Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: ONeill on March 11, 2017, 11:28:49 PM

Title: The Story Behind Your Username
Post by: ONeill on March 11, 2017, 11:28:49 PM
Often wondered. Some are obvious. But why stew, hardstation, tony baloney, Hardy etc?
Title: Re: The Story Behind Your Username
Post by: stew on March 11, 2017, 11:35:19 PM
Quote from: ONeill on March 11, 2017, 11:28:49 PM
Ofed. Some are obvious. But why stew, hardstation, tony baloney, Hardy etc?

When my family moved to Longstone in Armagh in 71 I played a lot of football with my new friends, when my mother would call me for dinner I would ask what was for dinner, if she said steak or chicken or pork she would not see me until two hours later, but if she said stew I was gone immediately, my next door neighbour noticed this over a period of months and started calling me stew, hence my name on here 45 years later.

Shane why were you named after an Armagh football club?  :P
Post by: Tony Baloney on March 11, 2017, 11:44:43 PM
The Sopranos was nearing the end at the time so probably picked a name similar to that in the programme.

I'm hoping most names have a more exciting story!
Post by: longballin on March 11, 2017, 11:48:23 PM
What I yearn to see again... get Murphy to the edge of the square -ban the blanket  :-[
Post by: thebigfella on March 11, 2017, 11:51:28 PM
My buddy arrived in with his boxer dog who he always referred to as the big fella while I was registering.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on March 11, 2017, 11:52:05 PM
Our club changed the name of the ground to De La Salle park around the time I joined, so I figured I'll keep it as Milltown Row!
Post by: Rawhide on March 11, 2017, 11:59:44 PM
Love that name 'CunnyFunt'😂😂
Post by: Tony Baloney on March 12, 2017, 12:14:04 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on March 11, 2017, 11:52:05 PM
Our club changed the name of the ground to De La Salle park around the time I joined, so I figured I'll keep it as Milltown Row!
And your first name got robbed so you ended up as MR2!
Post by: Milltown Row2 on March 12, 2017, 12:16:03 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on March 12, 2017, 12:14:04 AM

Yeah that was weird!! Cushendall man too
Post by: Tony Baloney on March 12, 2017, 12:18:23 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on March 12, 2017, 12:16:03 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on March 12, 2017, 12:14:04 AM

Yeah that was weird!! Cushendall man too
Typical!
Post by: north_antrim_hound on March 12, 2017, 12:19:39 AM
I use to post in another forum called An Fear Rua
Some of their names were good
Squirrel Farrell
Read the breaks
Hit them hard hard hard
The crudest one called himself "hurler on the bitch"
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on March 12, 2017, 12:23:48 AM
Bucked if i mind.

Likin Stews story tho  :)
Post by: Owen Brannigan on March 12, 2017, 01:01:00 AM
I have used Take Your Points since I joined the Board when football began in 2002.  On occasion, I used to be confused by some posters with the much more famous Goals Will Come who has changed his username for some reason  ;).  Someone else registered Take Yer Points and occasionally posts with it and I wouldn't want to be associated with his/her posts.

No particular reason why I chose Take Your Points other than it was a much used phrase heard at games.  In 2005, I was named in a thread created for that purpose by a disgruntled work colleague who didn't like my appointment at that time and who created a username to do so that disappeared shortly afterwards.  I continued to use the same username but have begun using my own name since last week as I had always planned to do so when I retired from work and only just got around to it.
Post by: Windmill abu on March 12, 2017, 01:05:37 AM
In honour of the East Tyrone Junior League Champions 1963
Post by: laoislad on March 12, 2017, 07:20:47 AM
Haven't a clue. I'm not even from Laois.
Post by: seafoid on March 12, 2017, 07:45:28 AM
Seafóid is an Irish  word used a lot in Galway. There were no fadas online whenever I started using it.
Much sports analysis is seafóid.
Post by: on the sideline on March 12, 2017, 08:58:19 AM
When I first registered I was out of action after surgery. Plus I would have been doing a lot of underage coaching and managing for a good few years around that time as well.
Post by: The Stallion on March 12, 2017, 09:15:20 AM
My athleticism and large manhood have saddled me (pun intended) with the nickname "Stallion". It's a bit of a curse tbh. One of my most used phrases is "my eyes are up here luv".
Post by: ziggy90 on March 12, 2017, 09:27:15 AM
The amount of goals Nikola Zigic scored for Birmingham in the 90th minute.
Post by: Farrandeelin on March 12, 2017, 09:27:39 AM
I live here.
Post by: lurganblue on March 12, 2017, 09:37:24 AM
Big Glenavon supporter
Post by: MoChara on March 12, 2017, 09:46:12 AM
I was watching Man about Dog at the time and they kept saying it so deliberately it stood out
Post by: ONeill on March 12, 2017, 10:16:54 AM
Quote from: stew on March 11, 2017, 11:35:19 PM
Quote from: ONeill on March 11, 2017, 11:28:49 PM
Ofed. Some are obvious. But why stew, hardstation, tony baloney, Hardy etc?

