park for the Tommy Murphy cup final against Louth may remember the fantastic Dublin v Mayo encounter that followed.

Mickey Moran is partnered by John Morrison who is only one of a small number of 'GAA master coaches´ in Ireland. He is no stranger to coaches in Leitrim as he has undertaken several coaching seminars in the county in recent years as part of our games development plan. Earlier this year he was one of the high profile tutors included in the 2008 Coachworks series held in Armagh, this programme which "transforms theory into practice" offered useful tips on how best to deliver coaching messages and skills.

He is known for his ability to analyse player athleticism and performance and to provide a variety of solutions to enhance both.

The colourful Armagh native has coached with no fewer than five county teams and whose expertise has also been sought by Ulster Rugby and Leicester Tigers has partnered Mickey Moran in each of Moran´s last three managerial appointments in Mayo, Derry and Donegal.

In conjunction with the development of playing and training facilities Leitrim GAA look on this appointment as another phase of development of Gaelic football in the county. Not only will Mickey and John be the senior team managers they will also be involved in the preparation of coaching programme´s for county underage teams & development squads. They are willing to assist in the preparation for our county U16´s, Minor, U21´s and Junior teams.

At grass roots level they are very willing to work with club coaches throughout the county and will be available to help in preparing program´s for club teams. Their commitment to Leitrim GAA will further enhance the comprehensive Coaching and Development plans already in operation and this is a much valued addition to their duties as Senior team management.

Source: leitrimgaa.ie
Title: Re: Mickey Whelan & John Morrison New Leitrim Management
Post by: Onlooker on August 25, 2008, 10:12:46 PM
You would want to change the name of this thread.  I don't think that Mickey Whelan is going to Leitrim.
Post by: Real1995 on August 25, 2008, 10:13:15 PM
they'll be munching the monkey nuts down in Leitrim den soon  ;D
Title: Re: Mickey Moran & John Morrison New Leitrim Management
Post by: 45GoneShort on August 25, 2008, 10:17:58 PM
Quote from: Onlooker on August 25, 2008, 10:12:46 PM
You would want to change the name of this thread.  I don't think that Mickey Whelan is going to Leitrim.

It been ratified tonight at Co. Board meeting.  See for yourself @ www.leitrimgaa.ie
Post by: Puckoon on August 25, 2008, 10:19:12 PM
Quote from: 45GoneShort on August 25, 2008, 10:17:58 PM

It been ratified tonight at Co. Board meeting.  See for yourself @ www.leitrimgaa.ie

I dont care if the memo came from St Peter himself - its not Mickey Whelan!
Post by: 45GoneShort on August 25, 2008, 10:20:38 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on August 25, 2008, 10:19:12 PM
Quote from: 45GoneShort on August 25, 2008, 10:17:58 PM

I dont care if the memo came from St Peter himself - its not Mickey Whelan!

My Bad
Post by: orangeman on August 25, 2008, 11:49:20 PM
Quote from: Take Your Points on August 25, 2008, 11:46:44 PM
Skip operators in Leitrim are already preparing their bids for business with the new management team while Thornton's shops in the county are already putting in their orders for additional supplies of Brazil nuts.

Go on start emptying all that negative stuff !
Post by: Bod Mor on August 25, 2008, 11:52:39 PM
Best of luck to them. I hope they have years of success with Leitrim. It was unfair what happened them when they were last in Connacht and hopefully they can do the business again.
Post by: orangeman on August 25, 2008, 11:55:33 PM
Quote from: Bod Mor on August 25, 2008, 11:52:39 PM
Best of luck to them. I hope they have years of success with Leitrim. It was unfair what happened them when they were last in Connacht and hopefully they can do the business again.

You'd love to see Leitrim and Mayo at it next year !
Post by: Kerry Mike on August 26, 2008, 12:10:12 AM
At least Morrison wont have to be looking over his shoulder for Pillar's next attack !!
Post by: moysider on August 26, 2008, 12:17:36 AM
Best of luck to Leitrim and their new management team. To be honest I m jealous and was hoping they would get another shot with my county.

Leitrim have a top class coaching team now. They gave us one of our best summers ever but a couple of local stirrers took their cue from national media  and a craven Board executive squirmed on the hook and took the easy way out. Now the 2 lads - particularly Morrison with his post- match utterances - did themselves no favours in the immediate aftermath of Kerry 2006. But they re coaches, not politicians and they did nt know how to play that bullshit game down here.

