GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Bud Wiser on November 05, 2007, 09:34:37 AM

Title: Mick O'Dwyer
Post by: Bud Wiser on November 05, 2007, 09:34:37 AM
The cute hoor, the wily ould Micko, the rougeish Micko, the Maestro, etc, etc, all attributes to Micko The Great.  But was he more than that? Was he a traitor to Laois to be sitting in the K Club (we choose the venue because if anyone saw us they would think we were playing golf) discussing leaving Laois and going to manage the Dubs while at the same time he was in the middle of the season with us?  What kind of manager would sit down and discuss leaving the county he was managing to jump camp and talk with the executive members of a county he was going to be playing in a provincial final a few weeks later?
Title: Re: Mick O'Dwyer
Post by: Bord na Mona man on November 05, 2007, 09:50:19 AM
You forgot the word "legendary" which must be used when mentioning Micko.
Sure he was only being a rogue and a cute hoor.
The wily Micko leading the Dubs up the garden path, beating them at the mind games etc.

Post by: mannix on November 05, 2007, 10:10:09 AM
Fair enough but the players as much as told him they did not believe in him.I think laois could reach a semi or a final if they all rowed together.When you have an u 21 manager telling you that you cannot have his stars you know that the county is split and that you are not going to contend with an attitude like that.
Post by: Star Spangler on November 05, 2007, 03:27:26 PM
Imho Micko held Laois back just when they were in their best position to make a breakthrough.  The team he had 5 or 6 years ago should have had at least one All Ireland and they would have if they had been using modern coaching techniques.
Post by: Bord na Mona man on November 05, 2007, 03:51:05 PM
Quote from: Star Spangler on November 05, 2007, 03:27:26 PM
Imho Micko held Laois back just when they were in their best position to make a breakthrough.  The team he had 5 or 6 years ago should have had at least one All Ireland and they would have if they had been using modern coaching techniques.
Given that they lost to Meath by 11 points the year before he took over, Micko did a good job in getting a Leinster out of them a year later.
I don't think there was much more in the team though.
Post by: Gnevin on November 05, 2007, 03:53:41 PM
It's one thing give a Culchie the Dublin job but a Kerry man. I don't think that was ever going to happen .
Post by: Tankie on November 05, 2007, 03:55:29 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on November 05, 2007, 03:53:41 PM
It's one thing give a Culchie the Dublin job but a Kerry man. I don't think that was ever going to happen .

And i think Lyons made sure that a culchie wont get in again no matter how long he's living or involved in Dublin football.
Post by: orangeman on November 05, 2007, 03:57:03 PM
Maybe the mileage allowance wasn't big enough ?
Post by: screenexile on November 05, 2007, 03:59:23 PM
Quote from: Tankie on November 05, 2007, 03:55:29 PM

And i think Lyons made sure that a culchie wont get in again no matter how long he's living or involved in Dublin football.

Just shows you how narrow minded the Dubs are... If Micko won ye an All Ireland there wouldn't be too may problems with him being a Culchie or him being from Kerry and in my opinion Micko would have done it for you as he would have cultivated a bit of creativity and imagination from a talented Dublin side rather than the carefully methodical, rigid system of football that would seem to have hampered them in recent seasons!
Post by: Tankie on November 05, 2007, 04:03:51 PM
Quote from: screenexile on November 05, 2007, 03:59:23 PM

Just shows you how narrow minded the Dubs are... If Micko won ye an All Ireland there wouldn't be too may problems with him being a Culchie or him being from Kerry and in my opinion Micko would have done it for you as he would have cultivated a bit of creativity and imagination from a talented Dublin side rather than the carefully methodical, rigid system of football that would seem to have hampered them in recent seasons!

Yes Micko the man who destroyed Laois if you ask me, maybe he would have sent them out to do a marathon to make sure they were fit.

Dublin are too talented for the likes of Micko "run them into the Ground" O'Dwyer!!!!!
Post by: The Real Laoislad on November 05, 2007, 04:11:07 PM
How did he destroy Laois Tankie? We hadn't won a Leinster in 57 years until he came along and with a bit more luck probably should have won 3 in a row
Maybe he stayed a year too long with us but i'll be forever gratefull with what he done for us.
Post by: Gnevin on November 05, 2007, 04:16:07 PM
Quote from: screenexile on November 05, 2007, 03:59:23 PM

This is the Micko , who's only talent now seems to be to run the bollox out of teams during the winter and get them super fit? Laois never looked overly creative or imaginative under him , just fit. Kildare where the same.
Post by: Tankie on November 05, 2007, 04:19:04 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on November 05, 2007, 04:11:07 PM
How did he destroy Laois Tankie? We hadn't won a Leinster in 57 years until he came along and with a bit more luck probably should have won 3 in a row
Maybe he stayed a year too long with us but i'll be forever gratefull with what he done for us.

I think Laois had alot of talented players and Micko just ran the fock out of them, i think if you had of had a more tactically minded manager you could have done more. Look are Dublin 3 in a row with leinster, it really doesnt mean much at this stage as its all about the big prize.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on November 05, 2007, 04:27:05 PM
Quote from: Tankie on November 05, 2007, 04:19:04 PM

I think Laois had alot of talented players and Micko just ran the fock out of them, i think if you had of had a more tactically minded manager you could have done more. Look are Dublin 3 in a row with leinster, it really doesnt mean much at this stage as its all about the big prize.

Laois had a lot of talented players under Micko i know but looking back on it now i don't think they were as good as we thought and i think he got the best out of what he had.There was so much media attention on Laois at the time because of O'Dwyer and i think a lot of people started believing what was being wrote in the papers about them and maybe jumped on the bandwagon a bit,I think if im been honest we were never close to winning an All Ireland with the players we had and Leinster was about as much as we could have hoped for and he delivered that and maybe Leinsters mean nothing to you but when you come from a county like Laois they mean everything
Post by: Star Spangler on November 05, 2007, 04:31:32 PM

I think this shows the reason he got away with it in Laois.  One Leinster was the height of the supporters expectation when in reality they had the ability to achieve so much  more.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on November 05, 2007, 04:34:38 PM
Quote from: Star Spangler on November 05, 2007, 04:31:32 PM

I think this shows the reason he got away with it in Laois.  One Leinster was the height of the supporters expectation when in reality they had the ability to achieve so much  more.

I don't think  they did have the abilty to acheive more to be honest..I think the next batch of U/21s and minors are far more talented and bigger physically..
Once they don't all go downunder we should be ok in a few years time
Post by: Gnevin on November 05, 2007, 04:36:51 PM
Quote from: Star Spangler on November 05, 2007, 04:31:32 PM

I have to agree in 05 Laois took Dublin to a point by 06 they where blown out of the water . The teams didn't really change Dublin's tactics and skill levels did . One Leinster is/was a poor return for this team
Post by: Star Spangler on November 05, 2007, 04:39:28 PM
I wouldn't even give him credit for the one Leinster he got.  It was won at a time when there was fcuk all else in Leinster.
Post by: Tankie on November 05, 2007, 04:57:15 PM
Quote from: Star Spangler on November 05, 2007, 04:39:28 PM
I wouldn't even give him credit for the one Leinster he got.  It was won at a time when there was fcuk all else in Leinster.

totally agree with that but i just didnt want to be the one to say it. its like Dublin at the moment, if we don't walk through leinster every yeaqr its a bad showing on our behalf as the standard is stil shocking other than Dublin.

