Official Irish Football Association Thread (Northern Ireland)

Started by Mentalman, September 04, 2007, 11:39:59 AM

MW

Quote from: stew on October 12, 2015, 03:09:45 PM
Quote from: MW on October 11, 2015, 08:30:20 PM
Hello all. I hope you're well.

I used to post on here a few years ago, thought I'd drop by for a peek as NI have made Euro 2016 and ROI are on the verge on getting there.

As ever, interesting to read the threads.

A bit disappointing to read the same old urban myth about the bouncy I dealt with on hear years ago. Urban myths die hard it seems.

However, Tony Fearon seems to have dropped the old "Tony Fearon" persona, quite the turn up for the books!

Was it you that showed up at Tony's office and tried to get him sacked? I know one of you clampetts did.

Urban myth? Explain please.

How is Peter from Castlederg doing MW?   ;)

Hi stew - good to see you're still about.

Wasn't me, I came to realise Tony was just playing a cartoonish character he also called "Tony Fearon". I've never had the pleasure. Don't know Peter from Castlederg either.

Urban myth in the sense that it's simply not true that the bouncy originates in the murder of Robert Hamill. I remember seeing it in the early 90s, it's just a simple childish song enabling fans to jump up and down, regardless of what some perverted mind decided to say at some point.

MW

Quote from: T Fearon on October 11, 2015, 08:41:30 PM
MW I'm heading to a business breakfast at which Michael O'Neill is the guest in two weeks time! Must get him to sign my NI jersey,won earlier this year of course.By the way did you see his Wedding Photo in today's Sunday Life? That took place in my home chapel in Portadown ;D

Ah Tony, you were always one for winning competitions! A signed one from MON will be worth a bob or two in a few years.

I did actually! I hope he sent you an invite..

Quote from: bennydorano on October 12, 2015, 02:32:38 PM
Is it Sectarianism you abhor or their brand of Sectarianism? Hard to distinguish with a lot of posters.

Sectarianism in all its ugly and repulsive forms, regardless of source or hue, it's all to be despised.

Not big on organised religion, at all, as you might have gathered! ;)

I'd say it would be a fairly safe bet that if you took a cross section of a well attended GAA match in NI a fair percentage would hold Sectarian views or maybe just be partial to the odd 'Chucky' song.

Quote from: bennydorano on October 12, 2015, 11:41:41 PM
I'd say it would be a fairly safe bet that if you took a cross section of a well attended GAA match in NI a fair percentage would hold Sectarian views or maybe just be partial to the odd 'Chucky' song.

I think you have it there "in NI", a place designed to promote sectarianism. NI is not the GAA, whereas it is the "I" FA.
I've never heard anything sectarian sung at games though, the focus of fans is usually the opposition.

Quote from: armaghniac on October 12, 2015, 11:46:18 PM

I think you have it there "in NI", a place designed to promote sectarianism. NI is not the GAA, whereas it is the "I" FA.
I've never heard anything sectarian sung at games though, the focus of fans is usually the opposition.

I have seen scum provo lovers heckle the national anthem because they claimed it should be ' A nation once again'

Every one of them a durtboard!

Quote from: MW on October 12, 2015, 11:01:17 PM
Quote from: stew on October 12, 2015, 03:09:45 PM
Quote from: MW on October 11, 2015, 08:30:20 PM
Hello all. I hope you're well.

I used to post on here a few years ago, thought I'd drop by for a peek as NI have made Euro 2016 and ROI are on the verge on getting there.

As ever, interesting to read the threads.

A bit disappointing to read the same old urban myth about the bouncy I dealt with on hear years ago. Urban myths die hard it seems.

However, Tony Fearon seems to have dropped the old "Tony Fearon" persona, quite the turn up for the books!

Was it you that showed up at Tony's office and tried to get him sacked? I know one of you clampetts did.

Urban myth? Explain please.

How is Peter from Castlederg doing MW?   ;)

Hi stew - good to see you're still about.

