GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: tyroneman on April 29, 2019, 01:00:51 PM

Title: Tyrone v Derry - Sunday 12th May - Omagh 4.00pm
Post by: tyroneman on April 29, 2019, 01:00:51 PM
Have we become so blasé about things that the aul traditional rivalry doesn't merit it's own thread?

Will Derry's momentum keep going into this match?
Will the memory of the hammering given to the defending All Ireland Champions in 2006 fill Tyrone with fear?
Will Mickey's confdence be misplaced?
Will Omagh be a sell-out?
Will Tyrone keep to themore expansive game we saw in the latter stages of the league?

Title: Re: Tyrone v Derry - Sunday 12th May - Omagh 4.00pm
Post by: TheOptimist on April 29, 2019, 01:38:47 PM
Going by the Ulster Championship thread, I didn't Derry were playing in Ulster this year!
Post by: theticklemister on April 29, 2019, 01:51:23 PM
We're fucked
Post by: oakleaflad on April 29, 2019, 02:22:23 PM
Quote from: tyroneman on April 29, 2019, 01:00:51 PM
Have we become so blasé about things that the aul traditional rivalry doesn't merit it's own thread?

Will Derry's momentum keep going into this match? Meh
Will the memory of the hammering given to the defending All Ireland Champions in 2006 fill Tyrone with fear? No
Will Mickey's confdence be misplaced? No
Will Omagh be a sell-out? Meh
Will Tyrone keep to themore expansive game we saw in the latter stages of the league? It won't matter

Listen, we've maybe improved a bit but we match up very badly against Tyrone. It was the worst possible draw for us and I don't think even the most optimistic Derry fan can expect a win. I would have given us a chance of winning a game in Ulster if we drew anyone outside of Tyrone, Donegal and possibly Monaghan (I think we'd give them a tight enough game but probably lose that too).
Post by: screenexile on April 29, 2019, 02:28:56 PM
Yeah we're on a different trajectory than Tyrone. . . We need another couple of years I reckon to compete properly with them. If we can get the margin to between 5 & 10 that will be progress after the drubbings we received in 2016/17.

We badly need a run in the qualifiers and could do OK if we avoid the big hitters like Dublin/Mayo/Donegal/Kerry/Monaghan/Galway.

The team has a bit of momentum though so hopefully we can expect a creditable performance this time around!!!
Post by: twohands!!! on April 29, 2019, 07:31:22 PM
In the last 9 years of championship football, teams who played in Division 4 have played 185 championship games and there has only been 2 occasions where they have beaten a team who played Division 1 football that year.

Kildare losing to Carlow last year and Mayo losing to Longford in 2010.

Post by: trailer on April 30, 2019, 09:00:26 AM
Are we thinking 15 points plus defeat for Derry? What's the spread? I'd imagine Tyrone will post a tally in excess of 30 points.

Post by: toby47 on April 30, 2019, 11:28:11 AM
Tyrone by 8
Post by: Fuzzman on April 30, 2019, 11:36:30 AM
We certainly have hammered them the last few times we've played and you would expect the same again but we have seen what can happen sometimes when we have an off day and if any time (think Fermanagh) who are very well organised defensively could frustrate us. Who would have thought in 2006, Derry would have come to Omagh and held the AI champions scoreless at half time?
Yes a lot has changed since then and in a way it's a totally different game now but I'm sure Mickey will not let them get complacent.
Post by: Norf Tyrone on April 30, 2019, 01:10:53 PM
I see the Sunday Game schedule is out today and this is not on it. Is the BBC/ SKY schedule announced yet?
Post by: toby47 on April 30, 2019, 01:22:39 PM
Quote from: Norf Tyrone on April 30, 2019, 01:10:53 PM
I see the Sunday Game schedule is out today and this is not on it. Is the BBC/ SKY schedule announced yet?

SKY released theirs today also
Post by: Rossfan on April 30, 2019, 01:28:02 PM
https://www.balls.ie/gaa/sky-sports-gaa-live-games-kieran-donaghy-409659
Post by: tbrick18 on April 30, 2019, 01:32:13 PM
If Tyrone were to play any Div3/4 team they would expect to win by at least 10 points.
Derry will want to perform as best they can and if they do, could keep the margin tighter than that.
That's the level we are at and the quality of players we have.
If we can keep it tight(ish), and get a decent qualifier run that's probably the best we can hope for from the Championship.

