GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: DubDave on January 04, 2007, 07:42:34 PM

Title: Foot.ie
Post by: DubDave on January 04, 2007, 07:42:34 PM
Don't know if this is the right place, but see what being said on this soccer site!

http://foot.ie/forums/showthread.php?t=45800
Title: Re: Foot.ie
Post by: The Bottom Brick on January 04, 2007, 07:45:02 PM
Ah here...

Some eegit just said

Quotethere are far more Association football clubs than GAA clubs

That's hilarious
Post by: dublinfella on January 04, 2007, 07:47:23 PM
some soccer fans on a soccer site saying they prefer soccer. controversial stuff indeed. ::)

quite the first post too.

will we link to the people on this forum referring to Shamrock Rovers fans as 'west brits' and 'loyalists'?
Post by: J70 on January 04, 2007, 07:49:35 PM
Quote from: The Bottom Brick on January 04, 2007, 07:45:02 PM
Ah here...

Some eegit just said

That's hilarious

Is it not true? There are literally hundreds of soccer clubs in Dublin. Many of them amount to a bunch of lads meeting up on a Saturday for a league match on a council pitch, with a game of midweek indoor thrown in in lieu of training. They're still clubs though.
Post by: ziggysego on January 04, 2007, 07:55:15 PM
Can we send Flameboy over to them?
Post by: An Dun Deal on January 04, 2007, 07:57:27 PM
I read somewhere recently that there were more people playing soccer in Ireland than gaelic football. Whether that was registered players I'm not sure. Think it may have been in one of the Sunday papers. Don't know about soccer having more clubs but it could be a close enough call though.
Post by: dublinfella on January 04, 2007, 07:58:37 PM
Quote from: J70 on January 04, 2007, 07:49:35 PM
Ah here...

Some eegit just said

That's hilarious

Is it not true? There are literally hundreds of soccer clubs in Dublin. Many of them amount to a bunch of lads meeting up on a Saturday for a league match on a council pitch, with a game of midweek indoor thrown in in lieu of training. They're still clubs though.

and the amount of workplaces that have soccer teams as opposed to Gaelic Games ones.

there are more registered soccer players than players of any individual Gaelic Game (ERSI did a report on it and census figures), not sure about the number of clubs though.

Expect to be labelled allsorts for bringing it up, just to prove the foot.ie folk wrong.
Post by: Farrandeelin on January 04, 2007, 07:59:58 PM
Poor hoors, they think we even read the Sindo! ::) They have a serious chip on their shoulder.

And they even did a '17 reasons why soccer is better than football' again...
Post by: lynchbhoy on January 04, 2007, 08:11:17 PM
Quote from: dublinfella on January 04, 2007, 07:47:23 PM
some soccer fans on a soccer site saying they prefer soccer. controversial stuff indeed. ::)

quite the first post too.

will we link to the people on this forum referring to Shamrock Rovers fans as 'west brits' and 'loyalists'?

doubt it

do loyalists and west brits throw 'pigs heads' at rival fans and terrorise local shops when rovers are playing in that area?

(ok there might be some similarities with loyalists - but I wouldnt castigate all of them ) :D

Post by: magickingdom on January 04, 2007, 08:11:40 PM
the vast majority of soccer supporters also support gaa. the comments of a few nuts shouldnt be taken out of context....
Post by: Rufus T Firefly on January 04, 2007, 08:20:19 PM
Ah here...

Some eegit just said

That's hilarious

In Armagh City there are two Gaelic Football Clubs, and off the top of my head in and around ten soccer clubs. The two Gaelic Football Clubs would have in the region of twenty five teams - I would guess the soccer clubs would have less than twenty teams. The gaelic teams mostly would have squads of 20-25 in number, the soccer teams mostly 14-17. There might be a discrepancy of clubs in the region of 10:2, but there's no doubt there are a lot more Gaelic players.

