Recent posts

General discussion / Re: Eurovision final here we c...
Last post by thebigfella - Today at 10:32:29 AM
Quote from: JoG2 on Today at 08:58:29 AM
Quote from: Snapchap on Today at 07:36:14 AMWell, truthsayer, you say the satanism is just young ones dressing up and having a but if craic, but it is more than that in Bambi Thug's case. She literally self-identifies as a witch.

Some lads here love to think they are awfully progressive and trigger happy smearing other people as narrow minded bigots. Whatever makes you feel good about yourselves. Personally, I think a grown adult actually believing herself to be a witch and running about in plastic horns, chrome nails and covered in body paint looks absolutely f**king ridiculous.

I saw some of the clips of "celebs" arriving at the met gala the other day in the most ridiculous outfits you could imagine. One was a woman wearing a dress that she was wrapped so tight in that she literally couldn't walk into the venue and had to be lifted and carried, upright, by her minders. I thought she looked f**king ridiculous but I suppose she's just really progressive and I'm a closed minded bigot.

And they may well think Wranglers, tucked in checked shirts and brown slip on boots are ridiculous.. Surely each to their own?

And these people self-identify as cowboys. I am a narrow minded bigot as far they are concerned  ;D
Laois / Re: Laois U20s and Minors 2024...
Last post by georgedoylesrightleg - Today at 10:30:30 AM
what happend on sideline sendin off?
General discussion / Re: Deposit Return Scheme (for...
Last post by thebigfella - Today at 10:28:33 AM
It's like anything, the people shouting the loudest just don't like change and offer no alternatives apart from doing the same. Sure weren't bottle banks met with the same resistance. Even listened to one woman on the radio talking about all the driving she was doing every day for returns being worse for the environment. Total guff.

No real issues myself but I know there are a few teething problems. Like you hardly have any cans or bottles to return compared to others.
Last post by armaghniac - Today at 10:23:40 AM
Both Tesco and M&S in Newry selling bottles with the logo but not the deposit, so bottle smuggling is the new thing.
Last post by gerrykeegan - Today at 10:22:38 AM
We have very few bottles or cans come into the house so in the main it's fine. But it seems to be a nightmare with people who do have lots. I was heading to LIDL last night, a couple where just ahead of me and thought I was going to the machine. The girl stopped and said do you want to go in front of us, we could be here forever.
Last post by Armagh18 - Today at 10:19:36 AM
May send the Turkey again.

Laois / Re: Laois U20s and Minors 2024...
Last post by Laois Rising - Today at 10:19:18 AM
How wrong I was-that Offaly team is more than a few steps ahead of us. The pace and skill of their forward line is a joy to watch. We went man on man and they absolutely blitzed us with every forward getting out ahead of their man and having the accuracy in their shooting. I think their first seven shots all within the first 5/6 minutes sailed straight between the posts. They were determined to set down a marker from the very off while our players seemed like they were trying to warm into the game in the first few minutes. We were never at the pitch of Offaly and the game was already a foregone conclusion after 10 minutes.

At least half a dozen of that team in years to come will form the backbone of an Offaly senior side which I fear will reach a level that Laois may not be able to get to.   
Last post by AustinPowers - Today at 10:18:48 AM
What  are people's  experiences of  the scheme so far?
Last post by JoG2 - Today at 10:16:11 AM
Quote from: Snapchap on Today at 10:04:42 AM
Quote from: JoG2 on Today at 09:51:18 AM
Quote from: Snapchap on Today at 09:17:04 AM
Quote from: JoG2 on Today at 08:58:29 AM
Quote from: Snapchap on Today at 07:36:14 AMWell, truthsayer, you say the satanism is just young ones dressing up and having a but if craic, but it is more than that in Bambi Thug's case. She literally self-identifies as a witch.

Some lads here love to think they are awfully progressive and trigger happy smearing other people as narrow minded bigots. Whatever makes you feel good about yourselves. Personally, I think a grown adult actually believing herself to be a witch and running about in plastic horns, chrome nails and covered in body paint looks absolutely f**king ridiculous.

I saw some of the clips of "celebs" arriving at the met gala the other day in the most ridiculous outfits you could imagine. One was a woman wearing a dress that she was wrapped so tight in that she literally couldn't walk into the venue and had to be lifted and carried, upright, by her minders. I thought she looked f**king ridiculous but I suppose she's just really progressive and I'm a closed minded bigot.

And they may well think Wranglers, tucked in checked shirts and brown slip on boots are ridiculous.. Surely each to their own?

They may well think so. And they should be absolultely entitled to think as much without the likes of yourself riding in on your high horse to accuse them of being narrow minded bigots. Similarly, while I think a grown adult is entitled to self-identify as a witch, wear plastic horns and chrome claws and insist on being called 'they', I'm still allowed to say that I think they come across as absolutely ridculous.

No high horse here...calling a person a 'freak' etc because they look or behave differently, surely thats not cool in any man's language?

And yes, if course you're allowed to call someone 'absolutely ridiculous' , but it has to be a 2 way street, no?

I've called nobody a freak but there's a mentality among some that any criticism of Bambi is used as an excuse to throw around accusations of bigotry or intolerance. And of course it's a two way street. That's why I said Bambi would be perfectly entitled to regard someone in jeans and a tshirt who doesn't self-identify as a f**king witch, as ridiculous.

As good a place as any to leave it
General discussion / Re: European Leagues.
Last post by Armagh18 - Today at 10:14:09 AM
Quote from: Look-Up! on Today at 09:46:30 AM
Quote from: smort on Today at 09:40:07 AM
Quote from: Look-Up! on Today at 09:31:38 AM
Quote from: square_ball on Today at 09:25:21 AM
Quote from: Look-Up! on Today at 09:13:12 AMJoselu is something else though. Doesn't matter if it's the Bernabeu or Stoke on a wet windy night, the man delivers!!!

More like he couldn't do it on a wet windy night in Stoke. Crazy that 2 failed former Stoke strikers were leading the line at the end of a Champions League Semi Final.
Who's the other one?

Always great to see stories like this. Only got his first Spain cap last year too at 32. Unbelievable night for him and his family.

Eric Maxim Choupo-Moting
Thanks. They just missed each other at Stoke too I see. Very similar strike rate as well.
seen something the other day that a member of that Stoke 15/16 squad has played in CL semi finals something like 12 of the last 20 years.