I still don't think Tyrone are at the same level as Dublin/Mayo, but will be too strong for us.
Post by: Norf Tyrone on April 30, 2019, 01:34:02 PM
Cheers for the SKY list gents.

So Tyrone v Derry not on the box by the looks. Don't think BBC can show games that are not on RTE or clash with RTE's coverage.
Post by: Main Street on May 03, 2019, 11:40:07 AM
Tyrone just don't have that box office appeal, not even Sky could hype this game up.

The first televised game will be Monaghan v Cavan, a real rivalry, one that has endured.
Post by: screenexile on May 03, 2019, 11:40:50 AM
Deferred coverage of Tyrone Derry??
Post by: GJL on May 03, 2019, 02:14:18 PM
Quote from: Main Street on May 03, 2019, 11:40:07 AM
Tyrone vs Derry just don't have that box office appeal, not even Sky could hype this game up.

The first televised game will be Monaghan v Cavan, a real rivalry, one that has endured.

Fixed that for you.

If Tyrone were playing a team that could give them a game it would be on TV.
Post by: thebuzz on May 03, 2019, 03:32:53 PM
Quote from: GJL on May 03, 2019, 02:14:18 PM
Quote from: Main Street on May 03, 2019, 11:40:07 AM
Tyrone vs Derry just don't have that box office appeal, not even Sky could hype this game up.

Fixed that for you.

If Tyrone were playing a team that could give them a game it would be on TV.

Just because we're crap doesn't mean the rivalry hasn't endured over the years.  :) ;) :)
Post by: Captain Obvious on May 03, 2019, 08:37:22 PM
Quote from: screenexile on May 03, 2019, 11:40:50 AM
Deferred coverage of Tyrone Derry??
Yes full deferred coverage on BBC.
Post by: Fuzzman on May 07, 2019, 12:56:59 PM
Isn't it sad how we have lost this rivalry.
Having gone to school in Derry (like Dooher) but coming from Tyrone, there was great excitement and rivalry when I went to UUJ in the 90s and had loads of Derry friends.
I remember driving to the "13 men" game with 2 Derry mates and a Tyrone mate. It was some craic on the way back and not only did they have to put up with us that afternoon, they also lived with us in Belfast and we just arrived in the door in time to watch it all again on the BBC Championship.
They had their big wins over us as well and sometimes the rivalry got a little heated. Then Armagh came along and took over their mantle and Derry fell away.

You would imagine Derry will have to go all guns blazing this Sunday and try to show us no respect otherwise it will be another one sided affair.
The temptation I suppose is for them to get 13 men behind the ball and make it hard for us to score.
Over the years I have found first round games, especially in Omagh rarely go as to plan. Nobody wants to see a one sided affair
Post by: Redhand Santa on May 07, 2019, 01:37:35 PM
Rivalry can go in cycles, if Derry can start to turn underage success into a decent senior team there is no reason why it won't pick up again.

You have to expect Tyrone to win this week but it could be closer than people think. Tyrone have had some poor first round performances over the years and for the first time in a while Derry have had a settled team throughout the league. Hard to know what kind of game to expect. I don't think sticking 13 men behind the ball would do Derry any favours.
Post by: omaghjoe on May 07, 2019, 03:49:54 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on May 07, 2019, 12:56:59 PM
Isn't it sad how we have lost this rivalry.
Having gone to school in Derry (like Dooher) but coming from Tyrone, there was great excitement and rivalry when I went to UUJ in the 90s and had loads of Derry friends.
I remember driving to the "13 men" game with 2 Derry mates and a Tyrone mate. It was some craic on the way back and not only did they have to put up with us that afternoon, they also lived with us in Belfast and we just arrived in the door in time to watch it all again on the BBC Championship.
They had their big wins over us as well and sometimes the rivalry got a little heated. Then Armagh came along and took over their mantle and Derry fell away.

