GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: thejuice on November 17, 2012, 03:42:15 PM

Title: most important club to your county
Post by: thejuice on November 17, 2012, 03:42:15 PM
Here's something to row about to shorten the winter.

Over your counties history, which club has contributed to your counties successes and also influences how the county team in how they play. I know in Armagh the easy answer is Crossmaglen.

In Meath I would say it's a toss up between Skryne and Senchalstown though it really depends on the era we are discussing.
Title: Re: most important club to your county
Post by: Rossfan on November 17, 2012, 04:06:23 PM
Whoever lets the County teams train on their pitch  :D
Post by: trileacman on November 17, 2012, 04:54:01 PM
Simple for Tyrone, without a shadow of a doubt, Glencull.
Post by: sligoman2 on November 17, 2012, 04:55:30 PM
TOURLESTRANE
Post by: ross4life on November 17, 2012, 05:02:03 PM
The old Tarmon club now part of Castlerea St Kevins played a huge part in our All Ireland wins in the 40s. When we won four in row Connacht titles,Div 1 league title, U21 All Ireland & reached our last senior All Ireland final (77 to 1980) Clan naGael,Ros Gaels success at club level contributed greatly. Nowadays its St Brigids but if you have a successful club team i think the current club fixture schedule can become a hindrance to the county team.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on November 17, 2012, 05:49:26 PM
In Galway probably either Tuam Stars (most county titles, club of the terrible twins, etc) or Dunmore McHales (club of the Donnellan clan).
Post by: Farrandeelin on November 17, 2012, 06:41:41 PM
Mayo would probably be the big town clubs of Ballina Stephenites and Castlebar Mitchels. (36 and 27 county titles respectively)
Post by: catchandkick on November 17, 2012, 06:49:22 PM
Interesting question.

There used to be a phrase in Kerry back in the thirties and forties and fifty which said 'West Kerry backs, townie forwards' which meant that the Kerry team would be made up of West Kerry backs who would have been perceived as tough and hardy ( Tomas O'Se is from west Kerry, point proven!) and that the forwards would have been from town teams and that would have meant Killarney or Tralee.

Because there are so many small rural clubs in Kerry ( of the 60 or so teams in the county league, about 50 are rural, if you would count the likes of Stacks, Mitchels, Na Gaeil, Rahilly's, Legion, Crokes, Kenmare, Listowel, Laune Rangers, St.Mary's, Dingle and Castleisland as the town clubs)

I think it is one of the positive aspects of Kerry football that the Kerry minor team is, by and large, Kerry's best team and that a guy from a tiny club like Templenoe ( the club of the Spillane's) has as much chance of representing Kerry as the guy from a big club like Stacks or Crokes. And that feeds through to senior level and no club has really dominated a Kerry team at any point. ( Dromid Pearses, club of Declan O'Sullivan and Jack O'Connor is a tiny parish, with no real village at all.)

Down the years,certain teams have had big representations from time to time but the Golden Years team was an exercise in democracy, with nearly every sector in the county represented ( If you look at the 1975 team and where they were from it shows the spread ( East Kerry, Tralee, Tralee, North Kerry, West Kerry, North Kerry, Tralee, Mid Kerry, North Kerry, Mid Kerry, North Kerry, South Kerry, Tralee, North Kerry, South Kerry)) . Very even.

Anyhow, very democratic compared with Cork where a guy from a small junior club in west Cork is hugely up against it compared with the guy from Nemo Rangers.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on November 17, 2012, 07:42:05 PM
Antrim- Cargin and Naomh Gall. Would have been mainly city teams back in the day but the SW clubs have bucked the trend recently
Post by: Tony Baloney on November 17, 2012, 09:19:55 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on November 17, 2012, 07:42:05 PM
Antrim- Cargin and Naomh Gall. Would have been mainly city teams back in the day but the SW clubs have bucked the trend recently
Hurling - a lot of teams could argue their case but I would reckon Cushendall players have been most influential in last 25 years or so.
Post by: CorkMan on November 17, 2012, 09:47:40 PM
Quote from: catchandkick on November 17, 2012, 06:49:22 PM
Anyhow, very democratic compared with Cork where a guy from a small junior club in west Cork is hugely up against it compared with the guy from Nemo Rangers.

