GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: DownFanatic on October 27, 2021, 11:03:23 AM

Title: Ulster JFC/IFC 2021.
Post by: DownFanatic on October 27, 2021, 11:03:23 AM
Ulster JFC

Preliminary Round

Sean McDermott's/Toome (Monaghan) v Cookstown/Eskra (Tyrone)

Quarter Finals

Drung/Denn (Cavan) v Rasharkin/St Comgall's (Antrim)
Newtownbutler/Coa/Donagh (Fermanagh) v Sean Dolan's/Desertmartin (Derry)
Aughlisnafin/Dundrum (Down) v Letterkenny Gaels/Na Rossa/Downings/Carndonagh (Donegal)
Belleeks (Armagh) v Sean McDermott's/Toome/Cookstown/Eskra (Monaghan/Tyrone)

Ulster IFC

Preliminary Round

Cloughaneely/Dungloe (Donegal) v Greenlough/Drumsurn/Limavady/Steelstown (Derry)

Quarter Finals

Gortin/Owen Roes/Rock/Moortown (Tyrone) v Devenish/Belcoo/Irvinestown/Belleek (Fermanagh)
All Saints/Tir na nÓg (Antrim) v Carrickcruppen/Culloville (Armagh)
Butlersbridge/Ballyhaise (Cavan) v An Riocht/Darragh Cross (Down)
Doohamlet/Donaghmoyne/Emyvale/Aughnamullen (Monaghan) v Cloughaneely/Dungloe/Greenlough/Drumsurn/Limavady/Steelstown (Donegal/Derry)
Title: Re: Ulster JFC/IFC 2021.
Post by: general_lee on October 27, 2021, 12:28:09 PM
Someone says on the Armagh fans forum that crossmaglen can represent Armagh in the junior if their senior team lose the senior final... I presume this is ballex?
Post by: DownFanatic on October 27, 2021, 12:37:02 PM
Was always under the impression that 'B' or 'Seconds' teams could not participate in provincial competition.
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on October 27, 2021, 01:45:33 PM
Quote from: general_lee on October 27, 2021, 12:28:09 PM
Someone says on the Armagh fans forum that crossmaglen can represent Armagh in the junior if their senior team lose the senior final... I presume this is ballex?

Bollix. Has to be first team.

Ulster mad. Donegal are putting their senior hurling champions in junior even though all other counties have either 2 or 3 reps(bar Cavan). County boards be up to no good for glory.

I imagine Derry intermediate football will be Steelstown(maybe Greenlough) and junior Desertmartin
Post by: imtommygunn on October 27, 2021, 02:00:17 PM
There's  tyrone team in the junior hurling Fear - presumably that's their intermediate champions? (Yes you're not from tyrone but you are as likely to know as anyone lol)
Post by: JoG2 on October 27, 2021, 02:08:37 PM
Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on October 27, 2021, 01:45:33 PM

Ulster mad. Donegal are putting their senior hurling champions in junior even though all other counties have either 2 or 3 reps(bar Cavan). County boards be up to no good for glory.

I imagine Derry intermediate football will be Steelstown(maybe Greenlough) and junior Desertmartin

Greenlough for me Fear, and I'd say they'll give Ulster a fair rattle, as Desertmartin might do in Junior
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on October 27, 2021, 02:20:57 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on October 27, 2021, 02:00:17 PM
There's  tyrone team in the junior hurling Fear - presumably that's their intermediate champions? (Yes you're not from tyrone but you are as likely to know as anyone lol)

Yeah but they have another team in intermediate as well. Senior champs in Tyrone go intermediate, beaten senior semi finalists go to county junior and then ulster junior. Donegal only give 1 team a chance in ulster and their senior champs(probably setanta are far too strong for junior)
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on October 27, 2021, 02:22:33 PM
Quote from: JoG2 on October 27, 2021, 02:08:37 PM

Greenlough for me Fear, and I'd say they'll give Ulster a fair rattle, as Desertmartin might do in Junior

Yep its hard to call but Steelstown have never won a county championship at intermediate and have an embarrassment of riches, im thinking that hunger might get them through
Post by: imtommygunn on October 27, 2021, 02:25:40 PM
Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on October 27, 2021, 02:20:57 PM

Yeah but they have another team in intermediate as well. Senior champs in Tyrone go intermediate, beaten senior semi finalists go to county junior and then ulster junior. Donegal only give 1 team a chance in ulster and their senior champs(probably setanta are far too strong for junior)

I was wondering. Best in Tyrone aren't far away off being division one in antrim though the state of the leagues with covid etc scuppered that.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on October 27, 2021, 02:45:23 PM

That was me said that. Just repeating what I've been told. Thought it odd myself but time will tell. Might be immaterial anyway was Belleeks are likely to win.
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on October 27, 2021, 03:14:11 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on October 27, 2021, 02:25:40 PM
Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on October 27, 2021, 02:20:57 PM

I was wondering. Best in Tyrone aren't far away off being division one in antrim though the state of the leagues with covid etc scuppered that.

Aye Dungannon Eoghan Ruadh would have to be favourites but Carrickmore always raise their game for this-id go Dungannon senior and Naomh Cholmcille junior
Post by: JoG2 on October 27, 2021, 03:21:37 PM
Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on October 27, 2021, 02:22:33 PM

Yep its hard to call but Steelstown have never won a county championship at intermediate and have an embarrassment of riches, im thinking that hunger might get them through

You could be right, they have serious footballers in all sectors on the pitch. If Steelstown do win it definitely won't be a big shock but they'll have earned it if they do.
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on October 27, 2021, 04:01:35 PM
Quote from: JoG2 on October 27, 2021, 03:21:37 PM
Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on October 27, 2021, 02:22:33 PM

You could be right, they have serious footballers in all sectors on the pitch. If Steelstown do win it definitely won't be a big shock but they'll have earned it if they do.

Agreed
Post by: Owenmoresider on October 27, 2021, 09:12:09 PM
Quote from: DownFanatic on October 27, 2021, 11:03:23 AM
Ulster IFC

Preliminary Round

Naomh Brid/Naomh Columba/Malin/Cloughaneely/Dungloe/Naomh Mhuire (Donegal) v Greenlough/Drumsurn/Limavady/Steelstown (Derry)
It's Dungloe or Cloughaneely out of Donegal.
Post by: Armagh18 on October 27, 2021, 10:02:25 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on October 27, 2021, 02:45:23 PM

That was me said that. Just repeating what I've been told. Thought it odd myself but time will tell. Might be immaterial anyway was Belleeks are likely to win.
What odds would you give me on Cross?? Would put the house on them.
Post by: general_lee on October 29, 2021, 10:08:45 AM
Quote from: Armagh18 on October 27, 2021, 10:02:25 PM

They'll win with their willies out ffs! Senior/junior double on the cards
Post by: Armagh18 on October 29, 2021, 10:26:31 AM
Quote from: general_lee on October 29, 2021, 10:08:45 AM

Have they ever done the double before? Think they got to both finals a good few years back. Remember Cullyhanna getting to finals with both teams one year and losing both.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on October 29, 2021, 11:55:40 AM
Quote from: Armagh18 on October 29, 2021, 10:26:31 AM

Have they ever done the double before? Think they got to both finals a good few years back. Remember Cullyhanna getting to finals with both teams one year and losing both.

Twice, 1926 and 2002.

I recall when Cullyhanna got to the 2 finals,  2016,  they had beaten us in the semis of the senior. Cullyhanna jerseys were in the town in the weeks building up to finals like never before. There would have been a few lads drank in one of the Cross pubs and the craic was wild. Anyway, they lost both finals and the slagging was off the scales as you can imagine. One of the local wits said 'now lads come on, Cullyhanna did something this week that Cross have never done ....they lost 2 county finals on the same day!'
Post by: Armagh18 on October 31, 2021, 03:36:52 PM
Belleek with a huge upset there in Armagh especially given the players they were missing
Post by: LeoMc on October 31, 2021, 10:12:10 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on October 31, 2021, 03:36:52 PM
Belleek with a huge upset there in Armagh especially given the players they were missing
Cross caught with their willies out?
Post by: general_lee on November 01, 2021, 10:29:46 AM
Quote from: LeoMc on October 31, 2021, 10:12:10 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on October 31, 2021, 03:36:52 PM
Cross caught with their willies out?
They must have believed their own hype! Carrickcruppen winners in the Armagh intermediate
Post by: DownFanatic on November 01, 2021, 10:37:35 AM
Ulster JFC

Preliminary Round

Sean McDermott's/Toome (Monaghan) v Cookstown/Eskra (Tyrone)

Quarter Finals

Denn (Cavan) v St Comgall's (Antrim)
Newtownbutler/Donagh (Fermanagh) v Desertmartin (Derry)
Aughlisnafin/Dundrum (Down) v Letterkenny Gaels/Downings (Donegal)
Belleeks (Armagh) v Sean McDermott's/Toome/Cookstown/Eskra (Monaghan/Tyrone)

Ulster IFC

Preliminary Round

Cloughaneely/Dungloe (Donegal) v Greenlough/Steelstown (Derry)

Quarter Finals

Gortin/Owen Roes/Moortown (Tyrone) v Devenish/Belleek (Fermanagh)
Tir na nÓg (Antrim) v Carrickcruppen (Armagh)
Butlersbridge (Cavan) v An Riocht/Darragh Cross (Down)
Donaghmoyne/Emyvale/Aughnamullen (Monaghan) v Cloughaneely/Dungloe/Greenlough/Steelstown (Donegal/Derry)
Post by: tintin25 on November 01, 2021, 02:50:09 PM
It's Newtownbutler v Donagh in the Fermanagh JFC Final.