Out of curiosity, does the average soccer head in the South have that much anitpathy to the GAA - I'm used to it in the North from the OWC contingent, but I'm a bit taken aback by the level of animosity shown there!
Post by: deiseach on January 04, 2007, 08:21:22 PM
Quote from: magickingdom on January 04, 2007, 08:11:40 PM
the vast majority of soccer supporters also support gaa. the comments of a few nuts shouldnt be taken out of context....

Many of the soccer heads on that thread seem quite reasonable, live and let live etc.
Post by: dublinfella on January 04, 2007, 08:22:58 PM
Quote from: Rufus T Firefly on January 04, 2007, 08:20:19 PM
[
Out of curiosity, does the average soccer head in the South have that much anitpathy to the GAA - I'm used to it in the North from the OWC contingent, but I'm a bit taken aback by the level of animosity shown there!

No, but they are furious over the Tallaght thing and see the FAI as funding the GAA going to court to stop soccers capital grants. There are always nutters, but a lot of very resonable soccer guys are taking about boycotting soccer in CP over it.
Post by: deiseach on January 04, 2007, 08:30:50 PM
Quote from: dublinfella on January 04, 2007, 08:22:58 PMNo, but they are furious over the Tallaght thing and see the FAI as funding the GAA going to court to stop soccers capital grants. There are always nutters, but a lot of very resonable soccer guys are taking about boycotting soccer in CP over it.

I don't know how how a 'reasonable' person could trace a path between money paid to the GAA for the use of Croke Park to Thomas Davis' case. It's akin to someone saying their tax pounds / euros built Croke Park so they should be allowed free use of it, ha ha!

Oh . . .
Post by: ziggysego on January 04, 2007, 08:34:47 PM
Ah who cares what they think. Sure it wasn't that long ago, some of the people in here were saying the same about the soccer ones.
Post by: dublinfella on January 04, 2007, 08:37:06 PM
Quote from: deiseach on January 04, 2007, 08:30:50 PM
Quote from: dublinfella on January 04, 2007, 08:22:58 PMNo, but they are furious over the Tallaght thing and see the FAI as funding the GAA going to court to stop soccers capital grants. There are always nutters, but a lot of very resonable soccer guys are taking about boycotting soccer in CP over it.

I don't know how how a 'reasonable' person could trace a path between money paid to the GAA for the use of Croke Park to Thomas Davis' case. It's akin to someone saying their tax pounds / euros built Croke Park so they should be allowed free use of it, ha ha!

Oh . . .

as may be, but there has been a clear deterioration in relations between the blazers in both codes and Tallaght isnt far from the surface. Whatever happened to the formal complaint the GAA made to the Dept over an FAI blazers comments at an xmas function?
Post by: LilyWhiteAllright on January 04, 2007, 08:44:18 PM
"the largest participation sport in Ireland"  ;D  ;D
Post by: J70 on January 04, 2007, 08:44:49 PM
Ah here...

Some eegit just said

That's hilarious

In Armagh City there are two Gaelic Football Clubs, and off the top of my head in and around ten soccer clubs. The two Gaelic Football Clubs would have in the region of twenty five teams - I would guess the soccer clubs would have less than twenty teams. The gaelic teams mostly would have squads of 20-25 in number, the soccer teams mostly 14-17. There might be a discrepancy of clubs in the region of 10:2, but there's no doubt there are a lot more Gaelic players.

From my experience, it depends where you are. In Donegal, no. Its mostly the same people playing and watching both sports.

I also lived for many years on the south side of Dublin. Most of the lads I knew either played or watched soccer or both, but had little interest in GAA. I never got involved in any GAA club in Dublin, but I still met a fairly representative cross-section of Dublin life through college and work. Never saw much actual antipathy though.

Fair point about the number of teams per club. There are some massive soccer clubs though too.
Post by: deiseach on January 04, 2007, 08:45:55 PM
Quote from: dublinfella on January 04, 2007, 08:37:06 PM
as may be, but there has been a clear deterioration in relations between the blazers in both codes and Tallaght isnt far from the surface. Whatever happened to the formal complaint the GAA made to the Dept over an FAI blazers comments at an xmas function?