Actually, in Cork a good share of our players play junior and internediate football.
Alan Quirke, Ray Carey, Eoin Cadogan, Paudie Kissane, Graham Canty, Alan O'Connor, Aidan Walsh, Ciaran Sheehan, Daniel Goulding, Donncha O'Connor and Colm O'Neill all play for intermediate or junior teams, that's 11 of our starting 15.
Post by: boojangles on November 18, 2012, 12:57:20 AM
Cornafean back in the 30s and 40's supplied a list of great players and legends to All- Ireland winning Cavan teams while at the same time dominating club football. Cornafean lead the way with 20 Senior titles. The last one in 1956. Sadly the Reds have been stuck at Junior level for too long now.
Cavan Gaels since formation have been the most successful club team in Cavan, dominating over the past 14 years especially. They hold 12 Senior titles. They have supplied some outstanding footballers to Cavan teams down through the years also.
Cavan Slashers before the Gaels, were the dominant club team in Cavan in the early part of the century winning 10 Senior titles.
Mullahoran ,as is the character of the club, have nearly always been there or there abouts and have also supplied Cavan teams with legends on All-Ireland winning teams. 90% of successful Cavan teams down through the years would have had at least one Mullahoran man on them. They sit in joint second with Cavan Gaels with 12 Senior titles. 
Crosserlough produced arguably the greatest club team Cavan has ever seen with the famous Seven in-a Row team from 1966 to 1972. They hold 9 Senior ttiles.
Kingscourt, with 10 titles and Gowna with 7, during the 80's, 90's and 00's supplied some of the finest and toughest players Cavan has produced in a long time while also dominating club football for certain periods.
Post by: Never beat the deeler on November 18, 2012, 01:45:51 AM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on November 17, 2012, 06:41:41 PM
Mayo would probably be the big town clubs of Ballina Stephenites and Castlebar Mitchels. (36 and 27 county titles respectively)

Though it must be noted how much of a sleeping giant Castlebar are in this respect.
They haven't won a title in 20 years, their longest drought since 1903-1930.

Here's hoping we can return to the glory days of 95-07 where the North Mayo trinity of Crossmolina (6), Ballina (4) & Knockmore (2) won 12 out of 13 between them.
Post by: Syferus on November 18, 2012, 05:34:48 AM
Naaah, we're in the glory days when another county has won your championship two times in the last five seasons and made your two-time reigning champions look like day release patients from a nursing home.

Without their best player.

Ros Gaels are the most important club here simply by virtue of the fact they 'own' the Hyde.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on November 18, 2012, 06:38:14 AM
Quote from: sligoman2 on November 17, 2012, 04:55:30 PM
TOURLESTRANE
I think its impossible to name 1, Curry, Tourlestrane are the kings of South Sligo, Coolera/Strandhill prob North (mid 2000s Sligo had 4/5 starters from them), St Marys are coming good underage but the mentally not as strong as country folk so hard to know if any of success will filter thorugh for Sligo, or even there own seniors. Eastern Harps are in serious decline and were carried by Paul Taylor so i dont expect much from them for the next few yrs. So its toss up between Curry and Tourlestrane for me.
Post by: the Deel Rover on November 18, 2012, 08:31:43 AM
Quote from: Never beat the deeler on November 18, 2012, 01:45:51 AM

Though it must be noted how much of a sleeping giant Castlebar are in this respect.

Here's hoping we can return to the glory days of 95-07 where the North Mayo trinity of Crossmolina (6), Ballina (4) & Knockmore (2) won 12 out of 13 between them.

