The Official UFC Thread

Started by RONAN, February 05, 2008, 11:01:27 AM

finbar o tool

why do some people feel the need to comment here if they don't like the sport?!
And Kimmage can f**k right off. if he doesn't like it he doesn't have to watch it.
appreciate the fact that it is MMA, Mixed Martial Arts. pitting different styles of martial arts against each other to see what/who comes out on top, its genius! and highly entertaining, people are sick to the teeth of watching 2 boxers run around after each other or hug each other for half an hour, remember that "fight of the century" between Mayweather and Pacquiao?! What a load of shite!!
and what did they earn for that? Mayweather made about 100 million or something stupid like that, for running around! at least there is some action in the UFC.
An amateur requires a personal commitment that money cannot buy

Quote from: stew on July 14, 2015, 04:05:54 AM
Quote from: JoG2 on July 13, 2015, 11:01:57 PM
Just watched the mcgregor fight on 3e. I've seen the odd clip here and there.  It's a mad sport.  Vicious in the extreme.  After watching the way mcgregor conducted himself during the fight and after I'd have respect for the man.  All I knew was the trash talk and lack of respect for Aldo etc.

A couple of questions though to the ufc men on here.

What's the craic with the elbows to the the face and top of the head when you've a man pinned to the deck..work away?

Mendes had 2 weeks prep and got plenty of reward in the 1st 2 rounds.  Is mcgregor capable of beating Aldo?  I'll definitely  watch it

Mendes would take him without too much trouble, he is two steps up from the lad he beat who only had two weeks to prepare for him, that said, McGregor was prepping for a man other than the lad he fought, still, I think McGregor is a couple of fights away from getting his arse handed to him, if he fights the best, he has a lethal left paw and I think he would be a tremendous boxer if he ever had the mind to try it.

I could see the boxing community reach out to him for big bucks in a three fight deal with the third being a title shot, what have they to lose, they have killed the sport and he would inject some life into the sport that is far superior to the shite he is fighting in now when done right.

Eh. Mendes is the lad he beat.

STREET FIGHTER

Lol some serious hate for CMG.

I just normally avoid something I dont like.

Simple enough.

In fairness it's hard to avoid Conor McGregor-mania :)

Quote from: finbar o tool on July 14, 2015, 09:44:36 AM
why do some people feel the need to comment here if they don't like the sport?!
And Kimmage can f**k right off. if he doesn't like it he doesn't have to watch it.
appreciate the fact that it is MMA, Mixed Martial Arts. pitting different styles of martial arts against each other to see what/who comes out on top, its genius! and highly entertaining, people are sick to the teeth of watching 2 boxers run around after each other or hug each other for half an hour, remember that "fight of the century" between Mayweather and Pacquiao?! What a load of shite!!
and what did they earn for that? Mayweather made about 100 million or something stupid like that, for running around! at least there is some action in the UFC.

Because it's a discussion board and people are allowed voice their opinion on it. How many posters have come on here with a Kimmage-esque rant.

Plenty of MMA fights are shite and incredibly boring. When Mendes was on top and throwing the occasional elbow, that wasn't entertaining or skillful, it was just stalemate.

My major issues with the sport are its lax (but improving) attitude to drugs, the treatment of some of its fighters (little more than chattel at times) and its toleration of yobs like those who turned up at the Convention Centre in Dublin simply to act the maggot and abuse a genius like Jose Aldo.

Quote from: AZOffaly on July 14, 2015, 11:23:00 AM
In fairness it's hard to avoid Conor McGregor-mania :)
No-one loves a bandwagon more than the Irish. Croke Park, if and when it happens, will be packed. What percentage are there for the drink only is anyone's guess!

Quote from: AZOffaly on July 13, 2015, 11:38:08 AM
Just had a look at the fight there. Wouldn't be my thing at all. A lad hammering elbows into another lads eye socket is something you'd expect outside the Bullring in Tralee, or at 4am outside a nightclub, not something I would class as sport, but sure everyone to their own.

McGregor I dislike his public persona a lot. I don't like that sort of self aggrandising approach, but I realise why he does it and I'm willing to believe he's not like that in real life. However, whatever about his posturing and nonsense talking, he's a brave little divil. That was a lot of punishment he took, and he stood up well. He actually looks like he could be a decent boxer too, that's a big left hand he has there.

Best part for me though was Sinead O'Connor singing the Foggy Dew. Talk about hair raising. (no pun intended Sinead!).

I'm glad everyone had a good time, and I'm glad he won, but I won't be mad to watch his next fight either. In contrast i'll probably buy a ticket for Andy Lee in Thomond Park.

Agree 100%. Not my idea of a sport. Just what Ireland needs, this to become mainstream. Throw in a bellyful of Alcohol or whatever, and you may need body armour leaving a lot of various city premises after midnight.

Quote from: joemamas on July 14, 2015, 02:25:46 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on July 13, 2015, 11:38:08 AM
Just had a look at the fight there. Wouldn't be my thing at all. A lad hammering elbows into another lads eye socket is something you'd expect outside the Bullring in Tralee, or at 4am outside a nightclub, not something I would class as sport, but sure everyone to their own.

McGregor I dislike his public persona a lot. I don't like that sort of self aggrandising approach, but I realise why he does it and I'm willing to believe he's not like that in real life. However, whatever about his posturing and nonsense talking, he's a brave little divil. That was a lot of punishment he took, and he stood up well. He actually looks like he could be a decent boxer too, that's a big left hand he has there.

Best part for me though was Sinead O'Connor singing the Foggy Dew. Talk about hair raising. (no pun intended Sinead!).

I'm glad everyone had a good time, and I'm glad he won, but I won't be mad to watch his next fight either. In contrast i'll probably buy a ticket for Andy Lee in Thomond Park.