Wasn't me, I came to realise Tony was just playing a cartoonish character he also called "Tony Fearon". I've never had the pleasure. Don't know Peter from Castlederg either.

Urban myth in the sense that it's simply not true that the bouncy originates in the murder of Robert Hamill. I remember seeing it in the early 90s, it's just a simple childish song enabling fans to jump up and down, regardless of what some perverted mind decided to say at some point.

I saw it live when I met wee Marty and thought it was hilarious, I will accept that it has no connection to the murder of Mr Hamill because I know plenty of great lads that sing it with Gusto and would never have anything to do with the likes of that.

Quote from: stew on October 13, 2015, 03:57:44 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on October 12, 2015, 11:46:18 PM

I have seen scum provo lovers heckle the national anthem because they claimed it should be ' A nation once again'

Every one of them a durtboard!

FFS! Were you playing football in the Cages (of Long Kesh) or something?!  :P

Never heard anything remotely such as that in all of the games I've been at, even those involving Armagh wans!  ;)

Re the bouncy, was talking to someone there the other night who was out socialising in Portadown. Told me that once the lights came on they all started doing the bouncy. I have somewhat altered my opinion on this particular chant.

Is the bouncy not originally a Rangers fan song? Did not Celtic supporters substitute the word "Liquidation" for "Bouncy" when Rangers played their last ever Old Firm Derby at Celtic Park in the spring of 2012?

Correct.

Quote from: stew on October 14, 2015, 10:35:33 PM

Correct.

You seem to ignore that which doesn't chime with your own assumptions and preconceptions (don't worry, it's a recognised human frailty condition, psychologically, termed 'confirmation bias'). Let me remind you, however, of a post a little further back that you may have glossed over, and which is based on that which the contributor has actually experienced, recently:

Quote from: Bazil Douglas on October 10, 2015, 10:08:32 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on October 10, 2015, 05:06:42 PM
Does everyone singing that song associate it with that? I wouldn't have thought so?

Food for thought. My sister who works with disadvantaged and troublesome youth from east Belfast once asked a group of lads what was the significance of this song [bouncy song] being sung on the terraces, they explained it was a reference to dancing on Roberts Hamills head, when she questioned her husband (who is from Rathcoole) he explained that the song was about for years, but when sung at Ibrox or Windsor terraces it was a reference to R Hamill, and most protestants who attend these matches were aware of its relevance but sang along for the atmosphere ,just as most catholics were aware of the significance of singing the roll of honor.

Not pleasant reading, for any of us perhaps, but let's not be afraid to confront, from wherever it arises.

michaelg

Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on October 15, 2015, 07:43:51 PM

Correct.

You seem to ignore that which doesn't chime with your own assumptions and preconceptions (don't worry, it's a recognised human frailty condition, psychologically, termed 'confirmation bias'). Let me remind you, however, of a post a little further back that you may have glossed over, and which is based on that which the contributor has actually experienced, recently:

Does everyone singing that song associate it with that? I wouldn't have thought so?

Food for thought. My sister who works with disadvantaged and troublesome youth from east Belfast once asked a group of lads what was the significance of this song [bouncy song] being sung on the terraces, they explained it was a reference to dancing on Roberts Hamills head, when she questioned her husband (who is from Rathcoole) he explained that the song was about for years, but when sung at Ibrox or Windsor terraces it was a reference to R Hamill, and most protestants who attend these matches were aware of its relevance but sang along for the atmosphere ,just as most catholics were aware of the significance of singing the roll of honor.

Not pleasant reading, for any of us perhaps, but let's not be afraid to confront, from wherever it arises.
Give it up man.  The statement highlighed above is absolute shite.

gawa316

Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on October 15, 2015, 07:43:51 PM

Correct.

Been going to Windsor for years and the God's honest truth is I never knew it was associated to R Hamill, i don't even know who he is. It may be immature of me but I do it because (a) I'm drunk, (b) it's a bit of craic, (c) the stadium looks deadly when everyone is doing it and (d) cause I'm fecking freezing.