You would imagine Derry will have to go all guns blazing this Sunday and try to show us no respect otherwise it will be another one sided affair.
The temptation I suppose is for them to get 13 men behind the ball and make it hard for us to score.
Over the years I have found first round games, especially in Omagh rarely go as to plan. Nobody wants to see a one sided affair

I do, give me another 11point hammering everyday of the week ;)
Post by: GetOverTheBar on May 08, 2019, 11:10:34 AM
Will this game sell out?
Post by: Redhand Santa on May 08, 2019, 11:13:39 AM
Quote from: GetOverTheBar on May 08, 2019, 11:10:34 AM
Will this game sell out?

No. I'd say it'll be lucky to have much over 10,000 at it. Derry one's will fear a hammering and don't travel in big numbers anyway. Tyrone haven't got the support they once had and a lot will be banking on a lot of games ahead over the summer. I can't see Derry being as bad as people expect.
Post by: southtyronegael on May 08, 2019, 12:03:48 PM
Think the last 2 championship meetings had around 11 k at them. Far cry from the 30 k at 1996 Ulster semi.
Post by: toby47 on May 08, 2019, 12:32:24 PM
Quote from: southtyronegael on May 08, 2019, 12:03:48 PM
Think the last 2 championship meetings had around 11 k at them. Far cry from the 30 k at 1996 Ulster semi.

What sort of crowd would you be expecting on Saturday?

I'm not sure you'll get 1000 Derry Supporters. If it had been Live on TV you could cut that figure even further.
Post by: southtyronegael on May 08, 2019, 12:49:14 PM
Quote from: toby47 on May 08, 2019, 12:32:24 PM

I'm not sure you'll get 1000 Derry Supporters. If it had been Live on TV you could cut that figure even further.
hardly be too many there Saturday but I'd say around 10 k on Sunday. Tyrone 1/10 favourites so alot of people will wait for a potential Donegal semi.
Post by: TheOptimist on May 08, 2019, 01:19:52 PM
Quote from: southtyronegael on May 08, 2019, 12:49:14 PM

hardly be too many there Saturday but I'd say around 10 k on Sunday. Tyrone 1/10 favourites so alot of people will wait for a potential Donegal semi.

These odds are crazy. This will could be closer than some think. Yes Derry were division 4 but they won every game and they are a young team that has won Ulster titles and been in All Ireland finals. They are a team of good footballers, on Sunday we will see how far off they actually are!
Post by: toby47 on May 08, 2019, 01:27:23 PM
Quote from: southtyronegael on May 08, 2019, 12:49:14 PM

Oops, us Derry folk would maybe be better going on Saturday than Sunday
Post by: Jayop on May 08, 2019, 04:58:22 PM
Looking forward to this. The wee sneaky win against Dublin, albeit in the league, and the shift in gameplan has me excited for the year ahead. A bit disappointed young Canavan wont be featuring this year but I think it's the right decision. If we are going to go with Donnelly and McShane inside with Harte and Sludden supporting them then where would he realistically play. I think until he becomes undroppable he's going to struggle to make any real impact in the seniors just like a lot of the other really talented smaller forwards we've had recently.
Post by: Real Talk on May 09, 2019, 11:10:51 AM
Quote from: Jayop on May 08, 2019, 04:58:22 PM
Looking forward to this. The wee sneaky win against Dublin, albeit in the league, and the shift in gameplan has me excited for the year ahead. A bit disappointed young Canavan wont be featuring this year but I think it's the right decision. If we are going to go with Donnelly and McShane inside with Harte and Sludden supporting them then where would he realistically play. I think until he becomes undroppable he's going to struggle to make any real impact in the seniors just like a lot of the other really talented smaller forwards we've had recently.

I'd say daddy Peter will be controlling when its best to release 'young Canavan'.   He could appear under the radar in the super 8's when they many County backroom analysist haven't had an opportunity to get to know is strength's and weaknesses
Post by: GetOverTheBar on May 09, 2019, 12:53:57 PM

Tend to agree, but have a feeling Harte will revert to type....hopefully not, but....I just can't believe that he's all of a sudden embraced the style that we seen in last 3/4 games.
Post by: Redhand Santa on May 09, 2019, 01:14:57 PM
Quote from: GetOverTheBar on May 09, 2019, 12:53:57 PM

Tend to agree, but have a feeling Harte will revert to type....hopefully not, but....I just can't believe that he's all of a sudden embraced the style that we seen in last 3/4 games.

