GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: The Hill is Blue on July 11, 2017, 09:43:30 PM

Title: Can we now expect 40 pages on Brian Cody's altercation with the linesman?
Post by: The Hill is Blue on July 11, 2017, 09:43:30 PM
Can we now expect 40 pages on Brian Cody's altercation with the linesman?

I expect not.
Title: Re: Can we now expect 40 pages on Brian Cody's altercation with the linesman?
Post by: macdanger2 on July 11, 2017, 09:54:33 PM
Should definitely get a ban, ridiculous if he doesn't

You'll notice there's not 40 pages on comerford, mcgeeney or Davy either
Title: Re: Can we now expect 40 pages on Brian Cody's altercation with the linesman?
Post by: seafoid on July 11, 2017, 09:56:10 PM
Quote from: The Hill is Blue on July 11, 2017, 09:43:30 PM

I expect not.

Why not?
Say something provocative and Kilkevan might bite. Don't mention the butt of the hurl into the faceguard.
Maybe get Bomber Destro in for a bit of volume.
If you can link it to the Roscommon footballers Syferus might join in.
Post by: From the Bunker on July 11, 2017, 09:58:17 PM

I expect not.

One of the main reasons for this is there is only minor interest in Hurling on this forum. People on here watch the game but most don't (really) care!

Players like Diarmuid get picked on for misdemeanors on the field of play because they just get a bad name from repetitively doing the wrong thing.

Then there's people who get picked on off the field of play like Lee Keegan. Last years orchestrated media blackening by the DUBLIN media has to be one of the most malicious campaigns against a player by multiple Dublin media journalists, former players and analysists. You as a collective threw a lot of stones and now you expect respect when the shoe is on the other foot!
Post by: Jinxy on July 11, 2017, 10:45:02 PM
The average Dublin fan's persecution complex is getting dangerously close to Tyrone-like levels of paranoia.
Post by: BennyCake on July 11, 2017, 10:47:29 PM
What did he do? Any video?
Post by: The Hill is Blue on July 11, 2017, 10:51:47 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on July 11, 2017, 10:45:02 PM
The average Dublin fan's persecution complex is getting dangerously close to Tyrone-like levels of paranoia.

Just because we're paranoid doesn't mean they're not out to get us  ;)
Post by: tonto1888 on July 11, 2017, 10:54:46 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on July 11, 2017, 09:58:17 PM

I expect not.

One of the main reasons for this is there is only minor interest in Hurling on this forum. People on here watch the game but most don't (really) care!

Players like Diarmuid get picked on for misdemeanors on the field of play because they just get a bad name from repetitively doing the wrong thing.

Then there's people who get picked on off the field of play like Lee Keegan. Last years orchestrated media blackening by the DUBLIN media has to be one of the most malicious campaigns against a player by multiple Dublin media journalists, former players and analysists. You as a collective threw a lot of stones and now you expect respect when the shoe is on the other foot!

I - a GAA fan - would expect consistency.
Post by: Kilkevan on July 11, 2017, 10:55:01 PM
Quote from: seafoid on July 11, 2017, 09:56:10 PM

I expect not.

Why not?
Say something provocative and Kilkevan might bite. Don't mention the butt of the hurl into the faceguard.

Childish comment as usual.
Post by: Kilkevan on July 11, 2017, 11:00:33 PM
Cody's incident was nothing like Connolly's. First of all, the fourth official put his hands on Cody first, secondly Cody wasn't seeking out the fourth official, lastly Cody touched but didn't shove him.
Post by: seafoid on July 11, 2017, 11:03:15 PM
Quote from: Kilkevan on July 11, 2017, 10:55:01 PM
Quote from: seafoid on July 11, 2017, 09:56:10 PM

I expect not.

Why not?

Childish comment as usual.
Is that you, Eddie Keher?
Post by: sligoman2 on July 11, 2017, 11:07:35 PM
Quote from: Kilkevan on July 11, 2017, 11:00:33 PM
Cody's incident was nothing like Connolly's. First of all, the fourth official put his hands on Cody first, secondly Cody wasn't seeking out the fourth official, lastly Cody touched but didn't shove him.
Bullcrap - Cody touched the official and the rule says if you do you get a suspension.  I'm not saying I like the rule but no point making them if you only enforce them in certain situations or to certain people.
Post by: UlsterMan2 on July 11, 2017, 11:21:14 PM
Sure forget the rules, bully officials, Croke park is to blame for the lack of respect for match officials right from grass roots. Change rules to 1 game bans, sent of in league doesn't effect championship, appeal hearing getting overturned over something ridiculous, the list goes on and on, with the outcome being all through Ireland that instead of match officials commanding respect they are actually the dirt on the souls of everyone, managers, players, supporters even water carriers run onto field giving their opinions to referees, if the ref deals with it he's only making a fool of himself.
Post by: Syferus on July 11, 2017, 11:26:57 PM

I expect not.