Don't mind deelin NBTD  ;)  It would have to be ourselves the 1st team to bring Andy Merrigan to the plains of Mayo , throw in 3 connact titles , 6 county championships when the competion was savage ,8 or 9 league titles and the fact that we allways had 4 or 5 players on the county senior panel/team .
Post by: rrhf on November 18, 2012, 08:52:15 AM
In Tyrone a group of men  in 1902 and 1903 set up the gaa in their own clubs and others from coal island, donaghmore, cooks town and dungannon. Id be content that these clubs deserve respect and thanks from tyrone Gaels everywhere
Post by: Never beat the deeler on November 18, 2012, 09:28:56 AM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on November 18, 2012, 08:31:43 AM

Don't mind deelin NBTD  ;)  It would have to be ourselves the 1st team to bring Andy Merrigan to the plains of Mayo , throw in 3 connact titles , 6 county championships when the competion was savage ,8 or 9 league titles and the fact that we allways had 4 or 5 players on the county senior panel/team .

Aye, sure I was only hoping someone outside of the club would come in and say that!

(We were robbed in 2003 btw)
Post by: Itchy on November 18, 2012, 12:11:26 PM
Quote from: boojangles on November 18, 2012, 12:57:20 AM
Cornafean back in the 30s and 40's supplied a list of great players and legends to All- Ireland winning Cavan teams while at the same time dominating club football. Cornafean lead the way with 20 Senior titles. The last one in 1956. Sadly the Reds have been stuck at Junior level for too long now.
Cavan Gaels since formation have been the most successful club team in Cavan, dominating over the past 14 years especially. They hold 12 Senior titles. They have supplied some outstanding footballers to Cavan teams down through the years also.
Cavan Slashers before the Gaels, were the dominant club team in Cavan in the early part of the century winning 10 Senior titles.
Mullahoran ,as is the character of the club, have nearly always been there or there abouts and have also supplied Cavan teams with legends on All-Ireland winning teams. 90% of successful Cavan teams down through the years would have had at least one Mullahoran man on them. They sit in joint second with Cavan Gaels with 12 Senior titles. 
Crosserlough produced arguably the greatest club team Cavan has ever seen with the famous Seven in-a Row team from 1966 to 1972. They hold 9 Senior ttiles.
Kingscourt, with 10 titles and Gowna with 7, during the 80's, 90's and 00's supplied some of the finest and toughest players Cavan has produced in a long time while also dominating club football for certain periods.

Cornafean did draw their great teams from neighbouring clubs as there was a rule at the time stipulating you had to play senior club championship to play for Cavan.
Post by: tyroneman on November 18, 2012, 12:17:11 PM
QuoteIn Tyrone a group of men  in 1902 and 1903 set up the gaa in their own clubs and others from coal island, donaghmore, cooks town and dungannon. Id be content that these clubs deserve respect and thanks from tyrone Gaels everywhere

I would have thought Strabane would deserve a mention there......
Post by: rodney trotter on November 18, 2012, 05:43:52 PM
Quote from: Itchy on November 18, 2012, 12:11:26 PM

Cornafean did draw their great teams from neighbouring clubs as there was a rule at the time stipulating you had to play senior club championship to play for Cavan.

The Reds might have a few lads playing Senior Championship next year, if the amalgamations go ahead. Think it will be the only way they will ever win a Senior Championship in the future.
Post by: DuffleKing on November 18, 2012, 06:05:37 PM

In 2002, Armagh's Goalkeeper, full back, Centre back & captain and best man marker were all Mullaghbawn men. They could strongly argue for being the most influential club in that all ireland winning team. By the same token, crossmaglen supplied the manager, a corner back, centre forward and the arch free taker, so very influential also.
Post by: yellowcard on November 18, 2012, 06:48:11 PM
Quote from: DuffleKing on November 18, 2012, 06:05:37 PM

In 2002, Armagh's Goalkeeper, full back, Centre back & captain and best man marker were all Mullaghbawn men. They could strongly argue for being the most influential club in that all ireland winning team. By the same token, crossmaglen supplied the manager, a corner back, centre forward and the arch free taker, so very influential also.

