Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: gallsman on December 08, 2014, 03:15:35 PM

Title: The Whiskey Thread
Post by: gallsman on December 08, 2014, 03:15:35 PM
Given there's a beer thread, thought I'd try and get the ball rolling on this one after the flurry of whiskey posts a few days ago. Any whiskey drinkers here?

Flying through Duty Free today so picked up the following:

Green Spot - a favourite, that is great value in Duty Free.

Writer's Tears - another favourite.

The Irishman - came highly recommended. Got it for €19!

Town Branch - I bought this as a present on Saturday in the CWS for €60. Coming through duty free today, it comes in a presentation case with two glasses for €45  :-[ . Phoned the CWS and they said they'll happily let me exchange. Hopefully they'll have some Yamazaki in by the time I get back!

Curiously, and I was a bit upset at this, Powers John's Lane was one price for all destinations. Any idea why this might be?!
Title: Re: The Whiskey Thread
Post by: blewuporstuffed on December 08, 2014, 03:42:30 PM
Looking to geta  bottle of Green spot for someone for christmas, is it much cheaper through the duty free?
it seems to be around 40 quid everywhere ive seen it.
Post by: 5 Sams on December 08, 2014, 03:46:54 PM
Excuse my ignorance lads but I've heard loads of people speak highly of green spot. Who makes it? My whiskey experience consists of the odd Jameson or Gentleman Jack at Chrimbo.
Post by: blewuporstuffed on December 08, 2014, 03:51:14 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on December 08, 2014, 03:46:54 PM
Excuse my ignorance lads but I've heard loads of people speak highly of green spot. Who makes it? My whiskey experience consists of the odd Jameson or Gentleman Jack at Chrimbo.
its made in the Middleton distillery AFAIK, the same place they make Jameson
Post by: gallsman on December 08, 2014, 03:53:17 PM
36 euro in duty free. Actual duty free as opposed to just airport shopping. Retail price on the high Street in the south these days is just shy of 60.

5Sams, Green Spot is whiskey from the midleton distillery but is handled and matured in their own casks, some of which are wine casks by Mitchell & Son. It's delicious.
Post by: tyroneman on December 08, 2014, 07:34:25 PM
Is there a real noticeable difference between green spot and yellow spot whiskey?? I have only tried green (which was very nice)??
Post by: CD on December 08, 2014, 07:40:26 PM
Quote from: tyroneman on December 08, 2014, 07:34:25 PM
Is there a real noticeable difference between green spot and yellow spot whiskey?? I have only tried green (which was very nice)??
About £30 a bottle! Never had yellow spot but the green is lovely! Got a bottle as a gift two years ago and savoured every drop! This chat has put me in the notion. Half way through a bottle of powers but think I'll treat myself to something nice for Christmas  ;)
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 08, 2014, 08:20:56 PM
No fan of the stuff but I had a swig of a Japanese whisky (Yamazaki) at a wedding a couple of weeks ago and it was incredibly smooth.
Post by: gallsman on December 08, 2014, 11:18:40 PM

Nothing to justify the price difference.
Post by: ONeill on December 08, 2014, 11:36:30 PM
This is my tipple: http://www.islaywhiskysociety.com

Ardbeg probably the stand out. Makes ye wince.
Post by: gallsman on December 08, 2014, 11:47:16 PM
Quote from: gallsman on December 08, 2014, 11:18:40 PM

Nothing to justify the price difference.
Quote from: ONeill on December 08, 2014, 11:36:30 PM

I have the Ardbeg 10. Smoky to say the least.
Post by: aontroim abu on December 09, 2014, 03:28:49 PM
was thinking of getting her dad a bottle for Christmas - best place in Belfast anyone??
Post by: blewuporstuffed on December 09, 2014, 03:51:49 PM
Quote from: aontroim abu on December 09, 2014, 03:28:49 PM
was thinking of getting her dad a bottle for Christmas - best place in Belfast anyone??
The vineyard on the ormeau road has a decent selection
Post by: deiseach on December 09, 2014, 04:16:58 PM

The thread is about whiskEy ;)

How long would ye lads buying the likes of Green Spot make it last? Once a bottle is open in our house, it will be gone within the fortnight. Are we alcoholics?
Post by: muppet on December 09, 2014, 04:21:19 PM
Quote from: deiseach on December 09, 2014, 04:16:58 PM

The thread is about whiskEy ;)

How long would ye lads buying the likes of Green Spot make it last? Once a bottle is open in our house, it will be gone within the fortnight. Are we alcoholics?

A whole fortnight! Are you trying to sniff it out?
Post by: deiseach on December 09, 2014, 04:30:15 PM
Might take a week, might take a fortnight. Either way, it's not kept in the drinks cabinet for guests or special occasions.
Post by: muppet on December 09, 2014, 04:33:59 PM
Quote from: deiseach on December 09, 2014, 04:30:15 PM
Might take a week, might take a fortnight. Either way, it's not kept in the drinks cabinet for guests or special occasions.

Stay away from the stuff myself. We have a bottle opened about 5 years ago that is still over half full.
Post by: Jell 0 Biafra on December 09, 2014, 05:44:04 PM

A week at the outside in my house.  But it's my go-to tipple--wouldn't really drink much beer in the house.
Post by: Canalman on December 09, 2014, 05:44:34 PM
Was in an offlicense in America some years ago and only the Jameson whiskey bottles had the security cap on them. Pricier spirits etc didn't have them.
Seems to be very popular over there which is to say the least a good thing.

Post by: Puckoon on December 09, 2014, 07:01:48 PM
Jameson is a huge market name in America for Irish Whiskey. My local just raised the prices of Jameson due to their supplier raising it. This meant that in turn they raised the prices on all the rest, Paddy, Powers, Bushmills - as they didn't want to sell more of any of those than Jameson.

Couple hefty ice cubes and 3 or 4 fingers of Bushmills is my go-to on the Whiskey. Mostly from September through April. Don't tend to drink much of it in the summer. And if I have to answer one more time if I'm a protestant because I drink Bushmills, I might just move home!
Post by: TabClear on December 09, 2014, 07:34:24 PM
I haven't drank whiskey since my student days. however, I won a bottle of Macllan 10 y.o at the weekend and am debating whether to give it to the oul boy as a Christmas present or sample it myself.

. I've been told its a decent bottle but it might be wasted on a novice like me.
Post by: CD on December 09, 2014, 08:14:04 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on December 09, 2014, 07:01:48 PM
Jameson is a huge market name in America for Irish Whiskey. My local just raised the prices of Jameson due to their supplier raising it. This meant that in turn they raised the prices on all the rest, Paddy, Powers, Bushmills - as they didn't want to sell more of any of those than Jameson.

Couple hefty ice cubes and 3 or 4 fingers of Bushmills is my go-to on the Whiskey. Mostly from September through April. Don't tend to drink much of it in the summer. And if I have to answer one more time if I'm a protestant because I drink Bushmills, I might just move home!
Interesting that everyone takes it differently. For me, it has to be poured into a hot class. Ice and water would destroy it. I used to work in pubs years ago and the old lads would have it with a dribble of room temp water and a bottle of stout of the shelf.
Post by: aontroim abu on December 10, 2014, 11:19:14 AM
Quote from: blewuporstuffed on December 09, 2014, 03:51:49 PM

thanks, i'll give there a lash
Post by: deiseach on December 10, 2014, 11:26:31 AM
Quote from: Jell 0 Biafra on December 09, 2014, 05:44:04 PM

A week at the outside in my house.  But it's my go-to tipple--wouldn't really drink much beer in the house.

Yeah, whiskey has replaced beer as the relax-in-front-of-the-telly poison in our house. It's much more cost effective. Even one beer a night would come to far more than a bottle of whiskey over the space of a week. That's why buying the expensive stuff feels, well, expensive.
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 10, 2014, 01:28:38 PM
Quote from: deiseach on December 10, 2014, 11:26:31 AM
Quote from: Jell 0 Biafra on December 09, 2014, 05:44:04 PM

Yeah, whiskey has replaced beer as the relax-in-front-of-the-telly poison in our house. It's much more cost effective. Even one beer a night would come to far more than a bottle of whiskey over the space of a week. That's why buying the expensive stuff feels, well, expensive.
You should try tea. Much more cost effective.
Post by: deiseach on December 10, 2014, 01:33:26 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on December 10, 2014, 01:28:38 PM
Quote from: deiseach on December 10, 2014, 11:26:31 AM
You should try tea. Much more cost effective.