Would fancy Cookstown/Eskra in the JFC.  IFC alot harder to predict.
Post by: DownFanatic on November 01, 2021, 04:26:42 PM
Tyrone and Monaghan sides generally have the best record at Ulster JFC level so the winner of that Preliminary Round tie could go a long way.
Post by: omagh_gael on November 02, 2021, 04:56:08 PM
Eskra should come through Tyrone...playing some very good football this year.
Post by: DownFanatic on November 08, 2021, 10:23:21 AM
Ulster JFC

Preliminary Round

Sean McDermott's (Monaghan) v Cookstown (Tyrone)

Quarter Finals

Donagh (Fermanagh) v Desertmartin (Derry)
Aughlisnafin (Down) v Letterkenny Gaels/Downings (Donegal)
Belleeks (Armagh) v Sean McDermott's/Cookstown (Monaghan/Tyrone)

Ulster IFC

Preliminary Round

Cloughaneely/Dungloe (Donegal) v Steelstown (Derry)

Quarter Finals

Owen Roes/Moortown (Tyrone) v Devenish/Belleek (Fermanagh)
Butlersbridge (Cavan) v An Riocht (Down)
Donaghmoyne/Aughnamullen (Monaghan) v Cloughaneely/Dungloe/Steelstown (Donegal/Derry)
Post by: Taylor on November 08, 2021, 12:12:35 PM
Have the dates for these Junior & Intermediate games been released yet?
Post by: Feckitt on November 08, 2021, 12:26:40 PM
How are Cookstown a junior team?  Did they not win the Intermediate All Ireland a few years ago?
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on November 08, 2021, 12:30:30 PM
Quote from: Taylor on November 08, 2021, 12:12:35 PM
Have the dates for these Junior & Intermediate games been released yet?

yeah, on Ulster Council website
Post by: smort on November 08, 2021, 12:34:10 PM
Quote from: Feckitt on November 08, 2021, 12:26:40 PM
How are Cookstown a junior team?  Did they not win the Intermediate All Ireland a few years ago?

Yeah 2013 all Ireland intermediate champions. Tyrone league and championship is linked, so if you are junior league then you play in the junior championship. Cookstown would be notorious in recent years for yoyoing up, but mainly down, the league divisions
Post by: BennyCake on November 08, 2021, 12:40:00 PM
Quote from: smort on November 08, 2021, 12:34:10 PM

Yeah 2013 all Ireland intermediate champions. Tyrone league and championship is linked, so if you are junior league then you play in the junior championship. Cookstown would be notorious in recent years for yoyoing up, but mainly down, the league divisions

Is Mulligan still playing?
Post by: Milltown Row2 on November 08, 2021, 01:13:03 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on November 08, 2021, 12:40:00 PM

Would always have thought Cookstown was a big enough catchment area.. Is football the lesser of the soccer in that town?
Post by: rrhf on November 08, 2021, 01:33:21 PM

It would be some story if Mulligan helped them win another all ireland title. The statue would be built.. 
Post by: yellowcard on November 08, 2021, 02:33:35 PM
Whats the draw for the Ulster senior club championship? 
Post by: bogball88 on November 08, 2021, 03:07:01 PM

No. He was last year
Post by: SHEEDY on November 08, 2021, 06:24:41 PM
Quote from: yellowcard on November 08, 2021, 02:33:35 PM
Preliminary round:
Donegal v Derry

Quarter finals;
Monaghan v Derry/Donegal
Cavan v Down
Antrim v Armagh
Tyrone v Fermanagh
Post by: yellowcard on November 08, 2021, 06:52:15 PM
Quote from: SHEEDY on November 08, 2021, 06:24:41 PM
Preliminary round:
Donegal v Derry

Quarter finals;
Monaghan v Derry/Donegal
Cavan v Down
Antrim v Armagh
Tyrone v Fermanagh

The draw looks very lop sided. I would have said Cross will not feature in Ulster this year but looking at the draw I could see them making a final as I don't think the Tyrone winners will be overly strong this year.

On the other side Glen will have to win it the hard way, that's a horrible draw for them and I could see a Cross v Kilcoo final.
Post by: Armagh18 on November 08, 2021, 07:21:05 PM
Are you thinking of the Moy?
Post by: Armagh18 on November 08, 2021, 07:23:45 PM
Quote from: yellowcard on November 08, 2021, 06:52:15 PM
Preliminary round:
Donegal v Derry

Quarter finals;
Monaghan v Derry/Donegal
Cavan v Down
Antrim v Armagh
Tyrone v Fermanagh

The draw looks very lop sided. I would have said Cross will not feature in Ulster this year but looking at the draw I could see them making a final as I don't think the Tyrone winners will be overly strong this year.

On the other side Glen will have to win it the hard way, that's a horrible draw for them and I could see a Cross v Kilcoo final.
Cross will get it tight against Clann Eireann but if they get through that they wont be easy stopped. Still far too open at the back but have 2 of the best footballers in the country in the 2 O'Neills and the cousin McConville  is a unbelievable player as well.
Post by: Hoof Hearted on November 08, 2021, 07:27:42 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on November 08, 2021, 07:21:05 PM

Cookstown won it twice, 2010 and 2013, John mckeever managed them one of those years, 2013 AFAIK
Post by: yellowcard on November 08, 2021, 08:59:52 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on November 08, 2021, 07:23:45 PM
Quote from: yellowcard on November 08, 2021, 06:52:15 PM
Preliminary round:
Donegal v Derry

Quarter finals;
Monaghan v Derry/Donegal
Cavan v Down
Antrim v Armagh
Tyrone v Fermanagh

Cross will get it tight against Clann Eireann but if they get through that they wont be easy stopped. Still far too open at the back but have 2 of the best footballers in the country in the 2 O'Neills and the cousin McConville  is a unbelievable player as well.

I think Clann Eireann will challenge for the next few years and could win one but I reckon this year might come too early for them. Cross are heavily reliant on a few players that you mentioned but they do seem to be getting stronger with each match this year and I think they'll be hard to stop on Sunday.
Post by: Taylor on November 09, 2021, 07:54:17 AM

Cookstown won the Junior AI in 2013
Post by: Milltown Row2 on November 09, 2021, 08:49:00 AM
Quote from: Taylor on November 09, 2021, 07:54:17 AM

I remember watching Cookstown before our game at the Athletic Grounds during the Ulster games (2009?), I think they were Intermediate at the time, they were blitzing this team, can't remember who, but I said to one of the guys with me, that they would trouble most senior teams, the speed pace and physicality of the players at that level was something else
Post by: laceer on November 09, 2021, 09:36:46 AM
Cookstown won two All Ireland Intermediate titles. They didn't play in junior in Tyrone until the last couple of years.
Post by: general_lee on November 09, 2021, 11:30:18 AM
Quote from: Taylor on November 09, 2021, 07:54:17 AM

Intermediate
Post by: DrinkingHarp on November 11, 2021, 06:47:18 AM
Is the Armagh Senior Championship being televised?
Post by: Armagh18 on November 11, 2021, 09:01:36 AM
Quote from: DrinkingHarp on November 11, 2021, 06:47:18 AM
Is the Armagh Senior Championship being televised?
Will be on Armagh TV as usual I'd imagine.
Post by: clarshack on November 11, 2021, 09:14:41 AM
Niall Kearns plays for Sean McDermotts and he played in the Ulster final against Tyrone, so they are probably a decent enough outfit for Junior. The overall winners in Ulster in all likelihood will come from the preliminary round between Cookstown and Sean McDermotts.
Post by: Maroon Manc on November 11, 2021, 10:49:14 AM
Have a keen interest in the Junior Championship, my club play the Ulster Champions. We won the All Britain last Sunday.

Any of the junior finals so far been streamed?

Post by: SHEEDY on November 12, 2021, 07:15:31 AM
Quote from: Maroon Manc on November 11, 2021, 10:49:14 AM
Have a keen interest in the Junior Championship, my club play the Ulster Champions. We won the All Britain last Sunday.

The Down final, won by Aughlisnafin, was streamed by DownTV last Friday night.
Post by: armaghniac on November 12, 2021, 11:44:06 AM

Armagh TV has the junior final.
Post by: mackers on November 14, 2021, 04:54:40 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on October 29, 2021, 11:55:40 AM
Quote from: Armagh18 on October 29, 2021, 10:26:31 AM

Twice, 1926 and 2002.