Agree 100%. Not my idea of a sport. Just what Ireland needs, this to become mainstream. Throw in a bellyful of Alcohol or whatever, and you may need body armour leaving a lot of various city premises after midnight.

Are you even a little bit serious? Because if you are it's hard not to laugh.

I'm not hugely into UFC and don't fully understand the ins and outs of it, but I get the impression that Jose Aldo doesn't like Conor McGregor very much........

On Brazilian 'Rock Bola' radio, Jose Aldo went on an epic rant on Conor McGregor, and what he was going to to do the newly crowned interim featherweight champion.

Here is the translated version:

"I am not going to only beat McGregor up: I am going to make an example out of him. I am going to beat up this son of a bitch so bad that he won't be able to open his mouth to say his shits for more than one month. I am going to break the jaw of this cuckolded son of a bitch in three parts. The ********* fans of that cuckold and the UFC will regret having put that ****tard to fight me because I am going to blow out his little star. I am going to blow out his little star. I've never felt so powerful in my life. Before breaking my rib I was knocking out light-heavyweights with body shots. I can't spar yet, but I am still punching and kicking with the same power. I won't even bother dodging McGregor's little punches and dancing fairy kicks: I will walk straight towards him and take away his manhood. Take his pride. Humiliate him. Swell up those ****-sucking lips of his. Good luck knocking me out, Cigano couldn't do it in full-contact boxing. But the most delightful will be to see the look on the faces of his racist Irish fans. Look at their faces after I have turned their national hero into a bottom-boy."

Quote from: BennyHarp on July 14, 2015, 06:28:32 PM
I'm not hugely into UFC and don't fully understand the ins and outs of it, but I get the impression that Jose Aldo doesn't like Conor McGregor very much........

On Brazilian 'Rock Bola' radio, Jose Aldo went on an epic rant on Conor McGregor, and what he was going to to do the newly crowned interim featherweight champion.

Here is the translated version:

"I am not going to only beat McGregor up: I am going to make an example out of him. I am going to beat up this son of a bitch so bad that he won't be able to open his mouth to say his shits for more than one month. I am going to break the jaw of this cuckolded son of a bitch in three parts. The ********* fans of that cuckold and the UFC will regret having put that ****tard to fight me because I am going to blow out his little star. I am going to blow out his little star. I've never felt so powerful in my life. Before breaking my rib I was knocking out light-heavyweights with body shots. I can't spar yet, but I am still punching and kicking with the same power. I won't even bother dodging McGregor's little punches and dancing fairy kicks: I will walk straight towards him and take away his manhood. Take his pride. Humiliate him. Swell up those ****-sucking lips of his. Good luck knocking me out, Cigano couldn't do it in full-contact boxing. But the most delightful will be to see the look on the faces of his racist Irish fans. Look at their faces after I have turned their national hero into a bottom-boy."

Did Aldo used to be a Finance Minister in Greece?

It's fake.

Quote from: AZOffaly on July 14, 2015, 10:05:19 AM
Quote from: stew on July 14, 2015, 04:05:54 AM
Quote from: JoG2 on July 13, 2015, 11:01:57 PM
Just watched the mcgregor fight on 3e. I've seen the odd clip here and there.  It's a mad sport.  Vicious in the extreme.  After watching the way mcgregor conducted himself during the fight and after I'd have respect for the man.  All I knew was the trash talk and lack of respect for Aldo etc.

A couple of questions though to the ufc men on here.

What's the craic with the elbows to the the face and top of the head when you've a man pinned to the deck..work away?

Mendes had 2 weeks prep and got plenty of reward in the 1st 2 rounds.  Is mcgregor capable of beating Aldo?  I'll definitely  watch it

Mendes would take him without too much trouble, he is two steps up from the lad he beat who only had two weeks to prepare for him, that said, McGregor was prepping for a man other than the lad he fought, still, I think McGregor is a couple of fights away from getting his arse handed to him, if he fights the best, he has a lethal left paw and I think he would be a tremendous boxer if he ever had the mind to try it.

I could see the boxing community reach out to him for big bucks in a three fight deal with the third being a title shot, what have they to lose, they have killed the sport and he would inject some life into the sport that is far superior to the shite he is fighting in now when done right.

Eh. Mendes is the lad he beat.

Sorry I meant Aldo.

If ever a man is destined for a batin it is McGregor, I know a lot of it is publicity shite but he is going to get his head handed to him in the next couple of fights.

50fiftyball

I was in Vegas for the whole build up and post fight and I have to tell you - I knew very little about the UFC and admitted that to any Americans asking during my stay, in fact I only got tickets cos the boys with me were all going.

But the atmosphere was absolutely electric, it honestly equalled my own counties' 3 all ireland triumphs. There was absolutely no trouble, no fights broke out, and we were in the middle of the whole ruckus and singing in the MGM casino, both after the weigh in and after the fight. Everyone was united and had a tricolour on their back, and the Americans staying in Vegas were amazed, in complete awe of the support McGregor had behind him. It was a pretty mad week, and it really changed my perception of the UFC, pre-fight I also thought it was a brutal sport, whilst it still is, these are top, top athletes who have prepared hard in training both physically and mentally, who are going right to the death, I mean come on, you can't tell me on here that the Lawler vs MacDonald fight wasn't brilliant?

That's my 2 cents worth!

good report there glad you got to go! Been to a few live events but havent made it to a McGregor card yet  - I wouldn't be a big fan of going to vegas so unless he fights somewhere else I'll most likely miss out...
Welcome to the sport - keep watching!!!

UFC in glasgow tonight lads - some good fights already over but 2 potentially great scraps coming up now in next few minutes.
Nice warm up before Frampton...