Micko has done alot for the organisation but he aint all he's cracked up to be in the modern game.
Post by: darbyo on November 05, 2007, 05:09:29 PM
Micko gets an excessively hard time around here. He has given his life to the GAA and is one of the few GAA personalities that would be readily recognised by people with little interest in the games. He isn't a brilliant coach IMO but he brings that X-factor wherever he goes and this energises the GAA in that county, which can only be a good thing. According to some lads unless you cut the grass at your local club in the dead of night so nobody knows who you are and thus avoid getting any recognition your not subscribibg to the ideals of the GAA and aren't a 'true' GAA man.
Post by: Gnevin on November 05, 2007, 05:38:14 PM
Quote from: darbyo on November 05, 2007, 05:09:29 PM
Micko gets an excessively hard time around here. He has given his life to the GAA and is one of the few GAA personalities that would be readily recognised by people with little interest in the games. He isn't a brilliant coach IMO but he brings that X-factor wherever he goes and this energises the GAA in that county, which can only be a good thing. According to some lads unless you cut the grass at your local club in the dead of night so nobody knows who you are and thus avoid getting any recognition your not subscribibg to the ideals of the GAA and aren't a 'true' GAA man.
What the hell are you talking about? Who said he wasn't a true gaa man? This post has nothing to do with the rest of this thread
Post by: magpie seanie on November 05, 2007, 05:47:23 PM
QuoteHe has given his life to the GAA

Micko the martyr! Take the poor man down off the cross! He has been well looked after for his donation of his life as you put it, unlike loads of other folk.

His acheivements with the best group of players ever assembled together at one time are significant in that he managed to keep them going and got the best out of them. I feel that the average punter in the street in Kildare, Laois (and maybe even Wicklow) will think he did great work and did well to win a Leinster (or TM Cup) with their respective counties. I'd reject that notion when it comes to Kildare and especially Laois while the jury is still out on Wicklow.

There's no doubt the media hype and his presence does lift the boats in the counties he goes to. He can only take teams so far though in the modern game. Luckily for his legend, he can take them as far as the great unwashed deem acceptable so the legend lives on....
Post by: tyssam5 on November 05, 2007, 06:55:20 PM
I see he was still whinging about Seamus Darby's goal 25 odd years ago, looked at on youtube, didn't see much of a foul myself.
Post by: Aghdavoyle on November 05, 2007, 08:19:29 PM

has there ever been a man who's recieved more under the table cash from the gaa than micko?
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 05, 2007, 08:22:29 PM
I cant stand him.
Post by: glenullinabu on November 05, 2007, 08:24:21 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on November 05, 2007, 04:27:05 PM
Quote from: Tankie on November 05, 2007, 04:19:04 PM

i agree with this post - Derry are a county full of talented minors with a haul of medals but we couldnt translate it until Mr Coleman came along - his detractors said he wasnt that good but what have we done since?  micko did pretty well & at his age you cant blame him for trying to experience working with diff players - i feel he left when he knew he couldnt bring them on any more

Laois had a lot of talented players under Micko i know but looking back on it now i don't think they were as good as we thought and i think he got the best out of what he had.There was so much media attention on Laois at the time because of O'Dwyer and i think a lot of people started believing what was being wrote in the papers about them and maybe jumped on the bandwagon a bit,I think if im been honest we were never close to winning an All Ireland with the players we had and Leinster was about as much as we could have hoped for and he delivered that and maybe Leinsters mean nothing to you but when you come from a county like Laois they mean everything
Post by: Kerry Mike on November 05, 2007, 09:16:36 PM
He's a legend in my mind for what he has achieved in Kerry as a player and a manager. Being directly involved in 12 of our 35 All Ireland Wins.

And he has brought success however limited in peoples eyes to his 3 adopted Leinster counties, does anyone honestly think Kildare or Laois or Wicklow would have won anything without him. Of course he has not done it for the love of those counties, in the same way that Kieran McGeeney is not in Kildare for the love of Kildare football, Micko is and will remain a proud Kerry man till the day he dies but he has a deep love of the game of football.

And whatever rewards he has received be it under or above the table so be it, nearly every manager and backroom member involved in inter county football or hurling are pulling something out of it nowadays, For anyone who has ever driven from deepest South Kerry to the midlands or Wicklow will know what a hacking drive it is at the best of times and whatever mileage he gets is deserved, but can you put a price on what it meant for Laois to win a pair of Leinster's or for Kildare to come within a few scores of winning an All Ireland.

Of course his managerial skills may not be as current or up to the level of other managers with their stats and tactics and hairdressers manicurists, dieticians, and 100 other assorted backroom team members, but there are a few things Micko will bring to a group of players, fitness, dedication, discipline but must importantly self belief, and believe me I know, I am lucky enough to have played in a team coached by Micko and he helped us win a County U21 title many moons ago.

He is a rogue and a character and he knows how to play the media for his own good but one of the most decent fellows you could meet away for the game and he lends his name to many fundraising events for charity.

So Micko feck the begrudgers, especially the Jackeens who have always had it in for him since he kicked their fabled Heffo's Army around Croke Park in 75,79,79,84 & 85.

Micko has had a few health scares over the last years and his days of walking the sidelines of Ireland with a rolled up program clenched in his grasp may be limited, we should be proud of people like Micko who have given their all to our great association, there are many more like him in every club in the country whose whole lives revolves around football or hurling, we all know them and admire them and probably say to ourselves "I'd love to do that but I can't find the time", but they are not usually known outside their own areas, but just because Micko has done it at a higher level for such a long period of time should not be a reason to belittle or slag off his achievements and commitment to the GAA.
Post by: stephenite on November 05, 2007, 10:17:31 PM
Quote from: Aghdavoyle on November 05, 2007, 08:19:29 PM

has there ever been a man who's recieved more under the table cash from the gaa than micko?

Lot's of rumours - but I've never seen anyone admit to paying him the huge amounts he has supposed to have received - benefit of the doubt in my mind
Post by: darbyo on November 05, 2007, 10:26:14 PM
QuoteWhat the hell are you talking about? Who said he wasn't a true gaa man? This post has nothing to do with the rest of this thread

The title of this thread is 'Mick O'Dwyer', I made a comment about the man and the general attitude to him by many on this board, so apologies if I gave my opinion on the man rather than comment on his achievements with Laois or his suitability for the Dublin job. In the future I'll PM you my thoughts on a topic before posting them on the board and you can tell me if it they keep to your idea of what should be discussed.
Post by: orangeman on November 05, 2007, 10:37:41 PM
Micko said in y'days Indo that he has the tax clearance letter to prove that he received NO under the county money !!