That's low dose poison.
Post by: heganboy on December 10, 2014, 03:04:25 PM
Quote from: CD on December 09, 2014, 08:14:04 PM

Interesting that everyone takes it differently. For me, it has to be poured into a hot class. Ice and water would destroy it. I used to work in pubs years ago and the old lads would have it with a dribble of room temp water and a bottle of stout of the shelf.

Everyone has their own way of drinking the stuff, the recommended route is what the auld fellas do, in a tumbler, add the whiskey, and then add about the same amount of room temperature water, give it a minute and proceed to consume.
Post by: Santino on December 10, 2014, 09:10:50 PM
Jura whisky. Lovely
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 10, 2014, 09:37:07 PM
I feel like I'm missing something by not liking it. What is a decent beginners whiskey?
Post by: muppet on December 10, 2014, 11:42:50 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on December 10, 2014, 09:37:07 PM
I feel like I'm missing something by not liking it. What is a decent beginners whiskey?

Yes.

Beer.

Mmmmmmmm....

(http://3.bp.blogspot.com/_h-6l95gVeXc/SWeVeNFtQSI/AAAAAAAAAnQ/9dT5geqiXeM/s320/homer_beer_2401_d.jpg)
Post by: Jell 0 Biafra on December 11, 2014, 01:07:41 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on December 10, 2014, 09:37:07 PM

I was a confirmed non-whiskey drinker until about 17 years ago, when my then-roommate gave me Maker's Mark (yes, I know, a Bourbon, not a Whiskey...).   It's sweet compared to Irish or Scotch, and I loved it instantly.

Redbreast might be worth a try (but try it at a bar, as the bottle is a bit pricey).

The trick, imo, is to let the drink sit on your tongue for a good few seconds before swallowing it.  That way you get a nice tingling sensation, and the flavour settles into your taste buds.  Doing whiskey as a shot is a waste, unless you're aiming at getting drunk quickly.
Post by: johnneycool on December 11, 2014, 11:46:09 AM
Quote from: CD on December 09, 2014, 08:14:04 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on December 09, 2014, 07:01:48 PM

That's the way all the auld lads in our club drank it. There was uproar when draft Guinness was brought in and no bottles were bought. The bar manager was dispatched to another local bar to buy some until he'd restocked.
Post by: CiKe on December 11, 2014, 02:31:37 PM
Lagavullin 16 y.o. lovely altogether...

Someone mentioned Ardbeg earlier. I like most Islay's but bought a bottle of Ardbeg Uigeadail (Jim Murray's world whisky of the year in 2009) for the father-in-law a few years back. Rocket-fuel altogether, has barely been touched. Shows what I know about whisky really.
Post by: ONeill on December 11, 2014, 09:10:25 PM
Ardbeg is a slow sipper. Beautiful though. Like Carol Vorderman.
Post by: Puckoon on December 11, 2014, 10:51:26 PM
Any Laphroaig Drinkers in the house?
Post by: Jell 0 Biafra on December 11, 2014, 11:09:32 PM
Love the stuff.  Very keen on the smokier scotchs.
Post by: ONeill on December 11, 2014, 11:58:49 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on December 11, 2014, 10:51:26 PM
Any Laphroaig Drinkers in the house?

Have been known to tackle it of a weekend.
Post by: Puckoon on December 12, 2014, 12:02:08 AM
I don't like it at all at all at all, but I've always wondered how you drink something as heavy/smokey as that and then back off to some of the more smooth Irish Whiskeys.
Post by: ONeill on December 12, 2014, 12:04:42 AM
Takes all kinds. I find the smokiness to my liking. It's like chewing an oul wooden table. Lovely.

"One of the most divisive Scotch whiskies, loved by those who enjoy its medicinal, smoky flavour and looked on in amazement by those who don't, it remains one of the most popular."
Post by: Puckoon on December 12, 2014, 12:47:43 AM
And at $15 a measure, thank the lord I only have one friend who drinks it!
Post by: gallsman on December 12, 2014, 12:54:58 AM
Highland Park 12 is a great Scotch for the slightly premium price.
Post by: weareros on December 12, 2014, 01:22:05 AM
Got a bottle of Laphroaig the other night on the advice of an expert Scotch drinker. Jaysus awful stuff. I had to ask myself how on earth do people pay a premium for this. I looked it up on the internet and even the distillery itself was proudly proclaiming that it tasted like a burning hospital. Actually if you took all the balls of cotton from your mouth after the dentist pulled half your teeth out and distilled it with poison tap water from Roscommon, that's what Laphroaig tastes like. Nearly put me off the drink for life. I don't care what anyone says but Irish whiskey is the nicest in the world. It's only flaw is that it's too nice.
Post by: gallsman on December 12, 2014, 08:37:30 AM
Quote from: weareros on December 12, 2014, 01:22:05 AM
Got a bottle of Laphroaig the other night on the advice of an expert Scotch drinker. Jaysus awful stuff. I had to ask myself how on earth do people pay a premium for this. I looked it up on the internet and even the distillery itself was proudly proclaiming that it tasted like a burning hospital. Actually if you took all the balls of cotton from your mouth after the dentist pulled half your teeth out and distilled it with poison tap water from Roscommon, that's what Laphroaig tastes like. Nearly put me off the drink for life. I don't care what anyone says but Irish whiskey is the nicest in the world. It's only flaw is that it's too nice.

The three main Islay distilleries all produce incredibly smokey ones. Different taste but I wouldn't be so quick to rule it out.
Post by: HiMucker on December 12, 2014, 08:51:40 AM
Gallsman credit where credit is due fantastic thread!  I have just sobered up after reading the first couple of posts a few days back!

Green spot yous say is a must try.  I will have to give it a whirl.  Had a wee dram of 12 year Red breast that I got as a present last night.  Lovely stuff.

Post by: gallsman on December 12, 2014, 09:02:26 AM
Quote from: HiMucker on December 12, 2014, 08:51:40 AM
Gallsman credit where credit is due fantastic thread!  I have just sobered up after reading the first couple of posts a few days back!

Green spot yous say is a must try.  I will have to give it a whirl.  Had a wee dram of 12 year Red breast that I got as a present last night.  Lovely stuff.

The Redbreast 12 is nice but the cask strength variety is one of the nicest things out there. Absolutely superb. Bit pricey for my tastes to keep a regular bottle but it's a lovely one to get/give as a present.
Post by: ONeill on December 12, 2014, 11:18:19 PM

Islay whisky is a man's drink. Irish whiskey is for the manbagging metros.
Post by: gallsman on December 13, 2014, 05:36:55 AM
Quote from: ONeill on December 12, 2014, 11:18:19 PM

Islay whisky is a man's drink. Irish whiskey is for the manbagging metros.

I think the word you're looking for is refined.
Post by: aontroim abu on December 23, 2014, 01:56:44 PM
Quote from: aontroim abu on December 10, 2014, 11:19:14 AM

Tried the vineyard, apart from the traffic to get there it was well worth the trip. The guy who owns it practically knew the names of the guys in the distillery he knew that much about the drinks he was selling, brilliant. Got a bottle of Teeling single grain and a bottle of Midleton very rare. Hope they're worth the price
Post by: gallsman on December 23, 2014, 05:09:00 PM
Quote from: aontroim abu on December 23, 2014, 01:56:44 PM
Quote from: aontroim abu on December 10, 2014, 11:19:14 AM

Tried the vineyard, apart from the traffic to get there it was well worth the trip. The guy who owns it practically knew the names of the guys in the distillery he knew that much about the drinks he was selling, brilliant. Got a bottle of Teeling single grain and a bottle of Midleton very rare. Hope they're worth the price

Yeah it's great. Bought a bottle of one of the Japanese ones in there last week as a present and staff were very knowledgeable.

The Teeling sounds good. They won a rake of Irish awards recently. Polished off most of a bottle of The Irishman the other night with the father. Brilliant stuff for the price of it.
Post by: omaghjoe on December 23, 2014, 06:26:21 PM

Laphroaig is generally regarded as a harsh whiskey but the peatiest around, so its got a reputation as being for being an extreme whiskey strong taste and smell but quite harsh, although I never found it overly harsh myself.
Its not a great intro to Scotch to be fair,  Like Galls man I would recommend Highland Park 12 as a good intro, great aroma.

