GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: AZOffaly on May 11, 2018, 12:06:52 PM

Title: Offaly v Wicklow/ Louth v Carlow - Double Header Portlaoise Sunday 13th May
Post by: AZOffaly on May 11, 2018, 12:06:52 PM
Sure why not?

I'm really looking forward to this. In the grand scheme of things it matters not a jot, but to these 4 teams it matters a lot. No TV, no fanfare, but hopefully a decent crowd for what should be two competitive games in Portlaoise. Offaly have been inconsistent in the league, but staying up was a fillip. John Evans is below in Wickow, and with Stephen Wallace in Offaly, this is a battle of two Kerry managers as well. Hopefully it stays dry and is a good start to the Leinster championship. Tickets are bought and I'm raring to go.

A sideshow has developed in Offaly around Cian Johnson, a club man of my own. He's a very promising footballer, but he's only a child still. Doing the leaving cert this year. The Offaly County Board have brought in a local 'addendum' to the National Rule that no senior championship panelist can play U20 football. They have extended it to saying that anyone eligible for U20 *must* play U20. So Cian is being forced out of the panel for the Wicklow game, and possibly (if they win) the next round of the championship v Dublin. He's not happy with that at all, but I think I support the County Board on this. The first game for Offaly in the U20 is the day after the Dublin date, so my point is he'll either be available for the next game, or he'll be in the middle of a decent run with the Offaly U20s. I don't think the rule means that he cannot step up if/when the U20s are beaten.

Title: Re: Offaly v Wicklow/ Louth v Carlow - Double Header Portlaoise Sunday 13th May
Post by: The Biff on May 11, 2018, 02:50:35 PM
As that potential Dublin date is just the Sunday before the Leaving Cert starts, I'd be suggesting to the lad not to be playing for either team.  Give him the two weeks or so to concentrate on some of the most important exams he'll ever do.  There'll be plenty of time for kicking a bag-of-wind around a field later.

... now ... dream sequence ...
Fast-forward to May 27th, Offaly (having licked Wikla) v the Dubs in Tullamore, 10 minutes to go and we're just 2 points down, need to bring on a sub-forward, .... I say to myself "why dont we have Cian Johnson ready to come on?"
Title: Re: Offaly v Wicklow/ Louth v Carlow - Double Header Portlaoise Sunday 13th May
Post by: AZOffaly on May 11, 2018, 03:03:21 PM
Quote from: The Biff on May 11, 2018, 02:50:35 PM
As that potential Dublin date is just the Sunday before the Leaving Cert starts, I'd be suggesting to the lad not to be playing for either team.  Give him the two weeks or so to concentrate on some of the most important exams he'll ever do.  There'll be plenty of time for kicking a bag-of-wind around a field later.

... now ... dream sequence ...
Fast-forward to May 27th, Offaly (having licked Wikla) v the Dubs in Tullamore, 10 minutes to go and we're just 2 points down, need to bring on a sub-forward, .... I say to myself "why dont we have Cian Johnson ready to come on?"

Also true. Maybe that's what he's thinking in fairness. 'I'm not playing the U20 anyway, so I might as well play v Wicklow'.
Post by: tippabu on May 11, 2018, 09:01:11 PM
Fancy offaly to win easy. The other one im not sure, Louth were absolutely awful in division 2 but feel like now they are playing a team at their level. Carlow did brilliant the last two years but i stand to be corrected, theyve yet to beat anyone outside of division 4? Think Louth might just sneak it but its a 50/50 game
Post by: Gael85 on May 11, 2018, 09:57:25 PM
Quote from: tippabu on May 11, 2018, 09:01:11 PM
Fancy offaly to win easy. The other one im not sure, Louth were absolutely awful in division 2 but feel like now they are playing a team at their level. Carlow did brilliant the last two years but i stand to be corrected, theyve yet to beat anyone outside of division 4? Think Louth might just sneak it but its a 50/50 game