Do you not remember the congress a few years ago ( well quite a few years ago now ) when there was a sub committee set up to look into under the table money being paid to managers ? It reported back that not only could they not find any under the table money - but they couldn't find the tables either !!!!!!!!!
Post by: Jinxy on November 05, 2007, 10:38:07 PM
If himself and Sean Kelly faced off in a celebrity deathmatch I'm not sure who I'd be up for.
Post by: Frank Casey on November 05, 2007, 10:41:15 PM
There's and old farmers saying about upstarts. It goes "when you've ploughed what I've harrowed". Now alot of you urbanites wont know what either a plough or a harrow is. But when any of you can point to a dozen All Irelands, as player and coach, and f*** knows how may provincial titles with 3 different counties, feel free to to point out his faults.
Post by: Jinxy on November 05, 2007, 10:46:37 PM
And point out Pat Spillanes inadequacies as an analyst while you're at it! If you dare! (umpteen all stars, all-ireland medals and did ok in the superstars too).
Post by: Kerry Mike on November 05, 2007, 10:46:43 PM
Is it just a Kerry thing you have Jinky?

ahhhh the memories of 78,79,84, 85, 01, 04 and 07, jaysus or "yerra" as we say in the Kingdom, you could write a book about the 7 in a row Kerry batings of the Jackeens. 'tis getting embarrassing now.
Post by: Frank Casey on November 05, 2007, 10:51:49 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on November 05, 2007, 10:46:37 PM
And point out Pat Spillanes inadequacies as an analyst while you're at it! If you dare! (umpteen all stars, all-ireland medals and did ok in the superstars too).

I feel daring. He writes quite an interesting column in the Sunday World as well. I used to buy it just for Con Houlihan (another genius from the Kingdom) but now a find my self drawn firstly to Spillanes prose.
Post by: ross matt on November 05, 2007, 10:55:24 PM
I agree 100% with Seanie. Micko's managerial achievements with Kerry are a credit to him but they have to be viewed in perspective. They came at a time when (except for Dublin) most counties had'nt really bought in to the whole fitness concept and he had at his disposal a bunch of incredibly talented physically strong bunch of players.

But does Kerry Mike actually believe he would have turned around the present Kerry squads fortunes in the manner that Jack O'Connor did? There is only so far you can take sentiment when making objective analysis. Micko was a fine player and his lengthy career both as a player and manager is exceptional. But let's not make him a martyr as Seanie said. It was his choice to put the time in and he definitely benefited in terms of profile and profit.

I cant believe some Laois posters here are happy with one Leinster under his management. With the quality of AI winning underage players that they had ? And then he openly admits to negotiating with Dublin whilst still in charge of them!!!  Such utter bullshit from him too about Gerry Loftus and is backward attitude to physical training. Laps...laps....laps...FFS!
And whats so great about his 2 Leinsters with Kildare? How long did it take? 10 seasons? What other intercounty manager would be given that amount of time?

I like the way he assumes the Dublin players wouldnt have wanted him to take over because he was a Kerryman. Does the likes of Keaney, Ryan, Whelan etc give a toss about his jousts with Heffo in the 70s and 80s? Its painfully more likely that they didnt want him because they would'nt have considered him up to the job.

Micko is a driven man in business and sport and successful in both but he gets far too much media attention for moderate achievements since 1986. He welcomes that attention though and yesterdays indo article to me just proved his book was going to be full of more of that self serving crap. His time has come and gone and the GAA world has moved on since Micko was a force to be reckoned with. So should the media.

Post by: Jinxy on November 05, 2007, 10:57:58 PM
Quote from: Kerry Mike on November 05, 2007, 10:46:43 PM
Is it just a Kerry thing you have Jinky?

ahhhh the memories of 78,79,84, 85, 01, 04 and 07, jaysus or "yerra" as we say in the Kingdom, you could write a book about the 7 in a row Kerry batings of the Jackeens. 'tis getting embarrassing now.

Nah, I just think this craic of someone being exempt from criticism because they have a heap of medals in their arse pocket is a bit much. Pat Spillane was just the first person that came to mind (Kerry folk seem to have more medals than most). Actually, given my opinions on Sean Kelly, Micko and Pat I could see how it would look like I'm extremely anti-Kerry! Yerra I'm not though.
Post by: stephenite on November 05, 2007, 11:00:10 PM
Quote from: ross matt on November 05, 2007, 10:55:24 PM
It was his choice to put the time in and he definitely benefited in terms of profile and profit.

Profile, yes of course.

Profit - until someone can prove it I think it's unfair for others to castigate the man.
Post by: darbyo on November 05, 2007, 11:05:49 PM
QuoteAnd whats so great about his 2 Leinsters with Kildare? How long did it take? 10 seasons? What other intercounty manager would be given that amount of time?

Considering what they achieved before and since he arrived I think his achievements are fairly noteable. It's easy to say that he won so many AI's with Kerry because of the players and lack of real competition (which is true) but keeping together such a talented bunch and adding some great additions was a magnificent achievement. In addition a Micko coached team is generally attractive to watch and a bit of hype is great for the championship and the game.
Post by: ross matt on November 05, 2007, 11:07:33 PM
Stephenite that's politically correct bullshit and you know it. Do you honestly think he put up all those years of high mileage because "he loves driving"?  Incidentally I have no major issue with him being re-imbursed for his time (within reason) but less of this nonsense about how "he gave his life to the GAA" etc..
Post by: ross matt on November 05, 2007, 11:12:34 PM
I did give him due credit for his achievements with Kerry Darbyo and they were attractive to watch but he did have awesome talent at his disposal. You're correct in saying Kildare didnt do much before or since his arrival but do you not also agree that 10 seasons (2 stints) with them was more than enough time to achieve this & would the likes of Jack O'Connor, Micky Harte, Joe Kernan etc not have achieved alot more with them had they been given this much time? Did Kildare not spend a huge amount of money in achieving this?
Post by: stephenite on November 05, 2007, 11:24:49 PM
Quote from: ross matt on November 05, 2007, 11:07:33 PM
Stephenite that's politically correct bullshit and you know it. Do you honestly think he put up all those years of high mileage because "he loves driving"?  Incidentally I have no major issue with him being re-imbursed for his time (within reason) but less of this nonsense about how "he gave his life to the GAA" etc..

Where did I mention anything about him giving his life to the GAA, stop putting words in my mouth that I had no intention of saying,

You have no idea what Micko received over the years, neither do I. I don't begrudge him a penny of anything he received over the years, legitimate or not. There are plenty of intercounty managers that have received big wads of cash for achieving far less than this man has over the years, but I don't see anyone rushing to condemn them. The hypocrisy
Post by: darbyo on November 05, 2007, 11:26:14 PM
QuoteYou're correct in saying Kildare didnt do much before or since his arrival but do you not also agree that 10 seasons (2 stints) with them was more than enough time to achieve this

Yes, but any manager of a team might have to wait for a team to develop before getting success with them. And then continued success is dependent on more than the managers ability, luck, injuries, the quality of opponents etc. all play a part.

Quotewould the likes of Jack O'Connor, Micky Harte, Joe Kernan etc not have achieved alot more with them had they been given this much time?

Maybe, maybe not, Tyrone, Kerry and Armagh would all have won less in the pre-back door era and Micko's early stint with Kildare was during the old system wasn't it?
QuoteDid Kildare not spend a huge amount of money in achieving this?

Probably, but they made a nice bit also.
Post by: ross matt on November 05, 2007, 11:41:58 PM
Come down off the high horse Stephenite (and whatever else you're on). Nobody is putting words in your mouth FFS.

I was'nt referring to you when I said "giving his life to the GAA". Read the earlier posts and the gist of yesterdays excerpts from his book not to mention the widespread plaudits on an almost daily basis from the indo over the last week and you''ll see what I was talking about. 

