2018 NFL Division 2

Started by tippabu, December 31, 2017, 11:54:33 AM

Quote from: From the Bunker on March 25, 2018, 06:41:56 PM
Quote from: seafoid on March 25, 2018, 06:03:02 PM
Cavan need a good run in the championship.

No sh1t Sherlock?
Otherwise today probably won't mean much

Quote from: seafoid on March 25, 2018, 06:47:52 PM

No sh1t Sherlock?
You mean like Galway getting promotion last year and not having a good run in the Championship didn't mean much? Sometimes you have to put more eggs into one basket!

Quote from: From the Bunker on March 25, 2018, 06:56:46 PM

No sh1t Sherlock?
You mean like Galway getting promotion last year and not having a good run in the Championship didn't mean much? Sometimes you have to put more eggs into one basket!

What if you perfectly balance your eggs and have nearly three months to prepare for a provincial final, Bunker? 8)

Quote from: Syferus on March 25, 2018, 07:15:33 PM

No sh1t Sherlock?

What if you perfectly balance your eggs and have nearly three months to prepare for a provincial final, Bunker? 8)

That's the plan for any intercounty Manager. It comes down to a bit of good fortune with what way your fixtures pan out and injuries. What risks you have to take early on in the League and in the Championship.

No sh1t Sherlock?
Last year was a disappointment. Even if there had been mean reversion and Galway had beaten the shite out of Ros but lost to Kerry it would have been disappointing. The team didn't perform.

mrdeeds

Good win for Cavan today but Tipp were the better team. Their movement and attacking play was great to watch. Red card the difference.

tippabu

Quote from: mrdeeds on March 25, 2018, 07:36:41 PM
Good win for Cavan today but Tipp were the better team. Their movement and attacking play was great to watch. Red card the difference.

Must disagree with you there, thought we were poor going forward and Cavan did very well with their gameplay. There wasn't much between the teams, I'd struggle to say one was better than the other, was a fairly even game

Quote from: tippabu on March 25, 2018, 07:40:42 PM

Must disagree with you there, thought we were poor going forward and Cavan did very well with their gameplay. There wasn't much between the teams, I'd struggle to say one was better than the other, was a fairly even game

Yes it was evenly matched but neither sweeney or quinlivan scored from play which is pretty incredible

Commiserations Tippabu, Tipp were definitely the best team we played in the league this year. That wild finish in Semple defined both teams seasons.

If more teams played football like ye do this sport would be very easy on the eyes.

tippabu

Quote from: Itchy on March 25, 2018, 07:46:10 PM

Yes it was evenly matched but neither sweeney or quinlivan scored from play which is pretty incredible

Sweeney got 1 from play but that's what I mean, yer gameplay was spot on, nullified Sweeney and quinlivan and killed us on the kickouts. Ye got it right today

Might be a blessing in disguise that Tipp didn't get promoted as they probably need another year div 2 before making the step up to Div one. Roscommon and Cavan have showed a lot of character to bounce back from last years relegation.

tippabu

Quote from: Syferus on March 25, 2018, 07:55:32 PM

Commiserations Tippabu, Tipp were definitely the best team we played in the league this year. That wild finish in Semple defines both teams seasons.

If more teams played football like ye do this sport would be very easy on the eyes.

We try!! Games like these will hopefully bring us on more and can learn from them

Quote from: Cunny Funt on March 25, 2018, 08:08:57 PM
Might be a blessing in disguise that Tipp didn't get promoted as they probably need another year div 2 before making the step up to Div one. Roscommon and Cavan have showed a lot of character to bounce back from last years relegation.
I was thinking the same re Tipp. Another year in D2 is no harm.
They are definitely a coming team.

Quote from: seafoid on March 25, 2018, 08:13:13 PM
Quote from: Cunny Funt on March 25, 2018, 08:08:57 PM
I was thinking the same re Tipp. Another year in D2 is no harm.
They are definitely a coming team.
I understand the sentiment and certainly another year of D2 football will help.  However with kildare and donegal coming down and armagh and fermanagh coming up its not going to be easy to go up. Probably 3 munster 3 ulster and 2 leinster in D2 next year.

Farewell Div 2 as we once more have to play Cavan for what must be the 10th time in recent years.
Today we had 2 good spurts once again -1st 15 minutes and a short burst from 50 to 60 minutes when we reacted well to going behind.
Subs esp Ends and "Cregger" put more life into us.
Kilroy certainly burned the boiler today and Harney had a mighty game too.
Defence very porous looking in the first half but did tighten up in the second keeping Cork to 4 points.
O'Neill missing those late frees helped though.
So we've been hit and miss, dropped points to 2 of the bottom 3 but still its mission accomplished and a day out in Croker.
That'll do just grand for Feb/March.