I recall when Cullyhanna got to the 2 finals,  2016,  they had beaten us in the semis of the senior. Cullyhanna jerseys were in the town in the weeks building up to finals like never before. There would have been a few lads drank in one of the Cross pubs and the craic was wild. Anyway, they lost both finals and the slagging was off the scales as you can imagine. One of the local wits said 'now lads come on, Cullyhanna did something this week that Cross have never done ....they lost 2 county finals on the same day!'
This aged well. What odds whether it was on the same day or not. The local wits will be quiet tonight. 😜
Post by: DownFanatic on November 15, 2021, 12:11:29 PM
Ulster JFC

Preliminary Round

Quarter Finals

Aughlisnafin (Down) v Downings (Donegal)

Ulster IFC

Preliminary Round

Cloughaneely (Donegal) v Steelstown (Derry)

Quarter Finals

Moortown (Tyrone) v Erne Gaels (Fermanagh)
Donaghmoyne (Monaghan) v Cloughaneely/Dungloe (Donegal/Derry)

Post by: HiMucker on November 20, 2021, 03:27:47 PM
Quote from: DownFanatic on November 15, 2021, 12:11:29 PM
Ulster JFC

Preliminary Round

Quarter Finals

Ulster IFC

Preliminary Round

Cloughaneely (Donegal) v Steelstown (Derry)

Quarter Finals

Steelstown (Derry) v Donaghmoyne (Monaghan)
Post by: general_lee on November 20, 2021, 05:18:11 PM
McDermott's beat Cookstown
Post by: DownFanatic on November 22, 2021, 08:49:21 AM
Ulster JFC

Preliminary Round

Sean McDermott's (Monaghan) 3-08 v Cookstown (Tyrone) 1-06

Quarter Finals

Belleeks (Armagh) v Sean McDermott's (Monaghan)

Ulster IFC

Preliminary Round

Cloughaneely (Donegal) 1-08 v Steelstown (Derry) 0-13

Quarter Finals

Donaghmoyne (Monaghan) v Steelstown (Derry)
Post by: maddog on November 22, 2021, 08:54:27 AM

Saw the game. You beat McDermotts from Birmingham. I thought their lead at HT (7 points was it?)would be enough but you lads pulled i around again in second half. Your number 11 and the lad in midfield with the long hair were the stand out players i thought. McDermotts do very well considering almost all their players are home grown.
Post by: DownFanatic on November 29, 2021, 11:25:53 AM
Ulster JFC

Preliminary Round

Quarter Finals

Denn (Cavan) 2-15 v St Comgall's (Antrim) 0-06
Donagh (Fermanagh) 0-07 v Desertmartin (Derry) 1-16
Aughlisnafin (Down) 0-07 v Downings (Donegal) 0-11
Belleek (Armagh) 1-11 v Sean McDermott's (Monaghan) 0-16

Semi Finals

Downings v Sean McDermott's
Denn v Desertmartin

Ulster IFC

Preliminary Round

Quarter Finals

Donaghmoyne (Monaghan) v Steelstown (Derry)
Post by: HiMucker on December 05, 2021, 03:36:42 PM
Quote from: DownFanatic on November 29, 2021, 11:25:53 AM
Ulster JFC

Preliminary Round

Quarter Finals

Semi Finals

Denn v Desertmartin

Ulster IFC

Preliminary Round

Quarter Finals

Donaghmoyne 2-07(Monaghan) v Steelstown 4-13 (Derry)
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on December 05, 2021, 04:38:14 PM
Quote from: HiMucker on December 05, 2021, 03:36:42 PM
Quote from: DownFanatic on November 29, 2021, 11:25:53 AM
Ulster JFC

Preliminary Round

Quarter Finals

Semi Finals

Denn v Desertmartin

Ulster IFC

Preliminary Round

Quarter Finals

Donaghmoyne 2-07(Monaghan) v Steelstown 4-13 (Derry)

You not score the other games out there mucker lol. Great win , going well
Post by: HiMucker on December 05, 2021, 05:22:50 PM
Lol. That 2nd half was as good as I've seen us play in a long time. Hopefully we can keep the run going a put in another performance against Buttlersbridge.
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on December 05, 2021, 06:14:17 PM
Quote from: HiMucker on December 05, 2021, 05:22:50 PM
Lol. That 2nd half was as good as I've seen us play in a long time. Hopefully we can keep the run going a put in another performance against Buttlersbridge.

Didn't get but really seem to be growing in confidence, great talent in the team
Post by: Hoof Hearted on December 05, 2021, 06:16:42 PM
Battle of the bridge and the towns left now
Post by: Silver hill on December 05, 2021, 11:59:54 PM
Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on December 05, 2021, 06:14:17 PM

Didn't get but really seem to be growing in confidence, great talent in the team

Derry City's finest Gael wasn't able to make the 3 mile round trip over to the West Bank for a feast of football. Were Utd on tv today?
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on December 06, 2021, 12:12:12 AM
Quote from: Silver hill on December 05, 2021, 11:59:54 PM

Derry City's finest Gael wasn't able to make the 3 mile round trip over to the West Bank for a feast of football. Were Utd on tv today?

Hardly d€€k head.. I was away watching Lisbellaw v Newry shamrocks. I live in the west bank btw. Done Slaughtneil v Loughgiel Camogs yesterday too. Where were you?
Post by: theticklemister on December 06, 2021, 12:53:19 AM
Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on December 06, 2021, 12:12:12 AM

Hardly d€€k head.. I was away watching Lisbellaw v Newry shamrocks. I live in the west bank btw. Done Slaughtneil v Loughgiel Camogs yesterday too. Where were you?

Ooouuuccccccchhhhhhh!!

Man Down!
Post by: Silver hill on December 06, 2021, 10:32:34 AM

8) 8) 8) Hook line and sinker.

Tell the truth Fear, you were flat out in Mary Bs all day watching the Hoops in the ground ball?
Post by: theticklemister on December 06, 2021, 10:47:11 AM
Quote from: Silver hill on December 06, 2021, 10:32:34 AM

Tell the truth Fear, you were flat out in Mary Bs all day watching the Hoops in the ground ball?

The Celtic match started at 12 ; so he would have seen Steelstown's remarkable second half performance. But as Fear said,' he was watching the hurling. '
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on December 06, 2021, 11:02:49 AM
Quote from: Silver hill on December 06, 2021, 10:32:34 AM

Too far off the reservation for me, thats an "up the town" bar.

Well done to all the lads who have played with Na Magha there yesterday. Ben, Morgan, Cahir, Donncha, foxy. Good lads they are too, was at the Cloch Cheann Fhaola game, they are going to win this, get your culchie pennies on them
Post by: Silver hill on December 06, 2021, 12:33:56 PM
Steelstown were very impressive yesterday. Their use and retention of the ball was excellent. Too much pace and power all over the pitch
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on December 06, 2021, 12:41:49 PM
cut above the rest at this grade, too many gaps for other teams to plug
Post by: oakleaflad on December 06, 2021, 01:05:31 PM
Quote from: Silver hill on December 06, 2021, 12:33:56 PM
Steelstown were very impressive yesterday. Their use and retention of the ball was excellent. Too much pace and power all over the pitch
Steelstown were very good but the opposition were extremely poor tactically. I hope they don't let yesterday's game get to their head. The likes of Moortown would be a much bigger test.
Post by: DownFanatic on December 06, 2021, 01:13:58 PM
Ulster JFC

Preliminary Round

Quarter Finals

Belleeks (Armagh) 1-11 v Sean McDermott's (Monaghan) 0-16

Semi Finals

Denn v Desertmartin

Ulster IFC

Preliminary Round

Quarter Finals

Moortown (Tyrone) 3-12 v Erne Gaels (Fermanagh) 2-05
Tir na nÓg (Antrim) 2-14 v Carrickcruppen (Armagh) 1-11
Butlersbridge (Cavan) 2-14 v An Riocht (Down) 2-11
Donaghmoyne (Monaghan) 2-07 v Steelstown (Derry) 4-13

Semi Finals

Moortown v Tir na nÓg
Butlersbridge v Steelstown
Post by: Milltown Row2 on December 06, 2021, 01:27:28 PM
Quote from: oakleaflad on December 06, 2021, 01:05:31 PM
Steelstown were very good but the opposition were extremely poor tactically. I hope they don't let yesterday's game get to their head. The likes of Moortown would be a much bigger test.

or Tir na Og?
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on December 06, 2021, 01:44:18 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on December 06, 2021, 01:27:28 PM

or Tir na Og?

Canny see it
Post by: Milltown Row2 on December 06, 2021, 01:48:19 PM
Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on December 06, 2021, 01:44:18 PM

or Tir na Og?

Canny see it

Did you see them winning the first game?
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on December 06, 2021, 01:56:36 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on December 06, 2021, 01:48:19 PM

or Tir na Og?

Canny see it

True. But I just went by county in my head-Antrim football would be a poor relation, good club, nice people , great facilities, Duffins great Gaels-hope they win
Post by: themac_23 on December 06, 2021, 02:14:23 PM

or Tir na Og?

Canny see it

Tir na Nog are are seriously good side, seen a good bit of them this year. I think they've a great chance in the semi. Think they'll do well in Div 1 next year too
Post by: Flanker on December 06, 2021, 02:20:21 PM
Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on December 06, 2021, 01:56:36 PM

or Tir na Og?