Brendan Murphy will be a massive loss to Carlow but they have Sean Gannon who is very underrated. Think Carlow lack a quality inside forward to bring them to the next level.
Post by: tippabu on May 14, 2018, 10:32:10 AM
Well I couldn't have been any more wrong in my prediction!! Fair play to carlow and wicklow
Post by: Jinxy on May 14, 2018, 10:48:21 AM
It's a bit rich Brendan Murphy taking offence at Paddy O'Rourke saying Carlow have no chance of winning anything (I'm paraphrasing) in the current system, and then he disappears to America for the summer.

https://twitter.com/BrendanMurphy17/status/964484764450410498 (https://twitter.com/BrendanMurphy17/status/964484764450410498)
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on May 14, 2018, 08:53:38 PM
Things are not good with Offaly football ....

https://www.balls.ie/gaa/offaly-football-unrest-stephen-wallace-388940
Post by: AZOffaly on May 14, 2018, 09:20:49 PM
Quote from: Junior Ex Laoistalk on May 14, 2018, 08:53:38 PM

Worse than not good.
Post by: LooseCannon on May 14, 2018, 09:39:56 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on May 14, 2018, 09:20:49 PM
Quote from: Junior Ex Laoistalk on May 14, 2018, 08:53:38 PM

Worse than not good.
Ya know it's not good when you come back home. (To uibhfhaili.com)
Post by: Gmac on May 14, 2018, 10:11:37 PM
Carlow seem to have a few really fast players that can carry the ball at pace which is vital ,Murphy with the beard in midfield is a great man to carry but a bit wild with finishing. Nice to see them going well and hope they rattle Kildare
Post by: Dinny Breen on May 14, 2018, 11:44:18 PM
I hope they don't
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on May 16, 2018, 10:02:51 PM
http://offaly.gaa.ie/2018/05/16/offaly-gaa-seek-interim-senior-football-management/

QuoteFollowing a meeting of Coiste Bainisti Uibh Fhaili on Wednesday 16th May 2018, the decision was made that Stephen Wallace should not continue as Manager of the Offaly Senior Football Team.

An Interim Management Team will be appointed as soon as possible.
Post by: Jinxy on May 16, 2018, 10:46:44 PM
There's only one man for the job.

(https://media.balls.ie/uploads/2017/03/03145434/bondreplay.jpg)
Post by: LooseCannon on May 16, 2018, 11:06:52 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on May 16, 2018, 10:46:44 PM
There's only one man for the job.

(https://media.balls.ie/uploads/2017/03/03145434/bondreplay.jpg)
He's retired now, even more time.
Post by: Cunny Funt on May 16, 2018, 11:08:56 PM
Awful carry on in Offaly.
Post by: LooseCannon on May 16, 2018, 11:14:00 PM
See uibhfhaili.com for more conspiracies and opinions on it.
Post by: Gael85 on May 16, 2018, 11:46:34 PM
I wonder will Banty put his name forward for the job?
Post by: Rossfan on May 17, 2018, 12:00:34 AM
Tommy Tom is a shoe in😀
Post by: laoislad on May 17, 2018, 07:48:37 AM
Big Sam is free. Would suit Offaly.He even looks like a BIFFO.
Post by: mup on May 17, 2018, 09:22:03 AM
Quote from: laoislad on May 17, 2018, 07:48:37 AM
Big Sam is free. Would suit Offaly.He even looks like a BIFFO.

Or a BUFFALO
Post by: Jinxy on May 17, 2018, 10:43:39 AM
Quote from: Gael85 on May 16, 2018, 11:46:34 PM
I wonder will Banty put his name forward for the job?

He'd put some fire in their bellies, that's for sure.
Post by: Ciarrai_thuaidh on May 17, 2018, 02:16:26 PM
I'm no fan of Wallace, his carry on in that club game with Mitchels recently is typical of him. He also left his own club and went to a bigger club (Kerins O'Rahillys) when they weren't doing great, so he's not my type of character. And his buffoon of a "coach" is even worse.