Our loss is Leitrim s gain and again I wish a pair of gentlemen and top coaches the best.
Post by: Armamike on August 26, 2008, 12:30:27 AM
I thought they had divorced after the Mayo experience?
Post by: J70 on August 26, 2008, 12:39:34 AM
Looking back, they did a decent job in Donegal too and had us playing some nice football before the lads decided that the Dubs were going to be easy pickings in the replay and went on the lash!
Post by: moysider on August 26, 2008, 12:40:28 AM
Quote from: orangeman on August 25, 2008, 11:55:33 PM
Quote from: Bod Mor on August 25, 2008, 11:52:39 PM

You'd love to see Leitrim and Mayo at it next year !

Dont think there would be any more edge than there usually is - and usually there is nt because we dont play too often. Not like there was an issue between Moran and the Mayo players. They had great time for him and played well for him - and spare me the final v Kerry. Not many would have done better. If M&M had been left in charge they would have brought a more tactical approach to our game but they did ok on first attempt 06. Since their departure we ve regressed at a depressing rate. Management have even shafted our best player in 35 years - maybe more but I cant remember before that.

The Mayo players would have great respect for Mickey and John. They would shake their hands to a man. Many of the Mayo lads played their best ever football for those two. And even though I ll get killed by by own for saying this the Mayo players have far more regard for M&M than others I could name.
Post by: stephenite on August 26, 2008, 12:52:39 AM
Quote from: moysider on August 26, 2008, 12:40:28 AM
And even though I ll get killed by by own for saying this the Mayo players have far more regard for M&M than others I could name.

Whilst I've no doubt that would be true of some of the Mayo players, there were some senior players who had little or no respect for these lads.

The players decision to not inform of them of their plans before heading off down to Hill 16 before the semi final in 06 tells quite a tale.

Post by: moysider on August 26, 2008, 01:25:08 AM
Quote from: stephenite on August 26, 2008, 12:52:39 AM
Quote from: moysider on August 26, 2008, 12:40:28 AM
And even though I ll get killed by by own for saying this the Mayo players have far more regard for M&M than others I could name.

Whilst I've no doubt that would be true of some of the Mayo players, there were some senior players who had little or no respect for these lads.

The players decision to not inform of them of their plans before heading off down to Hill 16 before the semi final in 06 tells quite a tale.

Not sure about that Stephenite. The lads thet though up that move could not have told management. No management team could or would condone that particular stunt. And stunt was what it was. Grand we won in the end and it was great crack but you would have to be mental as a manager or coach to encourage  something like that. That was unmanageable.

Now I m sure some of the lads that came up with that plan will manage in the future and would not tolerate that kind of thing.

Yet I dont see that as disrespect for M&M. And at least they had the cop to go with it even though Moran at least was appalled at first, as he should have been.

The players did their own thing to be sure and to an extent management lost control at that time. This had a knock-on effect for the final as management did not have the authority to demand tactical changes from the players.

But the big damage to the effectiveness of the management came from the coolness between management and Board which had set in in early summer. It meant management could not afford to alienate any players because they were they only thing they had onside. Most media were negative about them from the start.

Post by: stephenite on August 26, 2008, 01:33:11 AM
Ah yeah but that incident was only example of it - and the most public one it was too. Only point I'm making is that I'm aware of some senior players that had little or no time for M & M
Post by: moysider on August 26, 2008, 02:06:12 AM

OK. I ll go along with that. I know a similar feeling exists with the current management.
Post by: stephenite on August 26, 2008, 02:09:28 AM
If you've got the guts of 30 guys on a panel - there'll always be some who don't like to listen what those in charge are saying, I suppose it's how you manage that is what counts.
Post by: mayoman dan on August 26, 2008, 02:20:59 AM
The players did their own thing to be sure and to an extent management lost control at that time. This had a knock-on effect for the final as management did not have the authority to demand tactical changes from the players.
Please expand on this.What tactical changes would the management have in mind? Which senior players had no respect for M@M.
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on August 26, 2008, 05:08:54 AM
I think you're giving a very distorted version of events Moysider. As Stephenite says going down to the Hill was but one of several examples of players taking the reins that year.