Canny see it

True. But I just went by county in my head-Antrim football would be a poor relation, good club, nice people , great facilities, Duffins great Gaels-hope they win
The poor relations won it in 2018
Post by: oakleaflad on December 06, 2021, 02:25:15 PM

or Tir na Og?
Yeah, probably. I only mentioned Moortown as they're the only one of the other remaining sides I've seen play.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on December 06, 2021, 02:25:46 PM

or Tir na Og?

Canny see it

Bitta snobbery  ;)
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on December 06, 2021, 02:44:39 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on December 06, 2021, 02:25:46 PM

or Tir na Og?

Canny see it

Bitta snobbery  ;)

Aye lol, hands up on that
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on December 06, 2021, 02:47:10 PM
Quote from: Flanker on December 06, 2021, 02:20:21 PM

or Tir na Og?

Canny see it

sure did. 1 from 22 not great return though -St Enads another top notch club
Post by: Milltown Row2 on December 06, 2021, 02:56:25 PM
Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on December 06, 2021, 02:47:10 PM

or Tir na Og?

Canny see it

Same as Cavan  ;)

edit: and one more that Armagh  :D
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on December 06, 2021, 03:06:42 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on December 06, 2021, 02:56:25 PM

or Tir na Og?

Canny see it

Same as Cavan  ;)

Which is why I think it will be a Derry v Tyrone final
Post by: Milltown Row2 on December 06, 2021, 03:10:59 PM
Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on December 06, 2021, 03:06:42 PM

or Tir na Og?

Canny see it

Same as Cavan  ;)

Was having a nosey on that list of teams that have won this title and runners up, only one team featured twice as runner ups and won (Grattans)  I think , the rest all different winners. Great competition and should have been done way before 22 years ago
Post by: oakleaflad on December 06, 2021, 03:23:12 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on December 06, 2021, 03:10:59 PM

or Tir na Og?

Canny see it

Same as Cavan  ;)

Was having a nosey on that list of teams that have won this title and runners up, only one team featured twice as runner ups and won (Grattans)  I think , the rest all different winners. Great competition and should have been done way before 22 years ago
Craigbane, Cookstown and Pomeroy have all won it twice.
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on December 06, 2021, 03:32:46 PM
Ulster in both codes and all grades is fantastic
Post by: imtommygunn on December 06, 2021, 03:36:42 PM
The hurling has really opened up this last few years too with it being graded better. Tbh the camogie very good too. I think the ladies football Donaghmoyne too dominant to make it really interesting but junior and intermediate aren't bad.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on December 06, 2021, 03:58:04 PM
Quote from: oakleaflad on December 06, 2021, 03:23:12 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on December 06, 2021, 03:10:59 PM

or Tir na Og?

Canny see it

Same as Cavan  ;)

Craigbane, Cookstown and Pomeroy have all won it twice.

Its Monday lol.. was just a quick glance  ;)
Post by: rodney trotter on December 11, 2021, 02:29:33 PM
Good win for Denn in the junior semi final over Desertmartin.
Post by: Walter Cronc on December 11, 2021, 02:44:59 PM
Any county men on that team RT?
Post by: rodney trotter on December 11, 2021, 03:50:50 PM
A couple would have played under age.
Thomas Edward Donahoe was one of the star players when Pats Cavan won the McCrory Cup in 15.
Mossy Corr played 8 or 9 years with Cavan Seniors.
Post by: Walter Cronc on December 11, 2021, 05:10:44 PM
I remember that Donohue lad for St Pats Cavan. Was serious player at McRory level
Post by: Itchy on December 11, 2021, 05:37:09 PM
Quote from: rodney trotter on December 11, 2021, 03:50:50 PM
A couple would have played under age.
Thomas Edward Donahoe was one of the star players when Pats Cavan won the McCrory Cup in 15.
Mossy Corr played 8 or 9 years with Cavan Seniors.

TED was on Cavan Ulster winning panel, came on in semi final win against Down.
Post by: rodney trotter on December 11, 2021, 05:51:20 PM
Yeah he played part in that campaign.  Didn't feature this year, Heard he won't be paying with Cavan next year either
Post by: DownFanatic on December 13, 2021, 09:42:48 AM
Ulster JFC

Preliminary Round

Quarter Finals

Belleeks (Armagh) 1-11 v Sean McDermott's (Monaghan) 0-16

Semi Finals

Downings 1-09 v Sean McDermott's 0-08
Denn 2-07 v Desertmartin 1-09

Final

Downings v Denn

Ulster IFC

Preliminary Round

Quarter Finals

Moortown (Tyrone) 3-12 v Erne Gaels (Fermanagh) 2-05
Tir na nÓg (Antrim) 2-14 v Carrickcruppen (Armagh) 1-11
Butlersbridge (Cavan) 2-14 v An Riocht (Down) 2-11
Donaghmoyne (Monaghan) 2-07 v Steelstown (Derry) 4-13

Semi Finals

Moortown v Tir na nÓg
Butlersbridge v Steelstown
Post by: theticklemister on December 15, 2021, 12:53:23 PM
Does anyone know if the Ulster GAA are showing any game on their website?
Post by: clarshack on December 15, 2021, 01:01:03 PM
Moortown will never have a better chance of winning an Ulster Club.
Post by: Hoof Hearted on December 15, 2021, 01:16:45 PM
Quote from: clarshack on December 15, 2021, 01:01:03 PM

A home semi final almost
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on December 15, 2021, 02:24:48 PM

Steelstown have to be favourites
Post by: general_lee on December 15, 2021, 09:48:54 PM
Steelstown will wipe the floor with them
Post by: oakleaflad on December 16, 2021, 09:24:36 AM
Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on December 15, 2021, 02:24:48 PM

I hope they win but what are you basing this on?
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on December 16, 2021, 09:56:38 AM
Quote from: oakleaflad on December 16, 2021, 09:24:36 AM

I just think they have demolished pre-tournament favourites, they have a lot of firepower all over the pitch, its theirs to lose. They have to beat Buttlersbridge obviously but Moortown for example on other side of the draw are at the foot of Div 2 in Tyrone and Randalstown are from Antrim lol(joking)
Post by: toby47 on December 16, 2021, 10:01:31 AM

I've seen both of them numerous times this season, and i'm also of the opinion that Steelstown would wipe the floor with Moortown
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on December 16, 2021, 10:20:29 AM
I think Buttlersbridge are a better outfit than Moortown
Post by: smort on December 16, 2021, 10:20:45 AM
Two semi finals to be played first guys, think Tir na nÓg and Butlersbridge will have something to say
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on December 16, 2021, 10:23:34 AM
Undoubted. But if I was a betting man just, championship and especially Ulster notorious for upsets
Post by: HiMucker on December 16, 2021, 11:09:42 AM
Jesus lads cool the jets  ;D. Honestly think our game on Saturday will be very tight.

Also Randalstown surely great value at 3/1? Anyone who has seen both them and Moortown offer any insight for the punter?
Post by: imtommygunn on December 16, 2021, 11:18:58 AM
Randalstown are highly regarded in antrim and antrim clubs actually do not too bad at ulster intermediate level so hopefully they can do something here. (Never at senior or junior but sometimes intermediate lol). (Antrim have had st endas win it and a few finalists).
Post by: Milltown Row2 on December 16, 2021, 11:30:02 AM
Quote from: imtommygunn on December 16, 2021, 11:18:58 AM
Randalstown are highly regarded in antrim and antrim clubs actually do not too bad at ulster intermediate level so hopefully they can do something here. (Never at senior or junior but sometimes intermediate lol). (Antrim have had st endas win it and a few finalists).

Never at senior?  ;)
Post by: Hoof Hearted on December 16, 2021, 11:32:59 AM
Randalstown coming on under the radar
Unbeaten all year in league and championship
Well organised
I wouldn't rule them out just yet
Post by: oakleaflad on December 16, 2021, 11:33:20 AM
Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on December 16, 2021, 09:56:38 AM

I just think they have demolished pre-tournament favourites, they have a lot of firepower all over the pitch, its theirs to lose. They have to beat Buttlersbridge obviously but Moortown for example on other side of the draw are at the foot of Div 2 in Tyrone and Randalstown are from Antrim lol(joking)
If it was the Monaghan team they shouldn't have been pre-tournament favorites, with respect. Lumped kickouts down the middle despite continuously losing them and kicked ball in against extra defenders. Was like watching a team from 20 years ago playing a team with a modern setup. I just hope it hasn't went to their heads. Again don't get me wrong I hope they win and you're right, I think if their forwards all click they'll cause serious bother. 
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on December 16, 2021, 11:49:15 AM
Quote from: HiMucker on December 16, 2021, 11:09:42 AM
Jesus lads cool the jets  ;D. Honestly think our game on Saturday will be very tight.

Also Randalstown surely great value at 3/1? Anyone who has seen both them and Moortown offer any insight for the punter?