I think McGeeney was with Na Fianna at the time and Enda McNulty could have been with Ballyboden but I take your point. However I think that Armaghs success came from the first great Cross team that won the All Ireland and the belief and desire that it brought to the county so for me its a no brainer. They proved that Armagh teams were capable of going to Croke Park and winning and that was a big mental barrier to break at the time.
Post by: DuffleKing on November 18, 2012, 07:00:54 PM

Jeez, I don't think McGeeney being with Na Fianna by then weakens the Mullaghbawn influence.

Of course you are right about the cross influence on the evolution of that team
Post by: yellowcard on November 18, 2012, 07:08:27 PM
Quote from: DuffleKing on November 18, 2012, 07:00:54 PM

Jeez, I don't think McGeeney being with Na Fianna by then weakens the Mullaghbawn influence.

Of course you are right about the cross influence on the evolution of that team

Yeah, not trying to be pedantic, they are all Mullaghbawn born and bred. You could also argue that it was Mullaghbawn by winning that Ulster Club title in 95?? that actually inspired the Cross team to go and achieve the success they enjoyed. However that winning mentality that Joe Kernan brought was a large contributory factor in getting us over the line in 2002.
Post by: Walter Cronc on November 18, 2012, 07:17:10 PM
In Derry you would say the biggest teams would be Bellaghy, Ballinderry and Lavey. Dungiven and Loup have also major titles of late. In recent years Kilrea, Magherafelt, Slaughtneil and Glen have dominated the underage scene in the county. With club football being number one in the county, competition is high at all levels.
Post by: theticklemister on November 18, 2012, 07:48:26 PM
I would say bellaghy have been the most important. They backboned the county for years, not now but. Now it would be ballinderry, they have been the most consistent club in recent years. In the future itll be magherafelt and glen, they are producing great underage teams.

But the most important place overall will be derry city. There is one senior team and 4 junior teams in a city of 110,000 people. If they can manage to get more players playing here then itll be a huge difference. After derry won sam in 93 it was said derry city was like the ' the untapped oil resources of north russia'. 20 years on they remain untapped. One city player in squad last year, none this year.
Post by: Celt_Man on November 18, 2012, 07:53:42 PM
Quote from: rodney trotter on November 18, 2012, 05:43:52 PM
Quote from: Itchy on November 18, 2012, 12:11:26 PM

The Reds might have a few lads playing Senior Championship next year, if the amalgamations go ahead. Think it will be the only way they will ever win a Senior Championship in the future.

I honestly think that will ruin football in the county if that goes ahead
Post by: ONeill on November 18, 2012, 11:13:53 PM
In terms of the recent success it has to be Errigal. Mickey Harte, Peter and Pascal Canavan, Davy Harte, John Devine, Enda McGinley, Mark Harte, Cormac McGinley, Peter Harte and Daisy McDermott amongst many others have played their part in silverware at different levels.

Ardboe seem to provide the mercurial talents in Frank, Brian and Tommy McGuigan as well as the twinkle-toed McConville. The Moy have produced solid All-Ireland performers in Philip Jordan, Sean Cavanagh, Ryan Mellon and Colm Cavanagh - all scorers in All-Ireland finals. And Plunkett.
Post by: trileacman on November 19, 2012, 12:19:29 AM
Quote from: ONeill on November 18, 2012, 11:13:53 PM
In terms of the recent success it has to be Errigal. Mickey Harte, Peter and Pascal Canavan, Davy Harte, John Devine, Enda McGinley, Mark Harte, Cormac McGinley, Peter Harte and Daisy McDermott amongst many others have played their part in silverware at different levels.

Ardboe seem to provide the mercurial talents in Frank, Brian and Tommy McGuigan as well as the twinkle-toed McConville. The Moy have produced solid All-Ireland performers in Philip Jordan, Sean Cavanagh, Ryan Mellon and Colm Cavanagh - all scorers in All-Ireland finals. And Plunkett.

