2018 NFL Division 2

Started by tippabu, December 31, 2017, 11:54:33 AM

Not a good day at the office
Still awful round midfield, didn't make possession count enough on the scoreboard when on top, defence still unable to deal with a lad running at them, some silly substitutions by the cool clean one,
A point dropped in a game we should have gone on to win being 6 points up well into the 2nd half.
Positives -came back well to snatch the draw, great work by Donie Smith who had to wait 3 or 4 minutes to take the penalay as the ref searched for Meath thugs to black card how did 6 not get a red for the earlier decapitation attempt? ).
Young Lennon at full forward will have something to offer.
2 lads proved they're not senior Inter County footballers
An excellent match programme (although not enough printed).
A point gained from a hopeless looking position.

Quote from: Rossfan on January 28, 2018, 07:04:25 PM
Not a good day at the office
Still awful round midfield, didn't make possession count enough on the scoreboard when on top, defence still unable to deal with a lad running at them, some silly substitutions by the cool clean one,
A point dropped in a game we should have gone on to win being 6 points up well into the 2nd half.
Positives -came back well to snatch the draw, great work by Donie Smith who had to wait 3 or 4 minutes to take the penalay as the ref searched for Meath thugs to black card how did 6 not get a red for the earlier decapitation attempt? ).
Young Lennon at full forward will have something to offer.
2 lads proved they're not senior Inter County footballers
An excellent match programme (although not enough printed).
A point gained from a hopeless looking position.

No one proved they weren't anything today.

January and Rossfan is back to writing off players. John Mac and Kilroy were two of your favourite targets the last few years and those predictions didn't turn out so well, did they? Give the lads a fûcking chance before you back over them with the bus for FFS.

You're slippin up - Took you 4 minutes ;D
I never dissed Kilroy, he's excellent at running everywhere ad a libero/sweeper but hasn't the physicality needed for getting into close contact.
I still reckon John Mac isn't a Co footballer,  he's good at rootin and horsin though which is probably needed in our team.
Anyway on to Thurles till we show them hurley crowd a thing or 2.

I can't stand it when ye fight.

tippabu

Quote from: Rossfan on January 28, 2018, 07:14:59 PM
You're slippin up - Took you 4 minutes ;D
I never dissed Kilroy, he's excellent at running everywhere ad a libero/sweeper but hasn't the physicality needed for getting into close contact.
I still reckon John Mac isn't a Co footballer,  he's good at rootin and horsin though which is probably needed in our team.
Anyway on to Thurles till we show them hurley crowd a thing or 2.

A proud footballing county like yer own should be putting away a team of failed hurlers by double scores next weekend, we barely beat corks 2nd team this weekend.;)

On a serious note could well happen, league throws up funny and inconsistent results and roscommon are a team who are capable of anything good or bad

Gael85

Quote from: tippabu on January 22, 2018, 09:06:09 PM
Quote from: Horse Box on January 22, 2018, 02:01:31 PM
Cavan
Tipp
Down
Roscommon

Tipp have been going really well Preseason . Steven O`Brien in Midfield will supply the Forwards with plenty of ball . 7/4 is a serious price with PP ! ! !

you can get 2/1 in ladbrokes. Weve went well, beat limerick before christmas and CIT and garda collage last few weeks, all big wins. Were due to play UCD last tuesday which wouldve wrapped it up nicely. No real challenge at all but Cork played waterford in a non contest and had a good game v clare but it will be interesting to see how many of them play against tipp. Patience might be needed with O'Brien, his club dont play football so he hasnt really played any football the last couple of years, might have a few hit and miss games before getting fully up to speed. Jack kennedy is one im expecting alot from this year. We have plenty of options at midfield this year compared to championship game against them last year when we had to bring quinlivan out the pitch, himself and sweeney will be able stay in the full forward line for the most part now and if they are on song cork will do very well with what looks a poor line of the team for them to contain them. Confident going into this game although weary aswell given we are usually a summer team who dont perform well in the league, will possibly be missing 1 or 2 experienced players for this one  and its cork playing their first game in the new stadium doubled with the hurlers and they are capable of absolutely anything good or bad