That being said, IF it's accurate that the players all expressed their support of the management and wanted to drive on and pick things up, then what the hell are the board at? I think the likes of Brian Gavin (who is a hurling man anyway) have come across poorly here and it seems quite obvious that there are big problems with the leadership of Offaly GAA. The likes of AZ will know more than me on that.
Maybe things would have got worse under Wallace, I don't know. This year is most likely a write-off now anyway. I feel sorry for the players more than anyone IF they are genuinely putting in a good effort.

Edit: literally as I was typing, a mate text me about Wallace going on Off the ball this morning! Sacked and wants to go on National media - FFS. You would think he would go away and lick his wounds quietly, but no. Not his style.   ::)
Post by: AZOffaly on May 17, 2018, 02:42:43 PM
A bit of background. Brian Gavin is of course an ex-referee, but he is also an 'analyst/co-commentator' on Midlands Radio 3, and he is chairman of Clara GAA and a delegate to the County Board.
Tommy Byrne has been Chairman of Offaly County Board twice at least, and in a previous stint he also was instrumental in a change of management back in 2003. It was after the first year of a 3 year plan, blooding young lads (including a young Niall McNamee) and Championship results were not bad. Lost to Laois after a very contentious last minute equaliser in O'Moore Park forced a replay (Laois won Leinster that year), beat London and Clare in Ennis in the qualifiers, and lost to a Frankie Dolan inspired Roscommon after Extra Time in Mullingar in Round 3.  Tommy has form here. Since then, the instability has reigned, with I don't know how many managers since then. Pat Flanagan's treatment last year was unsavoury as well.

On the other hand, there have been rumours of discontent in the camp. The player Alan McNamee tweeted about fell out with Wallace, and a few others have reported a general unease in the camp. The League was not good, barely stayed up by beating a disinterested Westmeath. The body language of the players on Sunday was not good or happy looking, so I think it's fair to say there was some level of tension in the camp, if not exactly what Brian Gavin seems to have described. Which brings me to my own theory.

I think the Wallace incident in Kerry was embarrassing for the County Board, and not a good reflection on our senior manager. I think they knew some lads in the camp were unhappy (but not all, by any means). I think they'd have liked to get rid of him as soon as that broke, but they didn't want a player revolt if the majority still wanted him to continue with them. I further think that the performance on Sunday, allied to the unhappiness on the day of senior players gave them their opportunity, and Brian Gavin was primed to pump information into the media. They are not stupid, so by that spin getting into the media they knew it would garner national attention.

They are now able to play two tunes on the same fiddle. 1 - Oh the players are unhappy, but let's not bring the players into this, they are not responsible for this, it's our decision. and 2 - The suspension and his behaviour in Kerry mean he can't fulfill his duties as manager.

I think #2 is the real reason, as well as an embarrassment that this man is the figurehead of our senior team, and he's below in Kerry boxing the heads off lads at a club game.

As with everything in the GAA in Offaly there appears to be enough blame to go around. I give Tommy Byrne and the County Board very little credit because of their previous behaviour in relation to managers, but likewise I think Stephen Wallace has done himself no favours, and to be honest the Kerry issue probably does make his position untenable in reality. He can't attend training, he can't be pitchside, and he can't do video analysis with them. His appeal only finished on Saturday evening, so you're looking at another 6-8 weeks of that sort of mess.

I don't think the players are completely blameless. We have a lot of X and Y are unhappy etc, seemingly every year, and I don't know what manager doesn't fall out with some players at some stage. But I think of the 3 parties here, the players are the least to blame. By all accounts they are a dedicated bunch, and they have largely kept their counsel since Sunday, apart from Nigel Dunne himself rubbishing some of the sensationalist parts of Brian Gavin's account. This 'leak' of the letter is suspicious too, but even at that, it's not the typical scenario in these circumstances, it appears to be supportive of management, and it does appear the County Board have unilaterally made this decision.