Due consideration to Moy and Clann na Gael who contributed hugely to alot of Tyrone's recent success, often at the expense of their club side. As regards the establishment of GAA in the county you'd have to mention Dungannon and Strabane, also considering Dugannon's Iggy Jones being arguably the first true superstar of Tyrone football teams.
Post by: ONeill on November 19, 2012, 12:27:39 AM
In terms of establishment of the county as a force you'd be looking at Coalisland and Omagh.
Post by: Crete Boom on November 19, 2012, 01:22:49 AM

Remind me which club set the record for the most amount of county titles won in a row which even the mighty men from Crossmaglen could only equal? I think you'll find we managed an All Ireland too and how come Mayo don't wear the Cross colours if they are the most important team in the county ???? Oh the Maroon and white of Mayo just doesn't have the same ring to it  ;).
Up the Stephenites the heart and soul of the county 8)
Post by: LeoMc on November 19, 2012, 10:59:34 AM
Quote from: Celt_Man on November 18, 2012, 07:53:42 PM

What is the story there, is it related to the restructuring of the leagues?
I was looking through the Cavan board and could see no discussion on it.
Post by: INDIANA on November 19, 2012, 11:02:22 AM
St Vincents. But then again I would say that. ;D

But leaving players aside. Without the influence of the likes of Kevin Heffernan, Pat O Neill, Mickey Whelan, Pat Gilroy as managers we'd be nowhere.

Still means every club in Dublin hates us!
Post by: supersarsfields on November 19, 2012, 11:11:26 AM
Club Tyrone.
Post by: AQMP on November 19, 2012, 11:14:44 AM
For me it would be clubs like St Enda's, Ardoyne Kickhams, St Patricks Lisburn (and many more) who kept their clubs and the GAA alive in areas when the circumstances were "trying" to say the least.
Post by: Bingo on November 19, 2012, 11:18:44 AM
In Monaghan, I'd imagine it would be ourselves, Castleblayney Faughs, and Scotstown. In recent years we haven't been as influential with the big players all coming from elsewhere.

Going back years we'd have supplied a fair share of players - Fisher, Mason, Gerry Fitzpatrick, Eamon Tavey, Nudie Hughes, Eamon McEneaney, Declan Loughman, Declan Flanagan been the main ones. The DG himself, Pauric Duffy would be a Faughs man although he lived in Scotstown for years and his son plays there.

Scotstown would be a newer club and had some fierce battles with ourselves over the years for top honours. They'd have had their fair share of players as well - the McCarvilles, Gene Sherry, Caulfields, Ray McCarron and more recently Darren Hughes. Most succesful manager as well and former GAA president was also a Scotstown man - Sean McCauge.
Post by: Fuzzman on November 19, 2012, 11:30:10 AM
Quote from: trileacman on November 19, 2012, 12:19:29 AM
Due consideration to Moy and Clann na Gael who contributed hugely to alot of Tyrone's recent success, often at the expense of their club side.

Fair play to you Trileacman for mentioning that.
For such a small rural club we've done ok providing the county with Patsy Kerlin, Paddy & Danny Ball, Brian Dooher and Stephen O'Neill.
Post by: screenexile on November 19, 2012, 11:47:16 AM
Quote from: theticklemister on November 18, 2012, 07:48:26 PM
I would say bellaghy have been the most important. They backboned the county for years, not now but. Now it would be ballinderry, they have been the most consistent club in recent years. In the future itll be magherafelt and glen, they are producing great underage teams.

But the most important place overall will be derry city. There is one senior team and 4 junior teams in a city of 110,000 people. If they can manage to get more players playing here then itll be a huge difference. After derry won sam in 93 it was said derry city was like the ' the untapped oil resources of north russia'. 20 years on they remain untapped. One city player in squad last year, none this year.

