Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: 5 Sams on December 05, 2009, 12:46:02 AM

Title: What's your plans for the Christmas lads and lasses?
Post by: 5 Sams on December 05, 2009, 12:46:02 AM
I'll be in a house half way up An Clasach (Mount Eagle in Kerry) with a dog and a wife and the best views in the world...mar seo

(http://s0.geograph.org.uk/photos/22/01/220151_ab70d050.jpg)

Beat that..
Title: Re: What's your plans for the Christmas lads and lasses?
Post by: 5 Sams on December 05, 2009, 12:55:26 AM
 :D :D
Post by: ONeill on December 05, 2009, 01:02:26 AM
Quote from: 5 Sams on December 05, 2009, 12:46:02 AM
I'll be in a house half way up An Clasach (Mount Eagle in Kerry) with a dog and a wife and the best views in the world...mar seo

(http://s0.geograph.org.uk/photos/22/01/220151_ab70d050.jpg)

Beat that..

That sounds atrociously lonely and disspirited for Christmas. Any other time of the year OK, but Christmas.........
Post by: 5 Sams on December 05, 2009, 01:12:21 AM
Don't knock till you've tried it. 
Post by: ONeill on December 05, 2009, 01:20:47 AM
Quote from: 5 Sams on December 05, 2009, 01:12:21 AM
Don't knock till you've tried it.

I have tried it...for two years running. But to head there for Christmas is lunacy. Family, warmth of spirit, a sense of belonging, feck Eagle.

What on earth did you do?
Post by: new devil on December 05, 2009, 01:49:53 AM
Why do freestaters say "the" christmas?
Post by: mc_grens on December 05, 2009, 02:12:37 AM
Half way up the Sperrins to mind my Mam.
Chances of snow- reasonably good.
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on December 05, 2009, 03:07:56 AM
Me the lovely wife and the baby dog, sister-in-law plus poss my parents.
Considering we had a 20 lb turkey last year for the two of us!
Post by: Hereiam on December 05, 2009, 11:02:11 AM
Will be my first family christmas. First baby of the family & my wife. This is her first christmas off since we got married. Looking forward to it.
Post by: Aerlik on December 05, 2009, 11:11:16 AM
I'll be sprinting between the pool and the air conditioner.  If today and yesterday are anything to go by (37C :() it's going to be another feckin roaster.   
Post by: Gnevin on December 05, 2009, 11:11:38 AM
Quote from: new devil on December 05, 2009, 01:49:53 AM
Christmas =25th .
the Christmas is short for the Christmas period = 24th-4th .
At least for me.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on December 05, 2009, 11:13:27 AM
Quote from: Gnevin on December 05, 2009, 11:11:38 AM
Christmas =25th .
At least for me.

Will you go to Christmas eve Mass or Christmas morning Mass?
Post by: pintsofguinness on December 05, 2009, 11:14:27 AM
Heading home. Few weeks of the family and inlaws, eating, drinking, trying to do as little as possible etc.
Looking forward to it.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on December 05, 2009, 11:14:41 AM
Oh and for me I will be leaving behind the shitehole that is Dublin and heading down the country to my homeland
Post by: Gnevin on December 05, 2009, 11:17:17 AM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on December 05, 2009, 11:14:41 AM
Oh and for me I will be leaving behind the shitehole that is Dublin and heading down the country to my homeland

Stay down there. I'm sure the local dole office will be happy to see you . At a Dub can take your job.
Post by: Gnevin on December 05, 2009, 11:18:45 AM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on December 05, 2009, 11:13:27 AM
Quote from: Gnevin on December 05, 2009, 11:11:38 AM
Christmas =25th .
At least for me.

Will you go to Christmas eve Mass or Christmas morning Mass?

None, it's nonsense. Can't remember the last time I was at mass .
Post by: The Real Laoislad on December 05, 2009, 11:22:58 AM
Quote from: Gnevin on December 05, 2009, 11:17:17 AM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on December 05, 2009, 11:14:41 AM

Stay down there. I'm sure the local dole office will be happy to see you . At a Dub can take your job.