Tyrone's style has changed considerably at different points over the years. We were less defensive last year than the previous few years. I'd imagine the plan is to take that another step further with more varied play going forward including the use of the long ball in and more pressing up the pitch.
Post by: Fuzzman on May 09, 2019, 01:51:07 PM
Talking of Peter what was your best memory of PTG. Even as a non Tyrone fan.
I'm sure for the Armagh lads it's him being sent off in the 2005 Ulster final.

For me it's when he was near his peak around 1996 I think. Some of the times he took on and beat for or five players. One particular point he scored v Derry in Clones into the town end goal when nobody could catch him.
Post by: Jayop on May 09, 2019, 02:54:30 PM
Quote from: Real Talk on May 09, 2019, 11:10:51 AM

I'd say daddy Peter will be controlling when its best to release 'young Canavan'.   He could appear under the radar in the super 8's when they many County backroom analysist haven't had an opportunity to get to know is strength's and weaknesses

I could be miles wrong here but I thought once he played either Sr or U20 in a year you couldn't play the other even after the first team you play for is put out.
Post by: screenexile on May 09, 2019, 02:56:08 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on May 09, 2019, 01:51:07 PM

For me it's when he was near his peak around 1996 I think. Some of the times he took on and beat for or five players. One particular point he scored v Derry in Clones into the town end goal when nobody could catch him.

Sending off in the All Ireland Quarter final 2001!!
Post by: GetOverTheBar on May 09, 2019, 04:26:18 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on May 09, 2019, 01:51:07 PM

Taking the ball off Mugsy....as he said himself, he's not sure he could have lived with missing it.
Post by: imtommygunn on May 09, 2019, 04:31:04 PM
That goal was superb. He had a very small space in that net where he could have hit it and it wouldn't have been saved. Mugsy's role in that was instrumental in holding the defender off too. It was just clinical.

Some of his points have been a bit more spectacular to watch but that goal was important, clinical and there was a bit of teamwork involved in it.
Post by: twohands!!! on May 09, 2019, 06:04:31 PM

Quote from: Jayop on May 09, 2019, 02:54:30 PMI could be miles wrong here but I thought once he played either Sr or U20 in a year you couldn't play the other even after the first team you play for is put out.

Was changed this year at Congress - basically you can't play with both U20 and senior at the same time, but once the U20 county side is finished you can move up to senior.

The final of the U20 is the first weekend in August and lots of teams will be out of the U20 well before that, so I will be shocked if there aren't some few lads who do get promoted to the seniors in some counties.

From what little I saw of Canavan Jr in the league he still looked more boy than man in terms of his core strength.
I could see it being a year or two before he gets the stocky core strength his da had.
Post by: Jayop on May 09, 2019, 08:21:50 PM
Quote from: twohands!!! on May 09, 2019, 06:04:31 PM

Quote from: Jayop on May 09, 2019, 02:54:30 PMI could be miles wrong here but I thought once he played either Sr or U20 in a year you couldn't play the other even after the first team you play for is put out.

Was changed this year at Congress - basically you can't play with both U20 and senior at the same time, but once the U20 county side is finished you can move up to senior.

The final of the U20 is the first weekend in August and lots of teams will be out of the U20 well before that, so I will be shocked if there aren't some few lads who do get promoted to the seniors in some counties.

From what little I saw of Canavan Jr in the league he still looked more boy than man in terms of his core strength.
I could see it being a year or two before he gets the stocky core strength his da had.

