Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: God14 on June 12, 2017, 09:24:01 PM

Title: MOT query
Post by: God14 on June 12, 2017, 09:24:01 PM
Car up for mot in the morning.
Tore house upside down, cant find v5c form
Is this essential? Can I get the test without it ?
Title: Re: MOT query
Post by: Minder on June 12, 2017, 09:28:11 PM
Quote from: God14 on June 12, 2017, 09:24:01 PM
Car up for mot in the morning.
Tore house upside down, cant find v5c form
Is this essential? Can I get the test without it ?

Had mine last week in Balmoral and they didn't ask for any paperwork
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on June 12, 2017, 09:29:12 PM
So long as you get there on time and get into the right lane you're grand. Never had any paperwork
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 12, 2017, 09:29:21 PM
I have never been asked for any paperwork. Turn up at the right time in the right lane and the only thing you'll get asked for is your mileage.
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 12, 2017, 09:30:12 PM
Sound advice there from BC1  ;D
Post by: 5 Sams on June 12, 2017, 09:50:39 PM
Dont make the same mistake I made. Booked the car into Armagh a few years ago for the MOT. Was turned down on "rusty brake pipes". Brought it back to the mechanic..he said he couldnt find anything wrong with it. Put it through the retest in Newry without doing anything to it. Sailed through. The lad in the Newry MOT centre looked at me wild..said there was nothing wrong with the pipes..he couldnt believe it. I thought tyhe original decision might have had something to do with the copy of the Irish News and the GAA jacket on the back seat but I couldnt possibly comment :-\ :-\ :-\ :-\

BTW I agree with BC1 and the others...no paperwork needed.
Post by: Windmill abu on June 12, 2017, 10:17:59 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on June 12, 2017, 09:50:39 PM
Dont make the same mistake I made. Booked the car into Armagh a few years ago for the MOT. Was turned down on "rusty brake pipes". Brought it back to the mechanic..he said he couldnt find anything wrong with it. Put it through the retest in Newry without doing anything to it. Sailed through. The lad in the Newry MOT centre looked at me wild..said there was nothing wrong with the pipes..he couldnt believe it. I thought tyhe original decision might have had something to do with the copy of the Irish News and the GAA jacket on the back seat but I couldnt possibly comment :-\ :-\ :-\ :-\

Do you think he was a shinner and thought you were a stoop?
Post by: Frank_The_Tank on June 12, 2017, 11:48:12 PM
Also i have never taken car for MOT car wash before taking it to Test centre.  As long as it isnt completely covered in dirt that MOT wash is a complete waste of money IMO
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on June 13, 2017, 09:45:45 AM
Quote from: Frank_The_Tank on June 12, 2017, 11:48:12 PM
Also i have never taken car for MOT car wash before taking it to Test centre.  As long as it isnt completely covered in dirt that MOT wash is a complete waste of money IMO

I never have either but I know that in the country areas the amount of shite that accumulates on the undercarriage can make it very difficult for the examiner to see. It could make the decision for them on a touch and go and a mechanic who worked as an examiner before told me that
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 13, 2017, 01:29:38 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on June 13, 2017, 09:45:45 AM
Quote from: Frank_The_Tank on June 12, 2017, 11:48:12 PM

I never have either but I know that in the country areas the amount of shite that accumulates on the undercarriage can make it very difficult for the examiner to see. It could make the decision for them on a touch and go and a mechanic who worked as an examiner before told me that
I was told before if I came back with the undercarriage dirty they'd send me home as they can't see splits in the brake pipes. The examiner had to clean them with a cloth.  :-[
Post by: Milltown Row2 on June 13, 2017, 01:37:17 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on June 12, 2017, 09:50:39 PM

Id the opposite happen, years ago when the MOT testers were on strike and there was a back backlog I'd to go to Downpatrick to get the car MOT'd, usual, never did a thing to the car beforehand, let them fail it first before doing any work...

got there and was chatting to the examinier and he noticed the hurls and kit bags in the boot from the team... GAA man he was and the car was failing in a couple of minor points, he let me know what they were  and told me the wheel is off the hub and made sure I put the wheel on properly and set me on my way!!!
Post by: Taylor on June 13, 2017, 01:39:48 PM
No paperwork required.