When my family moved to Longstone in Armagh in 71 I played a lot of football with my new friends, when my mother would call me for dinner I would ask what was for dinner, if she said steak or chicken or pork she would not see me until two hours later, but if she said stew I was gone immediately, my next door neighbour noticed this over a period of months and started calling me stew, hence my name on here 45 years later.

Shane why were you named after an Armagh football club?  :P

Was either that or Harps.
Post by: Boycey on March 12, 2017, 11:09:38 AM
Only Fools was on tv as I was registering and Boycey just seemed right, probably should have been Boycie in hindsight  :D
Post by: trileacman on March 12, 2017, 12:41:27 PM
It was my moniker on Hogan Stand which I made up moons ago as a young fella. Kept it on when I ventured over here although I do wish I had a username that wasn't as shite.

Post by: brokencrossbar1 on March 12, 2017, 01:31:05 PM
My actually has a double reference...firstly I registered around the time that my football career and worklife were going through a period of change as both were 'breaking' at the time.  Also I played in goals a bit when I was younger. We were playing in a schools match out in Knockbridge in Louth and I jumped up to safe the ball. I was a big gassun and I took a swing off the crossbar. It broke, fell on my mouth and busted my lip very badly. To this day the lip would still crack in very frosty weather.
Post by: trileacman on March 12, 2017, 01:59:59 PM
Quote from: The Stallion on March 12, 2017, 09:15:20 AM
My athleticism and large manhood have saddled me (pun intended) with the nickname "Stallion". It's a bit of a curse tbh. One of my most used phrases is "my eyes are up here luv".

I always thought it's coz you've a face like shergar.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on March 12, 2017, 02:03:58 PM
Quote from: trileacman on March 12, 2017, 01:59:59 PM
Quote from: The Stallion on March 12, 2017, 09:15:20 AM

I always thought it's coz you've a face like shergar.

A beef burger?
Post by: The Stallion on March 12, 2017, 02:07:51 PM
Happy to inform you of the real reason trileacman. I'm devestatingly handsome if you must know.

Although perhaps that's what you meant, I know you Tyrone folk have some peculiar sexual proclivities.
Post by: Harold Disgracey on March 12, 2017, 03:25:54 PM
Named in honour of Portadown's second most famous comedian.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on March 12, 2017, 11:28:12 PM
A description for some area of Longford in the Chronicles of St. Alun from the 7th Century - rough translation from Latin:

"And we set forth from the seat of Mel of Ardagh, to the Shamrock Shore of the great river, all in the glory of God"
Post by: Rossfan on March 12, 2017, 11:35:33 PM
Jases Sham that's very historical altogether  ;D
My user name doesn't require much explanation  :)

Post by: Dougal Maguire on March 12, 2017, 11:37:21 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on March 12, 2017, 11:28:12 PM
A description for some area of Longford in the Chronicles of St. Alun from the 7th Century - rough translation from Latin:

"And we set forth from the seat of Mel of Ardagh, to the Shamrock Shore of the great river, all in the glory of God"
You live and learn. I just thought you picked the name because you're a Horslips fan. I wasn't aware of the deeper meaning.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on March 13, 2017, 12:01:09 AM
Quote from: Dougal Maguire on March 12, 2017, 11:37:21 PM

You live and learn. I just thought you picked the name because you're a Horslips fan. I wasn't aware of the deeper meaning.

Oh yeah! Maybe I dreamt that other nonsense!
Post by: Windmill abu on March 13, 2017, 12:30:07 AM

Excellent choice of username and well researched.

With knowledge like yours we should be "happy to meet sorry to part. "

Post by: Lar Naparka on March 13, 2017, 12:41:00 AM
This topic is a hardy perennial; it pops up every once in a while. Anyway, my username goes back to the mid-70s when Railway Cup games were big news and the broadcasts were in Irish. I was sitting in my local one Paddy's Day and there were very few punters in the place. There was an American GI sitting beside me; mean looking hoor with the regulatory crew cut and mean disposition.
He just sat there getting steadily pissed and saying nothing to anyone around him. The few of us who were there just spoke in whispers and the atmosphere was quite tense.  Finally, the game was over and he stood up to leave. He hadn't spoken to anyone, not even the barman, for an hour and a half. He just grunted and held out his glass whenever he wanted a refill.
He turned around and spoke for the first time as he pulled the door open. "I don't understand that game and I don't speak that lingo but I'll tell you one thing."
Dead silence all around...
"That Lar Naparka is one helluva player."
Post by: Puckoon on March 13, 2017, 04:25:53 AM
Quote from: Dougal Maguire on March 12, 2017, 11:37:21 PM

I always thought yours was Horslips related also.