So long as he's happy with that role then I wouldn't be rushing him in until he's ready. No point ruining a potential star.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on May 09, 2019, 09:20:20 PM
The starting Tír Eoghain 15:

1. Niall Morgan
2. Padraig Hampsey
3. Ronan Mc Namee
4. Michael Mc Kernan
5. Michael Cassidy
6. Ben Mc Donnell
7. Tiernan Mc Cann
8. Richie Donnelly
9. Brian Kennedy
10. Mattie Donnelly
11. Niall Sludden
12. Frank Burns
13. Cathal Mc Shane
14. Peter Harte
15. Conor Meyler
Post by: trailer on May 09, 2019, 09:40:10 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on May 09, 2019, 09:20:20 PM

1. Niall Morgan
2. Padraig Hampsey
3. Ronan Mc Namee
4. Michael Mc Kernan
5. Michael Cassidy
6. Ben Mc Donnell
7. Tiernan Mc Cann
8. Richie Donnelly
9. Brian Kennedy
10. Mattie Donnelly
11. Niall Sludden
12. Frank Burns
13. Cathal Mc Shane
14. Peter Harte
15. Conor Meyler

Some chance that team actually starting. Why does Mickey name these dummy teams? What's the point like?
Post by: Redhand Santa on May 09, 2019, 09:54:44 PM
Quote from: trailer on May 09, 2019, 09:40:10 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on May 09, 2019, 09:20:20 PM

1. Niall Morgan
2. Padraig Hampsey
3. Ronan Mc Namee
4. Michael Mc Kernan
5. Michael Cassidy
6. Ben Mc Donnell
7. Tiernan Mc Cann
8. Richie Donnelly
9. Brian Kennedy
10. Mattie Donnelly
11. Niall Sludden
12. Frank Burns
13. Cathal Mc Shane
14. Peter Harte
15. Conor Meyler

Some chance that team actually starting. Why does Mickey name these dummy teams? What's the point like?

It might not line up like the above but good chance them 15 start.
Post by: omaghjoe on May 09, 2019, 11:48:36 PM
3 debutantes kinda surprised at that.

Cassidy and McDonnell looked decent in the league...Kennedy looked like he was had potential but out of his depth at times
Post by: Dire Ear on May 10, 2019, 07:26:40 AM
Is this all ticket, or can you go and buy on the day?
Post by: Redhand Santa on May 10, 2019, 08:13:22 AM
Quote from: Dire Ear on May 10, 2019, 07:26:40 AM

It's all ticket but you'll be able to buy them on the day (though they cost more). You can also go on and buy them online now.
Post by: Dire Ear on May 10, 2019, 08:43:08 AM
Quote from: Redhand Santa on May 10, 2019, 08:13:22 AM
Quote from: Dire Ear on May 10, 2019, 07:26:40 AM

It's all ticket but you'll be able to buy them on the day (though they cost more). You can also go on and buy them online now.
Thankyou
Post by: Fuzzman on May 10, 2019, 12:12:46 PM
In the last number of years Mickey doesn't name dummy teams and even when we think he has it turns out they were real.
I'm not surprised to see McDonnell in the team but must be hard for Rory Brennan AGAIN to see being passed out by lads and he's still considered a better impact sub. I know it's a 21 man game these days and subs aren't just for injuries.

That half forward line looks very powerful and actually maybe that's Mickey's thoughts that there is more emphasis on size and strength than a place for the wee talented nippy guy.

It's one of those games that Mickey cannot win really cos if we hammer them then they were useless and if we just scrape by or even lose then we were very poor and will go nowhere this year.
Who's the ref?

BBC2 7pm I see.
Post by: Dire Ear on May 10, 2019, 07:44:04 PM
Ref. Paddy Neilan Roscom
Post by: the goal was on on May 10, 2019, 08:42:07 PM
Fuzz man I think you'll find Mickey's team for there opener against Monaghan last year was a dummy team. No big deal, most teams will do it esp Dublin
Post by: omaghjoe on May 10, 2019, 08:45:17 PM
Wudda thought Colm would be back in starting lineup.
He's named on the panel so presume he's fit.
Been lined out for the Moy?
Post by: southtyronegael on May 10, 2019, 10:56:01 PM
Think cavanagh and Kieran Mc geary both carrying knocks
Post by: Glenman93 on May 12, 2019, 11:39:28 AM
Derry by one
Post by: BennyCake on May 12, 2019, 12:16:58 PM
I fear a tanking for Derry

Tyrone 2-20
Derry 0-12
Post by: trailer on May 12, 2019, 12:28:59 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on May 12, 2019, 12:16:58 PM

