Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on November 29, 2009, 06:48:41 AM

Poll
Question: Which do you like more?
Option 1: Dogs - cool bastards. votes: 30
Option 2: Cats - savage cnuts. votes: 13
Option 3: Gerbils votes: 6
Title: Dogs kick ass, cats are just evil!
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on November 29, 2009, 06:48:41 AM
Dogs every time for me, loyal, friendly and great family pets.

Have the pup sitting at my feet at the minute.

Whats your view.
Title: Re: Dogs kick ass, cats are just evil!
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on November 29, 2009, 07:00:38 AM
(http://puppydogweb.com/gallery/englishspringerspaniels/englishspringerspaniel_lane.jpg)

How could you not love this?
Post by: SLIGONIAN on November 29, 2009, 08:54:26 AM
Im 100% with you on this one, Dogs are class.

I found this abandoned dog in the desert left out there by some heartless pricks. Been taking care of her for a few weeks now. She was extremely thin and hungry but getting better. Absolutley class dog, great for walks etc... havent fully trained her yet, shes only 1 yr old. Shes a real pet.

(http://i301.photobucket.com/albums/nn67/SLIGONIAN2007/069.jpg)

(http://i301.photobucket.com/albums/nn67/SLIGONIAN2007/065.jpg)

(http://i301.photobucket.com/albums/nn67/SLIGONIAN2007/075.jpg)
Post by: SLIGONIAN on November 29, 2009, 09:04:28 AM
This is our pet in the home place, another great dog.

(http://i301.photobucket.com/albums/nn67/SLIGONIAN2007/ronan156.jpg)
Post by: longrunsthefox on November 29, 2009, 11:44:14 AM
As a member of the dog family, I find a lot of this mealy mouthed rhetoric very hypocrital. No-one has ever taken me into their homes and taken cute little snaps of me on their sofa. What's more I have seen dogs, distant relatives, trained to chase and tear me and my family apart.
So... basically, youse can go f** yourselves  :-\
Post by: Dougal Maguire on November 29, 2009, 11:50:37 AM
My young lad recently started keeping chickens, 5 in total, and 3 of them have now started laying.  However I've heard a rumour that you were seen in the local hardware shop buying 5 roasting tins and some tin foil and I'm concerned. Can you give me an assurance that your proposed actions are honorable.
Post by: longrunsthefox on November 29, 2009, 11:55:00 AM
FR Dougal, have you not got more pressing problems to address this morning? :o   If you or your young lad  :P  take me into your home, care for me, delouse me, give me loads of food and take pretty pics of me... the chickens will be safe. You have my word.
Post by: Dougal Maguire on November 29, 2009, 12:09:24 PM
Aw sure I've given up on the oul religion now Fox that's why I'm posting on a Sunday morning and not saying mass.
Post by: Agnes Dipesto on November 29, 2009, 12:12:46 PM
Don't mind dogs but totally hate cats. My neighbour keeps cats and they are constantly shitting in my garden, not good when the kids are always playing there. I go mad if i see them skulking round the place.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on November 29, 2009, 01:36:19 PM
Without dogs we would never have gained the competitive advantage to out hunt other animals and prosper. Dogs allowed us to survive.

Without cats our hunted/gathered food and later farmed food stocks would have been diminished by vermin. Cats allowed is to thrive.

For this I would be a big fan of both.
Post by: AFS on November 29, 2009, 01:59:42 PM
Cats are pricks.
Post by: windyshepardhenderson on November 29, 2009, 02:13:52 PM
cats are just glorified rats that piss all over the place
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 29, 2009, 02:23:21 PM
I love dogs but they're gullible eejits, they want to be your best friend, want you to love them etc, they're eager to please.
Cats just think "f**k you, I'll do what I want".
Post by: ziggysego on November 29, 2009, 02:32:58 PM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on November 29, 2009, 11:44:14 AM
As a member of the dog family, I find a lot of this mealy mouthed rhetoric very hypocrital. No-one has ever taken me into their homes and taken cute little snaps of me on their sofa. What's more I have seen dogs, distant relatives, trained to chase and tear me and my family apart.

