Sinn Fein? They have gone away, you know.

Started by Trevor Hill, January 18, 2010, 12:28:52 AM

Quote from: AQMP on November 20, 2012, 03:19:57 PM
Quote from: Applesisapples on November 20, 2012, 02:33:29 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on November 19, 2012, 05:40:32 PM
I can't understand this move against Jim Wells.

MLAs reject attempt to exclude DUP's Jim Wells
By Gareth Gordon
BBC NI political correspondent

The Assembly has rejected an attempt to exclude the DUP MLA Jim Wells from the chamber for a week.

The sanction had been suggested by a Stormont committee after Mr Wells refused to apologise for comments he made to Mary McArdle, former adviser to the Culture Minister Caral Ni Chuilin.

Ms McArdle was convicted for her part in the 1984 murder of magistrate's daughter Mary Travers.

The motion was defeated by 51 votes to 49.

Mr Wells made the comments last year when the controversial appointment of Ms McArdle was in the headlines.

Ms McArdle had been convicted for her part in the shooting of the young school teacher.

Mary Travers, 22, was shot as she left Mass at Derryvolgie, Belfast, with her father, magistrate Tom Travers. Ms McArdle was sentenced to a life term and was released under the Good Friday Agreement.

She has since left the adviser post and been replaced by Jarlath Kearney, a former journalist who has worked as a Sinn Fein policy adviser.

In two separate encounters last summer Mr Wells made his views known face-to-face and vehemently to the minister and her then adviser.

Kieran McCarthy, deputy chair of the standards and privileges committee, said Ms Ni Chuilin claimed Mr Wells behaved in an aggressive and threatening manner telling her 'You needn't think you're going to bring that murderer to South Down'.

Ms McArdle alleged that Mr Wells had confronted her later on the same month - she said that Mr Wells had passed her on the first floor of the corridor in parliament buildings and had said to her, "there's the murderer herself".

Mr Wells admits calling Ms McArdle a monster adviser but denies calling her a murderer.

Last week the former assembly standards commissioner Tom Frawley decided Mr Wells had not shown the women enough respect.

So he called a convicted murder a murderer, apparently - is that it?
And Catriona Ruane is accusing him of being anti-Catholic, anti-Nationalist and a misogynist - am I missing something here? I wouldn't consider Wells to be a very likeable individual, but I can't understand the fuss over this - or Ruane's response.
I think Ruane's discription would be fairly on the money. Jim is very much on the Nelson wing of the DUP. He performs well when talking on health, but Killkeel is not a bastion of reconcilliation. That said the outcome of this debate was predictable and I suspect it was more about point scoring than an apology. It just shows you the level of politics in the North. All the issues we have with the economy and MLA's still waste time on shit like this, marches etc. Plus Ca Change I believe the French would say. (I can't manage the dangly bit on the C pefore the French Grammar Police take isssue.)

Shurely you mean a "cedille" or "cedilla" ;)
Thanks for that French isn't my thing.

Quote from: Applesisapples on November 21, 2012, 11:02:03 AM
Quote from: Nally Stand on November 20, 2012, 02:49:55 PM
Quote from: Applesisapples on November 20, 2012, 02:28:55 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on November 17, 2012, 10:04:28 AM
Quote from: Applesisapples on November 17, 2012, 09:31:41 AM
Quote from: Nally Stand on November 17, 2012, 12:45:02 AM
Quote from: Applesisapples on November 16, 2012, 11:41:46 PM
Quote from: charlieTully on November 16, 2012, 01:49:16 PM
Quote from: Ulick on November 16, 2012, 01:36:51 PM
Quote from: Applesisapples on November 16, 2012, 12:29:11 PM
Seriously worried about the lack of a strong nationalist/republican party, shinners and the stoops are Peter's lapdogs. Not one inch of parity of esteem has followed from the GFA and no sign of a UI in the next 100 years...well done guys.

What exactly are you doing to gain "parity of esteem" or advance the cause of UI?

thats what we vote sf for. they need to keep at it. good to hear them call for the release of Marian Price though. thought they should have been a lot more vocal during the summer around parades and bonfires etc.
Fc*K Marian Price she is a dissident. What about proper representation .
Clown.
Happy to be a clown but Ms Price wants to drag us back to war, and no one I know wants to go there.
You talk on one hand about decent representation and parity of esteem and on the other, show a total ignorance of learning from the past by supporting internment without trial. Glad you're happy being a clown because you're nothing more.
This is not internment, she new what she was doing by consorting with dissidents therefore breaking the terms of her licence which were negotiated as part of the GFA by Sinn Fein. I would look in the mirror before calling anyone names.