Seen and played TnaNóg at hurling but not football, be dogged , wont lie down
Post by: HiMucker on December 16, 2021, 12:08:12 PM
Quote from: oakleaflad on December 16, 2021, 11:33:20 AM
Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on December 16, 2021, 09:56:38 AM

If it was the Monaghan team they shouldn't have been pre-tournament favorites, with respect. Lumped kickouts down the middle despite continuously losing them and kicked ball in against extra defenders. Was like watching a team from 20 years ago playing a team with a modern setup. I just hope it hasn't went to their heads. Again don't get me wrong I hope they win and you're right, I think if their forwards all click they'll cause serious bother.
That definitely wont be an issue. In fairness you rarely see teams be complacent in provincial club games, due to how hard it is to get there in the first place.
Post by: rodney trotter on December 16, 2021, 12:35:30 PM
Butlersbridge have good forwards but defence can be very open. An Riocht opened up the defence 4 or 5 times, got 2 goalst in Second half but,but should have scored a few in first half also.
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on December 16, 2021, 12:48:17 PM
Quote from: rodney trotter on December 16, 2021, 12:35:30 PM
Butlersbridge have good forwards but defence can be very open. An Riocht opened up the defence 4 or 5 times, got 2 goals but in Second half but should have scored a few in first half also.

They are goosed then
Post by: Gaafan2 on December 16, 2021, 12:53:31 PM
Quote from: toby47 on December 16, 2021, 10:01:31 AM

I've seen both of them numerous times this season, and i'm also of the opinion that Steelstown would wipe the floor with Moortown

Division 2 in Tyrone was considerable weaker this year due to no relegation from 1 last year but promotion from 2. Moortown wouldnt have stood a chance of winning the tyrone intermediate championship had any one of the 4 teams relegated this year been involved.
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on December 16, 2021, 01:06:06 PM
Quote from: gaafan2 on December 16, 2021, 12:53:31 PM
Quote from: toby47 on December 16, 2021, 10:01:31 AM

Division 2 in Tyrone was considerable weaker this year due to no relegation from 1 last year but promotion from 2. Moortown wouldnt have stood a chance of winning the tyrone intermediate championship had any one of the 4 teams relegated this year been involved.

Yeah thats my reading on it. Steelstown on other hand should have been senior number of times by now
Post by: barnish oggie on December 16, 2021, 03:54:46 PM
Quote from: HiMucker on December 16, 2021, 11:09:42 AM

were better value at 9/2 but it came in to 3/1 pretty quickly.

hope they can cause an upset here and have the ability and confidence currently to do it i think, unless things get off to a bad start.
Post by: Hoof Hearted on December 16, 2021, 08:18:09 PM
Why would it be an upset?
I've said in the SFC thread re the Derrygonnelly Dromore game that it wasn't Fermanagh v tyrone playing. Derrygonnelly were getting written off soon as the draw was made
Likewise here this isn't antrim v tyrone
What have Moortown done in recent years to suggest they are overwhelming favourites
I realise most people on here didn't even know Randalstown even had a football team
Post by: Milltown Row2 on December 17, 2021, 12:03:18 AM
Quote from: Hoof Hearted on December 16, 2021, 08:18:09 PM
I've said in the SFC thread re the Derrygonnelly Dromore game that it wasn't Fermanagh v tyrone playing. Derrygonnelly were getting written off soon as the draw was made
What have Moortown done in recent years to suggest they are overwhelming favourites
I realise most people on here didn't even know Randalstown even had a football team

The question is this, are Tir na og as good as St Endas when they won the intermediate? I think they are close to it, so will have a very good chance. Though Tyrone teams are decent at this level
Post by: barnish oggie on December 17, 2021, 02:56:34 PM
Quote from: Hoof Hearted on December 16, 2021, 08:18:09 PM

upset in terms of the bookies, nothing else.

i'm certainly not going there tomorrow thinking they are any better than us.

and that comment is a hard one to take!!  ;D
Post by: Hoof Hearted on December 18, 2021, 02:37:58 PM
Moortown won by a point
Steelstown by a cricket score
Post by: general_lee on December 18, 2021, 02:48:47 PM
Final should be in Celtic Park
Post by: Hoof Hearted on December 18, 2021, 02:57:20 PM
Quote from: general_lee on December 18, 2021, 02:48:47 PM
Final should be in Celtic Park

Would be like a home game for Steelstown
Bit like today's was for Moortown
Post by: theticklemister on December 18, 2021, 03:42:42 PM
Looks like a double header with intermediate hurling final. Two Derry teams and a Fermanagh and Tyrone team involved, so final likely Omagh, but probably put to Armagh.
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on December 18, 2021, 04:38:44 PM
Town to win it
Depends which Town turns up
Town go to Town

Jees im bored
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on December 18, 2021, 05:14:13 PM
Steelstown will win by 15
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on December 18, 2021, 05:28:50 PM
Thats Murtins teamtalk sorted for them.

Gaaboard be plastered oer their dressin room walls
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on December 18, 2021, 06:20:17 PM
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on December 18, 2021, 05:28:50 PM
Thats Murtins teamtalk sorted for them.

Gaaboard be plastered oer their dressin room walls

That stuff only gets you so far
Post by: JoG2 on December 18, 2021, 08:04:37 PM
Quote from: theticklemister on December 18, 2021, 03:42:42 PM
Looks like a double header with intermediate hurling final. Two Derry teams and a Fermanagh and Tyrone team involved, so final likely Omagh, but probably put to Armagh.

Superb result for Steelstown. That final clashes with the forecasted Omicron peak!
Post by: clarshack on December 18, 2021, 08:42:02 PM
Have Steelstown ever played Senior? Any county players?
Post by: JoG2 on December 18, 2021, 08:48:04 PM
Quote from: clarshack on December 18, 2021, 08:42:02 PM

Did for a few years a while back. Neil Forrester, Eoghan Concannon and currently Ben McCarron all county senior footballers. Marty the keeper was involved with the county seniors under Damian Cassidy. Good smattering of county minors too. Though the Steelstown men on here can fill this post out
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on December 19, 2021, 01:19:23 AM
Quote from: clarshack on December 18, 2021, 08:42:02 PM

Wise up .city men can't play the. GAA sur
Post by: theticklemister on December 19, 2021, 08:45:07 AM
Whose this city team your on about? No GAA clubs in the thon city.
Post by: mrdeeds on December 19, 2021, 03:25:21 PM
Well done to Denn the Ulster Junior champions. A community that has a lot of tragedy recently including the captain.
Post by: scout on December 21, 2021, 09:02:04 AM
Battle of the two 'Towns' in the IFC though. Tyrone sides usually strong at this level, but steelstown making statements with their victories.
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on December 21, 2021, 11:02:56 AM
Quote from: scout on December 21, 2021, 09:02:04 AM
Battle of the two 'Towns' in the IFC though. Tyrone sides usually strong at this level, but steelstown making statements with their victories.

Nobody relegated this year in Tyrone
Post by: scout on December 21, 2021, 01:36:19 PM
Whilst steelstown play in a 1B league but choose to enter intermediate championship?
Post by: general_lee on December 21, 2021, 01:38:14 PM
Quote from: scout on December 21, 2021, 01:36:19 PM
Whilst steelstown play in a 1B league but choose to enter intermediate championship?
I think 1B is equivalent to second tier football in Derry. They've 1A, 1B and 2
Post by: theticklemister on December 21, 2021, 02:15:26 PM
Final down for Maghera at 1pm on Sunday 9th
Post by: scout on December 21, 2021, 02:22:22 PM
But there are teams in 1B who are in senior championship?
Kilrea being an example?
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on December 21, 2021, 04:38:54 PM
Quote from: Fionntamhnach on December 21, 2021, 02:35:09 PM
Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on December 21, 2021, 11:02:56 AM

There was, four teams each relegated from Divisions 1 & 2.

Sorry didn't realise that , who came down from senior championship
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on December 21, 2021, 04:40:17 PM
Quote from: scout on December 21, 2021, 02:22:22 PM
But there are teams in 1B who are in senior championship?
Kilrea being an example?

League and championship not strictly linked
Post by: Norf Tyrone on December 21, 2021, 04:43:49 PM
Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on December 21, 2021, 04:38:54 PM
Quote from: Fionntamhnach on December 21, 2021, 02:35:09 PM
Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on December 21, 2021, 11:02:56 AM

There was, four teams each relegated from Divisions 1 & 2.

Sorry didn't realise that , who came down from senior championship

4 teams came down this year.  However none came down in 2020 to compete in the 2021 Intermediate Championship.

The 4 this year was to compensate for none in 2020.
Post by: Hoof Hearted on January 09, 2022, 02:55:27 PM
Congrats to Steelstown Brian Ogs
Ulster champs now to go with their first time derry title
A club on the up
Post by: Wildweasel74 on January 09, 2022, 02:57:13 PM
Let me know when Moortown come to play fball, that was f**king brutal. Jim McGuinness fball times 3.
Post by: Hoof Hearted on January 09, 2022, 03:02:13 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on January 09, 2022, 02:57:13 PM
Let me know when Moortown come to play fball, that was f**king brutal. Jim McGuinness fball times 3.