Get there early. If the car is a few years old not worth your while doing anything to it - see what they fail it on first.
Post by: playwiththewind1st on June 13, 2017, 05:58:51 PM
Was in Boucher Road a few Saturdays ago. Brought everything needed, in terms of  paperwork, wasn't asked for anything. The day you don't bring it will be the day you'll be asked for it!
Post by: God14 on June 13, 2017, 08:54:34 PM
Anyhow thanks for the info. Car passed mot and I was never asked for any paperwork tg
Post by: armaghniac on June 13, 2017, 09:50:10 PM
When Ireland is united you will have to bring your paperwork, and get a proper test of the yoke too.
Post by: snoopdog on June 13, 2017, 10:49:23 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on June 13, 2017, 09:50:10 PM
When Ireland is united you will have to bring your paperwork, and get a proper test of the yoke too.
[/quote,
Yep the NCT is a pain in the hole.
Post by: ONeill on June 13, 2017, 10:50:37 PM
I find if you do a bit of flirting you're flyin.
Post by: paddyjohn on June 14, 2017, 12:22:34 AM
Just be careful as my wife went to MOT a few weeks back and they asked her for every bit of paperwork. Beer serious fraud in the test centres around Mallusk and Larne and possibly Ballymena over the last 6months. Throw a test man £100 and he'll give you a test certificate no questions asked. I never thought it was possible but clearly it is.
Post by: MoChara on June 14, 2017, 09:33:22 AM
Quote from: snoopdog on June 13, 2017, 10:49:23 PM
Yep the NCT is a pain in the hole.

Would the NCT be a lot strcter than the MOT?
Post by: Taylor on June 14, 2017, 09:40:37 AM

Pity they werent as strict with who they let drive on the road or give licenses to
Post by: on the sideline on July 07, 2017, 01:45:44 PM
Up for the test in the morning. Just got two new tyres put on the front of her.  Was going to get the 4 wheels lined but their ramp wasn't sitting level so they couldn't do it.  Just wondering if I need to get her lined before the test tomorrow or would it do til afterwards? Like is there any point when they're gonna be pulling and banging at it tomorrow? Getting it lined moreso to stop tyres wearing or one side of them wearing more than the other. Thanks.
Post by: Jim Bob on August 02, 2019, 10:14:11 PM
Anyone having bother getting an MOT date before their current expires ?
Got my letter this morning for car which is due at end of September. Earliest I can get online is October during day which does not suit.
Whats happening out there anyway? Is it as bad as it appears to be ?
Post by: An Watcher on August 02, 2019, 10:32:01 PM
Had to get an appointment a few weeks back by the 10th of August. Best I could get initially was 20th August. I went ahead and booked this and then checked morning and night for a few days until I spotted an 8th August date. Happy days, all sorted, no problems.
Don't think you're going to get your date straight away but book the best available and then change it shortly after.
Post by: screenexile on August 02, 2019, 11:06:33 PM
Get online at 9 in the morning when they release the cancellations it's your only bet.

I haven't the letter yet but I'm due early September and when I heard the problems booked at the end of June to be sure so was able to get an appointment in time but yeah I think it's pretty bad at the minute!!
Post by: playwiththewind1st on August 03, 2019, 12:56:42 PM
Mine was up at end of June & i was going to be away. You can get it done up to a month in advance, so I had it done at end of May. There's no reason to wait for any letter.  If you're organised at all, it shouldn't be a problem.
Post by: RedHand88 on August 03, 2019, 01:04:56 PM
If you're prepared to try more than 1 centre and check every morning at 9, there is absolutely no problem. Got mine in June for 5days from when I booked it.
Post by: Jim Bob on August 06, 2019, 07:12:26 AM
Got an appointment but not in my local mot centre.
If I spot a suitable appointment in my locality the meantime, , am I able to do a online transfer?
Post by: trailer on August 06, 2019, 08:23:22 AM
Quote from: Jim Bob on August 06, 2019, 07:12:26 AM
If I spot a suitable appointment in my locality the meantime, , am I able to do a online transfer?

Yeah it's fairly simple. Try and check around 9:00 and you'll get a cancellation.
Here's the link.
https://www.dvtaonlineni.gov.uk/public/changeVehicleAppointment_1CollectInfo.aspx (https://www.dvtaonlineni.gov.uk/public/changeVehicleAppointment_1CollectInfo.aspx)
Post by: Jim Bob on August 06, 2019, 09:17:17 AM
Quote from: trailer on August 06, 2019, 08:23:22 AM
Quote from: Jim Bob on August 06, 2019, 07:12:26 AM

Yeah it's fairly simple. Try and check around 9:00 and you'll get a cancellation.
Here's the link.
https://www.dvtaonlineni.gov.uk/public/changeVehicleAppointment_1CollectInfo.aspx (https://www.dvtaonlineni.gov.uk/public/changeVehicleAppointment_1CollectInfo.aspx)

Cheers. Good man
Post by: BennyCake on March 04, 2020, 04:42:54 PM
Here, what's the situation around the MOT test now?