In any case if your aim in whiskey is to get something smooth your probably best saving your money and goin for Jameson. I cant stand the stuff TBH smells like petrol or something.Or better still avoiding whiskey altogether and going for a good tequila plus no hangover.
The best Irish whiskey IMO is Black Bush. Scotch single malts overall are much superior whiskey but u gotta take your time! Your aim should not be to get tipsy but to enjoy the whiskey, getting tipsy is a mere side benefit!
Post by: screenexile on December 23, 2014, 09:15:24 PM
Had to buy Midleton Very Rare Whiskey for a Supplier yesterday... £120!!! f**k it must be some stuff! I'm a big Jameson fan so I imagine the Midleton would be great. Has anyone tried it??
Post by: Puckoon on December 23, 2014, 09:16:58 PM
I had a bottle that I opened for my daughters christening. Granted that was 7 years ago and I wasn't as big a fan, but it didn't blow me away. Might have to try it again.
Post by: el_cuervo_fc on December 23, 2014, 10:31:31 PM
A client handed me a bottle of canadian club classic today. Anyone ever try it?
Post by: Jell 0 Biafra on December 23, 2014, 11:01:40 PM
Quote from: el_cuervo_fc on December 23, 2014, 10:31:31 PM
A client handed me a bottle of canadian club classic today. Anyone ever try it?

If it's anything like the ordinary Canadian Club, I wouldn't be a fan.  Way too sweet.
Post by: screenexile on December 23, 2014, 11:19:47 PM
CC and ginger ale is a nice drink. I wouldn't drink it with water though!!
Post by: Puckoon on December 24, 2014, 09:59:36 PM
Just received a nice bottle of RedBreast 15 from a client. Merry Christmas one and all!!
Post by: trileacman on December 25, 2014, 02:35:16 AM
What's the views on Green Spot?
Post by: gallsman on December 25, 2014, 08:28:57 AM
Quote from: trileacman on December 25, 2014, 02:35:16 AM
What's the views on Green Spot?

Universally acclaimed by all who've had it on this thread. It is marvellous.
Post by: tyroneman on December 25, 2014, 08:46:03 AM
Tried Green Spot.....great stuff. Getting hold of it seems difficult though (Amazon could be the answer)

Had a Glenrothes select last night. Very nice. Smooth going down but harsher taste if that makes any sense.

Next bottle will be green spot or monkey shoulder though
Post by: gallsman on December 26, 2014, 12:35:31 AM
On the menu today were:

Hakushu 12 - absolutely gorgeous. Can't wait to try some of the other Japanese ones.

Redbreast 12 - delicious as always

Redbreast 15 - meh, don't think it justifies price difference over the 12

Powers John's Lane - nice but simply prefer green spot

High West - not a big bourbon drinker and this was alright. Nothing special.
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 26, 2014, 12:48:56 AM
Quote from: gallsman on December 26, 2014, 12:35:31 AM
On the menu today were:

Hakushu 12 - absolutely gorgeous. Can't wait to try some of the other Japanese ones.

Redbreast 12 - delicious as always

Redbreast 15 - meh, don't think it justifies price difference over the 12

Powers John's Lane - nice but simply prefer green spot

High West - not a big bourbon drinker and this was alright. Nothing special.
You've been busy. Would recommend Yamazaki.
Post by: gallsman on December 26, 2014, 01:14:33 AM
Just a few wee snifters of most of them, only really drank away at the Powers. Have been planning on giving the Yamazaki a go for a while. Bought the Hakushu (also made by Suntory) for the da so hoping to get a proper go at it before I head home!
Post by: gallsman on March 19, 2015, 05:41:29 PM
O'Brien's have a bit of a spirit sale on at the minute with a good number of whiskeys reduced. Yellow Spot going for €65 if anyone wants to try it
Post by: Puckoon on March 19, 2015, 06:14:04 PM
Has anyone tried the 1608 Bushmills 400 year anniversary blend? My father brought me a bottle and we opened it - very enjoyable. Couldn't find much literature on what was different about it, but we tested a few n numbers of it side by side by the regular Bush and it was certainly different. Nice anniversary package too.
Post by: Hardy on March 20, 2015, 01:07:51 AM

Missed this post first time around, which is great, because otherwise I wouldn't have had the pleasure of reading it for the first time now. I can only say I wish I had said that. Especially the last sentence.
Post by: macdanger2 on March 20, 2015, 09:12:13 AM
Quote from: gallsman on March 19, 2015, 05:41:29 PM
O'Brien's have a bit of a spirit sale on at the minute with a good number of whiskeys reduced. Yellow Spot going for €65 if anyone wants to try it

How much would yellow spot normally be??
Post by: gallsman on March 20, 2015, 10:59:31 AM
Quote from: macdanger2 on March 20, 2015, 09:12:13 AM

How much would yellow spot normally be??

75-85.
Post by: macdanger2 on March 20, 2015, 11:04:43 AM
Cheers galls
Post by: rrhf on March 20, 2015, 04:31:55 PM
Quote from: Hardy on March 20, 2015, 01:07:51 AM

Missed this post first time around, which is great, because otherwise I wouldn't have had the pleasure of reading it for the first time now. I can only say I wish I had said that. Especially the last sentence.
can I agree with these folk. A John Jameson works for me.
Post by: HiMucker on March 20, 2015, 05:15:47 PM
Had a glass of Green spot the other night when out.  Lovely stuff.  I think I recall you early on this thread saying that yellow spot isn't worth the price difference between the two?? But for 65 yoyos is it worth getting instead.  Cheers
Post by: gallsman on March 20, 2015, 05:23:11 PM
Quote from: HiMucker on March 20, 2015, 05:15:47 PM
Had a glass of Green spot the other night when out.  Lovely stuff.  I think I recall you early on this thread saying that yellow spot isn't worth the price difference between the two?? But for 65 yoyos is it worth getting instead.  Cheers

It's worth trying at least once, especially at that price. It's 46% so there's much more of a kick off it too.

However, for a more regular drink, I think Green Spot is much better value for money.
Post by: gallsman on May 28, 2015, 09:39:58 PM
Johnnie Walker black going for €26 in Tesco in the south. Good bargain.
Post by: macdanger2 on June 09, 2015, 02:04:28 PM
Can anyone recommend a nice peaty whiskey?? I've tried Connemara but was wondering if there are any other options around?

Irish if possible but if not, what would you recommend from other countries?
Post by: Franko on June 09, 2015, 02:09:49 PM
Not sure of any Irish whiskies that would fall into that bracket but some scotches are extremely peaty.  Try some of the more expensive stuff from the Laphroaig distillery.
Post by: macdanger2 on June 09, 2015, 02:32:17 PM
Cheers Franko
Post by: HiMucker on November 11, 2015, 08:12:21 AM
Quote from: macdanger2 on June 09, 2015, 02:04:28 PM
Can anyone recommend a nice peaty whiskey?? I've tried Connemara but was wondering if there are any other options around?

Irish if possible but if not, what would you recommend from other countries?
Bit late, but I got a bottle of Jura superstition at duty free and thought it was lovely.  Very smokey.  The first sip of a glass always seems harsh but lovely and smooth after.  A few of the mates who would be die hard Irish Whiskey drinkers were convinced enough to buy a bottle.
Post by: Tony Baloney on November 11, 2015, 08:46:35 AM
Have never really got past the smell to contemplate drinking whiskey. However I was in a bar in Edinburgh a couple of weeks ago called Whiski and it was full of young people and tourists drinking it so I thought maybe I'm missing something.

Anyone suggest a decent starter whiskey that won't put me off for life?
Post by: gallsman on November 11, 2015, 09:16:18 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on November 11, 2015, 08:46:35 AM
Have never really got past the smell to contemplate drinking whiskey. However I was in a bar in Edinburgh a couple of weeks ago called Whiski and it was full of young people and tourists drinking it so I thought maybe I'm missing something.