Jaysus you better hope tfal doesn't read this thread!!!!

What much more can be done in the City? They've had development officers, urban development programmes, funding ALL OUR COUNTY GAMES etc. and it's still proving unfruitful. In real terms the City are at least 10 years behind South Derry in terms of talent.

Steelstown are making good progress and producing some good players but Cleary and Forrester are good Club players and I can't see them making an impact at Inter County level. Talk of Magherafelt and Glen is slightly premature I would guess but we'll see how it pans out over the next 3/5 years. Kilrea are best placed to make an impact in the short term I think.
Post by: Walter Cronc on November 19, 2012, 12:06:56 PM
Quote from: screenexile on November 19, 2012, 11:47:16 AM

Jaysus you better hope tfal doesn't read this thread!!!!

What much more can be done in the City? They've had development officers, urban development programmes, funding ALL OUR COUNTY GAMES etc. and it's still proving unfruitful. In real terms the City are at least 10 years behind South Derry in terms of talent.

Steelstown are making good progress and producing some good players but Cleary and Forrester are good Club players and I can't see them making an impact at Inter County level. Talk of Magherafelt and Glen is slightly premature I would guess but we'll see how it pans out over the next 3/5 years. Kilrea are best placed to make an impact in the short term I think.

Perhaps an option could be a city side to compete in the minor A grade at football. I know there are occasions when Steelstown have had good sides capable of competing but maybe an amalgamation could become real challengers. I'm just thinking along the lines of Dublin colleges success in the Leinster schools. Any thoughts tickle and screen??
Post by: EC Unique on November 19, 2012, 12:17:14 PM
In terms of Tyrone's recent sucess Errigal Ciaran have by far been the most inportant. If Errigals involvment was taken out Tyrone would have zero All-Irelands.
Post by: rodney trotter on November 19, 2012, 12:51:08 PM
Quote from: LeoMc on November 19, 2012, 10:59:34 AM

I think Tom Reilly the County Chairman has a vision of turning Cavan into Kerry in the Future by replacting their County Championship. It was mentioned back around March/April this year and is going ahead as far as I know.
It will lead to a congested fixture list. The League's started this year back in Feburay, the Division Final is only being played next Sunday.

Divison 1 Senior League will have 10 teams next year. 7 teams were relagated. Senior Championship  will cosist of those teams and a a few amalgamations. 20 teams will play in the intermediate. Some of those will be part of the senior under the amalgamations. Going to be a bit crazy...
Post by: Redhand Santa on November 19, 2012, 01:19:58 PM

Collie Holmes also played all his underage football with the Moy and part of his senior career. He along with S Cavanagh, Mellon and Jordan all started the 08 final with Colm coming off the bench. Definitely an achievment for a small enough club.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on November 19, 2012, 01:50:20 PM
Rather than saying who the most important club in Longford is/was (actually, in my opinion there is no such thing as the Forgneys and Grattans are just as important as the top senior clubs) I could say who thinks that they are the most important.

I am sure the other lads would agree with me if I said Clonguish  ;)
Post by: shawshank on November 19, 2012, 01:52:17 PM

Cant disagree with that analysis, but only add that Ballinderrys dominance has resulted in zero returns at county championship level which is a pity considering some of the players they had/have. When you think of Dungiven, Lavey and as you said Bellaghy, when these teams were at the top, our county team prospered, not with Ballinderry, don't really know why either.
Post by: antoinse on November 19, 2012, 01:59:49 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on November 19, 2012, 11:02:22 AM

But leaving players aside. Without the influence of the likes of Kevin Heffernan, Pat O Neill, Mickey Whelan, Pat Gilroy as managers we'd be nowhere.

no, not everyone just the jealous ones and the ones that are
not members to get the €3.50 drinks at the weekend
Post by: Walter Cronc on November 19, 2012, 02:11:40 PM
Quote from: shawshank on November 19, 2012, 01:52:17 PM

Cant disagree with that analysis, but only add that Ballinderrys dominance has resulted in zero returns at county championship level which is a pity considering some of the players they had/have. When you think of Dungiven, Lavey and as you said Bellaghy, when these teams were at the top, our county team prospered, not with Ballinderry, don't really know why either.