Mine is up mid May. Will probably get a reminder early to mid April.

At this stage, how long of a delay is there?
Post by: Stevie Nicks on March 04, 2020, 04:58:51 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on March 04, 2020, 04:42:54 PM

Mine is up at end of March, booked and paid as normal and got a slot on the 12th. Just got an exemption form in post today which is valid until end of July. Money to be refunded and up to me to rebook before end of July.
Post by: BennyCake on March 04, 2020, 07:00:11 PM
Quote from: Stevie Nicks on March 04, 2020, 04:58:51 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on March 04, 2020, 04:42:54 PM

Mine is up at end of March, booked and paid as normal and got a slot on the 12th. Just got an exemption form in post today which is valid until end of July. Money to be refunded and up to me to rebook before end of July.

So how far ahead are you able to book?
Post by: BennyCake on June 22, 2020, 02:31:02 PM
I thought MOT cover notes were being sent out automatically?

Haven't got one yet, and MOT is up end of June.

What's the deal? Anybody else in this predicament?
Post by: MoChara on June 22, 2020, 02:33:26 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on June 22, 2020, 02:31:02 PM

I had two cars coming up on their dates and both automatically updated, previous to covid you had to book the test and then you received the extension.

I bought a car during all this and changed owner online but its near 10 weeks and no Tax book yet, anyone else have this problem?
Post by: BennyCake on June 22, 2020, 02:56:18 PM
Quote from: MoChara on June 22, 2020, 02:33:26 PM

I had two cars coming up on their dates and both automatically updated, previous to covid you had to book the test and then you received the extension.

Yes, I had to book a couple months ago for a MOT. They then sent out a cover note. But you can't book a test online now, they're supposed to just send you out a cover note automatically.

Also, you can check online when your MOT expires. Still says end of June
Post by: shantygael on June 22, 2020, 08:36:41 PM

I bought a car during all this and changed owner online but its near 10 weeks and no Tax book yet, anyone else have this problem?
Bought  a car from prentice trade ,portadown 9th march, no log book yet ,only got through to them last week as they are back at work now,they said they are dealing with it and are to get back to me. Swansea hard to get through to doesn't help. Typed registration  into dvla website and car is  coming up as taxed and mot renewed automatically from Saturday for 6 months.
Post by: JohnDenver on June 22, 2020, 10:30:46 PM
Quote from: shantygael on June 22, 2020, 08:36:41 PM

Bought  a car from prentice trade ,portadown 9th march, no log book yet ,only got through to them last week as they are back at work now,they said they are dealing with it and are to get back to me. Swansea hard to get through to doesn't help. Typed registration  into dvla website and car is  coming up as taxed and mot renewed automatically from Saturday for 6 months.

What's the idea with the 6 month exemption - my reckoning was that it was 12 months exemption unless you car is 4 years old and waiting on it's first MOT?

https://www.nidirect.gov.uk/articles/coronavirus-covid-19-and-motoring (https://www.nidirect.gov.uk/articles/coronavirus-covid-19-and-motoring)
Post by: MoChara on June 22, 2020, 10:31:49 PM
Quote from: shantygael on June 22, 2020, 08:36:41 PM

Yeah at the bottom of that gov website it says date last log book issues and it's still from last year is what concerns me, the last boy who had her wouldn't be happy getting my m50 notifications in
Post by: thebuzz on September 14, 2020, 03:50:36 PM
The son got a notification to say that his MOT is due on 01st October. Happy enough to have got an extra six months out of it with the lockdown.

However it says on the reminder that you can only book by phone and all you get is an instant message saying that 'Our lines are extremely busy, please try again later'. To me that is atrocious service. You wouldn't mind holding in a queue if you were going to get answered sometime. Anyone else experiencing this?
Post by: imtommygunn on September 14, 2020, 03:53:24 PM
Not personally but I was talking to a boy who was ranting on facebook about it and he sounds to be in the same conundrum.
Post by: redzone on September 14, 2020, 06:12:36 PM
You can check online, they have prob already give u another extension
Post by: johnnycool on September 15, 2020, 05:14:36 PM
Quote from: redzone on September 14, 2020, 06:12:36 PM

All Im seeing is that MOT's are currently suspended.......

https://www.nidirect.gov.uk/articles/book-view-change-or-cancel-mot-vehicle-test (https://www.nidirect.gov.uk/articles/book-view-change-or-cancel-mot-vehicle-test)
Post by: Minder on September 15, 2020, 06:15:27 PM
Quote from: hardstation on September 15, 2020, 05:21:40 PM
Quote from: johnnycool on September 15, 2020, 05:14:36 PM

https://www.nidirect.gov.uk/articles/book-view-change-or-cancel-mot-vehicle-test (https://www.nidirect.gov.uk/articles/book-view-change-or-cancel-mot-vehicle-test)
You can check when your car is due tax/mot by putting in registration. This is where I've seen my MOT date moved back twice. Google "check car tax" or something.