In the dressing room after the Dublin game Heaney and Brady brought all the players into the warm-up area for a talk about what had to be done in the coming weeks. Management weren't told. Moran came into the dressing room then wondering where the players were and was visibly annoyed when told they were having a talk between themselves in the warm-up area. Another instance of being undermined. There were others too that I can't quite recall offhand.

Also, and I've said this before, the 2006 season was one where we did well but encountered a bit of luck too. Barely beat Leitrim, edged past Galway, struggled to beat a terrible Laois side after a replay and then produced a very good performance against Dublin, aided greatly by an implosion by the Dubs when they were seven points up. Then we were destroyed in the final. 2004 was a much better year for us I think.

Also the week before the All-Ireland final in a trial game in Enfield Barry Moran was put at full-forward for the possibles team on Heaney for the probables. A good idea, a sign that management recognised the need for Heaney to be able to do a decent job on Kieran Donaghy. But Barry Moran turns around and takes 2-4 off Heaney, were alarm bells not ringing then? BY the team the management realised the problem fully and sent on Brady in the final, the damage had been done and the game was over.

True there was tension between the management and county board all year and we could speculate all night about alterior motives from the county board. But there was also tension between M & M after the final and their partnership dissolved at the time, only coming back to work together now, two years on.

People say management were hard done by to be 'sacked' after getting to the All-Ireland final. Well they weren't quite sacked but thats another issue. Bottom line, after receiving a hiding like that in a final it is hard for the same management to continue. Maughan's Mayo were very lacklustre in 2005. A fresh voice can often be the best thing. Look at Cork this year with Conor Counihan. Kerry got hammered (in performance terms) by Tyrone in 2003. Paidi went, Jack O'Connor came in and they won the All-Ireland the following year. It can be very hard for management to remain on when their tacticals errors had been so clearly highlighted on the biggest stage of all.

I know people will say we've hardly set the world on fire since M & M's departure and O'Mahony's appointment but just because things have went only so-so since doesn't mean that they would have been any better had M & M been left in charge. Mayo were good in 2006 and were always going to slide afterwards. I think most people recognised that at the start of 2007, even before JOM started any of his annoying 'lets be patient' speeches. McDonald was the big mistake and one he erred on but it wasn't a particularly easy position to be in. But we've been over that before.

Best of luck to M & M in Leitrim. They're good guys
Post by: stephenite on August 26, 2008, 05:25:22 AM
Best of luck to them indeed. I am certainly not going to slight anything that they did or didn't do.

On any team in any county there are personality clashes amongst players and managers/backroom staff. It's human nature, however they really only come to the surface after a poor season or a bad loss.

Unfortunately, we've had more than our fair share of these bad losses over the past number of years, so we discuss them more.
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on August 26, 2008, 06:17:15 AM
Ya have to laugh sometimes though  :D

We don't half take over threads even when they have feck all to do with us.

The 'Sligo where do we go from here' thread earlier this season morphed into a discussion on parish lines in north Mayo with poor oul Sligonian nearly having an aneriusm! and here we are talking over a Leitrim thread talking about 2006   :D
Post by: JMohan on August 26, 2008, 06:24:55 AM
Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on August 26, 2008, 05:08:54 AM
I think you're giving a very distorted version of events Moysider. As Stephenite says going down to the Hill was but one of several examples of players taking the reins that year.

In the dressing room after the Dublin game Heaney and Brady brought all the players into the warm-up area for a talk about what had to be done in the coming weeks. Management weren't told. Moran came into the dressing room then wondering where the players were and was visibly annoyed when told they were having a talk between themselves in the warm-up area. Another instance of being undermined. There were others too that I can't quite recall offhand.

Also, and I've said this before, the 2006 season was one where we did well but encountered a bit of luck too. Barely beat Leitrim, edged past Galway, struggled to beat a terrible Laois side after a replay and then produced a very good performance against Dublin, aided greatly by an implosion by the Dubs when they were seven points up. Then we were destroyed in the final. 2004 was a much better year for us I think.

Also the week before the All-Ireland final in a trial game in Enfield Barry Moran was put at full-forward for the possibles team on Heaney for the probables. A good idea, a sign that management recognised the need for Heaney to be able to do a decent job on Kieran Donaghy. But Barry Moran turns around and takes 2-4 off Heaney, were alarm bells not ringing then? BY the team the management realised the problem fully and sent on Brady in the final, the damage had been done and the game was over.

True there was tension between the management and county board all year and we could speculate all night about alterior motives from the county board. But there was also tension between M & M after the final and their partnership dissolved at the time, only coming back to work together now, two years on.