Something smooth, but not overly pricy - Black Bush, Crested Ten, the Irishman. I used to buy a (then) cheapy one in Tesco in the north called Coleraine that was Bushmills stock I believe. More than acceptable.
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 05, 2015, 07:16:07 PM
Being traitorous and bought Aberlour 10 y.o. on recommendation of a fella in work who said it was 20 quid in Sainsbury's. Have yet to tackle it. He said a couple of drops of room temperature water will "open it up". Not sure what any of this means  ???
Post by: Jell 0 Biafra on December 05, 2015, 08:23:08 PM
Don't listen to him.  Never yet had a whiskey that was improved by adding water. 
Post by: ashman on December 05, 2015, 08:46:15 PM
Quote from: Jell 0 Biafra on December 05, 2015, 08:23:08 PM
Don't listen to him.  Never yet had a whiskey that was improved by adding water.
[/quote

Putting water in whiskey or whisky should be criminalised.
Post by: gallsman on December 05, 2015, 09:07:54 PM
Utter bollocks. In plenty of cases it improves it by releasing different flavours. Take cask strength whiskey for example. Drink it neat and the only taste you get is burning because of the alcohol content. Drop of water is perfect.
Post by: gallsman on December 05, 2015, 09:10:03 PM
Speaking of cask strength whiskey, got a present of Nikka from the Barrel a few months ago. Beautiful stuff.
Post by: 5 Sams on December 05, 2015, 09:12:20 PM
Had my first drop in quite a while last night at a Christmas do. Bog standard Jameson with one small cube of ice. Gorgeous.
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 05, 2015, 10:01:04 PM
Quote from: hardstation on December 05, 2015, 09:54:15 PM
Tony Baloney - find out for yourself. Out of 100 d**kheads, 50 will tell you water, 50 will tell you no water. Trial & error it.
Aye I'll have a rattle now and report back  ;D
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 05, 2015, 10:45:08 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on December 05, 2015, 10:01:04 PM
Quote from: hardstation on December 05, 2015, 09:54:15 PM
Tony Baloney - find out for yourself. Out of 100 d**kheads, 50 will tell you water, 50 will tell you no water. Trial & error it.
Aye I'll have a rattle now and report back  ;D
Didn't mind it without as I didn't get much burn from it. Still not sure whiskey is for me though.
Post by: JoG2 on December 05, 2015, 10:53:33 PM
Quote from: gallsman on November 11, 2015, 09:16:18 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on November 11, 2015, 08:46:35 AM

Something smooth, but not overly pricy - Black Bush, Crested Ten, the Irishman. I used to buy a (then) cheapy one in Tesco in the north called Coleraine that was Bushmills stock I believe. More than acceptable.

In a toddy or Irish coffee maybe,  it's rough enough straight imo!

Post by: annapr on December 05, 2015, 11:40:14 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on December 05, 2015, 09:12:20 PM
Had my first drop in quite a while last night at a Christmas do. Bog standard Jameson with one small cube of ice. Gorgeous.
The only whiskey worth drinking IMO.
Post by: sans pessimism on December 05, 2015, 11:54:47 PM
Glanmorange single malt is like mozart playing on your throat
Post by: muppet on December 06, 2015, 06:47:48 PM
Quote from: sans pessimism on December 05, 2015, 11:54:47 PM
Glanmorange single malt is like mozart playing on your throat

What if you're not an anaconda?
Post by: tyroneman on September 26, 2016, 10:14:03 PM
Just resurrecting this one....anyone tried the Teeling whiskey range...?

The single grain is superb.
Post by: Jell 0 Biafra on September 26, 2016, 11:26:25 PM
Sipping right now on a very satisfying Scotch blend, Monkey Shoulder.  You'd think it was a single malt, it's that lively on the tongue.  Only $34 a bottle,  can't go wrong.
Post by: tyroneman on September 28, 2016, 07:16:53 PM
Monkey Shoulder is pretty tasty alright. Talisker a nice Scottish range also
Post by: stew on September 29, 2016, 02:40:29 PM
Quote from: gallsman on December 08, 2014, 03:15:35 PM
Given there's a beer thread, thought I'd try and get the ball rolling on this one after the flurry of whiskey posts a few days ago. Any whiskey drinkers here?

Flying through Duty Free today so picked up the following:

Green Spot - a favourite, that is great value in Duty Free.

Writer's Tears - another favourite.

The Irishman - came highly recommended. Got it for €19!

Town Branch - I bought this as a present on Saturday in the CWS for €60. Coming through duty free today, it comes in a presentation case with two glasses for €45  :-[ . Phoned the CWS and they said they'll happily let me exchange. Hopefully they'll have some Yamazaki in by the time I get back!

Curiously, and I was a bit upset at this, Powers John's Lane was one price for all destinations. Any idea why this might be?!

If you get upset at the price of drink you have a problem son!

If you buy that much whiskey you might have a problem son!

Son, you have a problem, I highly suggest sober for October, lets see if you can last two days, my money is on no!!!!!
Post by: Puckoon on February 24, 2017, 03:37:40 AM
Had a few interesting ones over the last 3 months.

1. Redbreast 12 year old from somewhere in the 70s. My mother had 2 bottles of this stashed away and we opened one when I was home earlier this month. Only after did I realise its a 400 euro whiskey - but it was an experience to drink it. Pretty rough compared to todays 12 year old Redbreast. I wouldn't pay 400 yoyos for it.
http://www.celticwhiskeyshop.com/redbreast-12-year-old-1970s (http://www.celticwhiskeyshop.com/redbreast-12-year-old-1970s)

2. Jameson "Signature" snagged in the duty free in Dublin. Not sure if there's much behind a lot of these new releases other than marketing, but this wasn't my favourite.

3. Crested Ten! I'd served this for years to a well known Grocer around Omagh and never ever tried it until this evening. Mighty stuff. Smooth and mellow. Hard to get over here I guess - and is now just marketed as Jameson Crested - but this is great drinking whiskey.
Post by: Puckoon on February 24, 2017, 03:43:08 AM
Quote from: tyroneman on September 28, 2016, 07:16:53 PM

Monkey Shoulder is pretty good for the price!
Post by: omaghjoe on February 24, 2017, 06:21:30 AM
Quote from: Puckoon on February 24, 2017, 03:37:40 AM
Had a few interesting ones over the last 3 months.

1. Redbreast 12 year old from somewhere in the 70s. My mother had 2 bottles of this stashed away and we opened one when I was home earlier this month. Only after did I realise its a 400 euro whiskey - but it was an experience to drink it. Pretty rough compared to todays 12 year old Redbreast. I wouldn't pay 400 yoyos for it.
http://www.celticwhiskeyshop.com/redbreast-12-year-old-1970s (http://www.celticwhiskeyshop.com/redbreast-12-year-old-1970s)

2. Jameson "Signature" snagged in the duty free in Dublin. Not sure if there's much behind a lot of these new releases other than marketing, but this wasn't my favourite.

3. Crested Ten! I'd served this for years to a well known Grocer around Omagh and never ever tried it until this evening. Mighty stuff. Smooth and mellow. Hard to get over here I guess - and is now just marketed as Jameson Crested - but this is great drinking whiskey.

Musta been John Rafferty in Sallys was it?
Post by: Puckoon on February 24, 2017, 02:44:25 PM
John isn't a grocer, at least I wouldn't have said so.

Never worked in Sallys myself, spent most of my time working for the other big corporation
Post by: omaghjoe on February 24, 2017, 09:01:20 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on February 24, 2017, 02:44:25 PM
John isn't a grocer, at least I wouldn't have said so.

Never worked in Sallys myself, spent most of my time working for the other big corporation

Well..... he used to sell food....
Post by: trileacman on February 26, 2017, 07:25:59 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on December 05, 2015, 07:16:07 PM
Being traitorous and bought Aberlour 10 y.o. on recommendation of a fella in work who said it was 20 quid in Sainsbury's. Have yet to tackle it. He said a couple of drops of room temperature water will "open it up". Not sure what any of this means  ???