I did take you into my house one day and you pissed on the sofa.
Post by: Puckoon on November 29, 2009, 03:29:28 PM
Big fan of the dogs. I've two goldens and right now they're wrestling the shite out of each other at the foot of the bed. Great pups.
Post by: Tony Baloney on November 29, 2009, 04:04:07 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on November 29, 2009, 01:36:19 PM
Without dogs we would never have gained the competitive advantage to out hunt other animals and prosper. Dogs allowed us to survive.

Without cats our hunted/gathered food and later farmed food stocks would have been diminished by vermin. Cats allowed is to thrive.

For this I would be a big fan of both.
None of dogs on this thread would much hunting. Too cold for the poor creatures to leave the nice warm house. Yis are as bad as the English! I suppose youse have nice warm coats for them and maybe a diamante collar?

Post by: The Real Laoislad on November 29, 2009, 04:34:39 PM
You should have a hate all animals option
Post by: fitzroyalty on November 29, 2009, 07:04:24 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on November 29, 2009, 04:34:39 PM
You should have a hate all animals option
Would you include Laois people in that  :-*
Post by: longrunsthefox on November 29, 2009, 07:54:10 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on November 29, 2009, 02:32:58 PM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on November 29, 2009, 11:44:14 AM

I did take you into my house one day and you pissed on the sofa.

Fair enuff but that Greencastle home made brew you gave me in that bowl. My legs went numb  :-[
Post by: Galwaybhoy on November 30, 2009, 12:13:11 PM
I like cats but I love dogs.

I have three, two are a mix of a German Shepherd and a Norwegian Elkhound and the other is a black German Shepherd.  I love my dogs.
Post by: Aerlik on November 30, 2009, 12:47:59 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OVGzwj1A4QI

I love this video.  Reminds me of the Jack Russell and cat we had years ago.  would battle all day but were the best of mates.
Post by: High Wide and Handsome on November 30, 2009, 01:14:44 PM
CATS ARE SNAKES WITH FUR!!

HATE THEM!
Post by: The Iceman on November 30, 2009, 05:00:31 PM
Never have and never will have any time for cats. 

Had terriers and hounds about the place growing up and always loved dogs.  Before I left for the states I had a Doberman for 3 years and he was a great dog.  Had to give him up as he was too much for the folks to handle - managed to get him back to a man in Donegal who owned the dog's Grandfather.  Kennel Club put me in touch with him.

Miss having a dog about the place over here but we just don't have enough room.  If I could get a couple of acres we'd definitely have dogs - think they are great to have around children growing up.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on November 30, 2009, 05:47:04 PM
Cat Deeley
(http://images.starpulse.com/Photos/Previews/Cat-Deeley-dn05.jpg)
(http://img.listal.com/image/349753/500full-cat-deeley.jpg)

Cat Stevens
(http://g.sheetmusicplus.com/Look-Inside/covers/3595418.jpg)

Catatonic
(http://www.spscriptorium.com/SPinfo/CatatonicElvin.jpg)

ThunderCats
(http://crabfisher.files.wordpress.com/2009/07/thundercats1.jpg)

Katmandu
(http://www.hobotraveler.com/blogphotos01/207-14-katmandu-temple.jpg)

Catalonia
(http://www.le-guide.com/barcelona/photos/cathedral.jpg)

Cathay Pacific
(http://www.amphoratravel.com/cathay_pacific.jpg)

Kathleen Turner
(http://www.mentorhuebnerart.com/images/actors/KathleenTurner.jpg)

Catwoman
(http://fandangogroovers.files.wordpress.com/2009/09/halle-berry.jpg)
(http://gfx.filmweb.pl/blog/854263/429929.1.jpg)

Top Cat
(http://www.petcaretips.net/TopCatsGangofCats.jpg)
Post by: Gnevin on November 30, 2009, 05:51:06 PM
Quote from: The Iceman on November 30, 2009, 05:00:31 PM

Had terriers and hounds about the place growing up and always loved dogs.  Before I left for the states I had a Doberman for 3 years and he was a great dog.  Had to give him up as he was too much for the folks to handle - managed to get him back to a man in Donegal who owned the dog's Grandfather.  Kennel Club put me in touch with him.