Tyrone 2-20
Derry 0-12

Generous. Doubtful Derry will hit double figures.
Post by: Aaron Boone on May 12, 2019, 12:54:09 PM
Safe travel to all.
Post by: Jayop on May 12, 2019, 05:50:44 PM
Closest they've been to us in donkeys years. Following on twitter and we had a scare with them going ahead but we responded with a goal and a heap of points. Better test than we expected. Both sides probably happy enough.
Post by: omagh_gael on May 12, 2019, 06:11:33 PM
Any word on why Kennedy was taken off and Colm was put on? Is it a coincidence that that's when Derry started getting back into the game? Colm off after we concede the goal and we win the remainder of the game 1-5 to 0-01.

Good to get the win, was not expecting to blow them away but good sign that we put down the pedal for the last 10 minutes. Derry will cause a lot of problems for all teams outside of the top 3 or 4 I believe. Could get a decent run if the draw is kind to them in qualifiers.
Post by: Goals_Will_Come on May 12, 2019, 07:41:07 PM
Tiernan McCann and Colm Cavanagh badly off the pace today.
Post by: Jeremiah O on May 12, 2019, 08:09:32 PM
3rd win of the year over them Derry heurs and it's only May😛
Tyrone found another gear once Derry went in front and closed it out comfortably.
A spirited showing from Derry,who will be a team to be reckoned with in a couple of years time.Some good young footballers coming through the ranks.
Post by: barelegs on May 12, 2019, 08:12:09 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on May 12, 2019, 06:11:33 PM
Any word on why Kennedy was taken off and Colm was put on? Is it a coincidence that that's when Derry started getting back into the game? Colm off after we concede the goal and we win the remainder of the game 1-5 to 0-01.

Good to get the win, was not expecting to blow them away but good sign that we put down the pedal for the last 10 minutes. Derry will cause a lot of problems for all teams outside of the top 3 or 4 I believe. Could get a decent run if the draw is kind to them in qualifiers.

Kennedy had been carrying a hamstring injury into the game. Made a couple of runs into the Derry defence when he was on! Hopefully we can shake that off over the next week or two. Has serious potential for a lad just turned 21
Post by: southtyronegael on May 12, 2019, 08:36:01 PM
Quote from: Goals_Will_Come on May 12, 2019, 07:41:07 PM
Peter harte even worse
Post by: clarshack on May 12, 2019, 09:27:13 PM
Quote from: southtyronegael on May 12, 2019, 08:36:01 PM
Peter harte even worse

Peter Harte was a passenger for most parts today. Mattie Donnelly after a bright enough start became pretty much anonymous too. Ronan NcNamee poor as well. Could go on about others probably. Very disappointing display overall from Tyrone. Simply not good enough.
Post by: Over the Bar on May 12, 2019, 09:48:03 PM
Quote from: clarshack on May 12, 2019, 09:27:13 PM
Peter harte even worse

Peter Harte was a passenger for most parts today. Mattie Donnelly after a bright enough start became pretty much anonymous too. Ronan NcNamee poor as well. Could go on about others probably. Very disappointing display overall from Tyrone. Simply not good enough.

Relax. It's only May. Preliminary round are about getting over without maximum effort. 
Post by: Jayop on May 12, 2019, 11:00:46 PM
Exactly. People need to chill out. Blasting through Derry by a cricket score would have helped no one.

As for Peter Harte he was man marked the whole game by an excellent player. Derry's spell in d4 has done them nó harm at all and hopefully they can keep getting their shit together. Ulster football will be much better overall if Derry and Armagh get back to being strong. More teams to love to hate.
Post by: Redhand Santa on May 13, 2019, 08:19:23 AM
Quote from: clarshack on May 12, 2019, 09:27:13 PM
Peter harte even worse

Harsh on McNamee who didn't do much wrong. The Irish News gave him an 8 in the paper today. Harte and Sludden disappear in too many games and really need to find a way to get involved when closely marked. Sludden has been consistently fairly quiet for a long time now. You want the player playing at 11 getting lots of ball and dictating the game, he certainly hasn't did that over the last year or two. He's probably too small to play at half back where his game might be better suited.