Post by: Croí na hÉireann on May 17, 2018, 03:10:49 PM
Stephen and Tommy got a good grilling this morning, well worth a listen https://www.youtube.com/watch?time_continue=1014&v=OaRDWB8wD-U (https://www.youtube.com/watch?time_continue=1014&v=OaRDWB8wD-U)
Post by: Ciarrai_thuaidh on May 17, 2018, 03:11:37 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on May 17, 2018, 02:42:43 PM
A bit of background. Brian Gavin is of course an ex-referee, but he is also an 'analyst/co-commentator' on Midlands Radio 3, and he is chairman of Clara GAA and a delegate to the County Board.
Tommy Byrne has been Chairman of Offaly County Board twice at least, and in a previous stint he also was instrumental in a change of management back in 2003. It was after the first year of a 3 year plan, blooding young lads (including a young Niall McNamee) and Championship results were not bad. Lost to Laois after a very contentious last minute equaliser in O'Moore Park forced a replay (Laois won Leinster that year), beat London and Clare in Ennis in the qualifiers, and lost to a Frankie Dolan inspired Roscommon after Extra Time in Mullingar in Round 3.  Tommy has form here. Since then, the instability has reigned, with I don't know how many managers since then. Pat Flanagan's treatment last year was unsavoury as well.

On the other hand, there have been rumours of discontent in the camp. The player Alan McNamee tweeted about fell out with Wallace, and a few others have reported a general unease in the camp. The League was not good, barely stayed up by beating a disinterested Westmeath. The body language of the players on Sunday was not good or happy looking, so I think it's fair to say there was some level of tension in the camp, if not exactly what Brian Gavin seems to have described. Which brings me to my own theory.

I think the Wallace incident in Kerry was embarrassing for the County Board, and not a good reflection on our senior manager. I think they knew some lads in the camp were unhappy (but not all, by any means). I think they'd have liked to get rid of him as soon as that broke, but they didn't want a player revolt if the majority still wanted him to continue with them. I further think that the performance on Sunday, allied to the unhappiness on the day of senior players gave them their opportunity, and Brian Gavin was primed to pump information into the media. They are not stupid, so by that spin getting into the media they knew it would garner national attention.

They are now able to play two tunes on the same fiddle. 1 - Oh the players are unhappy, but let's not bring the players into this, they are not responsible for this, it's our decision. and 2 - The suspension and his behaviour in Kerry mean he can't fulfill his duties as manager.

I think #2 is the real reason, as well as an embarrassment that this man is the figurehead of our senior team, and he's below in Kerry boxing the heads off lads at a club game.

As with everything in the GAA in Offaly there appears to be enough blame to go around. I give Tommy Byrne and the County Board very little credit because of their previous behaviour in relation to managers, but likewise I think Stephen Wallace has done himself no favours, and to be honest the Kerry issue probably does make his position untenable in reality. He can't attend training, he can't be pitchside, and he can't do video analysis with them. His appeal only finished on Saturday evening, so you're looking at another 6-8 weeks of that sort of mess.

I don't think the players are completely blameless. We have a lot of X and Y are unhappy etc, seemingly every year, and I don't know what manager doesn't fall out with some players at some stage. But I think of the 3 parties here, the players are the least to blame. By all accounts they are a dedicated bunch, and they have largely kept their counsel since Sunday, apart from Nigel Dunne himself rubbishing some of the sensationalist parts of Brian Gavin's account. This 'leak' of the letter is suspicious too, but even at that, it's not the typical scenario in these circumstances, it appears to be supportive of management, and it does appear the County Board have unilaterally made this decision.

Thanks for that synopsis lad. Very messy and nobody blameless really so.

Wallace is a clown, no 2 ways about it. Some of his antics on the line in recent years with IT Tralee even before this latest episode with Ardfert his club - well if I was involved in making the decision to appoint him Offaly manager and word reached me of them (which you'd imagine it should have?) then I would have thought twice about appointing him in the first place. Then when he brought a spoofer with him to take most of the sessions (Sheehan) I would have been even more worried.