Just because there has been a deterioration in relations does not mean the reasons are, well, reasonable. To make a connection between the rent on Croke Park and the funding for Thomas Davis' case is deranged.
Post by: tayto on January 04, 2007, 08:57:39 PM
Ah here...

Some eegit just said

That's hilarious

i don't know about the number of clubs but if club membership figures are anything to go by then the GAA is significantly bigger then organised soccer.

From a recent article ....

"40pc of those who volunteer for sports do so for the GAA. Soccer comes in a distant second, with 17pc.

Hurling and Gaelic football are also by far the most popular sports in terms of numbers attending matches in a given year.

Almost half of Irish people attend a sporting event of some kind per year and of those, 57pc attend either a GAA football match or a hurling match. Again, soccer is a distant second, with 16pc, and rugby trails in third place with 8pc.

SOCIETY BENEFITS

Men are more likely to be involved in sports than women, and are twice as likely to be a member of a sports club.

In terms of club membership, the GAA again comes out on top - 29pc of all those who belong to a sports club belong to the GAA."

the figure of soccer club membership??? 9% miles behind.

Yes soccer has more people who "play" it from time to time, possibly during their lunchtime in a recreational manner, it's biggest strength is all you need is a ball and two jumpers, a toddler can kick a ball along the ground and enjoy itself, so it's easy to join in. in terms of actual club membership and structured playing ofa sport, volinteering to help out and attendances then there's quite a huge gap between soccer and the GAA.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on January 04, 2007, 09:08:02 PM
Quotethe figure of soccer club membership??? 9% miles behind.

I don't think membership of a club can be used to estimate the amount of numbers playing though. Membership of a GAA club is a tradition in Ireland. Much less so in soccer. I play in a soccer league of about 14 teams and I don't think any of them have official memberships per se. It's just lads getting together and playing.
Post by: dublinfella on January 04, 2007, 09:12:21 PM
Quote from: tayto on January 04, 2007, 08:57:39 PM
Ah here...

Some eegit just said

That's hilarious

i don't know about the number of clubs but if club membership figures are anything to go by then the GAA is significantly bigger then organised soccer.

From a recent article ....

"40pc of those who volunteer for sports do so for the GAA. Soccer comes in a distant second, with 17pc.

Hurling and Gaelic football are also by far the most popular sports in terms of numbers attending matches in a given year.

Almost half of Irish people attend a sporting event of some kind per year and of those, 57pc attend either a GAA football match or a hurling match. Again, soccer is a distant second, with 16pc, and rugby trails in third place with 8pc.

SOCIETY BENEFITS

Men are more likely to be involved in sports than women, and are twice as likely to be a member of a sports club.

In terms of club membership, the GAA again comes out on top - 29pc of all those who belong to a sports club belong to the GAA."

the figure of soccer club membership??? 9% miles behind.

Yes soccer has more people who "play" it from time to time, possibly during their lunchtime in a recreational manner, it's biggest strength is all you need is a ball and two jumpers, a toddler can kick a ball along the ground and enjoy itself, so it's easy to join in. in terms of actual club membership and structured playing ofa sport, volinteering to help out and attendances then there's quite a huge gap between soccer and the GAA.

tayto, within the 29% of the GAA there are footballers, hurlers, ladies footballers, camogie players, handballers and rounders. within the 20% of the FAI there is just soccer. so yes, the GAA is the biggest organisation, but soccer outnumbers each individual Gaelic game. and thats taking an unsourced article.

Quote from: deiseach on January 04, 2007, 08:45:55 PM
Quote from: dublinfella on January 04, 2007, 08:37:06 PM

Just because there has been a deterioration in relations does not mean the reasons are, well, reasonable. To make a connection between the rent on Croke Park and the funding for Thomas Davis' case is deranged.

is it? the FAI give the GAA money, the GAA give money to TD who use it to stop the FAI getting money. I have heard worse reasons for boycotts.
Post by: deiseach on January 04, 2007, 09:21:48 PM
Quote from: dublinfella on January 04, 2007, 09:12:21 PM
is it? the FAI give the GAA money, the GAA give money to TD who use it to stop the FAI getting money. I have heard worse reasons for boycotts.