Think you are being a tad harsh on Muldoon and Kevin Mc Guckin there. Glen provided 4 key players to successful Derry sides of the early to mid 90s but a bit like the Moy of Tyrone struggled to take that into club level.
Post by: shawshank on November 19, 2012, 02:35:11 PM
Quote from: Walter Cronc on November 19, 2012, 02:11:40 PM

Think you are being a tad harsh on Muldoon and Kevin Mc Guckin there. Glen provided 4 key players to successful Derry sides of the early to mid 90s but a bit like the Moy of Tyrone struggled to take that into club level.

Why did you pick on Muldoon, at least he played on an Ulster championship winning team. But did mention Mc Guckian, there were more than that, Mc Cusker, Gilligan, Conway  to name a few also. I am certain that since Ballinderry dominated Derry club football from 2001 onwards we have had a brutal period in championship football. As I said before I don't why, ,maybe there isn't a correlation to make. Is it as simple as 'shit happens'
Post by: camanchero on November 19, 2012, 02:42:08 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on November 19, 2012, 11:02:22 AM

would agree with St Vincents - but didnt think Pat O'Neill was a Vincents man ??
Post by: Walter Cronc on November 19, 2012, 02:43:32 PM
Quote from: shawshank on November 19, 2012, 02:35:11 PM
Quote from: Walter Cronc on November 19, 2012, 02:11:40 PM

Why did you pick on Muldoon, at least he played on an Ulster championship winning team. But did mention Mc Guckian, there were more than that, Mc Cusker, Gilligan, Conway  to name a few also. I am certain that since Ballinderry dominated Derry club football from 2001 onwards we have had a brutal period in championship football. As I said before I don't why, ,maybe there isn't a correlation to make. Is it as simple as 'shit happens'

Why did I pick on Muldoon?? What are you on about, I'm the one defending Muldoon and Mc Guckin. They both had great careers for their county. You are the one stating that Ballinderry provided zero return at county level. You must be from Bellaghy or Kilrea ;)
Post by: shawshank on November 19, 2012, 02:47:07 PM
Don't be bringing TFAL into this FGS. I didn't mention Muldoons name, you did. I then pointed out he has an Ulster championship winners medal. You obviously think that we have had a wonderful 12 years at intercounty football.
Post by: Walter Cronc on November 19, 2012, 02:50:37 PM
Quote from: shawshank on November 19, 2012, 02:47:07 PM
Don't be bringing TFAL into this FGS. I didn't mention Muldoons name, you did. I then pointed out he has an Ulster championship winners medal. You obviously think that we have had a wonderful 12 years at intercounty football.

And Kilrea provided who? Martin O'Neill? ;)
Post by: trileacman on November 19, 2012, 02:53:43 PM
Quote from: Redhand Santa on November 19, 2012, 01:19:58 PM

Collie Holmes also played all his underage football with the Moy and part of his senior career. He along with S Cavanagh, Mellon and Jordan all started the 08 final with Colm coming off the bench. Definitely an achievment for a small enough club.

Important player, big man to break the middle, something we never had for an extended period. Easy to forget he was from Moy, always Armagh Harps on the programme.
Post by: Lucifer on November 19, 2012, 04:52:55 PM
How did Holmes end up with Armagh Harps? Seems strange considering the short distance between the 2 areas.
Post by: Farrandeelin on November 19, 2012, 05:42:44 PM
Quote from: Crete Boom on November 19, 2012, 01:22:49 AM

Remind me which club set the record for the most amount of county titles won in a row which even the mighty men from Crossmaglen could only equal? I think you'll find we managed an All Ireland too and how come Mayo don't wear the Cross colours if they are the most important team in the county ???? Oh the Maroon and white of Mayo just doesn't have the same ring to it  ;).
Up the Stephenites the heart and soul of the county 8)