People say management were hard done by to be 'sacked' after getting to the All-Ireland final. Well they weren't quite sacked but thats another issue. Bottom line, after receiving a hiding like that in a final it is hard for the same management to continue. Maughan's Mayo were very lacklustre in 2005. A fresh voice can often be the best thing. Look at Cork this year with Conor Counihan. Kerry got hammered (in performance terms) by Tyrone in 2003. Paidi went, Jack O'Connor came in and they won the All-Ireland the following year. It can be very hard for management to remain on when their tacticals errors had been so clearly highlighted on the biggest stage of all.

I know people will say we've hardly set the world on fire since M & M's departure and O'Mahony's appointment but just because things have went only so-so since doesn't mean that they would have been any better had M & M been left in charge. Mayo were good in 2006 and were always going to slide afterwards. I think most people recognised that at the start of 2007, even before JOM started any of his annoying 'lets be patient' speeches. McDonald was the big mistake and one he erred on but it wasn't a particularly easy position to be in. But we've been over that before.

Best of luck to M & M in Leitrim. They're good guys

Those backroom stories paint a far more accurate view of what I heard was happening in Mayo back then.

The press release says Morrison has been at 5 teams?
Who were they? Armagh, Donegal, Derry, Mayo, ... and now Leitrim - that them? Personally I'd be asking questions if you've been with that many teams - You have to wonder about some of these managers and coaches who end up going to so many teams as well rather than staying with one - have they won anything at any of them?

Post by: BigJohnBrowne on August 26, 2008, 08:16:09 AM
God, its amazing how posters pick up on words and make a fuss about them especially when taking them out of context.  Morrison has assisted '5 counties' as he is a master coach, one of a small number in the country. In addition he assists coaches in numerous clubs throughout Ireland, his role is coaching so spreading himself around is expected.    Bit of sour grapes about this.

Also would like evidence about the 'split' between the M&M's after leaving Mayo - don't think that's true. 

I'm thrilled that Leitrim have managed to win over these 2 fantastic men.  The press release shows that they intend starting at the club level and put in all their efforts from there upwards to the senior team.  Just what Leitrim needs to validate and compliment the existing coaching plans.

Well done Leitrim.  Here's to a bright future.   Media will have a fun day when Leitrim play Wicklow in the league with Micko one side and Mickey on the other  also Could be interesting if Leitrim draw Mayo in the Championship !!!

Its a breath of fresh air and a change that was badly needed in recent years.

Liatroim Abú
Post by: JMohan on August 26, 2008, 08:25:24 AM
Quote from: BigJohnBrowne on August 26, 2008, 08:16:09 AM
God, its amazing how posters pick up on words and make a fuss about them especially when taking them out of context.  Morrison has assisted '5 counties' as he is a master coach, one of a small number in the country.

What is a 'Master Coach'?

Quote from: BigJohnBrowne on August 26, 2008, 08:16:09 AMIn addition he assists coaches in numerous clubs throughout Ireland, his role is coaching so spreading himself around is expected.    Bit of sour grapes about this.
Assists?
What do you mean by sours grapes?

Quote from: BigJohnBrowne on August 26, 2008, 08:16:09 AMAlso would like evidence about the 'split' between the M&M's after leaving Mayo - don't think that's true. 
I have never heard of any split either

Quote from: BigJohnBrowne on August 26, 2008, 08:16:09 AMI'm thrilled that Leitrim have managed to win over these 2 fantastic men.  The press release shows that they intend starting at the club level and put in all their efforts from there upwards to the senior team.  Just what Leitrim needs to validate and compliment the existing coaching plans.

Well done Leitrim.  Here's to a bright future.   Media will have a fun day when Leitrim play Wicklow in the league with Micko one side and Mickey on the other  also Could be interesting if Leitrim draw Mayo in the Championship !!!
They are probably the best kind of coaches that Leitrim need alright
Post by: Barney on August 26, 2008, 08:31:38 AM
Best of luck to Mickey and John - they gave us a great Summer in 2006, and they way they were treated was a disgrace. Whatever their failings they were guests in our county and any divorce could have been handled with dignity. But that is not the way with the Mayo County Board bloodhounds - they couldn't wait to have their man in blue in the hot seat, and look at where we are now!

So next years championship starts off with New York, and then a semi-final with Leitrim!