It is. If people want to boycott Croke Park because of disgust at the whole Tallaght affair, fine, it's a free country. But even if Croke Park were empty, it wouldn't make one jot of difference to the case ("sorry, TD, we didn't get enough money from renting out Croker so your court case will have to go") so it would only be 'reasonable' in the same way that cutting off your nose to spite your face is reasonable. Who would be the biggest losers if such a boycott were to be successful? Hint: it wouldn't be the GAA.
Post by: dublinfella on January 04, 2007, 09:28:16 PM
Quote from: deiseach on January 04, 2007, 09:21:48 PM

It is. If people want to boycott Croke Park because of disgust at the whole Tallaght affair, fine, it's a free country. But even if Croke Park were empty, it wouldn't make one jot of difference to the case ("sorry, TD, we didn't get enough money from renting out Croker so your court case will have to go") so it would only be 'reasonable' in the same way that cutting off your nose to spite your face is reasonable. Who would be the biggest losers if such a boycott were to be successful? Hint: it wouldn't be the GAA.

Its a boycott Deiseach, its done on principle. The principle for some soccer guys is that sitting in CP is tacit agreement with the TD stance.

Anyway, im sure staunton will do more to empty seats than narked off EL heads.
Post by: deiseach on January 04, 2007, 09:43:41 PM
Quote from: dublinfella on January 04, 2007, 09:28:16 PMIts a boycott Deiseach, its done on principle. The principle for some soccer guys is that sitting in CP is tacit agreement with the TD stance.

Anyway, im sure staunton will do more to empty seats than narked off EL heads.

As principles go, it's akin to saying that people who take an aspirin (http://www.straightdope.com/classics/a5_078.html) are in tacit agreement with the Holocaust. And if the FAI are relying in EL heads to fill Croker . . .  :D
Post by: Rufus T Firefly on January 04, 2007, 09:54:05 PM
Quote from: J70 on January 04, 2007, 08:44:49 PM
Ah here...

Some eegit just said

That's hilarious

From my experience, it depends where you are. In Donegal, no. Its mostly the same people playing and watching both sports.

I also lived for many years on the south side of Dublin. Most of the lads I knew either played or watched soccer or both, but had little interest in GAA. I never got involved in any GAA club in Dublin, but I still met a fairly representative cross-section of Dublin life through college and work. Never saw much actual antipathy though.

Fair point about the number of teams per club. There are some massive soccer clubs though too.

Sorry - should have added J70 that many of the soccer clubs, particularly those pub based clubs with one team, would be made up of GAA players and there would be little or no contest as to where their loyalties lie, i.e. GAA.
Post by: Gnevin on January 05, 2007, 12:37:54 AM
Wiki says it all

The GAA is the largest amateur sports association in Ireland. It has more than 2,500 member clubs and runs about 500 grounds throughout the country. [4] The Gaelic Games of hurling and football are also the most popular spectator sports in Ireland ,1,962,769 people attended GAA games in 2003 [5]

Post by: dublinfella on January 05, 2007, 01:03:03 AM
Quote from: Gnevin on January 05, 2007, 12:37:54 AM
Wiki says it all

The GAA is the largest amateur sports association in Ireland. It has more than 2,500 member clubs and runs about 500 grounds throughout the country. [4] The Gaelic Games of hurling and football are also the most popular spectator sports in Ireland ,1,962,769 people attended GAA games in 2003 [5]

I dont think anyone doubted any of that. We are talking about participation, not comparing the GAA to other amatuer sports, whatever other ones there are.
Post by: Gnevin on January 05, 2007, 02:02:42 AM
Quote from: dublinfella on January 05, 2007, 01:03:03 AM
Quote from: Gnevin on January 05, 2007, 12:37:54 AM
Wiki says it all

I dont think anyone doubted any of that. We are talking about participation, not comparing the GAA to other amateur sports, whatever other ones there are.

