Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Boycey on August 06, 2018, 03:03:00 PM

Title: Predict the Premier League
Post by: Boycey on August 06, 2018, 03:03:00 PM
Folks in the spirit of the prediction competition that worked so well during the World Cup I've created a league on this site https://premierleague.predictthefootball.com/ just enter the code 684689 once you have registered. I will donate €50 to the chosen charity of the winner at the end. Its a long season and your interest could wane if not going well so there is scope for a manager of the month competition too if others want to pledge €10/€20 for each month..

The Predict the Football scoring system works as follows:

* 3 points for predicting an exact score
* 1 point for predicting the correct result (ie. you correctly predict the winner, or you correctly predict a draw, but by the wrong number of goals).
*2 point bonus for predicting the correct result if that result was predicted by less than 20% of your competitors.
*2 point bonus for predicting the exact score if that score was predicted by less than 5% of your competitors.
Title: Re: Predict the Premier League
Post by: Boycey on August 07, 2018, 10:58:21 AM
Ah Jaysus lads someone join me  ;D
Post by: AZOffaly on August 07, 2018, 11:30:09 AM
Quote from: Boycey on August 07, 2018, 10:58:21 AM

I'm in.
Post by: LooseCannon on August 07, 2018, 01:16:55 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on August 07, 2018, 11:30:09 AM

I'm in.
As am I.

I see that you tip United to win the league.
Post by: AZOffaly on August 07, 2018, 01:21:40 PM
Quote from: LooseCannon on August 07, 2018, 01:16:55 PM

I'm in.
As am I.

Yep. I'm continuing my MR2 approach to scudding them.
Post by: BennyCake on August 07, 2018, 03:11:15 PM
Is this free or what? What's this €10 a month all about?
Post by: LooseCannon on August 07, 2018, 03:13:28 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on August 07, 2018, 03:11:15 PM
Tis free.
Post by: Dinny Breen on August 07, 2018, 03:19:42 PM
I'm in. Will sponsor a monthly winner too.

Just put up regular updates so people won't forget.
Post by: BennyCake on August 07, 2018, 03:47:15 PM
Apparently I'm in. Although like Cyril McDuff, I haven't a clue what's going on!
Post by: laoislad on August 07, 2018, 03:58:32 PM

I'm in.
As am I.

AZ is a closet United fan.
Post by: AZOffaly on August 07, 2018, 03:59:08 PM
Quote from: laoislad on August 07, 2018, 03:58:32 PM

I'm in.
As am I.

Jesus
Post by: BennyCake on August 07, 2018, 04:05:04 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on August 07, 2018, 03:59:08 PM

I'm in.
As am I.

Jesus

Fuckin' hell!
Post by: Dinny Breen on August 07, 2018, 04:06:52 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on August 07, 2018, 04:05:04 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on August 07, 2018, 03:59:08 PM

I'm in.
As am I.

Jesus

Fuckin' hell!

Knew it.
Post by: Boycey on August 07, 2018, 04:37:46 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on August 07, 2018, 03:11:15 PM

Sorry if I explained myself badly, yes it's free. I'm sponsoring €50 to a charity of winners choice but was throwing out the idea that others could sponsor monthly prizes for charity should they wish.
Post by: Boycey on August 08, 2018, 08:11:18 PM
Bump before it falls off 1st page
Post by: Cunny Funt on August 09, 2018, 02:07:00 PM
Just the ten joined so far. Is our World cup winner not taking part?
Post by: Boycey on August 09, 2018, 05:37:15 PM
Up to 12 now  :)
Post by: Boycey on August 10, 2018, 11:04:48 AM
bumpity bump... Details in 1st post.

Laoislad has created a Fantasy Football one too

https://fantasy.premierleague.com
Code: 4024684-899565

Post by: Boycey on August 10, 2018, 07:19:53 PM
Anyone who did register your 1st weekend predictions need to be in before 8PM..
Post by: Milltown Row2 on August 12, 2018, 08:39:20 PM
Why would you get 5  points for one correct score and only 3 points for another?
Post by: Boycey on August 12, 2018, 09:03:19 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on August 12, 2018, 08:39:20 PM
Why would you get 5  points for one correct score and only 3 points for another?

It's an extra 2 points for getting a correct result that less than 5% of people got. An unnecessary complication in my opinion.
Post by: BennyCake on August 13, 2018, 06:12:47 PM
Quote from: Boycey on August 12, 2018, 09:03:19 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on August 12, 2018, 08:39:20 PM

It's an extra 2 points for getting a correct result that less than 5% of people got. An unnecessary complication in my opinion.

And mine.
Post by: Dinny Breen on August 17, 2018, 12:08:57 PM
bump
Post by: Dinny Breen on August 24, 2018, 10:15:54 AM
bump
Post by: Boycey on August 31, 2018, 12:00:41 PM
that time of the week..
Post by: Dinny Breen on September 14, 2018, 03:39:16 PM
bump
Post by: LooseCannon on September 20, 2018, 07:17:26 PM
BUMP
Post by: Boycey on September 22, 2018, 10:00:23 AM
Sat morning bump..
Post by: BennyCake on September 23, 2018, 07:27:12 PM
Feckin thing didn't take my scores!
Post by: Milltown Row2 on September 23, 2018, 07:54:21 PM
You must have not saved it! Anyways this set up means you can be back quick enough  at the top
Post by: BennyCake on September 23, 2018, 09:29:29 PM
I hit save but obviously didn't work. Was wondering why I kept scoring 0  >:(
Post by: Boycey on September 29, 2018, 09:18:58 AM
Bump
Post by: LooseCannon on October 05, 2018, 11:57:42 PM
Bump. Ah shite, missed tonight's game.
Post by: Boycey on October 20, 2018, 10:36:25 AM
Bump
Post by: SHEEDY on October 25, 2018, 05:26:18 PM
bump
Post by: Boycey on November 02, 2018, 10:32:43 PM
Bump
Post by: LooseCannon on November 09, 2018, 06:01:08 PM
BUMP.
Post by: BennyCake on August 10, 2019, 03:35:50 PM
Is it just me playing then?

(Cue the w**king jokes)
Post by: BennyCake on August 30, 2019, 06:37:42 PM
Er, bump?
Post by: LooseCannon on August 30, 2019, 11:28:28 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on August 30, 2019, 06:37:42 PM
Er, bump?
Many in it? I'd keep forgetting.
Post by: BennyCake on August 31, 2019, 12:10:41 AM
Quote from: LooseCannon on August 30, 2019, 11:28:28 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on August 30, 2019, 06:37:42 PM
Er, bump?
Many in it? I'd keep forgetting.

Dozens in it
Post by: BennyCake on August 31, 2019, 08:57:04 PM
@cunny Funt - at least we'll both be guaranteed a champions league spot for next season! :D
Post by: Cunny Funt on August 31, 2019, 10:00:54 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on August 31, 2019, 08:57:04 PM
@cunny Funt - at least we'll both be guaranteed a champions league spot for next season! :D

Yeah the rest has no interest it seems.
Post by: BennyCake on September 13, 2019, 10:54:59 PM
Meh!
Post by: BennyCake on October 04, 2019, 09:03:00 PM
Cmon lads, I'm running away with this  ;D
Post by: BennyCake on September 22, 2020, 08:18:32 PM
Anyone playing this season?