Isn't it bizarre how infrequently the teams meet - in the last nearly 20 years I think we have only drawn each other twice!
Post by: Bensars on August 26, 2008, 09:47:49 AM
That appointment will please the skip hire companies of leitrim . In these days of economic burden and the credit crunch any additional business will probably be welcomed.!
Post by: On_the_Couch on August 26, 2008, 11:11:23 AM
A Field in the wilds of Leitrm, First Leitrim training session for 2009, In the middle, a Caldron boiling. Thunder.

Enter the three Mickeys (a bit of bardic licence here).

1 MICKEY. Thrice the brinded cat hath mew'd.
2 MICKEY. Thrice and once, the hedge-pig whin'd.
3 MICKEY. Harpier cries:-'tis time! 'tis time!

1 MICKEY. Round about the caldron go
In the poison'd entrails throw.-
Toad, that under cold stone,
Days and nights has thirty-one
Swelter'd venom sleeping got,
Boil thou first i' the charmed pot!
ALL. Double, double toil and trouble
Fire burn, and caldron bubble.

2 MICKEY. Fillet of a fenny snake,
In the caldron boil and bake
Eye of newt, and toe of frog,
Wool of bat, and tongue of dog,
Adder's fork, and blind-worm's sting,
Lizard's leg, and owlet's wing,-
For a charm of powerful trouble,
Like a hell-broth boil and bubble.

3 MICKEY. Scale of dragon tooth of wolf
Witches' mummy maw and gulf
Of the ravin'd salt-sea shark
Root of hemlock digg'd i the dark
Liver of blaspheming Jew
Gall of goat, and slips of yew
Sliver'd in the moon's eclipse
Nose of Turk, and Tartar's lips
Finger of birth-strangled babe
Ditch-deliver'd by a drab,-
Make the gruel thick and slab:
Add thereto a tiger's chaudron,
For the ingrediants of our caldron.

2 MICKEY. Cool it with a baboon's blood,
Then the charm is firm and good. ....

God help poor Leitrim and thanks to my friend Will for the above lines
Post by: magpie seanie on August 26, 2008, 11:23:29 AM
Leitrim must be favourites to win Division 4 now.
Post by: Real1995 on August 26, 2008, 11:27:35 AM

Who were they? Armagh, Donegal, Derry, Mayo, ... and now Leitrim - that them?

Correct me if i am wrong but i think he had a spell with antrim...
Post by: Hardy on August 26, 2008, 11:30:46 AM
What constitutes a good spell with Antrim?

(Seanie, I was awaiting your acerbic observation on this news  :D).
Post by: Uladh on August 26, 2008, 11:33:23 AM
Quote from: Hardy on August 26, 2008, 11:30:46 AM
What constitutes a good spell with Antrim?

Anything involving a boiling cauldron and kevin McGoarty being put in it
Post by: Lar Naparka on August 26, 2008, 11:43:42 AM
Quote from: Real1995 on August 26, 2008, 11:27:35 AM

After he parted company with Mayo, he was reported as have taken over the management of a club side in Antrim.
It was Cadrin or Cargen; I can't recall the name but it was something like the ones I've used.
Post by: JMohan on August 26, 2008, 11:49:19 AM
People here have suggested things about his departure from Mayo - was it not mutually agreed?

Also, I've read so much stuff about Morrison it can't all be correct can it?
In demand from all these Rugby clubs in the UK? lol! When I read that kind of stuff I start to doubt ... Why is he still in GAA then?

Ask anyone though in clubs he has been brought into and his coaching of underage kids in schools is excellent
I read an artilce once that described them as the odd-couple and I think it was meant in a complimentary way - but it could be very good for Leitrim long term
All that said he sure brighten's up the post match interviews!!!