15 behind the ball I assume
Post by: Wildweasel74 on January 09, 2022, 03:42:47 PM
They would put their 30 odd subs behind the ball to if they could. Only thing it works to a extend, they were ahead to the last water break. Got some decent fballers but need a hard look at themselves playing that form of fball.
Post by: redzone on January 09, 2022, 04:10:22 PM
Hassan from Lavey is over Moortown.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on January 09, 2022, 07:43:33 PM
Shouldn't be allowed bck in the county, that was pure crap.
Post by: the goal was on on January 09, 2022, 09:17:26 PM
Biggest question is did the moortown manager  have ulster champs on his coat or did he not choose to keep it covered up this time  ;D
Post by: square_ball on January 09, 2022, 10:00:17 PM
Not to be pedantic but it wasn't the manager that done that in the Tyrone final.
Post by: Sportacus on January 10, 2022, 08:50:18 AM
I saw someone on Twitter mock up a pic of the Moortown coach with a Brian Ogs emblem on his jacket.  Ones coming on and criticising the poster - I thought it was funny, if you stick your chin out like that, you're going to get a slap when it goes wrong.
Post by: skeog on January 10, 2022, 09:45:03 AM
He even managed an interview after the game whinging about a few decisions.He said its only beginning for Moortown doubt he will even be in charge going on that performance yesterday.
Post by: Man Marker on January 10, 2022, 10:02:14 AM
Quote from: Sportacus on January 10, 2022, 08:50:18 AM
I saw someone on Twitter mock up a pic of the Moortown coach with a Brian Ogs emblem on his jacket.  Ones coming on and criticising the poster - I thought it was funny, if you stick your chin out like that, you're going to get a slap when it goes wrong.

you don't have a sense of humour if you didn't have a small giggle at it  ;D
Post by: clarshack on January 10, 2022, 10:16:44 AM
Quote from: Sportacus on January 10, 2022, 08:50:18 AM

is there a twitter link? tried searching there but nothing. Need a bit of a laugh this morning. ;D

Post by: DownFanatic on January 10, 2022, 10:41:27 AM
Steelstown now likely to play Kerry's Na Gaeil in the Al Ireland Semi Final presuming they get over Clare's Corofin.
Post by: general_lee on January 10, 2022, 10:59:15 AM
And where did Na Gaeil finish in Kerry Division 1 last year?
Post by: DownFanatic on January 10, 2022, 12:05:26 PM
Think they were Division 2A. But yes it is well documented regarding the inconsistencies with other counties in terms of how Kerry grade their championships.
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on January 10, 2022, 12:11:40 PM
Quote from: DownFanatic on January 10, 2022, 12:05:26 PM
Think they were Division 2A. But yes it is well documented regarding the inconsistencies with other counties in terms of how Kerry grade their championships.

Steelstown are senior Derry , just couldn't get over the line. Anyhow na Gaeil have to play Clare team
Post by: oakleaflad on January 10, 2022, 12:15:19 PM
Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on January 10, 2022, 12:11:40 PM
Quote from: DownFanatic on January 10, 2022, 12:05:26 PM

Steelstown are senior Derry , just couldn't get over the line. Anyhow na Gaeil have to play Clare team
Will be next year. Let's not confuse things more.
Post by: tiempo on January 10, 2022, 12:31:59 PM
Certainly no confusion regarding the Kerry system. Gerrymandered to deliver an unfair weighting into the AI club series. Their use of the "novice" grade is part of the sham. They should be made to recalibrate so that Sen/Int county champs play off with the winner entering the Munster Senior Club, Kerry Junior Champs enter Munster Intermediate and Kerry Novice Champs enter Munster Junior
Post by: Maroon Manc on January 10, 2022, 12:42:33 PM
How many clubs in the senior championship in Derry? From memory there's only 8 senior clubs in Kerry so Na Gaeil will be the 9th strongest club side in Kerry.
Post by: oakleaflad on January 10, 2022, 12:50:16 PM
Quote from: Maroon Manc on January 10, 2022, 12:42:33 PM
How many clubs in the senior championship in Derry? From memory there's only 8 senior clubs in Kerry so Na Gaeil will be the 9th strongest club side in Kerry.
Post by: clubman21 on January 10, 2022, 12:51:53 PM
Quote from: tiempo on January 10, 2022, 12:31:59 PM
Certainly no confusion regarding the Kerry system. Gerrymandered to deliver an unfair weighting into the AI club series. Their use of the "novice" grade is part of the sham. They should be made to recalibrate so that Sen/Int county champs play off with the winner entering the Munster Senior Club, Kerry Junior Champs enter Munster Intermediate and Kerry Novice Champs enter Munster Junior
Year upon year kerry "senior"clubs win junior and intermediate all ireland success.
Post by: theticklemister on January 10, 2022, 12:55:04 PM
"People said there was no GAA in the city"

Fecking class Neil lad.
Post by: armaghniac on January 10, 2022, 12:55:27 PM

Kerry have a different system and it may well unbalance the All Ireland competitions and require adjustment. But I don't think the system is "gerrymandered" to affect the AI series, the main reason the structure is the way it is has to do with what Kerry want among themselves.
Post by: tiempo on January 10, 2022, 12:58:13 PM
Quote from: clubman21 on January 10, 2022, 12:51:53 PM
Year upon year kerry "senior"clubs win junior and intermediate all ireland success.

It is absolutely delightful to see them beat on the odd occasion, how they can even celebrate is beyond me, knowingly handing out trimmings to teams of a much lesser standing
Post by: Maroon Manc on January 10, 2022, 01:01:31 PM
Quote from: oakleaflad on January 10, 2022, 12:50:16 PM

So Derrys 17th strongest club against Kerrys 9th.

No surprise why Kerry clubs dominate this competition and subsequently dominate the junior comp too, they've won 10 out of the last 15 junior club finals.
Post by: general_lee on January 10, 2022, 01:04:26 PM
Fair play to them they sent a Division 2 team to represent them this year. In all seriousness though, having a 4th "novice" grade while only allowing 8 senior clubs is pretty mind-boggling. If the same applied in Armagh, our SFC winners would have been competing at intermediate.
Post by: yellowcard on January 10, 2022, 01:16:29 PM
Quote from: Maroon Manc on January 10, 2022, 01:01:31 PM
Quote from: oakleaflad on January 10, 2022, 12:50:16 PM

So Derrys 17th strongest club against Kerrys 9th.

No surprise why Kerry clubs dominate this competition and subsequently dominate the junior comp too, they've won 10 out of the last 15 junior club finals.

That's a remarkable statistic and its a major fault in the system if one single county can produce so many AI champions.
Post by: Ed Ricketts on January 10, 2022, 01:17:03 PM
Kerry and any other county can and should be able to do what they want with their club championships.

There is absolute integrity in All Ireland Senior club championship. The winner of that competition is the best club team in the land. No ambiguity.

But there is way too much grading inconsistency across the entire country, not only Kerry, for the Intermediate & Junior club championships to have much real meaning beyond a few extra days out for the parish.

And you'll never consolidate these grading inconsistencies because 32 different counties have 32 different sets of factors determining the optimum structure of their internal club championships.

Don't lose sight of the fact that these competitions are novelties. A nice extended victory lap for the clubs that come out on top in their home county. But they shouldn't be taken too seriously, and it's nuts to think any county is shaping their internal competitions just to find an edge here.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on January 10, 2022, 01:25:47 PM
The Kerry lads had about 7/8 on the Divisional team beat in the senior county semi there recently.
Post by: clubman21 on January 10, 2022, 01:32:54 PM
Quote from: Ed Ricketts on January 10, 2022, 01:17:03 PM
Kerry and any other county can and should be able to do what they want with their club championships.

There is absolute integrity in All Ireland Senior club championship. The winner of that competition is the best club team in the land. No ambiguity.

But there is way too much grading inconsistency across the entire country, not only Kerry, for the Intermediate & Junior club championships to have much real meaning beyond a few extra days out for the parish.

And you'll never consolidate these grading inconsistencies because 32 different counties have 32 different sets of factors determining the optimum structure of their internal club championships.

Don't lose sight of the fact that these competitions are novelties. A nice extended victory lap for the clubs that come out on top in their home county. But they shouldn't be taken too seriously, and it's nuts to think any county is shaping their internal competitions just to find an edge here.
Try telling those who come up against the kerry teams that its a day out for the parish/novelty. Shouldnt be taken seriously? Heard it all
Post by: Wildweasel74 on January 10, 2022, 01:35:46 PM
There 64 club teams I think in Kerry, and only 8 divisional teams, how come Cork and, Dublin teams don't win this every Yr at intermediate/Junior. Given the no of clubs they have. We can only presume they are putting in the correct level of teams for these competitions. They don't win too often at senior level against teams of equal footings. If
Post by: JoG2 on January 10, 2022, 01:37:44 PM

All Ireland club, a novelty and shouldn't be taken too seriously. OK Ed
Post by: oakleaflad on January 10, 2022, 01:44:15 PM
It's nothing new. The last time a Derry club won Ulster Intermediate was 10 years ago. Beaten by a Kerry club in All Ireland semi final by a team who'd played in their Division 1 final by a point. They won the All Ireland final by something like 15 points.
I think something similar happened when St.Enda's of Antrim won Ulster Intermediate more recently too. 
Post by: tiempo on January 10, 2022, 02:04:37 PM
Ed a fan of the biggest dwarf analogy. Plenty of lads in the Kerry senior panel with these medals and AI Intercounty Junior medals too, they'll annex any outlier competition if it gives their lads another day or 2 shooting practice in Croke. Shameless.
Post by: DownFanatic on January 10, 2022, 02:11:13 PM
Kerry winners in bold.

