Ulster Club SFC 2023

Started by general_lee, September 26, 2023, 11:59:46 AM

Quote from: clarshack on November 26, 2023, 03:05:44 PMBall looked like it was still in play that led to what should have been a Trillick free. Sideline ball instead to Scotstown.

Ball curling out and back in, just about landed on the sideline when it bounced, the kicker put his hands to his head knowing it went out and back in again

There's no such thing as earning a soft free against a Tyrone team.
Well done to the Scotstown lads, real grit in extra time.

I guess Brennan was told there would be another 2 minutes or so on top, that's why he took the point.

Hughes was shouldered after the ball had gone, to me that's a free.

Tyrone boys can't hack in the big leagues

Great hardy contest. Very little between them, two very good teams. Brennan was immense throughout

Very good game, can't see why ones are giving off about the ref(bar the birds of a feather Tyrone complaining), thought he did an excellent job. Its not always the ref's fault ffs.

Love watching Scotstown, they've the balance right between defence and attack, good team to watch.

Think they'll need a goal to beat Glen, though one lad here thinks Glen are average  ;D

Eire90

The tyrone drought continues

Great contest, a credit to both teams. I thought the ref was grand over all, let the game flow well. The free at the end was incredibly soft, but one Richie got earlier was on the soft side too. A few of those Trillick players have had a massive championship. Ruairí Brennan playing the best football of his career. It will be interesting to see if Seánie O'Donnell can make the break through and have an impact at county level

Harold Disgracey

Surprisingly that was actually a half decent performance from Falloon. My granny was from Knockatallon so I think I'll jump on the Scotstown bandwagon.

Quote from: Main Street on November 26, 2023, 02:47:40 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on November 26, 2023, 02:46:11 PM
Quote from: Main Street on November 26, 2023, 02:44:15 PMLate tackle on K Hughes, no free?

He was low to the ground, was the barely contact and to be fair he hasn't given many easy frees
Both players looked genuinely poleaxed.
Who got the yellow card then?

Clear free. Late tackle.

He gave the Trillick lad a yelliw card.

Not sure why he didn't award the free.

Oso

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on November 26, 2023, 03:16:16 PMThink they'll need a goal to beat Glen, though one lad here thinks Glen are average  ;D

Haven't worked out if you're deliberately misquoting me yet or you actually can't interpret what I said wee man.

Good game today, some effort from Trillick despite missing someone of Mattie Donnelly's quality, much to be admired.  I'm not sure Scotstown have the mobility to beat Glen (FYI MR2 see what I said earlier about runners).  I thought the ref was good today also, good job you weren't stuck in the middle today MR2.

Quote from: marty34 on November 26, 2023, 03:54:27 PM
Quote from: Main Street on November 26, 2023, 02:47:40 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on November 26, 2023, 02:46:11 PM
Quote from: Main Street on November 26, 2023, 02:44:15 PMLate tackle on K Hughes, no free?

He was low to the ground, was the barely contact and to be fair he hasn't given many easy frees
Both players looked genuinely poleaxed.
Who got the yellow card then?

Clear free. Late tackle.

He gave the Trillick lad a yelliw card.

Not sure why he didn't award the free.

I was thinking he possibly deemed it as a tackle after the ball was gone. I'd have given a free myself.
A lot of the time refs are reluctant to give frees when a player has been fouled but managed to get a good unimpeded shot away (as in this case)
Some weird GAA version of Double Jeopardy.

Oso

It should actually be more than a yellow card, and it should  definitely be a free if there no advantage.

If you're hitting the player late and he's planted on one leg kicking that's a dangerous tackle, knee ligaments and potentially leg breaker.

Make it a red, take it out of the game. Players have had careers ended with tackles like this, not always overly malicious but definitely wreckless and dangerous.

Quote from: Oso on November 26, 2023, 03:58:10 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on November 26, 2023, 03:16:16 PMThink they'll need a goal to beat Glen, though one lad here thinks Glen are average  ;D

Haven't worked out if you're deliberately misquoting me yet or you actually can't interpret what I said wee man.

Good game today, some effort from Trillick despite missing someone of Mattie Donnelly's quality, much to be admired.  I'm not sure Scotstown have the mobility to beat Glen (FYI MR2 see what I said earlier about runners).  I thought the ref was good today also, good job you weren't stuck in the middle today MR2.

These are your quotes on Glen

Maybe Glen just are not as good a team as everyone makes out??

A team of runners with average football ability.

I simply don't belive Glen are the team they are hyped to be

There's no extra gear in Glen