I also made it clear I did'nt begrudge him reasonable re-imbursement for his mileage etc but I think you're being deliberately naive about it and overall very defensive and sensitive about the man. Seems to be common reaction when people level criticism at Micko. Definitely a sacred cow.
Post by: Gnevin on November 05, 2007, 11:48:46 PM
Quote from: Kerry Mike on November 05, 2007, 09:16:36 PM
around Croke Park in 75,79,79,84 & 85.

74,76,76,83, Special honorary mention for Offaly in 82
Post by: stephenite on November 05, 2007, 11:52:46 PM
Quote from: ross matt on November 05, 2007, 11:41:58 PM
Come down off the high horse Stephenite (and whatever else you're on). Nobody is putting words in your mouth FFS.

I was'nt referring to you when I said "giving his life to the GAA". Read the earlier posts and the gist of yesterdays excerpts from his book not to mention the widespread plaudits on an almost daily basis from the indo over the last week and you''ll see what I was talking about. 

I also made it clear I did'nt begrudge him reasonable re-imbursement for his mileage etc but I think you're being deliberately naive about it and overall very defensive and sensitive about the man. Seems to be common reaction when people level criticism at Micko. Definitely a sacred cow.

I'm not on a high anything Matt - you started a sentence with my name and finished it with the comment asking for less of the nonsense about givinghis life to the GAA - how else was I take it but assume it was directed at me?

I'm not being overly defensive of the man - I cannot understand how a man who has achieved what he has in the game is the subject of such vitriol by people I know to be good solid GAA men. The only conclusion I can draw is that it is because of 'rumours' regarding the payments he is alleged to have received.
I think this is unfair as 1) There is nothing to substantiate these rumours and 2) There are a host of other managers who have allegedly received as much if not more for far less achievement and I'm amazed why this is never mentioned.

Some people seem to see him as a journeyman who will travel anywhere for the money - but ne'er a mention of his protege Pawdee and several other high profile managers who have done the rounds of various counties
Post by: mannix on November 06, 2007, 10:04:15 AM
Micko is definetly going where the money is.Do you really think he is in wicklow because he liked Glenroe?
Post by: heffo on November 06, 2007, 10:08:32 AM
Quote from: stephenite on November 05, 2007, 11:24:49 PM
Quote from: ross matt on November 05, 2007, 11:07:33 PM
Stephenite that's politically correct bullshit and you know it. Do you honestly think he put up all those years of high mileage because "he loves driving"?  Incidentally I have no major issue with him being re-imbursed for his time (within reason) but less of this nonsense about how "he gave his life to the GAA" etc..

Where did I mention anything about him giving his life to the GAA, stop putting words in my mouth that I had no intention of saying,

You have no idea what Micko received over the years, neither do I.

I'm a Dublin county board officer and I know how many figures annually he was looking for.

He has a keen sense of what he's worth annually.
Post by: his holiness nb on November 06, 2007, 10:25:39 AM
Quote from: heffo on November 06, 2007, 10:08:32 AM

I'm a Dublin county board officer and I know how many figures annually he was looking for.

Ah come on, your not.  ;)
Post by: heffo on November 06, 2007, 10:32:17 AM
Quote from: his holiness nb on November 06, 2007, 10:25:39 AM
Quote from: heffo on November 06, 2007, 10:08:32 AM

Ah come on, your not.  ;)

Unfortunatly, I am.

I'm not gonna field any complaints about fixtures or anything else though!
Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on November 06, 2007, 11:05:54 AM
I personally would have been delighted to have Micko in charge of Dublin - if nothing else he would have instilled a confidence in the Dublin players which is missing and is probably our biggest letdown...

With regards to Kildare compare before and after he was there and see how well he did....the same with Laois (who were seriously overrated becuase they had won underage medals - the problem was they had won them with small light teams which weren't suited to senior football)...

So what if he got some money out of it but then again how many club managers get paid these days??? Harte/Kernan/O'Connor etc have got lucky in that they have been around in the era of the backdoor system - would be interesting to see what would have happened if the backdoor didn't exist
Post by: Bensars on November 06, 2007, 11:17:34 AM
Quote from: DUBSFORSAM1 on November 06, 2007, 11:05:54 AM
I personally would have been delighted to have Micko in charge of Dublin - if nothing else he would have instilled a confidence in the Dublin players which is missing and is probably our biggest letdown...

With regards to Kildare compare before and after he was there and see how well he did....the same with Laois (who were seriously overrated becuase they had won underage medals - the problem was they had won them with small light teams which weren't suited to senior football)...

So what if he got some money out of it but then again how many club managers get paid these days??? Harte/Kernan/O'Connor etc have got lucky in that they have been around in the era of the backdoor system - would be interesting to see what would have happened if the backdoor didn't exist

Yet another clinker.

2002 Armagh . Ulster champions. All Ireland Campions.  Managed by Kernan
2003 Tyrone . Ulster champions. All Ireland Campions.  Managed by Harte

Kerry, different league altogether. Countless all irelands as munster champions

Post by: his holiness nb on November 06, 2007, 11:24:15 AM
Quote from: Bensars on November 06, 2007, 11:17:34 AM

Or to put it another way, Tyrone won half of all their all Irelands through the back door system, 2005 being the difference maker between being a great team and a one season wonder.

Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on November 06, 2007, 11:32:24 AM
Bensars - If there was no backdoor system and Tyrone regularly were being knocked out in Ulster would Harte still be getting recognised as being such a great manager???
Kernan 1 All-Ireland out of how many attempts?????

With the backdoor system in place teams could take a totally different approach to matches as they knew they had a 2nd chance which didn't exist previously....

Remember as most people agree Kernan had the best Armagh panel of all time and Harte the best Tyrone panel available....Once Harte lost a couple of players to injury he wasn't able to compensate so it was the players more than the manager who were the reason for success....

Post by: Gnevin on November 06, 2007, 01:45:07 PM
Quote from: DUBSFORSAM1 on November 06, 2007, 11:32:24 AM
Bensars - If there was no backdoor system and Tyrone regularly were being knocked out in Ulster would Harte still be getting recognised as being such a great manager???

With the backdoor system in place teams could take a totally different approach to matches as they knew they had a 2nd chance which didn't exist previously....

Remember as most people agree Kernan had the best Armagh panel of all time and Harte the best Tyrone panel available....Once Harte lost a couple of players to injury he wasn't able to compensate so it was the players more than the manager who were the reason for success....

You talking like Tyrone are dead and buried . Their is a other All-Ireland in that team yet
Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on November 06, 2007, 02:53:00 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on November 06, 2007, 01:45:07 PM
Quote from: DUBSFORSAM1 on November 06, 2007, 11:32:24 AM

Not talking as if they are dead and buried but for them to win another AI they need  - McGuigan back fully fit and as good as he was, O'Neill back fully fit and as good as he was, Dooher fully fit and as good as he was, Cavanagh/Gormley to stay fully fit, a new full back and possibly 2 new midfielders (Cavanagh should be half forward for Tyrone)
You talking like Tyrone are dead and buried . Their is a other All-Ireland in that team yet
Post by: Bensars on November 06, 2007, 03:03:53 PM
I thought this thread was about Mick o Dywer. The odd comparison is expected to other managers etc   ???? :-\

Post by: his holiness nb on November 06, 2007, 03:07:47 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on November 06, 2007, 01:45:07 PM

No theres not  :D
Post by: tyssam5 on November 06, 2007, 10:09:33 PM
Quote from: his holiness nb on November 06, 2007, 11:24:15 AM
Quote from: Bensars on November 06, 2007, 11:17:34 AM

Or to put it another way, Tyrone won half of all their all Irelands through the back door system, 2005 being the difference maker between being a great team and a one season wonder.