Miss having a dog about the place over here but we just don't have enough room.  If I could get a couple of acres we'd definitely have dogs - think they are great to have around children growing up.

A couple of acres! Are you getting a dog or a horse?
Post by: Puckoon on November 30, 2009, 06:03:31 PM
Iceman, there are times when the dogs do need a huge place to run about.

Due to unforseen circumstances, me and my two dogs live in a 5 room condominium with a deck. I spoke to the vet about re-homing them as previously they had a huge yard and a river to tear about in. She said that if they are happy and if I can walk them as often as I can they will have a great life.

I sometimes still think about rehoming them, some days I just dont have the time to take them out - but they are happy and we have a great time when I come home from work. I think they just like to watch sports centre and chew their toys and nap in the window during the day,

One thing is for sure - it is great to have the baby around them. She cant get enough of those boys.
Post by: Minder on November 30, 2009, 06:11:17 PM
Police have admitted they did not take action after receiving a report of dog breeding at the Liverpool house where a four-year-old boy was mauled to death.
John Paul Massey was killed by a dog at the property in Ash Grove, Wavertree, just after midnight.
His grandmother, Helen Foulkes, 63, was injured while trying to save the child and has been treated in hospital.
Merseyside Police said it had a report of dog breeding in February and was investigating why no action was taken.
It said the lack of action was "contrary to policy".
Dog shot
The animal which killed the boy was shot by armed officers in the front garden of the house.
An investigation is continuing to establish whether it was a breed deemed illegal under the Dangerous Dogs Act.
Ch Supt Steve Ashley, of Merseyside police, said: "In February this year a housing officer rang Merseyside Police to say they had received complaints of dog breeding at the address.
"At that time the police said it wasn't a police matter and no action was taken by Merseyside Police.
"That is contrary to our policies and an investigation is now launched into exactly what happened in February."
Ch Supt Ashley said an officer who is an expert on dangerous dogs should have spoken to the person who was concerned and if necessary visited the house to examine the dogs.
Police said Ms Foulkes intervened when the dog attacked John Paul and managed to get it out of the house through the front door.
Paramedics went in through the back of the property to treat John Paul, but he died from his injuries.
John Paul's 13-year-old brother was also in the house and was not injured, but police said he had been left "deeply traumatised" by the attack.
Ms Foulkes has been released from hospital after treatment for dog bites to her arms, body and legs.
Post by: heganboy on November 30, 2009, 08:29:37 PM
Sligonian, if Im not mistake thats a wheaten terrier and BC and myself are both caretakers in a house that the wheaten owns...
Post by: The Iceman on December 03, 2009, 03:44:52 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on November 30, 2009, 05:51:06 PM
Quote from: The Iceman on November 30, 2009, 05:00:31 PM

A couple of acres! Are you getting a dog or a horse?

Ha good man Gnevin - I was never into walking the dogs now in fairness - we always had enough room for them to run about and get their own exercise - also would have hunted flat out from October  - March/Arpil with the hounds and they got enough running in on a Sunday to last them all week.  I'd want a few acres and a couple of Dogs to have the run of the place.

Puck I think in fairness to the dogs you should re-home them but maybe look about a smaller dog for the house? Wee puck would get over it soon enough with a replacement..... Think Westies are a great wee house dog or any terrier for that matter with the right temperament.  Big dogs are for outside in my book.....
Post by: AustinPowers on March 25, 2023, 04:06:15 PM
Anyone know  how to  stop cats shitting in  the garden?