All Ireland IFC

2020   Oughterard   Galway   2-16   Magheracloone Mitchells   Monaghan   0-12
2019   Kilcummin   Kerry   5-13   Naomh Éanna   Antrim   2-09
2018   Moy Tir na nÓg   Tyrone   1-10   Micheal Glaveys   Roscommon   0-07
2017   Westport   Mayo   2-12   St. Colmcille's   Meath   3-08
2016   St. Mary's Cahirciveen   Kerry   2-10   Hollymount-Carramore   Mayo   0-10
2015   Ardfert   Kerry   1-14   St. Croan's   Roscommon   0-09
2014   Gaeil Triucha   Monaghan   2-21   Kiltane   Mayo   2-13
2013   Cookstown Fr. Rock's   Tyrone   1-09   Finuge   Kerry   0-06
2012   Milltown-Castlemaine   Kerry   1-13   Davitts   Mayo   1-06
2011   Lisnaskea Emmetts   Fermanagh   1-16   St. James   Galway   0-15
2010   Cookstown Fr. Rock's   Tyrone   1-07   Spa   Kerry   0-08
2009   St Michael's/Foilmore   Kerry   1-13   St Michael's   Galway   1-09
2008   Moycullen   Galway   2-09   Fingal Ravens   Dublin   1-06
2007   Ardfert   Kerry   1-04   Eoghan Rua   Derry   0-05
2006   Inniskeen Grattans   Monaghan   2-10   Caherlistrane   Galway   1-11
2005   Carbery Rangers   Cork   1-14   Pomeroy Plunkett's   Tyrone   1-08
2004   Ilen Rovers   Cork   1-11   St Michael's   Donegal   1-04

All Ireland JFC

2020   Na Gaeil   Kerry   3-20   Rathgarogue-Cushinstown   Wexford   1-05
2019   Beaufort   Kerry   3-17   Easkey   Sligo   0-05
2018   Knocknagree   Cork   3-13   Multyfarnham   Westmeath   3-09
2017   Glenbeigh-Glencar   Kerry   1-14   Rock St. Patrick's   Tyrone   1-11
2016   Templenoe   Kerry   4-13   Ardnaree Sarsfields   Mayo   1-09
2015   Brosna   Kerry   0-09   John Mitchels   Lancashire   0-08
2014   Two Mile House   Kildare   5-07   Fuerty   Roscommon   1-11
2013   Ballinasloe   Galway   0-14   Kenmare Shamrocks   Kerry   0-10
2012   Clonbur   Galway   1-08   Derrytresk   Tyrone   1-07
2011   St. Mary's   Kerry   3-13   Swanlinbar   Cavan   1-05
2010   Castlegregory   Kerry   1-14   Kiltimagh   Mayo   0-15
2009   Skellig Rangers   Kerry   0-10   John Mitchells   Lancashire   0-09
2008   Canovee   Cork   1-08   Rock St. Patrick's   Tyrone   0-05
2007   St. Patricks, Greencastle   Tyrone   0-13   Duagh   Kerry   0-12
2006   Ardfert   Kerry   1-07   Loughrea   Galway   0-09
2005   Finuge   Kerry   1-14   Stewartstown Harps   Tyrone   0-06
2004   Wolfe Tones   Meath   0-14   Carbery Rangers   Cork   0-10
2003   Nobber   Meath   2-13   Kilmeena   Mayo   1-13
2002   Drumgoon   Cavan   1-14   Belmullet   Mayo   0-12

Post by: Ed Ricketts on January 10, 2022, 02:16:21 PM
Quote from: JoG2 on January 10, 2022, 01:37:44 PM

All Ireland club, a novelty and shouldn't be taken too seriously. OK Ed

Yes. These competitions have no intrinsic meaning.

The Senior championship crowns the undisputed best team in the country.

But what is the Intermediate champion? What is the Junior champion?

For any competition to have significance beyond novelty the winner must attain some indisputable honour. Best team in the country. Best team in the province. Best Junior/ Intermediate level team in the county - a unit in which there is a level playing field for all entrants and, therefore, some sort of intrinsic competitive integrity.

Inter-county Intermediate and Junior championships are essentially invitational tournaments, with very diverse, often completely incompatible, selection criteria. Of course, nice to win but not anything to be too read into. And not something worthy of prompting any county to change their internal structures.
Post by: tiempo on January 10, 2022, 02:51:38 PM
There is no shortage of meaning to clubs competing at relatively comparable level, there is an absolute lack of meaning when one county railroads the competition allowing their representatives to compete with teams of a significantly lower level and thus handing out severe beatings. Kerrys last 2 wins being 21 and 13 points respectively, I'd be embarrassed to celebrate those wins, but most of all its a total disservice to the clubs all the way through with the misfortune to cross their paths.
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on January 10, 2022, 03:01:25 PM
Coming from a club beat in 3 Ulster junior hurling finals id have given my right arm for one. Completely done over this year too but hey ho.Definitely though at least one of those years we played a team who were in wrong grade. Donegal for example putting their senior hurling champions into junior Ulster mostly a joke .
Post by: bigarsedkeeper on January 10, 2022, 03:51:47 PM
Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on January 10, 2022, 03:01:25 PM
Coming from a club beat in 3 Ulster junior hurling finals id have given my right arm for one. Completely done over this year too but hey ho.Definitely though at least one of those years we played a team who were in wrong grade. Donegal for example putting their senior hurling champions into junior Ulster mostly a joke .
Or Monaghan putting their senior runners up into the junior championship
Post by: twohands!!! on January 10, 2022, 04:13:33 PM

I saw the following on another forum a couple of weeks back regarding the Munster Junior Competition

QuoteThe winner of the Junior football competitions in the various Munster counties this year

Kerry - 25th best team in the county [24 teams in the senior and intermediate football championships]

Limerick - 25th best team in the county [24 teams in the senior and intermediate football championships]

Clare - 26th best team in the county [25 teams in the senior and intermediate football championships]

Waterford - 29th best team in the county [28 teams in the senior and intermediate football championships]

Tipperary - 32nd best team in the county [31 teams in the senior and intermediate football championships]

This is a problem entirely of Cork GAA's making and the solution is entirely within Cork GAA's remit - change the names of the various tiers so there isn't 2 different tiers at senior and 2 different tiers at intermediate.

Cork had their 53rd best team - 12 at Senior + 12 at Senior A + 16 Intermediate + 12 at Intermediate A.

The reason why Cork are so out of whack, is that unlike all the other counties they enter the winner of the 5th tier competition into the Junior Competition.
The reason Cork do this is that they have 2 "Senior" tiers and 2 "Intermediate" tiers.
They enter the winner of their 3rd tier competition into the Munster Intermediate as well.

I had a look at the Ulster championships to see what the numbers looked like - this is based on last year's championships.

Junior

Tyrone - 37
Armagh - 34
Down - 33
Donegal - 29
Derry - 29
Cavan - 28
Antrim - 26
Monaghan - 21
Fermanagh - 17

Intermediate

Tyrone - 19
Armagh - 18
Down - 17
Donegal - 17
Derry - 17
Cavan - 14
Antrim - 15
Monaghan - 11
Fermanagh - 9

So while Kerry do have an advantage at Junior, it's by no means masssive. At Intermediate level there is more of an advantage and while some of this is based on Kerry having a small number of teams at Senior level, some of it is down to some counties with oversized Senior Championships.

Based on talking to people from Kerry what seems to be their big advanatage over other counties is the divisional system, whereby every player gets a chance to play in the Senior County Championship no matter what size of a club they are from and also that due to the fact that there are only 8 senior teams the senior and intermediate competitions are ferociously competitive. There are no teams just making up the numbers at Senior in Kerry. Maintaining Senior status is a serious business and there's no hand-holding about it - when you look at other counties who brought in no relegation because of COVID, I'd say you'd get laughed out of the county for suggesting that in Kerry. In a whole rake of other counties especially in those with 16 teams, the standard of the Senior County Championships seems way more forgiving and seem almost designed so that as many teams as possible can call themselves a senior team. In these counties there seems to be a number of teams every year whose main goal is avoiding relegation as opposed to winning the county championship.

The divisional system has been in place in Kerry for years and years before there was ever an All-Ireland Club competitons (even at senior).
So any suggestion that it was brought in to increase Kerry's chance of winning the Senior, Intermediate or Junior is clearly wrong.
The first winner of the All-Ireland Senior Club was a divisional side.

Also from what I can figure there is no Novice competition in Kerry - there is a Junior Premier and a Junior Competition with the Junior Premier being the 3rd tier competition and the Junior being the 4th tier.