I drink whisky with a fair bit of ice, you get a fair whack of the strength of Whiskey at the start and as the ice melts it softens it up rightly.
Post by: manfromdelmonte on February 26, 2017, 09:44:12 PM
Had a tour of the distillery in Kilbeggan on Friday
nice place, three whiskeys to taste afterwards including a single malt that was nice

didn't know they were owned by the Cooley distillery crowd.
will be buying again
Post by: gallsman on December 06, 2017, 11:48:28 AM
Green Spot going for £28 on Amazon UK. Writer's Tears for £25 from M&S.
Post by: macdanger2 on December 07, 2017, 11:03:18 PM
Quote from: gallsman on December 06, 2017, 11:48:28 AM

Can't see that on there anymore, must be gone. Great value at that price
Post by: gallsman on December 07, 2017, 11:19:37 PM
Quote from: macdanger2 on December 07, 2017, 11:03:18 PM
Quote from: gallsman on December 06, 2017, 11:48:28 AM

Can't see that on there anymore, must be gone. Great value at that price

It was a daily deal.
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 07, 2017, 11:40:34 PM
That time of the year again!
Post by: Puckoon on December 16, 2017, 02:20:30 AM
Compared Teeling Small Batch $10, Teeling Single Malt $10, Tullamore 12 $9 and Tullamore Phoenix $9.50 tonight.

I'm a smooth whiskey, smooth nose, mellow flavour preference drinker.

Tullamore Phoenix limited edition by a length.

Pick up a bottle if you can
Post by: screenexile on December 16, 2017, 03:04:23 AM

Received a 10 glass of Monkey Shouder as a present from a client . . .  having hated scotch any time I've tried it is it worth sticking with or should I palm it off to somebody?

I'm a big Jameson fan but hate the smokey after taste/gag reflex of a scotch but maybe I should persist and it gets easier??

All comments welcome!
Post by: Puckoon on December 16, 2017, 03:16:36 AM
Monkey Shoulder is absolutely palatable. In fact, its pretty good.

Its an Irish Facing Scotch - in my opinion
Post by: tyroneman on December 16, 2017, 08:22:03 AM
Teeling single grain is a phenomenal drink.
Post by: gallsman on December 16, 2017, 08:45:47 AM
Quote from: screenexile on December 16, 2017, 03:04:23 AM

Received a 10 glass of Monkey Shouder as a present from a client . . .  having hated scotch any time I've tried it is it worth sticking with or should I palm it off to somebody?

I'm a big Jameson fan but hate the smokey after taste/gag reflex of a scotch but maybe I should persist and it gets easier??

All comments welcome!

Monkey Shoulder is absolutely fine, very smooth blend.

Saying you don't like all Scotch is daft. They're not all smokey/peated.
Post by: stiffler on February 07, 2018, 09:31:25 PM
What's the best whiskey around the £30-£40 mark ?
Post by: gallsman on February 07, 2018, 09:47:15 PM
Quote from: stiffler on February 07, 2018, 09:31:25 PM

Irish/Scotch/American/Asian?

Malt? Blend?

Peated?

Not being a p***k but there are umpteen answers to that question.
Post by: trileacman on February 07, 2018, 09:58:27 PM
Quote from: screenexile on December 16, 2017, 03:04:23 AM

All comments welcome!

I was the same, thought of scotch as cutting piss as you do when reared on the softness of Irish whiskey. Got a bottle of 12yr glenfiddich a few years ago, only a 50cl. It was beautiful, having being getting into scotch more and more since. Id advise you to get a soft sotch 70cl and persevere till you finished it over a few months. Start with that glenfiddich 12 yr old and then ramp up the flavours from there if you want.

I actually find green spot very underwhelming. There's a host of scotch and irish whiskey id have ahead of it. Would like to try yellow spot to see if it's much better.
Post by: trileacman on February 07, 2018, 10:09:12 PM

There's 20 answers to this. Glenfiddich 12yr old probably falls into this price range but you'll probably find it disappointing enough since it's been recommended to you. I found whiskeys that are recommended tend to disappoint, it's the ones you find by accident that you tend to treasure.

What's the board view of laphrioag? Peaty as f**k but fun all the same.
Post by: stiffler on February 07, 2018, 10:16:08 PM
Been asked by a European colleague what whiskey should he buy when here. I don't drink the stuff so wouldn't be the best to advise.

I have heard teelings is good ?
Post by: gallsman on February 07, 2018, 11:07:04 PM
Presumably he's looking for an Irish whiskey then. Can't go wrong with a bottle of Green Spot towards the top end of your price range.
Post by: macdanger2 on February 07, 2018, 11:08:15 PM
Quote from: stiffler on February 07, 2018, 10:16:08 PM
Been asked by a European colleague what whiskey should he buy when here. I don't drink the stuff so wouldn't be the best to advise.

I have heard teelings is good ?

Wouldn't be gone on Teelings tbh, prefer Connemara for a similar price (although being peated is not typically Irish) . Kilbeggan is decent for bog standard price
Post by: Harold Disgracey on February 07, 2018, 11:22:35 PM
A bottle of Redbreast would do the job.
Post by: blewuporstuffed on February 08, 2018, 08:55:21 AM
Quote from: gallsman on February 07, 2018, 11:07:04 PM
Presumably he's looking for an Irish whiskey then. Can't go wrong with a bottle of Green Spot towards the top end of your price range.
Yeah, green spot is hard to beat for me
Post by: Mayo4Sam on February 08, 2018, 03:42:35 PM
Powers John's Lane is an excellent whiskey, high viscosity

http://www.celticwhiskeyshop.com/powers-johns-lane-reserve%2012%20year%20old
Post by: Hound on February 08, 2018, 04:26:06 PM
Quote from: trileacman on February 07, 2018, 10:09:12 PM

Love the peaty stuff. Laphroaig is good, but I find Ardbeg even peatier, so that's my fav.
Post by: Hardy on February 08, 2018, 04:27:45 PM
If peat was a flavour there never would have been a famine.
Post by: AZOffaly on February 08, 2018, 07:02:20 PM
Tullamore Dew. 

'Last week the experts they all said the same,
The Kingdom would surely win Sunday's big game.
Kerry were favourites four to one on,
But the Offaly heroes they proved them all wrong.

The Kerry supporters came up on the train.
They came for big sam in the sunshine or rain.
They came for big sam but 'twas little they knew
Next we'd t'would be brimming with Tullamore Dew'.
Post by: ONeill on February 08, 2018, 08:00:39 PM
Quote from: Hound on February 08, 2018, 04:26:06 PM

Love the peaty stuff. Laphroaig is good, but I find Ardbeg even peatier, so that's my fav.

Both nice. Working my way through anCnoc - quare taste.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on February 08, 2018, 08:53:26 PM
Had two weekends in a row of a Rabby Burns night! I'd that many I forgot what I drank!
Post by: CiKe on February 08, 2018, 09:12:50 PM
Quote from: ONeill on February 08, 2018, 08:00:39 PM
Quote from: Hound on February 08, 2018, 04:26:06 PM

Both nice. Working my way through anCnoc - quare taste.

Laphroaig is good. Bought an Ardbeg Uigeadal or something similar years ago. Would blow the head off you. Not gone back to it.

Lagavullin 16. Now that is a good whiskey.
Post by: Tyrdub on February 09, 2018, 09:12:50 AM

i was given a bottle of Jameson Caskmate at Christmas, really nice whiskey and not that expensive
Post by: ONeill on February 10, 2018, 07:22:51 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on February 08, 2018, 08:53:26 PM
Had two weekends in a row of a Rabby Burns night! I'd that many I forgot what I drank!

You've a tiny frame though. Do smaller people get drunk quickly?
Post by: Milltown Row2 on February 11, 2018, 09:16:34 AM
Quote from: ONeill on February 10, 2018, 07:22:51 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on February 08, 2018, 08:53:26 PM

You've a tiny frame though. Do smaller people get drunk quickly?

I know plenty fat feckers who are well pissed before me so I'm not sure on that one
Post by: lurganblue on November 30, 2020, 01:12:15 PM
This is a thread I would have ignored as I thought whiskey wasn't for me.  Over the last few months I have started trying to learn a bit about the different types and begun trying to see if I could grow to like at least some of them.  I really like the idea of sipping on a neat glass of whiskey of a winter's evening.  I don't feel I am quite there yet.  I started with the Jamesons with a little ginger, and then progressed to adding a little water instead.  I like Guinness so have the Jameson's stout edition a rattle.  Prefer the original.

Currently working through a bottle of Powers, which seems to be similar to Jamesons in ways.  Would I find that to be the case too with Paddys, Tullamore dew etc?