I think this is what redzone means?

Yeah after checking that they have pushed mine on until April 21

https://www.gov.uk/check-mot-status
Post by: marty34 on September 15, 2020, 06:43:36 PM
Quote from: Minder on September 15, 2020, 06:15:27 PM

You can check when your car is due tax/mot by putting in registration. This is where I've seen my MOT date moved back twice. Google "check car tax" or something.

When do they stop pushing the MOT's back?
My wagon is up for MOT in December - I wonder will they be back up and running full steam at that stage or will there still be a backlog?
Post by: Minder on September 15, 2020, 06:49:09 PM
Quote from: marty34 on September 15, 2020, 06:43:36 PM
Quote from: Minder on September 15, 2020, 06:15:27 PM

When do they stop pushing the MOT's back?
My wagon is up for MOT in December - I wonder will they be back up and running full steam at that stage or will there still be a backlog?

I would say you will be extended, mine was due late October
Post by: nrico2006 on October 05, 2021, 05:31:39 PM
Anybody know what the story is if your MOT appointment is set for the end of October yet your tax is up from 1st of this month - are you able to get your vehicle taxed?
Post by: BennyCake on October 05, 2021, 06:04:23 PM
Quote from: nrico2006 on October 05, 2021, 05:31:39 PM
Anybody know what the story is if your MOT appointment is set for the end of October yet your tax is up from 1st of this month - are you able to get your vehicle taxed?

What date does your MOT expire?
Post by: nrico2006 on October 05, 2021, 06:24:23 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on October 05, 2021, 06:04:23 PM

2 weeks ago.
Post by: BennyCake on October 06, 2021, 03:02:34 PM
Quote from: nrico2006 on October 05, 2021, 06:24:23 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on October 05, 2021, 06:04:23 PM

2 weeks ago.

Well, you need to either have a car taxed or SORN'ed.

But I'm not 100% sure what documents they ask for in the post office when taxing. Insurance definitely. Not sure if they ask for MOT. So you could probably tax it without showing a MOT certificate , but technically you'll still not be able to drive it as the MOT has expired

You could SORN it until after it goes through MOT. Plus if MOT is at end of Oct, and it passed, tax it from 1 Nov and you're saved the cost of a month's tax!  ;)

PS. Although if you SORN it now, you might draw attention to the fact you didn't do it from 1 Oct. I think they give you a few days leeway to get it taxed before they send a fine. So maybe best to go tax her.
Post by: trueblue1234 on October 06, 2021, 03:36:43 PM
Just leave it, get it mot'd then tax it straight away. You have to backdate tax to last date it was taxed. Maybe keep an eye for cancellations.
Keep off the road in meantime.
Post by: LeoMc on October 06, 2021, 03:42:16 PM
I tried to tax mine online  a couple of days before MOT and got a warning the car was not MOT'ed and couldn't complete the transaction.
Post by: WeeDonns on October 06, 2021, 03:51:34 PM
Hi, I was in this scenario.
Tax for the car is £0, but I couldn't renew the tax online as MoT due date had passed & my Mot test was for 2 weeks later
I've since received 2 debt collection letters on behalf of the DVLA for a £80 fine, will see if I get another
I think you should go to a Post Office that does tax & they'll sort it
Post by: Armagh18 on October 06, 2021, 03:58:07 PM
Quote from: trueblue1234 on October 06, 2021, 03:36:43 PM
Just leave it, get it mot'd then tax it straight away. You have to backdate tax to last date it was taxed. Maybe keep an eye for cancellations.
I think they're being fairly ok you won't get done for no mot if ye have it booked unless you get a real p***k.
Post by: trueblue1234 on October 06, 2021, 04:01:34 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on October 06, 2021, 03:58:07 PM
I think they're being fairly ok you won't get done for no mot if ye have it booked unless you get a real p***k.
Yeah but insurance can be the issue. You'd be covered 3rd party but may have an issue with your own claim if anything happened with no mot or tax. They can challenge your claim. Prob low risk but something to be aware of.
Post by: Rich Ricci on October 06, 2021, 05:33:47 PM
Quote from: trueblue1234 on October 06, 2021, 04:01:34 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on October 06, 2021, 03:58:07 PM
Yeah but insurance can be the issue. You'd be covered 3rd party but may have an issue with your own claim if anything happened with no mot or tax. They can challenge your claim. Prob low risk but something to be aware of.