Works both ways, this year Tyrone won Ulster and were beaten by a 'back-door' team. In general I would agree that it gives the best team a better chance of winning though.
Post by: JOEPPT on November 07, 2007, 03:10:48 PM
Read a bit of it in Sunday papers. Great article. He has his views on most things and is at a stage of his life that he can say what he likes. Like all the others is also looking for the Xmas book market
Title: Mick O'Dwyer
Post by: 5 Sams on November 07, 2007, 03:54:10 PM
Quote from: JOEPPT on November 07, 2007, 03:10:48 PM
Read a bit of it in Sunday papers. Great article. He has his views on most things and is at a stage of his life that he can say what he likes. Like all the others is also looking for the Xmas book market

I read those excerpts as well.....I got the impression that he was backing the GPA "money for the players" campaign because if he wasnt seen to be doing that he would be the ultimate hypocrite.
Post by: The Lord of Luuuvre on November 07, 2007, 04:07:45 PM
The Lord of Luuuvre will not be purchasing this book.

The Lord of Luuuvre believes Mick O'Dwyer has enough money already without The Lord of Luuuvre lining his pockets.

Besides, The Lord of Luuuvre has better things to do, like reading Keith Duggan's book about Mayo.
Post by: orangeman on June 09, 2016, 09:57:25 AM
http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/dwyer-the-gaas-muhammad-ali-34784599.html

Quite a tribute to quite a man.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on June 09, 2016, 11:37:51 AM
Happy birthday Micko!
Post by: Dinny Breen on June 09, 2016, 12:24:08 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on June 09, 2016, 11:37:51 AM
Happy birthday Micko!

+1 - We'll always have 98 and 2000 thanks to you.

(https://i.ytimg.com/vi/iVX3FqKntVc/hqdefault.jpg)

Before Corporate GAA you could get 30k Kildare supporters at a game now we are struggling to get 3k...
Post by: Jinxy on June 09, 2016, 01:41:23 PM
Happy birthday Micko.
The 2nd greatest manager of all time!  ;)
Post by: muppet on June 09, 2016, 01:43:48 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on June 09, 2016, 01:41:23 PM
Happy birthday Micko.
The 2nd greatest manager of all time!  ;)

Didn't think you would be a Heffo fan.  :D
Post by: Jinxy on June 09, 2016, 02:05:23 PM
Never heard of him.
Post by: AZOffaly on June 09, 2016, 02:11:45 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on June 09, 2016, 02:05:23 PM
Never heard of him.

posts here a good bit.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on June 09, 2016, 02:18:30 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on June 09, 2016, 12:24:08 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on June 09, 2016, 11:37:51 AM
Happy birthday Micko!

+1 - We'll always have 98 and 2000 thanks to you.

(https://i.ytimg.com/vi/iVX3FqKntVc/hqdefault.jpg)

Before Corporate GAA you could get 30k Kildare supporters at a game now we are struggling to get 3k...

It's amazing what a bit of positivity can do. The man has it in spades. His greatest gift as a manager was instilling belief into players no matter how limited they were. Supporters bought into it as well.

Everything about inter-county GAA these days is mired in negativity. How things have changed in less than twenty years.
Post by: Dinny Breen on June 09, 2016, 02:31:13 PM
His greatest interview (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YefEHYSBo9c)
Post by: manfromdelmonte on June 09, 2016, 10:55:00 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on June 09, 2016, 02:31:13 PM
His greatest interview (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YefEHYSBo9c)
if that was a Meath game they'd have been gone home with the cup by that stage
Post by: Sandy Hill on June 09, 2016, 11:21:20 PM
...... And he did it all without taking a penny from any county board; some man for one man!!
Post by: mup on June 10, 2016, 09:26:37 AM
Happy 80th Micko. What a legend.

Probably my favourite game under him was the 2000 Leinster Final replay. I stood on the hill for the first game and I was half glad we didn't win. That's for another day.

But the replay brings back memories. Struggling all over the field and 6 down at half time (I think). The Hill singing and laughing. That didn't last long. Within two minutes we were level and dominated the second half. It was like men against boys. Won by 5 in the end with Dublin only getting 2/3 points in the second half. It made it even sweeter that Tommy Carr was the Dublin manager.
Post by: manfromdelmonte on June 10, 2016, 02:10:18 PM
Quote from: mup on June 10, 2016, 09:26:37 AM
Happy 80th Micko. What a legend.

Probably my favourite game under him was the 2000 Leinster Final replay. I stood on the hill for the first game and I was half glad we didn't win. That's for another day.

But the replay brings back memories. Struggling all over the field and 6 down at half time (I think). The Hill singing and laughing. That didn't last long. Within two minutes we were level and dominated the second half. It was like men against boys. Won by 5 in the end with Dublin only getting 2/3 points in the second half. It made it even sweeter that Tommy Carr was the Dublin manager.
Before Dublin got their millions in coaching grants
Post by: orangeman on January 08, 2018, 12:24:29 AM
https://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/2018/0105/931343-micko-football-life/

One to look forward to.
Post by: Therealdonald on January 08, 2018, 07:38:59 PM
The best story I read about Micko was from his Laois time (I think). He had the boys running incessant laps, so the captain or one of the boys asked Micko could they not change the training...he proceeded to tell them ''yeah thats fine. Turn around and run the other direction.'' On the other hand, I think he's the most over-rated GAA personality in the history of the sport.
Post by: AZOffaly on January 08, 2018, 10:17:10 PM
Quote from: Therealdonald on January 08, 2018, 07:38:59 PM
The best story I read about Micko was from his Laois time (I think). He had the boys running incessant laps, so the captain or one of the boys asked Micko could they not change the training...he proceeded to tell them ''yeah thats fine. Turn around and run the other direction.'' On the other hand, I think he's the most over-rated GAA personality in the history of the sport.

I wouldn't be a big fan of Micko and I think his mercenary streak in his later years taint him for me, but it's harsh to call him overrated. His record speaks for itself and keeping that Kerry team motivated and hungry was an achievement itself. His greatest feat may have been coming back for another 3 in a row after sickening losses in 82 😀 and 83.
Post by: Captain Obvious on January 08, 2018, 10:21:15 PM
Micko the most overrated GAA personality.. good one therealdonald  ;D  ;D  ;D
Post by: Syferus on January 08, 2018, 10:27:35 PM
You'd happily listen to Micko telling stories for the rest of your life.
Post by: Cunny Funt on January 08, 2018, 10:35:56 PM
Good watch that was. Old age is certainly a curse.
Post by: From the Bunker on January 08, 2018, 10:38:23 PM
Quote from: Cunny Funt on January 08, 2018, 10:35:56 PM
Good watch that was. Old age is certainly a curse.

It's a curse alright. But it's also a blessing to see it!
Post by: LooseCannon on January 08, 2018, 10:39:24 PM
Quote from: Syferus on January 08, 2018, 10:27:35 PM
You'd happily listen to Micko telling stories for the rest of your life.