Sidebar: managed to find 4 Horslips albums still in their plastic on vinyl over here last month.
Post by: The Gs Man on March 13, 2017, 09:00:25 AM
I'm named after a 17th Century Russian poet.
Post by: Farrandeelin on March 13, 2017, 09:08:48 AM
Quote from: seafoid on March 12, 2017, 07:45:28 AM
Seafóid is an Irish  word used a lot in Galway. There were no fadas online whenever I started using it.
Much sports analysis is seafóid.
I thought it was for all the shite you post!
Post by: Hardy on March 13, 2017, 09:17:34 AM
Laurel was taken.
Post by: seafoid on March 13, 2017, 09:20:05 AM
Quote from: Hardy on March 13, 2017, 09:17:34 AM
Laurel was taken.
Was there not a fiddler somewhere in the story ?
Post by: ziggysego on March 13, 2017, 09:24:30 AM
I am named after the hybrid computer on Quantum Leap called Ziggy, who has the ego of Barbra Streisand, bench ZiggysEgo.
Post by: Hardy on March 13, 2017, 09:43:18 AM
Quote from: seafoid on March 13, 2017, 09:20:05 AM
Quote from: Hardy on March 13, 2017, 09:17:34 AM
Laurel was taken.
Was there not a fiddler somewhere in the story ?

I'm just embracing the post-truth philosophy.
Post by: illdecide on March 13, 2017, 10:00:04 AM
When i was younger i used to think i decided on most things (didn't really though, was just full of sh1t)
Post by: Dire Ear on March 13, 2017, 10:49:19 AM
Sounds like diarrhoea,  which a few regularly post !!   :-X
Post by: stew on March 13, 2017, 11:31:20 AM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on March 12, 2017, 01:31:05 PM
My actually has a double reference...firstly I registered around the time that my football career and worklife were going through a period of change as both were 'breaking' at the time.  Also I played in goals a bit when I was younger. We were playing in a schools match out in Knockbridge in Louth and I jumped up to safe the ball. I was a big gassun and I took a swing off the crossbar. It broke, fell on my mouth and busted my lip very badly. To this day the lip would still crack in very frosty weather.

Best story yet by a country mile.
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on March 13, 2017, 12:16:07 PM
Quote from: stew on March 13, 2017, 11:31:20 AM

ima gonna call him BustedLip from now on

or chappylips. yes that's maybe better
Post by: Main Street on March 13, 2017, 12:23:53 PM
Should thread not be called The Story Behind Your Username/s?

It's been done before
You can check here if some users have changed their story.
http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=13145.msg604427#msg604427 (http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=13145.msg604427#msg604427)

Our Nail Loney  :D  whatever happened to him?
Post by: The Iceman on March 13, 2017, 12:25:25 PM
Chuck Liddell - the Ice Man. I was training and competing in MMA when very few people even knew what it was. In Chuck's era he redefined MMA for me with his sprawl and brawl style. I'm also a very black and white person. If I like you I like and if I don't, I don't. A bit cold some might say........
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on March 13, 2017, 01:00:09 PM
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on March 13, 2017, 12:16:07 PM

Say it to my face and you'll have both of those😂
Post by: Tony Baloney on March 13, 2017, 01:15:48 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on March 13, 2017, 01:00:09 PM

It would explain the vaseline on your lips.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on March 13, 2017, 01:22:30 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on March 13, 2017, 01:15:48 PM

f**k off!😂
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on March 13, 2017, 02:41:16 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on March 13, 2017, 01:22:30 PM

f**k off!😂

ye big chappy lipped Vaseline wearin crossbar breaker
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on March 13, 2017, 03:04:30 PM
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on March 13, 2017, 02:41:16 PM

f**k off!😂

To my face ye chicken!!
Post by: armaghniac on March 13, 2017, 03:37:23 PM
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on March 13, 2017, 02:41:16 PM
f**k off!😂

To my face ye chicken!!

Definitely a lippy chappy.
Post by: illdecide on March 13, 2017, 04:37:37 PM
Quote from: Main Street on March 13, 2017, 12:23:53 PM
Should thread not be called The Story Behind Your Username/s?

It's been done before
You can check here if some users have changed their story.
http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=13145.msg604427#msg604427 (http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=13145.msg604427#msg604427)

Our Nail Loney  :D  whatever happened to him?