(I don't  have a shotgun)
Post by: Windmill abu on March 25, 2023, 04:27:52 PM
Get the cat to identify as a dog and there won't be a cat shitting in your garden anymore.
Post by: Aaron Boone on March 25, 2023, 04:38:40 PM
Quote from: AustinPowers on March 25, 2023, 04:06:15 PM

Cats don't like peeled onions, leave a few lying around. 
Post by: snoopdog on March 25, 2023, 05:39:24 PM
Cats usually dig a hole and then cover it up again. I have a dog and 2 cats. The cats are no bother at all. Feed them and they head off and shit in someone else's garden. ;D  I know people put full water bottles in the garden to deter foxes  might work with cats also.
Post by: CK_Redhand on March 25, 2023, 06:28:26 PM
Where I am in England the place is swarming with pitbull type dogs the last few months. Go through a public park and you are almost guaranteed to see one with the owner barely able to hold it straining on the lead. I think they should be clamped down upon (maybe special license needed to breed/own or enforce what is already there?) but unfortunately it will take a few child deaths for people to sit up and take notice. Is there much of this in Ireland at the minute?
Post by: snoopdog on March 25, 2023, 06:58:56 PM
Quote from: CK_Redhand on March 25, 2023, 06:28:26 PM
Where I am in England the place is swarming with pitbull type dogs the last few months. Go through a public park and you are almost guaranteed to see one with the owner barely able to hold it straining on the lead. I think they should be clamped down upon (maybe special license needed to breed/own or enforce what is already there?) but unfortunately it will take a few child deaths for people to sit up and take notice. Is there much of this in Ireland at the minute?
No need for that breed of dog. Should be fined if it's not muzzled.  I actually thought they were on a restricted list. It's obviously not monitored
Post by: AustinPowers on March 25, 2023, 07:51:10 PM
Quote from: snoopdog on March 25, 2023, 05:39:24 PM
Cats usually dig a hole and then cover it up again. I have a dog and 2 cats. The cats are no bother at all. Feed them and they head off and shit in someone else's garden. ;D  I know people put full water bottles in the garden to deter foxes  might work with cats also.

That's the  problem. They're not my  feckin cats. It's  a neighbours.  There's an area  of  the garden with stones , and they seem to  always shite   there , the feckers
Post by: Jell 0 Biafra on March 26, 2023, 02:16:47 AM
Quote from: snoopdog on March 25, 2023, 06:58:56 PM
No need for that breed of dog. Should be fined if it's not muzzled.  I actually thought they were on a restricted list. It's obviously not monitored

Problem is the owner, not the breed.  I had a pitbull for about 11 years, loved kids. 

Was the same probelm in the 80s with rottweilers, people who wan the "toughest" dog de jour, single out a breed. People totally unsuited to big-dog-ownership,with no intention of doing the work needed to socialize the dog, get them.  Saw it in Dublin in the 80s, and in the US last 20 years.

Also saw plenty examples of good dog owners with the exact same breeds having no problems.
Post by: Square Ball on March 26, 2023, 11:52:42 AM
Quote from: Aaron Boone on March 25, 2023, 04:38:40 PM

I had a cat constantly 💩 in my garden, got a cat scarer of Amazon, worked a treat until the batteries ran out and the wee ballix came back. New batteries and no more poop.
Post by: screenexile on March 27, 2023, 12:14:42 AM
Hate cats and dogs but particularly cats. Woman in the development has about 6 cats that just roam free around the place and they shit and piss everywhere. Have to replace the welcome mat once a month nearly at this stage.

Do the cat scarers work? I need something to get them out.

(I also need to stop leaving cat doors open but that's another story!)
Post by: Eamonnca1 on March 27, 2023, 05:55:40 AM

Feed them. They don't sh1t where they eat. And they'll keep rats and mice at bay while they're at it.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on March 27, 2023, 05:56:59 AM

One thing I don't miss about England is constantly scanning the footpath for dog shite. It was everywhere. At least cats have the decency to bury theirs.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on March 27, 2023, 05:59:57 AM
I'm a cat man myself. Mine never goes out. I let her out a couple of times but she just got scared and wanted to come back in.