I see a lot of talk about Green spot and redbreast.  I might try on one of these as a treat over Christmas but I have a feeling they may be wasted on me.  Nothing ventured, nothing gained I suppose.

Post by: trileacman on November 30, 2020, 01:31:46 PM
Quote from: lurganblue on November 30, 2020, 01:12:15 PM
This is a thread I would have ignored as I thought whiskey wasn't for me.  Over the last few months I have started trying to learn a bit about the different types and begun trying to see if I could grow to like at least some of them.  I really like the idea of sipping on a neat glass of whiskey of a winter's evening.  I don't feel I am quite there yet.  I started with the Jamesons with a little ginger, and then progressed to adding a little water instead.  I like Guinness so have the Jameson's stout edition a rattle.  Prefer the original.

Currently working through a bottle of Powers, which seems to be similar to Jamesons in ways.  Would I find that to be the case too with Paddys, Tullamore dew etc?

I see a lot of talk about Green spot and redbreast.  I might try on one of these as a treat over Christmas but I have a feeling they may be wasted on me.  Nothing ventured, nothing gained I suppose.

Your wasting your time with that landfill whiskey. Go out and get a few bottles of good scotch.
Post by: ziggy90 on November 30, 2020, 01:46:15 PM
Bushmills - Black or Original - is the one for me.
Post by: maddog on November 30, 2020, 02:25:01 PM
Anyone tried Mourne Dew ?
Post by: Hound on November 30, 2020, 02:38:29 PM

I like both of those. I tried both the dearer versions too (yellow spot and RB15) but to be honest I preferred Green and RB12.

A few years ago I got a bottle of Connemara, which is an unusual enough Irish as it has a peated taste. I was very unsure of it initially, but by the end of the bottle I was really enjoying it and then later discovered Scotch from Islay which is much stronger peated. Real medicinal! I adore the stuff now and it's pretty much the only type of whisky I drink  - especially on a winter evening! 
Post by: Chief on November 30, 2020, 03:13:36 PM
Quote from: ziggy90 on November 30, 2020, 01:46:15 PM
Bushmills - Black or Original - is the one for me.

Redbreast Lustau edition is a fair upgrade on Black Bush - although a good deal more expensive also.

As a standard bottle Black Bush is hard to look past
Post by: macdanger2 on November 30, 2020, 03:16:05 PM

Tullamore Dew would be a little different to the other "standard" Irish whiskeys and worth trying for a similar price imo.

If you're looking for something a bit different, I'd second what Hound said and try Connemara, it's €40 down here, not sure about up north. If you like that, then Laphroaig, Talisker and Ardbeg are worth a taste.

You should be able to pick up good whiskey on amazon for cheapish if you keep an eye out - Redbreast 12 for £38 or so would be good value, green spot for around £35, Balvenie 12 for around £40 would probably be my top 3 recommendations there.
Post by: general_lee on December 01, 2020, 02:17:55 PM
Not a huge whiskey fan myself but Red Bush is always a good one to start on. Relatively new but it would be a good introductory whiskey. Particularly for the JD drinkers as that is who it is aimed at
Post by: lurganblue on December 01, 2020, 02:44:03 PM
Quote from: general_lee on December 01, 2020, 02:17:55 PM
Not a huge whiskey fan myself but Red Bush is always a good one to start on. Relatively new but it would be a good introductory whiskey. Particularly for the JD drinkers as that is who it is aimed at

Never was a JD drinker.  Mixing any drinks with Coca Cola was always a no from me.  Bourbons neat is also something I would like to try but I believe JD should be disregarded? Makers Mark maybe...

Quote from: macdanger2 on November 30, 2020, 03:16:05 PM

Tullamore Dew would be a little different to the other "standard" Irish whiskeys and worth trying for a similar price imo.

If you're looking for something a bit different, I'd second what Hound said and try Connemara, it's €40 down here, not sure about up north. If you like that, then Laphroaig, Talisker and Ardbeg are worth a taste.

You should be able to pick up good whiskey on amazon for cheapish if you keep an eye out - Redbreast 12 for £38 or so would be good value, green spot for around £35, Balvenie 12 for around £40 would probably be my top 3 recommendations there.

I certainly will try out the Connemara.
Post by: gallsman on December 01, 2020, 03:01:54 PM
If you like the Connemara, I wouldn't rush to Laphroaig or Ardbeg right away if you want to explore Islay whisky. Lagavullin a softer, smoother introduction to it and, for me, the best of the three of them.

At home, I would always recommend that anyone who likes Irish whiskey tries Green Spot. It's simply a phenomenal whiskey. Prefer it to RB12 and think it's much better value than Yellow or Red Spot. They've only recently reintroduced Blue Spot, which is now a 7 year old. If you fancy splashing out at Christmas RB12 Cask Strength is magnificent.
Post by: Decod89 on December 01, 2020, 03:24:39 PM

I'm a big fan of Jameson Gold Reserve. Very sweet and smooth.
Like to try and always have a bottle in the house. I don't think any new bottles of it are being produced so if you do find one you're in luck.

Redbreast 12 is an excellent tipple in front of the fire. A few of the Scottish ones that I prefer are Jura Superstition and Laphroaig Quarter Cask.
Post by: weareros on December 13, 2020, 09:03:50 PM
Quote from: gallsman on December 01, 2020, 03:01:54 PM
If you like the Connemara, I wouldn't rush to Laphroaig or Ardbeg right away if you want to explore Islay whisky. Lagavullin a softer, smoother introduction to it and, for me, the best of the three of them.

While I found that "Hospital on Fire" taste of Laphroaig difficult to handle, recently tried "Ardbeg Uigeadail" and found it a more enjoyable version of the medicinal peaty island Scotch. Had a sore throat and it burned it away, too. Have a bottle of Connemara to try over Christmas. Will be curious to see how an Irish peat whiskey stacks up against the famed Islay stuff.
Post by: Rudi on December 13, 2020, 09:44:57 PM
Jameson for me as the mainstay. Tried Middleton rare about 10 years back, seriously beautiful but incredibly pricey.
The American ones Wild Turkey is ok, visited the JD distillery in Tennessee, very old style small town America type place, looked forward to the tasting at the end, turned out the distillery is based in a dry county, had to settle for lemonade.
Post by: blewuporstuffed on December 14, 2020, 09:25:15 AM
Quote from: Hound on November 30, 2020, 02:38:29 PM

I like both of those. I tried both the dearer versions too (yellow spot and RB15) but to be honest I preferred Green and RB12.

A few years ago I got a bottle of Connemara, which is an unusual enough Irish as it has a peated taste. I was very unsure of it initially, but by the end of the bottle I was really enjoying it and then later discovered Scotch from Islay which is much stronger peated. Real medicinal! I adore the stuff now and it's pretty much the only type of whisky I drink  - especially on a winter evening!
I prefer Green Spot to the more expensive Yellow spot as well.
Post by: tyroneman on December 14, 2020, 09:57:48 AM
Branched out a little over the past year and can recommend both Glenfiddich IPA and Caol Ila 12 - both wildly different, but tasty
Post by: illdecide on December 14, 2020, 11:21:19 AM
Got a bottle of Redbreast 12 Year Old whiskey from the contractor for Christmas. TBH never even heard of it but google tells me it's half decent. Don't and never will drink whiskey
Post by: Snapchap on December 14, 2020, 11:22:07 AM
Quote from: illdecide on December 14, 2020, 11:21:19 AM
Got a bottle of Redbreast 12 Year Old whiskey from the contractor for Christmas. TBH never even heard of it but google tells me it's half decent. Don't and never will drink whiskey

Well if you need someone to take it off your hands....  ;D
Post by: gallsman on December 14, 2020, 12:44:03 PM

A few barracks of White Lightning is all anyone needs down your way. (The bucky is too expensive these days)
Post by: illdecide on December 14, 2020, 12:57:13 PM
Quote from: gallsman on December 14, 2020, 12:44:03 PM

A few barracks of White Lightning is all anyone needs down your way. (The bucky is too expensive these days)

There are a few sophisticated Lurgan ones too ya know (about 5). Just a plain lager man myself with the odd craving for stout
Post by: Rudi on December 14, 2020, 02:15:14 PM
Probably not the thread, tried Poitin one Christmas with the father in law. Quare stuff, drinking straight whiskey after was like drinking milk. Harsh stuff.
Post by: ziggy90 on December 14, 2020, 03:44:52 PM
Quote from: Rudi on December 14, 2020, 02:15:14 PM
Probably not the thread, tried Poitin one Christmas with the father in law. Quare stuff, drinking straight whiskey after was like drinking milk. Harsh stuff.