Ye have a strong central spine. Are Liam Casey and George Hannigan available too? If can sort out defence and keep lads away from hurlers ye will definitely make the last 8 in championship.

tippabu

Quote from: Gael85 on January 28, 2018, 09:24:27 PM
Quote from: tippabu on January 22, 2018, 09:06:09 PM
Quote from: Horse Box on January 22, 2018, 02:01:31 PM
Cavan
Tipp
Down
Roscommon

Tipp have been going really well Preseason . Steven O`Brien in Midfield will supply the Forwards with plenty of ball . 7/4 is a serious price with PP ! ! !

you can get 2/1 in ladbrokes. Weve went well, beat limerick before christmas and CIT and garda collage last few weeks, all big wins. Were due to play UCD last tuesday which wouldve wrapped it up nicely. No real challenge at all but Cork played waterford in a non contest and had a good game v clare but it will be interesting to see how many of them play against tipp. Patience might be needed with O'Brien, his club dont play football so he hasnt really played any football the last couple of years, might have a few hit and miss games before getting fully up to speed. Jack kennedy is one im expecting alot from this year. We have plenty of options at midfield this year compared to championship game against them last year when we had to bring quinlivan out the pitch, himself and sweeney will be able stay in the full forward line for the most part now and if they are on song cork will do very well with what looks a poor line of the team for them to contain them. Confident going into this game although weary aswell given we are usually a summer team who dont perform well in the league, will possibly be missing 1 or 2 experienced players for this one  and its cork playing their first game in the new stadium doubled with the hurlers and they are capable of absolutely anything good or bad

Ye have a strong central spine. Are Liam Casey and George Hannigan available too? If can sort out defence and keep lads away from hurlers ye will definitely make the last 8 in championship.

George hannigan got married just after christmas and had his honeymoon so a little behind, he came on in injury time last night, casey came on in midfield and helped us get a foothold there, also freed up jack kennedy a bit. Philly austin to come back in who will probably be used more as an impact sub and will be perfect for that roll, Paddy cood too to come back in. We are in the best position we have been in in terms of a panel, the year we got to the semi we really only had the bear starting 15, not we have lads really pushing players for starting spots and people more than capable of coming in doing a job, john meagher (who is a brilliant addition if he can stay healthy) and kevin fahy both came on and improved our halfback line which was struggling last night. on a high after last night but theres no easy games it appears in this division so that may turn in the blink of an eye, things do look promising though

Gael85

Hopefully ye do go up as great potential in that side. Imagine ye had Colin O'Riordan  :)

tippabu

Quote from: Gael85 on January 28, 2018, 09:44:41 PM
Hopefully ye do go up as great potential in that side. Imagine ye had Colin O'Riordan  :)

and peter acheson....if only

Given everything suggests the match next weekend in Semple will be a high-scoring barn burner it's probably going to turn out to be a dour 0-12 to 0-11 slugfest.

tippabu

Quote from: Syferus on January 28, 2018, 09:54:14 PM
Given everything suggests the match next weekend in Semple will be a high-scoring barn burner it's probably going to turn out to be a dour 0-12 to 0-11 slugfest.

you can almost be guaranteed of it!!

Gael85

Quote from: tippabu on January 28, 2018, 09:45:39 PM

Is he due back?

Horse Box

Looking at the Tipp subs in the Programme last night , anyone of them are good enough to start , really strong Panel this year  8) !

tippabu

Quote from: Gael85 on January 28, 2018, 10:14:52 PM
Quote from: tippabu on January 28, 2018, 09:45:39 PM

Is he due back?

no

Kurtz

Quote from: Syferus on January 28, 2018, 09:54:14 PM

Roscommon dont do slugfests they are not physical enough