Post by: On_the_Couch on August 26, 2008, 12:03:22 PM
I don't know what they say in the privacy of the changing rooms, but I think they talk the greatest load of dung in public - Mickey Moran instills a dour "the world is all against us" attitude, and his teams play a slow, dour ,over-physical attritional game that is boring to watch and I dare say a pain to play against.  John Morrison talks a load of gobbledy gook and hocus pocus.  I think its a pity that they are back on the intercounty scene.
Post by: magpie seanie on August 26, 2008, 12:18:09 PM
QuoteSeanie, I was awaiting your acerbic observation on this news 

I'm nothing if not consistent! On this topic at least.
Post by: tbrick18 on August 26, 2008, 01:10:27 PM
Good luck with this appointment....because Luck is the only thing that will win you anything with Mickey M at the helm. Dont rate him at all.
Post by: cornafean on August 26, 2008, 01:37:23 PM

Morrison managed Antrim in the 1995-96 season and probably the season afterwards. He did a pretty good job at the time, although Antrim were on their knees when he took over, having failed to win a single championship match since the early 1980s, a record that Morrison failed to correct. Martin McHugh's Cavan team had walloped Antrim in Breffni Park in the 1995 championship and Morrison was in charge of Antrim when they met again in 1996 in Casement Park. Cavan were going well at the time yet only beat Antrim by a point or two.
Post by: Over the Bar on August 26, 2008, 01:47:14 PM
QuoteGood luck with this appointment....because Luck is the only thing that will win you anything with Mickey M at the helm. Dont rate him at all.

His manner might not suit everyone but his record speaks for itself.  A great dual appointment for a small county like Leitrim. 
Post by: Rav67 on August 26, 2008, 02:57:43 PM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on August 26, 2008, 11:43:42 AM

After he parted company with Mayo, he was reported as have taken over the management of a club side in Antrim.
It was Cadrin or Cargen; I can't recall the name but it was something like the ones I've used.

Mickey has been with Creggan the past 2 years but I don't think Morrisson has been with him.  Not sure if Morrison has been with him at Jordanstown either, MM got to Sigerson finals the past 2 years winning 1, OK they have had a great squad of players no doubt but this is still a very good achievement.  They both talk a lot of dung on tv and Moran comes across a bit too emotional in the media which works to undermine him in terms of being perceived as a strong manager/leader, but they are undoubtedly great coaches and if they are willing to put a lot of time into underage structures in Leitrim, as the article states, this will be a very good appointment.
Post by: JMohan on August 26, 2008, 03:00:26 PM
Quote from: Over the Bar on August 26, 2008, 01:47:14 PM
QuoteGood luck with this appointment....because Luck is the only thing that will win you anything with Mickey M at the helm. Dont rate him at all.

His manner might not suit everyone but his record speaks for itself.  A great dual appointment for a small county like Leitrim. 

Which is ....?

One Connacht title?
Post by: screenexile on August 26, 2008, 03:05:37 PM
Connacht title, Heavily involved in Derry's All Ireland Success, Sigerson Cup.

I think Moran has been along with another fella in Creggan the last 2 years and him and Adrian McGuckin both manage Jordanstown to the best of my knowledge. I've seen him in action and anyone who doubts his coaching credentials should be knocked out because he's as good as I've seen in terms of innovation, relevance to the game etc.

THe failing I would see with himself and Morrison is that neither of them is a manager. I remember a story about McEneaney when the County Board asked him what he was going to do with regard to training the team and he said "I thought this interview was about managing the team? I'll not be training them!" Moran and Morrison have gotten their teams fit and playing good football but with regard to tactics, team selection, changes under pressure and dealing with the media, both have been found wanting in the past. They've both been at this game for a long time so I can't see them bringing anything new to the table in the management stakes this time around. I have a lot of time for Moran though and I wish him well in the new post!
Post by: SLIGONIAN on August 26, 2008, 05:40:40 PM
Fairly shocked at this coup by Leitrim. Did not think theyd get a manager of this calibre. Dont really care as long as they dont beat us.
Post by: magpie seanie on August 26, 2008, 06:08:05 PM
Quotehis record speaks for itself

Never a truer word said.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on August 26, 2008, 06:21:51 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on August 26, 2008, 06:08:05 PM
Quotehis record speaks for itself

Never a truer word said.
I'd say there has been
Post by: magpie seanie on August 26, 2008, 08:24:28 PM
You would.
Post by: m@yoman on August 26, 2008, 09:35:10 PM
long time reader but first time poster...

I too would like to wish them the best of luck in Leitrim.....I, like a lot more on this board, were not happy with the way they were kicked out in of the Mayo job in 2006.......it was a great year to be a Mayo supporter albeit for that terrible Sunday in September....

Will be interesting if we meet them next year......there'll be a good possibility now!! ;)
Post by: imtommygunn on August 26, 2008, 09:54:25 PM
Moran is a man who I'd have a lot of respect for and has been treated harshly in a few places.

He's done a lot for football and I truly think he will improve Leitrim.