I always have a bottle in the house. For medicinal purposes you understand.
Post by: David McKeown on December 22, 2020, 05:03:43 PM
One of my friends set up a whiskey blog and club a few years ago.  Was quite successful till he scaled it back for lockdown and family reasons but I have become a massive fan of whiskey as a result.  We used to meet once every three months and each of us would bring a bottle and do a blind tasting.  Over lockkdown what we did was order a tasting kit online in stead.  Some of them were excellent for 20-30 quid and allowed you to figure out exactly what you like.  As result I now feel the redbreast previously discussed is lovely as are any of Mack Mayra Swedish whiskies.

Have quite a collection now as well and my uncle just released his own whiskey under the Matt Darcy brand out of Newry.  Objectively been impressed with it too
Post by: gallsman on December 22, 2020, 07:12:00 PM
Where's the distillate sourced from? Bushmills?

The Celtic Whiskey Shop and L. Mulligan Grocer have been doing a roaring trade in online tastings during the pandemic. Some of them have been great value.
Post by: lurganblue on December 23, 2020, 09:05:32 AM
Quote from: David McKeown on December 22, 2020, 05:03:43 PM
One of my friends set up a whiskey blog and club a few years ago.  Was quite successful till he scaled it back for lockdown and family reasons but I have become a massive fan of whiskey as a result.  We used to meet once every three months and each of us would bring a bottle and do a blind tasting.  Over lockkdown what we did was order a tasting kit online in stead.  Some of them were excellent for 20-30 quid and allowed you to figure out exactly what you like.  As result I now feel the redbreast previously discussed is lovely as are any of Mack Mayra Swedish whiskies.

Have quite a collection now as well and my uncle just released his own whiskey under the Matt Darcy brand out of Newry.  Objectively been impressed with it too

Yes I saw this on a Facebook competition last week
Post by: gallsman on December 24, 2020, 09:08:18 AM
Taste is obviously the most important sense when it comes to anything you eat or drink. Smell is important, but clearly secondary. It's particularly relevant when doing tastings but anyone who properly noses a glass of whiskey every time they take a sip has too much time on their hands.

"Scottish single malts" is a broad brush. A lot of them are unpeated and as smooth as Irish whiskey. Auchentoshan is famously triple distilled like Irish whiskey and, for me at least, indistinguishable from it.
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on December 24, 2020, 06:18:14 PM
What's this green spot stuff like
Post by: gallsman on December 24, 2020, 08:49:12 PM
Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on December 24, 2020, 06:18:14 PM

Gorgeous. One of the best of all Irish whiskeys. Great value compared to what you can pay for some stuff.
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on December 24, 2020, 09:19:13 PM
Quote from: gallsman on December 24, 2020, 08:49:12 PM

Gorgeous. One of the best of all Irish whiskeys. Great value compared to what you can pay for some stuff.

Daughter bought me bottle there, just about to pour one
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on December 26, 2020, 03:01:37 AM
Quote from: hardstation on December 25, 2020, 09:53:29 PM
Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on December 24, 2020, 09:19:13 PM
Quote from: gallsman on December 24, 2020, 08:49:12 PM

Daughter bought me bottle there, just about to pour one
......died.

*Actually hope not.

Still here unfortunately for some. Have to say twas a nice tipple
Post by: David McKeown on December 27, 2020, 12:48:20 PM
Quote from: gallsman on December 22, 2020, 07:12:00 PM
Where's the distillate sourced from? Bushmills?

The Celtic Whiskey Shop and L. Mulligan Grocer have been doing a roaring trade in online tastings during the pandemic. Some of them have been great value.

I'm not sure I must ask. It didn't taste like Bushmills but I'll check. I think he's planning on having the old distillery opened again in 2022 or so.

Had quite a few tastings over lockdown. I think some of the Mackmyra ones were my favourite.
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on December 27, 2020, 09:33:00 PM
https://www.rte.ie/archives/2015/1221/755419-hair-of-the-dog/
Post by: weareros on January 01, 2021, 09:18:50 PM
Tried Connemara over the Christmas and was underwhelmed. I suppose if you get used to the stronger Islay peat whisky, it's got a weak taste in comparison. Certainly after drinking it next to Ardbeg Uigeadail, it paled in comparison. I did try Yellow Spot too and that's a fantastic single pot stil Irish whiskey and it's good to see an old Dublin whiskey revived - whether it tastes the same as it did when it was first established in 1805 is another question.
Post by: Hound on January 02, 2021, 08:41:44 PM
Quote from: weareros on January 01, 2021, 09:18:50 PM
Tried Connemara over the Christmas and was underwhelmed. I suppose if you get used to the stronger Islay peat whisky, it's got a weak taste in comparison. Certainly after drinking it next to Ardbeg Uigeadail, it paled in comparison. I did try Yellow Spot too and that's a fantastic single pot stil Irish whiskey and it's good to see an old Dublin whiskey revived - whether it tastes the same as it did when it was first established in 1805 is another question.
Connemara would be a pathway to Islay whisky. If you reached to liking Islay, then you'd never go back to Connemara. Personally I find Ardbeg 10 the peatist of all, so prefer it to Uigeadail.

Not a whiskey , but enjoying Chartreuse Green this Christmas break.  A stunning drink. 

Post by: lurganblue on January 22, 2021, 01:24:10 PM
Do any of you buy online? If so, any recommendations for sites.

I got a few good deals before Christmas on Amazon but now they don't seem to ship to NI.  I assume this is a Brexit consequence at the minute.
Post by: gallsman on January 22, 2021, 06:25:02 PM
Quote from: lurganblue on January 22, 2021, 01:24:10 PM
Do any of you buy online? If so, any recommendations for sites.

I got a few good deals before Christmas on Amazon but now they don't seem to ship to NI.  I assume this is a Brexit consequence at the minute.

A lot of sites have been buggered by brexit. Have used both master of malt and the whisky exchange before.
Post by: oakleaflad on February 13, 2021, 02:07:14 PM
Bit of advice. Complete novice when it comes to Whiskey.

Historically I wouldn't have had a drink too often when at home and if I did it would have been a beer or two. Over lockdown I've discovered that I much prefer having a whiskey whilst watching tv, especially in these wintery evenings.

I've had a couple bottles of Jameson which I liked alright but recently had a bottle of Glenfiddich 12 and really enjoyed it too. It's got me in the mood to branch out and try a few. Is Glenfiddich a typical example of a scotch? Any other recommended Irish ones I should try? Nothing too pricy until I find out what I like I suppose. Complete beginner here but open to try a few recommendations
Post by: Jell 0 Biafra on February 13, 2021, 02:17:32 PM
If you like Glenfiddich, you might try Glenlivet too. 

For a richer flavor, Monkey Shoulder is one of my faves.

If you want to try something a bit more on the peaty (smoky) side, try Ardbeg.
Post by: STREET FIGHTER on February 13, 2021, 05:34:58 PM
For the Whiskey Connoisseur's on the board where does Black Bush sit in the ratings?
Post by: trueblue1234 on February 13, 2021, 06:09:33 PM
Quote from: STREET FIGHTER on February 13, 2021, 05:34:58 PM
For the Whiskey Connoisseur's on the board where does Black Bush sit in the ratings?

Far from a Connoisseur but I prefer Black Bush to Jameson.
Post by: ziggy90 on February 13, 2021, 06:24:59 PM
Quote from: trueblue1234 on February 13, 2021, 06:09:33 PM

Far from a Connoisseur but I prefer Black Bush to Jameson.