Far too many folk seem to be looking at Kerry's structures and complaining about them instead of actually learning from what Kerry are doing.
It's clear that Kerry have the best structured club competitions in the land by a mile and this is a huge part of their success.
Any county with any bit of sense should be doing all they can to mimic Kerry's club structures as much as possible.
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on January 10, 2022, 04:18:22 PM
Quote from: bigarsedkeeper on January 10, 2022, 03:51:47 PM

No that's their level..usually never get past first round. Caught us this year. Fair play to them. But we have beat Monaghan runners up 3-4 times in this very convincingly.Monaghan harps , Clontibret and Carrickmacross.
Can't mind why Castleblayney were in junior as county champions year they beat us in final. We had disaster that day.

We lost 3. Bredagh went from senior to junior in their own county and were too strong for us. I think down had no intermediate championship that year.
Castleblayney beat us  as county senior champions. We had 2 men sent off and just played shite.
Setanta beat us in close game as Donegal senior champions. This year was probably as good a chance as any . Cruising and if we forget the disastrous umpire and ref we should have been home and hosed anyhow, have to take responsibility for our own failings
Post by: Armagh18 on January 10, 2022, 06:29:25 PM
Yeah it's totally unfair that the 9th best team in Kerry (who are naturally going to to be strong anyway) get to play in the AI Intermediate. As someone else has said, thats like Clann Eireann in Armagh getting play Ulster intermediate.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 10, 2022, 06:31:55 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on January 10, 2022, 06:29:25 PM
Yeah it's totally unfair that the 9th best team in Kerry (who are naturally going to to be strong anyway) get to play in the AI Intermediate. As someone else has said, thats like Clann Eireann in Armagh getting play Ulster intermediate.

They'd still lose to the 9th best in Kerry, they got there.

At Endas Antrim got to an intermediate final and lost heavily to the Kerry champions, and St Endas were officially a div 1 team
Post by: general_lee on January 10, 2022, 06:43:39 PM
Quote from: twohands!!! on January 10, 2022, 04:13:33 PM
In a whole rake of other counties especially in those with 16 teams, the standard of the Senior County Championships seems way more forgiving and seem almost designed so that as many teams as possible can call themselves a senior team. In these counties there seems to be a number of teams every year whose main goal is avoiding relegation as opposed to winning the county championship.
Surely the fairest way would be for each county to equally divide their clubs into three. Top tier = Senior, middle tier = Intermediate, bottom tier = Junior. If they've a pile of weak clubs that necessitate another weaker competition then have one. If they've a pile of middling clubs that necessitate another intermediate competition then have one. Having 60+ clubs and only 8 graded for senior is a joke.
Post by: Ball Hopper on January 10, 2022, 10:32:45 PM
Quote from: Fionntamhnach on January 10, 2022, 03:12:43 PM
Paging "Ball Hopper" and/or "AZOffally" to this thread please to help explain the intricacies of club football in Kerry...

http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=29146.0

Same debate every year it seems.  There are moves afoot in Kerry to change the system, but I've not seen any proposals.  Having more than 8 senior clubs is supposed to be part of the new system, if approved.  Moving to 12 senior clubs is most likely.  That discussion started pre-Covid and two straight knockout championships later, who knows what way the feelings are under a completely new County Board. 

Post by: Wildweasel74 on January 11, 2022, 12:18:37 AM
Leitrim has 12 teams in its senior championship and there only 24 teams I think in the county. Kerry taking the puss ever year, They don't win it at club senior too often as other teams are more evenly matched and most times better than them.
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on January 11, 2022, 12:26:21 AM
Na gaeil we're junior 2019. I just think they are team on up. 4th strongest team in Tralee
Post by: clubman21 on January 11, 2022, 09:24:41 AM
Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on January 11, 2022, 12:26:21 AM
Na gaeil we're junior 2019. I just think they are team on up. 4th strongest team in Tralee
Won the Junior Championship whilst in Senior League, now on for a repeat in intermediate. Only means of promotion in Kerry is through a Championship win.
Post by: tiempo on January 11, 2022, 10:27:53 AM
Yep its the perennial discussion, I'll finish as I started, the way Kerry abuse the grading system they are actually underachieving and should be winning more (100%) of Intermediate/Junior AI Club titles
Post by: nrico2006 on January 11, 2022, 12:05:32 PM
Quote from: bigarsedkeeper on January 10, 2022, 03:51:47 PM

Always been the way though, as far back as these competitions really got going you had the like of Burt in the Ulster JHC as well as the Monaghan Senior winners too.
Post by: imtommygunn on January 11, 2022, 12:12:15 PM
How often have they won it though? The fact that it's not that often they win it would near say it's the right decision.
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on January 11, 2022, 12:26:51 PM
Castleblayney 3 times. Sertanta and Burt too. Other years they had to go intermediate due to the old 5 year rule or it would have been more. Year Burt won it beat us in semi 1-12 to 1-9.

Sad to see Strabane fold(too many boys wanted the easy option at Setanta-no stomach for the hard road). They were good at this level early noughties
Post by: nrico2006 on January 11, 2022, 12:29:07 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on January 11, 2022, 12:12:15 PM
How often have they won it though? The fact that it's not that often they win it would near say it's the right decision.

That happens due to there being a fine line between Intermediate and Junior in Ulster, which has resulted in losses but in most cases there are very strong sides from those counties who technically should be a level up and ultimately have won the provincial (and have been forced to move up for 5 years) whereas the subsequent winners of those counties championships may not be as strong and lose in Ulster, which was evident this year with St Eunans losing to Camlough.
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on January 11, 2022, 12:31:05 PM
Quote from: nrico2006 on January 11, 2022, 12:29:07 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on January 11, 2022, 12:12:15 PM

That happens due to there being a fine line between Intermediate and Junior in Ulster, which has resulted in losses but in most cases there are very strong sides from those counties who technically should be a level up and ultimately have won the provincial (and have been forced to move up for 5 years) whereas the subsequent winners of those counties championships may not be as strong and lose in Ulster, which was evident this year with St Eunans losing to Camlough.

Very true. I do think Eunans were caught on hop though
Post by: JoG2 on January 11, 2022, 12:41:48 PM
Ulster Junior hurling for eg.. If you win it, are you not barred from playing in it for 3 years, like Coleraine this year?
Post by: nrico2006 on January 11, 2022, 01:20:01 PM
Quote from: JoG2 on January 11, 2022, 12:41:48 PM
Ulster Junior hurling for eg.. If you win it, are you not barred from playing in it for 3 years, like Coleraine this year?

Used to be 5 years, reduced to 2 or 3 now.  Bit of a shock to see the Donegal winners lose to a team like Camlough, but then again St Eunans wouldn't be at the level of Setanta who they caught on the hop in the Donegal final.
Post by: imtommygunn on January 11, 2022, 01:28:20 PM
Fair point on the teams being out for three years after they win it. I saw castleblaney cushendun the year castleblaney  won it and tbh they were lucky enough but cushendun have went on to be a good intermediate team in Antrim.

The Tyrone teams were developing well in the Antrim leagues. I think COVID really knocked them back. I thought they might have pushed in in ulster a bit.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 11, 2022, 01:56:36 PM
Good to see other Armagh teams though

Armagh played UUJ last night, skill level very good from both and some size of squad from Armagh, was great to see, a healthy hurling Ulster will only improve the standards across the boards. Gone are the days of Antrim teams expecting to waltz to an Ulster club title
Post by: imtommygunn on January 11, 2022, 01:58:52 PM
I think he plays for donegal now (or did) but Declan Coulter from Armagh was a forward who would get on a lot of teams up and down the country. Keady, Middletown etc big hurling places. Paul McCormack one of the best hurlers at queens back in my day and there were half decent antrim ones there at the time.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 11, 2022, 02:03:42 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on January 11, 2022, 01:58:52 PM
I think he plays for donegal now (or did) but Declan Coulter from Armagh was a forward who would get on a lot of teams up and down the country. Keady, Middletown etc big hurling places. Paul McCormack one of the best hurlers at queens back in my day and there were half decent antrim ones there at the time.

I remember heading to watch our senior as a kid play Armagh Harps (I think) in the Athletic grounds, that was their home venue way back in the day, as senior I played a few their before they were moved to some other pitch. Armagh even then had teams in Antrim leagues.

What is the Ulster leagues like? The standard must be high enough if these teams are coming through Ulster
Post by: ardchieftain on January 11, 2022, 08:35:07 PM
It was Pearse Ogs who used the Athletic grounds as a home venue for many years.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 11, 2022, 10:06:21 PM
Quote from: ardchieftain on January 11, 2022, 08:35:07 PM
It was Pearse Ogs who used the Athletic grounds as a home venue for many years.

But they didn't hurl, so it was Harps I'm sure, I'm going back nearly 40 years, when I watched our seniors, over 30 years when I played
Post by: tiempo on January 12, 2022, 09:57:32 AM
Something in the water down there, they'll do anything for the whiff of Croke

https://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/arid-40783116.html
Post by: Maroon Manc on January 14, 2022, 09:29:11 AM
Proud moment for my club on Sunday, we play Denn in an All Ireland Junior Quarter Final.

Beosport are covering it

https://www.beosport.live/packages/ulster-jfc-twinning-final-denn-v-st-brendan-s/videos/aib-ulster-jfc-twinning-final-denn-v-st-brendan-s