Never been on the dole in my life....I dunno how a Dub could take my job either,I'm self employed and don't limit myself to working in Dublin in fact I do everything I can to get work outside of it
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on December 05, 2009, 11:40:03 AM
Few days down here then up to the North for the rest of the break.  NY in Cross for a clatter of stout.
Post by: ziggysego on December 05, 2009, 12:16:19 PM
To me, Christmas is about spending time with love ones, which is what I'll be doing this Christmas. Christmas with family and visiting friends this festive season.

I agree with ONeill, spending Christmas half-way up a mountain in Kerry seems very lonely and goes against the grain of Christmas. I'd have to wonder what you've done, that has driven you to that.
Post by: redhugh on December 05, 2009, 12:22:25 PM
Full clann gathering in my sister's house.10 adults 11 kids,3 dogs,1 parrot and 2 14lb turkeys.
Post by: gawa316 on December 05, 2009, 12:25:41 PM
All out to my ma's for the 29 year in a row. 97 yr old Gran, Ma, Da, Sis, Bro-in-law, Bro, Sis-in-law, Wifey, Niece, 3 nephews and 2 bumps!!
Post by: The Watcher Pat on December 05, 2009, 12:47:40 PM
Quote from: redhugh on December 05, 2009, 12:22:25 PM
Full clann gathering in my sister's house.10 adults 11 kids,3 dogs,1 parrot and 2 14lb turkeys.

And a partridge in a pear tree...
Post by: mournerambler on December 05, 2009, 01:51:54 PM
For years our Christmas consisted of eating too much, drinking too much & visiting people that you don't really like :o,
Then 3 years ago my wife & I agreed that from then on we wouldn't go anywhere on Christmas day, we felt it wasn't fair on our 2 girls to drag them away from the toys that Santa had left & bring them half way round the country visiting every tom dick & harry.
We told all our friends & family that our door was open to them all on Christmas day & it was the best thing we could have done, now we just eat too much & drink too much.
Post by: longrunsthefox on December 05, 2009, 02:09:01 PM
Family... family... family.... camcorder and the creep down the stairs with Mrs Fox and the cubs in case Santa has fallen asleep on the sofa. Walk in the park... no Mass (see priests thread  :o)... dinner... only time of the year we can eat a turkey in peace. Lie about... TV... and next morning listen to locals thinking they are witty by saying, "It's as far away as ever"  :-\
Ziggy-sorry I missed your birthday. I mite do the Greencastle 5 on Boxing Day ... I'll walk it (as in not run it.) 
Post by: The Real Laoislad on December 05, 2009, 02:09:55 PM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on December 05, 2009, 02:09:01 PM
Family... family... family.... camcorder and the creep down the stairs with Mrs Fox and the cubs in case Santa has fallen asleep on the sofa. Walk in the park... no Mass (see priests thread  :o)... dinner... only time of the year we can eat a turkey in peace. Lie about... TV... and next morning listen to locals thinking they are witty by saying, "It's as far away as ever"  :-\
Ziggy-sorry I missed your birthday. I mite do the Greencastle 5 on Boxing Day ... I'll walk it (as in not run it.)

What day?
Post by: longrunsthefox on December 05, 2009, 02:12:05 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on December 05, 2009, 02:09:55 PM

What day?

Eh? Boxing Day... the day after Christmas Day... don't tell me you haven't heard of it... same day as Stephen's Day  ;)
Post by: The Real Laoislad on December 05, 2009, 02:14:46 PM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on December 05, 2009, 02:12:05 PM

What day?

Eh? Boxing Day... the day after Christmas Day... don't tell me you haven't heard of it... same day as Stephen's Day  ;)

I thought it was just the British who called it Boxing Day.. ;)
Post by: longrunsthefox on December 05, 2009, 02:16:19 PM
Nope-Irish people call it Boxing Day too   :-*
Post by: The Real Laoislad on December 05, 2009, 02:17:47 PM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on December 05, 2009, 02:16:19 PM
Nope-Irish people call it Boxing Day too   :-*

Not where I come from they don't
Post by: longrunsthefox on December 05, 2009, 02:19:58 PM
Not all Irish people come from where you came from, TG  :)
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on December 05, 2009, 02:33:39 PM
St Stephens day where I'm from as well.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on December 05, 2009, 02:36:26 PM
the wren's day
Post by: pintsofguinness on December 05, 2009, 02:43:57 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on December 05, 2009, 02:14:46 PM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on December 05, 2009, 02:12:05 PM

What day?