Cringe.
Post by: Kilkevan on July 11, 2017, 11:36:44 PM
Quote from: sligoman2 on July 11, 2017, 11:07:35 PM
Quote from: Kilkevan on July 11, 2017, 11:00:33 PM
Bullcrap - Cody touched the official and the rule says if you do you get a suspension.  I'm not saying I like the rule but no point making them if you only enforce them in certain situations or to certain people.

The official touched Cody first. What is Cody to do if the fourth official puts his arm across him? The law of the land would be on Cody's side, and no matter how big the GAA thinks it is it can't trump that.

Anyway, ban him for 12 weeks, 24 even, we're gone anyway so makes no difference.
Post by: trileacman on July 12, 2017, 12:07:11 AM
Turns out the chip on Jim Gavins shoulder is infectious.
Post by: Hound on July 12, 2017, 08:39:07 AM

I think its gas the way so many of the Mayo lads blame Paul Curran, etc. for Keegan pulling down Connolly in a blatant black card offence, thus probably costing them an All Ireland victory!

Like Lee would never have thought of doing the likes of that but for the media! 
Post by: dublin7 on July 12, 2017, 08:51:46 AM
Quote from: Hound on July 12, 2017, 08:39:07 AM

I think its gas the way so many of the Mayo lads blame Paul Curran, etc. for Keegan pulling down Connolly in a blatant black card offence, thus probably costing them an All Ireland victory!

Indeed. Rochford doesn't have any responsibility for picking a goalkeeper with a history of cracking in big matches.  Best one yet is RTE getting Mossy Quinn on the Sunday game because he works for DCB and they want to show Jim Gavin they are soooooooooo sorry. He writes for he Irish Examiner and regularly appears on OTB so it's not that uncommon for him.
Post by: Farrandeelin on July 12, 2017, 09:05:26 AM

What's done is done, but poor Maurice Deegan at the time was walking around aimlessly at the time. Next thing he gives Keegan the black. I think that's what's sticking in many Mayo people's craw, mine included. Also the fact that Connolly remonstrated aggressively with the ref and escaped sanction annoyed me.

As regards the title of the thread, the hypocrisy of the GAA is truly revealed. Kilkenny are gone however so it probably is a case of out of sight, out of mind.
Post by: Esmarelda on July 12, 2017, 09:37:01 AM
Where are the usual suspects condemning this thread as whataboutery?
Post by: magpie seanie on July 12, 2017, 09:53:09 AM
I'm actually with Kilkevan on this one. I only saw the incident last night for the first time and I was a bit surprised when I saw it. I was expecting something similar to the Connolly incident but it's nothing like it. If anything the 4th official instigated the contact and was trying to prevent Cody walking towards McGrath (I think it was). There was no aggression directed towards the official, unlike Connolly. I think Cody should have been more careful but I'd be against a suspension in this instance.
Post by: Hound on July 12, 2017, 09:59:42 AM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on July 12, 2017, 09:05:26 AM

What's done is done, but poor Maurice Deegan at the time was walking around aimlessly at the time. Next thing he gives Keegan the black. I think that's what's sticking in many Mayo people's craw, mine included. Also the fact that Connolly remonstrated aggressively with the ref and escaped sanction annoyed me.

you're missing the bit about Keegan pulling down Connolly. It was 100% Keegan's decision!
Deegan didn't just whisk out the black card on a whim. He had no choice. A blatant and deliberate pulldown.
The fact that it even crosses the mind of Mayo fans that this is Paul Curran's (or someone like him) fault is utterly ridiculous.
Who's fault was Donal Vaughan's black card at the weekend?   
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on July 12, 2017, 10:02:32 AM
Keegan's wasn't a black card IMO, he had him wrapped up alright but as soon as he realised they were falling to the ground he released him, therefore he wasn't dragged down to the ground. Vaughan's was a stone wall black, no debate there.
Post by: The Hill is Blue on July 12, 2017, 03:25:12 PM
Come on lads - only 38 pages to go. Where's all the righteous indignation? Surely the match officials must be protected and letter of the law must be upheld at all times? Has Pat Spillane commented?
Post by: heffo on July 12, 2017, 03:44:09 PM
Quote from: The Hill is Blue on July 12, 2017, 03:25:12 PM
Come on lads - only 38 pages to go. Where's all the righteous indignation? Surely the match officials must be protected and letter of the law must be upheld at all times? Has Pat Spillane commented?