An audiobook of his life and times would be unreal.
Read by him.
Post by: larryin89 on January 08, 2018, 10:42:13 PM
Felt a bit emotional watching if im honest, what a gael.
Post by: T Fearon on January 08, 2018, 10:53:43 PM
Great documentary.The most successful GAA player and manager there ever will be
Post by: Targetman on January 08, 2018, 11:23:03 PM
How anyone could call Mick O Dwyer and his achievements overrated is beyond me, really enjoyed the documentary, he had Kerry training for 27 days in a row, surely some of the current county set ups could beat that!!
Post by: BallyroanAbu on January 08, 2018, 11:32:02 PM
Mercenary or Angel Sent From Heaven
Laois had some notions giving him the sack
3 Leinster Finals, won one for the first time in 50 odd years
Post by: Therealdonald on January 08, 2018, 11:48:45 PM
Quote from: Targetman on January 08, 2018, 11:23:03 PM
How anyone could call Mick O Dwyer and his achievements overrated is beyond me, really enjoyed the documentary, he had Kerry training for 27 days in a row, surely some of the current county set ups could beat that!!

He was in charge of a extremely talented bunch of players. He had 3 games to win each year to win the All Ireland, in some years he only had 2. There were 9 counties basically excluded from winning the All-Ireland because of the conflict in the North.

Add in his mercenary streak and we get an over-rated Gael.
Post by: Syferus on January 08, 2018, 11:59:57 PM
Quote from: Therealdonald on January 08, 2018, 11:48:45 PM

He was in charge of a extremely talented bunch of players. He had 3 games to win each year to win the All Ireland, in some years he only had 2. There were 9 counties basically excluded from winning the All-Ireland because of the conflict in the North.

They see me trollin'..
Post by: larryin89 on January 09, 2018, 12:02:33 AM
Blah blah and how did any county manage to win an all ireland at all  in the few years when there was conflict all over the country ?
Post by: From the Bunker on January 09, 2018, 12:11:51 AM

At certain stages the beating Cork in Munster was a formality, they had so broken their spirit. Dual Cork players just stuck to Hurling. The Dubs stood in the way for a while, but they were swatted away easily when they got the measure of them.

People say the same about Dublin now! That they have no competition in Leinster and go straight into a Quarter final untested. That they have only one game to win an AI depending on whether they have to beat Kerry and Mayo in the one year!

He had to have something to do what he did! It might have been just that he oozed confidence and nothing else tactically, but it worked what ever it was.

On reflection, I can't ever remember Miko ever letting himself down with a bad statement. He seemed to take both victory and defeat with great humility.

I grew up originally hating his Kerry team (because they won every year) to willing them on to titles in the mid 80's. I was at the Munster final replay in 1987 and although they lost I (even as a 16 year old) realised I was watching the end of true greatness.
Post by: Tyrdub on January 09, 2018, 08:58:43 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on January 08, 2018, 10:17:10 PM
Quote from: Therealdonald on January 08, 2018, 07:38:59 PM

I wouldn't be a big fan of Micko and I think his mercenary streak in his later years taint him for me, but it's harsh to call him overrated. His record speaks for itself and keeping that Kerry team motivated and hungry was an achievement itself. His greatest feat may have been coming back for another 3 in a row after sickening losses in 82 😀 and 83.

As a Dub fan that would have been my thoughts on Micko too, wanted the dough and trawled the country looking it, but boy was I wrong. Last night shed a whole new light on him for me, his gra for the game still shines. The fact he took Waterville u14s last year was brilliant.
One thing stood out though was the line where he said he'd no love for Heffo, they never even shook hands?? Still really enjoyed it, one of the best GAA documentaries.
Post by: Orchard park on January 09, 2018, 09:25:20 AM

you'll find 6 county conflict wasnt the cause of Cavan, Monaghan or Donegal for starters not achieving more in the Mick years
Post by: laoislad on January 09, 2018, 09:33:30 AM
Quote from: BallyroanAbu on January 08, 2018, 11:32:02 PM
Was hard hearing him say that he thought they were good enough to win the big one.
What might have been eh?
Parkinson was on Twitter saying there was more to it than just the players commitment. Who knows.
Post by: Bord na Mona man on January 09, 2018, 10:29:23 AM
Quote from: T Fearon on January 08, 2018, 10:53:43 PM
Great documentary.The most successful GAA player and manager there ever will be
I have a hunch that a man called Brian Cody will come along and win more than him.
Post by: OTF on January 09, 2018, 10:34:04 AM
Quote from: laoislad on January 09, 2018, 09:33:30 AM
Quote from: BallyroanAbu on January 08, 2018, 11:32:02 PM
Was hard hearing him say that he thought they were good enough to win the big one.
What might have been eh?
Parkinson was on Twitter saying there was more to it than just the players commitment. Who knows.

He wasn't sacked his term was up... big difference. They players knew  themselves his methods weren't working as they were being thrown around the place like rag dolls by Armagh and Tyrone, examples Clancy and Ross were 2 totally different boys after a bit of s+c during McNulty's  tenure.
One other point, does anyone remember  "the Heath showdown" anyway much publicised meeting with Micko and the Laois players after a week of I'm  not getting the commitment and I don't think I can continue blah blah blah.Television cameras the nine o clock news, showdown withe the players and in the end it all gets sorted. The exact week Dublin CB were considering Micko for job. Nice exit strategy.
Having said all above it was a brilliant few years in Laois while he was there and I don't believe anyone else would have got as much out of the team, the big one ? IMO  no chance.

Post by: rosnarun on January 09, 2018, 10:50:18 AM
if Parkinson  knew any different he woiuld not be long saying it . micko helped them overachieve and they got notions . sounds straightforward enough
Post by: Bord na Mona man on January 09, 2018, 11:25:23 AM
The ironic thing is that Parkinson was the epitome of the jack the lad mentality that was holding Leix back.
Micko managed to stamp it out. He might have lacked the scientific approach in other areas, but he broke the glass ceiling for them.
Post by: Rossfan on January 09, 2018, 11:38:12 AM
Very good programme.
Enough material in his GAA life for a series never mind just 1 programme.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on January 09, 2018, 12:01:50 PM
Micko is a legend but don't let the 'yerra I was only doing it for the love of it' sucker you in.

Underneath it all he is a cutest of them all.

Could he have got more out of Laois - perhaps.
Probably got as much out of Kildare as one could.
Got nothing out of Wicklow but who tf could?

His hotel in Waterville has to be seen. I believe all the bedrooms are painted shrines to Kerry football.
There is a statue there as well opposite. Not sure about statues to people still living......

One story that I am not proud of was a game in very early 70s when Longford played Kerry in the League. Horrible wet pitch and Micko was full forward. High ball comes in, Longford goalie comes out, all knees and elbows, and clanes Micko out of it and leaves him in a heap. Goalie on the way back in sees Micko on the ground and sows the boot into him (allegedly)

Post by: APM on January 09, 2018, 02:01:47 PM
You're proud enough of it or ye wouldn't have told the story  ;)
Post by: Cunny Funt on January 09, 2018, 02:18:09 PM
Quote from: rosnarun on January 09, 2018, 10:50:18 AM
if Parkinson  knew any different he woiuld not be long saying it . micko helped them overachieve and they got notions . sounds straightforward enough

Overachieved? i don't think so. It was the best batch of Laois players to come along in one space of time and all that Micko did was to display some of the potential they had. I remember reading article a few years ago not sure if it was from Parkinson or another player but he said the underage success made some of the players think they were stars already, they would go into bars in Laois where the walls were lined with their pictures and total strangers would come up to them and buy them pints. All of this probably gave them the attitude they didn't had to work as hard as other players less talented.