Hould yer horses...Mayo actually took up the colours of that great club, yes you've guessed it, Carnacon.
Post by: fitzroyalty on November 19, 2012, 08:23:58 PM
Quote from: Lucifer on November 19, 2012, 04:52:55 PM
How did Holmes end up with Armagh Harps? Seems strange considering the short distance between the 2 areas.
even better, how did he end up at APM?
Post by: trileacman on November 19, 2012, 10:14:47 PM
Quote from: Lucifer on November 19, 2012, 04:52:55 PM

Don't know, strange allright.
Post by: Itchy on November 19, 2012, 10:41:41 PM
Quote from: rodney trotter on November 19, 2012, 12:51:08 PM

I think Tom Reilly the County Chairman has a vision of turning Cavan into Kerry in the Future by replacting their County Championship. It was mentioned back around March/April this year and is going ahead as far as I know.
It will lead to a congested fixture list. The League's started this year back in Feburay, the Division Final is only being played next Sunday.

Divison 1 Senior League will have 10 teams next year. 7 teams were relagated. Senior Championship  will cosist of those teams and a a few amalgamations. 20 teams will play in the intermediate. Some of those will be part of the senior under the amalgamations. Going to be a bit crazy...

Cavan club football has gone from bad to dire. Something has to be done to try and address this. I think Tom is trying to do something to raise the standards and while there will be problems I think it is worth a go.
Post by: thejuice on November 19, 2012, 10:49:28 PM
Actually I think arguments could be made in the case of Meath football that the most influencial clubs at the minute are either the Vortex(or whatever its called now) or the Palace.
Post by: Billys Boots on November 20, 2012, 08:48:12 AM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on November 19, 2012, 01:50:20 PM
Rather than saying who the most important club in Longford is/was (actually, in my opinion there is no such thing as the Forgneys and Grattans are just as important as the top senior clubs) I could say who thinks that they are the most important.

I am sure the other lads would agree with me if I said Clonguish  ;)

I agree, though not so much the club as the current officials. 
Post by: Declan on November 20, 2012, 01:01:27 PM
QuoteActually I think arguments could be made in the case of Meath football that the most influencial clubs at the minute are either the Vortex(or whatever its called now) or the Palace.

Juice the vortex is no more. Clubs of choice are now Chasers in Dunboyne, Bed in Ashbourne or the Palace ;)
Post by: rodney trotter on November 20, 2012, 04:00:25 PM
Quote from: Itchy on November 19, 2012, 10:41:41 PM
Quote from: rodney trotter on November 19, 2012, 12:51:08 PM

Cavan club football has gone from bad to dire. Something has to be done to try and address this. I think Tom is trying to do something to raise the standards and while there will be problems I think it is worth a go.

It should improve the Quality. That wouldn't be hard as the Co final drawn game and replay this year was dire stuff.
The likes of Lacken wouldn't be a big club like Cavan Gaels. For them to compete against an amalgamation of say, Gowna,Arva,Cornafean and Killeshandra would be a big ask. Struggle to beat Gowna and Killeshandra aldone.
I don't know what way they will work, it out, have seeded teams or what.

An Erne Gaels team, of Belturbet, Redhills, Butlersbridge and Drumlane would be another team Lacken would struggle to beat and a few other most other Senior Clubs, bar Cavan Gaels at full strenght.

It will be interesting...
Post by: downjim on November 20, 2012, 10:09:04 PM
Burren and byransford are the biggest names in down gaa
Post by: spuds on November 20, 2012, 11:11:24 PM
The most important club in Roscommon has to be Ballaghaderreen purely from the point of view that they play their football in Mayo.
Post by: Syferus on November 21, 2012, 06:38:20 AM
'Tis grand to have the Mayo county championship on the mantelpiece, to be sure  :-*