She was never released on licence, which makes your claim (and that of your ally, the former British SoS) that she broke the terms of "her licence" a bit odd. She was granted a scaled "royal pardon" which was conveniently "lost or destroyed". The only occurrence of this in recent history in fact.

It is clear cut internment. With an attitude like yours, you'd fit right in at the NIO. Amazing inability to learn from the past and shocking for someone who claims to want "parity of esteem" etc to be so willing to make excuses for a British minister interning people in Ireland.

http://www.BBC.co.UK/news/uk-northern-ireland-17071818
Former prison chaplain Monsignor Raymond Murray said Mr Paterson's decision had echoes of the past for nationalists.
"This is a form of internment," said Monsignor Murray, who was prison chaplain in Armagh for almost 20 years. "I am just shocked that the secretary of state wouldn't be aware of how seriously nationalist people look on internment. We thought it had all ended and here it is coming under a form of revocation, revoking a license. He would have to explain to us and explain the process of law as regards Marian Price. In any way has she broken the law? That would have to be provided but it is not provided by shoving her into prison on a pretence in an unjust way."

Brilliant!! A Republican accepting a Royal pardon, whatever happened to her Republican principles. whatever way you dress it up Sinn Fein need to cut the cord with these dissidents and put them where they belong...in jail, time to move on. We were promised a push towards  unity this will not be achieved by given succour to Price and her likes.
So she should have stayed in jail on a point of principle because her release was called a "royal" pardon? What age are you if that's the best you can come up with as a retort to my points?

I repeat...you claim she broke the terms of her early release licence. She never received such a licence. She was RELEASED. She has not committed any crime since, therefor her current situation is simply a case of INTERNMENT no matter how much you like to deny it and no matter how often you obediently trot out the lies of a Tory secretary of state. Your continued support for the policy of internment is staggering. Those who do not learn the lessons of the past are destined to repeat it.

glens abu

Murphy hits out at abuse of legal process in Price, McGeough and Corey cases

Speaking in London last night, Sinn Fein MP Conor Murphy hit out at the behaviour of the British government in the continuing imprisonment of Marian Price, Martin Corey and Gerry McGeough.

Conor Murphy was speaking at a public meeting in Westminster, on a panel which included Fianna Fáil TD Eamon O'Cúiv, British Labour MP John McDonnell, former Armagh prison chaplain Fr Raymond Murray, and prisoners campaigner Moya St Leger.

Addressing the Price and Corey cases, Mr Murphy said:

"These two people should be released immediately. Their detention without trial and due process is unjust and runs contrary to natural justice. They are detained on the basis of secret allegations by British intelligence agencies, which they are unable to challenge, contest or refute. Everyone is entitled to due process and to a fair trial Marian Price and Martin Corey are being denied this. This represents a serious breach of their human rights and their continued imprisonment undermines the justice system. We are against the use of 'revocation of licences' as a substitute for due process.

On the continued imprisonment of Gerry McGeough, Conor Murphy said:

"Sinn Féin believes that Gerry McGeough should not have been arrested, should not therefore be in prison and should be released immediately. We have made this position clear publicly on many occasions since Gerry's arrest, including during the course of many meetings with both the British and Irish governments. Several of our MLAs have visited the prisoners in Maghaberry many times over the course of the past two years.

"They have met with Gerry McGeough and discussed his predicament. They have repeated our position to him personally. Indeed, during these visits Gerry has expressed his appreciation for the efforts Sinn Féin has made on his behalf. Most recently Sinn Féin tabled motions at a number of Councils, north and south, calling for his release".

gerry totally ineffectual today in the dail as eejit kenny continues to make a laughing stock out of the nation in front of the world meejah. jeez what does he want kenny is putting his head on the block and all he has to do is pull the lever! o caolin would have took him apart..

Quote from: glens abu on November 21, 2012, 12:01:59 PM
Murphy hits out at abuse of legal process blah blah blah
Are there two Conor Murphys in SF?

Or is the one blethering about "abuse of legal process" (above) the same individual as this bigot?

Alan Lennon case: Protestant job applicant to receive £150,000

The man discriminated against by the former Sinn Fein minister Conor Murphy for a top job at Northern Ireland Water is to receive £150,000 in damages.

Alan Lennon won a tribunal case against Stormont's Department for Regional Development (DRD) in June.

It ruled he had been overlooked for the post because he was a Protestant.