She's low maintenance. All she needs is a full food bowl, a full water bowl, a clean litterbox, and a bit of a head scratch in the evening. Great with the kids too. They have to be quiet and gentle with her or she just runs away if they get too loud or rough.
Post by: GJL on March 27, 2023, 09:04:45 AM
Quote from: screenexile on March 27, 2023, 12:14:42 AM
Hate cats and dogs but particularly cats. Woman in the development has about 6 cats that just roam free around the place and they shit and piss everywhere. Have to replace the welcome mat once a month nearly at this stage.

Bill knows his stuff!

Bill Murray — 'I'm suspicious of people who don't like dogs, but I trust a dog when it doesn't like a person.'
Post by: Square Ball on March 27, 2023, 09:22:11 AM
Quote from: screenexile on March 27, 2023, 12:14:42 AM

Mine worked
, Pestbye® Waterproof Cat Repellent Ultrasonic Repeller Cat Scarer with Ground Stake (Battery Powered) https://amzn.eu/d/gmCpo89

Twilleded a few buttons and worked, annoys the grandson a little as he can hear it when he walks passed it.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on March 27, 2023, 04:33:45 PM
I've never understood the hatred some people have for cats, or the intolerance that some dog people have for people who don't share their passion for hounds.

I can't stand dogs, myself. I grew up getting chased by the feckers on my bike. Some owners made no effort to secure them and it meant some roads were no-go areas for anyone on foot or on bikes. There was one road near Lurgan that I rode down one day on the way to the lakes, and I heard some footsteps behind me. It was a giant Alsatian sprinting at me and it started barking. At least on the bike I was able to sprint and get away, but if I'd been on foot or there were small children walking past it doesn't bear a lot of thinking about. I've had plenty of similar encounters and unprovoked attacks.

Dogs in California are a bit better behaved because the owners aren't allowed to let them out of control, but occasionally you get one careless cretin in the park. I was out for a run in a park one evening and a pit-bull came out of nowhere ready to kill me. I freaked out and ran off, and the owner said the usual "he won't bite you" while she came running over trying to get the stupid thing under control.

Nothing as annoying as being out minding your own business only to be set upon by one of these dangerous animals for no reason. Put "dog mauled" into a Google news search and there's never any shortage of stories of people being attacked and in some cases killed by dogs.

Two-year-old girl mauled by family dog (https://www.news.com.au/national/south-australia/toddler-in-hospital-after-dog-attack/news-story/25e1695f36de0d933c384a9ed8af6c44)

Denver man says he's lucky to be alive following terrifying dog attack in his neighborhood (https://www.denver7.com/news/local-news/denver-man-says-hes-lucky-to-be-alive-following-terrifying-dog-attack-in-his-neighborhood)

14-year-old receives non-life-threatening injuries from morning dog attack (https://www.rrdailyherald.com/news/local/14-year-old-receives-non-life-threatening-injuries-from-morning-dog-attack/article_2e9c93c0-4c37-594b-a04f-ca2db09234f2.html)

Weeks After Loose Dogs Mauled Her Yorkie to Death, Arlington Woman Continues to Live in Fear (https://www.nbcdfw.com/news/local/weeks-after-loose-dogs-mauled-her-yorkie-to-death-arlington-woman-continues-to-live-in-fear/3222662/)

Spring, Texas dog attack: Pre-K teacher Irene Cornish ruptures artery when neighbor's canine mauls her (https://abc13.com/spring-texas-dog-attacks-neighbor-animal-euthanized-irene-cornish/13008987/)

Pit bull kills rescuer trying to stop a fight; third fatal dog attack in six days (https://www.animals24-7.org/2023/03/25/pit-bull-kills-rescuer-trying-to-stop-a-fight-third-fatal-dog-attack-in-six-days/)

Alberta boy, 5, killed in dog attack was in care of children's services: 'It's heartbreaking' (https://globalnews.ca/news/9540798/alberta-fatal-dog-attack/)

'Horrific scene': Dog owner arrested after elderly man killed, 3 others injured in dog attack, officials say (https://www.ksat.com/news/local/2023/02/24/watch-live-san-antonio-police-at-scene-of-serious-dog-attack-on-west-side/)
Post by: J70 on March 27, 2023, 04:46:09 PM
Quote from: Square Ball on March 26, 2023, 11:52:42 AM
Quote from: Aaron Boone on March 25, 2023, 04:38:40 PM

I had a cat constantly 💩 in my garden, got a cat scarer of Amazon, worked a treat until the batteries ran out and the wee ballix came back. New batteries and no more poop.