My MOT will have expired by the time the date of my test comes around. As stated the cops are willing to let it slide so long as you have proof of the test being booked and the car is road worthy.

In terms of insurance the letter said that the body who regulates these English insurance companies are aware of the back log. I also contacted my own company (hastings) and they said that I would still be covered.
Post by: imtommygunn on April 23, 2022, 08:38:01 PM
I dunno what has gone on with reminders but they seem to have just stopped. As for dispensations etc not sure but there are severe backlogs.
Post by: delgany on April 23, 2022, 08:58:50 PM
Quote from: The CCCC on April 23, 2022, 08:43:50 PM
Best job could be to just email them directly and see although I could be waiting a while on a reply.

I got a reminder letter for May 23rd, last week. Just missed a booking for 20th by a whisker! Nearest date , I could get was on 16th July in Craigavon. Spotted some centres were booked up to Sept.
Post by: Armagh18 on April 23, 2022, 09:01:39 PM
Quote from: delgany on April 23, 2022, 08:58:50 PM
Best job could be to just email them directly and see although I could be waiting a while on a reply.

I got a reminder letter for May 23rd, last week. Just missed a booking for 20th by a whisker! Nearest date , I could get was on 16th July in Craigavon. Spotted some centres were booked up to Sept.
keep checking online, you've always a good chance of a cancellation check everywhere
Post by: johnnycool on April 24, 2022, 10:52:33 AM
Quote from: Armagh18 on April 23, 2022, 09:01:39 PM

keep checking online, you've always a good chance of a cancellation check everywhere

I'm in the same boat, car MOT up last week and have been booking and checking for weeks now, still the best date I have is the 30th of July....

Post by: nrico2006 on April 24, 2022, 11:04:15 AM
We have the worst politicians about as we know and this is another example of their failings. If something is broke, you fix it. But how is this situation still occurring when it's been going on for some time now. If you can't get an MOT appointment then you can't tax your car. The problem lies with a system not fit fir purpose and the drivers shouldn't be walking a legal tightrope as a result of it. How many years later and still no work around to accommodate the thousands of people in this predicament.
Post by: Tony Baloney on April 24, 2022, 12:49:50 PM
MOT is only one of the many, many failings in this place. Over 5 years to see a NHS consultant, MOTs, roads full of potholes etc. etc. It's a long list but still the focus is on shite the absolute minority of people are interested in.

Re. the OP I got an MOT reminder letter and was able to book a slot in Craigavon before the due date but nearly everywhere else in the North has no availability for months.
Post by: general_lee on April 24, 2022, 12:56:58 PM
My MOT was due in January, had the reminder well before Christmas so had it booked well in advance. Tested positive for covid so missed the test. Booked in again and the next date was this Friday 29th April. As far as I'm aware you can drive with no MOT so long as you have proof of a test being booked.
Post by: delgany on April 24, 2022, 01:08:09 PM
Quote from: johnnycool on April 24, 2022, 10:52:33 AM

I'm in the same boat, car MOT up last week and have been booking and checking for weeks now, still the best date I have is the 30th of July....

If you already have a booking, it won't let you re apply
Post by: Rois on April 24, 2022, 01:35:22 PM
It will - just go to change booking and see if anything is available that you want to change to. If not, just don't go ahead with it and cancel out of the screen. Did it myself.
Apparently cancellations come on at 10am.
Post by: johnnycool on April 25, 2022, 10:52:19 AM
Quote from: delgany on April 24, 2022, 01:08:09 PM

I was using this;

https://www.nidirect.gov.uk/services/change-your-mot-vehicle-test-appointment-online (https://www.nidirect.gov.uk/services/change-your-mot-vehicle-test-appointment-online)
Post by: delgany on April 26, 2022, 10:18:34 AM
Quote from: johnnycool on April 25, 2022, 10:52:19 AM
Quote from: delgany on April 24, 2022, 01:08:09 PM

I was using this;

https://www.nidirect.gov.uk/services/change-your-mot-vehicle-test-appointment-online (https://www.nidirect.gov.uk/services/change-your-mot-vehicle-test-appointment-online)

Cheers for that , got sorted !