I thought it was just the British who called it Boxing Day.. ;)
I thought it was just the British who refer to British companies as "we" but apparently not.
Post by: longrunsthefox on December 05, 2009, 02:45:11 PM
Good man Pints  :P... I was under a bit of pressure there   
Post by: ziggysego on December 05, 2009, 02:45:24 PM
It's 5 mile run day where I'm from.

I'm working at it fox, so I'll see you at it.
Post by: MR E on December 05, 2009, 02:52:08 PM
My Christmas plans.....

23.12.09- Finish work at 13.00- We have Christmas feed and then free to do whatever we want. I will probably go finish my Christmas shopping.

24.12.09- Sleep in. Go to Mass that night. Come home and start into the turkey. Stay up late with a couple of drinks. Read Twas the night before Christmas to the wee ones.

25.12.09- Open presents with the woman & family. Go to parents house for Christmas dinner. Spend rest of the day there and drink into early morning.

26.12.09- Die
Post by: longrunsthefox on December 05, 2009, 03:04:26 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on December 05, 2009, 02:45:24 PM

I'm sure we'll hook up before that. Don't buy me a tartan tank-top for Christmas this year again... ffs Ziggy  :'(
Post by: ziggysego on December 05, 2009, 03:09:56 PM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on December 05, 2009, 03:04:26 PM

I'm sure we'll hook up before that. Don't buy me a tartan tank-top for Christmas this year again... ffs Ziggy  :'(

Fair enough, but no more casio calculators for me either.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on December 05, 2009, 03:11:23 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on December 05, 2009, 03:09:56 PM

Remember when calculator watches were the thing to have :D
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on December 05, 2009, 03:12:38 PM
Boozing, betting and trying to avoid the in-laws.
Post by: pintsofguinness on December 05, 2009, 03:19:11 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on December 05, 2009, 03:11:23 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on December 05, 2009, 03:09:56 PM

Remember when calculator watches were the thing to have :D
Yes! I'd one  :D - and the remote control watch too - very cool!
Post by: WhoAreYaWhoAreYa! on December 05, 2009, 04:18:09 PM
Goin' home for christmas! Cant wait!
Post by: john mcgill on December 05, 2009, 04:50:47 PM
Off to London and will probably meet up with iruntherev.  Tickets and passes for the players's lounge at the Emirates on 27th sorted.
Post by: Celt_Man on December 05, 2009, 06:18:45 PM
Anyone else think that Christmas Day is the most boring day of the year?? 

I know it would be different with people with young children and that.... But the day just drags on so much as far as I'm concerned
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on December 05, 2009, 06:46:04 PM
Santa Clause 3 the movie on now, popcorn nuked and roaring fire, me the good lady wife and doggie - class.  ;D
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on December 05, 2009, 06:53:42 PM
Hibernation, too broke to do anything, will try and hide until the whole thing is over.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on December 05, 2009, 07:35:28 PM
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on December 05, 2009, 06:46:04 PM
Santa Clause 3 the movie on now, popcorn nuked and roaring fire, me the good lady wife and doggie - class.  ;D

Watching a film while in a kama sutra position.... Cool :)
Post by: Puckoon on December 05, 2009, 08:14:56 PM
The puck family are coming to reno. First Christmas together since 2005. Puck is excited.

Skiing in the morning then dinner and wee puck in the evening.
Post by: Yes I Would on December 05, 2009, 08:24:06 PM
Agreed. Since santa stopped coming the day itself is pretty drab.
Much prefer xmas eve and Boxing St Stephens Day.. Usually dick all on on TV other than the same old repeats and soap shite. The only benefit is that its a day to recharge the batteries after the excess booze in the build up and to ensure that the boxing day feast can be consumed in the knowledge that it will stay down..   Its really a day for the weans!!
Post by: takeyourownpath on December 05, 2009, 08:46:23 PM
i flippin LOVE christmas day.
sure you're only up and had breakfast when it's near dinner time! perfect!