Wonder would that work for other animals?

We (in the heart of Queens) have raccoons and opossums in the garden, in addition to the neighbourhood Tom cats who come around to see our female cats.

I've nothing against raccoons and possums, and we enjoy watching them, but raccoons can carry rabies and their shit spreads a nasty roundworm which you obviously don't want in your garden.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on March 27, 2023, 05:24:46 PM
We get the opossums here too. Scared the living daylights out of me when I first saw one, I thought it was a giant rat from a distance. But I hear they're harmless and keep a lot of pests away.

I've seen racoons in the Haight Ashbury area of San Francisco at night. They must live in Golden Gate Park and come out into the streets at night. They're known locally as "garbage pandas."
Post by: Milltown Row2 on March 27, 2023, 07:53:17 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on March 27, 2023, 04:33:45 PM
I've never understood the hatred some people have for cats, or the intolerance that some dog people have for people who don't share their passion for hounds.

I can't stand dogs, myself. I grew up getting chased by the feckers on my bike. Some owners made no effort to secure them and it meant some roads were no-go areas for anyone on foot or on bikes. There was one road near Lurgan that I rode down one day on the way to the lakes, and I heard some footsteps behind me. It was a giant Alsatian sprinting at me and it started barking. At least on the bike I was able to sprint and get away, but if I'd been on foot or there were small children walking past it doesn't bear a lot of thinking about. I've had plenty of similar encounters and unprovoked attacks.

Dogs in California are a bit better behaved because the owners aren't allowed to let them out of control, but occasionally you get one careless cretin in the park. I was out for a run in a park one evening and a pit-bull came out of nowhere ready to kill me. I freaked out and ran off, and the owner said the usual "he won't bite you" while she came running over trying to get the stupid thing under control.

Nothing as annoying as being out minding your own business only to be set upon by one of these dangerous animals for no reason. Put "dog mauled" into a Google news search and there's never any shortage of stories of people being attacked and in some cases killed by dogs.

Two-year-old girl mauled by family dog (https://www.news.com.au/national/south-australia/toddler-in-hospital-after-dog-attack/news-story/25e1695f36de0d933c384a9ed8af6c44)

Denver man says he's lucky to be alive following terrifying dog attack in his neighborhood (https://www.denver7.com/news/local-news/denver-man-says-hes-lucky-to-be-alive-following-terrifying-dog-attack-in-his-neighborhood)

14-year-old receives non-life-threatening injuries from morning dog attack (https://www.rrdailyherald.com/news/local/14-year-old-receives-non-life-threatening-injuries-from-morning-dog-attack/article_2e9c93c0-4c37-594b-a04f-ca2db09234f2.html)

Weeks After Loose Dogs Mauled Her Yorkie to Death, Arlington Woman Continues to Live in Fear (https://www.nbcdfw.com/news/local/weeks-after-loose-dogs-mauled-her-yorkie-to-death-arlington-woman-continues-to-live-in-fear/3222662/)

Spring, Texas dog attack: Pre-K teacher Irene Cornish ruptures artery when neighbor's canine mauls her (https://abc13.com/spring-texas-dog-attacks-neighbor-animal-euthanized-irene-cornish/13008987/)

Pit bull kills rescuer trying to stop a fight; third fatal dog attack in six days (https://www.animals24-7.org/2023/03/25/pit-bull-kills-rescuer-trying-to-stop-a-fight-third-fatal-dog-attack-in-six-days/)

Alberta boy, 5, killed in dog attack was in care of children's services: 'It's heartbreaking' (https://globalnews.ca/news/9540798/alberta-fatal-dog-attack/)

'Horrific scene': Dog owner arrested after elderly man killed, 3 others injured in dog attack, officials say (https://www.ksat.com/news/local/2023/02/24/watch-live-san-antonio-police-at-scene-of-serious-dog-attack-on-west-side/)

Your dislike of dogs from bad experiences as a kid, understandable but now that you are older as wiser you can work through those issues..