Its also the largest sporting association in Ireland .
What does participation mean ? Kids playing ball on the street? Me and my friends playing 5 a side in tallaght every couple of months ?
Sports like GAA and Rugby arent really pick up games 
Post by: magpie seanie on January 05, 2007, 09:37:00 AM
I think its a laugh them quoting shit like "largest participation sport in the country". It shows how big the chip on their shoulder is. They're so needy!

If they want to solve it for once and for all why not switch to summer soccer for all leagues and we'd see what would happen.

I also hope that as many soccer fans as possible boycott Croker as it would mean a greater % cash take for the GAA. Our minimum fee is guaranteed!
Post by: realredhandfan on January 05, 2007, 09:55:41 AM
There is a huge diffrence in what constitutes a soccor club and a GAA club, In some peoples  Humble Opinion what can be called a soccor club is a gatherup with no insurance, which gets free beer from the local pub to wear their jerseys and plays the beautiful game on a ratespayer bought and maintained pitch, shared between themselves and a few local dog walkers.  The GAA club challenges everyone n their community to contribute not just those playing a game.  They own and service their ground. It also subscibes to nationalistic ideals which is importanat in this day and age of rampant Southern wannabee loyalist / Europains.   I believe that the underlying guilt complex of many who never contributed diddly squat to anything but themselves is one of the reason why they criticise the GAA so highly.  They unfortunately often become nothing but a statistic who will live and die in a community that dosent love them/ maybe unfortunately dosent know them, except for their house, its the life of a kind of car criminal without the car crime.  To compare the grass roots of the GAA and the Grass roots of the association football is as wrong an action as Tess Daly and Vernon Kay ie on so many different levels.     
Post by: thewobbler on January 05, 2007, 09:58:11 AM
There's nothing like a thread such as this to show how insecure so many Gaels are about their sports.

I couldn't give a damn if soccer is the highest participatory sport in Ireland, nor could I give a damn if there are more soccer clubs than GAA. I prefer Gaelic football, pure and simple, and that's where I'm going to spend my time.
Post by: realredhandfan on January 05, 2007, 10:05:29 AM
I agree wobbler and thats your right, but again you are comparing 2 games at your level.  I subscribe to more of the deal, ie the nationalist outlook, the community building etc.  but hell at the end of the day I also think the games are the best in the world, its not paranoia its about counteracting the false perceptions.
Post by: dubnut on January 05, 2007, 10:08:33 AM
"but a lot of very resonable soccer guys are taking about boycotting soccer in CP over it"

Bull shite !!!
They are already making excuses for not filling Croke Park as the team are shite at the mo, thats all.
Post by: haze on January 05, 2007, 10:31:06 AM
at work 2 years ago, the day after the Leinster final between Laois and Dublin, i asked the lads i was having lunch with whether they were at the game... It was a simple enough question, since i thought 75% of Laois people had emigrated up to Dublin for the day. The response i got shows the while some GAA followers do have a serious dislike for soccer, it is nothing compared to that of many an Irish soccer follower.

They simply laughed at the prospect of watching "30 amateur footballers run aroung a field without an ounce of skill" and one of them said if they wanted to see real sport profesionals they would go to Old Trafford.. maybe i was sheltered in secondary school but i'd never heard anyone propose something so off the wall and farcical before. After attempting to defend the game i soon realised it was a lost cause. The four of them just had such an unadultrated hatred for everything the GAA stood.

What summed it up was when they described my attitude as being typical of the great majority of gaa supporters, "goes to mass every Sunday, votes Fianna Fai and will end up building a house beside the parents because of some sad loyalty to the local club"

What i think is that a certain % of soccer followers much more than hating the game of football, just hate what it stands for or more importantly what they think it stands for...