Does however seem like a Co Board that aren't operating to a high standard either I think it's fair to say? I know players should be possibly doing better anyway but it's hard to get 100% when that kind of atmosphere is there. I've seen it on an even greater scale in Cork. People say "ah the Footballers are sh*t"..but while the hurlers are training in proper gyms and on all-weather pitches, the Footballers are having to build their own gym in a dank warehouse in a town 2 hours drive from where some players live. Double standards, sneakiness and underhanded activities then become part of the narrative - much like the Offaly board sending out Gavin to get the narrative they want into the public domain. Sickens me to see that kind of stuff anywhere when players are breaking their b*llix training.
Post by: AZOffaly on May 17, 2018, 03:22:34 PM
In fairness to the CB, they have done good work on the facilities front. The Faithful Fields was a visionary project, and is a brilliant facility. It looks the business from the roadside, and the pitches are lovely. Apparently the facilities in there are good as well, gym etc.

http://www.punditarena.com/gaa/smcmahon/offalys-new-centre-excellence-looks-absolutely-incredible/ (http://www.punditarena.com/gaa/smcmahon/offalys-new-centre-excellence-looks-absolutely-incredible/)

Their record of sticking with managers, or supporting them, is far weaker however. I'm not sure if it's the personalities involved or what, but they have a real blind spot when it comes to backing managers, or picking the right ones to begin with. They obviously don't pay massive 'expenses' so perhaps the big names are out of their league, but they seem to fall between two stools. Don't pick a big name, and pick lads with 'projects' and then when there's a setback, bottle it and get rid of him.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on May 17, 2018, 04:27:46 PM
They went after Jack O'Connor who was the one who put them onto Wallace.
Post by: AZOffaly on May 17, 2018, 04:29:54 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on May 17, 2018, 04:27:46 PM

The spiteful so and so.

Seriously, I don't think they'd be in the league for Jack.
Post by: LooseCannon on May 17, 2018, 05:23:49 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on May 17, 2018, 03:22:34 PM
In fairness to the CB, they have done good work on the facilities front. The Faithful Fields was a visionary project, and is a brilliant facility. It looks the business from the roadside, and the pitches are lovely. Apparently the facilities in there are good as well, gym etc.

http://www.punditarena.com/gaa/smcmahon/offalys-new-centre-excellence-looks-absolutely-incredible/ (http://www.punditarena.com/gaa/smcmahon/offalys-new-centre-excellence-looks-absolutely-incredible/)

Their record of sticking with managers, or supporting them, is far weaker however. I'm not sure if it's the personalities involved or what, but they have a real blind spot when it comes to backing managers, or picking the right ones to begin with. They obviously don't pay massive 'expenses' so perhaps the big names are out of their league, but they seem to fall between two stools. Don't pick a big name, and pick lads with 'projects' and then when there's a setback, bottle it and get rid of him.

That was organised by Kieran Keenaghan, Duignan, Colm Cummins, Sod Daly, etc.
They went around getting money from companies such as Grennan's and Banagher Concrete.
Post by: AZOffaly on May 17, 2018, 06:38:28 PM
Quote from: LooseCannon on May 17, 2018, 05:23:49 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on May 17, 2018, 03:22:34 PM

I know. I gave my own small contribution. But it was a co board vision and it's a good sign to see them allowing competent people to run it. If only they'd do the same with our teams!!

That was organised by Kieran Keenaghan, Duignan, Colm Cummins, Sod Daly, etc.
They went around getting money from companies such as Grennan's and Banagher Concrete.
Post by: seafoid on May 17, 2018, 09:33:01 PM
Michael Duignan‏ @DuignanMichael · 14 may
I'm not a big fan of the Offaly football management but their appointment  by our County Board is the real issue once again. We have way bigger problems. It's a massive embarrassment for a once great County. #timeforchange

Post by: Croí na hÉireann on May 18, 2018, 09:33:20 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on May 17, 2018, 04:29:54 PM

The spiteful so and so.

Not many are. And after all the years he's put into Kerry recently you'd imagine there's only one job he's interested in.
Post by: Dinny Breen on May 18, 2018, 11:23:11 AM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on May 18, 2018, 09:33:20 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on May 17, 2018, 04:29:54 PM

The spiteful so and so.

Not many are. And after all the years he's put into Kerry recently you'd imagine there's only one job he's interested in.