Mr Lennon has now agreed a compensation settlement which is equivalent to three years salary for the chair of NIW, the job he had applied for.

He said: "I took the case primarily to challenge what I believe to be serious flaws in the public appointments system and the level of compensation agreed marks the seriousness of what occurred.

"I hope that this will result in a more transparent and equitable public appointments process."

Deciding Mr Lennon was discriminated against, the tribunal believed Mr Murphy - DRD minister at the time and now MP for Newry and Armagh - also broke the code of practice for appointments.

In March 2011, Mr Murphy appointed a Catholic as chairman, Sean Hogan, ahead of four others shortlisted after interview, all of them Protestants.

According to the tribunal, Mr Hogan was selected because "he was not from a Protestant background and because he was known to the minister and his (then Sinn Fein) ministerial colleagues", Michelle Gildernew and Caitriona Ruane, who were consulted about the appointment.

Mr Murphy strongly disputes the tribunal's findings which he claimed branded him as "sectarian".
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-20451694

Quote from: Applesisapples on November 21, 2012, 11:02:03 AM

Brilliant!! A Republican accepting a Royal pardon, whatever happened to her Republican principles. whatever way you dress it up Sinn Fein need to cut the cord with these dissidents and put them where they belong...in jail, time to move on.
Now to be fair to the murderous oul bitch, Price is hardly alone amongst Republicans in ditching her principles when it suits...

Published on Saturday 13 October 2012
SF back 'Lough is in UK' pipe lobby

A SINN Féin delegation including Deputy First Minister Martin McGuinness and MEP Martina Anderson has lent support to a Moville campaign group, which wants the whole of Lough Foyle to remain as British as Finchley unless border negotiations can secure protective clauses to prevent a sewerage pipeline being extended hundreds of metres into the waterway.
(Read more at: http://www.londonderrysentinel.co.uk/lifestyle/entertainment/very-l-derry/sf-back-lough-is-in-uk-pipe-lobby-1-4325467 )

Since ye couldn't make it up, isn't it great that with this bunch of hypocrites, we don't have to!  ;D

Clutching at straws there to be fair EG. Did you even read your own article?

Saffrongael

Shinners always yapping about other parties and politicians wasting money, tax payer suffering blah blah, not a word on the expected £400k bill for the tax payer from the discrimination tribunal.
Let no-one say the best hurlers belong to the past. They are with us now, and better yet to come

connor murphy has said he didnt know what religion mr lennon was. all the lennons i know are catholics.. i dont know how deciding to give the job to any one of the candidates and not to all of them could have prevented this type of scenario

glens abu

Quote from: Saffrongael on November 23, 2012, 07:41:47 PM
Shinners always yapping about other parties and politicians wasting money, tax payer suffering blah blah, not a word on the expected £400k bill for the tax payer from the discrimination tribunal.

Always yapping yourself ffs change the record you gurn

Saffrongael

Quote from: glens abu on November 23, 2012, 10:56:37 PM

Didnt think you would want to talk about this episode, hardly surprising. You are quick enough with the cut and paste with SF statements any other time, loyal little lackey that you are.
Let no-one say the best hurlers belong to the past. They are with us now, and better yet to come

glens abu

Quote from: Saffrongael on November 23, 2012, 11:10:17 PM

Didnt think you would want to talk about this episode, hardly surprising. You are quick enough with the cut and paste with SF statements any other time, loyal little lackey that you are.

Sure when you get an answer you can't respond to,you run off like the rest of you cronies do.Away and get them Shinners to change the weather as it's very cold.

Saffrongael

Quote from: glens abu on November 23, 2012, 11:16:02 PM

Sure when you get an answer you can't respond to,you run off like the rest of you cronies do.Away and get them Shinners to change the weather as it's very cold.

Yea that was a real show stopper from you there. So it wasn't Sinn Feins fault the tax payer has a £400,000 tab ?

Ulick

DRD have been legally advised to appeal. If you are so upset about the £150k maybe you should write to the UUP DRD Minister Danny Kennedy and ask him why he is defying the legal advice. Obviously nothing to do with playing Party politics with taxpayers money?

glens abu

Quote from: Saffrongael on November 23, 2012, 11:22:56 PM
Quote from: glens abu on November 23, 2012, 11:16:02 PM

Saff don't let Martin Og hear you complaining about SF costing the tax payer £400k or you will get expelled

Yea that was a real show stopper from you there. So it wasn't Sinn Feins fault the tax payer has a £400,000 tab ?