Post by: Star Spangler on January 05, 2007, 10:37:05 AM
Interesting site.  It still surprises me to see how some soccer supporters feel so inferior to the GAA.  "The lady doth protest too much..."
Post by: Bogball XV on January 05, 2007, 12:04:18 PM
Do the gaa give money to TD?  Maybe that's how it works in Dublin, but afaik virtually every other club in the country is self funded, okay, they may get capital grants infrequently from the gaa, but if they were involved in legal action they would be funding that themselves - does your club get direct financial assistance Dublinfella?
I dont think anyone doubted any of that. We are talking about participation, not comparing the GAA to other amatuer sports, whatever other ones there are.
Is every sport not amateur in this country, I know when I play soccer (whilst, yeah I could have went pro, but it would have contradicted my amateur ethos), I do so at an amateur level, as i suspect do the majority of soccer participants in the country.
Post by: Loughers on January 05, 2007, 12:48:40 PM
What happens if, during one of the soccer matches at Croke park, there's anti-GAA chants from some of the crowd?  I think it's a distinct possibility.  Should the offenders be f*cked out?
Post by: dublinfella on January 06, 2007, 03:04:19 PM
Quote from: realredhandfan on January 05, 2007, 09:55:41 AM
There is a huge diffrence in what constitutes a soccor club and a GAA club, In some peoples  Humble Opinion what can be called a soccor club is a gatherup with no insurance, which gets free beer from the local pub to wear their jerseys and plays the beautiful game on a ratespayer bought and maintained pitch, shared between themselves and a few local dog walkers.  The GAA club challenges everyone n their community to contribute not just those playing a game.  They own and service their ground. It also subscibes to nationalistic ideals which is importanat in this day and age of rampant Southern wannabee loyalist / Europains.   I believe that the underlying guilt complex of many who never contributed diddly squat to anything but themselves is one of the reason why they criticise the GAA so highly.  They unfortunately often become nothing but a statistic who will live and die in a community that dosent love them/ maybe unfortunately dosent know them, except for their house, its the life of a kind of car criminal without the car crime.  To compare the grass roots of the GAA and the Grass roots of the association football is as wrong an action as Tess Daly and Vernon Kay ie on so many different levels.     

Its that kind of jingoistc nonsense that the foot.ie brigade are referring to. If you follow other sports you are less Irish?
Post by: dublinfella on January 06, 2007, 03:07:01 PM
Quote from: Bogball XV on January 05, 2007, 12:04:18 PM
Do the gaa give money to TD?  Maybe that's how it works in Dublin, but afaik virtually every other club in the country is self funded, okay, they may get capital grants infrequently from the gaa, but if they were involved in legal action they would be funding that themselves - does your club get direct financial assistance Dublinfella?
Is every sport not amateur in this country, I know when I play soccer (whilst, yeah I could have went pro, but it would have contradicted my amateur ethos), I do so at an amateur level, as i suspect do the majority of soccer participants in the country.

I was referring to the legal challenge which is already into the 6 figures. TD are getting CP financial help here.

You know exactly what I mean re amateurism. The GAA is the only sport that in theory no-one gets paid. Players and participants in soccer, Rugby, horses, athletics, golf etc can earn a crust playing their game.
Post by: Bogball XV on January 06, 2007, 05:31:37 PM
Quote from: dublinfella on January 06, 2007, 03:07:01 PM
Quote from: Bogball XV on January 05, 2007, 12:04:18 PM
I was referring to the legal challenge which is already into the 6 figures. TD are getting CP financial help here.

Any back up to that?  I knew that's what you were referring to, but I still cannot see CP giving any money to a club for a legal challenge
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on January 06, 2007, 08:12:55 PM
Funny enough I've taken to looking at foot.ie at lot at me lunchtimes (Gaaboard is blocked off at work). Its a decent site and the lads are very passionate about their sport. I've a lot of time for the Eircom League, went to a few Derry games this season and had a great time so will probably become a more regular activity. But the only thing that really gets to me about that site is the constant hatred directed to GAA. Utterly small minds for many of them.