Kildare?
Post by: Maroon Manc on May 18, 2018, 12:42:36 PM
Wallace is making sure as many people hear his side of the story as possible, he's been on OFB, RTE News & Wooly's podcast.
Post by: Jinxy on May 18, 2018, 09:00:55 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on May 14, 2018, 10:48:21 AM
It's a bit rich Brendan Murphy taking offence at Paddy O'Rourke saying Carlow have no chance of winning anything (I'm paraphrasing) in the current system, and then he disappears to America for the summer.

https://twitter.com/BrendanMurphy17/status/964484764450410498 (https://twitter.com/BrendanMurphy17/status/964484764450410498)

James Dolan from Westmeath (vice-captain) heading Stateside as well.

https://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/huge-blow-for-westmeath-as-vicecaptain-departs-for-us-36919383.html (https://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/huge-blow-for-westmeath-as-vicecaptain-departs-for-us-36919383.html)

Have the transfer rules made things worse, i.e. players are now opting to go at the start of summer instead of after they are knocked out?
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on May 19, 2018, 02:32:20 AM
Well now. This is something.

Irish Examiner columnist Paul Rouse is set to be appointed new manager of the Offaly footballers, it has emerged.

The UCD history lecturer is a two-time County Championship winner with Tullamore in 2000 and 2002 and will lead a new management team for the duration of Offaly's involvement in this summer's Championship.

The decision is expected to be ratified on Saturday as the Offaly County Board bid to move past the controversial departure of Stephen Wallace from the position in the wake of last Sunday's Leinster SFC defeat to Wicklow.

Rouse, 47, is likely to be joined in the management team by his brother John, who guided Tullamore to SFC success in the county five years ago, 1982 All-Ireland winner Stephen Darby, who guided Rhode to a three-in-a-row of Offaly football titles and Darby's clubmate Alan McNamee.

Offaly are slated to play their first-round qualifier game on June 9, with Rouse tasked with getting the county's footballers back on track after last Sunday's defeat.

The loss means that Offaly have still only one won Leinster championship game since 2007 – against Longford.
Post by: Dinny Breen on May 19, 2018, 08:06:33 AM
Paul Rouse comes across has an awful arsehole any time I heard him on OTB.  He will soon find it's harder to live by your values than it is sit in a studio and preach about values. However fair play he's putting himself out there..
Post by: AZOffaly on May 19, 2018, 09:36:09 AM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on May 19, 2018, 08:06:33 AM
Paul Rouse comes across has an awful arsehole any time I heard him on OTB.  He will soon find it's harder to live by your values than it is sit in a studio and preach about values. However fair play he's putting himself out there..

He opinionated but he's a good lad. He's also fairly straight so I expect Offaly to give a walkover if the qualifier game is on Sky 😀
Post by: Jinxy on May 19, 2018, 11:52:58 AM
Strange choice.
Has he managed a club team recently/ever?
Post by: Rossfan on May 19, 2018, 01:44:16 PM
Did Seàn Boylan? 
Post by: LooseCannon on May 19, 2018, 02:08:28 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on May 19, 2018, 11:52:58 AM
Strange choice.
Has he managed a club team recently/ever?
Stephen Darby won 3 Offaly SFC in a row as manager of Rhode.
John Rouse (Paul's brother) guided Tullamore to an Offaly title a few years ago, and is in charge of them this year.
Alan McNamee captained Rhode to 6 Offaly SFC(he's won 3 or 4 more since)
Rouse won 2 SFC with Tullamore as a player.
Not bad.
Post by: Jinxy on May 19, 2018, 02:24:48 PM
So... he hasn't.
Post by: Maroon Manc on May 22, 2018, 10:19:33 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on May 19, 2018, 09:36:09 AM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on May 19, 2018, 08:06:33 AM

He opinionated but he's a good lad. He's also fairly straight so I expect Offaly to give a walkover if the qualifier game is on Sky 😀

I'm sure it was Rouse who said on OFB he didn't rate Michael Donnellan?