Ohh he's still about and in fact he posted something on the board only a few days ago...Some say he changed his surname to the same as his boss...i'm not so sure but he is getting more like him every day ;D
Post by: take_yer_points on March 13, 2017, 04:39:16 PM
Quote from: Owen Brannigan on March 12, 2017, 01:01:00 AM
I have used Take Your Points since I joined the Board when football began in 2002.  On occasion, I used to be confused by some posters with the much more famous Goals Will Come who has changed his username for some reason  ;).  Someone else registered Take Yer Points and occasionally posts with it and I wouldn't want to be associated with his/her posts.

No particular reason why I chose Take Your Points other than it was a much used phrase heard at games.  In 2005, I was named in a thread created for that purpose by a disgruntled work colleague who didn't like my appointment at that time and who created a username to do so that disappeared shortly afterwards.  I continued to use the same username but have begun using my own name since last week as I had always planned to do so when I retired from work and only just got around to it.

Hopefully to avoid confusion rather than association with his/her posts being a negative thing?
Post by: bennydorano on March 13, 2017, 05:21:28 PM
Just read the links to the two previous threads on the same subject and I've never explained mine yet, it is intriguing.
Post by: Olly on March 13, 2017, 09:03:34 PM
Named after Oliver Cromwell or Oliver Plunkett.
Post by: Orior on March 13, 2017, 10:04:21 PM
My club is O'Hanlons, Poyntzpass, Co Armagh, named after Redmond O'Hanlon.

For about the 13th - 16th centuries, the O'Hanlon clan were lords of the barony of Orior which stretched from Tandragee to Newtownhamilton or so.
Post by: Aerlik on March 16, 2017, 03:40:12 PM
An anagram of the home town, back home in Derry.
Post by: stew on March 16, 2017, 03:48:19 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on March 13, 2017, 05:21:28 PM
Just read the links to the two previous threads on the same subject and I've never explained mine yet, it is intriguing.

I know they why behind your name full well there Benny. )
Post by: Keyser soze on March 16, 2017, 04:18:06 PM
I wanted everybody to be afraid of me. Whether they believed in God or not!
Post by: ONeill on March 16, 2017, 10:17:47 PM
Quote from: Aerlik on March 16, 2017, 03:40:12 PM

Anagram is pushing it.
Post by: armaghniac on March 16, 2017, 11:04:01 PM
Quote from: ONeill on March 16, 2017, 10:17:47 PM
Quote from: Aerlik on March 16, 2017, 03:40:12 PM

Anagram is pushing it.

Quite the reverse.
Post by: BarryBreensBandage on March 16, 2017, 11:19:54 PM
It might be obvious to some, but when registering, I thought of what was a prominent image from the glory years of Down football when I was growing up in the nineties. The one that had stuck with me was the bandage that was put on Barry Breen after he suffered a head injury. I haven't seen it before or since in any sporting arena:

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CjyCFVYUgAEg-IK.jpg)

A medical breakthrough that, for some reason, never caught on.
Post by: lawnseed on March 23, 2017, 09:47:02 PM
so your club ground is named after paedos???
Post by: Champion The Wonder Horse on March 23, 2017, 10:37:51 PM
The Stallion only thinks he's a stallion.
Post by: lawnseed on March 23, 2017, 10:45:47 PM
my username could have been anything. but back in 2002 when football began.. how do I do that wavey thing that means I'm remembering..

I had just got married and we had moved into this house. sweet jeez we hadn't a penny. we were living in the kitchen and the bedroom with the en-suite. well you know your nibbling away trying to get wee bits done mrs lawnseed had seen this lovely bathroom set. porcelain toilet handle and matching soap dish and bowl for your poporee. so off we went to newry and got the stuff which was great until we arrived at the till. we hadn't the price of it. the boss wasn't best pleased and I was a bit redfaced myself. we had to put it back. as we made our way out, tails between our legs. I noticed there was a special offer on lawnseed so I pick up a bag. when I got home the oul fella said to keep it dry so I put it in the hot-press. little did I know that when you buy lawnseed your beloved expects a beautiful lush lawn to miraculously appear overnite.. and then it started when are you doing the lawn?? when are you doing the lawn.. when ARE you doing the lawn..?? and on and on.  so when I was hiding in the hot-press for a bit of fukn peace on the board there I was me and my 30% off bag of LAWNSEED.    ;)
Post by: Milltown Row2 on March 25, 2017, 06:09:21 PM
Quote from: lawnseed on March 23, 2017, 09:47:02 PM
so your club ground is named after paedos???

Paedos?? If you had an experience with one of these guys it must have been awful... but you seem fine now....
Post by: paddyjohn on March 30, 2017, 03:45:05 PM
I got mine off an a oul lad that used to drink in our local, he used to call everybody either man or woman Paddy John. Used it in his memory.