Not even the great Micko could get that group of Laois players to achieve their true potential at senior level.
Post by: Dinny Breen on January 09, 2018, 03:50:41 PM
Micko made sure Mick Wright got sent off in that Leinster 2003 final as Laois struggled past 13 men. They were unfortunate to draw Armagh in the Quarter-finals that year as I think they would have made the final and that would have been interesting against a Tyrone side who were also building on successful minor teams. Maybe in an alternate universe Laois are nursing 3 All-Irelands.

From a Kildare perspective he should never have played Glen in 1998 final, he couldn't walk that morning never mind play football. Still what a glorious summer for Kildare, 20 years this year  :'(
Post by: Maroon Manc on January 09, 2018, 04:10:41 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on January 09, 2018, 03:50:41 PM
Micko made sure Mick Wright got sent off in that Leinster 2003 final as Laois struggled past 13 men. They were unfortunate to draw Armagh in the Quarter-finals that year as I think they would have made the final and that would have been interesting against a Tyrone side who were also building on successful minor teams. Maybe in an alternate universe Laois are nursing 3 All-Irelands.

From a Kildare perspective he should never have played Glen in 1998 final, he couldn't walk that morning never mind play football. Still what a glorious summer for Kildare, 20 years this year  :'(

From memory thought Glen Ryan had a good first half? Ja Fallon hit 3 brilliant scores in the 2nd half but Ryan couldn't be blamed for any of them.
Post by: square_ball on January 09, 2018, 04:14:43 PM
I'm not sure Laois would have given Tyrone a game that year in the final. They met in the league final that same year and there was 10 points in it. They were a level or two below the likes of Tyrone, Armagh and Kerry in those few years in my opinion.
Post by: Bord na Mona man on January 09, 2018, 04:36:37 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on January 09, 2018, 12:01:50 PM
One story that I am not proud of was a game in very early 70s when Longford played Kerry in the League. Horrible wet pitch and Micko was full forward. High ball comes in, Longford goalie comes out, all knees and elbows, and clanes Micko out of it and leaves him in a heap. Goalie on the way back in sees Micko on the ground and sows the boot into him (allegedly)

I thought the conclusion of the story was going to be that Micko got back up and told the goalie "you missed!".
The keeper was flummoxed in reverse 'kicking Bishop Brennan up the arse' kind of way.

He was rooted to the spot for 3 goals and quit football weeks later.
#MickoMindGames #KerryRogue
Post by: seafoid on January 09, 2018, 04:37:17 PM
Micko was lucky in his Leinster adventures that the Dubs were running the traffic cone defence.
Kildare were probably missing one or 2 forwards.
Laois didn't have the belief. It is funny that Armagh did.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on January 09, 2018, 05:36:25 PM
Quote from: Maroon Manc on January 09, 2018, 04:10:41 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on January 09, 2018, 03:50:41 PM

From memory thought Glen Ryan had a good first half? Ja Fallon hit 3 brilliant scores in the 2nd half but Ryan couldn't be blamed for any of them.

Whatever about Glenn we should have never started Nuxer that day. He wasn't even half fit. Glenn played after taking a pain killing injection. Its effects must have worn off by the second half because he was his usual self in the first half. Losing Ronan Quinn was a big blow. That meant moving John Finn who might have done a better job on Donnellan than 36 year old Sos Dowling.

From memory we were two or three points ahead at half time. I recall Tomas Mannion doing superb man marking job on Martin Lynch. Had Lynch fired that day we might have had a bigger cushion at half time and things might have turned out differently.

Great memories of those summers and forever grateful to Dwyer. Those Kildare players would have ran through a brick wall for him. The regard they hold him in was clear to see in the documentary last night when he was in McCreery's with Rainbow.
Post by: DoireGael on January 09, 2018, 07:36:48 PM
How can you watch the Micko documentary from UK/London. Tried on RTE Player but no joy.
Post by: Asal Mor on January 09, 2018, 08:01:21 PM
Quote from: square_ball on January 09, 2018, 04:14:43 PM
I'm not sure Laois would have given Tyrone a game that year in the final. They met in the league final that same year and there was 10 points in it. They were a level or two below the likes of Tyrone, Armagh and Kerry in those few years in my opinion.
Correct. Was at that League Final and Tyrone destroyed them. Laois tried their best but were a long way off.
Post by: Main Street on January 09, 2018, 11:38:25 PM
Quote from: DoireGael on January 09, 2018, 07:36:48 PM
How can you watch the Micko documentary from UK/London. Tried on RTE Player but no joy.
You'd need to alter your VPN.  VPN is that thing which identifies your computer as logging in from outside Ireland.
https://thevpn.guru/get-rte-player-uk-outside-ireland/ (https://thevpn.guru/get-rte-player-uk-outside-ireland/)

Whatever might be said about RTE's efficiency, they are up to date in technology that blocks 'outsiders'.

I'm looking forward to watching it on the RTE player, Saint Mick,  what a story, his grandfather swimming 3 miles across sea to fetch a doctor so Mick could  be born, a miraculous birth, God's gift to the GAA  :)
Post by: Ball Hopper on January 10, 2018, 06:23:53 AM
From the good folk at the Kerry GAA Forum:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V5ubaJ2ImBg&feature=youtu.be

Micko Dwyer Documentary on RTE on 8.1.2018

Post by: seafoid on January 10, 2018, 07:32:14 AM
Quote from: Main Street on January 09, 2018, 11:38:25 PM
Quote from: DoireGael on January 09, 2018, 07:36:48 PM
You'd need to alter your VPN.  VPN is that thing which identifies your computer as logging in from outside Ireland.
https://thevpn.guru/get-rte-player-uk-outside-ireland/ (https://thevpn.guru/get-rte-player-uk-outside-ireland/)

Whatever might be said about RTE's efficiency, they are up to date in technology that blocks 'outsiders'.

I'm looking forward to watching it on the RTE player, Saint Mick,  what a story, his grandfather swimming 3 miles across sea to fetch a doctor so Mick could  be born, a miraculous birth, God's gift to the GAA  :)
The hoor stood between Monaghan and Sam in the 80s
Post by: TheGreatest on January 10, 2018, 08:58:57 AM
Some amount of sponsorship and money floating around that great Kerry team. Even Adidas. Hard to compete with that.

Great GAA man is Micko, one of a kind and a medal haul as manager and player which may go unmatched in football for a long time.
Post by: Syferus on January 10, 2018, 09:02:37 AM
Quote from: TheGreatest on January 10, 2018, 08:58:57 AM
Some amount of sponsorship and money floating around that great Kerry team. Even Adidas. Hard to compete with that.

Great GAA man is Micko, one of a kind and a medal haul as manager and player which may go unmatched in football for a long time.

You'll need better bait than that.
Post by: TheGreatest on January 10, 2018, 09:08:09 AM
Quote from: Syferus on January 10, 2018, 09:02:37 AM

Just stating what I seen on that documentary. Adidas, Milk, Kitchen appliances and that's only what on a 45 min doc. Going on world tours etc. Jaysus imagine.

