McKenna Cup 2024

Started by never kickt a ball, December 30, 2006, 02:22:48 AM

square_ball

Love how non-rugby fans always have to tell people they don't like rugby. Like Vegans or people that go sober. Just can't help themselves.

Estimator

Only 6 regular starters from 2023 on Mickeys first team sheet. Young enough starting line up.
Ulster League Champions 2009

statto

Armagh team basically a u21 team plus a few trialists would expect a handy Donegal win.

Quote from: Dreadnought on January 02, 2024, 07:20:12 PM
Quote from: Itchy on January 02, 2024, 06:58:27 PM
Quote from: AustinPowers on January 02, 2024, 06:19:15 PM
Quote from: Itchy on January 01, 2024, 09:32:13 PM
Quote from: Deerstalker on January 01, 2024, 09:21:34 PM£25 for friendlies  8)

Rugby lads could pay 100 euros to watch friendlies. Count yourself lucky

I'd need to be paid  100 Euro to sit through any rugby match.  I don't even think  I could manage it

Agreed, I was in a house during Christmas and they were watching Leinster v Munster. I never saw anything as bad. I'd watch Mrs Brown's Boys Christmas special over that.
Ah now, it was played on monsoon conditions, no?

It was but it is a game which requires a relatively low level of skill in comparison to other field sports so that shouldn't have made that big of a difference.

Anyway, the point was eejits pay 100 quid to watch rugby challenge games so McKenna Cup is decent value.

Quote from: Itchy on January 02, 2024, 09:44:41 PM

I'd need to be paid  100 Euro to sit through any rugby match.  I don't even think  I could manage it

Agreed, I was in a house during Christmas and they were watching Leinster v Munster. I never saw anything as bad. I'd watch Mrs Brown's Boys Christmas special over that.

It was but it is a game which requires a relatively low level of skill in comparison to other field sports so that shouldn't have made that big of a difference.

Anyway, the point was eejits pay 100 quid to watch rugby challenge games so McKenna Cup is decent value.

Surely not a Cavan man giving out about the price of something??

Quote from: Deerstalker on January 02, 2024, 06:03:15 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on January 02, 2024, 05:52:45 PMBy the looks of Armagh's McKenna Cup panel we're not taking it very seriously. Lot of the U20 panel

No county should be taking it very seriously, what you see in January will bear little to no resemblance to what you see in the late spring/summer

Wash your mouth out.

Quote from: JoG2 on January 02, 2024, 10:11:45 PM

Surely not a Cavan man giving out about the price of something??

Put on yer glasses and have another read of it and you'll see I wasn't complaining.

Dreadnought

No challenge games in rugby as you know. Like the lad said above, not sure why the anti rugby fans must bring it in that often. You wouldn't see the rugby squad send the U20s to play another top team for example

Quote from: Dreadnought on January 03, 2024, 10:41:39 AM

No challenge games in roughie as you know. Like the lad said above, not sure why the anti rugby fans must bring it in that often. You wouldn't see the rugby squad send the U20s to play another top team for example

The McKenna Cup has a cup for the winner. 25 quid gets you stream of all the games, great value.

Rugby team have the 6 Nations and the world cup. Then the rest are challenge games. Ireland are good at winning the challenge games alright but there are no cups for them as far as I am aware.

Quote from: statto on January 02, 2024, 07:44:00 PMArmagh team basically a u21 team plus a few trialists would expect a handy Donegal win.
Apparently played Dublin last night in a challenge

Dreadnought

Quote from: Itchy on January 03, 2024, 10:55:34 AM
Quote from: Dreadnought on January 03, 2024, 10:41:39 AM

No challenge games in roughie as you know. Like the lad said above, not sure why the anti rugby fans must bring it in that often. You wouldn't see the rugby squad send the U20s to play another top team for example

The McKenna Cup has a cup for the winner. 25 quid gets you stream of all the games, great value.

Rugby team have the 6 Nations and the world cup. Then the rest are challenge games. Ireland are good at winning the challenge games alright but there are no cups for them as far as I am aware.
Not challenge games. Test games. Which existed for 100 years before the Rugby World Cup. Does that mean that rugby was a friendly only sport for 100 years? Come off it...

Look lad, you can't apply standards from one sport to another. What might be a challenge game in GAA (which the McKenna Cup absolutely is - as much as it will interest me) is not in rugby, cricket or otehr such sports. No need to be ignorant on something if you don't understand it or like it. There are no friendlies or challenges in rugby, they're called tests and they count and do matter

Right. My ignorance of the ways of the world are now corrected.

McKenna Cup = Challenge Games
Rugby games with no cup at stake = Not Challenge Games, but "test" Games

Cool.

Dreadnought

Quote from: Itchy on January 03, 2024, 01:58:06 PMRight. My ignorance of the ways of the world are now corrected.

Cool.
Yes. Literally that. Look up how test games came about via tours etc and so on. There are non test matches if that's what you're getting confused on

The fact you're p*ss taking with comparing McKenna cup games where Armagh are playing their U20 players while they set up other challenge games for the real squad, with international games between likes of Ireland and South Africa/NZ/Australia and so on shows the ridiculousness of your argument. If you don't understand or grasp what test matches are, feel free to move on from it

Quote from: Dreadnought on January 03, 2024, 03:35:22 PM
Quote from: Itchy on January 03, 2024, 01:58:06 PMRight. My ignorance of the ways of the world are now corrected.

Cool.
Yes. Literally that. Look up how test games came about via tours etc and so on. There are non test matches if that's what you're getting confused on

The fact you're p*ss taking with comparing McKenna cup games where Armagh are playing their U20 players while they set up other challenge games for the real squad, with international games between likes of Ireland and South Africa/NZ/Australia and so on shows the ridiculousness of your argument. If you don't understand or grasp what test matches are, feel free to move on from it

Sound. They always said the Mullahorans were experts on rugby so I bow to your wisdom.

AustinPowers

How  are the  "Test" games going so far?