AZOffaly must be picketing RTE
Post by: mup on July 12, 2017, 04:47:59 PM
Have any of the Dubs blamed Pat Spillane yet? Or Lee Keegan?

The Gaa's pet project complaining about how they are being treated. Well they know how the rest of us feel with financial doping, home games etc etc.
Post by: The Hill is Blue on July 12, 2017, 08:47:50 PM
Quote from: mup on July 12, 2017, 04:47:59 PM

The Gaa's pet project complaining about how they are being treated. Well they know how the rest of us feel with financial doping, home games etc etc.

So you're speaking for the rest of the country?
Post by: Syferus on July 12, 2017, 08:51:19 PM
Quote from: The Hill is Blue on July 12, 2017, 08:47:50 PM

Yeah, he is on that count.
Post by: magpie seanie on July 13, 2017, 09:00:47 AM
Honestly think the Dubs need to get over this Connolly thing. It's actually a blessing in disguise and unlike most counties ye have plenty of quality players to cover off the loss of Connolly. Less said the better and then spring him from the bench with 20 minutes to go in a semi final.
Post by: Lar Naparka on July 13, 2017, 09:47:16 AM

;D ;D
That's like asking is the pope a bachelor?
Post by: tonto1888 on July 13, 2017, 01:21:05 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 12, 2017, 08:51:19 PM

No. He certainly isn't.
As for Cody. Got in an altercation with an official on the sideline and put his hands on him. Deserves a ban. His previous record should not come into it
Post by: johnneycool on July 14, 2017, 10:43:07 AM
Quote from: tonto1888 on July 13, 2017, 01:21:05 PM

No. He certainly isn't.
As for Cody. Got in an altercation with an official on the sideline and put his hands on him. Deserves a ban. His previous record should not come into it

Not sure I agree with that.

Cody was certainly in foul form with the Waterford sideline and was about to transgress his area ( I never knew such a thing existed in GAA) when the fourth official stepped across and ushered Cody backwards. Yes there was contact, moreso by the fourth official and Cody stopped in his tracks once the arms went out. There was no aggression at all from Cody towards the fourth official. If Cody had of barged on regardless then yes, 12 weeks would have been warranted.
Entirely different to Connolly's actions as his aggression was directed to an official.
Post by: greatpoint on July 14, 2017, 10:51:30 AM
Awful whingers altogether.
Post by: magpie seanie on July 14, 2017, 11:44:29 AM
Quote from: johnneycool on July 14, 2017, 10:43:07 AM

No. He certainly isn't.

Cody was certainly in foul form with the Waterford sideline and was about to transgress his area ( I never knew such a thing existed in GAA) when the fourth official stepped across and ushered Cody backwards. Yes there was contact, moreso by the fourth official and Cody stopped in his tracks once the arms went out. There was no aggression at all from Cody towards the fourth official. If Cody had of barged on regardless then yes, 12 weeks would have been warranted.
Entirely different to Connolly's actions as his aggression was directed to an official.

100% right.
Post by: blanketattack on July 14, 2017, 09:06:22 PM

I expect not.

Can we expect 40 more whataboutery threads? Possibly
Post by: Dave like the tv channel on July 17, 2017, 03:39:27 PM

Pretty much, yeah. The Man City of the GAA are a marketing ploy, created by Croke Park. Now, I'm not so sure that they have an exit plan. They've created a monster that could win 6, 7 in a row. Whoopdeedoo. You've bought every single one of them, with central funds.

The Dubs are light years ahead of the rest of the country and it's all sponsored by Croker.

Get rid of AIG from your jerseys. Next year, you'll have GAA on them. Financial doping of the orcs and we have to listen to youse, as if you'd done it all on your own?
Post by: tonto1888 on July 17, 2017, 03:51:03 PM
Quote from: johnneycool on July 14, 2017, 10:43:07 AM

No. He certainly isn't.

youre not entirely wrong. However, the rule doesn't mention aggression