Post by: mup on January 10, 2018, 09:12:54 AM
Quote from: TheGreatest on January 10, 2018, 09:08:09 AM

Just stating what I seen on that documentary. Adidas, Milk, Kitchen appliances and that's only what on a 45 min doc. Going on world tours etc. Jaysus imagine.

And they played all their games at home too. Oh wait.....
Post by: TheGreatest on January 10, 2018, 09:31:28 AM
Quote from: mup on January 10, 2018, 09:12:54 AM

3 games to win an all Ireland.

Only had to beat Cork in Munster and most of the time and easy semi final and then the final.

Its much much tougher now and even more so with Super 8s.

The old play at home card, sure wasn't a problem till recently, If anything its a disadvantage, as teams going to Croke Park who play a certain team there up their game more than usual.

No hijacking of the thread so leave it at Micko a great.

Post by: mup on January 10, 2018, 09:39:16 AM
Quote from: TheGreatest on January 10, 2018, 09:31:28 AM

Only had to beat Cork in Munster and most of the time and easy semi final and then the final.

The old play at home card, sure wasn't a problem till recently, If anything its a disadvantage, as teams going to Croke Park who play a certain team there up their game more than usual.

No one to beat in Leinster therefore only 3 games to and AI. Money thrown at your by the GAA and Government. Own dressing room. Free cars etc etc

If you didn't want the thread hijacked then don't go fishing. The thread is about Micko but obviously by you throwing out the bait you wanted it turned into another Dublin thread.

That's called attention seeking. Take it to one of the many Dublin threads - that's what they were set up for.
Post by: TheGreatest on January 10, 2018, 09:55:49 AM
Quote from: mup on January 10, 2018, 09:39:16 AM

No one to beat in Leinster therefore only 3 games to and AI. Money thrown at your by the GAA and Government. Own dressing room. Free cars etc etc

If you didn't want the thread hijacked then don't go fishing. The thread is about Micko but obviously by you throwing out the bait you wanted it turned into another Dublin thread.

That's called attention seeking. Take it to one of the many Dublin threads - that's what they were set up for.

Says the guy who follows me around here. I don't get any money from the GAA :)

I think you need to start looking at other counties, in particular the ones that need bail outs from Croke Park for years of mismanagement of funds.

As I said Micko , a great , a gentleman, a hero, etc, but I don't think he could do it in the modern era of football.

Post by: mup on January 10, 2018, 10:31:01 AM
Quote from: TheGreatest on January 10, 2018, 09:55:49 AM
Quote from: mup on January 10, 2018, 09:39:16 AM

Says the guy who follows me around here. I don't get any money from the GAA :)

I think you need to start looking at other counties, in particular the ones that need bail outs from Croke Park for years of mismanagement of funds.

As I said Micko , a great , a gentleman, a hero, etc, but I don't think he could do it in the modern era of football.

Follow you around? Have you copped on yet that it's a message board and if someone wants to debate the points (however ridiculous) you make then they will reply. That's how its works.

Don't think you are free to make baseless accusations without rebuke.
Post by: twohands!!! on January 10, 2018, 02:24:47 PM
Post by: DoireGael on January 10, 2018, 08:13:37 PM
Quote from: Ball Hopper on January 10, 2018, 06:23:53 AM
From the good folk at the Kerry GAA Forum:

Micko Dwyer Documentary on RTE on 8.1.2018

Hero
Post by: Main Street on January 10, 2018, 09:49:29 PM
The chapter on the Kerry Dublin rivalry in the Micko era could be called "Blood on the Shirt".
Post by: BennyCake on January 11, 2018, 12:48:40 AM
Bittersweet that was. 'Twas nearly like a tribute programme to someone who has just died. True GAA great.

Showed a point of his in Croke Park, coming in from Cusack side into Canal End. Stroked it over beautifully without effort. Great score.

Great moment when he passed his own statue. Gives it a wave of the hand and a smile. Classic.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on January 12, 2018, 01:14:20 PM
Was Colm Parkinson not one of those players who quite playing early for Laois? Was he not one of those superstar player with a big head who thought he was better than he actually was! He giving out about micko on sports ie but i say parkinson is one of the players micko was on about!!
Post by: LooseCannon on January 12, 2018, 02:14:05 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on January 12, 2018, 01:14:20 PM
Was Colm Parkinson not one of those players who quite playing early for Laois? Was he not one of those superstar player with a big head who thougjt he was better than he actually was! He giving out about micko on sports ie but i say parkinson is one of the players micko was on about!!

Parkinson is a p***k. Excuse my language. It's merely the truth.
Post by: Sandy Hill on January 12, 2018, 07:40:44 PM
Mick O'Dwyer, the cutest of all the cute hoors!!
Post by: BennyCake on January 12, 2018, 08:49:28 PM
Read the story once, might have been Paidi's autobiography. If Kerry were playing say, Donegal in the league, Micko made sure to land into the Kerry dressing room afterwards with a couple of "Dun na nGall" O'Neills balls under his arms. And the league was a ball-nicking exercise for him.
Post by: JimStynes on January 16, 2018, 08:25:01 PM
Just got around to watching this and I thought it was great. What a life he has led. The best bit for me was hearing about him managing the u14 team to the league title. Class.
Post by: Avondhu star on January 16, 2018, 10:48:16 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on January 12, 2018, 08:49:28 PM
Read the story once, might have been Paidi's autobiography. If Kerry were playing say, Donegal in the league, Micko made sure to land into the Kerry dressing room afterwards with a couple of "Dun na nGall" O'Neills balls under his arms. And the league was a ball-nicking exercise for him.
Or when he was with Kildare and coming of the dressing room before the game. He met the referee and said "I glad to see you here today. We will need a good strict referee"
The ref was delighted with the praise from Micko.
Result Kildare win with a few soft frees
Post by: magpie seanie on January 17, 2018, 10:37:45 AM
Quote from: Avondhu star on January 16, 2018, 10:48:16 PM
Or when he was with Kildare and coming of the dressing room before the game. He met the referee and said "I glad to see you here today. We will need a good strict referee"

Referee management. We all do it to varying degrees and with varying degrees of success. It's an art!
Post by: Avondhu star on January 17, 2018, 02:11:28 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on January 17, 2018, 10:37:45 AM
Quote from: Avondhu star on January 16, 2018, 10:48:16 PM

Referee management. We all do it to varying degrees and with varying degrees of success. It's an art!
Ah yes but the Kerry lads have it done to a fine art. How many times when play has stopped have you seen Tomas O Se chatting with the linesman or umpire?
All tricks learned from Paidi and Micko
Post by: Main Street on January 19, 2018, 07:46:05 PM
I thought there was a poignant moment at the end of Kerry's 4th in a row v Offaly. Probably the final whistle came right after the ball was kicked out by the goalie, players were being  marked by their opposite, as soon as the whistle blew each player turned to his marker and exchanged words along with a handshake, there were even a few  embraces.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on January 21, 2018, 02:56:32 AM
I do love Micko. Plus Micko teams lost 3 All-Ireland finals and 2 All-Ireland semi-finals to Galway. He was almost a good luck charm for us in finals.

A living legend though. The 82 final is my earliest memory. Sporting or otherwise. Another loss he was involved in which seems mad as he won so much.