Plus one.
Post by: gallsman on February 14, 2021, 07:24:19 AM

Black Bush is a really good value basic Irish blend. You can pay far more for older, more complex whiskeys that don't taste half as good. I'm happy to drink away at it and, because of the price, if I've nothing cheaper, will happily throw it in Irish coffee or got whiskey as well.
Post by: screenexile on February 14, 2021, 09:26:54 AM
Quote from: gallsman on February 14, 2021, 07:24:19 AM

Black Bush is a really good value basic Irish blend. You can pay far more for older, more complex whiskeys that don't taste half as good. I'm happy to drink away at it and, because of the price, if I've nothing cheaper, will happily throw it in Irish coffee or got whiskey as well.

Always preferred Powers for a hot whiskey compared to the others.
Post by: restorepride on February 14, 2021, 10:25:26 PM
Quote from: screenexile on February 14, 2021, 09:26:54 AM
Quote from: gallsman on February 14, 2021, 07:24:19 AM

Always preferred Powers for a hot whiskey compared to the others.

No doubt about that - Powers is best for hot whiskey.

Oul boys in our country used to make hot poitín -not bad either.
Post by: lurganblue on June 25, 2021, 03:53:36 PM
I got the Connemara Whiskey for Father's day there.  It is a bit of an introduction to peated whiskey for me.  I have had one glass and on first impressions i dont think that style is for me.  I'll keep going with the bottle though just to confirm ;)
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 25, 2021, 04:01:37 PM
Quote from: lurganblue on June 25, 2021, 03:53:36 PM
I got the Connemara Whiskey for Father's day there.  It is a bit of an introduction to peated whiskey for me.  I have had one glass and on first impressions i dont think that style is for me.  I'll keep going with the bottle though just to confirm ;)
;D "If you're going through hell, keep going".
Post by: Never beat the deeler on August 26, 2021, 01:25:02 AM
Apologies if it's been covered before, but I live overseas and wanted to get a bottle of whiskey delivered to my aul fella for his birthday.
What's the best local website that sells online and delivers? Any google searches for whiskey ireland inevitably bring up websites here, or Yank-traps.

Looking for something aroudn the 100E mark, not tied to Irish / Scotch but will pick something he doesn't usually get

TIA
Post by: HiMucker on August 26, 2021, 08:39:50 AM
The whiskey exchange is hard to beat. Used it for a few present deliveries myself.
Post by: Never beat the deeler on August 26, 2021, 08:46:27 AM
Quote from: HiMucker on August 26, 2021, 08:39:50 AM
The whiskey exchange is hard to beat. Used it for a few present deliveries myself.

just had a look - not giving me an option for delivery to Ireland
Post by: Hound on August 26, 2021, 09:29:08 AM
I use mitchellandsons.  Decent selection, fast delivery (dispatched within a day or two)

Also drinkstore.ie. Bigger selection, slower delivery (might take a week to dispatch)
Post by: HiMucker on September 04, 2021, 10:43:23 PM
Bushmills single malt 10 year old. An easy one to get through
Post by: StPatsAbu on September 05, 2021, 01:24:58 AM
My da was a Powers man and Jameson in latter life. He was a barman at a vintners do when young and said they drank Powers all night so reckoned they knew their onions
Post by: Dougal Maguire on September 05, 2021, 12:59:59 PM
I'm not a whiskey drinker but last year I bought a bottle of Matt D'Arcy's 17 Year Old Single Cask Irish Whiskey. This is the first release in over a century to come from Matt D'Arcy & Co. Ltd a former Newry distiller and is a limited edition of 384 bottles. I only bought it because I know the guy who is reopening the distillery. Probably a case of a fool and his money going separate ways but c'est la vie.
Post by: gallsman on September 05, 2021, 03:28:51 PM
Where's the stock from? They really need to clamp down on some of the advertising and labeling laws about whiskey. Distilleries and bonders can source stock from any distillery they want and package it up whatever way they like.

I think the boom in Irish whiskey at the minute is absolutely fantastic but almost everything in a bottle labelled "Irish whiskey" right now is still coming out of Midleton, Bushmills or Cooley. You'd be hard pressed to know that from some of the labels, especially some of the new distilleries as they sell stock from somewhere else whilst waiting for their own to age.
Post by: David McKeown on September 05, 2021, 04:13:42 PM
Quote from: Dougal Maguire on September 05, 2021, 12:59:59 PM
I'm not a whiskey drinker but last year I bought a bottle of Matt D'Arcy's 17 Year Old Single Cask Irish Whiskey. This is the first release in over a century to come from Matt D'Arcy & Co. Ltd a former Newry distiller and is a limited edition of 384 bottles. I only bought it because I know the guy who is reopening the distillery. Probably a case of a fool and his money going separate ways but c'est la vie.

I love their 10 year old and the 3 year old is excellent for the price point. I don't dislike the 17 year old but it's not my favourite at that price point. (I think my username likely gives away I also know the owner). I understand the stock is from Teelings but I'm not certain on that.
Post by: Dougal Maguire on September 05, 2021, 10:58:28 PM
Fair play to you if you've opened a bottle of 17 year old. It and the' 10 year old that I also bought in that fit of madness will remain unopened until my children's children decide to part company with it
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 10, 2021, 05:32:48 PM
Need some help. A mate and his missus in the south have just had a baby and I was wanting to send them a bottle. Anyone recommend a website in the south that I could order direct from rather than fannying about with packaging and posting from the north.
Post by: lurganblue on December 30, 2021, 12:37:47 PM
Still quite new to all of this but getting there.  I was lucky enough to be treated to a bottle of Redbreast 12 for Christmas.  It really is something special isn't it. The best i have yet tasted.
Post by: thedice on February 08, 2023, 09:37:18 PM
any nice new recommendations for an irish whiskey for a very special occassion to wet the babies head?

I was hoping to get something nice to toast the occassion when it comes?

also in terms of "starting a collection" is there anything you should look for in the off licence to unearth a nice bottle or one with potential at a decent price?

would all the investment ones be in high end collections?
Post by: Milltown Row2 on February 08, 2023, 10:32:24 PM
Had a bottle of the Glens of Antrim whiskey Lir Green crest, from what I remember the lads at the card school enjoyed it and they'd be good whiskey men
Post by: ardtole on February 09, 2023, 06:57:52 AM
 I don't drink whisky, but that is the sort of recommendation I'd be looking for MR2.

Post by: Tyrdub on February 09, 2023, 01:58:30 PM
Herself got me a bottle of 5 year old Dead Rabbit Whiskey at Christmas, its so nice I am taking my time emptying the bottle. Really enjoying 1 or 2 at a weekend instead of just going for it.
It's so good I wouldn't even share it with her dad (he wouldn't appreciate it anyway)
Post by: oakleaflad on February 09, 2023, 03:34:10 PM
https://www.titanicdistillers.com/products/titanic-distillers-premium-irish-whiskey?variant=41489833361558 (https://www.titanicdistillers.com/products/titanic-distillers-premium-irish-whiskey?variant=41489833361558)

I was gifted this and it was very nice, to the point where I'm buying myself another bottle. They do a couple gift sets at reasonable prices that'd be good ideas for a gift. 
Post by: Tony Baloney on February 09, 2023, 07:23:22 PM
I tried a Maker's Mark, Woodford Reserve and Knob Creek recently. Still don't like it.
Post by: thedice on February 09, 2023, 10:11:09 PM
 Jack daniels single barrel select was one I got and enjoyed in amazon black Friday sale.

I liked The Irishman small batch and jameson black barrell.

Got Glenmorangie 10yr the original and wasn't that pushed on it so maybe have more the palate for irish whiskey
Post by: gallsman on February 09, 2023, 10:56:10 PM
Have bought McCallan 12 a few times in the last year or so. Magnificent scotch.
Post by: JoG2 on February 09, 2023, 10:57:25 PM
Not a whiskey drinker but I did have 2 Silkie's down in Ardara (when in Rome) last year. Must say the lighter coloured one was really nice. Only discovered the next day its 46 percent, would put hairs on the palms of your hands. Slept like a baby
Post by: Milltown Row2 on February 09, 2023, 10:59:37 PM
Quote from: gallsman on February 09, 2023, 10:56:10 PM
Have bought McCallan 12 a few times in the last year or so. Magnificent scotch.

Was at my mates annual Burns night the McCallan was drank dry
Post by: weareros on February 09, 2023, 11:26:46 PM
If you want an Irish whiskey that tastes like a peaty Islay Scotch, then Teeling Blackpitts is very good. Very nice if you have acquired a taste for the smoky stuff.