He once coached our club team - it was the most interesting session I've ever been at between university and schools. Definitely a good coach.

Would agree with Screenexiles sentiments.
Post by: JMohan on August 26, 2008, 09:57:30 PM
Someone remind me of the ending at Mayo as I thought it was all agreed and everyone was happy ... no?
Post by: Lar Naparka on August 27, 2008, 06:46:53 PM
Quote from: JMohan on August 26, 2008, 09:57:30 PM
Someone remind me of the ending at Mayo as I thought it was all agreed and everyone was happy ... no?
Well; no one can tell you what exactly happened because anybody who really knows isn't saying a lot!
But from my own recollections of reports at the time I can give you a rough idea of events.
After the final, Mayo held a function at the Citywest Hotel. It seemed that there was no rancour whatever between M&M and the county board. Both M&M spoke of their plans for the following year and the county board indicated that they were still happy to have the pair of them onboard. By and large all seemed sweetness and light; certainly there was no overt move against them from any quarter.
However, Morrison made a speech and it did ruffle a few feathers. It was of the 'Tiocfaidh ár Lá' variety and it didn't go down well with some of those present.
Very shortly afterwards, Mayo held a delegates meeting in Castlebar to discuss events and the mood of the delegates was in sharp contrast to the welcome the pair got in the Citywest.
A considerable number of delegates voiced objections to M&M carrying on and some made references to Morrison's political tone in his speech. It was clear that there was going to be considerable opposition to a re-appointment.

It has to be said that not all speakers at this meeting were anti-M&M but a large proportion certainly was. There was widespread speculation that the board executive had stage managed this meeting in order to drum up opposition but it may have been a surprise to them also that there was so much evident resistance to a re-appointment.
At any rate, it was to become obvious over the following weeks that the welcome for Mickey and his sidekick to stay on was cooling rapidly.  Moran insisted that he wanted a meeting with the board to discuss the future but Feeney showed no haste in setting up a meeting. It was obvious to most that the show was over. Beefer unexpectedly announced that he was pulling out, citing the time spent travelling as the reason but Mickey insisted on having his meeting with the board.
This finally came to pass and both sides announced afterward that the show was over; both parties also agreed to keep the agenda of that meeting private.

It has been said that the board decided not to re-appoint Moran because Morrison had left and they had come in as a combined package but I don't think that could be the case. Sean Feeney was obviously putting off any meeting long before Morrison announced his departure. In any case, it was never spelt out at any time that Morrison was part of a management team.
The pair may have indeed fallen out but if they did it would have been over the "Brazilian" issue. Beefer announced before the Kerry game that he wanted the team to go out and play like the Brazilians; go all out to shoot out the lights and not worry about conceding a few at the back. Understandably, Mickey and the senior players had reservations about taking the likes of Kerry on in a shooting match.
The 'nuts' referred to a daft idea both of them had about passes being sprayed out to the wings for the corner forwards to collect and to lob across and the Ff was then to come in like a nutcracker.
It was obvious during the games to the final that Ciaran Mac was following management orders by slowing down the game to give the corner forwards time to get free of their markers but the rest of the team was ignoring M&M and playing it in direct instead.
Maybe the danger of the three buckos inside colliding and braining each other was the reason! ;D
Post by: BigJohnBrowne on August 27, 2008, 11:21:43 PM
No training sessions in the vicinity of Derrada woods so :D

There will have to be open minds in Leitrim for JM but I think it will work as a lot of club coaches have already experienced his methods in recent years at coaching sessions and he is well regarded.

Cannot wait for the 09 season to start and it's still August 08 !.
Post by: LeppinMick on August 28, 2008, 07:23:02 PM
Leitrim had a very impressive list of interested parties, names rumored to have spoken to the Co Board expressing an interest included Tommy Carr, Luke Dempsey and Peter Canavan. Interesting times ahead with so man vancancies up for filling in the coming months!
Post by: Rossfan on August 28, 2008, 09:54:41 PM
Quote from: LeppinMick on August 28, 2008, 07:23:02 PM
Leitrim had a very impressive list of interested parties, names rumored to have spoken to the Co Board expressing an interest included Tommy Carr, Luke Dempsey and Peter Canavan.

And there was me thinkin that Co Boards approached individuals to see if they would be interested. ::) ::)

Anyway they had more sense than to take on Carr or Dempsey.