But as others have said I wouldn't be getting too carried away based on a preliminary round match in early May. First game together in 7 or 8 weeks with the focus being on peaking another couple of months down the line. Most pleasing aspect of the game was the continued form of McShane, a real handful at full forward. A few Tyrone fans on here were very quick to write him off when he was still young trying to make the break through.
Post by: haranguerer on May 13, 2019, 08:43:37 AM
Tyrone did everything they needed to do. I'd be delighted with how that game went if I was from Tyrone, they played within themselves but upped it when they had to.
Post by: tyroneman on May 13, 2019, 09:25:30 AM
Quote from: haranguerer on May 13, 2019, 08:43:37 AM
Tyrone did everything they needed to do. I'd be delighted with how that game went if I was from Tyrone, they played within themselves but upped it when they had to.

100%.

Won the game without some of our biggest players doing well on the day.

Got put under some decent pressure and were asked to respond; which they did - finding another gear when it mattered.

McCurry and McShane, two players who have got their fair share of stick stood up to be counted

All in all a good game to come through - winning by 10+ points would have meant nothing

A good day out.
Post by: Fuzzman on May 13, 2019, 10:38:45 AM
Yeah I'd agree. Both teams will probably be happy enough.
Derry a Div 3 time who should probably be a Div 2 team if they got their house in gear played well after a slow start and did as we expected in that they "hung in" there and were still in the game with 15 mins left.
I said to the lads beside me this is the sort of game where you're 3 or 4 in front and think you're doing just OK and then suddenly they get a goal and their tails are up. Sure enough that happened but it was the making of Tyrone then as they "upped a gear" and answered the question being asked.

Yes I'm glad McShane is answering those doubters (I had one standing next to me) and scored 6 or 7 points I think. He is good under the high ball and even showed composure know when to punch it over and did he score one with his left foot too.
Cassidy and Richie scored a few nice points as well but I've been saying Sludden has been off the pace for some time now and with the fierce competition for places, if I was a sub I'd be asking why is he getting more of a chance than me.

I was delighted to see McCurry not just happy to tap over a point but to take his man on and go for goal. I think we've been lacking that for a good while now and far too often we take the easy tap over point. If we have ideas about beating Kerry, Mayo and Dublin later in the year, we need forwards who can do that more and more.

Wasn't too impressed with the ref if I'm honest. Thought he got a lot of calls wrong including pulling Derry for a "off the ground" when it was at least 2 inches off the ground.
Post by: rrhf on May 13, 2019, 10:51:30 AM
Think the likes of sludden, cavanagh,Mc Cann and to a lesser extent harte will spend more time
Adopting to the higher levels of longer ball etc and faster movement of the ball. All are more than capable of playing big roles although the gameplan is less dependent perhaps on them. That is a good thing as those 4 and Matty were key targets of the likes of the dubs and Tyrone were shut down when they were.
Post by: clarshack on May 13, 2019, 11:01:37 AM
Quote from: tyroneman on May 13, 2019, 09:25:30 AM
Quote from: haranguerer on May 13, 2019, 08:43:37 AM

100%.

Won the game without some of our biggest players doing well on the day.

Got put under some decent pressure and were asked to respond; which they did - finding another gear when it mattered.

McCurry and McShane, two players who have got their fair share of stick stood up to be counted

All in all a good game to come through - winning by 10+ points would have meant nothing

A good day out.

when you live near the Tyrone/Derry border winning by 10+ points means everything lol
Post by: greatpoint on May 13, 2019, 03:32:18 PM
Tyrone struggling against a division 4 Derry wasn't what I was expecting to see after all the discussion of their rebirth as an all out attacking superpower.
Post by: trailer on May 13, 2019, 04:58:58 PM
As a nice anecdote I was located with a few Tyrone ones but ringed by a good few Derry 'wans'. All fairly cordial, bit of good-natured back n' forth, nicey nicey.
Bang! The Derry goal went in. The mask slips. Jesus didn't the hatred re-emerge from the depths. Sickening the way they went on for all of 5 mins.
Bang! Tyrone goal. Order restored. Over zealous and fairly robust celebrations. Enjoyed it to be honest. A wee reminded of what it was like years ago when Derry were alright.

Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on May 13, 2019, 05:07:07 PM
Quote from: greatpoint on May 13, 2019, 03:32:18 PM
Tyrone struggling against a division 4 Derry wasn't what I was expecting to see after all the discussion of their rebirth as an all out attacking superpower.

That's right, we're feck all to be worried about. :)
Post by: TheOptimist on May 13, 2019, 05:10:07 PM
Quote from: trailer on May 13, 2019, 04:58:58 PM
As a nice anecdote I was located with a few Tyrone ones but ringed by a good few Derry 'wans'. All fairly cordial, bit of good-natured back n' forth, nicey nicey.
Bang! The Derry goal went in. The mask slips. Jesus didn't the hatred re-emerge from the depths. Sickening the way they went on for all of 5 mins.
Bang! Tyrone goal. Order restored. Over zealous and fairly robust celebrations. Enjoyed it to be honest. A wee reminded of what it was like years ago when Derry were alright.

A wee reminder of what you were saying yesterday there below. You clearly know your stuff. Ive been working in Tyrone for 6 years and keep hearing yous are the team to challenge Dublin and still waiting

Quote from: BennyCake on May 12, 2019, 12:16:58 PM

Tyrone 2-20
Derry 0-12

Generous. Doubtful Derry will hit double figures.
Post by: omagh_gael on May 13, 2019, 05:44:02 PM
Quote from: greatpoint on May 13, 2019, 03:32:18 PM

Just burning off the dirty diesel.

Tbh, Derry being in division 4 is no reflection of the quality in their side. It's no surprise they slipped to that level when you see that their main men yesterday were the S'neil lads who missed large chunk of the last 3/4 years. The spine of the team (Rodgers, McKeigue, Cassidy and McGuigan) did most of the damage alongside Enda Lynn. Derry will cause a lot of trouble thus year for most teams outside of the top 4.

Post by: tyroneman on May 13, 2019, 06:05:39 PM

Sure in 2016 the Derry wans made a show of themselves hugging and dancing in the stands at the Athletic gorunds when they went 3 up heading for home in the McKenna cup final - and this was against 13 men.

Quiet enough when Tyrone got the game to ET and then hammered them out the gate.......
Post by: shantygael on May 13, 2019, 06:40:24 PM
Quote from: tyroneman on May 13, 2019, 06:05:39 PM

Sure in 2016 the Derry wans made a show of themselves hugging and dancing in the stands at the Athletic gorunds when they went 3 up heading for home in the McKenna cup final - and this was against 13 men.

Quiet enough when Tyrone got the game to ET and then hammered them out the gate.......
Jesus wept.
Post by: Fuzzman on May 14, 2019, 11:29:18 AM
Is that a Dublin avatar you have there Shanty?
Jesus wept!!  :o

It's only natural lads when you're team are massive underdogs and they score a goal or go ahead that they will overreact and enjoy the moment. I wouldn't be too hard on them in those incidents.

Post by: shantygael on May 14, 2019, 01:46:17 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on May 14, 2019, 11:29:18 AM

It's only natural lads when you're team are massive underdogs and they score a goal or go ahead that they will overreact and enjoy the moment. I wouldn't be too hard on them in those incidents.

Nothing but🇧🇼
Post by: omaghjoe on May 14, 2019, 06:14:04 PM
Thought we did well enuff. Derry aren't a div 4 team they have some top quality players that were looking pretty sharp and dangerous at times esp the slaughtneil men and we dealt with them comfortably efficiently.

Donnelly's and mcshane were our stand outs. Thought Cassidy did well on his debut but gave away a few silly inexperienced scorable frees. McCurry goal was great he just backed himself nice to see that ruthlessness.

Also derry gave us a few areas to work at. Namely being run at discipline and to give harte and sludden a good shake before the match starts.

Ref was a fussy boliox

Post by: tonto1888 on May 15, 2019, 05:47:27 AM
Quote from: Fuzzman on May 14, 2019, 11:29:18 AM

I agree. The McKenna cup final this year being a case in point. It was a throwback to the 2000s. And everyone shook hands after and wished each other well. The way it should be