Dogs need direction, training and plenty of affection and attention, if you don't give hat then you are on to a hiding to nothing.

Cats look after themselves, I know plenty neighbours who don't have their own cats but have someone else's  cats, they are there most of the day!!

We didn't get dogs until about 6 years ago, the best thing for when the kids leave home!!
Post by: Eamonnca1 on March 27, 2023, 09:36:05 PM
I'm not as scared of dogs as I was as a kid, but they still freak me out. I have a friend nearby with two dogs in the house, and I seldom go over there. Every time you knock the door there's a massive barking match and commotion that takes a while to calm down. Same whenever someone comes to the door when I'm there, or if another dog goes past on the street. It's not so much the danger, it's the stress they give me with their hyperactive attitude.

Cats are a lot more soothing. Their mellow nature appeals to me.  I've been known to sit on the couch reading and I'll put down the book or paper only to find my cat had crawled into my lap without me even noticing, and I've no idea how long she's been there. At night she'll lie against my leg and curl up to sleep between me and the wife. There's something relaxing about the purring sounds she makes.
Post by: general_lee on March 27, 2023, 09:41:19 PM
Dogs are a bit of craic! Affectionate and loyal. Cats are boring f**kers and unless you've a mice problem I wouldn't have one around the place.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on March 27, 2023, 09:46:34 PM
Yes my dogs get excited when the door goes but when a person comes in they greet them and then work on who's feeding them their next dinner or treat!!

Call to your neighbours house with some small treats, trust me they'll remember that for ever..

One of my dogs knows every dog walker when I take them, straight over nudging them to get a treat
Post by: snoopdog on March 27, 2023, 10:18:30 PM
I have no issue with either animal. Both have their plus and minus. Dogs barking can annoy me. Cats destroying tge furniture with their scratching. Cats can be every bit as affectionate as a dog. Most are cautious though.
Post by: Windmill abu on March 27, 2023, 10:28:38 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on March 27, 2023, 04:33:45 PM

Say no more
Post by: J70 on March 28, 2023, 02:28:43 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on March 27, 2023, 05:24:46 PM
We get the opossums here too. Scared the living daylights out of me when I first saw one, I thought it was a giant rat from a distance. But I hear they're harmless and keep a lot of pests away.

I've seen racoons in the Haight Ashbury area of San Francisco at night. They must live in Golden Gate Park and come out into the streets at night. They're known locally as "garbage pandas."

Possums are certainly lacking when it comes to cuteness. My wife thought they resemble those "rodents of unusual size" in The Princess Bride.
Post by: johnnycool on March 28, 2023, 04:14:53 PM
Quote from: J70 on March 28, 2023, 02:28:43 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on March 27, 2023, 05:24:46 PM

Possums are certainly lacking when it comes to cuteness. My wife thought they resemble those "rodents of unusual size" in The Princess Bride.

I think in NZ you're encouraged to run possums over if they cross the road in front of you. Someone brought them into their and they've no natural predator to keep the numbers at bay.
Almost 20 years since I've been in NZ though.
Post by: J70 on March 28, 2023, 04:46:13 PM
Looked it up. Those are Aussie possums, and way cuter than the American species!

But yeah, New Zealand is yet another place where the ecosystems have been fucked up through the intro of non-native, invasive species.
Post by: CK_Redhand on April 27, 2023, 04:54:52 PM
Young girl hospitalised from dog attack
https://www.armaghi.com/news/lurgan-news/young-girl-hospitalised-with-multiple-injuries-following-dog-attack-in-lurgan/208086
Post by: Eamonnca1 on April 27, 2023, 05:23:10 PM
I was about to walk down the Portadown Road near that area one night when I saw a fella walking in front of me with a Rottweiler on the loose beside him. Not a lead nor muzzle in sight. I stopped and waited a few minutes until they were long gone before I started walking again. I don't know why people keep these dangerous monsters. I just don't get it.